Decisions

TATC File No. Q-3320-52
MoT File No. N 4205-HUNTINGTON S-Q142 (06-01)

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Shawn Huntington, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, mod. by R.S., c. A-3, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Security Regulations, SOR/2000-111, s. 40(b)


Review Determination
Howard M. Bruce


Decision: May 17, 2007

Citation: Huntington v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2007 TATCE 13 (review)

[Official English translation]

Heard at Montréal, Quebec, on April 3, 2007

Held: The Tribunal is of the opinion that the Minister of Transport has not discharged its burden of proof on the balance of probabilities by establishing that the applicant did indeed assist a person who did not have a pass in their possession to enter a restricted area. The allegation is dismissed and the penalty of $300 assessed against the applicant is therefore cancelled.

I.          OBJECT OF THE REVIEW HEARING

[1]               On December 6, 2006, the Minister of Transport issued a notice of assessment of monetary penalty to the applicant, Shawn Huntington, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, amended by R.S., c. A‑3, assessing a monetary penalty of $300. The latter had allegedly contravened section 40(b) of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations, SOR/2000‑111.

[2]               Schedule A of the notice of assessment reads as follows:

[translation]

On October 31, 2006, at about 7:00 a.m., at Montréal Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, while you were at the wheel of a GMC Savana vehicle bearing licence FCH1908 of the Catalogna company, you presented yourself at entry point 1A of the restricted area commonly known as the "Marshall" entrance. At the time, you were aware of the concealed presence of Martin Falardeau in your vehicle and of the fact that he did not have a pass allowing him access to the restricted area.

[3]               On January 2, 2007, the registry of the Tribunal received a request for a review from Mr. Huntington.

II.        APPLICABLE LEGISLATION

[4]               Section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act provides as follows:

7.7 (1) If the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister may decide to assess a monetary penalty in respect of the alleged contravention, in which case the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the person at their latest known address, notify the person of his or her decision.

(2) A notice under subsection (1) shall be in a form prescribed by regulation of the Governor in Council and shall, in addition to any other information that may be prescribed, indicate

a) the designated provision that the Minister believes has been contravened;

b) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with any guidelines that the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister as the penalty in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal assigned to conduct a review to make representations in respect of the alleged contravention; and

c) the address at which, and the date, being thirty days after the notice is served or sent, on or before which, the penalty must be paid or a request for a review must be filed.

[5]               Section 40(b) of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations provides as follows:

40. A person must not

(b) assist any other person who does not have a restricted area pass in their possession for the restricted area to enter that restricted area.

III.            MINISTER'S EVIDENCE

[6]               The Minister's first witness, Pierre Sekla, is an employee of the security service of Montréal Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport. During his testimony, the Minister adduced in evidence a plan of Montréal Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport showing the perimeter of the airport, the restricted areas and the location of gate 1A, commonly known as the "Marshall gate" (exhibit M‑1).

[7]               During Mr. Sekla's testimony, the Minister also filed, in a bundle, four photographs showing a van belonging to the company Catalogna et Frères Ltée (exhibit M‑2). Since Mr. Sekla arrived at gate 1A after the events in question here, he cannot testify about the other facts of the alleged offence.

[8]               The second witness, Fernand Lamarche, is a constable with the security service of Montréal Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport. He testified that he received a call at 8:41 a.m. to the effect that an unauthorized person had attempted to gain access to the restricted area through gate 1A.

[9]               The third witness, Yves Després, is a labour relations and health and safety coordinator for Aéroports de Montréal. He testified that he received a call informing him that there had been an incident at the Marshall gate, i.e., gate 1A. Someone had tried to gain access to the site without a pass. Mr. Després did not, however, witness the events that led to the issuance of the notice of assessment of monetary penalty.

[10]           During Mr. Després' testimony, the Minister filed an example of the passes needed to gain access to the restricted area (exhibit M‑3), explaining that these passes are always issued off-site. He then filed the cardholder history report pertaining to Martin Falardeau (exhibit M‑4). According to this report, Mr. Falardeau had previously worked in a restricted area at Montréal Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, the last time being June 4, 2004.

[11]           Finally, still during the testimony of Mr. Després, the Minister filed a booklet [translation] "Job Site Rules" published by Aéroports de Montréal (exhibit M‑5). It sets out the rules for job sites at Montréal Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport. Anyone admitted to a restricted area to do work there receives a copy.

[12]           While these testimonies and exhibits M‑3, M‑4 and M‑5 help provide an overall understanding of the events, the Tribunal does not consider them evidence relevant to the elements of the offence.

[13]           The Minister's fourth witness, Léo Kontopoulos, is a foreman with Catalogna et Frères Ltée, the applicant's employer. He testified that when he arrived at security hut 1A at about 7:00 a.m. on October 31, 2006, Mr. Huntington was already at the site. The two men then discussed the workday that lay ahead.

[14]           According to Mr. Kontopoulos, Mr. Falardeau then arrived in his automobile, which he parked outside the restricted area. Mr. Falardeau then took a seat in Mr. Huntington's van, which headed for security hut 1A to enter the restricted area.

[15]           Mr. Kontopoulos' testimony was weak and at times confused as to the sequence of events. However, he clearly recounted a discussion that took place between Mohammed En Haili, the officer who did the security check, and Mr. Huntington. During this check, Mr. En Haili opened the door of the vehicle and noticed Mr. Falardeau in the back. After questioning him, Mr. En Haili confirmed that he had no pass.

[16]           The testimony of the Minister's last witness, Mr. En Haili, was clear, concise and detailed. Mr. En Haili is a security officer at Montréal Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, and on October 31, 2006, he was assigned to check entries and exits at security hut 1A. During his testimony, the Minister produced a statement by Mr. En Haili as to the events of October 31, 2006, which was signed at noon (exhibit M‑7).

[17]           In his statement, Mr. En Haili states that at about 7:00 a.m. on October 31, 2006, a van belonging to the Catalogna et Frères Ltée company approached security hut 1A. He noticed there were two people in the front of the vehicle, namely, Messrs. Huntington and Shane Lapointe. Sensing that something was not right, he asked Mr. Huntington to open the back door of the vehicle. He was told it was impossible to open that door and it was suggested he therefore open the door on the right-hand side of the vehicle. Mr. En Haili then went around the vehicle, opened the right-hand door and noticed Mr. Falardeau lying on the materials inside. Noting that the latter had no pass, he asked him to get out of the vehicle and go to the trailer indicated to get the necessary pass.

[18]           The witness En Haili was categorical. As soon as he noticed Mr. Falardeau in the vehicle, he asked him to get out. Mr. Falardeau therefore did not enter the restricted area with the applicant, Mr. Huntington.

[19]           Next, Mr. En Haili testified that Mr. Kontopoulos then approached him with a pass for Mr. Falardeau. Mr. En Haili told him that this made no sense because Mr. Falardeau had already gone to the trailer to get his pass. After checking, Mr. En Haili noticed that this pass, bearing number 3715, was one that had been lost. Note that this fact is of no relevance to the allegation in this case.

[20]           In cross-examination by Mr. Huntington, Mr. En Haili again confirmed that he had denied Mr. Falardeau entry to the site immediately after noting that he did not have a pass.

IV.       APPLICANT'S EVIDENCE

[21]           The applicant, Mr. Huntington, testified about the events of October 31, 2006. He is a surveyor and works for Catalogna et Frères Ltée. The day before the events, he had asked his foreman, Mr. Kontopoulos, to find him a few extra employees so he could complete the work on schedule. He had also asked him to take them to the site on October 31, 2006.

[22]           When he arrived at the site on October 31st, he saw Mr. Kontopoulos and met Mr. Falardeau, the latter being one of the employees assigned by Mr. Huntington's employer. Mr. Kontopoulos told him he had no room in his truck to take Mr. Falardeau onto the worksite and therefore asked Mr. Huntington to take him in his van. Mr. Huntington said that at the time, they were about 150 feet from security hut 1A.

[23]           Mr. Huntington then proceeded to security hut 1A with Mr. Lapointe, who was in the front passenger's seat, and Mr. Falardeau, who was in the back. When they reached the gate, they were greeted by Mr. En Haili. Messrs. Huntington and Lapointe showed their passes at Mr. En Haili's request. Mr. En Haili also asked them to open the back door of the vehicle and, as it would not open, Mr. Huntington suggested that Mr. En Haili go around the vehicle and open the right-hand door, which Mr. En Haili did straightaway.

[24]           Still according to Mr. Huntington's testimony, the right-hand door did not open outward, so Mr. Falardeau opened it from inside the vehicle. When he heard the conversation between Messrs. En Haili and Falardeau, Mr. Huntington realized that Mr. Falardeau had no pass. Mr. En Haili then asked Mr. Falardeau to get out of the vehicle and go to the trailer indicated to get a pass. Before leaving the van, Mr. Falardeau gave Mr. Huntington a pass, which proved to be the lost pass bearing number 3715 that Mr. Huntington then handed to Mr. En Haili.

[25]           After Mr. Falardeau got out of the vehicle, Messrs. Huntington and Lapointe were allowed to enter the restricted area and go to their job site, where they worked until 9:00 a.m. At about that time Mr. Huntington received a call from Mr. Kontopoulos asking him to return to the security hut to answer some questions about the events that had taken place that morning.

[26]           It is clear from Mr. Huntington's testimony that he did not know that Mr. Falardeau did not have his pass and that the latter never entered restricted area 1A.

V.              MINISTER'S SUBMISSIONS

[27]           The Minister argues that it has proven all of the elements of the offence, namely, that gate 1A gives access to a restricted area, that access is controlled by a pass, and that on the morning of the offence, Mr. Falardeau was checked by Mr. En Haili. He further argues that the evidence shows that Mr. Falardeau had no pass.

[28]           According to the Minister, Mr. Huntington's action constitutes a contravention of section 40(b) of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations since he had intended to enter the restricted area when he presented himself at security hut 1A, regardless of whether or not he was cleared.

VI.             RESPONDENT'S SUBMISSIONS

[29]           Mr. Huntington, for his part, argues that he did not know that Mr. Falardeau did not have his pass, that he had only met him that very morning and had counted on his employer, represented by Mr. Kontopoulos, to supply him with an employee who had the pass allowing access to the restricted area.

VII.     ANALYSIS

[30]           Subsection 7.91(4) of the Aeronautics Act reads as follows:

(4) The burden of establishing that a person has contravened a designated provision is on the Minister.

[31]           Section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act provides as follows:

8.5 No person shall be found to have contravened a provision of this Part or any regulation, notice, order, security measure or emergency direction made under this Part if the person exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention.

[32]           The Minister must prove on the balance of probabilities each of the elements of the offence stipulated in section 40(b) of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations.

[33]           The applicant's testimony is consistent with that of the Minister's witness Mr. En Haili regarding the essential points. At 7:00 a.m. on October 31, 2006, Mr. Huntington presented himself at security hut 1A where Mr. En Haili works, accompanied by Messrs. Lapointe and Falardeau; the latter was in the back of the vehicle. The photographs of the vehicle clearly show that there are only two front seats and no back seat. A third person must therefore sit in the rear of the vehicle where the tools and equipment are kept.

[34]           The evidence further shows that when the van reached the security hut, Mr. En Haili asked if he could check inside the rear of the vehicle, which he did after one of the passengers inside opened the right-hand door for him. After Mr. En Haili noticed Mr. Falardeau and ascertained that he did not have a pass, the latter got out of the applicant's vehicle and went over to the trailer indicated to get a pass allowing him to enter the restricted area.

[35]           The undisputed evidence therefore clearly shows that Mr. Falardeau was inside the applicant's vehicle until it reached gate 1A, but that following Mr. En Haili's intervention, he got out of the vehicle and never entered the restricted area with Mr. Huntington.

[36]           According to the Minister's main argument, at the time of Mr. Huntington's arrival at the security hut with, in his vehicle, Mr. Falardeau who had no pass, the applicant was in contravention of section 40(b) of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations.

[37]           The Tribunal respectfully disagrees with this interpretation. In R. v. Paul, [1982], 1 S.C.R. 621, [1982] S.C.J. no. 32 at ¶ 25 (QL), Lamer J. writes that:

… when dealing with a penal statute the rule is that, if in construing a statute there appears any reasonable ambiguity, it be resolved by giving the statute the meaning most favourable to the persons liable to penalty.

[38]           According to the Tribunal, one of the essential elements of the offence is the fact of assisting a person to enter a restricted area. If there is ambiguity in the drafting of section 40(b) as to the meaning of the expression "assist … to enter that restricted area", that ambiguity must be construed in favour of the applicant. Had the legislator wanted to make it an offence to present oneself at a security hut without a pass or to have as a passenger someone who has no pass, the regulation would have been drafted accordingly. The expression "assist … to enter" logically requires someone's entry into a restricted area.

[39]           In fact, in doing his job efficiently and professionally on October 31, 2006, at about 7:00 a.m., Mr. En Haili prevented the commission of a contravention of section 40(b) of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations.

VIII.    DETERMINATION

[40]           As the Minister has not succeeded in proving all the elements of the offence, the Tribunal sets aside the Minister's decision and cancels the monetary penalty of $300 assessed against the applicant, Mr. Huntington.

May 17, 2007

Howard M. Bruce
Member

Décisions

Dossier no Q-3320-52 (TATC)
Dossier no N 4205-HUNTINGTON S-Q142 (06-01) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Shawn Huntington, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, mod. par S.R., c. A-3, art. 7.7
Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne, DORS/2000 111, art. 40(b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Howard M. Bruce


Décision : le 17 mai 2007

Référence : Huntington c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2007 TATCF 13 (révision)

Affaire entendue à Montréal (Québec) le 3 avril 2007

Arrêt : Le Tribunal est d'avis que le ministre des Transports ne s'est pas déchargé de son fardeau de preuve selon la prépondérance des probabilités en établissant que le requérant a effectivement aidé une personne qui n'avait pas de laissez-passer à entrer dans une zone réglementée. L'allégation est rejetée et l'amende de 300 $ imposée au requérant est par conséquent annulée.

I. OBJET DE L'AUDIENCE EN RÉVISION

[1]     Le 6 décembre 2006, le ministre des Transports a émis un avis d'amende pour contravention à l'égard du requérant, Shawn Huntington, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, mod. par S.R., c. A-3, en lui imposant une amende de 300 $. Ce dernier aurait contrevenu à l'article 40(b) du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne, DORS/2000-111.

[2]     L'annexe A de l'avis d'amende se lit ainsi :

Le 31 octobre 2006, vers 07h00, à l'Aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau de Montréal, alors que vous étiez au volant d'un véhicule GMC Savana immatriculé FCH1908 de la compagnie Catalogna, vous vous êtes présenté au point d'entrée 1A de la zone réglementée communément identifié comme étant l'entrée «  Marshall  ». À ce moment, vous étiez au courant de la présence dissimulée de Monsieur Martin Falardeau dans votre véhicule et du fait que ce dernier n'était pas détenteur d'un laissez-passer lui permettant d'accéder à la zone réglementée.

[3]     Le 2 janvier 2007, le greffe du Tribunal a reçu une requête en révision de la part de M. Huntington.

II. LÉGISLATION APPLICABLE

[4]     L'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit ce qui suit :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, peut décider de déterminer le montant de l'amende à payer, auquel cas il lui expédie, par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à sa dernière adresse connue, un avis l'informant de la décision.

(2) L'avis est établi en la forme que le gouverneur en conseil peut fixer par règlement. Y sont notamment indiqués :

a) le texte en cause;

b) sous réserve des règlements pris en vertu de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés;

c) la date limite, qui suit de trente jours celle de signification ou d'expédition de l'avis, et le lieu du versement de l'amende visée à l'alinéa b) ou du dépôt d'une éventuelle requête en révision.

[5 ]     L'article 40(b) du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne prévoit ce qui suit :

40. Il est interdit à toute personne :

[...]

b) d'aider à entrer dans une zone réglementée toute autre personne qui n'a pas un laissez-passer de zone réglementée en sa possession donnant accès à celle-ci.

III. PREUVE DU MINISTRE

[6]     Le premier témoin du ministre, Pierre Sekla, est employé au service de sécurité à l'aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau de Montréal. Dans le cadre de son témoignage, le ministre a déposé en preuve un plan de l'aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau indiquant le périmètre de l'aéroport, les zones réglementées ainsi que l'emplacement de la porte 1A, communément appelée «  porte Marshall  » (pièce M-1).

[7]     Le ministre a également déposé au cours du témoignage de M. Sekla quatre photographies en liasse montrant une fourgonnette appartenant à la compagnie Catalogna et Frères Ltée (pièce M-2). Comme M. Sekla est arrivé à la porte 1A après les événements faisant l'objet des présentes, il ne peut témoigner sur les autres faits relatifs à l'infraction reprochée.

[8]     Le deuxième témoin, Fernand Lamarche, est constable au service de sécurité de l'aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau. Il a témoigné qu'il a reçu un appel à 8 h 41 voulant qu'une personne non autorisée ait tenté d'accéder à la zone réglementée en empruntant la porte 1A.

[9]     Le troisième témoin, Yves Després, est coordonnateur en relation de travail et santé et sécurité pour les Aéroports de Montréal. Il a témoigné qu'il a reçu un appel lui indiquant qu'il y avait eu un incident à la porte Marshall, c'est-à-dire à la porte 1A. En effet, quelqu'un avait tenté d'accéder au site sans avoir de laissez-passer. M. Després n'a cependant pas été témoin des faits menant à l'émission de l'avis d'amende pour contravention.

[10]     Dans le cadre du témoignage de M. Després, le ministre a déposé un exemplaire des laissez-passer nécessaires pour avoir accès à la zone réglementée (pièce M-3), en précisant que ceux-ci sont toujours émis à l'extérieur du chantier. Il a ensuite déposé un rapport chronologique des entrées et sorties des détenteurs de laissez-passer (Cardholder History Report) concernant Martin Falardeau (pièce M-4). D'après ce rapport, ce dernier avait déjà travaillé à l'intérieur d'une zone réglementée à l'aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau, la dernière fois étant le 4 juin 2004.

[11]     Toujours au cours du témoignage de M. Després, le ministre a finalement déposé un livret intitulé Règlements de chantier, publié par les Aéroports de Montréal (pièce M-5). On y retrouve les règlements de chantier à l'aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau. Toute personne admise dans une zone réglementée pour y effectuer des travaux en reçoit un exemplaire.

[12]     Bien que ces témoignages ainsi que les pièces M-3, M-4 et M-5 aident à comprendre l'ensemble des événements, le Tribunal considère qu'ils ne sont pas des preuves pertinentes au regard des éléments de l'infraction.

[13]     Le quatrième témoin du ministre, Léo Kontopoulos, est contremaître chez Catalogna et Frères Ltée, l'employeur du requérant. Selon lui, lorsqu'il est arrivé à la guérite 1A vers 7 h, le 31 octobre 2006, M. Huntington était déjà sur place. Il s'en est suivi une discussion entre les deux hommes concernant la journée de travail à effectuer.

[14]     Toujours selon le témoignage de M. Kontopoulos, M. Falardeau est arrivé par la suite avec son automobile qu'il a stationnée à l'extérieur de la zone réglementée. M. Falardeau a ensuite pris place dans la fourgonnette de M. Huntington qui s'est dirigé vers la guérite 1A afin d'accéder à la zone réglementée.

[15]     En ce qui concerne la suite des événements, le témoignage de M. Kontopoulos est boiteux et parfois confus. Cependant, il a relaté clairement qu'une discussion a eu lieu entre Mohammed En Haili, l'agent qui a effectué le contrôle de sécurité, et M. Huntington. À l'occasion de ce contrôle, M. En Haili a ouvert la porte du véhicule et a constaté la présence de M. Falardeau à l'arrière. Après avoir questionné ce dernier, M. En Haili a confirmé qu'il n'avait pas de laissez-passer.

[16]     Le dernier témoin du ministre, M. En Haili, a donné pour sa part un témoignage clair, concis et détaillé. M. En Haili est agent de sécurité à l'aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau et était assigné, le 31 octobre 2006, au contrôle des entrées et sorties à la guérite 1A. Dans le cadre de son témoignage, le ministre a produit une déclaration de M. En Haili relativement aux événements du 31 octobre 2006, laquelle fut signée à midi (pièce M-7).

[17]     Dans sa déclaration, M. En Haili a relaté que vers 7 h, le 31 octobre 2006, une fourgonnette de la compagnie Catalogna et Frères Ltée s'est présentée à la guérite 1A. Il a constaté qu'il y avait deux personnes à l'avant dans le véhicule, soit MM. Huntington et Shane Lapointe. Ayant alors l'intuition que quelque chose n'allait pas, il a demandé à M. Huntington d'ouvrir la porte arrière du véhicule. On lui a répondu qu'il était impossible d'ouvrir cette porte et on lui a donc offert d'ouvrir la porte du côté droit du véhicule. M. En Haili a alors contourné le véhicule, a ouvert la porte droite et a remarqué la présence de M. Falardeau, couché sur le matériel se trouvant à l'intérieur. Constatant que ce dernier n'avait pas de laissez-passer, il lui a demandé de descendre du véhicule et de se rendre à la roulotte désignée afin d'aller chercher le laissez-passer nécessaire.

[18]     Le témoin En Haili a été catégorique. Immédiatement après avoir constaté la présence de M. Falardeau dans le véhicule, il lui a demandé de descendre. M. Falardeau n'est donc pas entré à l'intérieur de la zone réglementée avec le requérant, M. Huntington.

[19]     M. En Haili a témoigné par la suite que M. Kontopoulos est alors venu le voir avec un laissez-passer pour M. Falardeau. M. En Haili lui a indiqué que ceci était insensé, car M. Falardeau était déjà parti vers la roulotte pour aller chercher le sien. Dans les faits, après vérification, M. En Haili a constaté que ce laissez-passer portant le numéro 3715 s'avérait être un laissez-passer perdu. Il importe de souligner que ce fait n'est d'aucune pertinence à l'allégation dans le présent dossier.

[20]     En contre-interrogatoire par M. Huntington, M. En Haili a confirmé de nouveau qu'il avait interdit l'accès au chantier à M. Falardeau immédiatement après avoir constaté que ce dernier n'avait pas de laissez-passer.

IV. PREUVE DU REQUÉRANT

[21]     Le requérant M. Huntington a témoigné sur les faits survenus le 31 octobre 2006. Il est arpenteur et travaille pour la compagnie Catalogna et Frères Ltée. La journée précédant les événements, il avait demandé à son contremaître, M. Kontopoulos, de lui trouver quelques employés supplémentaires afin de pouvoir terminer les travaux selon les échéances prévues. Il lui avait demandé de plus de les amener sur le site le 31 octobre 2006.

[22]     En arrivant sur les lieux le 31 octobre, il a vu M. Kontopoulos et a rencontré M. Falardeau, ce dernier étant un des employés assignés par l'employeur de M. Huntington. M. Kontopoulos lui a déclaré qu'il n'avait pas de place dans sa camionnette pour amener M. Falardeau sur le site des travaux et a donc demandé à M. Huntington de le prendre dans sa fourgonnette. À ce moment, ce dernier a précisé qu'ils étaient à environ 150 pieds de la guérite 1A.

[23]     M. Huntington s'est par la suite présenté à la guérite 1A avec M. Lapointe qui occupait le siège du passager avant et M. Falardeau qui était à l'arrière. À leur arrivée à la barrière, ils ont été accueillis par M. En Haili. MM. Huntington et Lapointe ont présenté leur laissez-passer à la demande de M. En Haili. Ce dernier leur a aussi demandé d'ouvrir la porte arrière du véhicule et, cette dernière ne s'ouvrant pas, M. Huntington a indiqué à M. En Haili de faire le tour du véhicule afin de pouvoir ouvrir la porte droite, ce que M. En Haili a aussitôt fait.

[24]     Toujours selon le témoignage de M. Huntington, la porte droite ne s'ouvrait pas vers l'extérieur et c'est donc M. Falardeau qui, de l'intérieur du véhicule, l'a ouverte. Lorsqu'il a entendu la conversation entre MM. En Haili et Falardeau, M. Huntington a compris que M. Falardeau n'avait pas de laissez-passer. M. En Haili a alors demandé à M. Falardeau de descendre du véhicule et de se rendre à la roulotte désignée afin d'obtenir un laissez-passer. Avant de quitter la fourgonnette, M. Falardeau a donné un laissez-passer à M. Huntington, lequel s'avérait être le laissez passer perdu portant le numéro 3715, que ce dernier a ensuite remis à M. En Haili.

[25]     Après que M. Falardeau fut descendu du véhicule, MM. Huntington et Lapointe ont pu accéder à la zone réglementée et se rendre à leur lieu de travail où ils ont travaillé jusqu'à 9 h. C'est à peu près à ce moment que M. Huntington a reçu un appel de M. Kontopoulos lui demandant de revenir à la guérite afin de répondre à certaines questions relatives aux événements survenus le matin même.

[26]     Il est clair selon le témoignage de M. Huntington qu'il ignorait que M. Falardeau n'avait pas son laissez-passer et que ce dernier n'avait jamais pénétré dans la zone réglementée 1A.

V. ARGUMENTS DU MINISTRE

[27]     Le ministre plaide qu'il a démontré tous les éléments de l'infraction, soit que la porte 1A donne accès à une zone réglementée, qu'un contrôle se fait au moyen d'un laissez-passer et que, le matin de l'infraction, M. Falardeau a fait l'objet d'un contrôle par M. En Haili. Il soutient en outre que la preuve démontre que M. Falardeau n'avait pas de laissez-passer.

[28]     Selon le ministre, les agissements de M. Huntington constituent une contravention à l'article 40(b) du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne puisqu'il avait l'intention d'entrer dans la zone réglementée lorsqu'il s'est présenté à la guérite 1A, et ce, en dépit du fait qu'il l'ait ou non franchie.

VI. ARGUMENTS DU REQUÉRANT

[29]     M. Huntington plaide de son côté qu'il ignorait que M. Falardeau n'avait pas son laissez-passer, qu'il ne l'avait rencontré que le matin même et qu'il s'est fié à son employeur, représenté par M. Kontopoulos, pour qu'il lui fournisse un employé qui possédait le laissez-passer permettant d'accéder à la zone réglementée.

VII. ANALYSE

[30]     L'article 7.91(4) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique se lit comme suit :

(4) S'agissant d'une requête portant sur les faits reprochés, il incombe au ministre d'établir que l'intéressé a contrevenu au texte désigné.

[31]     L'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit ce qui suit :

8.5 Nul ne peut être reconnu coupable d'avoir contrevenu à la présente partie ou aux règlements, avis, arrêtés, mesures de sûreté et directives d'urgence pris sous son régime s'il a pris toutes les précautions voulues pour s'y conformer.

[32]     Le ministre se doit de prouver selon la prépondérance des probabilités chacun des éléments de l'infraction prévus à l'article 40(b) du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne.

[33]     Le témoignage du requérant rejoint le témoignage du témoin du ministre, M. En Haili, sur des points essentiels. À 7 h, le 31 octobre 2006, M. Huntington s'est présenté à la guérite 1A où travaille M. En Haili, accompagné de MM. Lapointe et Falardeau; ce dernier était à l'arrière dans le véhicule. Les photographies du véhicule montrent clairement qu'il n'y a que deux sièges à l'avant et aucun siège à l'arrière. Ainsi, une troisième personne doit par le fait même s'asseoir à l'arrière dans le véhicule où se trouvent l'outillage et l'équipement.

[34]     La preuve démontre de plus qu'une fois la fourgonnette arrivée à la guérite, M. En Haili a demandé s'il pouvait vérifier la partie arrière dans le véhicule, ce qu'il a fait après que la portière droite lui fut ouverte par un des passagers étant à l'intérieur. Après que M. En Haili eut constaté la présence de M. Falardeau et établi qu'il ne possédait aucun laissez-passer, celui-ci est descendu du véhicule du requérant et s'est dirigé vers la roulotte désignée afin d'obtenir le laissez-passer lui permettant d'accéder à la zone réglementée.

[35]     La preuve non contredite démontre donc clairement que M. Falardeau était à l'intérieur du véhicule du requérant jusqu'à la porte 1A, mais que suite à l'intervention de M. En Haili, il est descendu du véhicule et n'a jamais pénétré dans la zone réglementée en compagnie de M. Huntington.

[36]     Selon l'argumentation principale du ministre, à partir du moment où M. Huntington est arrivé à la guérite avec M. Falardeau dans son véhicule sans avoir un laissez-passer, le requérant s'est trouvé en contravention avec l'article 40(b) du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne.

[37]     Avec respect, le Tribunal est en désaccord avec une telle interprétation. Dans l'affaire R. c. Paul, [1982], 1 R.C.S. 621, [1982] A.C.S. no 32 au ¶ 25 (QL), le juge Lamer écrit que :

... lorsque l'on interprète une loi pénale, la règle est que si l'analyse révèle une véritable ambiguïté, celle-ci doit être résolue en donnant à la loi le sens le plus favorable aux personnes susceptibles d'encourir une peine.

[38]     Selon le Tribunal, un des éléments essentiels de l'infraction est le fait d'aider quelqu'un à entrer dans une zone réglementée. S'il y a une ambiguïté dans la rédaction de l'article 40(b) quant à la portée de l'expression «  aider à entrer dans une zone réglementée  », l'ambiguïté doit être interprétée en faveur du requérant. Si le législateur avait voulu prévoir le fait que c'était une infraction de se présenter à une guérite sans avoir un laissez-passer ou d'avoir comme passager quelqu'un n'ayant pas son laissez-passer, le règlement aurait été rédigé en conséquence. L'expression «  aider à entrer  » nécessite logiquement que quelqu'un entre dans une zone réglementée.

[39]     Dans les faits, le travail efficace et professionnel de M. En Haili le 31 octobre 2006, vers 7 h, a empêché qu'une infraction à l'article 40(b) du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne ne soit commise.

VIII. DÉCISION

[40]     Le ministre n'ayant pas réussi à prouver tous les éléments de l'infraction, le Tribunal renverse la décision du ministre et annule l'amende de 300 $ imposée au requérant, M. Huntington.

le 17 mai 2007

Me Howard M. Bruce
Conseiller