Decisions

CAT File No. P-2187-02
MoT File No. EMS 042002

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Rodney Victor Thatcher, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, s. 6.9.
Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 404.03


Review Determination
Sandra Lloyd


Decision: May 10, 2001

The Minister's allegation is dismissed and the suspension of Mr. Thatcher's commercial pilot licence cancelled.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Monday, April 9, 2001 at 10:00 hours at the Fairmont Hotel in Vancouver, British Columbia concerning the suspension of the commercial pilot licence-aeroplane of the Applicant, Mr. Rodney Victor Thatcher.

BACKGROUND

On November 21, 2000 Transport Canada issued a Notice of Suspension to the Applicant which read, in part, as follows:

Pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to suspend the above indicated Canadian aviation document on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Count 1

Canadian Aviation Regulation, Section 404.03, in that at approximately 16:30 hours local time on or about the 19th day of June, 2000, at or near Hotnarko Lake in the Province of British Columbia, you exercised the privileges of a Commercial Pilots License when you did not hold a valid medical certificate of a category that was appropriate for that license as specified in Section 404.10.

Penalty: Twenty-one (21) day suspension of Commercial Pilots License.

By letter dated November 28, 2000 from his solicitor, the Applicant requested a Review Hearing of this matter. The suspension ran from December 22, 2000 to January 11, 2001 and the Applicant had not requested a stay of suspension.

The hearing of this matter was originally set down for March 20, 2001. The date and location had been agreed to by the parties. However, upon Notice of Application by the Respondent Minister of Transport dated March 15, 2001 the hearing was adjourned and was rescheduled for April 9, 2001. I previously gave written reasons dated March 26, 2001 with respect to the Respondent's application of March 15.

BURDEN OF PROOF

The Respondent Minister of Transport has the burden of proving, on a balance of probabilities, each element of the alleged offence: 1) that on or about the 19th day of June, 2000, the Applicant exercised the privileges of a commercial pilot licence; and 2) that at that time he did not hold a valid medical certificate of a category that was appropriate for that licence.

THE LAW

Subsection 6.9(1) of the Aeronautics Act:

6. 9 (1) Where the Minister decides to suspend or cancel a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that the holder of the document or the owner or operator of any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued has contravened any provision of this Part or any regulation or order made under this Part, the Minister shall by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder, owner or operator, as the case may be, at his latest known address notify the holder, owner or operator of that decision and of the effective date of the suspension or cancellation, but no suspension or cancellation shall take effect earlier than the date that is thirty days after the notice under this subsection is served or sent.

Subsection 37(1) of the Aeronautics Act:

37.(1) Subject to subsection (5), the Tribunal or a member thereof is not bound by any legal or technical rules of evidence in conducting any matter that comes before it or the member and all such matters shall be dealt with by the Tribunal or member as informally and expeditiously as the circumstances and considerations of fairness and natural justice permit.

Section 404.03 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

404.03 No person shall exercise or attempt to exercise the privileges of a permit, licence or rating unless the person holds a valid medical certificate of a category that is appropriate for that permit, licence or rating, as specified in section 404.10.

Subsection 404.10(1) of the CARs:

404.10 (1) A Category 1 medical certificate is required for the following licences:

(a) commercial pilot licence-aeroplane or helicopter; and

(b) airline transport pilot licence-aeroplane or helicopter.

EVIDENCE

The Minister called two witnesses. The first was Dr. Alistair Anderson. Dr. Anderson is a licensed physician and a Civil Aviation Medical Examiner (CAME). Dr. Anderson's evidence was that he gave Mr. Thatcher an aviation medical examination on November 16, 1999, and that Mr. Thatcher was assessed as fit, Category 1. His evidence also showed that he next gave the Applicant an aviation medical examination on July 5, 2000. The CAME report which Dr. Anderson prepared in that examination stated that Mr. Thatcher's last previous medical had been done on November 16, 1999.

Counsel for Mr. Thatcher suggested that the date written on Mr. Thatcher's medical certificate was December 16, 1999, not November 16, 1999 as stated on the CAME reports. Dr. Anderson admitted this was possible. However, the medical certificate was not available in evidence.

The second witness was Mr. Randall Phillips, a Transport Canada enforcement investigator, assigned to investigate an aviation accident which occurred in June, 2000. Mr. Phillips testified that when he assumed conduct of that file, information contained therein showed, among other things, the time and date of the accident, the aircraft registration and the pilot's name as being Mr. Thatcher. Mr. Phillips said that he then checked the computer data base "Distributed Air Personnel Licensing System" (DAPLS) and it indicated to him that Mr. Thatcher's commercial licence medical certificate had expired as of June 1, 2000. Mr. Phillips then obtained Mr. Thatcher's personal file and found that Mr. Thatcher's last medical examination was November 16, 1999. From that he calculated that Mr. Thatcher's commercial medical certificate would have expired on June 1, 2000, as such medical is valid for six months from the first of the month following the medical examination.

Two pages of information obtained from the computer data base by Mr. Phillips, which showed that Mr. Thatcher's medical certificate had expired, were entered as Exhibit M-6. Counsel for Mr. Thatcher objected to the acceptance of this document as proof of the facts contained therein. I allowed the exhibit to be entered as proof that Mr. Phillips had obtained such document in the course of his investigation.

In the further course of his investigation, Mr. Phillips flew to Anahim Lake where he said he learned that Mr. Thatcher rents aeroplanes from Avnorth Aviation to fly patrons to his Pine Point Resort. Mr. Phillips said he met and talked with a Lois Bowman at Avnorth Aviation in Anahim Lake. He said that Ms. Bowman provided him with a copy of a rental invoice showing what they charged Mr. Thatcher. However, the word "Cancelled" was handwritten across the document. A copy of the invoice was entered as Exhibit M-7.

Counsel for Mr. Thatcher objected to the acceptance of the invoice as evidence on the basis that it was hearsay evidence and of no probative value. I allowed the invoice to be entered as an exhibit subject to the weight I would give it.

Mr. Phillips also testified that he called the RCMP in Anahim Lake who had investigated the aviation accident in question. The RCMP faxed Mr. Phillips the names of the surviving passengers. Mr. Phillips gave evidence that he called two people named in the fax, Mr. Nance and Mr. Pastega, who told him they were passengers on the aeroplane and the pilot's name was Rod. Mr. Phillips asked for proof of their arrangement with Mr. Thatcher with respect to the flight. They said they could send him a brochure and a copy of a receipt for a deposit.

Counsel for the Minister attempted to enter as evidence, through the witness Mr. Phillips, two sets of documents. The documents included correspondence between third parties, a copy of a brochure, an excerpt from a Pine Point Resort website, and a copy of a receipt for a deposit. These documents were sought to be entered as proof of the facts they contained and as evidence of arrangements between Mr. Pastega and Mr. Nance and Pine Point Resort.

Counsel for Mr. Thatcher objected to the acceptance of these documents as evidence of the facts contained therein because they were hearsay and of no probative value. He argued, among other things, that although this Tribunal is not governed by the formal rules of evidence, natural justice required that Mr. Thatcher be able to test the veracity of the facts put before the Tribunal. This could not be done with respect to these documents because the persons who had personal knowledge of the facts in the documents were not witnesses. He protested that the Minister had at this hearing attempted to adduce hearsay upon hearsay, and he asked that I refuse to admit the documents into evidence.

Counsel for the Minister of Transport submitted that it was impossible to produce the witnesses Nance and Pastega, as they did not wish to cooperate and were not compellable by this Tribunal (they reside in Oregon). He said that it was not in the interest of those witnesses to appear, for insurance reasons. He pointed out that when the original hearing date of this matter was set down, the witnesses were willing to cooperate, but the situation had since changed. He provided a copy of a letter dated March 27, 2001 from local counsel for Mr. Nance and Mr. Pastega. That letter stated that neither Mr. Nance nor Mr. Pastega were personally involved in making the arrangements for the fly fishing trip with Pine Point Resort or Rod Thatcher, and that both gentlemen advised that they do not wish to participate in these proceedings.

Counsel for the Minister also pointed out that the reason that time was considered to be of the essence with respect to having this matter heard was because of Mr. Thatcher's alleged prejudice arising from any delay in hearing this matter. He argued that the documents should be allowed as some evidence of the facts contained therein and referred to section 37 of the Aeronautics Act, which provides that this Tribunal is not bound by any formal rules of evidence.

Although hearsay evidence is often allowed by this Tribunal, I found that in the interests of fairness and natural justice I should not allow this evidence in the circumstances of this review hearing. The fact ultimately sought to be proved by hearsay evidence alone was a critical fact, that is, one of the essential elements that the Respondent needed to prove with respect to the alleged offence: that the Applicant had exercised the privileges of his commercial pilot licence at the relevant time. Much of the evidence sought to be entered was at least "double hearsay". Further, the letter from local counsel for Mr. Nance and Mr. Pastega stated that they had not personally been involved in making the arrangements for their trip. The Respondent Minister had already been given an adjournment that gave additional time to arrange the attendance of other witnesses. In my view the proposed hearsay documentary evidence was not acceptable evidence in the circumstances.

The Minister submitted no other evidence.

MOTION

Counsel for the Applicant, Mr. Thatcher, declined to call witnesses. He argued that the Minister had not proven the requisite elements of the offence set out in the Notice of Suspension. He argued, among other things, that there was no evidence that the Applicant was exercising the privileges of his commercial pilot licence on the date in question. He also pointed out that the licence number stated on the Notice of Suspension did not match Mr. Thatcher's licence number as stated in the CAME reports and on the DAPLS printout. He asked that the matter be dismissed for lack of evidence.

Counsel for Mr. Thatcher provided copies of two administrative law decisions of the Ontario High Court of Justice, Divisional Court: Coates v. Ontario (Registrar of Motor Vehicle Dealers and Salesmen)[1] and Re Bernstein and College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario.[2]

Counsel for the Minister made no submissions opposing the Applicant's motion.

In Re Bernstein, O'Leary J. stated the following:

The important thing to remember is that in civil cases there is no precise formula as to the standard of proof required to establish a fact.

In all cases, before reaching a conclusion of fact, the tribunal must be reasonably satisfied that the fact occurred, and whether the tribunal is so satisfied will depend on the totality of the circumstances including the nature and consequences of the fact or facts to be proved, the seriousness of an allegation made, and the gravity of the consequences that will flow from a particular finding.

Counsel for Mr. Thatcher made it abundantly clear throughout the proceedings in this matter that serious consequences flow to Mr. Thatcher from my findings in this matter. The burden is on the Minister to prove the allegations and my decision in this matter must be based on reliable, weighty evidence presented at the hearing. The evidence available at this hearing did not meet the standard of quality and quantity required to uphold the Minister's allegation in the circumstances.

RULING

I find on the evidence of Dr. Anderson that the Minister has proved, on a balance of probabilities, that Mr. Thatcher did not hold a valid commercial pilot medical certificate on June 19, 2000. However, I find there is insufficient evidence that the Applicant was exercising the privileges of a commercial pilot licence on that date. Therefore, I have granted the Applicant's motion to dismiss for lack of evidence.

DETERMINATION

The Minister's allegation is dismissed and the suspension of Mr. Thatcher's commercial pilot licence cancelled.

Sandra K. Lloyd
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] 65 O.R. (2d) 526, [1988] O.J. No. 1351.

[2] 15 O.R. (2d) 447 (1977).

Décisions

Dossier no P-2187-02 (TAC)
Dossier no EMS 042002 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Rodney Victor Thatcher, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 404.03


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Sandra Lloyd


Décision : le 10 mai 2001

TRADUCTION

Les faits reprochés par le ministre sont rejetés et la suspension de la licence de pilote professionnel de M. Thatcher est annulée.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le lundi 9 avril 2001 à 10 h à l'Hôtel Fairmont à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) en ce qui a trait à la suspension de la licence de pilote professionnel-avion du requérant, M. Rodney Victor Thatcher.

HISTORIQUE

Le 21 novembre 2000, Transports Canada a délivré au requérant un Avis de suspension qui se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de suspendre le document d'aviation canadien susmentionné parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Chef d'accusation 1

À l'article 404.03 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, puisque vers 16 h 30 (heure locale) le ou vers le 19 juin 2000, aux environs du lac Hotnarko, dans la province de la Colombie-Britannique, vous avez exercé les avantages d'une licence de pilote professionnel alors que vous n'étiez pas titulaire d'un certificat médical valide de la catégorie propre à cette licence, tel que prescrit à l'article 404.10.

Peine : vingt et un (21) jours de suspension de la licence de pilote professionnel.

Par une lettre de son procureur en date du 28 novembre 2000, le requérant a demandé une audience en révision de cette affaire. La suspension s'échelonnait du 22 décembre au 11 janvier 2001 et le requérant n'a pas demandé de sursis de suspension.

L'audience de cette affaire a d'abord été fixée au 20 mars 2001. Les parties avaient accepté la date et le lieu. Toutefois, par un Avis de requête de l'intimé, le ministre des Transports, en date du 15 mars 2001, l'audience a été ajournée et fixée au 9 avril 2001. J'ai déjà expliqué par écrit, le 26 mars 2001, les motifs de la requête de l'intimé du 15 mars.

FARDEAU DE PREUVE

L'intimé, le ministre des Transports a le fardeau de prouver selon la prépondérance des probabilités, chacun des éléments de la présumée infraction : 1) que le ou vers le 19 juin 2000, l'intimé a exercé les avantages d'une licence de pilote professionnel et 2) qu'à ce moment-là il n'était pas titulaire d'un certificat médical valide de la catégorie propre à cette licence.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 6.9(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

6.9 (1) Lorsqu'il décide de suspendre ou d'annuler un document d'aviation canadien parce que l'intéressé — titulaire du document ou propriétaire, exploitant ou utilisateur d'aéronefs, d'aéroports ou d'autres installations que vise le document — a contrevenu à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application, le ministre expédie par courrier recommandé ou certifié à la dernière adresse connue de l'intéressé, ou par signification à personne, avis de la mesure et de la date de sa prise d'effet, laquelle ne peut survenir moins de trente jours après l'expédition ou la signification de l'avis.

Le paragraphe 37(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

37. (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (5), le Tribunal ou les conseillers ne sont pas liés par les règles juridiques ou techniques applicables en matière de preuve lors des audiences. Dans la mesure où les circonstances, l'équité et la justice naturelle le permettent, il leur appartient d'agir rapidement et sans formalités.

L'article 404.03 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) :

404.03 Il est interdit à toute personne d'exercer ou de tenter d'exercer les avantages d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'une qualification, à moins qu'elle ne soit titulaire d'un certificat médical valide de la catégorie propre au permis, licence ou qualification, telle qu'elle est précisée à l'article 404.10.

L'alinéa 404.10(1) du RAC :

404.10 (1) Un certificat médical de catégorie 1 est exigé pour les licences suivantes :

a) licence de pilote professionnel-avion ou hélicoptère;

b) licence de pilote de ligne-avion ou hélicoptère.

LA PREUVE

Le ministre a appelé deux témoins, le premier étant Dr Alistair Anderson. Dr Anderson est un médecin agréé et un médecin-examinateur de l'aviation civile (MEAC). Dr Anderson a prouvé qu'il avait fait l'examen médical de l'aviation de M. Thatcher, le 16 novembre 1999 et qu'il a évalué que M. Thatcher était apte et de catégorie 1. Sa preuve démontrait de plus qu'il a par la suite fait subir au requérant un examen médical de l'aviation le 5 juillet 2000. Le rapport du MEAC rédigé par Dr Anderson lors de cet examen mentionnait que le dernier rapport médical de M. Thatcher était en date du 16 novembre 1999.

Le procureur de M. Thatcher a laissé entendre que la date écrite sur le certificat médical de M. Thatcher était le 16 décembre 1999 et non le 16 novembre 1999, tel qu'aux rapports du MEAC. Dr Anderson a admis que c'était plausible. Toutefois, le certificat médical n'a pas été présenté en preuve.

Le deuxième témoin était M. Randall Phillips, enquêteur de l'Application de la loi de Transports Canada, désigné pour enquêter sur un accident d'aviation qui s'est produit en juin 2000. M. Phillips a témoigné que lorsqu'il a assumé la direction de ce dossier, l'information contenue dans celui-ci indiquait notamment l'heure et le lieu de l'accident, l'immatriculation de l'aéronef et le nom du pilote était celui de M. Thatcher. M. Phillips a dit qu'il a ensuite vérifié la base de données informatiques, le « Système décentralisé des licences du personnel de l'air »(SDLPA), lequel indiquait que le certificat médical de la licence de pilote professionnel de M. Thatcher était expiré depuis le 1er juin 2000. M. Phillips a ensuite obtenu le dossier personnel de M. Thatcher et il a constaté que le dernier examen médical de M. Thatcher était en date du 16 novembre 1999. Partant de là, il a calculé que le certificat médical professionnel de M. Thatcher était expiré depuis le 1er juin 2000, étant donné que ce certificat est valide pendant six mois à compter du premier du mois suivant l'examen médical.

Les deux pages d'information tirées de la base de données informatiques par M. Phillips et qui montrent que le certificat médical de M. Thatcher est expiré, ont été présentées comme pièce M-6. Le procureur de M. Thatcher s'est objecté à la recevabilité de ce document comme preuve des faits qu'il contenait. J'ai permis que la pièce soit présentée pour prouver que M. Phillips avait obtenu ce document dans le cadre de son enquête.

Afin de poursuivre son enquête, M. Phillips s'est envolé au lac Anahim où il a dit avoir appris que M. Thatcher louait des avions de Avnorth Aviation pour transporter sa clientèle à Pine Point Resort. M. Phillips a dit qu'il avait rencontré et parlé avec un certain Lois Bowman chez Avnorth Aviation au lac Anahim. Il a dit que M me Bowman lui avait fourni une copie d'une facture de location qui montre ce qu'ils facturaient à M. Thatcher. Par ailleurs, le mot « annulé » avait été inscrit à la main sur le document. Une copie de la facture a été présentée comme pièce M-7.

Le procureur de M. Thatcher s'est objecté à la recevabilité de la facture comme preuve parce qu'il s'agissait de preuve par ouï-dire sans valeur probante. J'ai accepté que la facture soit présentée en preuve sous réserve du poids que je devais lui accorder.

M. Phillips a de plus témoigné qu'il avait appelé la GRC au lac Anahim, laquelle avait enquêté sur l'accident d'avion en question. La GRC a télécopié à M. Phillips les noms des passagers survivants. M. Phillips a témoigné qu'il avait appelé deux personnes mentionnées sur la télécopie, M. Nance et M. Pastega, qui lui ont dit avoir été passagers de l'avion et que le nom du pilote était Rod. M. Phillips a demandé des preuves de leur entente avec M. Thatcher en ce qui a trait au vol. Ils ont dit qu'ils pouvaient lui faire parvenir une brochure et une copie d'un reçu de dépôt.

Le procureur du ministre a tenté de présenter en preuve, par l'intermédiaire du témoin M. Phillips, deux séries de documents : la correspondance entre tiers, un exemplaire d'une brochure, un extrait du site Web de Pine Point Resort et une copie d'un reçu de dépôt. Ces documents devaient faire preuve de leur contenu et des ententes entre M. Pastega, M. Nance et Pine Point Resort.

Le procureur de M. Thatcher s'est objecté à la recevabilité de ces documents comme preuve des faits qu'ils contenaient parce qu'ils constituaient du ouï-dire et n'avaient aucune valeur probante. Il a prétendu, entre autres, que même si ce Tribunal n'est pas régi par des règles formelles de preuve, la justice naturelle exige que M. Thatcher soit capable de vérifier la véracité des faits présentés devant le Tribunal. On ne pourrait le faire en regard de ces documents parce que les personnes qui avaient une connaissance personnelle des faits dans les documents ne témoignaient pas. Il a protesté contre le fait que le ministre ait tenté d'utiliser le ouï-dire à plusieurs reprises et il a demandé que je refuse d'admettre les documents en preuve.

Le procureur du ministre des Transports a plaidé qu'il était impossible d'assigner les témoins Nance et Pastega, étant donné qu'ils ne désiraient pas coopérer et que ce Tribunal ne pouvait les y contraindre (ils demeurent en Oregon). Il a dit que ces témoins n'avaient pas intérêt à comparaître, pour des motifs relatifs aux assurances. Il a souligné que lorsque la date de l'audience originale concernant cette affaire avait été fixée, les témoins étaient ouverts à coopérer mais la situation a changé depuis. Il a présenté une copie d'une lettre en date du 27 mars 2001 du procureur de M. Nance et M. Pastega. Cette lettre déclarait que ni M. Nance, ni M. Pastega n'avaient participé personnellement à des dispositions de voyage de pêche à la mouche avec Pine Point Resort ou avec Rod Thatcher et que ces deux messieurs avaient prévenu qu'ils ne désiraient pas prendre part à ces procédures.

Le procureur du ministre a de plus souligné que le délai dans l'audience de cette affaire était considéré comme essentiel parce que tout report d'audience était susceptible d'être préjudiciable à M. Thatcher. Il a prétendu que les documents devaient être accueillis comme preuve des faits qu'ils contenaient et il a fait référence à l'article 37 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, laquelle prévoit que le Tribunal n'est pas lié par les règles formelles applicables en matière de preuve.

Même si ce Tribunal accueille souvent de la preuve par ouï-dire, je considère que dans l'intérêt de l'équité et de la justice naturelle, je ne dois pas permettre cette preuve dans les circonstances de cette audience en révision. Le fait que l'on tentait de prouver par ouï-dire seulement était un fait décisif, soit un des éléments essentiels que l'intimé devait prouver en regard de la présumée infraction : que le requérant avait exercé les avantages de sa licence de pilote professionnel au moment approprié. Une grande partie de la preuve qu'on tentait de présenter était à tout le moins du « ouï-dire double ». De plus, la lettre du procureur de MM. Nance et Pastega déclarait qu'ils n'avaient pas participé personnellement à la prise des dispositions de leur voyage. Le ministre intimé avait déjà bénéficié d'un ajournement qui lui donnait du temps supplémentaire pour organiser la comparution des autres témoins. Selon moi, la preuve documentaire par ouï-dire proposée n'était pas une preuve acceptable dans les circonstances.

Le ministre n'a soumis aucune autre preuve.

REQUÊTE

Le procureur du requérant, M. Thatcher, a refusé d'appeler des témoins. Il a plaidé que le ministre n'avait pas prouvé les éléments voulus de l'infraction mentionnés dans l'Avis de suspension. Il a plaidé, entre autres choses, qu'il n'y avait aucune preuve que le requérant exerçait les avantages de sa licence de pilote professionnel à la date en question. Il a aussi souligné que le numéro de licence mentionné dans l'Avis de suspension ne correspondait pas au numéro de licence de M. Thatcher mentionné dans les rapports du MEAC et sur les imprimés de la banque de données (SDLPA). Il a demandé que l'affaire soit rejetée pour manque de preuve.

Le procureur de M. Thatcher a fourni des exemplaires de deux décisions administrative de la Cour divisionnaire de la Haute Cour de Justice de l'Ontario : Coates c. Ontario (Registrateur des commerçants et des vendeurs de véhicules automobiles)[1] et Re Bernstein et Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario[2].

Le procureur du ministre n'a pas plaidé à l'encontre de la requête du requérant.

Dans Re Bernstein, M. le Juge O'Leary a déclaré ce qui suit :

Il est important de se rappeler que dans les causes civiles, il n'y a pas de formule type concernant les normes de preuve prescrites pour établir un fait.

Dans toutes les causes, avant d'en venir à une conclusion de fait, le tribunal doit être raisonnablement convaincu que le fait s'est produit, ce qui dépend de l'ensemble des circonstances, y compris la nature et les conséquences du fait ou des faits qui doivent être prouvés, le sérieux de l'allégation formulée et la gravité des conséquences qui doivent découler d'une conclusion particulière.

Le procureur de M. Thatcher a clairement exprimé tout au long des procédures du cas en l'espèce que mes conclusions dans cette affaire entraîneraient des conséquences graves pour M. Thatcher. Il revient au ministre de prouver les allégations et ma décision dans cette affaire doit se fonder sur une preuve digne de foi, probante et présentée à l'audience. La preuve présentée à l'audience ne répondait pas aux normes qualitatives et quantitatives prescrites pour maintenir l'allégation du ministre dans les circonstances.

JUGEMENT

Je considère, en me fondant sur la preuve de Dr Anderson, que le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que M. Thatcher n'était pas titulaire d'un certificat médical de pilote professionnel valide, le 19 juin 2000. Toutefois, je considère que la preuve selon laquelle le requérant exerçait les avantages d'une licence de pilote professionnel ce jour-là, est insuffisante. En conséquence, j'ai accordé la requête pour rejet en raison d'un manque de preuve présentée par le requérant.

DÉCISION

Les faits reprochés par le ministre sont rejetés et la suspension de la licence de pilote professionnel de M. Thatcher est annulée.

Sandra K. Lloyd
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


e 65 O.R. (2) 526, [1988] O.J. n o 1351.

e 15 O.R. (2) 447 (1977).