Decisions

CAT File No. Q-2201-33
MoT File No. N5504-42132

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Onile Chassé, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 103.08, 602.128(2)(b)

Descent Below Minimum Descent Altitude Without Required Visual Reference, Instrument Approach Procedures


Review Determination
Pierre Beaudry


Decision: September 18, 2001

TRANSLATION

I confirm the Minister's decision and sentence the respondent to pay the penalty of $250. This amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of the receipt of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held August 1, 2001, at 11:00 hours in the hall of the municipal corporation of Kuujjuarapik, Quebec.

BACKGROUND

The Minister sent the respondent a notice of assessment of monetary penalty for having continued an instrument approach below the minimum descent altitude (MDA) to land at Kuujjuarapik without the required visual reference having been established, when the respondent was the pilot-in-command of Air Inuit flight 587 of July 2, 2000. The penalty is $250 and the review hearing was set in motion owing to non-payment of the penalty as required by law.

THE EVIDENCE

By way of preliminaries, the parties agreed to acknowledge the following facts: (1) Onile Chassé was the pilot-in-command of flight AIE 587 of July 2, 2000, at about 17:50 hours local time; (2) this flight made two instrument approaches to runway 22 at Kuujjuarapik; (3) the weather reports on file; (4) the pilot's message transmitted to the local flight service station (FSS) at 21:57 hours UTC; (5) [the] letter from Onile Chassé to Air Inuit of July 10, 2000. This list was placed in evidence and constitutes Exhibit M-1.

The witnesses for the Minister are Audrey Visitor, an Air Creebec ticket agent, and Benoît Lauzon, supervisor of the local FSS unit of NAV CANADA in Kuujjuarapik.

Mrs. Visitor is the originator of the complaint that triggered the Transport Canada investigation and the resulting notice of assessment. Basically, she maintains she noticed flight 587 land in conditions of extremely low visibility that were somewhat hazardous.

Mr. Lauzon filed in evidence the weather report and the recording of the report of pilot Chassé (PIREP) to his FSS unit, the whole having been acknowledged by the parties as per M-1.

Onile Chassé then testified as part of his own evidence. The parties' co-operation with regard to the preliminary admissions coupled with Mr. Chassé's full co-operation at the hearing made the issue of the facts fairly simple, although there was no admission that the flight had left the MDA without the proper visual reference.

Captain Chassé made two non-precision instrument approaches in substantially "IFR" weather conditions, i.e., below the published IFR conditions. Flight 587 landed at 21:55 hours UTC. The previous weather report of 21:22 hours UTC indicates a balloon ceiling of 300 feet, overcast with a visibility of one-and-a-half miles in slight drizzle and fog. The winds were from the west-south-west at 20 knots (gusting to 25 according to the weather reports of 21:00 and 22:00 hours UTC). The published MDA for the NDB 22 approach at Kuujjuarapik is 760 feet ASL (above sea level) ("760 feet specified").

In his testimony followed by cross-examination, Captain Chassé stated that at the MDA on approach path 195 of the GW transponder, he had established, during his first approach, "vertical contact" with the ground enabling him to see the shore of Hudson Bay to his left. He therefore began his final approach descent for landing, thus leaving the MDA, using his radar altimeter for altitude and his GPS (global positioning system) for distances. The airport was apparently seen at two hundred feet "specified" but the aircraft was too far east of the runway to touch down, making it necessary to pull up. In fact, the cross-wind probably favoured this track. On his second approach, an identical track was followed but the flight crew (Captain Chassé acting as co-pilot) managed to steer the aircraft enough to bring it back into line with the runway for a landing, which was made, moreover, on the second half of the runway, consistent with the track particulars.

Mr. Chassé said that in his opinion, his decisions and conduct were correct and he would do the same thing again in similar circumstances. His testimony shows, moreover, that Onile Chassé has about twenty years' experience and some 15,000 pilot hours.

THE LAW

Paragraph 602.128(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) stipulates:

602.128 (1) [...]

(2) No pilot-in-command of an IFR aircraft shall, unless the required visual reference necessary to continue the approach to land has been established,

[...]

(b) in the case of a non-precision approach, descend below the minimum descent altitude.

[...]

Section 103.08 of the CARs stipulates:

103.08 (1) The provisions set out in column I of the schedule to this Subpart are hereby designated as provisions the contravention of which may be dealt with under and in accordance with the procedure set out in sections 7.7 to 8.2 of the Act.

(2) The amounts set out in column II of the schedule are the maximum amounts payable in respect of a contravention of the provisions set out in column I.

(3) A notice issued to a person by the Minister pursuant to subsection 7.7(1) of the Act shall specify

(a) the designated provision that the Minister believes has been contravened;

(b) the particulars of the alleged contravention;

(c) that payment of the amount specified in the notice will be accepted by the Minister as and in complete satisfaction of the amount of penalty for the alleged contravention and that no further proceedings under Part I of the Act will be taken against the person in respect of that contravention;

(d) that, if the person fails to pay the amount specified in the notice, a copy of the notice will be forwarded to the Tribunal and the Tribunal will determine whether the alleged contravention took place; and

(e) that the person will be provided with a full opportunity consistent with procedural fairness and natural justice to present evidence before the Tribunal and make representations in relation to the alleged contravention.

The provision contained in the above section has been designated pursuant to section 103.08 and its schedule; therefore, the procedures in respect of penalties contained in the Aeronautics Act apply.

The following definitions are set out in CAR 101.01:

"minimum descent altitude" means the altitude ASL specified in the Canada Air Pilot or the route and approach inventory for a non-precision approach, below which descent shall not be made until the required visual reference to continue the approach to land has been established;

"non-precision approach" means an instrument approach by an aircraft using azimuth information;

"required visual reference", in respect of an aircraft on an approach to a runway, means that portion of the approach area of the runway or those visual aids that, when viewed by the pilot of the aircraft, enable the pilot to make an assessment of the aircraft position and rate of change of position, in order to continue the approach and complete a landing

Additionally, the Minister filed (as Exhibit M-11) certain relevant passages of the Canada Air Pilot (CAP): "MINIMUM DESCENT ALTITUDE (MDA): A specified altitude referenced to sea level for a non-precision approach below which descent must not be made until the required visual reference to continue the approach to land has been established." This text from page 13 of the CAP essentially reiterates the statutory definition given above.

The following is published later, at page 18 of the CAP:

LANDING MINIMA

CAR 602 specifies that landings are governed by published DH/MDAs. Pilots of aircraft on instrument approaches are prohibited from continuing the descent below DH, or descending below MDA, as applicable, unless the required visual reference is established and maintained in order to complete a safe landing. When the required visual reference is not established or maintained, a missed approach must be initiated. Missed approaches initiated beyond the MAP may not be assured obstacle clearance.

The visual references required by the pilot in order to continue the approach to a safe landing should include at least one of the following references for the intended runway and should be distinctly visible and identifiable to the pilot:

a) the runway or runway markings;

b) the runway threshold or threshold markings; 

c) the touchdown zone (TDZ) or TDZ markings;

d) the approach lights;

e) the approach slope indicator system;

f) the runway identification lights (RILS);

g) the threshold and runway end lights;

h) the touchdown zone lights (TDZL);

i) the parallel runway edge lights; or

j) the runway centreline lights.

Published landing visibilities associated with all instrument approach procedures are advisory only. Their values are indicative of visibilities which, if prevailing at the time of approach, should result in the required visual reference being established and maintained to landing. They are not limiting and are intended to be used by pilots only to judge the probability of a successful landing when compared against available visibility reports at the aerodrome to which an instrument approach is being carried out.

As precedents, the Minister's representative cited the Monger[1] case, in which my colleague Mr. Pierre Beauchamp discusses the statutory requirements for the "required visual reference". With respect to the amount of the penalty, the Minister's representative filed the case Parachutisme Aventure[2] in which Dr. Michel Larose, member, reviewed the various factors that could guide the Tribunal as to the sanction accompanying the provision.

ANALYSIS

The CAP is not a statutory text and neither its qualitative nor its quantitative provisions governing visibility are strictly applied unless reiterated by the CARs directly or by reference. Nevertheless, the CAP is an important institutional text and its provisions on the whole encompass the "test of reasonableness" or the reasonable basic reference to be used for navigation purposes.

Now, in the present case, the Minister alleges that the captain could not have established a visual reference for one or more of the ten elements suggested in the CAP once he had descended below the MDA. For had he done so, according to the Minister, a captain of Mr. Chassé's experience would not have ended up to the east and halfway along the runway, on two occasions, an altitude of about two hundred feet being required, moreover, for a possible landing. According to the Minister, establishing the visual reference required by the CARs in the final segment of the approach would have enabled the captain to align the flight path with the runway threshold. In the absence of this reference, the captain violated the CARs and the offence was committed.

Captain Chassé responded that for an instrument approach, a captain cannot be required to end up right on the runway threshold every time, so he cannot be blamed for the aircraft drifting off the runway east of the airport.

Mr. Chassé is right about the fact that the final outcome of an approach on final descent may not be perfect, but that is not the issue. Such drifting indicates that the visual reference was not established at the MDA and maintained until landing. Now, according to the CARs, the MDA must be maintained in the absence of a visual reference and a missed approach initiated, if need be, if the visual reference still has not been established at the missed approach point, and the flight continued, if need be, to the alternate airport as an alternative solution.

The operational dilemma of a captain is always the same. If the MDA is maintained without a visual reference, the aircraft will be too high in the event of a subsequent visual reference at the missed approach point in the area around the airport. But that is the nature of things, and the Minister has chosen to prohibit a descent in the absence of a visual reference in the interest of safety. This prohibition, moreover, assumes its full significance in the context of a non-precision approach.

As for the facts in evidence, none of these factors allows me to think otherwise, and in all likelihood (constituting the Minister's burden of proof), although there was vertical contact on approach, the visual reference required by the CARs was not established at the time of final descent.

Captain Chassé stated that he would do the same thing again in similar circumstances. We therefore have events and actions that were premeditated by the respondent, ruling out any theoretical reference to a defence of due diligence, which, moreover, the respondent has not invoked.

The Minister has pointed out that the penalty of $250 was consistent with the CARs and the Aviation Enforcement Procedures Manual[3] of Transport Canada. As the various aggravating and mitigating factors offset each other, I have no grounds for reducing or increasing this penalty.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the Minister's decision and sentence the respondent to pay the penalty of $250.

Pierre Beaudry
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] Douglas Monger v. Minister of Transport, CAT File No. Q-1974-02.

[2] Minister of Transport v. Parachutisme Aventure Inc./e.s.a. Aéro 3000, CAT File No. Q-1963-41.

[3] Civil Aviation, second edition, 1999, TP 4751E.

Décisions

Dossier no Q-2201-33 (TAC)
Dossier no N5504-42132 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Onile Chassé, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, articles 103.08, 602.128(2)(b)

Procédure d'approche aux instruments, Descente à une altitude inférieure à l'altitude minimale de descente sans la référence visuelle requise


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Beaudry


Décision : le 18 septembre 2001

Je confirme la décision du ministre et condamne l'intimé au paiement de l'amende de 250 $. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les 15 jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire mentionnée en rubrique a été tenue le 1er août 2001 à 11 heures à la salle de la corporation municipale de Kuujjuarapik (Québec).

HISTORIQUE

Le ministre a fait parvenir à l'intimé un avis d'amende pour contravention pour avoir poursuivi une approche aux instruments sous l'altitude minimale de descente (MDA) en vue d'un atterrissage à Kuujjuarapik, sans que la référence visuelle nécessaire ne soit établie, alors que l'intimé agissait comme commandant de bord du vol 587 d'Air Inuit du 2 juillet 2000. L'amende est de $250 et l'audience en révision s'est enclenchée faute de son paiement suivant la loi.

LA PREUVE

Au plan des préliminaires, les parties ont convenu d'admettre les faits suivants : (1) Onile Chassé était le commandant de bord du vol AIE 587 du 2 juillet 2000 vers 17 :50 heure locale; (2) ce vol a effectué deux approches aux instruments sur la piste 22 à Kuujjuarapik; (3) les rapports météo au dossier; (4) le message du pilote transmis à la station d'information de vol (FSS) locale à 21 :57 UTC; (5) lettre de Onile Chassé à Air Inuit du 10 juillet 2000. Cette liste a été déposée en preuve et constitue la pièce M-1.

Les témoins du ministre sont Mme Audrey Visitor, agent de billet d'Air Creebec et Benoît Lauzon, surveillant à l'unité locale FSS de NAV CANADA à Kuujjuarapik.

Mme Visitor est l'auteur de la plainte qui a déclenché l'enquête de Transports Canada et l'avis de contravention qui a suivi. Essentiellement, elle soutient avoir aperçu le vol 587 atterrir dans des conditions de visibilité extrêmement basse constitutives d'un danger certain.

Quant à M. Lauzon, il a déposé en preuve le rapport météorologique de même que l'enregistrement du rapport du pilote Chassé (PIREP) auprès de son unité FSS, le tout ayant été admis par les parties suivant M-1.

Par la suite, Onile Chassé a témoigné dans le cadre de sa propre preuve. La collaboration des parties au plan des admissions préliminaires conjuguée à la pleine collaboration de M. Chassé à l'audience rend la question des faits relativement simple bien qu'il n'y ait aucune admission à l'effet que le vol ait quitté la MDA en l'absence de la référence visuelle appropriée.

Le commandant Chassé a effectué deux approches aux instruments de type non-précision alors que les conditions météorologiques étaient substantiellement « IFR » voire en-dessous des conditions IFR publiées. Le vol 587 a atterri à 21 :55 UTC. Le rapport de météo préalable de 21 :22 UTC indique un plafond Ballon de 300 pieds, couvert avec une visibilité de un mille et demi dans la bruine faible et le brouillard. Les vents étaient du ouest-sud-ouest à 20 nœuds (rafale 25 suivant les rapports météo de 21 :00 et 22 :00 UTC). La MDA publiée pour l'approche NDB 22 à Kuujjuarapik est de 760 pieds ASL (au-dessus du niveau de la mer) (« 760 pieds indiqués »).

Lors de son témoignage suivi du contre-interrogatoire, le commandant Chassé indique qu'à la MDA sur la trajectoire d'approche 195 du radiophare GW, il avait acquis lors de sa première approche un « contact vertical » avec le sol lui permettant de voir la rive de la Baie d'Hudson à sa gauche. Il a donc amorcé sa descente en approche finale pour l'atterrissage quittant ainsi la MDA, utilisant son altimètre radar quant à l'altitude et son GPS (système de positionnement global) quant aux distances. L'aéroport aurait été aperçu à deux cents pieds «  indiqués  » mais l'aéronef était trop à l'est de la piste pour se poser de sorte qu'une remontée était nécessaire. Effectivement, le vent de côté a probablement favorisé cette trajectoire. Lors de sa deuxième approche, une trajectoire tout à fait semblable s'est produite mais l'équipage du vol (le commandant Chassé agissant comme copilote) a réussi à braquer suffisamment l'avion et à le redresser en ligne avec la piste pour permettre un atterrissage réalisé par ailleurs dans la deuxième moitié de la piste ce qui est consistent avec les faits de la trajectoire.

M. Chassé a indiqué qu'à son avis, ses décisions et comportement étaient corrects et qu'il répéterait les mêmes faits et gestes en toutes pareilles circonstances. Son témoignage indique par ailleurs que Onile Chassé a une vingtaine d'années d'expérience et quelques 15 000 heures de vol.

LE DROIT

L'alinéa 602.128(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) stipule :

602.128 (1) [...]

(2) À moins que la référence visuelle requise qui est nécessaire pour poursuivre l'approche en vue d'un atterrissage n'ait été établie, il est interdit au commandant de bord d'un aéronef IFR :

[...]

b) dans le cas d'une approche de non-précision, de descendre au-dessous de l'altitude minimale de descente.

[...]

L'article 103.08 du RAC stipule :

103.08 (1) Les textes indiqués à la colonne I de l'annexe de la présente sous-partie sont désignés comme textes d'application dont la transgression est traitée conformément à la procédure prévue aux articles 7.7 à 8.2 de la Loi.

(2) Les montants indiqués à la colonne II de l'annexe représentent les montants maximaux de l'amende à payer au titre d'une contravention aux textes désignés figurant à la colonne I.

(3) L'avis délivré par le ministre en application du paragraphe 7.7(1) de la Loi comprend les renseignements suivants :

a) le texte désigné qui, de l'avis du ministre, a été transgressé;

b) une description des faits reprochés;

c) un énoncé portant que le paiement du montant fixé dans l'avis sera accepté par le ministre en règlement de l'amende imposée et qu'aucune poursuite ne pourra être intentée par la suite au titre de la partie I de la Loi contre l'intéressé pour la même contravention;

d) un énoncé portant que, en cas de défaut de paiement du montant fixé dans l'avis, une copie de l'avis sera envoyée au Tribunal pour qu'il détermine s'il y a eu contravention;

e) un énoncé portant que l'intéressé a le droit de comparaître devant le Tribunal pour lui présenter ses éléments de preuve et ses observations sur la contravention, conformément aux principes de l'équité procédurale et de la justice naturelle.

La disposition contenue à l'article ci-dessus a été désignée en vertu de l'article 103.08 et de son annexe de sorte que les procédures relatives aux amendes contenues dans la Loi sur l'aéronautique s'appliquent.

Au titre des définitions, le RAC en son article 101.01 stipule :

« altitude minimale de descente » L'altitude ASL précisée dans le Canada Air Pilot ou le répertoire des routes et des approches pour l'approche de non-précision au-dessous de laquelle une descente ne doit pas être effectuée jusqu'à ce que la référence visuelle requise nécessaire à la poursuite de l'approche pour atterrir ait été établie.

« approche de non-précision » Approche aux instruments effectuée par un aéronef au moyen de renseignements sur l'azimut.

« référence visuelle requise » Dans le cas d'un aéronef qui effectue une approche vers une piste, la partie de l'aire d'approche de la piste ou les aides visuelles qui, vues par le pilote, lui permettent d'évaluer la position de l'aéronef et la vitesse de changement de position en vue de continuer l'approche et de compléter l'atterrissage.

À titre de complément, le ministre a déposé (pièce M-11) certains passages pertinents du Canada Air Pilot (CAP) : « ALTITUDE MINIMALE DE DESCENTE (MDA) : Une altitude spécifiée par rapport au niveau de la mer pour une approche de non-précision, au-dessous de laquelle on ne peut descendre pour continuer une approche à moins d'avoir établi la référence visuelle exigée. » Ce texte de la page 16 du CAP reprend essentiellement la définition statutaire énoncée plus haut.

Plus loin, à la page 21, le CAP publie ce qui suit :

MINIMUMS D'ATTERRISSAGE

CAR 602 précise que les atterrissages sont gérés par les DH et les MDA. Les pilotes d'aéronef aux approches aux instruments n'ont pas le droit de continuer à descendre au-dessous de la DH ou de descendre au-dessous de la MDA, selon le cas, à moins que la référence visuelle requise ne soit établie et maintenue pour réaliser un atterrissage sûr. Si tel n'est pas le cas, une approche manquée doit être entreprise. Les approches manquées commencées après le MAP peuvent avoir des difficultés de franchissement d'obstacle.

Les références visuelles requises par le pilote pour continuer l'approche en vue d'un atterrissage sûr devraient comprendre au moins une des références suivantes, pour la piste affectée, et devraient être bien visibles et identifiables au pilote :

a) la piste ou son balisage;

b) le seuil de piste ou son balisage;

c) la zone de poser (TDZ) ou son balisage;

d) les feux d'approche; 

e) le système indicateur de pente d'approche;

f) les feux d'identification de piste (RILS);

g) les feux de seuil et d'extrimité de piste;

h) le balisage de zone de poser (TDZL);

i) les feux de bord de pistes parallèles;

j) les feux de l'axe de piste.

Les visibilités d'atterrissage reliées à toutes les procédures d'approche aux instruments ne sont publiées qu'à titre consultatif. Leurs valeurs indiquent des visibilités qui équivaudraient, au moment de l'approche, aux références visuelles requises établies et maintenues pour l'atterrissage. Elles ne sont pas limitatives et sont destinées à n'être utilisées par les pilotes que pour juger de la probabilité d'un atterrissage réussi, quand elles sont comparées aux rapports de visibilité disponibles à l'aérodrome pour lequel l'approche aux instruments est effectuée.

Au niveau la jurisprudence, le représentant du ministre a évoqué l'affaire Mongere dans laquelle mon collègue M Pierre Beauchamp discute des exigences réglementaires relatives à la « référence visuelle requise ». Par rapport au niveau d'amende, le représentant du ministre a déposé l'affaire Parachutisme Aventurer dans laquelle le D Michel Larose, conseiller, reprend les différents facteurs pouvant guider le Tribunal quant à la sanction accompagnant le dispositif.

ANALYSE

Le CAP n'est pas un texte statutaire et ses énoncés que ce soit au plan qualitatif ou quantitatif par rapport à la visibilité, ne sont pas d'application stricte à moins qu'ils ne soient repris par le RAC directement ou par voie de référence. Néanmoins, le CAP est un texte institutionnel de premier plan et ses énoncés dans leur ensemble circonscrivent le «  standard raisonnable  » ou la référence de base raisonnable à suivre en matière de navigation.

Or en l'espèce, le ministre allègue que le commandant ne pouvait avoir acquis une référence visuelle par rapport à un ou plusieurs des dix éléments suggérés au CAP lorsqu'il ait descendu au-dessous de la MDA. Car au cas contraire suivant le ministre, un commandant de l'expérience de M. Chassé n'aurait pas abouti à l'est et en moitié de piste et ce à deux reprises, ayant alors une altitude d'environ deux cents pieds par ailleurs requise à un éventuel atterrissage. Pour le ministre, avoir acquis la référence visuelle requise par le RAC dans le segment final de l'approche aurait permis au commandant d'aligner la trajectoire du vol sur le seuil de la piste. En l'absence de cette référence, le commandant transgressait le RAC et l'infraction était commise.

Le commandant Chassé répond que l'on ne peut exiger dans le cadre d'une approche aux instruments, qu'un commandant aboutisse directement et en tout temps au seuil de piste de sorte qu'il n'y a aucune faute quant à la dérive de l'aéronef hors piste du côté est de l'aéroport.

M. Chassé a raison quant au fait qu'une approche puisse ne pas être parfaite dans son résultat ultime lors de la descente finale, mais là n'est pas la question. Une dérive de la sorte est indicative du fait que la référence visuelle n'était pas acquise à la MDA et maintenue jusqu'à l'atterrissage. Or, le RAC oblige au maintien de la MDA en l'absence de référence visuelle et éventuellement à une remontée si la référence visuelle n'est toujours pas acquise au point d'approche interrompue, et éventuellement à la poursuite du vol vers l'aéroport de dégagement comme solution alternative.

Le dilemme opérationnel d'un commandant est toujours le même. Si la MDA est maintenue en absence de référence visuelle, l'aéronef sera trop haut advenant une référence visuelle subséquente au point d'approche interrompue aux abords de l'aéroport. Mais tel est la nature des choses et le ministre a choisi d'interdire la descente en l'absence de référence visuelle de manière à promouvoir la sécurité. Cette interdiction prend d'ailleurs sa pleine signification dans le cadre d'une approche de non-précision.

Quant aux faits en preuve, aucun de ces éléments ne me permet de penser autrement et en toute probabilité (constitutif du fardeau de preuve du ministre), bien que le contact vertical ait eu lieu en rapprochement, la référence visuelle requise par le RAC n'était pas acquise au moment de la descente finale.

Le commandant Chassé a indiqué qu'il répéterait les mêmes faits et gestes en toutes pareilles circonstances. Conséquemment, nous sommes en présence de faits et gestes prémédités par l'intimé ce qui exclut toute référence théorique à une défense de diligence raisonnable du reste nullement évoquée par l'intimé.

Le ministre a fait valoir que l'amende de 250 $ était conforme au RAC de même qu'au Manuel d'application de la loi[3] de Transports Canada. Les différents facteurs aggravants et atténuants s'équilibrant, je n'ai pas de motifs pour diminuer ou hausser ce niveau d'amende.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du ministre et condamne l'intimé au paiement de l'amende de 250 $.

Pierre Beaudry
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Douglas Monger c. Ministre des Transports, Dossier n° Q-1974-02 (TAC).

[2] Ministre des Transports c. Parachutisme Aventure Inc./e.s.a. Aéro 3000, Dossier n° Q-1963-41 (TAC).

[3] Aviation civile, deuxième édition, 1999, TP 4751F.