Decisions

CAT File No. Q-2120-37
MoT File No. N5504-40464

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Régionnair Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, ss. 7.7, 8.4(1), 8.5
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 103.08, 602.126(1)(c), 602.128(1)

Landing, Instrument Approach Procedures, Due Diligence, Below Minimum Visibility at Take-Off


Review Determination
Michel Larose


Decision: July 24, 2001

TRANSLATION

The Tribunal confirms the two monetary penalties assessed, increasing the amount for the second offence to bring the total sum to $3,750. The monetary penalty is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of the receipt of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held March 27, 2001, at the courthouse in Sept-Îles, Quebec.

PRELIMINARY REMARKS

The procedure was explained to the two parties, no preliminary motions were submitted and no agreement was reached between the parties in pre-hearing.

A notice of motion was, however, submitted for the following correction:

An order allowing the Minister of Transport to amend the notices of assessment of monetary penalty dated July 28, 2000, to wit: Flight GIO 2509 – August 12, 1999 – 20:59 hours local time, not UTC, and flight GIO 2506 – August 12, 1999 – 21:36 hours local time, not UTC, was served on Mr. Charles Henri Desrosiers on February 28, 2001, under Rule 10 of the Civil Aviation Tribunal Rules with supporting case law, and Mr. Desrosiers agreed to this request.

OBJECT OF THE REVIEW HEARING

On July 28, 2000, Mr. Justin Bourgault, on behalf of the Minister of Transport, served Régionnair Inc./Guy Marcoux with a notice of assessment of monetary penalty pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act for having contravened paragraph 602.126(1)(c) and subsection 602.128(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

APPENDIX A (Mr. Guy Marcoux)

1. On August 12, 1999, at about 20:59 UTC, while you were pilot-in-command of flight GIO 2509, a DHC-6 aircraft, registered as C-FJCL, you conducted an instrument approach to Sept-Îles airport, runway 13, not in accordance with the minima specified in the Canada Air Pilot, contrary to section 602.128(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

PENALTY: $250.00

2. On August 13, 1999, at about 01:36 UTC, while you were pilot-in-command of flight GIO 2506, a DHC-6 aircraft, registered as C-FJCL, you took off from Sept-Îles airport, runway 31, when the visibility was below that specified in the Canada Air Pilot, contrary to section 602.126(1)(c) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

PENALTY: $250.00

The sum of $500.00 is to be paid in full by September 1, 2000, to the regional manager...

In the event the penalty is not paid by September 1, 2000, a copy of this notice will be sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal.

APPENDIX A (Régionnair inc.)

[...]

On August 12 and 13, 1999, aircraft C-FJCL was registered in the name of Régionnair Inc. As the offences described in the said appendices were committed on those dates, you are therefore being proceeded against pursuant to section 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act as the registered owner.

The following provision(s) has/have been designated pursuant to section 103.08 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, and the procedures relative to the monetary penalties established in sections 7.7 to 8.2 of the Aeronautics Act apply.

The sum of $2,500.00 is to be paid in full by September 1, to the regional manager...

The penalty was not paid by the specified date, that is, September 1, 2000; hence this review hearing.

THE LAW

Section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act:

7.7 (1) Where the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister shall notify the person of the allegations against the person in such form as the Governor in Council may by regulation prescribe, specifying in the notice, in addition to any other information that may be so prescribed,

(a) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with such guidelines as the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister by the person as the penalty for the contravention in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal to make representations in respect of the allegations; and

(b) the time, being not less than thirty days after the date the notice is served or sent, at or before which and the place at which the amount is required to be paid in the event referred to in paragraph (a).

Section 602.128 of the CARs:

602.128 (1) No pilot-in-command of an IFR aircraft shall conduct an instrument approach procedure except in accordance with the minima specified in the Canada Air Pilot or the route and approach inventory.

(2) No pilot-in-command of an IFR aircraft shall, unless the required visual reference necessary to continue the approach to land has been established,

(a) in the case of a CAT I or II precision approach, continue the final approach descent below the decision height; or

(b) in the case of a non-precision approach, descend below the minimum descent altitude.

(3) Where the pilot-in-command of an IFR aircraft conducting an instrument approach does not establish the required visual reference referred to in subsection (2), the pilot-in-command shall initiate a missed approach procedure

(a) in the case of a CAT I or II precision approach, at decision height; and

(b) in the case of a non-precision approach, at the missed approach point.

(4) Notwithstanding anything in this Division, no pilot-in-command of an IFR aircraft shall conduct a precision approach to CAT II or CAT III minima unless

(a) the flight crew has received the training specified in the Manual of All Weather Operations (Categories II and III); and

(b) the aircraft is operated in accordance with the procedures, the equipment requirements and the limitations specified in the manual referred to in paragraph (a).

Section 602.126 of the CARs:

602.126 (1) No pilot-in-command of an aircraft shall conduct a take-off if the take-off visibility, as determined in accordance with subsection (2), is below the minimum take-off visibility specified in

(a) the air operator certificate where the aircraft is operated in accordance with Part VII;

(b) the private operator certificate where the aircraft is operated in accordance with Subpart 4; or

(c) the Canada Air Pilot in any case other than a case described in paragraph (a) or (b).

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1), the take-off visibility is

(a) the RVR of the runway, if the RVR is reported to be at or above the minimum take-off visibility specified in a document or the manual referred to in subsection (1);

(b) the ground visibility of the aerodrome for the runway, if the RVR

(i) is reported to be less than the minimum take-off visibility specified in a document or the manual referred to in subsection (1),

(ii) is reported to be fluctuating above and below the minimum take-off visibility specified in a document or the manual referred to in subsection (1), or

(iii) is not reported; or

(c) the visibility for the runway as observed by the pilot-in-command, if

(i) the RVR is not reported, and

(ii) the ground visibility of the aerodrome is not reported.

Section 103.08 of the CARs:

103. 08 (1) The provisions set out in column I of the schedule to this Subpart are hereby designated as provisions the contravention of which may be dealt with under and in accordance with the procedure set out in sections 7.7 to 8.2 of the Act.

(2) The amounts set out in column II of the schedule are the maximum amounts payable in respect of a contravention of the provisions set out in column I.

(3) A notice issued to a person by the Minister pursuant to subsection 7.7(1) of the Act shall specify

(a) the designated provision that the Minister believes has been contravened;

(b) the particulars of the alleged contravention;

(c) that payment of the amount specified in the notice will be accepted by the Minister as and in complete satisfaction of the amount of penalty for the alleged contravention and that no further proceedings under Part I of the Act will be taken against the person in respect of that contravention;

[...]

Subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act stipulates:

8. 4 (1) The registered owner of an aircraft may be proceeded against in respect of and found to have committed an offence under this Part in relation to the aircraft for which another person is subject to be proceeded against unless, at the time of the offence, the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than the owner without the owner's consent and, where found to have committed the offence, the owner is liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor.

BACKGROUND

On August 12, 1999, Mr. Guy Marcoux was the pilot-in-command of aircraft C-FJCL, accompanied by his co-pilot, Mr. Stéphane Blaney, and landed at Sept-Îles at 20:59 hours (local time), below the landing minima published in the Canada Air Pilot (CAP), thus contravening subsection 602.128(1) of the CARs (flight GIO 2509).

Later, that is, at 21:36 hours (local time), the same crew, still on board the same aircraft C-FJCL, took off from the Sept-Îles airport below the take-off minima published in the CAP, thus contravening subsection 602.126(1) of the CARs (flight GIO 2506).

A review hearing, held March 27, 2001, by the undersigned, confirmed the two monetary penalties assessed by the Minister of Transport against Mr. Guy Marcoux.

In arguments, the Minister of Transport alone broached the aspect of Régionnair being the owner of the aircraft involved and emphasized the fact that the respondent, Mr. Marcoux, was co-owner, president and manager of Régionnair Inc.

The Tribunal therefore refers the reader to determination No. Q-2119-33 (CAT)[1] to avoid going back over the evidence, arguments and conclusions reached by the Tribunal.

DISCUSSION

When there is a proceeding against an individual and the company, the Civil Aviation Tribunal has already ruled that the Minister of Transport could proceed against the individual and a company pursuant to section 7.3 of the Act (now section 8.4) for the same offences. As in this case, the individual also happened to be the owner, director and administrator of the company. The Tribunal ruled that an individual is not the same legal entity as a company. The notion of double jeopardy does not apply when invoked by a defendant legal person on the grounds that the person who is the executive head of the company has already been sentenced for the same offence or offences.

To this effect, the Tribunal stated: [2]

[...] that notwithstanding any proceedings taken against any other employee of the corporation, the corporation can by virtue of the vicarious liability section (7.3) of the Act be found in contravention thereof. The Minister rightly proceeded against the corporation on both allegations and the doctrine of 'double jeopardy' has no application.

This being the case, it has been shown that the certificate of registration of aircraft C-FJCL is the property of Régionnair Inc. (R-1) and the pilot-in-command, on August 12, 1999, was Mr. Guy Marcoux, president, co-owner and manager of that company.

Moreover, the air operator certificate of Régionnair Inc. (R-2) does not permit it to land and take-off below the minima published in the CAP.

On August 12, 1999, "the aircraft was therefore not in the possession of a third party without the owner's consent" [translation]. The offences committed are strict liability offences and are not mens rea or absolute liability offences.[3]

One line of defence for the respondent, Régionnair, which has the burden of proof (it no longer rests with the Minister of Transport), and for Mr. Guy Marcoux, is the defence of due diligence.

Section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act stipulates:

8. 5 No person shall be found to have contravened a provision of this Part or of any regulation or order made under this Part if the person exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention.

The due diligence in question is that which must be shown by the reasonably prudent person who practises the profession where his diligence must be demonstrated. This due diligence will vary from case to case depending on the facts. The accused must prove, on the balance of probabilities, that he has exercised all due diligence to avoid committing an offence.[4]

In the case under review, the Tribunal, having found Mr. Guy Marcoux guilty of two offences within 37 minutes, considers that he was not a mere employee of Régionnair Inc., but its directing mind and a commercial pilot of considerable experience.

On that August 12, 1999, there was no major urgency forcing him to land and take-off in conditions below the minima, other than perhaps economic constraints, which must never take precedence over the safety of passengers.

The manager of an airline must see that his pilots are trained, make sure that they comply with the CARs, particularly the CAP minima for landings and take-offs, especially at Sept-Îles, which has special climatic conditions.

The manager can do so by means of reminder notices, letters containing formal directives, proper monitoring, further training and, above all, by himself setting the example.[5]

The Tribunal cannot overlook the fact that only three aircraft landed at Sept-Îles in the evening of August 12, 1999, between 18:00 and 22:00 hours (local time) and all belonged to the Régionnair Inc. company, including flight GIO 2509 flown by Mr. Guy Marcoux. Two of them did not have their Mode C switched on, and a fourth Régionnair aircraft, flight 347, also did not have its Mode C switched on after take-off.

As for take-off, only flight GIO 347 took off at 01:04 Z on August 13 and GIO 2509 at 01:36 Z on August 13, when the visibility was less than ½ mile. If these are the company's operating standards, the aeronautics community has reason to be concerned.

The twinning of Mr. Guy Marcoux and Régionnair Inc., a legal entity, has been well established and the culpability of Régionnair, on the balance of probabilities, is confirmed.

PENALTIES

The Tribunal will not go back over the analytical grid of the Wyer[6] case, but believes it is right, in the hopes of raising this company's operating standards, to impose, according to the table of penalties in Chapter 11, Aviation Enforcement Procedures Manual,[7] an initial penalty of $1,250 for the contravention of subsection 602.128(1) of the CARs, and for the contravention of subsection 602.126(1) of the CARs a sum of $2,500.

CONCLUSION

The Tribunal confirms the two monetary penalties assessed, increasing the amount for the second offence to bring the total sum to $3,750.

Michel Larose, MD
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] Minister of Transport v. Guy Marcoux.

[2] Minister of Transport v. Lindbergh's Air Service, CAT File No. O-0025-10 (appeal).

[3] The Queen v. Sault Ste-Marie, [1978] 2 S.C.R. 1299.

[4] Minister of Transport v. Richard Noël, CAT File No. Q-0435-33.

[5] Douglas Monger v. Minister of Transport, CAT File No. Q-1974-02; Minister of Transport v. Régionnair inc., CAT File No. Q-1990-37.

[6] CAT File No. O-0075-33 (appeal).

[7] Second edition, November 1999, document TP 4751E.

Décisions

Dossier no Q-2120-37 (TAC)
Dossier no N5504-40464 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Régionnair Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, articles 7.7, 8.4(1), 8.5
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, articles 103.08, 602.126(1)(c), 602.128(1)

Diligence raisonnable, Décollage dans des conditions de visibilité inférieures aux minima requis, Atterrissage, Procédure d'approche aux instruments


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Michel Larose


Décision : le 24 juillet 2001

Le Tribunal confirme les deux amendes pour contravention en augmentant le montant de la deuxième infraction pour la somme totale de 3 750 $. L'amende est payable à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 27 mars 2001 au Palais de justice de Sept-Îles (Québec).

REMARQUES PRÉLIMINAIRES

La procédure fut expliquée aux deux parties, aucune motion préliminaire ne fut présentée et aucune entente n'avait été conclue en préaudience entre elles.

Cependant, un avis de motion fut présenté pour le redressement suivant :

Une ordonnance permettant au ministre des Transports de modifier les avis d'amende pour contravention datés du 28 juillet 2000, à savoir : Vol GIO 2509 – 12 août 1999 – 20 h 59 heure locale et non pas UTC et vol GIO 2506 – 12 août 1999 – 21 h 36 heure locale et non pas UTC, fut signifiée à Me Charles Henri Desrosiers le 28 février 2001, en regard de la règle 10 des Règles du Tribunal de l'aviation civile avec jurisprudence à l'appui et Me Desrosiers a agréé à cette demande.

OBJET DE L'AUDIENCE EN RÉVISION

Le 28 juillet 2000, M. Justin Bourgault au nom du ministre des Transports signifia à Régionnair Inc./Guy Marcoux un avis d'amende pour contravention en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique pour avoir contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.126(1)c) et au paragraphe 602.128(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) :

ANNEXE A (M. Guy Marcoux)

1. Le 12 août 1999 vers 20 :59 UTC, alors que vous étiez pilote commandant de bord du vol GIO 2509, un aéronef DHC-6, immatriculé C-FJCL, vous avez effectué une approche aux instruments à l'aéroport de Sept-Îles, piste 13, ne respectant pas les minimums précisés dans le Canada Air Pilot, contrairement à l'article 602.128(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

AMENDE : $ 250.00

2. Le 13 août 1999 vers 01 :36 UTC, alors que vous étiez pilote commandant de bord du vol GIO 2506, un aéronef DHC-6, immatriculé C-FJCL, vous avez décollé de l'aéroport de Sept-Îles, piste 31, alors que la visibilité était inférieure à celle précisée dans le Canada Air Pilot, contrairement à l'article 602.126(1)c) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

AMENDE : $ 250.00

La somme de $ 500.00 doit être versée au complet, d'ici le 1er septembre 2000, au gestionnaire régional...

Si l'amende n'est pas payée d'ici le 1er septembre 2000, une copie de cet avis sera envoyée au Tribunal de l'aviation civile.

ANNEXE A (Régionnair inc.)

[...]

Les 12 et 13 août 1999, l'avion immatriculé C-FJCL était enregistré au nom de Régionnair Inc. Étant donné que les infractions décrites dans lesdites annexes ont été commises à ces dates, vous êtes donc poursuivi en vertu de l'article 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique en tant que propriétaire enregistré.

La ou les dispositions ci-dessus a (ont) été désignée(s) en vertu de l'article 103.08 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, et les procédures relatives aux amendes établies aux articles 7.7 à 8.2 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique s'appliquent.

La somme de $ 2,500.00 doit être versée au complet, d'ici le 1er septembre 2000, au gestionnaire régional...

Le délai imparti pour le paiement de l'amende, soit le 1er septembre 2000, n'ayant pas été respecté, d'où l'objet de l'audience en révision en titre.

LA LOI

L'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, l'informe des faits reprochés par un avis établi en la forme et comportant les renseignements que le gouverneur en conseil peut déterminer par règlement et y indique :

a) sous réserve des règlements d'application de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés;

b) la date limite, qui suit d'au moins trente jours celle de signification ou d'expédition de l'avis, et le lieu où le montant visé à l'alinéa a) doit être versé.

L'article 602.128 du RAC :

602.128 (1) Il est interdit au commandant de bord d'un aéronef IFR d'effectuer une approche aux instruments, à moins que celle-ci ne soit effectuée conformément aux minimums précisés dans le Canada Air Pilot ou dans le répertoire des routes et des approches.

(2) À moins que la référence visuelle requise qui est nécessaire pour poursuivre l'approche en vue d'un atterrissage n'ait été établie, il est interdit au commandant de bord d'un aéronef IFR :

a) dans le cas d'une approche de précision CAT I ou II, de poursuivre la descente en approche finale au-dessous de la hauteur de décision;

b) dans le cas d'une approche de non-précision, de descendre au-dessous de l'altitude minimale de descente.

(3) Lorsque le commandant de bord d'un aéronef IFR qui effectue une approche aux instruments n'établit pas la référence visuelle requise visée au paragraphe (2), il doit amorcer une procédure d'approche interrompue :

a) dans le cas d'une approche de précision CAT I ou II, à la hauteur de décision;

b) dans le cas d'une approche de non-précision, au point d'approche interrompue.

(4) Malgré toute disposition contraire de la présente section, il est interdit au commandant de bord d'un aéronef IFR d'effectuer une approche de précision aux minimums CAT II ou CAT III, à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient respectées :

a) l'équipage de conduite a reçu la formation précisée dans le Manuel d'exploitation tous temps (catégories II et III);

b) l'aéronef est utilisé conformément aux procédures, aux exigences relatives à l'équipement et aux limites précisées dans le manuel visé à l'alinéa a).

L'article 602.126 du RAC :

602.126 (1) Il est interdit au commandant de bord d'un aéronef d'effectuer un décollage lorsque la visibilité au décollage, déterminée conformément au paragraphe (2), est inférieure à la visibilité au décollage minimale précisée :

a) soit dans le certificat d'exploitation aérienne lorsque l'aéronef est utilisé en application de la partie VII;

b) soit dans le certificat d'exploitation privée lorsque l'aéronef est utilisé en application de la sous-partie 4;

c) soit dans le Canada Air Pilot, si les alinéas a) ou b) ne s'appliquent pas.

(2) Pour l'application du paragraphe (1), la visibilité au décollage est :

a) soit la RVR de la piste, si la RVR communiquée est égale ou supérieure à la visibilité au décollage minimale précisée dans un des documents ou dans le manuel visés au paragraphe (1);

b) soit la visibilité au sol de l'aérodrome pour la piste si :

(i) la RVR communiquée est inférieure à la visibilité au décollage minimale précisée dans un des documents ou dans le manuel visés au paragraphe (1),

(ii) la RVR communiquée fluctue au-dessus et au-dessous de la visibilité au décollage minimale précisée dans un des documents ou dans le manuel visés au paragraphe (1),

(iii) la RVR n'est pas communiquée;

c) soit la visibilité pour la piste telle qu'elle est observée par le commandant de bord, si à la fois :

(i) la RVR n'est pas communiquée,

(ii) la visibilité au sol de l'aérodrome n'est pas communiquée.

L'article 103.08 du RAC :

103.08 (1) Les textes indiqués à la colonne I de l'annexe de la présente sous-partie sont désignés comme textes d'application dont la transgression est traitée conformément à la procédure prévue aux articles 7.7 à 8.2 de la Loi.

(2) Les montants indiqués à la colonne II de l'annexe représentent les montants maximaux de l'amende à payer au titre d'une contravention aux textes désignés figurant à la colonne I.

(3) L'avis délivré par le ministre en application du paragraphe 7.7(1) de la Loi comprend les renseignements suivants :

a) le texte désigné qui, de l'avis du ministre, a été transgressé;

b) une description des faits reprochés;

c) un énoncé portant que le paiement du montant fixé dans l'avis sera accepté par le ministre en règlement de l'amende imposée et qu'aucune poursuite ne pourra être intentée par la suite au titre de la partie I de la Loi contre l'intéressé pour la même contravention;

[...]

Le paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique stipule :

8. 4 (1) Lorsqu'une personne peut être poursuivie en raison d'une infraction à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application relative à un aéronef, le propriétaire enregistré peut être poursuivi et encourir la peine prévue, à moins que, lors de l'infraction, l'aéronef n'ait été en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du propriétaire.

HISTORIQUE

Le 12 août 1999, M. Guy Marcoux était le commandant de bord de l'aéronef C-FJCL, en compagnie de son premier officier, M. Stéphane Blaney, et il a atterri de Sept-Îles à 20 h 59 (heure locale), sous les minimums d'atterrissage publiés dans le Canada Air Pilot (CAP) contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 602.128(1) du RAC (vol GIO 2509).

Par la suite, c.-à-d. à 21 h 36 (heure locale), le même équipage, toujours à bord du même aéronef C-FJCL, a décollé de l'aéroport de Sept-Îles sous les minimums de décollage publiés dans le CAP, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 602.126(1) du RAC (vol GIO 2506).

Une audience en révision, tenue le 27 mars 2001 par le soussigné, a confirmé les deux amendes pour contravention par le ministre de Transports à l'endroit de M. Guy Marcoux.

En argumentation seul le ministre des Transports a abordé l'aspect Régionnair en tant que propriétaire de l'aéronef impliqué et a insisté sur le fait que l'intimé, M. Marcoux, était copropriétaire, président et gestionnaire de Régionnair Inc.

Le Tribunal réfère donc le lecteur à la décision n° Q-2119-33 (TAC)[1] afin de ne pas reprendre la preuve, les argumentations ainsi que les conclusions auxquelles le Tribunal en est arrivé.

DISCUSSION

Lorsqu'il y a poursuite contre un individu et la compagnie, le Tribunal de l'aviation civile a déjà décidé que le ministre des Transports pouvait poursuivre le particulier et une société en vertu de l'article 7.3 de la Loi (maintenant devenu 8.4) pour les mêmes infractions. Comme en l'espèce, le particulier se trouvait aussi à être le propriétaire, directeur et administrateur de la société. Le Tribunal a statué qu'un particulier n'est pas la même personne juridique qu'une société. La notion de condamnation multiple ne s'applique pas lorsqu'elle est invoquée par une personne morale défenderesse aux motifs que la personne qui est la tête dirigeante de la société a déjà été condamnée pour la ou les même(s) infraction(s).

À cet effet, le Tribunal a affirmé[2] :

[...] qu'en dépit des poursuites intentées à l'encontre de tout autre employé de la société, cette dernière peut être, en vertu de l'article impliquant une responsabilité du fait d'autrui dans la loi (article 7.3), être reconnue coupable de l'infraction correspondante. C'est à bon droit que le Ministre a poursuivi la société sur les deux chefs d'accusation et la doctrine de la "double accusation" ne s'applique pas en l'espèce.

Ceci étant, il a été prouvé que le certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef C-FJCL est la propriété de Régionnair Inc. (R-1) et le commandant de bord, le 12 août 1999, était M. Guy Marcoux, président, copropriétaire et gestionnaire de cette compagnie.

De plus, le certificat d'exploitation de Régionnair Inc. (R-2) ne lui permet pas d'atterrir et de décoller sous les minima publiés dans le CAP.

Le 12 août 1999, « l'aéronef n'était donc pas en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du propriétaire ». Les infractions commises sont des infractions de responsabilité stricte et non pas de mens rea ou de responsabilité absolue[3].

Un moyen de défense pour l'intimée, Régionnair, qui a le fardeau de la preuve et non plus le ministre des Transports comme pour M. Guy Marcoux, est la défense de diligence raisonnable.

C'est l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique qui stipule :

8.5 Nul ne peut être reconnu coupable d'avoir contrevenu à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application, s'il a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour s'y conformer.

Cette diligence raisonnable dont il s'agit est celle qui doit être manifestée par la personne raisonnablement prudente qui exerce le métier où sa diligence doit se manifester. Cette diligence raisonnable va varier de cas en cas dépendant des faits. Le prévenu doit prouver, selon la balance des probabilités, qu'il a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour éviter de commettre une infraction[4].

Dans le cas sous étude, le Tribunal ayant trouvé M. Guy Marcoux coupable de deux infractions en dedans de 37 minutes estime que ce dernier n'était pas qu'un simple employé de Régionnair Inc., mais bien son âme dirigeante et un pilote professionnel de très grande expérience.

Il n'y avait en ce 12 août 1999 aucune urgence majeure le forçant à atterrir et à décoller dans des conditions sous minimales sauf peut être des contraintes économiques qui ne doivent jamais prévaloir sur la sécurité des passagers.

Le gestionnaire d'une compagnie aérienne doit voir à la formation de ses pilotes, à s'assurer que ces derniers respectent le RAC particulièrement les minimums du CAP pour les atterrissages et les décollages, surtout à Sept-Îles qui a des conditions climatiques particulières.

Le gestionnaire peut le faire par des mémos de rappel, par des lettres de directives formelles, par une surveillance adéquate, par une formation continue et surtout en donnant l'exemple lui-même[5].

Le Tribunal ne peut passer sous silence que seulement trois aéronefs ont atterri à Sept-Îles dans la soirée du 12 août 1999 entre 18 h 00 et 22 h 00 (heure locale) et tous appartenaient à la compagnie Régionnair Inc. dont le vol GIO 2509, piloté par M. Guy Marcoux. Deux de ceux-ci n'avaient pas leur mode C et d'autre part, un quatrième aéronef de Régionnair, le vol 347, n'avait pas non plus son mode C après le décollage.

Quant au décollage, seulement le vol GIO 347 a décollé à 01 :04 Z du 13 août et GIO 2509 à 01 :36 Z du 13 août, alors que la visibilité était inférieure à ½ mille. Si ce sont les standards d'opération de la compagnie, il y a de quoi s'inquiéter pour la communauté aéronautique.

La gémellité entre M. Guy Marcoux et Régionnair Inc., personne morale, a été bien établie et la culpabilité de Régionnair, selon la balance des probabilités, est confirmée.

SANCTIONS

Le Tribunal ne reprendra pas la grille d'analyse de l'affaire Wyer[6], mais il croit juste pour pouvoir espérer augmenter les standards opérationnels de cette compagnie d'imposer en regard du Manuel d'application de la loi[7], Chapitre 11 Tableau des sanctions, une première amende de 1 250 $ pour manquement au paragraphe 602.128(1) du RAC et pour manquement au paragraphe 602.126(1) du RAC une somme de 2 500 $.

CONCLUSION

Le Tribunal confirme les deux amendes pour contravention en augmentant le montant de la deuxième infraction pour la somme totale de 3 750 $.

Michel Larose, m.d.
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Ministre des Transports c. Guy Marcoux.

[2] Ministre des Transports c. Lindbergh's Air Service, dossier n° O-0025-10 (TAC) (appel).

[3] La Reine c. Sault Ste-Marie, [1978] 2 R.C.S. 1299.

[4] Ministre des Transports c. Richard Noël, n° Q-0435-33 (TAC).

[5] Douglas Monger c. Ministre des Transports, dossier n° Q-1974-02 (TAC); Ministre des Transports c. Régionnair inc., dossier n° Q-1990-37 (TAC).

[6] Dossier n° O-0075-33 (TAC) (appel).

[7] Deuxième édition, novembre 1999, document TP 4751F.