Decisions

TATC File No. W-2979-33
MoT File No. SAP-5504-52310 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Ralph Emsland, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.86(1)(b) and 605.93(1)(b)


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: November 23, 2004

Offence #1: I confirm the Minister's finding that the cargo and equipment on board the subject aircraft was not secured as required by paragraph 602.86(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and confirm the monetary penalty of $250.00.

Offence #2: As it has not been proven that Mr. Emsland made the subject entry or that he was the pilot-in-command, the charge with respect to paragraph 605.93(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations is dismissed.

The amount of $250.00 is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Tribunal within thirty-five days following service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Monday, November 8, 2004 at 10:30 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Edmonton, Alberta.

MOTION

At the outset of the hearing the Minister moved to amend the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty by changing the date of the alleged offence from October 16, 2003 to October 6, 2003. The amendment was to correct a typographical error. The Minister had provided the document holder with reasonable notice of the proposed amendment.

In the circumstances the motion to amend was granted.

BACKGROUND

On October 6, 2003, Ralph James Emsland conducted a test flight on a Piper Cheyenne PA -31T Canadian registered C-GVKA at the Edmonton City Centre Airport. On landing, Inspectors Hewitt and Duhoux carried out a ramp inspection that resulted in the two charges.

Offence #1 - CARs 602.86(1)(b)

The Minister alleged that Ralph James Emsland operated an aircraft when equipment and cargo were not restrained thus committing a violation of paragraph 602.86(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

EVIDENCE

Mr. Emsland admitted that he was the pilot-in-command of C-GVKA during the October 6, 2003 flight at the Edmonton City Centre Airport.

Inspector Duhoux testified that he saw the subject aircraft land and taxi to a stop and that upon looking inside the aircraft immediately after the aircraft came to a stop he observed cargo that was not tied down. In particular an open plastic tub containing parts was on a seat and not secured. Two file boxes containing manuals and parts were on the floor and a commissary / bulkhead that was not secure. Mr. Duhoux said he reached in and was able to move the bulkhead and from that determined that it was not secured. Inspector Hewitt made similar observations but made no attempt to move the bulkhead. Neither Inspector Hewitt nor Inspector Duhoux entered the aircraft.

Mr. Emsland in his defence stated that the file boxes were wedged between the seat rails and the side of the aircraft and were therefore secure. He implied that the bulkhead was secure and that Inspector Duhoux moving it side to side did not prove that it was not secured. He did not indicate how or if the bulkhead was secured. He made no mention of the plastic tub.

THE LAW

Paragraph 602.86(1)(b) of the CARs:

602.86 (1) No person shall operate an aircraft with carry-on baggage, equipment or cargo on board, unless the carry-on baggage, equipment and cargo are

(a) stowed in a bin, compartment, rack or other location that is certified in accordance with the aircraft type certificate in respect of the stowage of carry-on baggage, equipment or cargo; or

(b) restrained so as to prevent them from shifting during movement of the aircraft on the surface and during take-off, landing and in-flight turbulence.

DISCUSSION

The regulation requiring that cargo and equipment in an aircraft be restrained is directly related to safety. To meet the requirements of the regulation the cargo or equipment must be restrained from movement in any direction. The plastic tub was not restrained. The file boxes were jammed between seat rails. Even if this procedure restrained the cargo from movement fore and aft and side to side (which I doubt) it did not restrain vertical movement. I accept the Minister's evidence that the commissary / bulkhead moved when he tested it for security. The requirements as set out in the CARs were not met. A determination that turbulence is not forecast does not relieve a pilot-in-command from the obligation to see that his cargo is restrained as required by the CARs.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the Minister's finding that the cargo and equipment on board the subject aircraft was not secured as required by the CARs and confirm the monetary penalty of $250.00.

Offence #2 - CARs 605.93(1)(b)

The Minister alleges that on or about July 16, 2003 Ralph James Emsland made an entry in the journey log book of aircraft C-GVKA and did not sign the log book.

EVIDENCE

A copy of the log book was admitted into evidence as Exhibit M-1. It shows an entry for a flight on July 16, 2003 from Calgary to Edmonton. The same entry shows Emsland/Bourne as the names of the crew. Mr. Emsland stated that he did not make the entry in the journey log, further commenting that the entry was not his handwriting. He was not asked if he knew who made the entry or if he was the pilot-in-command on the flight in question. There is no other evidence to prove that he was the pilot-in-command.

DISCUSSION

The fact that some unidentified person made an entry in a log book that names Mr. Emsland and suggests he was the pilot-in-command does not make it so. Unless he was in fact the pilot-in-command he is not responsible for the entry in the log book.

DETERMINATION

As it has not been proven that Mr. Emsland made the subject entry or that he was the pilot-in-command the charge is dismissed.

William T. Tweed
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no W-2979-33 (TATC)
Dossier no SAP-5504-52310 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Ralph Emsland, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.86(1)b) et 605.93(1)b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 23 novembre 2004

TRADUCTION

Infraction no 1 : Je confirme la conclusion du ministre selon laquelle le fret et l'équipement à bord de l'aéronef en question n'étaient pas sécurisés tel que le prescrit l'alinéa 602.86(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et l'amende de 250 $.

Infraction no 2 : Étant donné qu'il n'a pas été prouvé que M. Emsland a fait l'inscription en question ni qu'il était commandant de bord, le chef d'accusation concernant l'alinéa 605.93(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien est rejeté.

Le montant de 250 $ est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les trente-cinq jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire citée en rubrique a été tenue le lundi 8 novembre 2004 à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Edmonton (Alberta).

REQUÊTE

Dès le début de l'audience, le ministre a demandé une modification à l'Avis d'amende pour contravention pour changer la date de la présumée infraction du 16 octobre 2003 au 6 octobre 2003. La modification visait à corriger une erreur typographique. Le ministre avait fourni un avis raisonnable de la modification proposée au titulaire de document.

Dans les circonstances, la requête de modification a été accordée.

HISTORIQUE

Le 6 octobre 2003, Ralph James Emsland a effectué un vol d'essai sur un Piper Cheyenne PA-31T portant l'immatriculation canadienne C-GVKA au Edmonton City Centre Airport. À l'atterrissage, les inspecteurs Hewitt et Duhoux ont effectué une inspection sur l'aire de trafic qui a donné lieu aux deux chefs d'accusation.

Infraction no 1 - RAC 602.86(1)b)

Le ministre a allégué que Ralph James Emsland avait utilisé un aéronef alors que l'équipement et le fret n'étaient pas retenus, d'où l'infraction à l'alinéa 602.86(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

LA PREUVE

M. Emsland a admis qu'il était commandant de bord du C-GVKA au moment du vol du 6 octobre 2003 au Edmonton City Centre Airport.

L'inspecteur Duhoux a témoigné qu'il avait vu l'aéronef en question atterrir et circuler jusqu'à l'arrêt et lorsqu'il a regardé à l'intérieur de l'aéronef immédiatement après que l'aéronef soit arrêté, il a remarqué que le fret n'était pas arrimé. Plus particulièrement, une cuve ouverte en plastique contenant des pièces était sur un siège et n'était pas fixée. Deux boîtes-classeurs contenant des manuels et des pièces étaient sur le sol, de même qu'une cloison / commissariat qui n'était pas sécurisée. M. Duhoux a dit qu'il a eu accès à l'intérieur et qu'il a pu déplacer la cloison, ce qui lui a permis de déterminer qu'elle n'était pas fixée. L'inspecteur Hewitt a fait des remarques similaires mais n'a pas tenté de déplacer la cloison. Ni l'inspecteur Hewitt, ni l'inspecteur Duhoux ne sont entrés dans l'aéronef.

Dans sa défense, M. Emsland a déclaré que les boîtes-classeurs étaient coincées entre les sillages des sièges et le côté de l'aéronef et qu'elles étaient donc fixées. Il a laissé entendre que la cloison était fixée et que le fait que l'inspecteur Duhoux l'ait déplacée d'un côté à l'autre ne prouvait pas qu'elle n'était pas fixée. Il n'a pas indiqué de quelle façon ni si la cloison était fixée. Il n'a aucunement mentionné la cuve de plastique.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 602.86(1)b) du RAC :

602.86 (1) il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef ayant des bagages de cabine, de l'équipement ou du fret à bord, à moins que ces bagages de cabine, cet équipement ou ce fret ne soient :

a) soit rangés dans un bac, un compartiment ou un espace certifié pour le rangement des bagages de cabine, de l'équipement ou du fret aux termes du certificat de type de l'aéronef;

b) soit retenus de façon à prévenir leur déplacement pendant le mouvement de l'aéronef à la surface, le décollage, l'atterrissage et la turbulence en vol.

DISCUSSION

Le règlement qui prescrit que le fret et l'équipement doivent être retenus dans un aéronef relève directement de la sécurité. Pour respecter ces exigences du règlement, il faut que le fret ou l'équipement soient empêchés de bouger dans quelque direction que ce soit. La cuve de plastique n'était pas fixée. Les boîtes-classeurs étaient coincées entre les sillages des sièges. Même si cette procédure arrimait le fret en ce qui a trait aux mouvements avant et arrière et latéraux (ce dont je doute), elle n'empêchait pas les mouvements verticaux. J'accepte la preuve du ministre selon laquelle la cloison / commissariat bougeait lorsqu'il l'a vérifiée pour s'assurer de sa sécurité. Les exigences prévues au RAC n'étaient pas respectées. Une analyse qui prévoit une absence de turbulence ne dispense pas un commandant de bord de l'obligation de voir à ce que son fret soit retenu tel que le prescrit le RAC.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la conclusion du ministre selon laquelle le fret et l'équipement à bord de l'aéronef en question n'étaient pas fixés conformément au RAC et je confirme l'amende de 250 $.

Infraction no 2 - RAC 605.93(1)b)

Le ministre allègue que le ou vers le 16 juillet 2003, Ralph James Emsland a effectué une inscription dans le carnet de route de l'aéronef C-GVKA et n'a pas signé le carnet.

LA PREUVE

Une copie du carnet a été admise en preuve à la pièce M-1. L'inscription indique un vol, le 16 juillet 2003, de Calgary à Edmonton. La même inscription indique que les noms des membres de l'équipage étaient Emsland et Bourne. M. Emsland a déclaré qu'il n'a pas effectué l'inscription dans le carnet de route; de plus, il a signalé que l'inscription n'était pas son écriture. On ne lui a pas demandé s'il savait qui avait fait l'inscription ou s'il était commandant de bord du vol en question. Il n'y a pas eu d'autre preuve pour démontrer qu'il était commandant de bord.

DISCUSSION

Le fait qu'une personne non identifiée ait effectué une inscription dans un carnet où on trouve le nom de M. Emsland comme commandant de bord ne permet pas de conclure qu'il l'était. À moins qu'il n'ait effectivement été commandant de bord, il ne peut être responsable de l'inscription au carnet.

DÉCISION

Étant donné qu'il n'a pas été prouvé que M. Emsland a effectué l'inscription en question ou qu'il était commandant de bord, le chef d'accusation est rejeté.

William T. Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada