Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1644-37
MoT File No. NAP6504-Z-30207

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

2973-3433 Québec Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.7, 8.4(1)
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.14(2), 602.15

Height, Distance, Distance, Alighting on Water, Aircraft Operators, Measurement, Seaplane, Vessel


Review Determination
Pierre Rivest


Decision: November 10, 1998

TRANSLATION

I confirm the minister's decision and increase the monetary penalty from $250.00 to $500.00, to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, October 28, 1998, at 10:00 hours at the Court House in Alma, Quebec. The witnesses were sworn in.

BACKGROUND

On August 15, 1997, two seaplanes were allegedly observed flying at a distance less than 500 feet from a vessel ("La Tournée") sailing on Grande-Décharge, near the city of Alma, in the direction of Lac Saint-Jean, Quebec, in contravention of paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

One of these aeroplanes was registered as C-FWWI and its owner was proceeded against pursuant to subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act.

A monetary penalty of $250.00 was assessed.

THE LAW

Section 602.14 of the CARs provides:

602.14 (1) For the purposes of this section and section 602.15, an aircraft shall be deemed to be operated over a built-up area or over an open-air assembly of persons where that built-up area or open-air assembly of persons is within a horizontal distance of

(a) 500 feet from a helicopter or balloon; or

(b) 2,000 feet from an aircraft other than a helicopter or balloon.

(2) Except where conducting a take-off, approach or landing or where permitted under section 602.15, no person shall operate an aircraft

(a) over a built-up area or over an open-air assembly of persons unless the aircraft is operated at an altitude from which, in the event of an emergency necessitating an immediate landing, it would be possible to land the aircraft without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface, and, in any case, at an altitude that is not lower than

(i) for aeroplanes, 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 2,000 feet from an aeroplane,

(ii) for balloons, 500 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 500 feet from the balloon, or

(iii) for an aircraft other than an aeroplane or a balloon, 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 500 feet from the aircraft; and

(b) in circumstances other than those referred to in paragraph (a), at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure.

Subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act provides:

8.4 (1) The registered owner of an aircraft may be proceeded against in respect of and found to have committed an offence under this Part in relation to the aircraft for which another person is subject to be proceeded against unless, at the time of the offence, the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than the owner without the owner's consent and, where found to have committed the offence, the owner is liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor.

THE FACTS

For the Applicant

Mr. Umberto Tamborriello, representing the Applicant, called two witnesses: Captain Normand Dupuis, captain of the vessel "La Tournée," and Mr. François Lavoie, his first mate.

The "La Tournée" is a sightseeing vessel for tourists that departs the far southwest shore of the bay of Rivière Grande-Décharge (near Alma; see Exhibit M-4) and travels to Lac Saint-Jean and back. The Respondent's seaplane base is located on the north shore of the same river near the town of Saint-Coeur-de-Marie.

The two witnesses corroborated the following facts, with a few variations that do not affect the outcome.

  • During the trip to Lac Saint-Jean, two seaplanes (C-FQLE and C-FWWI) flew near the vessel, also in the direction of Lac Saint-Jean. While C-FQLE flew about 150 metres from the vessel, C-FWWI appeared to be at a "reasonable" distance (no further details were given).
  • As the vessel was returning, at about 19:45 hours, the same two aeroplanes again flew close by, this time at a distance of between 15 and 20 metres for C-FQLE, and of between 30 and 40 metres for C-FWWI; they were again identified by the two witnesses. The two aeroplanes then headed for their base, a distance of about two miles farther.
  • The altitudes were assessed based on the height and size of the vessel, the two witnesses being accustomed (and even trained) to assess the distance of objects with the naked eye. The identification of the two aeroplanes was also read using binoculars by at least one of the two witnesses.
  • Captain Dupuis immediately noted the identification of the aeroplanes on a sheet of paper, and soon after in his personal log book (Exhibit M-1) and in the vessel's log book (Exhibit M-2). The photocopies filed in evidence were accepted by the Respondent's representative, particularly as the originals had been consulted on site.
  • The incident was subsequently reported in writing in a letter to Transport Canada dated August 27, 1997, and signed by both witnesses (Exhibit M-3).
  • The witness Dupuis complained that such overflying of the vessel occurs often; he had already complained of this in his letter (see Exhibit M-3, page 2).
  • None of these facts was disputed in cross-examination, the reason being that the Respondent's representative, Mr. Potvin, stated he was not on board either of the two aeroplanes.

Still in cross-examination, Mr. Potvin merely questioned the distances as assessed by the two witnesses, who stuck to their earlier claims.

In concluding its evidence, the Applicant filed Exhibit M-5, the certificate of registration of aircraft C-FWWI, which confirms that the owner is indeed 2973-3433 Québec inc.

For the Respondent

Mr. Jean-Eudes Potvin, representing the Respondent, said that he had not flown that day, and furthermore, no entry had been made in the journey log of C-FWWI.

He acknowledged, however, that it was possible a "client" had used the aeroplane without the owners' knowledge. This procedure is known and permitted by the owners, who have little control over these flights, placing their trust in certain clients and making them responsible for recording the agreed entries in the aircraft journey logs.

Mr. Potvin, who is also a flight instructor, also explained the take-offs, circuit patterns and water landing manoeuvres which he has his students practise. He confirmed that most of the time, when there is a "tailwind," he descends the seaplane to an altitude as low as 400 feet, often lower, before turning for a "final approach."

He claimed it is difficult to avoid the vessel, particularly during take-off, as it is not possible to see the vessel's exact position; it is possible that, at times, he passes quite close to it. The same is true before alighting on water.

The cross-examination added nothing new; Mr. Potvin did not deviate from his testimony.

ARGUMENTS

The Applicant's argument summarized what we had heard, and I have covered the main points in my analysis.

As for the Respondent, Mr. Potvin merely reiterated that he was not the pilot of C-FWWI on that day; he knew that the captain of the vessel "La Tournée" had complained before about low-altitude flights over his vessel (Captain Dupuis had even gone to the seaplane base to discuss the matter). Mr. Potvin went as far as to admit that whatever action is taken today will serve as a deterrent in future.

ANALYSIS AND CONCLUSION

It should be noted, first of all, that the notice of contravention mentions the low-altitude flight of C-FWWI as the vessel was heading toward Lac Saint-Jean. In that direction, Captain Dupuis had no great complaint about the distance of C-FWWI; it was during his return trip that the aeroplane allegedly flew at a distance that was clearly less than 500 feet from the vessel.

The Respondent, however, did not attempt to dispute this point, particularly as he confirmed that he was not flying on that day. I am therefore satisfied that the Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that at about 19:45 hours on August 15, 1997, aeroplane C-FWWI flew at a distance of less than 500 feet from a vessel.

It must be understood here that the measurement of 500 feet is calculated by plotting 180° arcs, having a radius of 500 feet, from one side of the vessel to the other, thus forming a dome enveloping it; this explains why there at times appears to be some confusion between the terms "height" and "distance."

It also seems to me that the company 2973-3433 Québec inc. does not exercise over some of its activities the control that one might be entitled to expect of it. The Respondent therefore cannot claim that it was in spite of him that his aeroplane was used on August 15, 1997; thus, section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act cannot apply.

Finally, there is reason to believe that those responsible for the company know the schedule of the vessel "La Tournée"and there is no reason for the seaplanes to approach within 500 feet, and even less reason to approach to within 500 feet above it, as they often seem to do. Such flying is unsafe, becomes exasperating for all who are subjected to it, and should be forbidden outright by aircraft operators, which is not the case here.

Nor do I believe one can invoke the exception of subsection 602.14(2) of the CARs, which provides that an aircraft may be flown "at a distance less than 500 feet ..." only if "conducting a take-off, approach or landing" (there is no mention of alighting on water). There is ample space to manoeuvre without coming dangerously close to the vessel.

I therefore find that the alleged flight by the Respondent did indeed take place, that the Respondent does not exercise over its activities the control one is entitled to expect of it, and that the flight training it provides does not adhere to the established rules in such circumstances.

Finally, in the case of a corporation, the penalty, according to the Minister's representative, should have been $1,200.00 for a first offence, the maximum being $5,000.00.

On the other hand, the Respondent appears prepared to make amends. The assessed monetary penalty of $250.00 does, however, strike me as disproportionate in the circumstances, and I accept Mr. Tamborriello's recommendation by increasing this amount, and hope that this lesson bears fruit.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the Minister's decision and increase the monetary penalty from $250.00 to $500.00.

Pierre Rivest
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1644-37 (TAC)
Dossier no NAP6504-Z-30207 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

2973-3433 Québec Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., chap. A-2, art. 7.7 et 8.4(1)
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, SOR/96-433, art. 602.14(2) et 602.15

Mesure, Hydravion, Hauteur, Exploitants d'aéronefs, Distance, Distance, Bateau, Amerrissage


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Rivest


Décision : le 10 novembre 1998

Je confirme la décision du ministre et j'augmente l'amende de 250,00 $ à 500,00 $ qui devra être payée au Receveur général du Canada dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 28 octobre 1998 à 10 heures, au Palais de justice d'Alma (Québec). Les témoins ont fait une affirmation solennelle.

HISTORIQUE

Le 15 août 1997, deux hydravions auraient été observés en vol à une altitude de moins de 500 pieds de distance d'un navire (« La Tournée ») navigant sur la Grande-Décharge, près de la ville d'Alma, en direction du lac Saint-Jean (Québec), contrairement à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

L'un de ces avions était immatriculé C-FWWI et son propriétaire est poursuivi en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

Une amende de 250,00 $ a alors été imposée.

LA LOI

L'article 602.14 du RAC stipule :

602.14 (1) Pour l'application du présent article et de l'article 602.15, un aéronef est réputé être utilisé au-dessus d'une zone bâtie ou au-dessus d'un rassemblement de personnes en plein air, lorsque la zone bâtie ou le rassemblement de personnes en plein air est à une distance, mesurée horizontalement :

a) de 500 pieds ou moins d'un hélicoptère ou d'un ballon;

b) de 2 000 pieds ou moins d'un aéronef autre qu'un hélicoptère ou un ballon.

(2) Sauf s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef ou lorsque la personne y est autorisée en application de l'article 602.15, il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef :

a) au-dessus d'une zone bâtie ou au-dessus d'un rassemblement de personnes en plein air, à moins que l'aéronef ne soit utilisé à une altitude qui permettrait, en cas d'urgence exigeant un atterrissage immédiat, d'effectuer un atterrissage sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface, et, dans tous les cas, à une altitude d'au moins :

(i) dans le cas d'un avion, 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 2 000 pieds ou moins de l'avion, mesurée horizontalement,

(ii) dans le cas d'un ballon, 500 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 500 pieds ou moins du ballon, mesurée horizontalement,

(iii) dans le cas d'un aéronef autre qu'un avion ou un ballon, 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 500 pieds ou moins de l'aéronef, mesurée horizontalement;

b) dans les cas autres que ceux visés à l'alinéa a), à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure.

Le paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique stipule :

8.4 (1) Lorsqu'une personne peut être poursuivie en raison d'une infraction à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application relative à un aéronef, le propriétaire enregistré peut être poursuivi et encourir la peine prévue, à moins que, lors de l'infraction, l'aéronef n'ait été en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du propriétaire.

LES FAITS

Pour le requérant

M. Umberto Tamborriello, le représentant du requérant, fait entendre deux témoins : le capitaine du navire « La Tournée », capitaine Normand Dupuis et son premier-maître, M. François Lavoie.

« La Tournée » est un navire d'excursion pour touristes qui part du fond sud-ouest de la baie de la rivière Grande-Décharge (près d'Alma—voir la pièce M-4) pour se diriger vers le lac Saint-Jean et retour. Pour sa part, la base d'hydravions de l'intimé est située sur la rive nord de la même rivière près du village Saint-Coeur-de-Marie.

Les deux témoins ont corroboré les faits suivants, avec quelques variantes qui ne changent pas le résultat de leurs observations :

  • Lors du trajet à l'aller vers le lac Saint-Jean, deux hydravions (C-FQLE et C-FWWI) ont volé aux alentours du navire en direction, eux aussi, du lac Saint-Jean. Tandis que C-FQLE aurait passé à environ 150 mètres du navire, C-FWWI semblait à une distance « raisonnable » (sans plus de précision).
  • Au retour du navire, vers 19 h 45, les deux mêmes avions ont repassé près de celui-ci, cette fois entre 15 et 20 mètres pour C-FQLE et entre 30 et 40 mètres pour C-FWWI; ils sont identifiés de nouveau par les deux témoins. Les deux avions se sont alors dirigés vers leur base située à une distance d'environ deux miles plus loin.
  • Les altitudes ont été évaluées en se basant sur la hauteur et la grosseur du navire, les deux témoins étant habitués (et même formés) à évaluer la distance des objets à l'oeil nu. L'identification des deux avions a également été lue à l'aide de jumelles par au moins un des deux témoins.
  • Le capitaine Dupuis a immédiatement consigné l'identification des avions sur une feuille de papier et, peu de temps après, dans son agenda personnel (pièce M-1) et dans le livre de bord du navire (pièce M-2). Les photocopies déposées en preuve sont acceptées par le représentant de l'intimé, d'autant plus que les originaux ont été consultés sur place.
  • Par la suite, l'incident a été rapporté par écrit dans une lettre adressée à Transports Canada en date du 27 août 1997 et signée par les deux témoins (pièce M-3).
  • Le témoin Dupuis se plaint que ce genre de survol du navire est fréquent; il s'en était déjà plaint dans sa lettre (voir M-3, page 2).
  • Tous ces faits ne sont pas contredits en contre-interrogatoire et, pour cause, le représentant de l'intimé, M. Potvin, affirme qu'il n'était à bord ni de l'un ni de l'autre des deux avions.

Toujours en contre-interrogatoire, M. Potvin a seulement mis en doute les distances telles qu'évaluées par les deux témoins qui s'en sont tenus à leurs affirmations antérieures.

Pour clore sa preuve, le requérant dépose la pièce M-5, le certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef C-FWWI qui confirme que le propriétaire est bien 2973-3433 Québec inc.

Pour l'intimé

M. Jean-Eudes Potvin, le représentant de l'intimé, affirme qu'il n'a pas volé cette journée-là et, en plus, qu'aucune inscription n'a été faite dans le carnet de route de C-FWWI.

Il admet, cependant, qu'il soit possible qu'un « client » ait pu utiliser l'avion sans que les propriétaires le sachent. Cette procédure est connue et autorisée par les propriétaires qui gardent peu de contrôle sur ces vols, faisant confiance à certains clients et rendant responsables ces derniers de faire les inscriptions convenues dans les carnets de route des aéronefs.

M. Potvin, qui est aussi instructeur de vol, explique également les manoeuvres de décollage, de circuits (« tour de piste ») et d'amerrissage qu'il fait pratiquer à ses élèves. Il confirme que la plupart du temps, en « vent arrière », il place l'hydravion en descente jusqu'à 400 pieds d'altitude, souvent plus bas avant de tourner en « finale ».

Il prétend qu'il est difficile d'éviter le navire, surtout au décollage, alors qu'on ne peut pas voir la position exacte du navire; il est possible que, parfois, il passe assez près de celui-ci. Il en est de même avant d'amerrir.

Le contre-interrogatoire n'apporte rien de différent, M. Potvin s'en tenant à ce qu'il venait de dire.

PLAIDOYERS

Le plaidoyer pour le requérant résume ce que nous avons entendu et j'en reprendrai les principaux points dans mon analyse.

Pour l'intimé, M. Potvin ne fait que réitérer qu'il n'était pas le pilote de C-FWWI cette journée-là; il sait que le capitaine du navire « La Tournée » s'est déjà plaint des vols à basse altitude au-dessus de son navire (le capitaine Dupuis s'est d'ailleurs rendu à la base d'hydravions pour en discuter); M. Potvin va jusqu'à admettre que les actions prises aujourd'hui sauront être dissuasives pour le futur.

ANALYSE ET CONCLUSION

Il faut d'abord remarquer que l'acte d'accusation fait mention du vol à basse altitude de C-FWWI alors que le navire était en direction du lac Saint-Jean. Or, dans cette direction, le capitaine Dupuis ne se plaint pas trop de la distance de C-FWWI; c'est à son retour d'excursion que ce dernier aurait passé nettement à moins de 500 pieds du navire.

Par contre, l'intimé ne cherche pas à s'objecter à cet aspect de la question, surtout qu'il confirme qu'il n'a pas volé cette journée-là. Je suis donc satisfait que le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que l'avion C-FWWI a volé, vers 19 h 45, le 15 août 1997, à une distance moindre que 500 pieds d'un navire.

Il faut comprendre ici que la mesure de 500 pieds se calcule en traçant des arcs de 180 °, dont les rayons sont de 500 pieds, à partir d'un côté pour se terminer sur l'autre côté du navire, tout autour de celui-ci, ce qui forme un dôme qui l'enveloppe; ceci explique que, parfois, il y a un semblant de confusion entre les termes hauteur et distance.

Il m'apparaît également que la compagnie 2973-3433 Québec inc., n'exerce pas, sur certaines de ses activités, le contrôle auquel on serait en droit de s'attendre. L'intimé ne peut donc pas prétendre que c'est malgré lui que son avion a été utilisé le 15 août 1997; ainsi l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique ne peut s'appliquer.

Finalement, il est permis de croire que les responsables de la compagnie connaissent les horaires du navire « La Tournée » et il n'y a pas de raison pour que les hydravions s'en approchent plus près que 500 pieds et encore moins plus bas que 500 pieds au-dessus de celui-ci, ce qui semble être souvent le cas. Ce genre de vol est dangereux, devient exaspérant pour toutes les personnes qui le subissent et devrait être catégoriquement défendu par les exploitants d'aéronefs, ce qui n'est pas le cas ici.

Je ne crois pas non plus qu'on puisse appliquer l'exception du paragraphe 602.14(2) du RAC qui prévoit qu'un vol peut se faire « à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds ... s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage » (l'amerrissage n'y est pas mentionné). Il y a amplement d'espace pour évoluer sans s'approcher de façon dangereuse du navire.

J'en conclue donc que le vol reproché à l'intimé a bel et bien eu lieu, que l'intimé n'exerce pas sur ses activités le contrôle auquel on est en droit de s'attendre et que l'entraînement au pilotage qui s'y fait n'est pas conforme aux règles établies dans de telles circonstances.

Finalement, dans le cas d'une personne morale, l'amende, au dire du représentant du ministre, aurait dû être de 1 200,00 $ pour une première offense, le maximum étant de 5 000,00 $.

Par contre, l'intimé semble faire amende honorable. L'amende imposée de 250,00 $ m'apparaît quand même disproportionnée dans les circonstances et je donne suite à la recommandation de M. Tamborriello en augmentant cette somme et en espérant que la leçon porte fruit.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du ministre et j'augmente l'amende de 250,00 $ à 500,00 $.

Pierre Rivest
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile