Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1850-10
MoT File No. 5258-1-8114

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Parachutisme Aventure Inc. Aéro 3000, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, ss. 7.1(1)
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR-96/433 ss.703.02, 703.07(1), 703.07(2)(b) 703.07(2)(b)(ii), 723.07(2)(b), 723.07(2)(b)(i)(A), 723.07(2)(b)(i)(A)(III), 723.07(2)(b)(ii)

Standards to be Met, Notice of Suspension, Qualified Managerial Personnel, Alterations of Notice of Suspension, Air Operator Certificate


Review Determination
Pierre Rivest


Decision: August 12, 1999

TRANSLATION

Based on a balance of probabilities, I confirm the Minister of Transport's decision to suspend the air operator certificate of Parachutisme Aventure Inc.Aéro 3000.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Friday, July 30, 1999 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada premises in Montréal, Québec. The witnesses made a solemn declaration.

BACKGROUND

On July 16, 1999, the Applicant's air operator certificate was suspended because the Applicant no longer had a chief pilot employed in accordance with the requirements of subparagraph 703.07(2)(b)(ii) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

The suspension was to come into force on August 1, 1999 on which date the air operator certificate was to be returned to Transport Canada. The Applicant had until August 16, 1999 to appeal this determination before the Civil Aviation Tribunal (CAT).

Before presenting his evidence, Mr. Tamborriello made two modifications to the notice of suspension:

1. On page 1, the date of the air operator certificate should read 1996.10.10 (Exhibit M-1) and not 1998.06.11;

2. On the second page, in the left column, the reference to the CARs section should be 703.07 instead of 723.07.

These two modifications were accepted by the Tribunal and by the Applicant.

THE LAW

Subparagraph 703.07(2)(b)(ii) of the CARs stipulates:

703.07 (1) Subject to section 6.71 of the Act, the Minister shall, on receipt of an application submitted in the form and manner required by the Commercial Air Service Standards, issue or amend an air operator certificate where the applicant demonstrates to the Minister the ability to

[...]

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1), an applicant shall have

[...]

(b) managerial personnel who have been approved by the Minister in accordance with the Commercial Air Service Standards, are employed on a full-time basis and perform the functions related to the following positions, namely,

[...]

(ii) chief pilot

THE FACTS

For the Respondent

Mr. Tamborriello called Mr. Marcel Devost. He is an inspector responsible for commercial air carriers for Transport Canada.

He provided to the Tribunal the main reasons for the suspension of the Applicant's air operator certificate by Transport Canada:

  • On June 23, 1999, a letter signed by Mr. Sylvain Desmarais, a former chief pilot of the Applicant, was first sent to Inspector Gilles Marsan, representative of Transport Canada at Saint-Hubert Airport (Exhibit M-2), who forwarded it to his superior, Inspector Devost.
  • This was a letter of resignation as chief pilot for Aéro 3000 (M-2).
  • At that time, the Applicant was informed by Transport Canada that the company no longer met the requirements of the regulations.
  • The Applicant then submitted the name of a candidate for the position of chief pilot, but the candidate was refused because he was not qualified for the position in accordance with the standards of the regulations. In addition, the request had not been signed by the administrator of the company (Exhibit M-3).
  • Transport Canada asked the Applicant to return its air operator certificate in accordance with subsection 7.1(1) of the Aeronautics Act:

7.1 (1) Where the Minister decides

(a) to suspend, cancel or refuse to renew a Canadian aviation document on medical grounds,

(b) to suspend or cancel a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that the holder of the document is incompetent or the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to have the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to meet or comply with the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or

(c) to suspend or cancel a Canadian aviation document because the Minister is of the opinion that the public interest and, in particular, the record in relation to aviation of the holder of the Canadian aviation document or of any principal of the holder, as defined in regulations made under subsection 6.71(2), warrant it,

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder or to the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at the latest known address of the holder, owner or operator, notify the holder, owner or operator of the Minister's decision.

Mr. Noël cross-examined the witness regarding the scope and meaning of subparagraph 703.07(2)(b)(ii) of the CARs and of standards 723.07(2)(b) which cover the obligations of the carrier and the qualifications of the chief pilot, respectively.

More specifically, Mr. Noël wanted to know what is meant by the word "adequate" in paragraph (a) of subsection 703.07(1) of the CARs.

(a) maintain an adequate organizational structure

Furthermore, what does Transport Canada mean by "employed on a full-time basis" (paragraph 703.07(2)(b))?

(b) managerial personnel who have been approved by the Minister in accordance with the Commercial Air Service Standards, are employed on a full-time basis and perform the functions related to the following positions, namely,

The witness answered that the employee involved must meet the requirements of standards 723.07 of the CARs and that this is mentioned in the section in question, and that "full-time" means that the person should not be absent except for short periods of time, usually not longer than three weeks.

For its part, the note ("NOTE") under subparagraph (ii) of section 723.07, page 5, "Responsibilities" reads:

In his or her absence, all responsibilities for operational duties shall be delegated to another individual qualified in accordance with the Canadian Aviation Regulations except that the knowledge requirements detailed under Chief Pilot qualifications may be demonstrated to the air operator rather than the Minister.

Mr. Noël based his argument on the fact that the "NOTE" in question allows him, as operational manager of the company, to assign the responsibilities of chief pilot to someone else without informing the Minister. He therefore devolved most of the responsibilities of chief pilot upon himself.

This is where Transport Canada objected specifying that Mr. Noël did not meet the requirements of the standards (which is contrary to the "NOTE" because he would have to hold an airline transport pilot licence, but he only holds a commercial pilot licence.

The witness referred, among others, to subclause III of clause 723.07(2)(b)(i)(A) of the standards:

(A) The chief pilot shall:

[...]

(III) where IFR is authorized by the air operator certificate, hold a valid Airline Transport Pilot Licence (Aeroplane) or in the case of an IFR single-engine operation, a valid Commercial Pilot Licence (Aeroplane) and a valid Instrument Rating appropriate for an aeroplane subject to this Subpart.

Furthermore, Mr. Noël submitted that he never received Mr. Desmarais' letter of resignation and that if he had received it, he would have refused it. He therefore considers Mr. Desmarais still at his service, which is denied by the witness in view of the letter of resignation.

There were discussions between Mr. Noël and the witness regarding the interpretation of the word "absence." What is meant by absence and what is the allowable duration of absences?

According to the witness, these are periods during which the chief pilot is on vacation or sick leave, for example. Based on the custom accepted by Transport Canada, this is rarely longer than three weeks. However, it was mentioned that there is nothing officially written on the subject and that longer absences may be accepted.

For the Applicant

Mr. Noël testified for the Applicant since he has the responsibility of president, director of operations and maintenance engineer. His testimony consisted both of presenting certain facts or arguments and of pleading his case by exposing financial and operational considerations.

It must be said that his company is a very small business with a single aircraft, a Piper PA-31, a twin-engine pressurized aircraft operated under VFR and IFR conditions.

The company does not fly more than 250 hours per year, and most of these flights are not in the summer (between the end of June and the beginning of September, the aircraft does not make more than two or three flights per month). He therefore submitted that his chief pilot, Sylvain Desmarais, could be absent for the three months of summer, that this was in accordance with standards 723.07 and that most of the tasks normally devolved upon the chief pilot were transferred to him. This includes, among others, the tasks described in clauses B, C, D, E, F and G in subparagraph (b)(ii) of subsection 723.07(2) of the standards.

The company has at its service a qualified pilot and copilot to perform the required aerial work. For 10 to 15 flights during the summer, Mr. Noël submits that his chief pilot does not need to be on site at all times (Mr. Desmarais is currently flying in Greece on a forest fire spraying contract from which he will return next September 25th).

Finally, Mr. Noël admitted that the regulations must apply uniformly to everyone, but that the size of a business must also be considered and that certain requirements must be adapted to its needs.

All things considered, Mr. Noël deems his chief pilot, Mr. Desmarais, to be on vacation for the summer since his company never received his letter of resignation and because the one sent to Transport Canada was written under pressure from an inspector. He feels that an exception is possible since Transport Canada has already done so for other carriers.

Under cross-examination, Mr. Tamborriello brought out the following points that Mr. Noël did not deny:

  • the delegation of responsibilities from the chief pilot to Mr. Noël would not be valid because he is not qualified according to the standards of subclause 723.07(2)(b)(i)(A)(III);

(III) where IFR is authorized by the air operator certificate, hold a valid Airline Transport Pilot Licence (Aeroplane) or in the case of an IFR single-engine operation, a valid Commercial Pilot Licence (Aeroplane) and a valid Instrument Rating appropriate for an aeroplane subject to this Subpart.

(Mr. Noël only holds a commercial pilot licence);

  • even if the company did not receive Mr. Desmarais' letter of resignation, he had informed Mr. Noël of his departure. On this subject, Mr. Noël first submitted that he had no contact with his chief pilot before he left for Greece. This was later contradicted. Mr. Desmarais allegedly explained the reasons for his departure (financial issues) adding that he would be ready to return in September. In this case, we are relying on Mr. Noël's statement since Mr. Desmarais did not testify.

ARGUMENTS

In their arguments, the representatives of both parties did nothing more than summarize the key issues while in the case of the Applicant, certain admissions substantially clarified the situation.

For the Respondent

The proof that the chief pilot, Sylvain Desmarais, resigned is confirmed in his letter of June 23, 1999 (M-2).

According to Inspector Devost's testimony, the request for a new chief pilot, Mr. Stéphane Ferrière, was refused by Transport Canada because he was not qualified according to the standards in effect.

The responsibilities normally devolved upon the chief pilot and delegated to Mr. Noël are not acceptable because he is not qualified either.

Even if chief pilot Desmarais did not send a copy of his letter of resignation to his employer, it does not prevent Transport Canada from acting, given the information in its possession, especially since the allegation that Inspector Marsan "forced" Mr. Desmarais to resign has not been proven.

For the Applicant

Mr. Noël finally confirmed that he knew his chief pilot had to leave his position for another temporary position during the summer.

Mr. Noël could have requested an exception from Transport Canada, but he admitted he did not do so due to his lack of experience. However, concomitantly, he said he knew that such exceptions had been granted to other carriers.

He also admitted that he did not have the qualifications to assume the responsibilities of chief pilot.

During his argument, Mr. Noël insisted that the money he would have to spend to hire a new chief pilot during the summer would be better spent elsewhere to ensure the proper functioning of the company's business and operational safety.

ANALYSIS AND CONCLUSION

The evidence of Transport Canada regarding the fact that the company's chief pilot resigned from his position is supported by the letter from Mr. Desmarais (M-2). This evidence is not very strong since it is not corroborated by anyone except Inspector Devost. Inspector Marsan, who received the letter in question, was not present and the document was only a photocopy and not authenticated by anyone. I do not suspect that Transport Canada would fabricate such evidence, but again, it is not very strong evidence. However, no other evidence contradicted the letter in question.

In addition, Mr. Noël admitted having been informed of Mr. Desmarais' departure for Greece, but on short notice, it seems.

Everything rests on the following question: what difference should be made between an absence and a resignation, even if temporary?

According to Inspector Devost's testimony, there is no definition of the word absence in the regulations. Moreover, Transport Canada has no official policy or guidelines on the matter. To meet the requirements of full-time employment (703.07(2)(b)), Transport Canada accepts, at its discretion, periods of absence of varying lengths. Nothing shows me that Transport Canada does not have the expertise and latitude required to respond favourably to requests from carriers regarding prolonged periods of absence for an employee. All that is required is that such a request be made.

In my opinion, during an absence, the position of the employee involved remains filled and meets the requirements of the regulations. On the other hand, a resignation makes the position vacant. This is very different and as such contravenes the regulations. Since the repercussions on proper functioning of operations can vary depending on the size of the company and on the aerial work it performs, it is up to Transport Canada, in the context of existing regulations, to decide what is acceptable or not as it concerns absences.

In this matter, I conclude that the letter of resignation from chief pilot Desmarais automatically makes the position vacant requiring the carrier to immediately cease operations.

Section 703.02 is very clear:

703.02 No air operator shall operate an aircraft under this Subpart unless the air operator complies with the conditions and operations specifications in an air operator certificate issued to that operator by the Minister pursuant to section 703.07.

Even without a notice of suspension, the Applicant should have stopped its operations on June 26, 1999, the date of the letter of resignation from its chief pilot. The only acceptable excuse for not having done so is that the carrier allegedly did not receive a copy of this letter. However, the fact of not having received a copy does not prevent Transport Canada from acting. Once informed, Transport Canada has no other choice than to require the carrier to make every effort to conform to the law or return its air operator certificate.

DETERMINATION

Based on a balance of probabilities, I confirm the Minister of Transport's decision to suspend the air operator certificate of Parachutisme Aventure Inc. / Aéro 3000.

Pierre Rivest
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1850-10 (TAC)
Dossier no 5258-1-8114 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Parachutisme Aventure Inc. Aéro 3000, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.C., ch. A-2, par. 7.1(1)
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 703.02, 703.07(1), 703.07(2)b), 703.07(2)b)(ii), 723.07(2)b), 723.07(2)b)(i)(A), 723.07(2)b)(i)(A)(III), 723.07(2)b)(ii)

Personnel de gestion compétent, Normes à respecter, Modifications de l'avis de suspension, Certificat d'exploitation aérienne, Avis de suspension


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Rivest


Décision : le 12 août 1999

Selon la prépondérance des probabilités, je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports de suspendre le certificat d'exploitation aérienne de Parachutisme Aventure Inc./Aéro 3000.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 30 juillet 1999 à 10 heures, à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Montréal (Québec). Les témoins ont fait une déclaration solennelle.

HISTORIQUE

Le 16 juillet 1999, la requérante s'est vue suspendre son certificat d'exploitation aérienne parce qu'elle n'avait plus à son emploi de pilote en chef selon les exigences du sous-alinéa 703.07(2)b)(ii) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

La suspension entrait en vigueur le 1er août 1999, date à laquelle le certificat d'exploitation aérienne devait être retourné à Transports Canada. La requérante avait jusqu'au 16 août 1999 pour en appeler de cette décision devant le Tribunal de l'aviation civile (TAC).

Avant de commencer la présentation de sa preuve, M. Tamborriello a apporté deux modifications à l'avis de suspension :

1. sur la page 1, la date du certificat d'exploitation aérienne devrait se lire 1996.10.10 (pièce M-1) et non 1998.06.11;

2. sur la deuxième page, dans la colonne de gauche, la référence à l'article du RAC devrait être 703.07 au lieu de 723.07.

Ces deux modifications sont acceptées par le Tribunal et par la requérante.

LA LOI

Le sous-alinéa 703.07(2)b)(ii) du RAC stipule :

703.07 (1) Sous réserve de l'article 6.71 de la Loi, le ministre délivre ou modifie un certificat d'exploitation aérienne si le demandeur qui lui en fait la demande en la forme et de la manière exigées par les Normes de service aérien commercial lui démontre qu'il est en mesure de satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

(...)

(2) Pour l'application du paragraphe (1), le demandeur doit :

(...)

b) disposer de personnel de gestion approuvé par le ministre conformément aux Normes de service aérien commercial, qui est employé à temps plein et exerce les fonctions liées aux postes suivants :

(...)

(ii) pilote en chef

LES FAITS

Pour l'intimé

M. Tamborriello fait comparaître M. Marcel Devost, inspecteur responsable des transporteurs aériens commerciaux pour Transports Canada.

Il donne au Tribunal les principales raisons qui ont amené Transports Canada à suspendre le certificat d'exploitation aérienne de la requérante :

  • En date du 23 juin 1999, une lettre, signée par M. Sylvain Desmarais, ex-pilote en chef de la requérante, a d'abord été expédiée à l'inspecteur Gilles Marsan, représentant de Transports Canada à l'aéroport de Saint-Hubert (pièce M-2) qui l'a fait parvenir à son supérieur, l'inspecteur Devost.
  • Il s'agit d'une lettre de démission en tant que pilote en chef pour la « compagnie Aéro 3000 » (M-2).
  • À ce moment-là, la requérante est mise au courant par Transports Canada qu'elle ne satisfait plus aux normes de la réglementation.
  • La requérante soumet alors le nom d'un candidat à la position de pilote en chef mais celui-ci est refusé parce qu'il ne se qualifie pas pour le poste, toujours selon les normes de la réglementation. De plus, cette requête n'est pas signée par l'administrateur de la compagnie (pièce M-3).
  • Transports Canada demande à la requérante de retourner son certificat d'exploitation aérienne conformément au paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

7.1 (1) Lorsque le ministre décide soit de suspendre, d'annuler ou de ne pas renouveler un document d'aviation canadien pour des raisons médicales, soit de suspendre ou d'annuler un document parce que le titulaire du document est inapte ou que le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document, soit encore de suspendre ou d'annuler un document du titulaire ou de la personne morale dont celui-ci est un dirigeant — au sens du règlement pris en application du paragraphe 6.71(2) —, s'il estime que l'intérêt public, et notamment les antécédents aériens du titulaire ou de tel de ses dirigeants, le requiert, il expédie un avis de la mesure par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire ou du propriétaire, exploitant ou utilisateur en cause.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Noël questionne le témoin sur la portée et la signification du sous-alinéa 703.07(2)b)(ii) du RAC et de la norme 723.07(2)b) qui traitent, d'une part, des obligations du transporteur et d'autre part, des qualifications concernant le pilote en chef.

Plus précisément, M. Noël veut savoir ce que signifie le mot « convenable » dans l'alinéa a) du paragraphe 703.07(1) du RAC :

a) maintenir une structure organisationnelle convenable

De plus, qu'est-ce que Transports Canada entend par « travail à plein temps » (alinéa 703.07(2)b)?

b) disposer de personnel de gestion approuvé par le ministre conformément aux Normes de service aérien commercial, qui est employé à temps plein et exerce les fonctions liées aux postes suivants :

Le témoin répond que le membre du personnel impliqué doit satisfaire aux normes 723.07 du RAC et que tout cela est indiqué dans l'article en question et que « temps plein » signifie que la personne ne doit s'absenter que pour de courtes périodes de temps, généralement ne dépassant pas trois semaines.

De son côté, la note (« NOTA »), sous le sous-alinéa (ii) de l'article 723.07, page 5, intitulé « Responsabilités » dit :

En cas d'absence, les tâches pour lesquelles il est responsable doivent être déléguées à une autre personne qualifiée conformément au Règlement de l'aviation canadien, sauf que les connaissances exigées en vertu des qualifications de pilote en chef peuvent être prouvées à l'exploitant aérien plutôt qu'au ministre.

Or, M. Noël se base sur le fait que la « NOTA » en question lui permet, en qualité de chef d'exploitation de la compagnie, d'attribuer à quelqu'un d'autre les responsabilités de pilote en chef sans en informer le ministre. Il s'est donc dévolu à lui-même la plupart des responsabilités de pilote en chef.

C'est là que Transports Canada s'objecte précisant que M. Noël ne satisfait pas aux normes (ce qui est contraire à la « NOTA » puisqu'il lui faudrait détenir une licence de pilote de ligne alors qu'il ne possède qu'une licence de pilote professionnel.

Le témoin le réfère, entre autres, à la subdivision III de la division 723.07(2)b)(i)(A) des normes :

(A) si le certificat d'exploitation aérienne autorise :

(...)

(III) les vols IFR - être titulaire d'une licence de pilote de ligne valide sur avions ou d'une licence de pilote professionnel valide sur avions dans le cas de vols IFR à bord d'un avion monomoteur et d'une qualification de vol aux instruments valide pour la classe d'avions régie par la présente sous-partie.

De plus, M. Noël prétend qu'il n'a jamais reçu la lettre de démission de M. Desmarais et que s'il l'avais reçue, il l'aurait refusée. Il considère donc M. Desmarais toujours à son emploi, ce que nie le témoin vu la lettre de démission.

Puis les échanges entre M. Noël et le témoin ont porté sur l'interprétation du mot « absence ». Qu'entend-on par absence et qu'elle est la durée permise des absences ?

D'après le témoin, il s'agit de périodes durant lesquelles le pilote en chef, par exemple, prend des vacances ou se trouve en congé de maladie. Selon la coutume acceptée par Transports Canada, cela dépasse rarement trois semaines. Toutefois, il est ressorti qu'il n'y a rien d'écrit officiellement à ce sujet et que des absences plus longues peuvent être acceptées.

Pour la requérante

M. Noël a témoigné pour la requérante dont il assume les responsabilités de président, de directeur de l'exploitation et de technicien d'entretien. Son témoignage consistait à la fois à présenter certains faits ou arguments et à plaider sa cause en exposant des considérations financières et opérationnelles.

Il faut dire que sa compagnie est une très petite entreprise ne possédant qu'un seul appareil, soit un Piper PA-31, avion bimoteur pressurisé, exploité en régime VFR et IFR.

La compagnie ne fait pas plus que 250 heures de vol par année dont la majeur partie se situe en dehors de l'été (entre la fin de juin et le début de septembre, l'avion n'effectue pas plus que deux à trois vols par mois). Il prétend alors que son pilote en chef, Sylvain Desmarais pouvait s'absenter pour les trois mois de l'été, que cela était conforme aux normes 723.07 et que la plupart des tâches normalement dévolues au pilote en chef lui avaient été transférées; il s'agit, entre autres, des tâches décrites dans les divisions B, C, D, E, F, et G du sous-alinéa b)(ii) du paragraphe 723.07(2) des normes.

La compagnie a à son emploi un pilote et un copilote qualifiés pour exécuter le travail aérien demandé. Pour 10 à 15 vols durant l'été, M. Noël prétend que son pilote en chef n'a pas besoin d'être sur place en tout temps (M. Desmarais vole présentement en Grèce sur un contrat d'arrosage de feux de forêt d'où il doit revenir le 25 septembre prochain).

Finalement, M. Noël admet que la réglementation doit s'appliquer uniformément à tout le monde mais qu'il faut également considérer l'importance de l'entreprise et adapter certaines exigences aux besoins de celle-ci.

Somme toute, M. Noël considère que son pilote en chef, M. Desmarais, est présentement en vacances pour l'été puisque la compagnie n'a jamais reçu sa lettre de démission et que celle envoyée à Transports Canada a été faite sous la pression d'un inspecteur. Il croit qu'une exception est possible puisque Transports Canada en a déjà faite pour d'autres transporteurs.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Tamborriello a fait ressortir les points suivants que M. Noël n'a pas niés :

  • les délégations des responsabilités du pilote en chef à M. Noël ne sauraient être valides parce que ce dernier ne se qualifie pas selon les normes de la subdivision 723.07(2)b)(i)(A)(III);

(III) les vols IFR - être titulaire d'une licence de pilote de ligne valide sur avions ou d'une licence de pilote professionnel valide sur avions dans le cas de vols IFR à bord d'un avion monomoteur et d'une qualification de vol aux instruments valide pour la classe d'avions régie par la présente sous-partie.

(or M. Noël détient une licence de pilote professionnel seulement);

  • même si la compagnie n'a pas reçu la lettre de démission de M. Desmarais, celui-ci avait mis M. Noël au courant de son départ. À ce sujet, M. Noël a d'abord prétendu qu'il n'avait eu aucun contact avec son pilote en chef avant que celui-ci parte pour la Grèce, ce qui a été démenti par la suite. M. Desmarais aurait alors expliqué les raisons qui l'ont motivé à partir (question financière) tout en ajoutant qu'il serait prêt à revenir en septembre. Il s'agit ici de la parole de M. Noël puisque M. Desmarais n'a pas témoigné.

PLAIDOYERS

Dans leurs plaidoyers, les représentants des deux parties n'ont fait que résumer les principaux points en litige quoique dans le cas de la requérante, certains aveux ont éclairé davantage la situation.

Pour l'intimé

La preuve que le pilote en chef Sylvain Desmarais a démissionné est confirmée dans sa lettre du 23 juin 1999 (M-2).

Selon le témoignage de l'inspecteur Devost, la demande pour un nouveau pilote en chef, M. Stéphane Ferrière est refusée par Transports Canada parce qu'il ne se qualifie pas selon les normes en vigueur.

Les responsabilités normalement dévolues au pilote en chef et qui ont été déléguées à M. Noël ne sont pas acceptables parce que lui non plus ne se qualifie pas.

Que le pilote en chef Desmarais n'ait pas envoyé de copie de sa lettre de démission à son employeur n'empêche pas Transports Canada d'agir étant donné les informations en sa possession, d'autant plus que les allégations à l'effet que l'inspecteur Marsan ait « forcé » M. Desmarais à démissionner ne sont pas prouvées.

Pour la requérante

M. Noël a finalement confirmé qu'il savait que son pilote en chef devait quitter son emploi pour un autre emploi temporaire durant l'été.

M. Noël aurait pu demander une dérogation à Transports Canada mais il avoue que son manque d'expérience lui a fait négliger de le faire; mais, dans un même souffle, il affirme qu'il sait que de telles dérogations ont été accordées à d'autres transporteurs.

Il avoue également que lui-même n'a pas les qualifications pour assumer les responsabilités de pilote en chef.

Durant son plaidoyer, M. Noël a insisté sur le fait que l'argent qu'il devra mettre pour engager un autre pilote en chef durant l'été serait beaucoup mieux placé ailleurs afin d'assurer la bonne conduite des affaires de la compagnie et de la sécurité des opérations.

ANALYSE ET CONCLUSION

La preuve de Transports Canada à l'effet que le pilote en chef de la compagnie a démissionné de son poste est appuyée par la lettre de M. Desmarais (M-2). Cette preuve n'est pas très forte n'étant corroborée par personne d'autre que l'inspecteur Devost. L'inspecteur Marsan qui a reçu la lettre en question n'était pas présent et le document n'est qu'une photocopie authentifiée par personne. Je ne soupçonne pas Transports Canada d'avoir fabriqué une telle preuve mais, encore une fois, cela n'est pas très fort. Par contre aucune autre preuve ne vient contredire celle de la lettre en question.

De plus, M. Noël a admis avoir été mis au courant du départ de M. Desmarais pour la Grèce mais, semble-t-il, à très court avis.

Tout repose finalement sur la question suivante : quelle différence faut-il faire entre une absence et une démission, même temporaire.

Selon le témoignage de l'inspecteur Devost, il n'y a pas, dans la réglementation, de définition du mot absence. Transports Canada n'a d'ailleurs aucune politique ni directive officielle à cet effet. Afin de satisfaire à l'exigence de l'emploi à temps plein (703.07(2)b)), Transports Canada accepte, à sa discrétion, des périodes d'absence plus ou moins longues. Rien ne me prouve que Transports Canada n'a pas l'expertise et la latitude nécessaires pour répondre favorablement aux demandes des transporteurs quant à des temps d'absence prolongée pour un membre de leur personnel. Encore faut-il qu'une demande à cet effet soit faite.

À mon avis, lors d'une absence, le poste du membre de personnel impliqué demeure toujours comblé et satisfait à la réglementation; de son côté, une démission rend le poste vacant, ce qui est très différent, contrevenant par le fait même à la réglementation. Comme les répercussions sur la bonne conduite des opérations peuvent varier selon l'importance de la compagnie et du travail aérien qu'elle effectue, c'est à Transports Canada, dans le contexte réglementaire actuel, de décider ce qui est acceptable ou pas quant à la question des absences.

Dans le cas qui nous préoccupe, j'en viens à la conclusion que la lettre de démission du pilote en chef Desmarais rend automatiquement le poste en question vacant, ce qui oblige le transporteur à cesser immédiatement ses opérations.

L'article 703.02 est très clair :

703.02 Il est interdit à l'exploitant aérien d'utiliser un aéronef sous le régime de la présente sous-partie, à moins qu'il ne se conforme aux conditions et aux spécifications d'exploitation du certificat d'exploitation aérienne qui lui a été délivré par le ministre en application de l'article 703.07.

Même sans avis de suspension, la requérante aurait donc dû arrêter ses opérations dès le 26 juin 1999, date de la lettre de démission de son pilote en chef. La seule excuse acceptable pour ne pas l'avoir fait repose sur le fait que le transporteur n'aurait pas reçu de copie de cette lettre. Mais le fait de ne pas avoir reçu de copie n'empêche pas Transports Canada d'agir. Une fois mis au courant, Transports Canada n'a pas d'autre choix que d'exiger que le transporteur prenne les mesures nécessaires pour se conformer à la loi ou de retourner son certificat d'exploitation aérienne.

DÉCISION

Selon la prépondérance des probabilités, je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports de suspendre le certificat d'exploitation aérienne de Parachutisme Aventure Inc. / Aéro 3000.

Pierre Rivest
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile