Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1655-50
MoT File No. NB6504-VIGEANT R-2

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Richard Vigeant, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aerodrome Security Regulations, SOR/87-452, s. 20(1)
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, ss. 7.7, 8.5

Strict Liability Offences, Search Posts, Passenger Screening, Employee, Due Diligence, Absolute Liability Offences


Review Determination
Carole Anne Soucy


Decision: January 25, 1999

TRANSLATION

The Minister of Transport has shown on a balance of probabilities that the Respondent, Richard Vigeant, did contravene subsection 20(1) of the Aerodrome Security Regulations. The Tribunal therefore upholds the Minister's decision and confirms the amount of the monetary penalty at one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00). The penalty is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Friday, November 6, 1998, at 09:00 hours at the Federal Court in Montreal, Quebec.

PURPOSE OF THE REVIEW HEARING

The Minister of Transport has asked the Civil Aviation Tribunal to confirm the contravention of subsection 20(1) of the Aerodrome Security Regulations and to confirm the monetary penalty of one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) assessed against Mr. Richard Vigeant, as indicated in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty issued June 9, 1998. The monetary penalty was due July 9, 1998.

THE FACTS

On May 28, 1998, at approximately 14:10 hours, the Respondent and two coworkers presented themselves at Mirabel airport to take Air Transat flight number 245 to Toronto. On that day, the airport's search posts were closed. The Respondent and his travel companions, employees of the Haycot company, a subsidiary of Air Transat, decided to use one of their passes, a magnetic key, in order to gain access to the aeroplane's departure gate, in the restricted area, and take their flight.

The facts are not in dispute.

PRELIMINARY STATEMENTS

The parties agreed to have the cases of Richard Vigeant, Carole Arseneau and Claude Racicot heard in one hearing given the similarity of facts and elements of proof whether documentary or testimonial evidence. In fact, these three persons, who were travelling together, are alleged to have contravened subsection 20(1) of the Aerodrome Security Regulations. However, the Tribunal must draft separate determinations since each case carries its own respective number, and a contravention was alleged against each of the three persons.

Mr. André Marinier, representing the Minister of Transport, presented four (4) witnesses.

Mr. Jean-François Lemay, representing the Respondent, presented one witness, Carole Arseneau.

BACKGROUND AND TESTIMONY

André Sauvé, inspector for Transport Canada, testified that he saw the Respondent in the company of two people before he crossed the restricted area access point, and then in the restricted area on the aeroquay. Mr. Sauvé intercepted the three travellers and spoke to them on the passenger bridge to the aeroplane. Testimony of the conversations between Mr. Vigeant, his travel companions, and Inspector Sauvé, is contradictory.

According to André Sauvé, when the three travellers were asked to go through screening, they responded that they were on duty that day, and did not have to be screened.

As for the witness Carole Arseneau, she maintains that there was never any question of screening and that Mr. Sauvé wanted to know if they had tickets, if they were travelling on business and if they were part of the crew. The Respondent, who is not a crew member, had a ticket to go to Toronto as a passenger on business.

Evidence was given that for transit flights, tickets are issued to airline employees as well as to employees of airline subsidiaries travelling on business. No other passenger may travel on these flights, with the exception of passengers already on board before the stopover.

Also, when there is no regularly scheduled departure, screening points are closed. Testimony of the witnesses established that screening points were closed on May 28, 1998, because there were no flights that day at Mirabel. However, an employee of Kolossal, in charge of security at Mirabel airport, was present at the airport, and available all day to provide service if necessary.

Under cross-examination, Colette Ross, supervisor for Kolossal, admitted that at the time of the offence, there was no written procedure on screening point policy when these points were closed.

Also, as of September 1997, following a transfer of flights from Mirabel to Dorval, which significantly reduced aviation activity at Mirabel, screening point hours of operation were considerably reduced and no system was put in place to compensate for this situation.

THE LAW

The Minister maintains that Mr. Vigeant contravened subsection 20(1) of the Aerodrome Security Regulations, which provides:

No person shall enter or remain in a restricted area unless the person has in his possession a restricted area pass in respect of that restricted area and complies with all conditions of issuance or approval of the pass.

Conditions of issuance are specified in paragraph 2.1(h) of the Security System – Conditions of Issuance issued by Aéroports de Montréal (ADM) which provides:

The holder of a pass who is a passenger on a commercial flight must go through the passenger screening point before boarding. No person shall use a pass to avoid going through the passenger screening point. (translation)

ARGUMENT

In arguing his case, Mr. Lemay, the Respondent's representative, presented a summary of the various categories of offences. These categories are very well defined in the Sault Ste. Marie[1] decision, to which Mr. Lemay referred. Described are mens rea, strict liability and absolute liability offences.

First, for mens rea offences, intent must be clearly shown. For absolute liability offences, the legislator has clearly indicated that simple proof of a prohibited act is sufficient grounds for a guilty verdict. Finally, due diligence may be used as a defence for a strict liability offence, that is, once the offence is proven by the Applicant, the burden of proof shifts to the offender, and the latter must show that all means were employed to avoid the offence.

The Respondent argues that this case is a strict liability offence. However, he emphasizes that the wording of paragraph 2.1(h) of the security system "avoid going through the passenger screening point" suggests intent.

According to Mr. Lemay, the question raised here is: did the Respondent truly intend to avoid the screening? He obtained an aeroplane ticket and presented himself at the screening point. It was closed, and no other alternative was in place.

The parties have established that airline companies and ADM were responsible for policies relating to security. In his arguments, the Respondent submits that he complied with all policies issued by ADM, because there was no screening point open on the day of the contravention, consequently there could be no contravention of the regulatory provision, and finally, since there was no intent, there was no offence.

In concluding his argument, the Respondent's representative showed that during a meeting of the "Airline Operators Committee" (Exhibit I-1) dated June 11, 1998, certain gaps in the security system were identified and that on May 28, 1998 there was not yet any established policy concerning security during this transition period.

In its argument, the Minister of Transport referred us to section 14 and to paragraph 16(a) of the Air Carrier Security Regulations, which are made pursuant to section 4.7 of the Aeronautics Act.

Sections 14 and 16 of the Air Carrier Security Regulations refer to searches. Section 14 reads as follows:

14. For the purposes of section 4.7 of the Aeronautics Act and these Regulations, an authorized search is a search carried out by a security officer during the screening of persons, personal belongings, baggage and cargo.

Section 16 states the following:

16. No air carrier shall transport

(a) any passenger, personal belonging, baggage or cargo that has not been screened in accordance with the security measures instituted, maintained and carried out in accordance with subsection 4(2) by the air carrier;

(...)

Section 4 of the Air Carrier Security Regulations provides:

4.(1) The Minister may, by order, prescribe the security measures to be instituted, maintained and carried out by air carriers.

(2) Every air carrier shall institute, maintain and carry out the security measures prescribed by the Minister pursuant to subsection (1).

According to the Minister's representative, all aspects of air transport are interrelated and to ensure security it is necessary to insist on a rigid, strict application inherent to the legislation and regulations relating to security measures. According to Mr. Marinier all infrastructures were in place, and security must remain the highest priority in air transport.

REASONS FOR DETERMINATION

It has often been determined that offences against the public good that threaten health or security, and most offences committed under the Aeronautics Act and related legislation are invariably considered strict liability offences. There are no absolute liability offences under the terms of the Aeronautics Act and subordinate legislation.

Given the numerous elements of law raised and ably presented by Mr. Lemay in this case, the Tribunal deems it necessary to refer to the strict liability offence as defined by Justice Dickson in Sault Ste. Marie[2], and apply it clearly and as equitably as possible in the present case.

Here is how Mr. Justice Dickson defines the strict liability offence:

Offences in which there is no necessity for the prosecution to prove the existence of mens rea; the doing of the prohibited act prima facie imports the offence, leaving it open to the accused to avoid liability by proving that he took all reasonable care. This involves consideration of what a reasonable man would have done in the circumstances. The defence will be available if the accused reasonably believed in a mistaken set of facts which, if true, would render the act or omission innocent, or if he took all reasonable steps to avoid the particular event.

(I have underlined)

As for the Respondent's arguments that the Minister of Transport must prove intent regarding the statement "to avoid going through the passenger screening point" from paragraph 2.1(h) of the security system, the Tribunal cannot concur with such an interpretation given the spirit of the Aeronautics Act and related regulations.

The general rule is that it is not necessary to prove intent under strict liability offences. I do not think that the exceptions raised by Mr. Lemay apply to the present case. It is possible that a requirement of guilty intent be applicable in certain offences against the public good when, for example, proof entails imprisonment or a large fine. This is not the case here. The Tribunal therefore dismisses this argument. The Respondent knew or should have known the situation at the time of the offence, as well as what had to be done. His negligence and/or indifference led to the offence.

As well, the Respondent's representative claims all policies issued by ADM were followed. The wording of paragraph 2.1(h) of the Security System - Conditions of Issuance is clear. Mr. Vigeant, who holds a position related to aeronautics, whose priority is security, did not offer any acceptable defence of his actions and/or omissions. He could not access the restricted area as a passenger (even if travelling on business) by using a magnetic key.

Thus, as it was decided in R. vs. Légaré Auto Ltée, J.E. 82-191 (C.A.):

When it is a question of accomplishing a particular activity, as opposed to common and everyday activities, due diligence is that which could be expected of any reasonable person performing the same activity.

(translation)

Finally, section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act clearly provides:

No person shall be found to have contravened a provision of this Part or of any regulation or order made under this Part if the person exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention.

What was required in the current case was simply to contact an employee of the security company. The Respondent presented no evidence to that effect. The fact that he presented himself at the screening point, ticket in hand, is far from meeting the conditions of reversing the burden of proof, because this is a case of following normal procedures.

Consequently, taking into consideration the fact that the contravention in question is a strict liability offence, that the Minister of Transport proved that there was an offence, and that the Respondent did not exercise all due diligence in order to avoid the contravention, the Tribunal upholds the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) against Richard Vigeant.

DETERMINATION

The Minister of Transport has shown on a balance of probabilities that the Respondent, Richard Vigeant, did contravene subsection 20(1) of the Aerodrome Security Regulations. The Tribunal therefore upholds the Minister's decision and confirms the amount of the monetary penalty at one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00).

Carole Anne Soucy
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] [1978] 2 S.C.R. 1299.

[2] Ibid., p. 1326

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1655-50 (TAC)
Dossier no NB6504-VIGEANT R-2 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Richard Vigeant, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., chap. A-2, art. 7.7, 8.5
Règlement sur la sûreté des aérodromes, SOR/87-452, par. 20(1)

Employé, Infraction de responsabilité absolue, Diligence raisonnable, Contrôle des passagers, Infraction de responsabilité stricte, Postes de fouille


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Carole Anne Soucy


Décision : le 25 janvier 1999

Le ministre des Transports a démontré selon une prépondérance des probabilités que l'intimé Richard Vigeant a contrevenu au paragraphe 20(1) du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté aux aérodromes. Conséquemment, le Tribunal maintient la décision du ministre et confirme le montant de l'amende de cent cinquante dollars (150,00 $). L'amende est payable à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze (15) jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 6 novembre 1998 à 9 heures à la Cour fédérale du Canada, dans la ville de Montréal (Québec).

OBJET DE L'AUDIENCE EN RÉVISION

Le ministre des Transports demande au Tribunal de l'aviation civile de confirmer la contravention au paragraphe 20(1) du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté aux aérodromes et d'imposer le paiement de l'amende de cent cinquante dollars (150,00 $) à M. Richard Vigeant, tel qu'indiqué dans l'avis d'amende émis le 9 juin 1998. Cette amende était due le 9 juillet 1998.

LES FAITS

Le 28 mai 1998, vers 14 h 10, l'intimé ainsi que deux collègues de travail se présente à l'aéroport de Mirabel afin de prendre le vol numéro 245 d'Air Transat en direction de Toronto. Ce jour-là, les postes de fouille de l'aéroport sont fermés. L'intimé et ses compagnons de voyage, employés de la compagnie Haycot, compagnie de service, filiale d'Air Transat, décident d'utiliser un de leur laissez-passer, en l'occurrence une clé magnétique, afin d'accéder à la barrière de l'avion, qui se trouve dans la zone réglementée, et prendre leur vol.

Les faits ne sont pas contestés.

REMARQUES PRÉLIMINAIRES

Les parties ont convenu d'entendre les causes de Richard Vigeant, Carole Arseneau et Claude Racicot en une seule et même audience compte tenu de la similitude des faits et des éléments de preuve tant au niveau documentaire que testimonial. En effet, ces trois personnes, alors qu'elles voyageaient ensembles, sont accusées d'avoir contrevenu au paragraphe 20(1) du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté aux aérodromes. Toutefois, le Tribunal se doit de rédiger des jugements distincts puisque chaque dossier porte son numéro respectif et qu'une contravention a été émise pour chacune des personnes.

M. André Marinier, représentant du ministre des Transports, a présenté quatre (4) témoins.

Me Jean-François Lemay, représentant de l'intimé, a présenté un témoin soit, Carole Arseneau.

HISTORIQUE ET PREUVE TESTIMONIALE

André Sauvé, inspecteur pour Transports Canada, témoigne à l'effet qu'il a vu l'intimé accompagné de deux personnes avant qu'il ne franchisse la porte à accès contrôlé et, par la suite, dans la zone réglementée sur l'aéroquai. M. Sauvé a intercepté les trois voyageurs et s'est adressé à eux sur la passerelle conduisant à l'avion. Les témoignages relatifs à la conversation entre M. Vigeant, ses compagnons de voyages et l'inspecteur Sauvé, sont contradictoires.

Selon André Sauvé, il aurait été question de postes de fouille, ce à quoi les trois voyageurs auraient répondu qu'ils étaient en devoir ce jour-là et qu'ils n'avaient pas à passer la fouille.

Quant au témoin Carole Arseneau, elle prétend qu'il n'a jamais été question de point de fouille et que M. Sauvé désirait plutôt savoir s'ils détenaient des billets d'avion, s'ils voyageaient par affaires et s'ils étaient membres d'équipage. L'intimé, qui n'est pas membre d'équipage, avait en effet un billet d'avion afin de se rendre à Toronto par affaires, mais en tant que passager.

Il fut mis en preuve que pour les vols en transit, des billets sont émis pour les employés de compagnies aériennes ainsi que les employés des filiales desdites compagnies qui voyagent par affaires. Aucun autre passager ne peut voyager sur ces vols, à l'exception des passagers déjà à bord avant l'escale transit.

Aussi, lorsqu'il n'y a pas de départ de vols réguliers prévu, les postes de fouille sont fermés. Or, il ressort des divers témoignages, que les points de fouille étaient fermés le 28 mai 1998, puisqu'il n'y avait pas de vols cette journée-là à Mirabel. Toutefois, un employé de la compagnie Kolossal, responsable de la sécurité à l'aéroport de Mirabel, était présent à l'aéroport et accessible toute la journée afin de pallier à cet état de fait.

En contre-interrogatoire, Mme Colette Ross, superviseur de la compagnie Kolossal, admet qu'à l'époque de l'infraction, il n'y avait aucune procédure écrite concernant la politique des points de fouille lorsque ceux-ci étaient fermés.

Aussi, à partir de septembre 1997, suite au transfert des vols de Mirabel à Dorval, impliquant une réduction significative des activités aériennes à Mirabel, les heures d'ouverture des points de fouille furent considérablement réduites et aucun système n'a été mis en place pour pallier à cette situation.

LE DROIT

Le ministre prétend que M. Vigeant à contrevenu au paragraphe 20(1) du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté aux aérodromes qui prévoit ce qui suit :

Il est interdit d'entrer ou de demeurer dans une zone réglementée à moins d'avoir en sa possession un laissez-passer remis pour cette zone et de se conformer à toutes les conditions de remise ou d'approbation du laissez-passer.

Les conditions de remise sont spécifiées à l'alinéa 2.1h) du Système de sécurité – conditions d'émission, émis par Aéroports de Montréal (ADM), qui stipule ce qui suit :

Un détenteur de laissez-passer, passager sur un vol commercial, doit passer avant l'embarquement au poste de fouille des passagers. Il est interdit d'utiliser son laissez-passer pour s'y soustraire.

ARGUMENTATION

En plaidoirie Me Lemay, représentant de l'intimé, présente une synthèse des diverses catégories d'infractions. Les catégories d'infractions sont très bien définies dans l'arrêt Sault Ste-Mariee, auquel nous réfère M Lemay. Il y a les infractions de mens rea, les infractions de responsabilité stricte et les infractions de responsabilité absolue.

Tout d'abord, dans les infractions de mens rea, l'élément intentionnel doit être clairement exprimé. Quant aux infractions de responsabilité absolue, le législateur indique clairement que la simple preuve de l'acte prohibé est suffisante pour en arriver à un verdict de culpabilité. Finalement, l'infraction de responsabilité stricte permet une défense de diligence raisonnable, c'est-à-dire une fois l'infraction prouvée par le requérant, le fardeau de preuve revient au contrevenant et celui-ci doit démontrer qu'il a pris toutes les dispositions qui s'imposaient pour éviter l'infraction.

L'intimé allègue que nous sommes en présence d'une infraction de responsabilité stricte. Toutefois, il souligne que le texte de l'alinéa 2.1h) du système de sécurité suggère l'intention à travers les mots « pour s'y soustraire ».

Selon Me Lemay, la question soulevée ici est la suivante : est-ce que l'intimé avait vraiment l'intention de se soustraire à la fouille? Il s'est procuré un billet d'avion et s'est présenté au poste de fouille. Le poste de fouille était fermé et aucun système transitoire alternatif n'était en place.

Les parties ont établi que les compagnies aériennes et ADM étaient responsables des politiques relatives à la sécurité. Dans son argumentation, l'intimé allègue qu'il a respecté toutes les politiques émises par ADM, puisqu'il n'y avait pas de point de fouille ouvert le jour de la contravention, que conséquemment il ne pouvait y avoir violation de la disposition réglementaire et que finalement il n'y avait pas d'intention donc pas d'infraction.

En terminant sa plaidoirie, le représentant de l'intimé démontre que lors d'une réunion du « Airlines Operators Committee » (pièce I-1) en date du 11 juin 1998, il y eut reconnaissance des lacunes du système de sécurité et que le 28 mai 1998 il n'y avait encore aucune politique d'établie concernant la sécurité durant cette période de flottement.

Dans son argumentation le ministre des Transports nous réfère à l'article 14 et à l'alinéa 16a) du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté des transporteurs aériens qui suivent l'application de l'article 4.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

Les articles 14 et 16 du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté des transporteurs aériens se rapportent à la fouille. L'article 14 se lit ainsi :

14. Pour l'application de l'article 4.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique et du présent règlement, les fouilles sont effectuées par un agent de sûreté au cours du contrôle de personnes, d'effets personnels, de bagages et de fret.

L'article 16 dit ce qui suit :

16. Il est interdit aux transporteurs aériens de transporter :

a) les passagers, les effets personnels, les bagages ou le fret qui n'ont pas fait l'objet d'un contrôle conformément aux mesures de sûreté prises et mises en oeuvre par lui en application du paragraphe 4(2);

L'article 4 du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté des transporteurs aériens énonce ce qui suit :

4.(1) Le ministre peut, par arrêté, prescrire les mesures de sûreté que doit prendre et mettre en oeuvre tout transporteur aérien.

(2) Le transporteur aérien doit prendre et mettre en oeuvre les mesures de sûreté prescrites par le ministre en vertu du paragraphe (1).

Selon le représentant du ministre, tous les aspects du transport aérien sont reliés entre eux et il faut en assurer la sécurité en insistant sur une application rigide, stricte et inhérente aux lois et règlements relatifs aux mesures de sûreté. Selon M. Marinier toutes les infrastructures étaient en place et la sécurité doit passer avant toute chose dans le domaine du transport aérien.

MOTIFS DE LA DÉCISION

Il a été décidé à plusieurs reprises que les infractions contre le bien-être public qui menacent la santé ou la sécurité et la plupart des infractions commises au terme de la Loi sur l'aéronautique et toute législation connexe sont infailliblement considérées comme des infractions de responsabilité stricte. Il n'y a pas d'infraction de responsabilité absolue au terme de la Loi sur l'aéronautique et de la législation subordonnée.

Compte tenu des nombreux éléments de droit soulevés et habilement présentés par Me Lemay dans la présente cause, le Tribunal estime nécessaire de reprendre la définition de l'infraction de responsabilité stricte selon le Juge Dickson dans l'arrêt Sault Ste-Marie[2] et de l'appliquer sans ambiguïté et de la façon la plus équitable qu'il soit à la présente cause.

M. le Juge Dickson définit ainsi l'infraction de responsabilité stricte :

Les infractions dans lesquelles il n'est pas nécessaire que la poursuite prouve l'existence de la mens rea, l'accomplissement de l'acte comporte une présomption d'infraction, laissant à l'accusé la possibilité d'écarter sa responsabilité en prouvant qu'il a pris toutes les précautions nécessaires. Ceci comporte l'examen de ce qu'une personne raisonnable aurait fait dans les circonstances. La défense sera recevable si l'accusé croyait pour des motifs raisonnables à un état de faits inexistant qui, s'il avait existé, aurait rendu l'acte ou l'omission innocent ou si l'accusé a pris toutes les précautions raisonnables pour éviter l'événement en question.

(je souligne).

Quant à l'argument de l'intimé à l'effet que le ministre des Transports doit prouver l'intention suite au vocable « pour s'y soustraire » de l'alinéa 2.1h) du système de sécurité, le Tribunal ne peut adhérer à une telle interprétation compte tenu de l'esprit de la Loi sur l'aéronautique et des règlements connexes.

La règle générale veut qu'il ne soit pas nécessaire de prouver l'intention dans les infractions de responsabilité stricte. Je ne crois pas que les cas d'exceptions soulevés par Me Lemay ne s'appliquent à la présente cause. Il est possible que l'exigence de l'intention coupable soit applicable dans certaines infractions contre le bien-être public lorsque, par exemple, la preuve entraîne une peine d'emprisonnement ou une grosse amende. Ce n'est pas le cas ici. Le Tribunal écarte donc cet argument. L'intimé connaissait ou devait connaître la situation au moment de l'infraction ainsi que les mesures à prendre, compte tenu de ses occupations professionnelles. Sa négligence et/ou son insouciance ont conduit à l'infraction.

Le représentant de l'intimé prétend également que toutes les politiques émises par ADM ont été respectées. Or, le libellé de l'alinéa 2.1h) du Système de sécurité – conditions d'émission est clair. M. Vigeant, qui occupe une activité reliée à l'aéronautique, dont la priorité est la sécurité, n'a offert aucune défense recevable face à ses actions et/ou omissions. Il ne pouvait pas se rendre dans la zone réglementée à titre de passager (et ce, même s'il voyageait par affaires) en utilisant une clé magnétique.

Ainsi, tel qu'il fût décidé dans l'affaire R. c. Légaré Auto Ltée, J.E. 82-191 (C.A.) :

Lorsqu'il s'agit de l'exercice d'une activité particulière, par opposition aux occupations communes et ordinaires de la vie, la diligence requise est celle dont ferait preuve une personne raisonnable s'adonnant à la même activité.

Finalement l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique stipule expressément ce qui suit :

Nul ne peut être reconnu coupable d'avoir contrevenu à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application s'il a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour s'y conformer.

Les mesures nécessaires qui s'imposaient dans le cas présent étaient simplement d'entrer en contact avec un employé de la compagnie de sécurité. Or, l'intimé n'a produit aucune preuve à cet effet et le fait de s'être présenté au poste de fouille, billet en main, est loin de remplir les conditions nécessaires du renversement du fardeau de preuve puisqu'il s'agit de procédures normales.

En conséquence, compte tenu du fait que l'infraction reprochée est une infraction de responsabilité stricte, que le ministre des Transports a prouvé l'accomplissement de l'infraction, que l'intimé n'a pas pris toutes les précautions nécessaires et raisonnables afin d'éviter la contravention, le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre des Transports d'imposer une amende de cent cinquante dollars (150,00 $) à Richard Vigeant.

DÉCISION

Le ministre des Transports a démontré selon une prépondérance des probabilités que l'intimé Richard Vigeant a contrevenu au paragraphe 20(1) du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté aux aérodromes. Conséquemment, le Tribunal maintient la décision du ministre et confirme le montant de l'amende de cent cinquante dollars (150,00 $).

Me Carole Anne Soucy
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] [1978] 2 R.C.S. 1299.

[2] Id., p.1326.