Decisions

CAT File No. W-1258-37
MoT File No. SAP-6504-Z-27823

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Kendy's Entreprises Ltd., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, ss 7.7, 8.4(1)
Airspace Structure, Classification and Use Regulations, SOR/93-458, s. 7(1)

Vicarious Liability, Flight In Class F Airspace


Review Determination
Robert J. MacPherson


Decision: October 17, 1996

I find the aircraft C-GPMQ was below 17,000 feet ASL and 2 km inside CYR 203. I find the registered owner of the aircraft, Kendy's Enterprises Ltd., is liable for this offence under subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act. The assessment of a monetary penalty of $500.00 is upheld. This amount, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, October 8, 1996 at 10:00 hours, at Canada Place, in the city of Edmonton, Alberta.

THE ALLEGATION

NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT OF MONETARY PENALTY

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

On or about September 6, 1995, at or near Wainwright, in the Province of Alberta, you, as registered owner, operated aircraft Cessna C414, Canadian registration marks C-GPMQ, within the Restricted Class F Airspace of Canadian Forces Base Wainwright when you were not authorized to do so by Base Operations Camp Wainwright, thereby contravening Section 7(1) of the Airspace Classification, Structure and Use Regulations.

PREAMBLE

A Cessna 414, registered as C-GPMQ, was approaching to land in Wainwright, Alberta, (CYWV) on September 6, 1995. The aircraft was observed by members of the Canadian Armed Forces, over the military base designated as CYR 203. CYR 203 is designated as Class F restricted airspace, requiring prior permission to overfly such airspace.

THE LAW

Section 7 of the Airspace Structure, Classification and Use Regulations reads:

7. (1) No person shall operate an aircraft in Class F Special Use Restricted airspace unless authorized to do so by the person specified for that purpose in the Designated Airspace Handbook.

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1), a person specified in the Designated Airspace Handbook may authorize the operation of an aircraft where activities on the ground or in the airspace are not hazardous to aircraft operating in that airspace and access by aircraft to that airspace does not jeopardize national security interests.

DESIGNATED AIRSPACE HANDBOOK
SEE APPENDIX "A"

THE EVIDENCE

Mr. R. (Rick) McFarlane of Transport Canada, Civil Aviation Enforcement was sworn and testified as to the following exhibits:

M-9 ENROUTE Low altitude map depicting the location of CYR 203.

M-10 Excerpts from the Designated Airspace Handbook effective 20 July 1995.

M-11 Airspace Structure, Classification and Use Regulations, subsections 7(1) and (2).

M-12 Lloydminster Flight Service Station report.

M-19 Section 8.4 of the Aeronautics Act.

There were other exhibits tendered and accepted that related to the ownership of the aircraft and the related correspondence from Transport Canada.

The witness Sergeant Andrew Wright was in the range control office when he heard an aircraft very low and noisy. He went outside, retrieved his binoculars from his vehicle and observed the aircraft. The aircraft was 1 km south and west of his location over a fuel depot, a landmark with which he is familiar. The wheels of the aircraft were down. The aircraft was flying slowly. He identified the call letters of the aircraft as C-GPMQ.

The fuel depot is approximately 1½ km inside CYR 203. The range control office is approximately 2 km from the end of Runway 11 at YVW (Wainwright, Alberta).

Mr. Kenny Christiansen testified he was co-pilot of the flight involved. His cousin Tim Christiansen was flying the aircraft. They approached YVW on a right base for Runway 11. Mr. Christiansen testified they were aware of the military base (CYR 203). There was nothing on the ground by which to determine where the base is located. Tim Christiansen was flying the aircraft with the owner's (Kendy's Enterprises) consent.

DISCUSSION OF THE EVIDENCE

There are two items to be dealt with.

1) Can the owner of the aircraft be proceeded against?

2) Was the aircraft over CYR 203 at less than 17,000 feet ASL (above sea level) ?

Can the owner of an aircraft be proceeded against?

Subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act.

The registered owner of an aircraft may be proceeded against in respect of and found to have committed an offence under this Part in relation to the aircraft for which another person is subject to be proceeded against unless, at the time of the offence, the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than the owner without the owner's consent and, where found to have committed the offence, the owner is liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor. (Emphasis added)

The evidence shows Kendy's Enterprises Ltd. to be the owner of the aircraft. Mr. Kenny Christiansen, the owner of Kendy's, testified his cousin Tim Christiansen was flying the aircraft with his consent. In fact the owner of Kendy's was in the right front seat of the aircraft during the flight in question.

I therefore find the aircraft was not in the possession of a person other than the owner, and the aircraft was operated with the owner's consent.

The allegation can proceed against the owner of the aircraft C-GPMQ, Kendy's Enterprises Ltd.

Was the aircraft over CYR 203 below 17,000 feet ASL?

CYR 203 is identified as Camp Wainwright, Alberta and is so designated on all aviation maps and publications. The designated altitude and time restrictions are to 17,000 feet ASL, continuous.

Sgt. Wright, the range control Non-commissioned Officer (NCO), at Camp Wainwright, Alberta, was in the Range Control Office at approximately 12:30 hours on September 6, 1995. He observed a light aircraft, twin engine, call letters C-GPMQ, beige in color, overfly Department of National Defence property West to East, and South of the range control office. The aircraft was at a low altitude. The aircraft was "low and slow enough to land"; the wheels were down. Three other Department of National Defence personnel observed the overflight (Exhibit M-20).

The aircraft at the time was in a landing configuration, Low, Slow, wheels down. I find the aircraft was under 17,000 feet ASL.

The range control officer, Sgt. Wright, was quite precise with regards to the shape (light twin engine aircraft), color (beige), call letters (C-GPMQ), speed, distance, direction and configuration (wheels down).

From his position at the range control office he was looking South and West and observed the aircraft over a fuel supply area which is known to him and marked on the map (Exhibit M-21).

The positive identification of the aircraft indicates it was very close to Sgt. Wright. The fuel supply area is 2 km inside the eastern border of CYR 203. The fuel depot is 1 to 1½ km from the range control office.

DETERMINATION

I find the aircraft C-GPMQ was below 17,000 feet ASL and 2 km inside CYR 203.

I find the registered owner of the aircraft, Kendy's Enterprises Ltd., is liable for this offence under subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act.

The assessment of a monetary penalty of $500.00 is upheld.

The Tribunal thanks Mr. Stuffco and Transport Canada for their clear and precise presentations in this matter.

Robert MacPherson
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no W-1258-37 (TAC)
Dossier no SAP-6504-Z-27823 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Kendy's Enterprises Ltd., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7 et par. 8.4(1)
Règlement sur la structure, la classification et l'utilisation de l'espace aérien, DORS/93-458, par. 7(1)

Vol dans un espace aérien de classe F, Responsabilité du fait d'autrui


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Robert J. MacPherson


Décision : le 17 octobre 1996

TRADUCTION

Je statue que l'aéronef C-GPMQ volait à une altitude inférieure à 17 000 pieds ASL et à 2 km à l'intérieur de CYR 203. Je statue que le propriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef, Kendy's Enterprises Ltd., a commis cette infraction en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. L'imposition d'une amende de 500 $ est maintenue. Cette somme est payable à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 8 octobre 1996 à 10 h au Canada Place dans la ville d'Edmonton (Alberta).

FAIT REPROCHÉ

AVIS D'AMENDE POUR CONTRAVENTION

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu à la disposition suivante :

Le ou vers le 6 septembre 1995, à Wainwright ou près de cet endroit, dans la province d'Alberta, vous, en tant que propriétaire enregistré, avez exploité l'aéronef Cessna C414 immatriculé C-GPMQ au Canada dans l'espace aérien de classe F de la base des Forces canadiennes Wainwright alors que vous n'étiez pas autorisé à le faire par les opérations de la base du camp Wainwright, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement sur la structure, la classification et l'utilisation de l'espace aérien.

PRÉAMBULE

Le 6 septembre 1995, un Cessna 414, immatriculé C-GPMQ, approchait en vue d'atterrir à Wainwright (Alberta) (CYWV). Des membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont remarqué que l'aéronef survolait la base militaire désignée CYR 203, qui est un espace aérien réglementé de classe F, ce qui signifie qu'il faut obtenir une permission préalablement pour survoler cet espace aérien.

LA LOI

L'article 7 du Règlement sur la structure, la classification et l'utilisation de l'espace aérien se lit comme suit :

7. (1) Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef dans l'espace aérien de classe F à statut spécial réglementé, à moins d'en avoir reçu l'autorisation de la personne indiquée dans le Manuel des espaces aériens désignés.

(2) Pour l'application du paragraphe (1), la personne indiquée dans le Manuel des espaces aériens désignés peut autoriser l'utilisation d'un aéronef lorsque les activités au sol ou dans l'espace aérien ne compromettent pas la sécurité des aéronefs utilisés dans cet espace aérien et que l'accès des aéronefs à cet espace aérien ne compromet pas la sécurité nationale.

MANUEL DES ESPACES AÉRIENS DÉSIGNÉS
VOIR L'ANNEXE «A»

LA PREUVE

M. R. (Rick) McFarlane de Transports Canada, Application des règlements de l'aviation civile, est assermenté et a témoigné relativement aux pièces suivantes :

M-9 Carte de radionavigation en route de l'espace inférieur décrivant l'emplacement de CYR 203.

M-10 Extraits du Manuel des espaces aériens désignés en vigueur le 20 juillet 1995.

M-11 Paragraphes 7(1) et (2) du Règlement sur la structure, la classification et l'utilisation de l'espace aérien.

M-12 Rapport de la station d'information de vol de Lloydminster.

M-19 Article 8.4 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

D'autres pièces ont été présentées et acceptées relativement aux titres de propriété de l'aéronef et à la correspondance connexe de Transports Canada.

Le témoin, le sergent Andrew Wright, se trouvait dans le poste de contrôle des champs de tir lorsqu'il a entendu un aéronef qui volait très bas et était bruyant. Il est sorti à l'extérieur, a récupéré ses jumelles dans son véhicule et a observé l'aéronef. L'aéronef se trouvait à 1 km au sud et à l'ouest de l'endroit où il se tenait, au-dessus d'une réserve de carburant, point de repère qu'il connaît bien. Les trains d'atterrissage de l'aéronef étaient sortis. L'aéronef volait à faible vitesse. Il a identifié les lettres d'appel de l'aéronef comme étant C-GPMQ.

La réserve de carburant est à environ 1½ km à l'intérieur de CYR 203. Le poste de contrôle des champs de tir se trouve à environ 2 km de la fin de la piste 11 de YVW (Wainwright en Alberta).

M. Kenny Christiansen a témoigné qu'il était copilote dans le cas du vol en question. Son cousin Tim Christiansen pilotait l'aéronef. Ils ont approché de YVW par la droite en direction de la piste 11. M. Christiansen a témoigné qu'ils connaissaient l'existence de la base militaire (CYR 203). Rien au sol leur permettait de déterminer l'endroit où se trouvait la base. Tim Christiansen pilotait l'aéronef avec l'accord du propriétaire (Kendy's Enterprises).

DISCUSSION DE LA PREUVE

Il faut répondre à deux questions.

1) Est-ce que le propriétaire de l'aéronef peut être poursuivi 

2) Est-ce que l'aéronef qui survolait CYR 203 était à une altitude inférieure à 17 000 pieds ASL (au-dessus du niveau de la mer) ?

Est-ce que le propriétaire d'un aéronef peut être poursuivi?

Paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

Lorsqu'une personne peut être poursuivie en raison d'une infraction à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application relative à un aéronef, le propriétaire enregistré peut être poursuivi et encourir la peine prévue, à moins que, lors de l'infraction, l'aéronef n'ait été en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du propriétaire. (Soulignement ajouté)

Les preuves démontrent que Kendy's Enterprises Ltd. est le propriétaire de l'aéronef. M. Kenny Christiansen, le propriétaire de Kendy's a témoigné que son cousin Tim Christiansen pilotait l'aéronef avec son consentement. En fait, le propriétaire de Kendy's était dans le siège avant droit de l'aéronef lors du vol en question.

Par conséquent, je statue que l'aéronef n'était pas en la possession d'une personne autre que le propriétaire et que l'aéronef était exploité avec le consentement du propriétaire.

On peut poursuivre le propriétaire de l'aéronef C-GPMQ, Kendy's Enterprises Ltd., pour le fait reproché.

Est-ce que l'aéronef qui survolait CYR 203 était à une altitude inférieure à 17 000 pieds ASL?

CYR 203 est identifié comme étant le camp Wainwright (Alberta) et est ainsi désigné dans toutes les publications et cartes d'aviation. Les interdictions quant à l'altitude désignée et à la période de temps sont de 17 000 pieds ASL, et ce, en tout temps.

Le sergent Wright, le sous-officier (s/off) contrôleur des champs de tir, du camp Wainwright (Alberta) se trouvait dans le poste de contrôle des champs de tir à environ 12 h 30 le 6 septembre 1995. Il a remarqué un aéronef léger, bimoteur, dont les lettres d'appel étaient C-GPMQ, de couleur beige, survolant la propriété du ministère de la Défense nationale d'ouest en est, et au sud du poste de contrôle des champs de tir. L'aéronef volait à basse altitude. L'aéronef volait bas et à une vitesse suffisamment lente pour atterrir; les trains étaient sortis. Trois autres membres du personnel du ministère de la Défense nationale ont observé le survol (pièce M-20).

À ce moment-là, la configuration de l'aéronef était en position d'atterrissage, basse altitude, vitesse faible, trains sortis. Je statue que l'aéronef volait à une altitude inférieure à 17 000 pieds ASL.

L'agent contrôleur des champs de tir, le sergent Wright, était passablement précis en ce qui concerne la forme (aéronef bimoteur léger), la couleur (beige), les lettres d'appel (C-GPMQ), la vitesse, la distance, la direction et la configuration (trains sortis).

De l'endroit où il se trouvait, dans le poste de contrôle des champs de tir, il regardait en direction sud et ouest et a observé l'aéronef qui survolait une réserve de carburant qu'il connaît et qui est repérée sur la carte (pièce M-21).

L'identification formelle de l'aéronef indique que ce dernier se trouvait très près de l'endroit où se tenait le sergent Wright. La réserve de carburant est à 2 km à l'intérieur de la limite est de CYR 203. La réserve de carburant se trouve à 1½ km du poste de contrôle des champs de tir.

DÉCISION

Je statue que l'aéronef C-GPMQ volait à une altitude inférieure à 17 000 pieds ASL et à 2 km à l'intérieur de CYR 203.

Je statue que le propriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef, Kendy's Enterprises Ltd., a commis cette infraction en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

L'imposition d'une amende de 500,00 $ est maintenue.

Le Tribunal remercie Me Stuffco et Transports Canada de leurs présentations claires et précises relativement à la présente audience.

Robert MacPherson
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile