Decisions

TATC File No. W-2606-41
MoT File No. SAP-5504-46746 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Westpoint School of Aviation Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 605.84(1)(b) and 706.02(b)


Review Determination
E. David Dover


Decision: August 5, 2003

The Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, and Westpoint School of Aviation Inc. has admitted to contravening paragraphs 605.84(1)(b) and 706.02(b) of the CARs. Because of mitigating circumstances, I reduce the Minister's sanctions to $3,500. on each violation for a total of $7,000.00. This amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, April 23, 2003 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Calgary, Alberta.

Both the Applicant and the Respondent reported that there were no agreements between the parties.

The Minister made an application to amend the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty to change the name of the document holder from "Westpoint School of Aviation Ltd." to "Westpoint School of Aviation Inc."

As there was no prejudice to, or objection from the document holder, the application to amend was granted.

BACKGROUND

The Minister alleges the following:

OFFENCE #1 – CARs 605.84(1)(b)

In that on or between the 29th day of January 2002 and the 7th day of February 2002, you did permit a take-off in an aircraft, to wit a Cessna 172R, Canadian registration C-FBDH, which was in your legal custody and control, when the said aircraft was not maintained in accordance with the requirements of an airworthiness directive issued by the Minister pursuant to section 593.02 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, more specifically, failed to insure that airworthiness directive CF-90-03R2 Exhaust Type Cabin and Cockpit Heaters was completed, a violation of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

MONETARY PENALTY – $5,000.00

OFFENCE #2 – CARs 706.02(b)

In that on or between the 2nd day of July 2001 and the 23rd day of August 2001, you did operate an aircraft, to wit a Piper PA-30, Canadian registration C­-FUSF, when the said aircraft was not maintained in accordance with a maintenance control system that was described in the air operator's maintenance control manual (MCM) required by section 706.08 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, more specifically, on or about the 2nd day of July, 2001 defect "#2 H.S.I. Heading and Glideslope flag constantly" was not recorded in the master defect control sheet as per section 14(1) of the MCM, nor is it deferred as per 14(4) of the MCM, a violation of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

MONETARY PENALTY – $5,000.00

OPENING STATEMENTS

Mr. Paulhus stated that he would call one witness, Terry Owen.

Mr. John McIntee appearing for the document holder stated that he was not disputing the charges and allegations levied against Westpoint School of Aviation Inc. [hereinafter Westpoint] but rather wished to have the sanctions reduced. He further stated that Transport Canada had been most helpful in assisting him complete his paperwork and that in fact he had grounded his aircraft until all deficiencies were corrected.

FOR THE APPLICANT — The Minister of Transport

The case presenting officer, Mr. Mitch Paulhus, called Mr. Terry Owen who was sworn.

Transport Canada employs Mr. Owen as a civil aviation inspector in Edmonton, Alberta. In support of his evidence Mr. Owen submitted eighteen (18) exhibits marked M-1 to M-18. These documents cover the following items:

  • The Law
  • Maintenance schedules
  • Technical logs, C-FBDH and C-FUSF
  • Certificate of registration
  • Maintenance control manual
  • Certificate of airworthiness, C-FBDH and C-FUSF

Exhibit M-18

Mr. Paulhus stated that an informal telephone meeting was held on August 28, 2002 between Mr. J. P. Stewart of Transport Canada and Mr. John McIntee representing Westpoint. Mr. McIntee was informed by Transport Canada that all informal telephone calls and written agreements held prior to the actual hearing were to be considered "Without Prejudice".

As a result none of the items discussed by telephone or outlined in Exhibit M-18 will be considered in the determination.

FOR THE DOCUMENT HOLDER — Mr. John McIntee

Mr. McIntee testified that he was the sole shareholder and operations manager of Westpoint. He stated that he and his firm had contravened both sections of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) as charged.

He further stated that he had not been keeping up with the logs and maintenance records of the aircraft as he had delegated these functions to another corporation. He indicated that business volumes were down, costs rising and he was short of funds to pay the sanctions.

As there was no further evidence the evidentiary record was closed.

ANALYSIS

Mr. McIntee on behalf of Westpoint through opening statements, oral sworn testimony and closing arguments admits to violating Offence # 1 – CARs 605.84(1)(b) and Offence #2 – CARs 706.02(b).

In hearing the testimony of Mr. Owen and analyzing the exhibits I am convinced that Transport Canada inspectors conducted a fair and thorough investigation.

It was apparent through testimony that Mr. McIntee exhibited a high "degree of cooperation with authorities" and there are mitigating circumstances for reducing the sanctions, as outlined in the Appeal Determination of Minister of Transport v. Kurt William Wyer, TATC File No. O-0075-33.

DETERMINATION

The Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, and Westpoint School of Aviation Inc. has admitted to contravening paragraphs 605.84(1)(b) and 706.02(b) of the CARs. Because of mitigating circumstances, I reduce the Minister's sanctions to $3,500. on each violation for a total of $7,000.00.

E. David Dover
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no W-2606-41 (TATC)
Dossier no SAP-5504-46746 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Westpoint School of Aviation Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 605.84(1)b) et 706.02(b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
E. David Dover


Décision : le 5 août 2003

TRADUCTION

Le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, les infractions aux alinéas 605.84(1)b) et 706.02b) du RAC et Westpoint School of Aviation Inc. a admis les avoir commises. En raison de circonstances atténuantes, je réduis les amendes du ministre à 3 500 $ pour chaque infraction, soit à un total de 7 000 $. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision de l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 23 avril 2003 à 10 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Calgary (Alberta).

Le requérant et l'intimée ont déclaré qu'il n'y avait eu aucune entente entre les parties.

Le ministre a fait une demande pour modifier l'Avis d'amende pour contravention et remplacer le nom du titulaire d'un document « Westpoint School of Aviation Ltd. » par « Westpoint School of Aviation Inc. ».

Étant donné que la modification ne causait aucun préjudice au titulaire d'un document et que celui-ci ne s'y est pas objecté, la demande de modification a été accordée.

HISTORIQUE

Le ministre allègue ce qui suit :

INFRACTION No 1 – RAC 605.84(1)b)

Le ou entre le 29 janvier 2002 et le 7 février 2002, vous avez effectivement permis le décollage d'un aéronef, soit un Cessna 172R, portant l'immatriculation canadienne C-FBDH, dont vous aviez la garde et la responsabilité légales alors que la maintenance dudit aéronef n'était pas effectuée conformément à une consigne de navigabilité délivrée par le ministre en vertu de l'article 593.02 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, plus particulièrement, vous ne vous êtes pas assuré que la consigne de navigabilité CF-90-03R2 concernant la cabine de type Exhaust et les chaufferettes de la cabine de pilotage soit appliquée, en contravention au Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

AMENDE – 5 000 $

INFRACTION No 2 – RAC 706.02b)

Le ou entre le 2 juillet 2001 et le 23 août 2001, vous avez utilisé un aéronef, soit un Piper PA-30, portant l'immatriculation canadienne C-FUSF, alors que la maintenance dudit aéronef n'était pas exécutée conformément au système de contrôle de la maintenance figurant dans le manuel de contrôle de la maintenance (MCM) de l'exploitant aérien exigé par l'article 706.08 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, plus particulièrement, le ou vers le 2 juillet 2001, l'anomalie « no 2 H.S.I. l'indicateur de cap et d'alignement de descente clignote constamment » n'a ni été consignée parmi les défectuosités majeures sur la feuille de contrôle conformément à l'article 14(1) du MCM, ni été reportée conformément à 14(4) du MCM, en contravention au Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

AMENDE – 5 000 $

DÉCLARATIONS PRÉLIMINAIRES

M. Paulhus a déclaré qu'il appellerait un témoin, Terry Owen.

M. John McIntee a alors comparu pour le titulaire d'un document et a déclaré qu'il ne contestait pas les chefs d'accusation ni les allégations portées contre Westpoint School of Aviation Inc. [ci-après Westpoint] mais qu'il souhaitait que les amendes soient réduites. Il a de plus déclaré que Transports Canada l'avait beaucoup aidé à s'acquitter des formalités administratives et que dans les faits, il avait immobilisé l'aéronef jusqu'à ce que toutes les anomalies soient corrigées.

POUR LE REQUÉRANT — Le ministre des Transports

L'agent de présentation de cas, M. Mitch Paulhus, a appelé M. Terry Owen qui a été assermenté. M. Owen travaille chez Transports Canada à titre d'inspecteur de l'aviation civile à Edmonton (Alberta). À l'appui de son témoignage, M. Owen a présenté dix-huit (18) pièces déposées sous la cote M-1 à M-18. Ces documents portent sur les éléments suivants :

  • la loi
  • les calendriers de maintenance
  • les carnets techniques des C-FBDH et C-FUSF
  • le certificat d'immatriculation
  • le manuel de contrôle de la maintenance
  • les certificats de navigabilité des C-FBDH et C-FUSF

Pièce M-18

M. Paulhus a déclaré que le 28 août 2002, il y avait eu une conférence téléphonique informelle entre M. J. P. Stewart de Transports Canada et M. John McIntee, représentant de Westpoint. Transports Canada a informé M. McIntee que tous les appels téléphoniques informels et les ententes écrites qui avaient lieu avant l'audience actuelle ne portaient pas atteinte à ses droits.

En conséquence, aucun des éléments discutés par téléphone ou mentionnés à la pièce M-18 n'influeront sur la décision.

POUR LE TITULAIRE D'UN DOCUMENT — M. John McIntee

M. McIntee a témoigné qu'il était l'unique actionnaire et gestionnaire des opérations de Westpoint. Il a déclaré que son entreprise et lui avaient contrevenu aux deux articles du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), conformément aux allégations.

Il a de plus déclaré qu'il n'avait pas conservé les livres de bord et de maintenance de l'aéronef puisqu'il avait délégué ces fonctions à une autre entreprise. Il a indiqué que son volume d'activités était à la baisse, ses frais en hausse et qu'il était à court d'argent pour payer les amendes.

Étant donné qu'il n'y avait pas d'autre élément de preuve, l'inscription de la preuve a pris fin.

ANALYSE

M. McIntee, au nom de Westpoint, admet l'infraction au chef no 1, – l'alinéa 605.84(1)b) du RAC et au chef no 2 – l'alinéa 706.02b) du RAC, par le biais de sa déclaration préliminaire, de son témoignage oral et de son plaidoyer final.

Après avoir entendu le témoignage de M. Owen et analysé les pièces, je suis convaincu que les inspecteurs de Transports Canada ont effectué une enquête juste et approfondie.

Le témoignage révélait manifestement que M. McIntee a fait preuve d'un grand « degré de coopération avec les autorités » et il y a des circonstances atténuantes pour réduire les amendes, ainsi qu'il en est fait mention dans la décision à la suite d'un appel du Ministre des Transports c. Kurt William Wyer, dossier no O-0075-33 (TAC).

DÉCISION

Le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, les infractions aux alinéas 605.84(1)b) et 706.02b) du RAC et Westpoint School of Aviation Inc. a admis les avoir commises. En raison de circonstances atténuantes, je réduis les amendes du ministre à 3 500 $ pour chaque contravention, soit à un total de 7 000 $.

E. David Dover
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada