Decisions

CAT File No. W-1252-02
MoT File No. SAP-6504-P165214-27256

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Kenny Christiansen, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., c. A-2, s. 6.9
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c.2, s. 408(c)

Mitigating factors, Reduction of sanction, Expired Medical Certificate, CAD


Review Determination
Robert J. MacPherson


Decision: October 17, 1996

The allegation is upheld. Mr. Christiansen does not pose a threat to aviation safety and has no medical problems. There was no intent not to renew. Consequently the suspension is reduced from seventy days to seven days. Said suspension will begin on the fifteenth day following the service of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, October 8, 1996 at 10:00 hours, at Canada Place, in the city of Edmonton, Alberta.

At the outset of the Review Hearing, Mr. Stuffco stated that Mr. Christiansen admitted his Medical Certificate (formerly Licence Validation Certificate) was expired on the dates in question. He would only be arguing as to sanction.

NOTICE OF SUSPENSION

Pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to suspend the above indicated Canadian aviation document on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations, see Appendix 'A', attached.

APPENDIX 'A'

Count 1: It is alleged that on or about May 17, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

Count 2: It is alleged that on or about May 28, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

Count 3: It is alleged that on or about May 28, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

Count 4: It is alleged that on or about July 22, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

Count 5: It is alleged that on or about August 1, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

Count 6: It is alleged that on or about August 3, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

Count 7: It is alleged that on or about August 5, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

Count 8: It is alleged that on or about August 9, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

Count 9: It is alleged that on or about August 13, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

Count 10: It is alleged that on or about August 13, 1995, at or near Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, you flew as pilot of aircraft, Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, when your Licence Validation Certificate had expired on May 01, 1995, thereby contravening Section 408(c) of the Air Regulations.

Suspension assessed:7 days

The suspension comes into effect on the 12th day of April, 1996 and remains in effect until the 20th day of June, 1996.

Note: There are 10 violations in appendix 'A', each carrying a 7-day suspension for a total of 70 days suspension.

THE LAW

Paragraph 408(c) of the Air Regulations:

408. No person shall fly or attempt to fly as a flight crew member of an aircraft, or otherwise act or attempt to act in the capacity in which a licence issued or validated under this Part or a permit issued under this Part entitles him to act,

(...)

(c) after his permit or licence or the document validating his licence has been cancelled or has expired.

Personnel Licensing Handbook, Volume 1, CHAPTER 4 – PRIVATE PILOT LICENCE:

2. Medical Fitness and Revalidation

(...)

The normal medical validity period for the licence holder under 40 years of age is 24 months and for a licence holder 40 years of age or over, is 12 months.

EVIDENCE

Mr. R. (Rick) McFarlane, Regional Superintendent of Civil Aviation Enforcement was sworn. He testified that as a result of an incident which occurred near Wainwright, Alberta, he had occasion to investigate Mr. Christiansen's licence status.

Mr. Christiansen's Medical Certificate had expired May 1, 1995. He had flown 10 flights between the time the Medical Certificate expired and the time Mr. McFarlane brought the lack of a Medical Certificate to his attention.

Mr. Christiansen testified he turned 40 in 1992. Until that time he had renewed his Medical Certificate every 2 years as is required of a private pilot. He had no intention of flying without a Medical Certificate and had no record of medical problems. He testified he had no reason not to renew the Medical Certificate; it was simply an oversight. Mr. Christiansen has taken steps to ensure the yearly medical examination is performed in a timely manner in the future.

DISCUSSION

Mr. Christiansen admits he flew the 10 flights with an invalid Medical Certificate.

Mr. McFarlane stated the suspensions, 70 days, were the minimum as suggested in the Transport Canada Enforcement Manual.

Mr. Stuffco argued the purpose of the enforcement was to ensure safety and deterrence. He further argued that excessive enforcement caused resentment (quoting from Transport Canada Enforcement Manual).

Mr. Christiansen renewed his Medical Certificate within 5 days of being notified of the lapse. He admitted the oversight and took steps to ensure the offence does not recur in the future.

DETERMINATION

Mr. Christiansen admits the Medical Certificate had expired. Had he realized his oversight sooner, he would have remedied it at that time. He took immediate steps to reinstate his Medical Certificate after notification and does not pose a threat to aviation safety. He has no medical problems. There was no intent not to renew.

The suspension is reduced from 70 days to 7 days.

Robert MacPherson
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no W-1252-02 (TAC)
Dossier no SAP-6504-P165214-27256 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Kenny Christiansen, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C., chap. A-2, art. 6.9
Règlements de l'air, C.R.C. de 1978, chap. 2, al. 408c)

DAC, Considérations relatives à la sanction, Circonstances atténuantes, Licence expirée


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Robert J. MacPherson


Décision : le 17 octobre 1996

TRADUCTION

Le fait reproché est maintenu. M. Christiansen ne représente aucun danger pour la sécurité aéronautique et n'a aucun problème de nature médicale. Il n'avait pas l'intention de ne pas renouveler son certificat médical. En conséquence, la suspension est ramenée de soixante-dix jours à sept jours. Ladite suspension entrera en vigueur le quinzième jour suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 8 octobre 1996 à 10 h au Canada Place dans la ville d'Edmonton (Alberta).

Au début de l'audience en révision, Me Stuffco a déclaré que M. Christiansen reconnaissait que son certificat médical (auparavant le certificat de validation de licence) était échu aux dates en question. Ses arguments ne porteraient que sur la sanction.

AVIS DE SUSPENSION

En vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de suspendre votre document d'aviation canadien mentionné ci-dessus parce que vous avez contrevenu :

À l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air, voir annexe « A » ci-jointe.

ANNEXE « A »

Chef d'accusation no 1 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 17 mai 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée : 7 jours

Chef d'accusation no 2 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 28 mai 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée :7 jours

Chef d'accusation no 3 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 28 mai 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée : 7 jours

Chef d'accusation no 4 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 22 juillet 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée : 7 jours

Chef d'accusation no 5 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 1er août 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée : 7 jours

Chef d'accusation no 6 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 3 août 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée : 7 jours

Chef d'accusation no 7 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 5 août 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée : 7 jours

Chef d'accusation no 8 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 9 août 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée : 7 jours

Chef d'accusation no 9 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 13 août 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée : 7 jours

Chef d'accusation no 10 : Il est allégué que le ou vers le 13 août 1995, à Edmonton ou près de cet endroit, dans la province de l'Alberta, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada alors que votre certificat de validation de licence avait expiré le 1er mai 1995, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suspension imposée : 7 jours

La suspension entre en vigueur le 12e jour d'avril 1996 et le demeure jusqu'au 20e jour de juin 1996.

Remarque : L'annexe « A » comporte 10 infractions, chacune prévoyant une suspension de 7 jours, soit une suspension de 70 jours au total.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 408c) du Règlement de l'Air prévoit ce qui suit :

408. Nul ne pourra effectuer ou tenter d'effectuer un vol en tant que membre de l'équipage de conduite d'un aéronef, ni, de quelque autre façon que ce soit, exercer ou tenter d'exercer les privilèges que lui confère une licence délivrée ou validée en vertu de la présente partie, ou un permis délivré en vertu de ladite partie,

(...)

c) après l'annulation ou l'expiration de son permis ou de sa licence, ou du document validant sa licence.

Manuel de licences du personnel, volume 1, CHAPITRE 4 – LICENCE DE PILOTE PRIVÉ :

2.Aptitudes médicales et revalidation

(...)

Normalement, la période de validité médicale pour le titulaire d'une licence de moins de 40 ans est de 24 mois et est de 12 mois pour le titulaire d'une licence qui a 40 ans ou plus.

LA PREUVE

M. R. (Rick) McFarlane, surintendant régional de l'Application des règlements de l'aviation civile, est assermenté. Il a affirmé que suite à un incident survenu près de Wainwright en Alberta, il a eu à faire enquête relativement à la licence de M. Christiansen.

Le certificat médical de M. Christiansen avait expiré le 1er mai 1995. Il avait effectué 10 vols entre le moment où son certificat médical avait expiré et celui où M. McFarlane lui avait signalé qu'il ne détenait pas un certificat médical.

M. Christiansen a témoigné qu'il avait eu 40 ans en 1992. Jusqu'à ce moment, il avait renouvelé son certificat médical tous les deux ans tel qu'il est exigé dans le cas d'un pilote privé. Il n'avait aucunement l'intention de piloter sans un certificat médical et son dossier ne comportait aucune indication de problèmes de nature médicale. Il a témoigné qu'il n'avait aucune raison de ne pas renouveler son certificat médical; il s'agissait tout simplement d'un oubli. M. Christiansen a pris les mesures pour s'assurer que son examen médical annuel sera effectué de façon opportune à l'avenir.

DISCUSSION

M. Christiansen reconnaît qu'il a effectué 10 vols alors que son certificat médical avait expiré.

M. McFarlane a déclaré que les suspensions, soit 70 jours au total, constituaient la sanction minimale selon le Manuel des procédures d'application des règlements de Transports Canada.

Me Stuffco a soutenu que l'application de la loi avait pour objet de garantir la sécurité et de constituer un moyen de dissuasion. Il a soutenu en outre qu'une application excessive entraînait un ressentiment (toujours selon le Manuel des procédures d'application des règlements de Transports Canada).

M. Christiansen a renouvelé son certificat médical dans les cinq jours de la remise de l'avis d'expiration. Il a reconnu son erreur et a pris les mesures pour s'assurer que cette infraction ne se reproduise pas à l'avenir.

DÉCISION

M. Christiansen reconnaît que son certificat médical avait expiré. S'il s'était rendu compte de son erreur plus tôt, il aurait remédié à la situation dès ce moment. Il a pris des mesures immédiates pour renouveler son certificat médical après réception de l'avis et il ne représente aucun danger pour la sécurité aéronautique. Il n'a aucun problème de nature médicale. Il n'avait pas l'intention de ne pas renouveler son certificat médical.

La suspension est ramenée de 70 jours à 7 jours.

Robert MacPherson
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile