Decisions

TATC File No. P-3044-27
MoT File No. 5802-796935

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Shannon Theresa Lanning, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 6.71


Review Determination
Sandra Lloyd


Decision: February 1, 2005

I find that the Minister refused to issue the applicant a private pilot licence in accordance with its authority to do so under section 6.71 of the Aeronautics Act. I therefore confirm the Minister's decision of July 20, 2004 refusing to issue the applicant a private pilot licence.

A review hearing on this matter was held Thursday, January 13, 2005 at Premiere Verbatim Reporting, Discovery Room, in Victoria, British Columbia at 10:00 hours.

BACKGROUND

By letter dated July 20, 2004, Transport Canada refused to issue the applicant, Ms. Lanning, a private pilot licence, on the basis that she did not meet the solo long cross-country requirement as outlined in subparagraph 421.26(4)(b)(ii) of the Personnel Licensing and Training Standards respecting Flight Crew Permits, Licences and Ratings (Standard). Specifically, the Minister alleged that the applicant had not done two full-stop landings on one cross-country flight.

The applicant had applied for a private pilot licence on June 16, 2004. The applicant's pilot training record shows that on July 9, 2003, she flew a solo cross-country flight from Victoria to Campbell River and back to Victoria. On July 16, 2003, she completed a flight from Victoria to Nanaimo and return. The applicant's position was that she had thereby met the requirements of Standard 421.26(4)(b)(ii), in that two full stop landings had been made (at Campbell River and at Nanaimo), in spite that they had been made on two different trips.

Pursuant to section 6.72 of the Aeronautics Act, the applicant requested a review of the Minister's refusal to issue her a licence.

EVIDENCE

Transport Canada called one witness, Mr. John Milligan, who is Superintendent of Safety Oversight – Operations, for Transport Canada, Civil Aviation in Vancouver. In his position, Mr. Milligan supervises pilot training. He is an airline transport rated pilot with a Class 1 instructor rating. He has 13 years experience in the aviation industry as well as 11 years with Transport Canada. I accepted him as an expert in pilot flight training.

Mr. Milligan explained the applicant's pilot training record of the cross-country flights of July 2003.

Under cross-examination, Mr. Milligan said that there is no definition of "flight" in the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) but stated his view that a flight, for the purposes of Standard 421.26(4)(b)(ii), has to take place in a single day. His view was that a cross-country flight should be a series of consecutive flights. Normally he would expect to see three legs flown on the same day, unless a person was going away on an extended trip. He said his interpretation was the industry standard. However, he admitted that to his knowledge, no safety was compromised by what the applicant did.

Ms. Lanning testified on her own behalf. She described her cross-country flight of July 9, 2003. She said when she arrived at Campbell River, she went into the terminal. When she attempted to return to her aircraft, the gate to the ramp was locked and it took 30 minutes to find someone who could unlock the gate for her. She found this experience to be flustering. Her evidence was that when she neared Nanaimo and listened on the radio, she found that airport to be congested and felt she could not deal with another landing. She was afraid of making mistakes and thought it could be a safety hazard if she tried to land at Nanaimo. She therefore made the decision to bypass Nanaimo and continue to Victoria to land.

Under cross-examination, Ms. Lanning said that when her application for a private pilot licence was denied, she talked to Transport Canada and got a recreational pilot permit. Eventually, she did another cross-country, from Victoria with landings at Qualicum and Nanaimo, and got her private pilot licence.

SUBMISSIONS

Mr. Dixon for the Minister of Transport submitted that a "flight" does not extend beyond one's arrival back at the original departure airport. He submitted that if that were not the case, then one could argue that a private pilot applicant's entire 45 hours could be considered to be a "flight". He believes that the CARs requires a private pilot applicant to complete a cross-country flight that arrives back at the original point of departure only once. He also submitted that Canada must follow the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) standards, else Canada risks having its pilot licences unrecognized in other jurisdictions. He submitted copies of standards from ICAO and from other jurisdictions in support of his interpretation.

Mr. Dixon said he sympathized with Ms. Lanning, but submitted that her own statement that she had safety concerns about landing in Nanaimo on July 9, 2003 indicated that it had been premature for her to do her solo cross-country at that time, or that it was appropriate for her to do a second cross-country to get the necessary experience.

Mr. Dixon submitted that the CARs are specific in this matter, that one cross-country flight must be completed with two full stops. He said the applicant's second cross-country met those requirements and that is why Transport Canada issued her private pilot licence after that flight. He requested that the Minister's decision be upheld.

Mr. Gorle on behalf of the applicant argued that because "flight" is not defined in the CARs, the word is open to interpretation. His position was that Ms. Lanning had completed the cross-country requirement even though it had taken place on two different days. He said a precedent for this had been set with Mr. Milligan's predecessor and that he had a verbal agreement with him that a cross-country could take place on two different days. Mr. Gorle thought there was no safety issue involved and that Ms. Lanning had exhibited good pilot decision-making. He asked that the Minister's initial decision to refuse to issue her a pilot licence be overturned.

In reply Mr. Dixon submitted that good pilot decision-making often has a negative consequence, and that although it may have been a good decision by Ms. Lanning not to land at Nanaimo, the negative consequence was that she would have to do the flight again. Mr. Gorle submitted that pilots should not be punished for good decision-making.

DISCUSSION

Paragraph 401.06(1)(b) of the CARs mandates that, subject to section 6.71 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister shall issue a licence if the applicant provides documentation that establishes, among other things, that the applicant meets the applicable standards as to experience. Standard 421.26(4)(b)(ii) provides that in order to be issued a licence, the cross-country experience that a private pilot applicant shall have will include "a flight of a minimum of 150 nautical miles which shall include 2 full stop landings at points other than the point of departure". The word "a" precedes the word "flight" in this paragraph, indicating a single flight.

Section 6.71 of the Aeronautics Act provides that the Minister may refuse to issue a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that the applicant is incompetent or does not meet the qualifications or fulfil the conditions necessary for the issuance of the document; or that the Minister is of the opinion that the public interest and, in particular, the aviation record of the applicant, warrant the refusal.

The word "flight" is not defined in the Aeronautics Act or the CARs. "Flight time" is defined in CARs 101.01(1) as follows:

"flight time" means the time from the moment an aircraft first moves under its own power for the purpose of taking off until the moment it comes to rest at the end of the flight;

One might infer from this that "a flight" would commence from the time that the aircraft moves under its own power until it is next parked. However, that interpretation would be nonsensical in the context of Standard 421.26(4)(b)(ii), since that standard requires, within one flight, two full stop landings other than at the point of departure. It would be absurd to think that a pilot would not meet the standard if he or she chose to shut the engine down and stay awhile at one of his or her stopover points during a solo cross-country, or if he or she had to overnight at one of the stopover points due to unexpected bad weather, or chose to do an extended trip.

I find that "a flight" for the purposes of Standard 421.26(4)(b)(ii) commences from the time the aircraft moves under its own power and ends no later than when it comes to rest back at its original departure airport.

Copies of standards from ICAO and other jurisdictions, submitted by the Minister, support that interpretation.

I have also considered the practical reason for the solo cross-country requirement. Clearly, the intent is that the pilot applicant must demonstrate his or her ability to handle, on their own, a typical recreational flight that involves a trip away from home base. Cross-country flying is likely to present a variety of challenges and unexpected events including weather changes, air traffic, radio work, and landing at unfamiliar airports. It makes sense that before receiving a pilot licence, a pilot must demonstrate that he or she has sufficient experience to handle these challenges, contingencies, and unfamiliar situations with a reasonable amount of competence and confidence. The requirement of the Standard that a pilot applicant do a 150 mile flight away from home base, stopping at two airports before returning home, seems to me to be entirely reasonable.

The applicant's testimony as to her flight of July 9, 2003 does not persuade me that the Minister's refusal to issue in this case was unwarranted. I agree with the Minister that Ms. Lanning's experience of that flight indicates that it was premature for her to do the solo cross-country or that it was appropriate for her to do another cross-country before she was issued a pilot licence. She successfully completed another cross-country at a later date and is to be congratulated for her commitment in getting the experience required to earn her pilot licence.

I do not agree, as Mr. Gorle suggested, that requiring the applicant to complete a second cross-country amounted to punishing her for good decision-making. Good decision-making is simply one of the things expected of licenced pilots. Completion of a solo cross-country according to the Standard is another. I do not find it surprising nor excessively onerous that a pilot applicant may need to make more than one attempt at completing the solo cross-country requirement, as it is a challenging task for an inexperienced pilot.

Although Mr. Gorle mentioned that Mr. Milligan's predecessor at Transport Canada took the position that Standard 421.26(4)(b)(ii) could be met by two separate flights, he presented no evidence or legal authority to support that position. I find the words of the Standard are not consistent with that interpretation.

DETERMINATION

I find that the Minister refused to issue the applicant a private pilot licence in accordance with its authority to do so under section 6.71 of the Aeronautics Act. I therefore confirm the Minister's decision of July 20, 2004 refusing to issue the applicant a private pilot licence.

Sandra K. Lloyd
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no P-3044-27 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-796935 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Shannon Theresa Lanning, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 6.71


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Sandra Lloyd


Décision : le 1er février 2005

TRADUCTION

Je considère que le ministre a refusé de délivrer une licence de pilote privé à la requérante conformément à son pouvoir de le faire en vertu de l'article 6.71 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Je confirme donc la décision du ministre du 20 juillet 2004, de refuser de délivrer une licence de pilote privé à la requérante.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 13 janvier 2005 à 10 h dans les bureaux de Premiere Verbatim Reporting, salle Discovery, à Victoria (Colombie-Britannique).

HISTORIQUE

Par lettre en date du 20 juillet 2004, Transports Canada a refusé de délivrer une licence de pilote privé à la requérante, Mme Lanning, parce qu'elle ne respectait pas l'exigence relative au vol-voyage long en solo mentionnée au sous-alinéa 421.26(4)b)(ii) des Normes de délivrance des licences et de formation du personnel relatives aux permis, licences et qualifications de membre d'équipage de conduite (Normes). Plus précisément, le ministre a allégué que la requérante n'avait pas effectué deux atterrissages suivis d'arrêt complet lors d'un vol-voyage.

La requérante avait fait une demande de licence de pilote privé, le 16 juin 2004. Le dossier de formation du pilote de la requérante démontre que le 9 juillet 2003, elle a effectué un vol voyage en solo aller-retour de Victoria à Campbell River. Le 16 juillet 2003, elle a effectué un vol aller-retour de Victoria à Nanaimo. De l'avis de la requérante, elle avait ainsi respecté les exigences de la Norme 421.26(4)b)(ii) et deux atterrissages suivis d'un arrêt complet avaient été effectués (à Campbell River et à Nanaimo), en dépit du fait qu'ils avaient été faits lors de deux voyages différents.

En vertu de l'article 6.72 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, la requérante a demandé une révision du refus du ministre de lui délivrer une licence.

LA PREUVE

Transports Canada a appelé un témoin, M. John Milligan, surintendant, Surveillance de la sécurité - Opérations, pour le compte de Transports Canada, Aviation civile, à Vancouver. À ce titre, M. Milligan supervise la formation des pilotes. De plus, il est pilote d'avion de ligne et il possède une qualification d'instructeur classe 1. Il compte 13 années d'expérience dans le domaine de l'aviation, dont 11 années au service de Transports Canada. Je l'ai accepté à titre d'expert en formation de pilote.

M. Milligan a expliqué le dossier de formation du pilote de la requérante en ce qui a trait aux vols-voyage de juillet 2003.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Milligan a dit que le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) ne contenait aucune définition de « vol » mais il a déclaré qu'à son point de vue, un vol, conformément à la Norme 421.26(4)b)(ii), doit avoir lieu dans une même journée. À son avis, un vol-voyage se doit d'être une série de vols consécutifs. Normalement, on peut s'attendre à un vol de trois tronçons dans une même journée, à moins qu'une personne ne s'envole pour un voyage prolongé. Il a dit que son interprétation correspondait aux normes de l'industrie. Il a toutefois admis qu'à sa connaissance, les gestes de la requérante n'avaient compromis aucun élément de sécurité.

Mme Lanning a témoigné en son propre nom. Elle a décrit son vol-voyage du 9 juillet 2003. Elle a dit que dès son arrivée à Campbell River, elle est entrée dans l'aérogare. Lorsqu'elle a tenté de retourner à son aéronef, la barrière de l'aire de trafic était verrouillée et il a fallu 30 minutes pour trouver quelqu'un qui pourrait déverrouiller la barrière pour elle. Elle a trouvé l'expérience agaçante. Selon son témoignage, en approchant de Nanaimo, elle écoutait la radio et elle a constaté que l'aéroport était encombré. Elle se sentait incapable d'envisager un autre atterrissage. Elle avait peur de faire des erreurs et a pensé qu'il pouvait y avoir un risque d'accident si elle tentait d'atterrir à Nanaimo. Elle a donc décidé de contourner Nanaimo et d'aller atterrir à Victoria.

En contre-interrogatoire, Mme Lanning a dit que lorsque sa demande de licence de pilote privé a été refusée, elle a parlé à Transports Canada et elle a obtenu un permis de pilote de loisir. Par la suite, elle a effectué un autre vol-voyage, à partir de Victoria avec des atterrissages à Qualicum et à Nanaimo et elle a obtenu sa licence de pilote privée.

PLAIDOIRIES

Au nom du ministre des Transports, M. Dixon a plaidé qu'un « vol » ne se prolonge pas au-delà du retour à l'aéroport de départ. Il a plaidé que si ce n'était pas le cas, on pourrait prétendre que l'ensemble des 45 heures d'un demandeur de licence de pilote privé soit considéré comme un « vol ». Il estime que le RAC exige qu'un demandeur de licence privée exécute un vol-voyage qui revient au point de départ, en une seule fois. Il a de plus plaidé que le Canada doit suivre les normes de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale (OACI), au risque que ses licences de pilotes ne soient pas reconnues sur d'autres territoires. Il a présenté des exemplaires des normes de l'OACI et celles d'autres territoires pour appuyer son interprétation.

Bien que M. Dixon ait avoué compatir avec Mme Lanning, il a plaidé que sa propre déclaration selon laquelle un atterrissage à Nanaimo, le 9 juillet 2003, la préoccupait sur le plan de la sécurité, indiquait qu'il était prématuré pour elle d'effectuer un vol-voyage en solo, à ce moment-là, ou encore, qu'il était approprié qu'elle effectue un deuxième vol-voyage pour acquérir l'expérience nécessaire.

M. Dixon a plaidé que le RAC est explicite sur cette question : un vol-voyage doit être effectué suivi de deux arrêts complets. Il a dit que le deuxième vol-voyage de la requérante respectait les exigences et c'est la raison pour laquelle Transports Canada a délivré sa licence de pilote privé à la suite du vol. Il a demandé que la décision du ministre soit maintenue.

Au nom de la requérante, M. Gorle a plaidé que, parce que le « vol » n'est pas défini dans le RAC, il y a place à interprétation. Il était d'avis que Mme Lanning avait répondu aux exigences relatives au vol-voyage même s'il avait eu lieu sur deux jours différents. Il a dit qu'un précédent en la matière avait été établi par le prédécesseur de M. Milligan et qu'il avait eu une entente verbale avec lui selon laquelle un vol-voyage pouvait se dérouler sur deux jours différents. M. Gorle a pensé qu'aucune question de sécurité n'était en cause et que Mme Lanning avait pris une bonne décision en tant que pilote. Il a demandé que la décision initiale du ministre de refuser de lui délivrer une licence de pilote soit renversée.

En réplique, M. Dixon a plaidé que les bonnes prises de décision de pilote ont souvent des conséquences négatives. Bien que la décision de Mme Lanning de ne pas atterrir à Nanaimo ait sans doute été bonne, la conséquence négative est le fait qu'elle soit obligée d'effectuer le vol de nouveau. M. Gorle a rétorqué que les pilotes ne devraient pas être punis pour avoir pris une bonne décision.

DISCUSSION

L'alinéa 401.06(1)b) du RAC prévoit que, sous réserve de l'article 6.71 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre doit délivrer une licence si le demandeur fournit la documentation qui établit, entre autres choses, qu'il respecte les normes applicables en matière d'expérience. La Norme 421.26(4)b)(ii) prévoit que, pour qu'une licence soit délivrée, l'expérience de vol-voyage du demandeur doit comprendre « un parcours d'au moins 150 milles marins qui comporte deux atterrissages avec arrêt complet effectués à d'autres points qu'au point de départ ». Le mot « un » précède le mot « vol » dans cet alinéa, indiquant un seul vol.

L'article 6.71 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit que le ministre peut refuser de délivrer un document d'aviation canadien parce que le demandeur est inapte ou ne répond pas aux conditions de délivrance ou de modification du document; ou que le ministre estime que l'intérêt public, notamment en raison des antécédents aériens du demandeur, le requiert.

Le mot « vol » n'est pas défini dans la Loi sur l'aéronautique ou le RAC. Le « temps de vol » est défini au paragraphe 101.01(1) du RAC comme suit :

« temps de vol » ­ le temps calculé à partir du moment où l'aéronef commence à se déplacer par ses propres moyens en vue du décollage jusqu'au moment où il s'immobilise à la fin du vol.

On pourrait conclure qu'un « vol » débute à partir du moment où l'aéronef commence à se déplacer par ses propres moyens jusqu'à ce qu'il stationne. Toutefois, cette interprétation serait dénuée de sens dans le contexte de la Norme 421.26(4)b)(ii), étant donné que cette norme requiert deux atterrissages avec arrêts complets lors d'un seul vol et ailleurs qu'au point de départ. Il serait absurde de penser qu'un pilote ne respecte pas les normes s'il ou elle choisit d'éteindre le moteur et de demeurer un certain temps à son point d'arrêt de vol lors de son vol-voyage en solo ou s'il ou elle doit faire un arrêt de nuit à un de ses points d'arrêt en raison de mauvaises conditions météorologiques imprévues ou encore s'il ou elle choisit de prolonger son voyage.

Je considère qu'un « vol », conformément à la Norme 421.26(4)b)(ii), débute à partir du moment où l'aéronef commence à se déplacer par ses propres moyens et finit au moment où il s'immobilise à l'aéroport d'origine du départ.

Des exemplaires des normes de l'OACI et d'autres sphères de responsabilité, ont été présenté par le ministre, pour appuyer cette interprétation.

J'ai aussi pris en considération la raison pratique reliée à l'exigence du vol-voyage en solo. Manifestement, cette exigence vise à ce que le pilote démontre son habilité à gérer, par ses propres moyens, un vol de loisir typique qui nécessite un voyage à l'extérieur de la base principale. Le vol-voyage peut vraisemblablement présenter une variété de défis et d'événements imprévus, notamment des changements de conditions météorologiques, de la circulation aérienne, du fonctionnement de la radio ainsi que des atterrissages à des aéroports inconnus. Il est logique qu'avant d'obtenir sa licence, un pilote ait à démontrer qu'il ou elle a une expérience suffisante pour relever ces défis et réagir à des urgences ou des situations inconnues avec un niveau raisonnable de compétence et de confiance. L'exigence des Normes selon laquelle un pilote qui fait une demande effectue un vol de 150 milles de la base principale, en arrêtant à deux aéroports avant de revenir à son point de départ, me semble entièrement raisonnable.

Le témoignage de la requérante concernant son vol du 9 juillet 2003 ne me persuade pas que le refus du ministre de délivrer une licence, dans le cas en l'espèce, n'était pas justifié. Je conviens avec le ministre que l'expérience de Mme Lanning, en ce qui a trait à ce vol, indique qu'il était prématuré pour elle de faire un vol-voyage en solo ou qu'il était approprié qu'elle effectue un autre vol-voyage avant qu'une licence de pilote ne lui soit délivrée. Elle a réussi un autre vol-voyage, à une date ultérieure, et elle doit être félicitée pour son engagement à acquérir l'expérience requise pour obtenir sa licence de pilote.

Je ne suis pas d'accord, comme M. Gorle l'a laissé entendre, que le fait de demander à la requérante d'effectuer un deuxième vol-voyage équivaut à la punir d'avoir pris une bonne décision. On s'attend simplement à ce qu'un pilote titulaire d'une licence prenne de bonnes décisions. Qu'il effectue un vol-voyage en solo selon les Normes est autre chose. Je ne trouve ni surprenant, ni excessivement onéreux qu'un demandeur de licence puisse avoir besoin de faire plus d'une tentative pour respecter l'exigence d'un vol-voyage en solo, puisqu'il s'agit d'une tâche exigeante pour un pilote inexpérimenté.

Bien que M. Gorle ait mentionné que le prédécesseur de M. Milligan à Transports Canada avait adopté le point de vue que la Norme 421.26(4)(b)(ii) pouvait être respecté en deux vols séparés, il n'a présenté aucune preuve ou de jurisprudence pour appuyer cette position. Je considère que le libellé des Normes n'est pas conforme à cette interprétation.

DÉCISION

Je considère que le ministre a refusé de délivrer une licence de pilote privé à la requérante conformément à son pouvoir de le faire en vertu de l'article 6.71 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Je confirme donc la décision du ministre en date du 20 juillet 2004, de refuser de délivrer une licence de pilote privé à la requérante.

Sandra K. Lloyd
Conseillère
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada