Decisions

CAT File No. Q-2410-33
MoT File No. N5504-40430

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Jacques Caron, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 605.84(1)


Review Determination
Carole Anne Soucy


Decision: March 12, 2002

TRANSLATION

The Tribunal upholds the Minister's decision that the Respondent contravened subsection 605.85(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and reduces the amount of the monetary penalty to $500. The monetary penalty of $500 is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of receipt of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, January 24, 2002, at 9:00 hours at the Cour municipale de Chicoutimi, in the city of Chicoutimi, Quebec.

OBJECT OF THE REVIEW HEARING

On April 27, 2000, Mr. Justin Bourgault, for the Minister of Transport, served the Respondent, Jacques Caron, a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act for having contravened subsection 605.85(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

The notice of assessment reads as follows:

Between May 19, 1999, and July 19, 1999, (see Appendix A) you allegedly conducted 32 flights as pilot-in-command of the aircraft registered as C-FVQG, after the aircraft had been configured on floats and the work had not been certified by the signing of a maintenance release pursuant to section 571.10.

You are being proceeded against as the operator, pursuant to subsection 8.4(2) of the Aeronautics Act.

[...]

The total assessed penalty of $3,200 must be paid on or before May 31, 2000 to the Regional Manager, [...]

Appendix A shows the dates and times the 32 flights were allegedly conducted.

The monetary penalty was to be paid by May 31, 2000. As this deadline was not met, a review hearing was held as stated earlier.

THE LAW

Section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act provides as follows:

7.7 (1) Where the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister shall notify the person of the allegations against the person in such form as the Governor in Council may by regulation prescribe, specifying in the notice, in addition to any other information that may be so prescribed,
(a) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with such guidelines as the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister by the person as the penalty for the contravention in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal to make representations in respect of the allegations; and
(b) the time, being not less than thirty days after the date the notice is served or sent, at or before which and the place at which the amount is required to be paid in the event referred to in paragraph (a).
[...]

Subsection 605.85(1) of the CARs governing maintenance release and elementary work, stipulates as follows:

605.85 (1) Subject to subsections (2) and (3), no person shall conduct a take-off in an aircraft, or permit a take-off to be conducted in an aircraft that is in the legal custody and control of the person, where that aircraft has undergone maintenance, unless the maintenance has been certified by the signing of a maintenance release pursuant to section 571.10.

Section 571.10 of the CARs concerning the maintenance release reads as follows:

571.10 (1) No person shall sign a maintenance release required pursuant to section 605.85 or permit anyone whom the person supervises to sign a maintenance release, unless the standards of airworthiness applicable to the maintenance performed and stated in Chapter 571 of the Airworthiness Manual have been complied with and the maintenance release meets the applicable requirements specified in section 571.10 of the Airworthiness Manual.
[...]

THE FACTS

On July 19, 1999, during the annual inspection of the Maule-4 aircraft registered as C-FVQG, Inspector Bouchard of the Department of Transport noticed that the aircraft was configured on floats and that the work had not been certified by a maintenance release.

The aircraft journey log shows that the pilot-in-command, Jacques Caron, conducted 32 flights after May 19, 1999, the date on which he installed the floats himself.

On April 27, 2000, following this inspection, Transport Canada sent the Respondent a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty for contravention of subsection 605.85(1) of the CARs and enjoined him to pay the amount of $3,200, or $100 per flight.

THE EVIDENCE

The Minister's representative called his expert witness, Mr. Landry, after establishing his expertise.

The witness testified that when work or modifications are performed on an aircraft, these must be certified by a maintenance release stating that they were performed in accordance with the provisions of the CARs and the applicable standards. Certain work, termed elementary, is exempt from this rule and is set out in Appendix A of section 625.85 of the Aircraft Equipment and Maintenance Standards (Standards). The installation of floats on landing gear does not appear on this list.

He went on to say that only a licensed aircraft maintenance engineer can sign a maintenance release, and the signature must appear in the journey log.

Before beginning his cross-examination, counsel for the Respondent, Mr. Allard, admitted that the work of installing floats had not been certified by a maintenance release. To understand the distinction between the installation of floats on an aircraft (a modification that does not appear in Appendix A of section 625.85 of the Standards) and the installation of skis (described as elementary work and appearing in Appendix A), Mr. Landry explained that floats are connected to the aircraft fuselage and joined to the rudder, whereas skis are attached to the wheels and do not touch the rudder. He admitted, however, that the installation of floats does not affect, in this particular case, the hydraulic system of the aircraft.

In cross-examination, Mr. Allard asked his witness about his experience as a pilot. Mr. Caron has flown piston-engine aircraft for recreation only, for 30 years.

In his testimony, Mr. Caron stressed the fact that the set of floats were from another aircraft of the same make, i.e., the Maule-4. The fuselage attachment links were already installed, and according to him, it was simply a matter of fastening the floats with four bolts.

He always did this work with the help of friends, mainly one named Potvin, who had his own aircraft construction and maintenance workshop, and Mr. Lalancette, who is a licensed maintenance engineer.

Regarding the hydraulic system, the Respondent admitted that he had no knowledge in this area and never touches it. However, installing floats seemed so simple to him that he was certain no maintenance release was required.

In cross-examination, Mr. Caron added that he himself had requested the aircraft inspection of July 19, 1999, as he does every year for the annual certification. He testified that Mr. Lalancette usually inspects the work done at Mr. Potvin's workshop. However, he was not present when the floats were installed, but would have seen the aircraft which was on the ground near the workshop for about ten days.

While admitting that the replacement of wheels with floats can affect the weight and balance of the aircraft, the Respondent saw no problem with this as the aircraft registered as C-FVQG had already been modified on floats in 1976 and it never transports heavy weights.

ARGUMENTS

According to the Minister's representative, all the elements of the offence are covered in view of the admissions. There is a distinction to be made between elementary work and other work. Here, the signature of a licenced maintenance engineer is required. The help of other individuals is not a defence, nor is ignorance of the law. According to the Minister, given the Respondent's experience, he should have been more responsible and exercised diligence and should be found guilty.

Concerning the sanction, the guide "Enforcement Manual" recommends $100 for each violation, for a first offence. The CARs suggest a maximum of $500 for each violation. The Minister's representative is asking the Tribunal to uphold the monetary penalty of $3,200, or $100 for each of the 32 flights conducted.

The Respondent's representative admitted that he conducted 32 flights after the floats were installed without a release. He added, however, that Mr. Caron was not neglectful and completed his journey log after each flight. He performed the work at a maintenance base and no one informed him of the need for a release.

According to Mr. Allard, this is a matter of a reasonable error of fact. Mr. Caron showed no negligence.

Regarding the monetary penalty, lack of knowledge is a mitigating factor. He added that a guide is merely a guide and that we are not bound by it.

Finally, Mr. Allard concluded that all flights conducted before notice was served on the principal should be considered a continuing offence, and in this case would constitute a single offence. In support of his theory, he submitted to the Tribunal an appeal decision of the Civil Aviation Tribunal in 1992, High Country Fishing.[1]

DETERMINATION

In view of the admissions of the Respondent Caron, it is my opinion that all the elements of the offence are covered and that the Respondent contravened section 605.85 of the CARs.

However, the Tribunal feels compelled to point out the honesty and good faith of the Respondent.

Mr. Caron has been a pilot for 30 years. From the testimony given, at least four people noticed or participated in the installation of the floats and no one seemed aware of the implication or obligation in respect of this modification.

I would have liked to know what efforts are made by Department of Transport inspectors to raise awareness in the aviation community, particularly in the recreational sphere, of the standards and regulations that apply when work is performed on an aircraft. How does one explain the ignorance in which all these people connected with the aviation community seem to live? While ignorance is not in itself a defence and there is no excuse for ignorance of the law, it would perhaps be commendable to make additional efforts aimed at prevention.

The Tribunal has no reason to doubt the good faith of Mr. Caron, who entered his flights in the journey log and telephoned Inspector Bouchard to have him perform the annual inspection of the aircraft.

Good faith, honesty, the recreational nature of these flights and the fact that there was no disastrous outcome are mitigating factors that should be considered in assessing the penalty.

Also, in High Country Fishing, the CAT Appeal Tribunal confirmed the findings of the review member who considered a period of nearly nine months covering 145 separate flights to be a continuing offence because "[a]ll of these flights occurred during a period when the Appellant honestly but mistakenly believed that there was a valid Certificate of Airworthiness."

In my opinion, this situation applies very well here and the Tribunal therefore finds that the Respondent committed a single continuing offence between May 19 and July 19, 1999. A monetary penalty of $500 seems reasonable to me in the circumstances.

CONCLUSION

The Tribunal upholds the Minister's decision that the Respondent contravened subsection 605.85(1) of the CARs and reduces the monetary penalty to $500.

Carole Anne Soucy
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] High Country Fishing Ltd. v. Minister of Transport, CAT File No. W-0143-37.

Décisions

Dossier no Q-2410-33 (TAC)
Dossier no N5504-40430 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Jacques Caron, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 605.85(1)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Carole Anne Soucy


Décision : le 12 mars 2002

Le Tribunal maintient la décision du ministre à l'effet que l'intimé a contrevenu au paragraphe 605.85(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et diminue l'amende à la somme de 500 $. L'amende de 500 $ est payable à l'ordre du receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les 15 jours de la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire citée en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 24 janvier 2002 à 9 heures à la Cour municipale de Chicoutimi, dans la Ville de Chicoutimi (Québec).

OBJET DE L'AUDIENCE EN RÉVISION

Le 27 avril 2000, M. Justin Bourgault, au nom du ministre des Transports, signifiait à l'intimé, Jacques Caron, un avis d'amende pour contravention en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique pour avoir contrevenu au paragraphe 605.85(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

L'avis d'amende dénonce ce qui suit :

Entre le 19 mai 1999 et le 19 juillet 1999, (voir annexe A) vous auriez effectué 32 envolés, alors que vous étiez le pilote commandant de bord de l'appareil immatriculé C-FVQG, après que l'aéronef ait été configuré sur flotteurs, et que le travail n'ait pas été certifié au moyen d'une certification après maintenance signée conformément à l'article 571.10.

Vous êtes poursuivi en tant qu'utilisateur, en référence avec l'article 8.4(2) de la Loi sur l'Aéronautique.

[...]

La somme de $3,200 doit être versée au complet, d'ici le 31 mai 2000, au gestionnaire régional, [...]

L'annexe A indique les heures et dates auxquelles les 32 envolées auraient été effectuées.

L'amende devait être payée le 31 mai 2000. Ledit délai n'ayant pas été respecté, une audience en révision eu lieu telle que précitée.

LE DROIT

L'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit ce qui suit :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, l'informe des faits reprochés par un avis établi en la forme et comportant les renseignements que le gouverneur en conseil peut déterminer par règlement et y indique :
a) sous réserve des règlements d'application de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés;
b) la date limite, qui suit d'au moins trente jours celle de signification ou d'expédition de l'avis, et le lieu où le montant visé à l'alinéa a) doit être versé.
[...]

Le paragraphe 605.85(1) du RAC relatif à la certification après maintenance et travaux élémentaires stipule ce qui suit :

605.85 (1) Sous réserve des paragraphes (2) et (3), il est interdit à toute personne d'effectuer le décollage d'un aéronef dont elle a la garde et la responsabilité légales ou de permettre à toute personne d'effectuer un tel décollage lorsque l'aéronef a été soumis à un travail de maintenance, à moins que ce travail n'ait été certifié au moyen d'une certification après maintenance signée conformément à l'article 571.10.

L'article 571.10 du RAC relatif à la certification après maintenance se lit ainsi :

571.10 (1) Il est interdit à toute personne de signer une certification après maintenance exigée en vertu de l'article 605.85, ou de permettre à une personne qu'elle supervise de signer une telle certification, à moins que les normes de navigabilité qui sont applicables aux travaux de maintenance effectués et qui sont énoncées au chapitre 571 du Manuel de navigabilité n'aient été respectées et que la certification après maintenance ne satisfasse aux exigences applicables énoncées à l'article 571.10 du Manuel de navigabilité.
[...]

LES FAITS

Le 19 juillet 1999, lors de l'inspection annuelle de l'aéronef de marque Maule-4, immatriculé C-FVQG, l'inspecteur Bouchard du ministère des Transports remarque que l'aéronef est configuré sur flotteurs et que le travail n'a pas été certifié au moyen d'une certification après maintenance.

Le carnet de route de l'aéronef indique que le pilote commandant de bord, Jacques Caron, a effectué 32 envolées depuis le 19 mai 1999, date à laquelle il procéda lui-même à l'installation des flotteurs.

Le 27 avril 2000, suite à cette vérification, Transports Canada fit parvenir un avis d'amende à l'intimé parce qu'il avait contrevenu au paragraphe 605.85(1) du RAC et l'enjoignait de payer la somme de 3 200 $, soit 100 $ par envolée.

LA PREUVE

Le représentant du ministre fit entendre son témoin expert, M. Landry, après avoir établi son expertise.

Celui-ci témoigne à l'effet que lorsque des travaux ou modifications sont effectués sur un aéronef, ceux-ci doivent être certifiés par une certification après maintenance indiquant qu'ils ont été effectués conformément aux dispositions du RAC et des normes applicables. Certains travaux, qualifiés d'élémentaires, font exception à cette règle et apparaissent à l'appendice A de l'article 625.85 des Normes relatives à l'équipement et à la maintenance des aéronefs (Normes). L'installation de flotteurs sur un train d'atterrissage n'apparaît pas à cette liste.

Il ajoute que seul le titulaire d'une licence de technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs peut signer une certification après maintenance, signature qui doit apparaître dans le carnet de route.

Avant d'entreprendre son contre-interrogatoire, l'avocat de l'intimé, Me Allard, admet que les travaux n'ont pas reçu la certification de maintenance relative à la pose de flotteurs. Afin de comprendre ce qui distingue l'installation de flotteurs sur un aéronef (modification qui n'apparaît pas à l'appendice A de l'article 625.85 des Normes) et l'installation de skis (qualifiée de travaux élémentaires et apparaissant à l'appendice A), M. Landry explique que les flotteurs sont reliés au fuselage de l'aéronef et jumelés au gouvernail de direction alors que les skis sont attachés aux roues et ne touchent pas au gouvernail de direction. Cependant, il admet que l'installation de flotteurs n'affecte pas, dans ce cas-ci, le système hydraulique de l'aéronef.

En contre-preuve, Me Allard interroge son témoin sur son expérience de pilote. M. Caron est pilote d'aéronef à pistons de façon récréative seulement et cela depuis 30 ans.

Dans son témoignage M. Caron insiste sur le fait que l'ensemble de flotteurs provenait d'un autre aéronef de même marque, soit le Maule-4. Les attaches du fuselage étaient déjà installées, il s'agissait simplement, selon lui, de fixer les flotteurs avec quatre boulons.

Il effectuait toujours ces travaux avec l'aide de copains, dont principalement un dénommé Potvin qui avait son propre atelier de construction et de maintenance d'avions et un M. Lalancette, détenteur d'une licence de technicien.

Quant au système hydraulique, l'intimé admet qu'il n'a aucune connaissance dans ce domaine et qu'il n'y touche jamais. D'autre part, la pose de flotteurs lui semble tellement simple qu'il était certain ne pas avoir besoin de certificat de maintenance.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Caron ajoute que c'est lui-même qui a demandé l'inspection de l'aéronef le 19 juillet 1999, comme il le fait chaque année pour la certification annuelle. Il témoigne à l'effet que M. Lalancette vérifie normalement les travaux faits à l'atelier de M. Potvin. Cependant, il n'y était pas lors de l'installation des flotteurs mais il aurait vu l'aéronef qui était au sol près de l'atelier durant une dizaine de jours.

Tout en admettant que la modification de roues pour des flotteurs puisse affecter le poids et centrage de l'aéronef, l'intimé n'y voyait aucun problème puisque l'aéronef immatriculé C-FVQG avait déjà été modifié sur flotteurs en 1976 et qu'il ne transporte jamais de poids lourds.

ARGUMENTATION

Selon le représentant du ministre, tous les éléments de l'infraction sont couverts compte tenu des admissions. Il y a une distinction à faire entre les travaux élémentaires et les autres. Ici, la signature d'un mécanicien licencié est nécessaire. L'aide de d'autres personnes n'est pas une défense tout comme l'ignorance de la loi. Selon le ministre, l'intimé, compte tenu de son expérience, aurait dû être plus responsable et faire preuve de diligence et devrait être déclaré coupable.

Au niveau de la sanction, les recommandations du guide du « Manuel d'application de la loi » sont de 100 $ par infraction pour une première offense. Le RAC suggère un maximum de 500 $ par infraction. Le représentant du ministre demande au Tribunal de respecter l'amende de 3 200 $, soit 100 $ pour chacune des 32 envolées effectuées.

Le représentant de l'intimé admet que celui-ci a effectué 32 envolées suite à l'installation de flotteurs sans certification. Il ajoute cependant que M. Caron n'a rien omis et qu'il a complété son carnet de route après chaque envolée. Il a fait ces travaux dans un centre de maintenance et personne ne l'a avisé de la nécessité d'un certificat.

Il s'agit, selon Me Allard, d'une erreur raisonnable de faits. M. Caron n'a démontré aucune négligence.

Concernant l'amende, le fait de ne pas avoir connaissance est un facteur atténuant. Il ajoute qu'un guide demeure un guide et que nous ne sommes pas liés par celui-ci.

Finalement, Me Allard conclut que devraient être considérées comme infraction continue toutes les envolées effectuées avant le moment où le commettant en est avisé, ce qui constituerait dans ce cas-ci une seule infraction. À l'appui de sa théorie, il soumet au Tribunal une décision en appel du Tribunal de l'aviation civile rendue en 1992, High Country Fishing.[1]

DÉCISION

Considérant les admissions de l'intimé Caron, je suis d'avis que tous les éléments de l'infraction sont couverts et que l'intimé a contrevenu à l'article 605.85 du RAC.

Cependant, le Tribunal ne peut s'empêcher de souligner l'honnêteté et la bonne foi de l'intimé.

M. Caron est pilote depuis 30 ans. Des témoignages rendus, ils sont au moins quatre à avoir remarqué ou participé à l'installation de flotteurs et personne ne semblait connaître l'implication ou l'obligation relative à cette modification.

J'aurais aimé connaître les efforts fournis par les inspecteurs du ministère des Transports afin de sensibiliser le milieu aéronautique, plus particulièrement dans le domaine récréatif, aux normes et règlements applicables lors de travaux effectués sur un aéronef. Comment expliquer l'ignorance dans laquelle semble vivre toutes ces personnes reliées au milieu aéronautique? Bien que l'ignorance ne soit pas une défense en soi et que nul n'est sensé ignorer la loi, il serait peut-être louable d'investir des efforts supplémentaires à titre préventif.

Le Tribunal n'a aucun motif de douter de la bonne foi de M. Caron qui a, d'une part, noté ses envolées dans le carnet de route et, d'autre part, téléphoné à l'inspecteur Bouchard afin qu'il procède à la vérification annuelle de l'aéronef.

La bonne foi, l'honnêteté, le fait que ces envolées étaient faites dans un but récréatif et le fait également qu'il n'y eut aucune conséquence désastreuse sont des facteurs atténuants qui doivent être tenus pour compte dans l'évaluation de l'amende.

Aussi, dans l'arrêt High Country Fishing, le Tribunal d'appel du TAC confirme les conclusions du conseiller en révision qui a considéré comme une infraction continue une période de près de neuf mois couvrant 145 vols distincts parce que « [t]ous ces vols ont été effectués alors que l'appelant croyait sincèrement, mais à tort, qu'il avait un certificat de navigabilité valable ».

Je suis d'avis que cette situation peut très bien s'appliquer en l'occurrence et conséquemment le Tribunal considère que l'intimé a commis une seule infraction continue entre le 19 mai et 19 juillet 1999. Une amende de 500,00 $ me paraît raisonnable dans les circonstances.

CONCLUSION

Le Tribunal maintient la décision du ministre à l'effet que l'intimé a contrevenu au paragraphe 605.85(1) du RAC et diminue l'amende à la somme de 500 $.

Me Carole Anne Soucy
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1]High Country Fishing Ltd. c. Ministre des Transports, dossier n° W-0143-37 (TAC).