Decisions

CAT File No. W-1381-41
MoT File No. SAP-6504-C6556-28691

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

West Point School of Aviation Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s.7.7, 8(b)
Air Navigation Orders, VII, No.3, s.48(3)(a)

Pilot Qualifications


Review Determination
William C. Pearson, Q.C.


Decision: April 18, 1997

On the basis of the evidence, I uphold the Minister's allegations. I reduce each of 14 counts from $500.00 to $250.00 for a total of $3,500.00. This amount is to be paid to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days following service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above two matters was held April 8, 1997 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, in Calgary, Alberta.

BACKGROUND

The parties agreed that the Minister would present all the evidence for both files, subject to cross-examination of each witness by the Respondent and reexamination by the Minister.

The Respondent then advised that it was satisfied with disclosure. The Minister's representative then moved a series of amendments of which notification had been made. These were unopposed and allowed. In addition, amendments were moved to strike paragraph "7.3(1)(a)" and replace it with subsection "7.6(2)" in the allegations specified in CAT File No. W-1380-41. These amendments were allowed.

Mr. John McIntee, the Case Presenter for West Point School of Aviation Inc. (West Point), advised the Tribunal that he was not contesting the contraventions alleged by the Minister, but rather wished to explain how these matters happened.

With regard to the allegations in CAT File No. W-1380-41, the modifications were, in the opinion of expert witness David Damont Austen, an aeronautics engineer, of a major classification. Therefore, the modifications were required to be approved as they affected the certificate of airworthiness, and under its terms revoked the said certificate. Mr. McIntee produced James Gilbert Thomas, AMO, who had declared the installations to be a minor modification and hence did not affect the certificate of airworthiness. In the final analysis the Minister, although the AMO may have the authority to make the decision, has the final decision. Accordingly I must, on the basis of the evidence, find these contraventions proven.

With regard to the contraventions alleged in CAT File No. W-1381-41, there are fourteen counts alleging that John Robert McIntee operated as a commercial pilot, when he held only a private pilot licence. At the time he made the flights, he was probably entitled to do so, but when he demanded payment by invoice No. AW6 (Exhibit M-7) of West Point, he came within the definition of "commercial" within the Act. While this invoice was never paid nor entered on the books of West Point, it changed the requirement of his licence from private pilot to commercial pilot, and hence the fourteen counts alleged by the Minister are confirmed.

There remains only the question of sanction to be considered. In reviewing the evidence I am persuaded that the Respondent did not at any time knowingly contravene the regulations, but through obtaining bad advice that the modifications were minor and an invoice issued in anger, the Respondent finds itself owing $9,000.00 in penalties.

The Aeronautics Act provides in paragraph 8(b) that the member of the Tribunal may determine the amount of the penalty. Accordingly, in CAT File No. W-1380-41, I reduce each of 2 counts from $1,000.00 to $500.00 for a total of $1,000.00. In CAT File No. W-1381-41, I reduce each of 14 counts from $500.00 to $250.00 for a total of $3,500.00, leaving a total of $4,500.00 to be paid to the Tribunal by the Respondent.

W.C. Pearson
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no W-1381-41 (TAC)
Dossier no SAP-6504-C6556-28691 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

West Point School of Aviation Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 7.7, 8b)
Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, no 3, art. 48(3)a)

Qualifications de pilote


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William C. Pearson, Q.C.


Décision : le 18 avril 1997

TRADUCTION

Compte tenu de la preuve, je maintiens les faits reprochés par le ministre. Je réduis chacune des 14 amendes de 500,00 $ à 250,00 $, représentant 3 500,00 $ au total. Le montant doit être payé au Receveur général du Canada et parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative aux deux affaires en rubrique a été tenue le 8 avril 1997 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada de Calgary (Alberta).

HISTORIQUE

Les parties ont convenu que le ministre présenterait toute la preuve des deux dossiers, sous réserve d'un contre-interrogatoire de chaque témoin par l'intimé et d'un réinterrogatoire par le ministre.

L'intimé a alors déclaré qu'il était satisfait de la divulgation. Le représentant du ministre a ensuite proposé une série de modifications sur lesquelles on avait déjà présenté un avis. Il n'y a pas eu d'opposition et elles ont été acceptées. De plus, on a proposé d'éliminer l'alinéa « 7.3(1)a) » et de le remplacer par le paragraphe « 7.6(2) » dans les faits reprochés mentionnés au dossier no W-1380-41 (TAC). Les modifications ont été acceptées.

M. John McIntee, chargé de présenter le cas au nom West Point School of Aviation Inc. (West Point), a informé le Tribunal qu'il ne contestait pas les contraventions reprochées par le ministre mais qu'il souhaitait expliquer la façon dont les choses s'étaient déroulées.

En ce qui concerne les faits reprochés au dossier no W-1380-41 (TAC), les modifications étaient de nature majeure, de l'avis du témoin expert David Damont Austen, aéronauticien. Par conséquent, elles devaient être approuvées puisqu'elles avaient un effet sur le certificat de navigabilité et, en vertu des termes mêmes dudit certificat, le révoquaient. M. McIntee a présenté James Gilbert Thomas, OMA qui avait déclaré que les installations étaient une modification mineure et n'avaient par conséquent pas d'effet sur le certificat de navigabilité. En dernière analyse, bien que l'OMA ait le pouvoir de prendre la décision, le ministre peut prendre la décision finale. Par conséquent, compte tenu de la preuve, j'estime que les contraventions ont été démontrées.

En ce qui concerne les faits reprochés au dossier no W-1381-41 (TAC), il y a quatorze chefs d'accusation portant sur le fait que John Robert McIntee a agi à titre de pilote professionnel alors qu'il ne détenait qu'une licence de pilote privé. Au moment des vols, il avait probablement le droit de le faire mais lorsqu'il a exigé le paiement de ses services par la facture no AW6 (pièce M-7) de West Point, il se classait dans la catégorie de « professionnel » aux termes de la Loi. Bien que cette facture n'ait jamais été acquittée ni inscrite aux livres de West Point, elle changeait la catégorie de licence qui s'imposait de pilote privé à pilote professionnel. Par conséquent, les quatorze chefs d'accusation reprochés par le ministre sont confirmés.

Il reste à examiner la question de la sanction. En réexaminant la preuve, je suis persuadé que l'intimé n'a en aucun cas sciemment enfreint le règlement mais qu'après avoir été mal informé et avoir crû que les modifications étaient mineures, une facture a été émise sous le coup de la colère. L'intimé se voit par conséquent imposer une amende de 9 000,00 $.

La Loi sur l'aéronautique stipule à l'alinéa 8b) que le conseiller du Tribunal peut déterminer le montant de l'amende. Par conséquent, dans le dossier no W-1380-41(TAC), je réduis chacune des deux amendes de 1 000,00 $ à 500,00 $, ce qui donne un total de 1 000,00 $. Dans le dossier no W-1381-41 (TAC), je réduis chacune des 14 amendes de 500,00 $ à 250,00 $, ce qui donne un total de 3 500,00 $. Le total à payer au Tribunal par l'intimé s'élève donc à 4 500,00 $.

W.C. Pearson
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile