Decisions

TATC File No. Q-3361-41

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

2431-9154 Québec Inc., Applicant

- and -

Minister of Tranport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations 703.86


Review Determination
Suzanne Racine


Decision: January 10, 2008

Citation: 2431-9154 Québec Inc. v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2008 TATCE 2 (review)

Heard at Sept-Îles, Quebec, on November 8, 2007

Held: Based on circumstances specific to this matter, the $5 000 penalty assessed by the Minister of Transport is reduced to $2 500. The total amount of the penalty, i.e. $2 500, is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within 35 days of the service of this determination.

1. BACKGROUND

[1] On April 2, 2007, the Minister of Transport served the applicant, 2431‑9154 Québec Inc., doing business as Sept-Îles Aviation Enr., with a notice of assessment of penalty in the amount of $5 000, pursuant to section 7.7(1) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A‑2 (Act), for allegedly contravening section 703.86 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433 (CARs).

[2] The Minister alleges that the applicant did the following:

[translation]

You have contravened section 703.86 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

On or about November 20, 2006, at approximately 12:00 UTC, in the vicinity of Rivière aux Saumons, Quebec, as an air operator you operated an aircraft with passengers on board in IFR flight with fewer than two pilots, failing to comply with the Commercial Air Service Standards, namely that the pilot, Christophe Vallantin, had not passed a single-pilot proficiency check.

Penalty: $5 000

[3] The applicant admits the facts alleged above. However, it is contesting the penalty of $5 000, which it considers to be excessive, and is asking that it be reduced.

II. LAW

[4] Section 7.7(1) of the Act provides as follows:

7.7 (1) If the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister may decide to assess a monetary penalty in respect of the alleged contravention, in which case the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the person at their latest known address, notify the person of his or her decision.

[5] Section 703.86 of the CARs reads as follows:

703.86 No air operator shall operate an aircraft with passengers on board in IFR flight with fewer than two pilots unless the air operator

(a) is authorized to do so in its air operator certificate; and

(b) complies with the Commercial Air Service Standards.

[6] Section 723.86 of the Commercial Air Service Standards (Standards) reads as follows:

Single Pilot IFR Requirements

The standard for the operation of an aeroplane with passengers on board in IFR flight without a second-in-command is:

(1) the pilot shall have a minimum of 1000 hours of flight time which shall include, if the type to be flown is multi-engined, 100 hours on multi-engined aeroplanes. In addition, the pilot shall have 50 hours of simulated or actual flight in IMC, and a total of 50 hours flight time on the aeroplane type;

(2) the Pilot Proficiency Check shall be in the aeroplane type flown or if applicable in one of the types grouped for Pilot Proficiency Check renewals and shall include the following:

(a) knowledge of the auto-pilot operations and limitations;

(b) performance of normal and emergency procedures without assistance;

(c) passenger briefing with respect to emergency evacuation; and

(d) demonstration of the use of the auto-pilot during appropriate phases of flight;

(3) flight in pressurized aeroplanes shall be conducted at or below FL 250; and

(4) a pilot's single pilot proficiency, if still valid, is transferable between air operators which have an Air Operator Certificate authority to conduct such operations and utilize the same type and model of aeroplane.

III. MINISTER'S SUBMISSIONS

[7] The Minister argues that there are no mitigating circumstances warranting a reduction of the penalty assessed. The penalty corresponds to the minimum penalty established in the table of sanctions for a first contravention of section 703.86 of the CARs.

[8] The Minister recommends that the Tribunal follow this table in order to ensure that air operators who commit similar offences obtain similar sanctions. Air operators are responsible for the actions of their personnel. They cannot allege that a pilot's decision was made without their knowledge to absolve themselves from responsibility.

IV. APPLICANT'S SUBMISSIONS

[9] The applicant is asking the Tribunal to take the following factors into account to reduce the amount of the sanction:

  • Mr. Vallantin misinterpreted the requirements for making a single-pilot IFR flight (instrument flight rules), specifically in regard to the prior number of hours of flight time required of the pilot (exhibit R‑1);
  • Mr. Vallantin believed that he satisfied the requirements. He therefore decided to make this IFR flight in order to benefit from radar cover, given that there were many aircraft in the vicinity of Rivière aux Saumons during the hunting season;
  • the applicant was unaware of Mr. Vallantin's decision;
  • Mr. Vallantin was not at all obliged to make this IFR flight, but he did so for safety reasons; and
  • Mr. Vallantin has been working for the applicant since 2002.

V. REASONS

[10] The appeal decision Canada (Minister of Transport) v. Wyer, [1988], CAT file no. O‑0075‑33, [1988] C.A.T.D. no. 123 (QL), is the reference for principles which must guide the assessment of an appropriate sanction. Aside from denunciation, deterrence, rehabilitation and the Minister's enforcement recommendations, this matter indicates that to be fair, the penalty should be assessed by balancing the promotion of compliance in the interest of aviation safety, protection of the public and aggravating or mitigating circumstances in regard to the matter.

[11] We believe, first, that consideration must be given to the fact that the applicant admitted all of the facts of the offence alleged under section 703.86 of the CARs and section 723.86 of the Standards. Mr. Vallantin's error in interpreting section 723.86 of the Standards, prompted by his concern for safety, does not indicate that aviation safety was compromised on November 20, 2006, in Rivière aux Saumons.

[12] Indeed, we must also take into account the fact that the applicant is responsible for ensuring its pilots' strict compliance with the applicable regulations and the Standards. While these are useful for determining the application of similar sanctions in regard to similar offences, the Tribunal is not bound by the sanctions and penalties recommended by Transport Canada.

VI. DETERMINATION

[13] Considering the particular circumstances of this matter, the Tribunal reduces the $5 000 penalty assessed by Minister to $2 500.

January 10, 2008

Suzanne Racine

Member

Décisions

Dossier no Q-3361-41 (TATC)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

2431-9154 Québec Inc., requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien 703.86


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Suzanne Racine


Décision : le 10 janvier 2008

Référence : 2431-9154 Québec Inc. c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2008 TATCF 2 (révision)

Affaire entendue à Sept-Îles (Québec) le 8 novembre 2007

1. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 2 avril 2007, le ministre des Transports a signifié à la requérante, 2431‑9154 Québec Inc., faisant affaire sous le nom de Sept-Îles Aviation Enr., un avis d'amende pour contravention au montant de 5 000 $, en vertu de l'article 7.7(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A‑2 (Loi), pour avoir présumément contrevenu à l'article 703.86 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433 (RAC).

[2] Le ministre reproche ce qui suit à la requérante :

Vous avez contrevenu à l'article 703.86 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Le ou vers le 20 novembre 2006, vers les 12h00 UTC, aux alentours de Rivière aux Saumons, Québec, en tant qu'exploitant aérien vous avez utilisé l'aéronef en vol IFR immatriculé C‑GCXF ayant des passagers à bord avec moins de deux pilotes alors que vous ne satisfaisiez pas aux Normes de service aérien commercial, à savoir que le pilote, M. Christophe Vallantin, n'avait pas réussi un contrôle de compétence mono pilote.

Amende : 5000.00 $

[3] La requérante admet les faits reprochés ci-dessus. Elle conteste toutefois l'amende de 5 000 $ qu'elle considère excessive et demande qu'elle soit réduite.

II. DROIT

[4] L'article 7.7(1) de la Loi prévoit ce qui suit :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, peut décider de déterminer le montant de l'amende à payer, auquel cas il lui expédie, par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à sa dernière adresse connue, un avis l'informant de la décision.

[5] L'article 703.86 du RAC se lit comme suit :

703.86 Il est interdit à l'exploitant aérien d'utiliser un aéronef en vol IFR ayant des passagers à bord avec moins de deux pilotes à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient respectées :

a) l'exploitant aérien y est autorisé aux termes de son certificat d'exploitation aérienne;

b) l'exploitant aérien satisfait aux Normes de service aérien commercial.

[6] L'article 723.86 des Normes de service aérien commercial (Normes) se lit comme suit :

Exigences pour le vol en IFR à un seul pilote

La norme qui porte sur l'exploitation d'un avion en IFR avec passagers à bord et sans commandant en second est la suivante :

(1) le pilote doit avoir au moins 1 000 heures de vol qui doivent comprendre, s'il s'agit d'un avion multimoteur, au moins 100 heures de vol sur des avions multimoteurs; en outre, le pilote doit avoir 50 heures de vol simulé ou réel en conditions IMC ainsi que 50 heures de vol sur le type d'avion en cause;

(2) le contrôle de la compétence du pilote doit être effectué sur le type d'avion utilisé ou, le cas échéant, sur l'un des types du groupe agréé pour le renouvellement du contrôle de compétence pilote et il doit porter sur :

a) les connaissances de l'utilisation et des limites du pilote automatique;

b) l'exécution des procédures normales et d'urgence sans aide;

c) l'exposé à donner aux passagers en cas d'évacuation d'urgence; et

d) une démonstration de l'utilisation du pilote automatique pendant les étapes appropriées du vol;

(3) les vols dans un avion pressurisé doivent se dérouler au FL 250 ou à un niveau de vol inférieur; et

(4) si un pilote possède des compétences valides pour être le seul pilote à bord d'un avion, ces compétences peuvent être transférées d'un exploitant aérien à un autre pourvu que leurs certificats d'exploitation aérienne autorisent l'exploitation de tels vols et utilisent le même type et le même modèle d'avions.

III. ARGUMENTS DU MINISTRE

[7] Le ministre soutient qu'il n'y a pas de circonstances atténuantes justifiant une réduction de l'amende imposée. Cette dernière correspond au montant minimal de l'amende établie au tableau des sanctions pour une première contravention à l'article 703.86 du RAC.

[8] Le ministre recommande au Tribunal de suivre ce barème afin de s'assurer que les exploitants aériens qui commettent des infractions similaires obtiennent des sanctions semblables. L'exploitant aérien est responsable des agissements de son personnel. Il ne peut pas alléguer que la décision du pilote a été prise à son insu pour se dégager de sa responsabilité.

IV. ARGUMENTS DE LA REQUÉRANTE

[9] La requérante demande au Tribunal de tenir compte des éléments suivants pour réduire le montant de la sanction :

· M. Vallantin a mal interprété les exigences pour effectuer un vol IFR (règles de vol aux instruments) à un seul pilote, plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne le nombre d'heures que le pilote doit avoir préalablement effectuées (pièce R‑1);

· M. Vallantin croyait satisfaire aux exigences. Il a donc décidé d'effectuer ce vol IFR afin de bénéficier de la couverture radar, vu la présence de nombreux aéronefs dans les environs de Rivière aux Saumons en période de chasse;

· M. Vallantin a pris cette décision à l'insu de la requérante;

· M. Vallantin n'était nullement obligé d'effectuer ce vol IFR, mais il a choisi de le faire par souci de sécurité;

  • M. Vallantin travaille pour la requérante depuis 2002.

V. MOTIFS

[10] La décision Canada (Ministre des Transports) c. Wyer, [1988], décision faisant suite à un appel, O-0075-33 (TAC), [1988] D.T.A.C no 123 (QL), est la référence en matière des principes qui doivent guider l'imposition d'une sanction appropriée. Outre la dénonciation, la dissuasion, la réhabilitation et les recommandations du ministre quant à son application, cette cause indique que pour être juste, l'amende devrait être le résultat d'un équilibre qui favorise le respect des règles dans l'intérêt de la sécurité aérienne, de la protection du public et des circonstances aggravantes ou atténuantes particulières relativement à l'affaire.

[11] Nous croyons d'une part qu'il faut tenir compte du fait que la requérante a admis tous les faits de l'infraction reprochée en vertu de l'article 703.86 du RAC et de l'article 723.86 des Normes. L'erreur d'interprétation de l'article 723.86 des Normes par M. Vallantin, dictée néanmoins par un souci de sécurité, n'indique pas que la sécurité aérienne a été compromise le 20 novembre 2006, à Rivière aux Saumons.

[12] Par ailleurs, nous devons également tenir compte du fait que la requérante est responsable de veiller à ce que ses pilotes respectent rigoureusement la réglementation et les normes applicables. Bien que celles-ci soient utiles pour déterminer l'application de sanctions semblables à l'égard d'infractions similaires, le Tribunal n'est pas lié aux sanctions et aux amendes recommandées par Transports Canada.

VI. DÉCISION

[13] Compte tenu des circonstances particulières à ce dossier, le Tribunal réduit à 2 500 $ l'amende de 5 000 $ imposée par le ministre.

Le 10 janvier 2008

Me Suzanne Racine

Conseillère