Decisions

CAT File No. A-2213-41
MoT File No. 5504-042811

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Richard George Henderson Airlie, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S., c.33 (1st Supp). s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 601.09(1)

VFR Flight, Unauthorized Operation in Controlled Airspace, Helicopter, Class D Airspace, Circumstantial Evidence


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: April 17, 2001

The circumstances of the flight in evidence are consistent only with the conclusion that Mr. Airlie contravened the provision. The defence of due diligence is not available in the circumstance. The Minister's suggested penalty of $100.00 is confirmed. The payment shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, March 27, 2001 at 10:00 hours at the Delta Beauséjour in the city of Moncton, New Brunswick.

BACKGROUND

On September 13, 2000 around 10:00 a.m. the tower controller at the Moncton airport observed a target on radar. By visual observation the aircraft was identified as a helicopter. The controller attempted to contact it by radio, as the helicopter had not previously made radio contact with the tower. The attempt was unsuccessful and the helicopter proceeded westward. The weather at Moncton was less then the visual flight rules (VFR) minima.

Transport Canada's investigation of the Moncton occurrence lead them to believe that a helicopter which had landed in Fredericton not long after that incident was the same one which had traversed Moncton's control zone unannounced. Having ascertained that it had been flown by a Mr. Richard George Henderson Airlie, Transport Canada made an allegation in the following form:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Schedule A:

Canadian Aviation Regulations subsection 601.09(1), in that at approximately 10:00 local time (13:00 UTC) on or about September 13, 2000, at or near the Moncton Airport, Moncton, New Brunswick, you were operating VFR aircraft Canadian civil registration C-FLCN and you entered Class D airspace when you failed to establish two-way radio contact with the appropriate air traffic control unit before entering the airspace.

As Mr. Airlie did not pay the monetary penalty, Transport Canada requested a hearing, which was then held on March 27, 2001 in Moncton, New Brunswick.

EVIDENCE

Evidence adduced by the Minister establishes the following facts:

After having received an occurrence report from the Moncton tower, Mr. Coomber, a Transport Canada investigator, created a series of Radex readouts of traffic in that general area. Exhibit M-6, a compilation of these Radex readouts, shows a VFR target (squawking 1200) south east of the Moncton airport, which travels to the coast of the Northumberland Strait and then turns more westerly, inland. The target proceeded west and in doing so was recorded as having been south of the Moncton Very High Frequency Omnidirectional Range (VOR) and to the north of the flight path of the Moncton airport. The target continued westerly towards the Fredericton airport.

The weather at both Moncton and Fredericton was less than that required for VFR flight. The target was recorded at various times between 400 and 800 feet above ground.

The controller on duty in Moncton tower about 10:00 a.m. on September 13 noticed a target then visually observed a helicopter flying from east to west, through the control zone, north of the runways. The helicopter had not contacted Moncton tower nor could the tower make radio contact with it.

The control zone around the Moncton airport is classified as Class D airspace in the Designated Airspace Handbook. Moncton tower is the appropriate air traffic control unit to contact prior to entering the control zone.

Fredericton flight service station (FSS) personnel received radio contact from a helicopter, C-FLCN that requested a clearance to land at Fredericton for refuelling. The helicopter was an EC-20 which had previously departed from Fox Harbour. The weather was below VFR in Fredericton, so a special VFR clearance was requested. As instrument flight rules (IFR) traffic was inbound there was delay in issuing the special VFR clearance, until the IFR traffic had landed. After arrival the helicopter pilot was asked to contact the FSS manager. The pilot was then requested to contact Mr. Coomber of the Transport Canada Enforcement Branch.

The pilot phoned Mr. Coomber, identifying himself as Mr. Richard Airlie. Mr. Airlie related that he had earlier departed Fox Harbour enroute to Montréal but poor weather had caused him to follow the Northumberland Strait coast line before turning for Fredericton. He stated that the transponder had been squawking 1200 and the flight conducted at about 500 feet above ground.

Documentary evidence shows that Mr. Airlie is a commercially licensed helicopter pilot with an endorsement on an EC-20 helicopter. Helicopter C-FLCN is a model EC-120B aircraft registered to Simgesco Ltée.

Mr. Airlie chose not to give evidence. On cross-examination of Inspector Coomber he established that from the bays on the Northumberland Strait coast to Fredericton was about 90 miles. Mr. Coomber agreed that at 120 KTS or about 2 miles a minute, the distance would be covered in 45 minutes.

Regarding the telephone interview, Mr. Airlie asked whether he had stated that his aircraft was squawking 1200 at all times, but the witness was unable to remember.

ARGUMENT

Mr. Thompson argued the testimony and documentary evidence produced proved each element of the offence. The monetary penalty of $100.00 was appropriate in the circumstance.

Mr. Airlie presented argument on two bases. He submits that there was reasonable doubt as to the identity of the aircraft and secondly he argues due diligence.

The witnesses in the control tower did not identify the helicopter that they observed. They were unable to even establish its colour.

Given the distance from the Northumberland Strait coast to Fredericton of 90 nautical miles, an aircraft going 120 KTS would cover the distance in 45 minutes. However if one takes the helicopter's time of arrival in Fredericton and works back, that calculated time does not coincide with the time established on the Radex plot for the target on the Northumberland coast. Therefore there is a doubt as to whether or not it was Mr. Airlie's helicopter. There may be a gap in the radar coverage.

Together this all should establish a reasonable doubt regarding the identity of the helicopter. Mr. Airlie also submits that his flight was conducted with all due diligence, as illustrated by the appropriate contact with Fredericton FSS.

DISCUSSION

It is incumbent upon the Minister to prove on a balance of probability every element of the offence. Subsection 601.09(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) states:

601.09 (1) Subject to subsection (2), no person operating a VFR aircraft shall enter Class D airspace unless the person establishes two-way radio contact with the appropriate air traffic control unit before entering the airspace.

Subsection (2) is inapplicable in this instance.

The evidence reveals that Mr. Airlie was operating a VFR helicopter (a helicopter by definition in subsection 101.01(1) of the CARs is an aircraft) in the area near Moncton on September 13, 2000.

It is established that the control zone around the Moncton airport is Class D airspace and that the appropriate air traffic control unit to contact before entering that Class D airspace is the Moncton tower.

The two tower controllers testified to seeing a radar target and then visually observing a helicopter transit the Moncton control zone. They were not able to identify the helicopter. It was not in two-way radio contact with the tower.

The issue to be resolved is whether the helicopter seen flying through the zone was that being flown by Mr. Airlie.

I find that the Minister has established, on a balance of probability, that Mr. Airlie was the pilot flying helicopter C-FLCN through the control zone, without being in radio contact with the Moncton tower.

The proof of that fact is circumstantial but the circumstances are consistent only with the event having occurred as alleged.

The Radex plot shows only one target squawking the VFR code of 1200. Mr. Airlie had told the inspector that his aircraft's transponder was set to 1200. The target indicated an altitude between 400 and 800 feet. Mr. Airlie's statement says he was at approximately 500 feet. This target commenced south east of Moncton, went towards and then followed the Northumberland Strait before turning west and traversing the Moncton control zone. Again Mr. Airlie had stated that deteriorating weather had caused him to follow the Northumberland Strait coast before turning for Fredericton. The time of arrival of helicopter C-FLCN in Fredericton is close to the time the Radex last shows a target enroute to Fredericton.

Mr. Airlie had sought to raise doubt in his argument. He is correct that no actual identification of the helicopter that traversed the control zone was made. In cross-examination he queried whether he had told the inspector that his aircraft was squawking 1200, at all times, on that morning. He posed a hypothetical time distance/equation regarding the target seen at the Northumberland Strait coast, enroute to Fredericton, that, if correct, could cause one to query if the target was indeed C-FLCN.

However the inspector could not remember if Mr. Airlie had qualified his statement. We are therefore left with the statement, as it was given. The time/distance equation was based on an aircraft speed of 120 KTS. But as Mr. Airlie did not testify, there is no evidence of what speed his helicopter did fly. Further to that point the Fredericton FSS was unable to give a special VFR clearance immediately which could have had the effect of one reducing speed from the optimum in order not to enter the control zone before clearance was granted.

The defence of due diligence was raised in argument. Civil Aviation Tribunal jurisprudence[1] provides that once a contravention has been proven the onus shifts to the alleged offender to prove, on a balance of probability, that he exercised all due diligence to avoid the commission of the offence. In the case at hand, there was no evidence presented by the alleged offender. Therefore there is no way for me to assess what action he did or did not take to avoid the commission of the offence.

Held: The circumstances of the flight in evidence are consistent only with the conclusion that Mr. Airlie contravened the provision. The defence of due diligence is not available in the circumstance. The Minister's suggested penalty of $100.00 is confirmed.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] Harry Edward Joseph Shermet v. Minister of Transport, CAT File No. C-1021-02, Appeal.

Décisions

Dossier no A-2213-41 (TAC)
Dossier no 5504-042811 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Richard George Henderson Airlie, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, par. 601.09(1)

Preuve circonstancielle, Utilisation non autorisée dans un espace aérien contrôlé, Hélicoptère, Espace aérien de classe D, Vol VFR


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 17 avril 2001

TRADUCTION

Les circonstances du vol qui sont en preuve corroborent uniquement la conclusion selon laquelle M. Airlie a contrevenu à la disposition. La défense de diligence raisonnable n'est pas probante dans les circonstances. La sanction de 100 $ proposée par le ministre est confirmée. Le paiement doit être fait à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 27 mars 2001 à 10 h au Delta Beauséjour dans la ville de Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick).

HISTORIQUE

Le 13 septembre 2000, vers 10 h, le contrôleur de la tour de l'aéroport de Moncton a aperçu une cible sur le radar. L'observation visuelle a permis de déterminer que l'aéronef était un hélicoptère. Le contrôleur a tenté de communiquer avec l'hélicoptère étant donné qu'aucune communication radio n'avait eu lieu auparavant entre ce dernier et la tour. La tentative n'a pas été fructueuse et l'hélicoptère s'est dirigé vers l'ouest. La météo à Moncton était sous les conditions atmosphériques minimales de règle de vol à vue (VFR).

L'enquête de Transports Canada sur les circonstances de Moncton a porté à croire que l'hélicoptère qui avait atterri à Fredericton peu après l'incident était le même que celui qui avait franchi la zone de contrôle de Moncton sans s'annoncer. Après avoir constaté qu'il était piloté par un certain M. Richard George Henderson Airlie, Transports Canada a libellé l'allégation de la façon suivante :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Annexe A :

Au paragraphe 601.09(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien parce que vers 10 h, heure locale, (13 h UTC) le ou vers le 13 septembre 2000, à ou près de l'aéroport de Moncton, à Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick), vous avez utilisé un aéronef VFR, portant l'immatriculation canadienne C-FLCN et vous êtes entré dans l'espace aérien de classe D, sans avoir établi au préalable une communication bilatérale avec l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente.

Étant donné que M. Airlie n'a pas payé l'amende, Transports Canada a demandé une audience qui a par la suite eu lieu le 27 mars 2001, à Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick.

LA PREUVE

La preuve présentée par le ministre établit les faits suivants :

Après avoir reçu le rapport d'incident de la tour de Moncton, M. Coomber, un enquêteur de Transports Canada a créé une série d'affichages Radex sur la circulation dans ce secteur général. La pièce M-6, une compilation de ces affichages Radex, montre la cible VFR (transpondeur 1200) au sud-est de l'aéroport de Moncton qui voyage vers la côte du détroit de Northumberland et tourne ensuite plus vers l'ouest, vers les terres. La cible s'est déplacée en direction ouest et, ce faisant, on a enregistré qu'elle avait été au sud du radiophare omnidirectionnel à très haute fréquence (VOR) de Moncton et au nord de la trajectoire de vol de l'aéroport de Moncton. La cible s'est déplacée vers l'ouest en direction de l'aéroport de Fredericton.

Les conditions météorologiques, tant à Moncton qu'à Fredericton, étaient sous celles prescrites pour un vol VFR. On a relevé la cible à diverses reprises entre 400 et 800 pieds du sol.

Le contrôleur de service à la tour de Moncton vers 10 h le 13 septembre a remarqué une cible et a observé à l'œil nu un hélicoptère qui volait d'est en ouest, à l'intérieur de la zone de contrôle, au nord des pistes. L'hélicoptère n'a pas communiqué avec la tour de Moncton et la tour ne pouvait établir de communication radio avec celui-ci.

La zone de contrôle de l'espace aérien autour de Moncton est classifiée de classe D dans le Manuel des espaces aériens désignés. La tour de Moncton constitue l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne avec laquelle il convient de communiquer avant d'entrer dans la zone de contrôle.

Le personnel de la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Fredericton a reçu une communication radio en provenance d'un hélicoptère, le C-FLCN, qui demandait une autorisation pour atterrir à Fredericton afin de faire le plein. L'hélicoptère était un EC-20 qui avait auparavant décollé de Fox Harbour. Les conditions météorologiques étaient sous VFR à Fredericton, de sorte qu'une autorisation VFR spéciale a été demandée. Comme il y avait du trafic d'arrivée en vol aux instruments (IFR), il y a eu un délai avant l'autorisation VFR spéciale, en attendant l'atterrissage de la circulation IFR. Après son arrivée, on a demandé au pilote de l'hélicoptère de communiquer avec le directeur de la FSS. On a ensuite demandé au pilote de communiquer avec M. Coomber de la direction de l'Application de la loi de Transports Canada.

Le pilote a téléphoné à M. Coomber et s'est identifié comme étant M. Richard Airlie. M. Airlie a rapporté qu'il était auparavant parti de Fox Harbour en route vers Montréal mais que les conditions météorologiques difficiles l'avaient amené à suivre la côte du détroit de Northumberland avant de tourner vers Fredericton. Il a déclaré que le transpondeur indiquait 1200 et que le vol était à environ 500 pieds du sol.

La preuve documentaire montre que M. Airlie est un pilote dont la licence commerciale porte une mention concernant un hélicoptère EC-20. L'hélicoptère C-FLCN est un aéronef de type EC-120B immatriculé au nom de Simgesco Ltée.

M. Airlie a choisi de ne pas présenter de preuve. Lors du contre-interrogatoire de l'inspecteur Coomber, il a établi qu'à partir des baies de la côte du détroit de Northumberland jusqu'à Fredericton, il y avait environ 90 milles. M. Coomber a convenu qu'à 120 nœuds, soit environ 2 milles à la minute, on pouvait parcourir cette distance en 45 minutes.

En ce qui a trait à l'entrevue téléphonique, on a demandé à M. Airlie s'il avait déclaré que le transpondeur de son aéronef était à 1200 en tout temps, mais le témoin ne s'en souvenait plus.

ARGUMENTS

M. Thompson a plaidé que le témoignage et la preuve documentaire présentés prouvaient chacun des éléments de l'infraction. L'amende de 100 $ était appropriée dans les circonstances.

M. Airlie a présenté des arguments sur deux bases. Il prétend qu'il y avait un doute raisonnable concernant l'identification de l'aéronef et, deuxièmement, il plaide la diligence raisonnable.

Les témoins de la tour de contrôle n'ont pas identifié l'hélicoptère qu'ils ont observé. Ils étaient même incapables d'en établir la couleur.

Étant donné les 90 milles marins qui séparent la côte du détroit de Northumberland de Fredericton, à 120 noeuds, un aéronef franchit cette distance en 45 minutes. Toutefois, si on prend l'heure de l'hélicoptère à son arrivée à Fredericton et qu'on effectue un calcul à rebours, le temps obtenu ne coïncide pas avec le temps établi sur le tracé Radex de la cible sur la côte de Northumberland. Donc, il existe un doute à savoir s'il s'agit ou non de l'hélicoptère de M. Airlie. Il peut y avoir une faille dans la couverture radar.

L'ensemble de ces éléments sert à établir un doute raisonnable concernant l'identification de l'hélicoptère. M. Airlie plaide de plus que son vol était conduit avec toute la diligence raisonnable, comme le démontre la communication appropriée avec la FSS de Fredericton.

DISCUSSION

Il appartient au ministre de prouver tous les éléments de l'infraction selon la prépondérance des probabilités. Le paragraphe 601.09(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) prévoit :

601.09 (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (2), il est interdit à quiconque utilise un aéronef VFR d'entrer dans l'espace aérien de classe D, à moins d'avoir établi au préalable une communication bilatérale avec l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente.

Le paragraphe (2) ne s'applique pas à la présente instance.

La preuve révèle que M. Airlie utilisait un hélicoptère VFR (aux termes du paragraphe 101(1) du RAC, un hélicoptère est un aérodyne) dans le secteur près de Moncton, le 13 septembre 2000.

Il est établi que la zone de contrôle autour de l'aéroport de Moncton est l'espace aérien de classe D et que l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne avec lequel il convient de communiquer avant d'entrer dans l'espace aérien de classe D est la tour de Moncton.

Les deux contrôleurs de la tour ont témoigné avoir vu une cible sur le radar et avoir par la suite observé à l'œil nu un hélicoptère qui traversait la zone de contrôle de Moncton. Ils n'ont pas été capables d'identifier l'hélicoptère. Il n'y a pas eu de communication bilatérale avec la tour.

La question à trancher est celle de savoir si l'hélicoptère aperçu en vol à l'intérieur de la zone était celui que M. Airlie pilotait.

Je considère que le ministre a prouvé selon la prépondérance des probabilités que M. Airlie pilotait l'hélicoptère C-FLCN dans les limites de la zone de contrôle, sans avoir communiqué par radio avec la tour de Moncton.

La preuve de ce fait est circonstancielle mais les circonstances sont uniquement compatibles avec l'incident qui a eu lieu tel qu'allégué.

Le tracé Radex montre uniquement une cible dont le transpondeur possède un code VFR de 1200. M. Airlie avait dit à l'inspecteur que le transpondeur de son aéronef était réglé à 1200. La cible indiquait une altitude entre 400 et 800 pieds. Dans sa déclaration, M. Airlie mentionne qu'il était environ à 500 pieds. La cible commençait au sud-est de Moncton, se déplaçait vers le détroit de Northumberland et le longeait avant de tourner à l'ouest et de traverser la zone de contrôle de Moncton. M. Airlie avait déclaré que les conditions météorologiques qui se détérioraient l'avaient amené à suivre la côte du détroit de Northumberland avant de tourner vers Fredericton. Le temps de l'arrivée de l'hélicoptère C-FLCN à Fredericton est près de la dernière fois qu'une cible figure sur le Radex en route vers Fredericton.

M. Airlie avait cherché à soulever le doute dans ses arguments. Il est exact qu'aucune identification de l'hélicoptère qui a traversé la zone de contrôle n'a été faite. En contre-interrogatoire, il a mis en doute avoir dit à l'inspecteur que le transpondeur indiquait 1200 en tout temps, ce matin-là. Il a établi une équation hypothétique relative au temps et à la distance en ce qui a trait à la cible aperçue sur la côte du détroit de Northumberland, en route vers Fredericton, et qui, advenant son exactitude, pouvait susciter des doutes à savoir si la cible était effectivement le C-FLCN.

Toutefois l'inspecteur ne pouvait se rappeler si M. Airlie avait nuancé sa déclaration. Nous sommes donc aux prises avec la déclaration, telle que communiquée. L'équation du temps et de la distance reposait sur la vitesse de l'aéronef à 120 noeuds. Mais étant donné que M. Airlie n'a pas témoigné, il n'existe aucune preuve sur la vitesse effective de vol de son hélicoptère. De plus, la FSS de Fredericton n'a pas pu donner une autorisation VFR spéciale immédiatement, ce qui pouvait entraîner une réduction de vitesse optimale pour éviter de pénétrer dans la zone de contrôle avant que l'autorisation ne soit accordée.

La défense de diligence raisonnable a été soulevée dans les arguments. La jurisprudence du Tribunal de l'aviation civile[1] prévoit que lorsqu'une contravention a été prouvée, il incombe au présumé auteur de l'infraction de prouver, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, qu'il a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour éviter la perpétration de l'infraction. Dans le cas en l'espèce, aucune preuve n'a été présentée par le présumé auteur de l'infraction. En conséquence, je ne peux en aucune façon évaluer les gestes qu'il a ou n'a pas posés pour éviter la perpétration de l'infraction.

Maintenu : Les circonstances du vol qui sont en preuve corroborent uniquement la conclusion selon laquelle M. Airlie a contrevenu à la disposition. La défense de diligence raisonnable n'est pas probante dans les circonstances. L'amende de 100 $ proposée par le ministre est confirmée.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Harry Edward Joseph Shermet c. Ministre des Transports, TAC no C-1021-02 (TAC), appel.