Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1581-33
MoT File No. NAP-6504-P-139725-30147

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Bruno Saint-jacques, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 103.08, 602.101(e)

FSS Communications, Clearing Runway


Review Determination
Pierre Rivest


Decision: June 15, 1998

TRANSLATION

I uphold the Minister's decision and confirm the assessed monetary penalty of $250.00. The said penalty shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Monday, June 8, 1998, at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Montreal, Quebec. The witnesses were sworn in.

BACKGROUND

The Respondent, Mr. Bruno Saint-Jacques, is accused of having contravened paragraph 602.101(e) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) by failing to inform the Mont-Joli flight service station (FSS) ("MF reporting") that he had cleared runway 28 at Baie Comeau, after landing. The offence allegedly occurred July 25, 1997. The flight in question was flight AMO 401. He was assessed a monetary penalty of $250.00 pursuant to section 103.08 of the CARs.

THE LAW

Paragraph 602.101(e) of the CARs provides:

The pilot-in-command of a VFR aircraft arriving at an uncontrolled aerodrome that lies within an MF area shall report

(...)

(e) when clear of the surface on which the aircraft has landed.

THE FACTS

Before the facts were presented, Mr. Jean Paul Leblanc, for the Respondent, filed a motion that he considered the case closed and that there was no reason to proceed with the hearing.

To support his claim, he referred to a letter from the Tribunal (Exhibit T-1), dated January 14, 1998, which states, and I quote, "... that the notice of assessment of monetary penalty ... has been withdrawn, (and that) ... the hearing ... has been cancelled and the file is now closed" (translation).

In reply, the Applicant produced a letter (Exhibit T-2) dated January 14, 1998, in which the Minister rescinds the notice of assessment of October 30, 1997, (because, it says, of a procedural error), and replaces it with that of January 14, 1998, which notice is among the documents of this hearing.

After discussion between the Tribunal and both parties, I denied the Respondent's motion and asked the case presenters if they were ready to proceed with their respective presentations.

The Applicant then produced a document (Exhibit M-1) which is a letter signed by Mr. Jean Paul Leblanc in his capacity as chief pilot of the company Air Montréal, owner of the aircraft involved in the incident of July 25, 1997, in which he states that the copy of the journey log of the aircraft in question (M-1, page 2) is consistent with the facts.

Finally, Mr. Tamborriello corrected the date of a letter sent to the Respondent to which were attached the documents he proposed to disclose at this hearing; the date should have been May 13, 1998, not May 26.

In the last two instances, the Respondent made no objection.

For the Applicant

The Applicant called just one witness, Mr. Richard Bourgeois, a specialist from the Mont-Joli FSS and the person who witnessed the incident of July 25, 1997, involving flight AMO 401.

His testimony, supported by two documents (M-2 and M-3), may be summarized as follows:

  • Flight AMO 401 failed several times to report in while travelling from Mont-Joli to Baie Comeau, and then on to Bonaventure. I accepted, however, only paragraph 3 of his report (M-2, para. 3) as relevant to today's case, namely, that it failed to report in after clearing the Baie Comeau runway.
  • Document M-3 (the transcript of radio communications) shows that between 1250:50 (12 hours, 50 minutes, 50 seconds) and 1258:45, flight AMO 401 did not contact the FSS to report that it was clear of the runway.
  • At 1253:13, Mr. Bourgeois asked the pilot of flight AMO 401 to report in once he had cleared the runway, which he agreed to do.
  • The only communication from flight AMO 401 after that of 1254:00 was at 1301:37, when the same flight confirmed that it had cleared the runway, stating that it was "moving ... for repositioning (on) runway 28 (for) take-off (to) Bonaventure."

The tape recordings from which the transcripts in document M-3 were produced were not available at the hearing, but the Respondent agreed that the said transcripts were consistent with the facts.

In cross-examination, the Respondent attempted primarily to determine what the rule was governing the acceptable and reasonable time lapse between clearing a runway and providing radio confirmation of clearance.

An air traffic control directive (not available) apparently states three to five minutes after an aircraft's report on final. In this particular case, it was a security unit (referred to in document M-3 as Personnel 40) that informed the witness that flight AMO 401 had cleared the runway. Five minutes had passed between the last communication from flight AMO 401 and this confirmation by Personnel 40.

To conclude its evidence, the Applicant submitted to the Tribunal the following additional documents and explanations:

  • Baie Comeau is an uncontrolled airport (Exhibits M-4 and M-5);
  • it is an MF (Mandatory Frequency) area;
  • the mandatory frequency is 118.3 (M-4 and M-5);
  • the definition of an uncontrolled airport is established, when all is said and done, by elimination after reading the definition of a controlled aerodrome in subsection 101.01(l) of the CARs, which reads: "'controlled aerodrome' means an aerodrome at which an air traffic control unit is in operation". Baie Comeau is not such an aerodrome;
  • the definition of "mandatory frequency" is found in subsection 101.01(1) of the CARs: "'mandatory frequency' means a VHF frequency specified in the Canada Air Pilot or the Canada Flight Supplement for the use of radio-equipped aircraft operating within an MF area".
  • subsection 602.98(1) and paragraph 602.98(2)(a) of the CARs stipulate:

602.98 (1) Every report made pursuant to this Division shall be made on the mandatory frequency that has been specified for use in the applicable MF area.

(2) Every report referred to in subsection (1) shall be

(a) directed to the ground station associated with the MF area, if a ground station exists and is in operation;

All these definitions apply to this case.

For the Respondent

The Respondent himself testified and described what happened before and after the incident in question. To summarize:

  • he confirmed that the pre-landing communications, as they appear in the transcript in document M-3, are accurate;
  • he contended that he made contact immediately on clearing the runway, but had some doubt as to the radio frequency used; it may have been on that of Air Satellite to whom he was to deliver a package;
  • the stop in front of the terminal was very brief (about two to three minutes), and he believed there was not necessarily a time limit within which he had to report.

The cross-examination revealed nothing further.

It is important to note that at no time was the quality of the radio communication between Baie Comeau and Mont-Joli questioned.

ARGUMENTS

For the Applicant

Mr. Tamborriello summarized what we had just heard. He dwelt on the issue of the allowable time interval between an aircraft clearing the runway and radio confirmation on the mandatory frequency. He concluded that if the regulations specify no particular time interval, it is because the legislator intended confirmation to be given forthwith. Had the legislator wanted to specify a time interval (as had been done for the flight plan closing), this would have been done.

As the purpose of paragraph 602.101(e) of the CARs is to ensure that the aircraft has indeed landed, as well as to allow FSS specialists to manage air traffic more easily, it is assumed that there must be no delay.

It should be added that section 602.99 of the CARs, requires that a pilot report his intentions by radio before entering a manoeuvring area:

The pilot-in-command of a VFR or IFR aircraft that is operated at an uncontrolled aerodrome that lies within an MF area shall report the pilot-in-command's intentions before entering the manoeuvring area of the aerodrome.

Finally, it is specified that the MF frequency is that stipulated in the Canada Air Pilot or the Canada Flight Supplement and not another frequency chosen by the pilot (subsection 101.01(1) of the CARs).

As for the communication from flight AMO 401 at 1301:37 for repositioning, that pertained to another flight, the one from Baie Comeau to Bonaventure. That contact cannot substitute the one that should have been made during the previous flight from Mont-Joli to Baie Comeau.

For the Respondent

Mr. Leblanc acknowledged that, pursuant to the above cited sections, a pilot must report in once he has cleared the runaway. He repeated that the Respondent did in fact report that he was clear of the runway, but may have used the wrong radio frequency. Furthermore, the Respondent confirmed that he had cleared the runway when he contacted the FSS again at 1301:22.

He added that nowhere does it state that this must be done immediately after leaving the runway or within a specific period of time. In any event, he believed that the seven minutes that had elapsed between the report of flight AMO 401 on final at 1254:00 and the subsequent contact at 1301:22 was acceptable.

Moreover, two minutes after the landing, the Mont-Joli FSS was aware that the aircraft had cleared the runway; at no time was aviation safety compromised.

SUMMARY

The date, time, flight number, radio communication (quality and transcript), pilot-in-command, and obligation to report in after clearing the runway are not questioned.

The issue of the Baie Comeau airport being an uncontrolled aerodrome and the mandatory frequency (MF) are acknowledged. I would add that no other frequency can be accepted as complying with the regulations. Moreover, the regulations state that it is the pilot who must report, and not another unit, whether mobile or stationary.

While the Respondent argued that he made contact as soon as he cleared runway 28 at Baie Comeau, he did not remember the radio frequency.

The point that remains in dispute is therefore the following:

  • The regulations do not stipulate how much time can elapse between an aircraft's clearing of a runway and radio confirmation of such clearance. In this case, the alleged interval was seven minutes. Is that acceptable, reasonable, or too long?

In my view, the regulations make no provision in this last regard, and I do not accept the Applicant's reasoning that if no time interval is specified, the inference is that confirmation be given forthwith. The three-to-five-minute interval cited by the witness Bourgeois in cross-examination is a directive, not a statutory provision. Had flight AMO 401 terminated at Baie Comeau and had the pilot contacted the Mont-Joli station, let us say, ten minutes after clearing the runway, I believe he would have met the requirement of paragraph 602.101(e) of the CARs, at least legally. I would suggest that, given the importance of this section, the desired time interval be set out more clearly in the regulations.

However, when the pilot contacted the Mont-Joli station at 1301:22, it was to reposition himself on the runway and continue on his way to Bonaventure, not to confirm that he had cleared the runway. Although, at that moment, runway clearance was confirmed, it was in response to a question from the FSS specialist, and not at the pilot's initiative.

Finally, I find the monetary penalty assessed to be consistent with Transport Canada policy and see no reason to change it.

DETERMINATION

For all the foregoing reasons, I uphold the Minister's decision and confirm the assessed monetary penalty of $250.00.

Pierre Rivest
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


Appeal decision
Carole Anne Soucy, Faye H. Smith, Pierre J. Beauchamp


Decision: November 18, 1998

TRANSLATION

In the circumstances, the Appeal is dismissed and the Review Determination is upheld. The $250.00 monetary penalty, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

An Appeal Hearing on the above matter was held Friday, November 13, 1998, at 11:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in the city of Montreal, Quebec.

DETERMINATION UNDER APPEAL

The Appellant is appealing a determination rendered June 15, 1998 by Member Pierre Rivest, following a request for a review from the Minister of Transport. The Appellant was assessed a monetary penalty in the amount of $250.00 pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act following an alleged contravention of paragraph 602.101(e) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

THE FACTS

The Appellant was alleged to have failed to report to the Mont-Joli flight service station (FSS) ("MF reporting") that he had cleared runway 28 at Baie Comeau after landing on July 25, 1997.

THE LAW

602.101 The pilot-in-command of a VFR aircraft arriving at an uncontrolled aerodrome that lies within an MF area shall report

(...)

(e) when clear of the surface on which the aircraft has landed.

GROUNDS FOR APPEAL

In his request for appeal of July 9, 1998, the Appellant submitted the following ground:

We believe we should take advantage of the right to appeal in this case, because the conversations heard on the non-original tape may not be consistent with the conversations recorded on the original tape of the Mont-Joli FSS, which was never provided to us.

SUBMISSIONS OF THE PARTIES

In his argument, the Appellant stated he did not want to submit any evidence to the effect that there was a problem with the match between the original and non-original tapes. The Appellant contended that in the absence of the original tape, it is difficult to determine the authenticity of the copy submitted by the Minister. Notwithstanding this contention, at the review hearing, the Respondent (the Appellant in this hearing) agreed that the said transcripts were consistent with the facts.

In argument concerning the tape, the Minister's representative pointed out that the Appeal Panel cannot review facts that have been stated and accepted by all parties during the review proceeding. In giving a summary of the relevant facts, the Minister's representative argued that, at the review hearing, the Minister had met the burden of proof regarding the offence cited in the notice of contravention, namely, of paragraph 602.101(e) of the CARs, and there is no reason to overturn the determination.

As for the amount of the penalty, the Appellant found it a little excessive. He believed that as this was his first offence under the Aeronautics Act, the sending of a letter of advice would have been more appropriate than the assessment of a penalty.

The Minister's representative indicated that the amount of the assessed penalty is consistent with Transport Canada policy and is not excessive.

DISCUSSION

The facts were not in dispute. On July 25, 1997, the Appellant was the pilot-in-command of flight AMO 401, a VFR flight between Mont-Joli and Baie Comeau, an uncontrolled aerodrome for which the mandatory frequency is 118.3. After landing at Baie Comeau, the Appellant did not report to the FSS that he had cleared the runway on which the aircraft had landed. It was a security unit which had informed the FSS that flight AMO 401 was clear of the runway and the aircraft had landed safely.

At the review hearing, the Member stated that the regulations stipulate that it is the pilot who must report in, and not another unit, whether mobile or stationary. Although the Respondent (the Appellant in this hearing) contended that he made contact as soon as he cleared runway 28 at Baie Comeau, he did not remember on what radio frequency. He confirmed, however, that he was clear of the runway when he again contacted the FSS at 1301:22. In his determination, the Member expressed the matter in dispute as follows: "The regulations do not stipulate how much time can elapse between an aircraft's clearing of a runway and radio confirmation of such clearance. In this case, the alleged interval was seven minutes. Is that acceptable, reasonable, or too long?".

According to the Appeal Panel, the Member correctly ruled on the matter in dispute as follows: In his view, when the pilot communicated with the Mont-Joli station at 1301:22 it was to reposition over the runway and continue on his way to Bonaventure and not to confirm that he had cleared the runway. Moreover, although at that moment, runway clearance was nevertheless confirmed, it was in response to a question from the FSS specialist and not at the pilot's initiative.

In his determination, the Member, seeing no reason to change the monetary penalty, confirmed the amount, and we concur with this ruling.

DETERMINATION

In the circumstances, the appeal is dismissed and the Review Determination is upheld.

Reasons for appeal determination:

Faye Smith, Chairperson
Carole Anne Soucy, Member
Pierre Beauchamp, Member

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1581-33 (TAC)
Dossier no NAP-6504-P-139725-30147 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Bruno Saint-jacques, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C., ch. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 103.08, 602.101e)

Communications avec la FSS, Libération de la piste


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Rivest


Décision : le 15 juin 1998

Je maintiens la décision du ministre ainsi que l'amende de 250 $ imposée. Ladite amende, payable à l'ordre du receveur général du Canada, doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le lundi 8 juin 1998 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Montréal (Québec). Les témoins ont prêté serment.

HISTORIQUE

L'intimé, M. Bruno Saint-Jacques, est accusé d'avoir contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.101e) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) en omettant de signaler à la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Mont-Joli (« compte rendu MF ») qu'il avait dégagé la piste 28 à Baie Comeau, après son atterrissage. L'infraction aurait eu lieu le 25 juillet 1997. Il s'agit du vol AMO 401. Une amende de 250,00 $ lui a été imposée en vertu de l'article 103.08 du RAC.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 602.101e) du RAC stipule :

Le commandant de bord d'un aéronef VFR qui arrive à un aérodrome non contrôlé qui se trouve à l'intérieur d'une zone MF doit signaler :

(...)

e) la sortie de la surface sur laquelle l'aéronef a atterri.

LES FAITS

Avant que ne commence l'exposé des faits, M. Jean Paul Leblanc, au nom de l'intimé, a présenté une motion à l'effet que, pour lui, le dossier était clos et qu'il n'y avait pas lieu de poursuivre l'audience.

Pour appuyer sa prétention, il se base sur une lettre du Tribunal (pièce T-1), en date du 14 janvier 1998, où il est stipulé et je cite : « ... que l'avis d'amende ... a été retiré, (et que) ... l'audience ... a été annulée et le dossier est maintenant fermé ».

En réponse, le requérant a alors exhibé une lettre (pièce T-2), datée du 14 janvier 1998, dans laquelle le ministre abroge l'avis d'amende du 30 octobre 1997 (à cause, explique-t-il, d'une erreur de procédure) et le remplace par celui du 14 janvier 1998, avis qui fait partie des documents de la présente audience.

Après discussion entre le Tribunal et les deux parties, j'ai rejeté la motion de l'intimé et ai demandé aux présentateurs s'ils étaient prêts à procéder à leur exposé respectif.

Le requérant a alors produit un document (pièce M-1) qui est une lettre signée par M. Jean Paul Leblanc en tant que chef-pilote de la compagnie Air Montréal, propriétaire de l'aéronef impliqué dans l'incident du 25 juillet 1997 et dans laquelle il déclare que la copie du carnet de route de l'aéronef en question (M-1, 2e page) est conforme à la réalité.

Finalement, M. Tamborriello a corrigé la date d'une lettre envoyée à l'intimé à laquelle étaient attachés les documents qu'il se proposait de divulguer au cours de cette audience; la date aurait dû être le 13 mai 1998 au lieu du 26 mai.

Dans les deux derniers cas, l'intimé n'a offert aucune objection.

Pour le requérant

Le requérant n'avait qu'un témoin à faire entendre soit, M. Richard Bourgeois, spécialiste de la FSS de Mont-Joli. Il est celui qui a été témoin de l'incident du 25 juillet 1997 dans lequel était impliqué le vol AMO 401.

Son témoignage, appuyé par deux documents (M-2 et M-3), se résume à ceci :

  • Le vol AMO 401 a omis de se rapporter à plusieurs reprises durant son trajet de Mont-Joli à Baie Comeau et, par la suite, vers Bonaventure. Toutefois, je n'ai accepté que le paragraphe #3 de son rapport (M-2, par. #3) comme étant pertinent à la cause d'aujourd'hui, soit de ne pas s'être rapporté une fois sorti de la piste à Baie Comeau.
  • Le document M-3 (transcription des communications-radio) démontre qu'entre 1250:50 (12 heures 50 minutes 50 secondes) et 1258:45 le vol AMO 401 n'a pas communiqué avec la station FSS pour signifier qu'il avait quitté la piste.
  • Or, à 1253:13, M. Bourgeois demande au pilote du vol AMO 401 de se rapporter hors piste, ce que ce dernier accepte.
  • La seule communication du vol AMO 401, après celle de 1254:00, est à 1301:37 alors que le même vol confirme qu'il est hors piste tout en disant qu'il « circule ... pour un repositionnement (sur la) piste 28 (pour un) décollage (vers) Bonaventure ».

Les bandes magnétoscopées qui contiennent les enregistrements des transcriptions que l'on retrouve sur le document M-3, n'étaient pas disponibles lors de l'audience, mais l'intimé a accepté les dites transcriptions comme étant conformes aux faits.

En contre-interrogatoire, l'intimé a surtout cherché à savoir quelle était la règle qui gouvernait le temps acceptable et raisonnable entre le moment du dégagement hors piste et la confirmation par radio de ce même dégagement.

Une directive du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (non disponible) mentionnerait entre trois et cinq minutes après qu'un aéronef se soit rapporté en final. Or, dans ce cas-ci, c'est une unité de sécurité (identifiée Personnel 40 sur le document M-3) qui a informé le témoin que le vol AMO 401 était hors piste. Cinq minutes s'étaient écoulées entre la dernière communication du vol AMO 401 et cette confirmation par l'unité Personnel 40.

Pour terminer sa preuve, le requérant a soumis au Tribunal des documents et des explications complémentaires tels que :

  • Baie Comeau est un aéroport non contrôlé (pièces M-4 et M-5);
  • il s'agit d'une zone MF (« Mandatory Frequency », fréquence obligatoire);
  • la fréquence obligatoire est 118.3 (M-4 et M-5);
  • la définition d'un aéroport non contrôlé se prouve, somme toute, par élimination après avoir lu la définition d'un aérodrome contrôlé, paragraphe 101.01(1) du RAC qui dit : « « aérodrome contrôlé » Aérodrome doté d'une unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne en service. » ce qui n'est pas le cas à Baie Comeau;
  • la définition de « fréquence obligatoire » se trouve au paragraphe 101.01(1) du RAC : « « fréquence obligatoire » Fréquence VHF précisée dans le Canada Air Pilot ou le Supplément de vol-Canada pour l'usage des aéronefs munis d'équipement de radiocommunications qui sont utilisés dans une zone MF. »
  • le paragraphe 602.98(1) et l'alinéa 602.98(2)a) du RAC stipulent :

602.98 (1) Tout compte rendu fait en application de la présente section doit l'être à la fréquence obligatoire précisée pour la zone MF applicable.

(2) Tout compte rendu visé au paragraphe (1) doit être :

a) soit transmis à la station au sol associée à la zone MF, dans le cas où une station au sol existe et est en service;

Toutes ces définitions s'appliquent dans la présente cause.

Pour l'intimé

L'intimé témoigne lui-même et décrit ce qui a précédé et suivi l'incident en question. En résumé :

  • il confirme que les communications d'avant l'atterrissage, telles qu'elles apparaissent dans la transcription du document M-3, sont exactes;
  • il affirme qu'il a communiqué sans délai sa sortie de piste mais en ayant un doute sur la fréquence-radio utilisée; il se peut que ce soit sur celle d'Air Satellite à qui il devait livrer un paquet;
  • l'arrêt devant l'aérogare a été très court (environ deux à trois minutes) et il croit qu'il n'y a pas nécessairement de limite de temps avant de se rapporter.

Le contre-interrogatoire n'a rien apporté de plus.

Il est important de noter qu'en aucun moment la qualité des communications-radio entre Baie Comeau et Mont-Joli n'a été mise en doute.

PLAIDOYERS

Pour le requérant

M. Tamborriello a résumé ce que nous venions d'entendre. Il s'est attardé sur la question du délai à respecter entre la sortie de piste d'un aéronef et la confirmation par radio sur la fréquence obligatoire. Si aucune spécification de limite de temps est imposée dans la réglementation, il en conclut que l'intention du législateur est que cela doit se faire sans délai. Dans le cas où le législateur voudrait donner un lapse de temps déterminé (comme pour la fermeture d'un plan de vol), cela est spécifié.

Le but de l'alinéa 602.101e) du RAC étant de s'assurer que l'aéronef est bien atterri en plus de permettre aux spécialistes des FSS de gérer le trafic aérien plus facilement, on prend pour acquis qu'il ne doit y avoir aucun délai.

Il faut ajouter que l'article 602.99 du RAC oblige un pilote à signaler ses intentions par radio avant de circuler sur une aire de manoeuvre :

Le commandant de bord qui utilise un aéronef VFR ou IFR à un aérodrome non contrôlé qui se trouve à l'intérieur d'une zone MF doit signaler ses intentions avant de circuler sur l'aire de manoeuvre de cet aérodrome.

Finalement, il est précisé que la fréquence MF est celle stipulée dans le Canada Air Pilot ou dans le Supplément de vol-Canada et non sur une autre fréquence choisie par le pilote (paragraphe 101.01(1) du RAC).

Quant à la communication du vol AMO 401 à 1301:37 pour un repositionnement, il s'agit d'un autre vol, soit celui de Baie Comeau à Bonaventure. Cette communication ne peut remplacer celle qui aurait dû se faire lors du vol précédent de Mont-Joli à Baie Comeau.

Pour l'intimé

M. Leblanc admet qu'en vertu des articles précités, un pilote doit se rapporter une fois sorti de la piste. Il réitère que l'intimé s'est effectivement rapporté hors piste mais qu'il y a peut-être eu une erreur sur la fréquence-radio utilisée. De plus, l'intimé a confirmé qu'il était hors piste lorsqu'il a communiqué de nouveau avec la FSS à 1301:22.

Il ajoute que nulle part il est dit que cela doit se faire immédiatement après avoir quitté la piste ou à l'intérieur d'un délai spécifique. Il croit que, de toute façon, le temps qui s'est écoulé entre la communication du vol AMO 401 en final à 1254:00 et la communication subséquente à 1301:22, soit sept minutes, est acceptable.

De plus, deux minutes après l'atterrissage, la FSS de Mont-Joli était au courant que l'aéronef avait dégagé la piste; en aucun temps la sécurité aérienne a été compromise.

RÉSUMÉ

La date, l'heure, le numéro de vol, les communications-radio (qualité et transcription), le commandant de bord ainsi que l'obligation de se rapporter une fois sorti de la piste ne sont pas mis en doute.

La question de l'aéroport de Baie Comeau en tant qu'aérodrome non contrôlé ainsi que de la fréquence obligatoire (MF) est reconnue. J'ajoute que toute autre fréquence ne peut être acceptée comme satisfaisant à la réglementation. De plus, la réglementation précise que c'est le pilote qui doit se rapporter et non une autre unité, mobile ou fixe.

Si l'intimé affirme qu'il a communiqué dès qu'il a dégagé la piste 28 à Baie Comeau, il ne se souvient pas sur quelle fréquence- radio.

Le point qui demeure litigieux est donc le suivant :

  • le délai entre la sortie de piste d'un aéronef et la confirmation par radio n'est pas stipulé dans la réglementation; dans le cas présent, ce délai aurait été de sept minutes; est-ce acceptable, raisonnable ou trop long?

Je suis d'avis que sur ce dernier point, la réglementation n'apporte aucune précision et je n'accepte pas le raisonnement du requérant à l'effet que si une période de temps n'est pas spécifiée, il faut comprendre que cela doit être fait sans délai. Le délai de trois à cinq minutes cité par le témoin Bourgeois en contre-interrogatoire est une directive et non un article de règlement. Si le vol AMO 401 s'était terminé à Baie Comeau et que le pilote avait communiqué avec la station de Mont-Joli, disons dix minutes après être sorti de la piste, je crois qu'il aurait satisfait à l'alinéa 602.101e) du RAC, du moins, sur le plan légal. Je suggère que, vu l'importance de cet article, le lapse de temps recherché soit mieux qualifié dans la réglementation.

Par contre, lorsque le pilote a communiqué avec la station de Mont-Joli à 1301:22, c'était en vue de se repositionner sur la piste et de poursuivre sa route vers Bonaventure et non pour confirmer son dégagement de la piste. Si, à ce moment-là, le dégagement a quand même été confirmé, c'est à la suite d'une question du spécialiste de la FSS et non sur une initiative de la part du pilote.

Finalement, l'amende imposée m'apparaît conforme à la politique de Transports Canada et je ne vois pas de raison de la modifier.

DÉCISION

Pour toutes les raisons invoquées ci-dessus, je maintiens la décision du ministre ainsi que l'amende de 250 $ imposée.

Pierre Rivest
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


Décision à la suite d'un appel
Carole Anne Soucy, Faye H. Smith, Pierre J. Beauchamp


Décision : le 18 novembre 1998

Dans les circonstances, l'appel est rejeté et le jugement en révision est maintenu. L'amende de 250 $, payable à l'ordre du receveur général du Canada, doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en appel relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 13 novembre 1998 à 11 heures à la Cour fédérale du Canada dans la ville de Montréal (Québec).

JUGEMENT D'APPEL

L'appelant se pourvoit contre un jugement rendu le 15 juin 1998 par le conseiller M. Pierre Rivest, suite à la requête en révision du ministre des Transports. L'appelant s'est vu imposer une amende au montant de 250,00 $ en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique suite à une prétendue contravention à l'alinéa 602.101e) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

LES FAITS

L'appelant était accusé d'avoir omis de signaler à la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Mont-Joli (compte rendu MF) qu'il avait dégagé la piste 28 à Baie Comeau après son atterrissage le 25 juillet 1997.

LA LOI

602.101 Le commandant de bord d'un aéronef VFR qui arrive à un aérodrome non contrôlé qui se trouve à l'intérieur d'une zone MF doit signaler :

(...)

e) la sortie de la surface sur laquelle l'aéronef a atterri.

MOTIFS D'APPEL

L'appelant a plaidé dans sa demande d'appel du 9 juillet 1998 le motif d'appel suivant :

Nous croyons que nous devons profiter du pouvoir d'appel pour cette cause, parce que les conversations écoutées sur la bande magnétique non-originale, pourraient ne pas concorder avec les conversations enregistrées sur la bande originale de la station FSS de Mont-Joli qui ne nous a jamais été fournie.

ARGUMENTATION DES REPRÉSENTANTS

Lors de son argumentation, l'appelant a déclaré qu'il ne voulait présenter aucune preuve à l'effet qu'il y avait un problème avec la concordance entre les bandes originale et non-originale. L'appelant prétend que dans l'absence de la bande magnétique originale, il est difficile de déterminer l'authenticité de la copie soumise par le ministre. Nonobstant cette prétention, lors de l'audience en révision, l'intimé (l'appelant dans la présente) a accepté lesdites transcriptions comme étant conformes aux faits.

Le représentant du ministre, dans son argumentation portant sur la bande magnétique, a fait valoir que le Comité d'appel ne peut revenir sur les faits une fois que ceux-ci ont été déclarés et acceptés par toutes les parties lors de la révision. En nous donnant un aperçu des faits pertinents, le représentant du ministre a prétendu que, lors de l'audience de révision, ce dernier s'était acquitté du fardeau de la preuve relativement à l'infraction citée dans l'avis de contravention, soit à l'alinéa 602.101e) du RAC et qu'il n'y a pas lieu d'infirmer la décision.

Quant au montant de l'amende, l'appelant le trouve un peu excessif. Il est d'avis que dans son cas il s'agissait d'une première infraction à la Loi sur l'aéronautique et que l'envoi d'une lettre de recommandation aurait été plus approprié par rapport à l'imposition d'une amende.

Le représentant du ministre a indiqué que le montant de l'amende imposée est conforme à la politique de Transports Canada et que cette somme n'est pas excessive.

DISCUSSION

Les faits n'ont pas été contestés. Le 25 juillet 1997 l'appelant était commandant de bord du vol AMO 401, un vol VFR entre Mont-Joli et Baie-Comeau qui est un aérodrome non contrôlé auquel la fréquence obligatoire est 118.3. Après son atterrissage à Baie-Comeau, l'appelant n'a pas signalé à la station FSS qu'il avait dégagé la piste sur laquelle l'aéronef avait atterri. C'était une unité de sécurité qui avait informé la station FSS que le vol AMO 401 était hors piste et que l'aéronef avait atterri sans problème.

Lors de l'audience en révision, le conseiller a déclaré que la réglementation précise que c'est le pilote qui doit se rapporter et non une autre unité, mobile ou fixe. Si l'intimé (l'appelant dans la présente) affirme qu'il a communiqué dès qu'il a dégagé la piste 28 à Baie Comeau, il ne se souvient pas sur quelle fréquence-radio. Cependant, il a confirmé qu'il était hors piste lorsqu'il a communiqué de nouveau avec la FSS à 1301:22. Dans sa décision, le conseiller identifie la question en litige comme étant : « le délai entre la sortie de piste d'un aéronef et la confirmation par radio n'est pas stipulé dans la réglementation; dans le cas présent, ce délai aurait été de sept minutes; est-ce acceptable, raisonnable ou trop long? ».

D'après le comité d'appel, le conseiller a correctement décidé le point litigieux comme suit : il était d'avis que, lorsque le pilote a communiqué avec la station de Mont-Joli à 1301:22 c'était en vue de se repositionner sur la piste et de poursuivre sa route vers Bonaventure et non pour confirmer son dégagement de la piste. De plus, si, à ce moment-là, le dégagement a quand même été confirmé, c'est à la suite d'une question du spécialiste de la FSS et non sur une initiative de la part du pilote.

Dans sa décision, le conseiller, ne voyant pas de raison de modifier l'amende, a maintenu le montant de celle-ci et nous sommes d'accord avec ce jugement.

DÉCISION

Dans les circonstances, l'appel est rejeté et le jugement en révision est maintenu.

Motifs de la décision à la suite d'un appel :

Me Faye Smith, présidente
Me Carole Anne Soucy, conseillère
Me Pierre Beauchamp, conseiller