Decisions

TATC File No. P-3151-60
MoT File No. 5802-067515

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Robin Carl Lamb, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: January 18, 2006

I confirm the Minister's decision to issue Captain Robin Lamb an unsatisfactory assessment on his A-330/340 pilot proficiency check.

A review hearing on this matter was held Tuesday, November 8, 2005 at Robson Square in Vancouver, British Columbia.

BACKGROUND

On May 20, 2005, the applicant failed a pilot proficiency check (PPC) on an Airbus 330/340.

FACTS

The facts of the matter were not in dispute. Captain Lamb did not object to nor did he provide any evidence to challenge the evidence of the relevant facts as stated by Captain John Dixon Sturdy, the Air Canada Check Pilot who conducted the ride.

The PPC was a scripted ride conducted in a simulator. On departure an engine fire was simulated. Captain Lamb allowed the nose to pitch up beyond the prescribed amount and in spite of a prompting from the first officer, he failed to stop the climb at the prescribed acceleration altitude of 1,500 feet. The script provided a second simulated engine failure on the same side. The crew set the aircraft up for a two-engine out same side approach. The captain programmed the incorrect airspeed, 3 knots faster than the current Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs). The landing was completed within the prescribed parameters.

A second departure was made and again there was a simulated engine failure on departure. The engine was re-lit and the crew continued for a CAT III approach. Notwithstanding several prompts from the first officer and an elapsed time of approximately 10 minutes, the captain did not return the thrust lever for the re-lit engine to the appropriate thrust. As the crew prepared for the approach Captain Lamb took out the incorrect chart for ground and taxi and responded to a prescribed prompt in a manner inconsistent with the SOPs. The landing was carried out and the appropriate exit was used.

After a break Captain Lamb was advised the ride was a fail and the ride was terminated.

Captain Lamb expressed his displeasure with his company's change to Jeppesen charts and admitted that he had not reviewed the new charts in preparation for his ride.

There was also evidence that he was under considerable stress as a result of personal events. He did not ask to have the ride rescheduled.

ARGUMENT

The applicant admitted it was not a perfect ride but felt that the errors were minor in nature and did not warrant an assessment of a failure.

The Minister pointed out that the PPC was conducted in accordance with a script and that the procedures were carried out in accordance with the Approved Check Pilot Manual.

FINDING

The check pilot made his determination in a manner consistent with the Approved Check Pilot Manual. In particular, the applicant knew of the changes to the charts and knew or should have known his company's SOPs. The applicant had not reviewed the new charts and he did not follow the SOPs. As well, the failure to correct the power setting notwithstanding several prompts to correct the situation, was reasonably determined to be a loss of situational awareness. All of which are failure items under section 10.4 of the Approved Check Pilot Manual.

Every pilot has a duty to assess themselves fit to exercise the privileges of their licence, CARs subparagraph 404.06(1)(a)(i). If Captain Lamb's personal circumstances made him unfit to assume the role of pilot-in-command, then he had an obligation to excuse himself from the ride.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the check pilot's decision and the Minister's Notice of Suspension.

January 18, 2006

William T. Tweed
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no P-3151-60 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-067515 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Robin Carl Lamb, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1(1)b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 18 janvier 2006

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre de délivrer une évaluation insatisfaisante au commandant Robin Lamb concernant son contrôle de la compétence du pilote A-330/340.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 8 novembre 2005 au Robson Square à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

HISTORIQUE

Le 20 mai 2005, le requérant a échoué un contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP), sur un Airbus 330/340.

LES FAITS

Les faits de l'affaire n'étaient pas en litige. Le commandant Lamb ne s'est pas objecté et n'a fourni aucune preuve pour contester les faits pertinents déclarés par le commandant John Dixon Sturdy, le pilote vérificateur d'Air Canada qui a effectué le vol.

Le CCP était un vol scénarisé effectué dans un simulateur. Au départ, un incendie réacteur a été simulé. Le commandant Lamb a fait en sorte que le nez se cabre au-delà du degré prescrit. Il n'a pas tenu compte des incitations du premier officier et n'a pas interrompu son ascension à l'altitude d'accélération prescrite de 1500 pieds. Le scénario présentait une deuxième simulation de panne de moteur, du même côté. L'équipage a préparé l'aéronef pour une approche d'un bimoteur du même côté. Le commandant a mal programmé la vitesse anémométrique, soit trois nœuds de plus que ne l'indiquent les procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOP). L'atterrissage a été exécuté selon les paramètres prescrits.

Un deuxième départ a été effectué et, de nouveau, il y a eu une simulation de panne de moteur au départ. Le moteur a été démarré de nouveau et l'équipage a poursuivi son approche CAT III. En dépit de plusieurs incitations du premier officier et après un délai d'environ 10 minutes, le commandant n'a pas remis la manette de poussée à la traction appropriée pour redémarrer le moteur. Alors que l'équipage se préparait à l'approche, le commandant a utilisé le mauvais diagramme d'atterrissage et de circulation au sol et il a réagi à un message guide prescrit de façon non conforme aux SOP. L'atterrissage a été effectué et la sortie appropriée a été empruntée.

Après une pause, le commandant Lamb a été avisé que le vol était un échec et qu'il était terminé.

Le commandant Lamb a exprimé son désagrément concernant les modifications effectuées par sa compagnie aux diagrammes Jeppesen et il a admis qu'il n'avait pas revu les nouveaux diagrammes pour préparer son vol.

La preuve a aussi démontré qu'il était considérablement stressé pour des raisons personnels. Il n'a pas demandé que le vol soit remis à plus tard.

ARGUMENTS

Le requérant a admis que le vol n'était pas parfait mais il considérait que les erreurs étaient mineures et qu'elles ne justifiaient pas un échec.

Le ministre a souligné que le CCP avait été effectué conformément à un scénario et que les procédures avaient été effectuées conformément au Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé.

CONCLUSION

Le pilote vérificateur a rendu sa décision conformément au Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé. Plus particulièrement, le requérant connaissait les modifications aux diagrammes et il savait ou aurait dû savoir les SOP de sa compagnie. Le requérant n'avait pas revu les nouveaux diagrammes et n'a pas suivi les SOP. De plus, il était raisonnable de conclure qu'il avait manqué de conscience de la situation alors qu'il n'a pas corrigé le réglage de puissance bien qu'on l'ait incité à le faire à maintes reprises. Ce sont-là des éléments d'échec en vertu de l'article 10.4 du Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé.

Chaque pilote a le devoir de s'évaluer apte à exercer les prérogatives de sa licence, selon le sous-alinéa 404.06(1)a)(i) du RAC. Si des circonstances personnelles rendaient le commandant Lamb inapte à assumer son rôle de commandant de bord, il avait alors l'obligation de s'exempter de piloter.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du pilote vérificateur et l'Avis de suspension du ministre.

Le 18 janvier 2006

Me William T. Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada