Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1732-18
MoT File No. 5015-1-10452 (NAH-HUB) (A

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Excel Aviation Inc., Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 573.08

Certificate, AMO, Approved Maintenance Organization, Suspension


Review Determination
Pierre Rivest


Decision: December 23, 1998

TRANSLATION

I uphold the Minister's decision to suspend the Applicant's approved maintenance organization certificate, number 31-97, until such time as the Applicant meets the regulatory requirements.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, December 22, 1998, at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Montreal, Quebec. The witnesses were sworn in.

BACKGROUND

Excel Aviation Inc., the Applicant, had its approved maintenance organization (AMO), certificate number 31-97, suspended (Exhibit M-4) because, following a move, its facilities no longer met conditions under which the document was issued.

Specifically, the Minister (the Respondent) alleges that the Applicant has not complied with Part V, Subpart 73, section 573.08 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) and subsection 573.08(4) of the Approved Maintenance Organization Standards (Standards), Chapter 573 of the Airworthiness Manual.

It would be especially necessary for the Applicant to more precisely describe the facilities, equipment and buildings which one required for an AMO, and as well to provide a proper lease agreement or proof of ownership for the use of a hangar or work space.

THE LAW

Paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act provides:

7.1 (1) Where the Minister decides

(...)

(b) to suspend or cancel a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that the holder of the document is incompetent or the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to have the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to meet or comply with the conditions subject to which the document was issued,

(...)

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder or to the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at the latest known address of the holder, owner or operator, notify the holder, owner or operator of the Minister's decision.

It is necessary to note the part of the paragraph which states: "...on the grounds that the holder...ceases to have the qualifications necessary for the issuance..."

For its part, section 573.08 of the CARs states:

573.08 (1) An approved maintenance organization (AMO) certificate holder shall provide the facilities and equipment specified in Chapter 573 of the Airworthiness Manual that are necessary for the work to be performed.

(2) Except in cases provided for in a maintenance policy manual (MPM), work performed by an AMO certificate holder shall be performed in the facilities required by subsection (1), unless unforeseen circumstances do not permit the work to be performed in those facilities and the safety of the aircraft is not affected by the fact that the work is performed elsewhere.

(...)

Parallel to this section, the applicable Standards, regarding this case, can be found in section 573.08 of the Standards:

(1) For the purposes of this standard, equipment includes, but is not limited to:

(a) technical and regulatory information;

(b) hand tools;

(c) jigs;

(d) fixtures;

(e) work stands;

(f) test equipment;

(g) calibrated tools;

(h) hoists;

(i) jacks;

(j) ladders;

(k) portable lighting;

(l) electrical power supplies;

(m) hydraulic or pneumatic ground support equipment.

(2) CAR 573.08 requires the AMO Certificate holder to provide detailed information on the various locations where aircraft maintenance is to be performed. For the purpose of these standards, facilities shall include, as appropriate to the scope of work to be performed:

(a) lighted hangars;

(b) maintenance docks;

(c) workshops;

(d) clean rooms;

(e) storage; and

(f) other housing and support facilities to enable maintenance to be performed in clean conditions, protected from the elements.

(3) When the work is to be performed on the aircraft, all scheduled maintenance, including the rectification of defects whose repair has been deferred, shall be carried out in a hangar that is capable of completely enclosing the aircraft, where that work:

(a) is, in respect of a large aircraft, C, D or E checks, or any equivalent check scheduled at an interval greater than 12 months;

(b) except where otherwise specified by the manufacturer's maintenance manual for the aircraft type, involves the placing of the complete aircraft on jacks;

(c) requires the use of environmentally sensitive testing equipment, unless that equipment has been calibrated to take the environment into account; or

(d) involves the disassembly of components which would require lubrication upon re-assembly and could affect safety of the aircraft if exposed to contaminants such as dirt, water, sand, snow, etc.

Information Note:

Notwithstanding these standards, AMO Certificate holders are reminded that provincial standards and regulations, or where none exist the applicable national code, may specify minimum requirements applicable to lighting and other environmental factors in the work place.

(4) The facilities may be owned by the AMO, or be available through a lease agreement, provided the facilities are available on a "when needed" basis, or otherwise subject to pre-arranged periods of hangar availability.

(...)

THE FACTS

The whole issue involves the interpretation that each of the parties gives to certain documents submitted in evidence. Here is the list of comments that were raised.

  • The Applicant holds an AMO certificate since July 28, 1997 (Exhibit M-1) for which the base of operations was at Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec. However, at the beginning of September 1998, the Applicant moved its operations to the airport in Saint-Hubert, Quebec.
  • On October 19, 1998, Transport Canada asked the Applicant to submit a revised maintenance policy manual (MPM) because of the recent changes in its operations (Exhibit M-2).
  • On November 5, 1998, the Applicant sent in an "Application for Approval of a Maintenance Organization" (Exhibit M-3) in which the following modifications were indicated:

(a) Change of address
(b) Removal of the Cessna P-206 from the certificate

  • This seems to have been insufficient and, between the above-mentioned dates, several meetings and conversations took place between Transport Canada representatives and the Applicant, but Transport Canada remains unsatisfied:

(a) first, because the description of the facilities is not yet complete nor approved;
(b) and, because there is no lease agreement or proof of ownership for the use of the new facilities as required in subsection 573.08(4) of the Standards.

  • On December 3, 1998, Transport Canada suspended Excel Aviation Inc.'s AMO (M-4).
  • The Applicant submitted two documents to disprove what has just been set forth:

a) a letter from AVTECH addressed to Aéro 3000 signed by Mr. Pierre Labrosse (Exhibit T-1) in which Mr. Labrosse says "we agree to lease to you the necessary space for your operations."

However, the last paragraph of this letter mentions that "the details of this agreement...will be included in another document." However, this other document is not yet completed nor signed, which gives it no effect. This document must therefore be considered a letter of intent, and not a lease agreement.

Moreover, in the second paragraph, the signer of the document mentions the "right to work on your aeroplane (in the hangar)," in other words, on a single aeroplane. The AMO certificate does not restrict the number of planes of this type which Excel Aviation Inc. would be likely to work on; even if it has been said that there are only three such planes in all of Canada. Also, verbal agreements were allegedly entered into by both parties (details of which were not disclosed in the hearing).

b) the second document (Exhibit T-2) is a sublease from Aéro 3000 to Excel Aviation Inc. It must be noted that both companies have the same owner.

This is precisely what Transport Canada refuses to allow considering that the first letter is merely a letter of intent and does not constitute a lease agreement. The sublease therefore becomes null and void. In addition to which the AVTECH letter does not contain sufficient information to satisfy the regulatory requirements.

  • Finally, the Applicant pointed out that the specifics of the facilities required by Transport Canada are now included in its MPM and that in practice, no maintenance problem was encountered. A first modification was completed on October 1, 1998 (Exhibit M-7), and the draft of a new MPM was forwarded to Transport Canada on November 13, 1998.

Regulations applicable to the MPM can be found in subsection 573.10(1) of the CARs. It must be added that the requirements set out in the Standards are cumulative and must all be met.

However, Transport Canada has not finished evaluating the MPM in question and therefore cannot yet approve it.

Finally, in his testimony, the owner of AVTECH, Mr. Pierre Labrosse, indicated that he was no longer willing to lease part of his facilities to the Applicant.

The hearing also brought forth that communications between Transport Canada and the Applicant were not the best and that Mr. Noel, owner of Excel Aviation Inc., has complained about the lack of cooperation.

CONCLUSION

After having reviewed the documents submitted and having heard the witnesses of both parties, I have come to the conclusion that the Minister is correct in suspending the Applicant's AMO certificate; I can only encourage the parties involved to better communicate and cooperate. Given that this case does not involve a new certificate but a modification to an existing certificate, I would suggest that, if it is at all possible, a temporary certificate might be granted to Excel Aviation Inc.

DETERMINATION

I uphold the Minister's decision to suspend the Applicant's approved maintenance organization certificate, number 31-97, until such time as the Applicant meets the regulatory requirements.

Pierre Rivest
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1732-18 (TAC)
Dossier no 5015-1-10452 (NAH-HUB) (A (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Excel Aviation Inc., requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C., ch. A-2, al. 7.1(1)b)
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 573.08

Suspension, Organisme de maintenance agréé, OMA, Certificat


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Rivest


Décision : le 23 décembre 1998

Je maintiens la décision du ministre de suspendre le certificat d'organisme de maintenance agréé de la requérante, numéro 31-97, jusqu'à ce que celle-ci réponde aux exigences de la réglementation.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 22 décembre 1998 à 10 heures, à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Montréal (Québec). Les témoins ont prêté serment.

HISTORIQUE

Excel Aviation inc., la requérante, a vu son certificat d'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA), numéro 31-97, suspendu (pièce M-4) parce que les installations ne répondraient plus, à la suite d'un déménagement, aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité d'un tel document.

Plus précisément, le ministre, ci-après l'intimé, reproche à la requérante de ne pas satisfaire à la partie V, sous-partie 73, article 573.08 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) ainsi qu'au paragraphe 573.08(4) des normes relatives aux organismes de maintenance agréés « normes », chapitre 573 du Manuel de navigabilité.

Il serait surtout nécessaire, pour la requérante, de décrire avec plus de précision les installations, équipements et bâtisses exigés pour un OMA ainsi que de soumettre un contrat de location ou un acte de propriété en bonne et due forme pour l'utilisation d'un hangar ou d'espaces de travail.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique stipule :

7.1 (1) Lorsque le ministre décide ... soit de suspendre ou d'annuler un document parce que le titulaire du document est inapte ou que le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document, ... il expédie un avis de la mesure par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire ou du propriétaire, exploitant ou utilisateur en cause.

Il faut retenir ici la partie du paragraphe qui dit : « ... parce que le titulaire ... ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ... ».

Pour sa part, l'article 573.08 du RAC stipule :

573.08 (1) Le titulaire d'un certificat d'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) doit fournir les installations et l'équipement indiqués au chapitre 573 du Manuel de navigabilité qui sont nécessaires pour l'exécution des travaux.

(2) Sauf dans les cas prévus dans le manuel de politiques de maintenance (MPM), les travaux exécutés par le titulaire d'un certificat OMA doivent l'être dans les installations exigées au paragraphe (1), à moins que des circonstances imprévues ne permettent pas l'exécution des travaux dans ces installations et que la sécurité de l'aéronef ne soit pas touchée par le fait que les travaux sont exécutés ailleurs.

(...)

En parallèle à cet article, les normes édictées pour y répondre se retrouvent, en ce qui concerne cette cause-ci, à l'article 573.08 des normes :

(1) Pour les fins de la présente norme, l'équipement comprend notamment :

a) les renseignements techniques et réglementaires;

b) les outils à main;

c) les gabarits;

d) les appareils;

e) les plates-formes de travail;

f) l'équipement d'essai;

g) les outils étalonnés;

h) les treuils;

i) les vérins;

j) les échelles;

k) les baladeuses;

l) les sources d'alimentation électrique;

m) l'équipement de servitude au sol hydraulique ou pneumatique.

(2) L'article 573.08 du RAC exige que le titulaire d'un certificat OMA fournisse des renseignements détaillés sur les divers lieux où doit s'effectuer la maintenance des aéronefs. Aux fins des présentes normes, les installations doivent comprendre, compte tenu de l'envergure du travail à effectuer :

a) des hangars éclairés;

b) des plates-formes de maintenance;

c) des ateliers;

d) des salles blanches;

e) des installations d'entreposage;

f) d'autres remises et installations auxiliaires qui permettent d'effectuer la maintenance dans des conditions de propreté et à l'abri des éléments.

(3) Si le travail doit être effectué sur l'aéronef, tous les travaux de maintenance planifiée, y compris la correction des défectuosités dont la réparation a été reportée, doivent être effectués dans un hangar assez vaste pour contenir au complet l'aéronef :

a) lorsqu'il s'agit de visites C, D ou E pour les gros aéronefs ou toute vérification prévue à des intervalles équivalents ou supérieurs à 12 mois;

b) sauf exception prévue dans le manuel de maintenance du type d'aéronef rédigé par le constructeur, chaque fois que l'aéronef complet est sur vérins;

c) lorsque le travail exige l'utilisation d'un appareillage d'essais sensible à l'environnement, sauf si cet appareillage a été étalonné en fonction de l'environnement;

d) lorsque le travail comporte le démontage de composants qui doivent être lubrifiés au moment du remontage ou qui pourraient nuire à la sécurité de l'aéronef s'ils étaient exposés à des sources de contamination comme la saleté, l'eau, le sable, la neige, etc.;

Notes d'information :

Nonobstant les présentes normes, les titulaires d'un certificat OMA ne doivent pas oublier que des normes et des règlements provinciaux ou, en leur absence, le code national pertinent, peuvent comporter des exigences minimales en matière d'éclairage et d'autres facteurs environnementaux applicables au lieu de travail.

(4) Les installations peuvent être la propriété de l'OMA ou être disponibles en vertu d'un contrat de location, pourvu qu'elles soient utilisables au besoin ou à des périodes fixées à l'avance permettant l'utilisation de hangars.

(...)

LES FAITS

Tout le litige repose sur l'interprétation que chacune des parties donne à certains documents déposés en preuve. En voici la liste et les commentaires qu'elle suscite.

  • La requérante détient un certificat OMA depuis le 28 juillet 1997 (pièce M-1) dont la base des opérations était Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Québec). Mais, au début de septembre 1998, la requérante déménage ses opérations à l'aéroport de Saint-Hubert (Québec).
  • Le 19 octobre 1998, Transports Canada demande à la requérante de soumettre une révision de son manuel de politiques de maintenance (MPM) à cause des récents changements dans ses opérations (pièce M-2).
  • Le 5 novembre 1998, la requérante fait parvenir une « Demande d'agrément d'organisme de maintenance » (pièce M-3) dans laquelle les modifications suivantes sont indiquées :

a) changement d'adresse;
b) suppression du Cessna P-206 du certificat.

  • Cela semble insuffisant et, entre les dates précitées, plusieurs rencontres et conversations téléphoniques entre les représentants de Transports Canada et la requérante ont eu lieu mais Transports Canada n'est toujours pas satisfait :

a) d'abord parce que la description des installations n'est pas encore complétée ni approuvée;
b) ensuite, parce qu'il n'y a pas de contrat de location ou d'acte de propriété pour l'utilisation des nouvelles installations tel que le stipule le paragraphe 573.08(4) des normes.

  • Le 3 décembre 1998, Transports Canada suspend l'OMA d'Excel Aviation inc. (M-4).
  • La requérante dépose deux documents pour prouver le contraire de ce qui vient d'être avancé :

a) une lettre d'AVTECH adressée à Aéro 3000 signée par M. Pierre Labrosse (pièce T-1) dans laquelle ce dernier dit « nous acceptons de vous louer les espaces nécessaires pour vos opérations ».

Cependant, le dernier paragraphe de cette lettre mentionne que « les détails de cette entente ... seront contenus dans un autre document ». Or, cet autre document n'est pas encore complété ni signé, ce qui lui donne aucun effet. Il faut donc considérer ce document comme une lettre d'intention et non comme un contrat de location.

De plus, dans le deuxième paragraphe, le signataire fait mention du « droit de travail sur votre avion (dans le hangar) », c'est à dire sur un seul avion. Or, le certificat OMA ne comporte pas de restriction quant au nombre d'appareils de ce type sur lesquels Excel Aviation inc. serait susceptible de travailler même s'il a été dit qu'il n'en existerait que trois dans tout le Canada; de plus, des ententes verbales (non précisées lors de l'audience) auraient été passées entre les deux parties;

b) le deuxième document (pièce T-2) est une sous-location d'Aéro 3000 à Excel Aviation inc. Il faut savoir qu'il s'agit ici du même propriétaire pour les deux compagnies.

C'est précisément ce que refuse Transports Canada considérant que la première lettre n'est qu'une lettre d'intention et ne constitue pas un contrat de location. La sous-location devient donc caduque. D'autant plus que la lettre d'AVTECH ne comporte pas suffisamment d'informations pour satisfaire à la réglementation.

  • Finalement, la requérante fait valoir que les détails d'installation exigés par Transports Canada sont maintenant incorporés dans son MPM et qu'en pratique, aucune difficulté d'entretien n'a été rencontrée. Une première modification a été complétée le 1er octobre 1998 (pièce M-7) et l'ébauche d'un nouveau MPM a été transmis à Transports Canada le 13 novembre 1998.

La réglementation qui touche au MPM se retrouve au paragraphe 573.10(1) du RAC. Il faut ajouter que les exigences édictées dans les normes sont cumulatives et doivent toutes être respectées.

Cependant, Transports Canada n'a pas fini d'étudier le MPM en question et ne peut donc pas encore l'approuver.

Finalement, dans son témoignage, le propriétaire d'AVTECH, M. Pierre Labrosse, est venu dire qu'il n'était plus disposé à louer une partie de ses installations à la requérante.

L'audience a fait également fait ressortir que les communications entre Transports Canada et la requérante ne sont pas à leur meilleur et M. Noël, propriétaire d'Excel Aviation inc., se plaint du manque de collaboration.

CONCLUSION

Après avoir étudié les documents soumis et avoir entendu les témoins des deux parties, j'en arrive à la conclusion que le ministre a raison de suspendre le certificat OMA de la requérante; je ne peux qu'encourager les parties impliquées à mieux communiquer et collaborer entre elles. Étant donné qu'il ne s'agit pas d'un nouveau certificat mais bien d'une modification à un certificat existant, je me permets de suggérer d'accorder un certificat temporaire à Excel Aviation inc., si cela est possible.

DÉCISION

Je maintiens la décision du ministre de suspendre le certificat d'organisme de maintenance agréé de la requérante, numéro 31-97, jusqu'à ce que celle-ci réponde aux exigences de la réglementation.

Pierre Rivest
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile