Decisions

TATC File No. O-3341-33
MoT File No. PAP5504-61180

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Robert Maguire, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, 601.04(2), 602.14(2)(b)


Review Determination
Pierre Coutu


Decision: March 12, 2008

Citation: Maguire v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2008 TATCE 14 (review)

[Official English translation]

Heard at Ottawa, Ontario, on December 4, 2007

Held: I confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport set out in the notice of assessment of monetary penalty dated February 22, 2007. The amount of the penalty for having contravened section 601.04(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations is upheld at $750. The amount of the penalty for having contravened section 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations is upheld at $3 000. The total amount of $3 750 is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Tribunal within 35 days of service of this determination.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On February 22, 2007, the Minister of Transport charged Robert Maguire, the applicant, with having contravened sections 601.04(2) and 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96‑433 (CARs), under section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A‑2 (Act).

[2] Schedule A of the notice of assessment of monetary penalty (exhibit M-1) stipulates the following:

[translation]

1. On or about August 31, 2006, between 16:10 and 16:30 UTC, at or near Dwyer Hill, Ontario, specifically in the special use restricted airspace designated as CYR536, a Cessna 177 aircraft bearing registration C-FWOC, registered to you, was operated in Class F Special Use Restricted airspace when not authorized to do so by the person specified for that purpose in the Designated Airspace Handbook, thereby contravening subsection 601.04(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

Pursuant to subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act, you, as the registered owner of the aircraft, are being proceeded against in respect of this offence and are liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor. Monetary penalty assessed: $750.

2. On or about August 31, 2006, between 16:10 and 16:30 UTC, at or near Dwyer Hill, Ontario, specifically in the special use restricted airspace designated as CYR536, a Cessna 177 aircraft bearing registration C-FWOC, registered to you, was operated in circumstances other than those referred to in paragraph 602.14(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel or structure, thereby contravening paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

Pursuant to subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act, you, as the registered owner of the aircraft, are being proceeded against in respect of this offence and are liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor.  Monetary penalty assessed: $3 000.

Total Monetary Penalty Assessed: $3 750

II. LAW

[3] Section 7.7(1) of the Act states the following:

7.7 (1) If the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister may decide to assess a monetary penalty in respect of the alleged contravention, in which case the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the person at their latest known address, notify the person of his or her decision.

[4] Sections 601.04(2), 602.14(2)(b) and 602.15(2)(b)(ii) of the CARs stipulate the following:

601.04 (2) No person shall operate an aircraft in Class F Special Use Restricted airspace unless authorized to do so by the person specified for that purpose in the Designated Airspace Handbook.

602.14 (2) Except where conducting a take-off, approach or landing or where permitted under section 602.15, no person shall operate an aircraft

...

(b) in circumstances other than those referred to in paragraph (a), at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure.

602.15 (2) A person may operate an aircraft, to the extent necessary for the purpose of the operation in which the aircraft is engaged, at altitudes and distances less than those set out in

...

(b) paragraph 602.14(2)(b), where the aircraft is operated without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface and the aircraft is operated for the purpose of

...

(ii) aerial photography conducted by the holder of an air operator certificate,

...

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Oonagh Elliott

[5] Oonagh Elliott is a Transport Canada aviation enforcement inspector. After receiving a call from Major John Smith of the Canadian Forces on August 31, 2006, she opened an investigation into an aircraft that had flown over the Dwyer Hill Training Centre (Centre) near Ottawa, Ontario, at low altitude. Ms. Elliott stated that she had also received, that same day, an e‑mail from a representative of Transport Canada's regional office in Toronto, who had also been notified by telephone of the same incident.

[6] Ms. Elliott explained that the applicant is a specialist in aerial photography who had been convicted of five offences related to low-altitude flights over the last five years. Of the four most recent offences, three included penalties initially in the amount of $1 000 each, while the other was in the amount of $2 500, given that this was the fourth offence in similar circumstances. The investigation allowed her to determine that the aircraft involved in the incident was a Cessna 177 bearing registration C-FWOC and registered to Mr. Maguire, according to the Canadian Civil Aircraft Register database (exhibit M-2).

[7] Ms. Elliott stated the reasons for the penalties imposed by the Minister, namely, the minimum penalty of $750 for an offence under section 601.04(2), given that this was a first offence of this type, and the maximum penalty of $3 000 for the offence of flying at an altitude of less than 500 feet, since this was a repeat offence. She stated that Mr. Maguire was not a holder of an air operator certificate allowing him to fly at an altitude of less than 500 feet for purposes of aerial photography.

(2) Christopher Larivière

[8] Christopher Larivière is a military police officer who was on duty at the Centre on August 31, 2006. He stated that, on that day, around noon local time, he had seen a white aircraft approach from the south, over the treetops, and fly directly over the Centre before continuing eastward. He explained that the aircraft had flown over the Centre three times and that, on the third pass, he had been able to read its registration, C‑FWOC, using binoculars. Mr. Larivière testified that he had estimated the aircraft's altitude to be approximately 200 feet, based on the aircraft's position when it flew over the treetops.

[9] On cross-examination, Mr. Larivière confirmed that he had used binoculars to read the aircraft's registration. Mr. Maguire noted that, in his opinion, he had been flying at an altitude of 800 feet and that, without binoculars, it would have been difficult for anyone on the ground to make out the letters on the aircraft's fuselage.

(3) Mike Lavary

[10] Mike Lavary is another military police officer who was on duty at the Centre on August 31, 2006. At the time of the incident, he was supervising a group of military police officers. He stated that, around noon, he had heard the noise of an aircraft from inside the Centre's military police building. He immediately went outside, with other people, and saw a white, single-engine aircraft flying at an altitude of approximately 200 to 300 feet. He stated that he had relied on his experience on military shooting ranges to estimate the aircraft's altitude.

[11] On cross-examination, the applicant questioned the reliability of a military shooting range as a reference for estimating the altitude at which he had been flying when he was spotted by the witness. The witness stated that, on the military shooting ranges with which he was familiar, distances of 100, 200 and 300 feet were marked. Mr. Lavary stated that he had been unable to read the aircraft's registration.

(4) John Evans

[12] John Evans is a military police officer responsible for security at the Centre. He stated that he had been eating lunch in the Centre's dining room with his immediate superior when his superior looked out the window and noticed an aircraft. Realizing that this could be a threat to the Centre's security, Mr. Evans immediately went outside to assess the situation. Being unable to see the aircraft, he got into a vehicle and drove to the Centre's perimeter road. From there, he was able to observe the aircraft flying over a neighbouring golf course at an altitude varying between 200 and 500 feet. To measure the distance, he had relied on the regulation length of a National Hockey League (NHL) ice rink, that is, 200 feet. He then returned to his starting point, where he saw the aircraft fly directly over the Centre and one of its buildings.

[13] On cross‑examination, the witness stated that the aircraft had been flying so low that everyone there had stopped to watch. Mr. Evans had attempted to make out the aircraft's registration and determine its intentions, but his efforts proved unsuccessful. He stated that the aircraft had not maintained a constant altitude but appeared to have been flying at an altitude varying from 200 to 500 feet from the ground while flying over the Centre and the surrounding area.

(5) Todd O'Malley

[14] Todd O'Malley is a military helicopter pilot and former fixed-wing aircraft flight instructor. He stated that he had been piloting military helicopters on tactical missions for approximately 20 years and that he had been present at the Centre on August 31, 2006. He was leaving a meeting and heading to his car when he heard the noise of an aircraft. He saw a white Cessna 172 approaching from the north, flying at an altitude of no more than 300 feet. To estimate the aircraft's altitude, he had relied on the height of the electrical wires he had to watch out for when piloting helicopters near the Centre. Mr. O'Malley had regarded the situation as a possible security threat to the Centre and had notified the military police immediately.

[15] Mr. O'Malley examined an air navigation chart and two related documents used to show the exact geographic location of the Centre and its corresponding class F special use restricted airspace (exhibit M‑3).

[16] On cross-examination, Mr. O'Malley stated that when planning a flight, it was necessary to note the coordinates, particularly the latitude and longitude, of any restricted zone defined by a NOTAM. He stated that he had seen the aircraft fly not only around the Centre's perimeter, but also directly over it. After examining various air navigation charts, Messrs. Maguire and O'Malley agreed that 1:500 000-scale charts show restricted airspaces, whereas 1:50 000‑scale charts do not.

B. Applicant

(1) Robert Maguire

[17] Mr. Maguire testified that he used his aircraft bearing registration C-FWOC to take aerial photographs which he then sold to the landowners concerned. He admitted having flown over the Centre on August 31, 2006. He stated that he had flown over the Centre by mistake, because he had been using 1:50 000-scale air navigation charts, which do not show special use restricted airspaces. However, he stated that he had not operated his aircraft at an altitude of less than 500 feet and showed an aerial photograph of the Centre that he said had been taken at an altitude of 800 feet. Mr. Maguire confirmed that he had used a camera with a 300-mm zoom lens allowing good-quality photographs to be taken from 3 000 feet. He therefore did not need to fly at low altitude to take good-quality photographs. Moreover, Mr. Maguire noted that his aircraft's registration number had been seen by only one person, who had used binoculars. It was therefore likely that he had been operating his aircraft at an altitude of over 500 feet.

[18] On cross-examination, Mr. Maguire confirmed that the photograph of the Centre to which he had referred had been taken at an altitude of 800 feet. Counsel for the Minister noted that the applicant's statement at most confirmed the aircraft's altitude at the time the photograph had been taken. The applicant admitted that he had not been taking off or landing in the area surrounding Dwyer Hill and had not asked for permission to fly over a special use restricted airspace. He also confirmed that he was not a holder of an air operator certificate authorizing him to fly at an altitude of less than 500 feet for the purpose of aerial photography.

IV. ARGUMENT

A. Minister of Transport

[19] Counsel for the Minister first filed in the record the relevant sections of the Act (exhibit M-4) and then summarized the Minister's submissions. With regard to the issue of flying over a special use restricted airspace, counsel for the Minister noted that Mr. Maguire did not contest the facts. As regards the offence with respect to flying at low altitude, he submitted that he had proven, on a balance of probabilities, the elements of the offence stipulated in the notice of assessment of monetary penalty. He argued that witnesses Larivière, Lavary, Evans and O'Malley had all stated that the aircraft had been flying at an altitude of less than 500 feet. Each of these witnesses provided plausible references allowing them to correctly judge the aircraft's altitude.

[20] Counsel for the Minister asked the Tribunal to uphold the recommended maximum penalty of $3 000 with regard to flying at an altitude of less than 500 feet, this penalty being warranted because of the repeated nature of the offences of this type committed by Mr. Maguire over the last few years. As regards the offence of flying over a restricted airspace without authorization, he submitted that the minimum penalty of $750 was reasonable, given that this was the first offence of this type committed by the applicant.

B. Applicant

[21] Mr. Maguire stated that, although it appeared that he had once again committed the offence of flying at low altitude, he had in fact been flying at an altitude of over 500 feet. Given that he had recently bought a very powerful zoom lens, he no longer needed to fly at low altitude to take good-quality photographs. He submitted that he had thought it would be more economical to invest in such equipment rather than pay the fees required to obtain an air operator certificate.

V. DISCUSSION

[22] The Minister has the burden of proving, on a balance of probabilities, the alleged offences. The Tribunal must therefore be reasonably satisfied that each of the following elements is present:

  • Mr. Maguire is the owner of the aircraft bearing registration C-FWOC;
  • he operated the aircraft on August 31, 2006, at approximately 16:00 UTC;
  • on the date and at the time specified, he operated the aircraft within the restricted airspace designated as CYR536, which corresponds to the location of the Centre, in Ontario;
  • he operated the aircraft on the date and at the time specified at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel or structure, at the location of the Centre, in Ontario.

[23] The aircraft's registration certificate (exhibit M-2) attests to the fact that Mr. Maguire is indeed the owner of a Cessna 177 bearing registration C‑FWOC. Mr. Maguire stated in his testimony that he was indeed at the controls of this aircraft on August 31, 2006, at approximately 16:00 UTC, taking aerial photographs in the area surrounding Dwyer Hill, Ontario.

[24] Four witnesses, Messrs. Larivière, Lavary, Evans and O'Malley, attested to having seen the aircraft belonging to Mr. Maguire fly over the Centre on August 31, 2006, at approximately 16:00 UTC. Moreover, notwithstanding the fact that 1:50 000-scale air navigation charts do not show class F special use restricted airspaces, the onus is on aircraft pilots to consult the NOTAMs in force in the areas they plan to fly over. Mr. Maguire admitted that he had operated his aircraft at the time and place stated by the witnesses.

[25] On the issue of the aircraft's altitude, Mr. Larivière, who saw a white Cessna aircraft fly over the Centre, testified that he had estimated the aircraft's altitude to be approximately 200 feet, based on the aircraft's position just above the treetops. For his part, Mr. Lavary, who also witnessed the overflight of the aircraft bearing registration C-FWOC, estimated the aircraft's altitude to be approximately 200 to 300 feet. He stated that he had relied on his experience on shooting ranges with distance markers to estimate the aircraft's altitude. Another witness, Mr. Evans, stated that he had seen an aircraft flying at an altitude varying from 200 to 500 feet. He used the regulation length of an NHL ice rink (200 feet) as a reference. Finally, Mr. O'Malley stated that he had seen an aircraft flying at an altitude of no more than 300 feet. He stated that, to estimate the aircraft's altitude, he had relied on the height of the electrical wires that he had to watch out for when operating helicopters in the areas surrounding the Centre.

[26] The witnesses appeared to be entirely credible, particularly Mr. O'Malley, who as a helicopter pilot is familiar with air navigation issues in the area surrounding the Centre. In the opinion of the Tribunal, Mr. Maguire's explanations changed nothing with regard to the evidence.

[27] Regulations provide for two exceptions to the minimum ceiling of 500 feet for flights over a structure. It is in fact possible to fly over a structure at an altitude of less than 500 feet where conducting a take-off, approach or landing (section 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs), or where the aircraft is operated by the holder of an air operator certificate for the purpose of aerial photography and without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface (section 602.15(2)(b)(ii) of the CARs). The testimonies have shown that these two exceptions did not apply to the incident that occurred at the Centre on August 31, 2006, involving the Cessna 177 aircraft bearing registration C-FWOC and belonging to the applicant.

VI. DETERMINATION

[28] The Minister has proven the offences on a balance of probabilities. Consequently, the Tribunal upholds the recommended penalty of $750, with regard to the offence under section 601.04(2) of the CARs, and the recommended penalty of $3 000, with regard to the offence under section 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs, this being a repeat offence.

March 12, 2008

Dr. Pierre Coutu

Member

Décisions

Dossier no O-3341-33 (TATC)
Dossier no PAP5504-61180 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Robert Maguire, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
du Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, 601.04(2), 602.14(2)b)
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, 7.7


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Coutu


Décision : le 12 mars 2008

Référence : Maguire c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2008 TATCF 14 (révision)

Affaire entendue à Ottawa (Ontario) le 4 décembre 2007

Arrêt : Je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports formulée à l'avis d'amende pour contravention du 22 février 2007. Le montant de l'amende pour la contravention à l'article 601.04(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien est maintenu à 750 $. Le montant de l'amende pour la contravention à l'article 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien est maintenu à 3 000 $. Le montant total de 3 750 $ est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans un délai de 35 jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

1. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 22 février 2007, le ministre des Transports a reproché à Robert Maguire, le requérant, d'avoir contrevenu aux articles 601.04(2) et 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96‑433 (RAC), en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A‑2 (Loi).

[2] L'annexe A de l'avis d'amende pour contravention (pièce M-1) stipule ce qui suit :

1. Le ou vers le 31 août 2006, entre 16 h 10 et 16 h 30 UTC, à ou aux environs de Dwyer Hill (Ontario), plus particulièrement à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien à statut spécial réglementé désigné CYR536, un aéronef Cessna 177, immatriculé C-FWOC et enregistré à votre nom, a été piloté dans un espace aérien de classe F à statut spécial réglementé, sans avoir obtenu l'autorisation nécessaire de la personne indiquée dans le Manuel des espaces aériens désignés, ce qui constitue une infraction au paragraphe 601.04(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

En tant que propriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef, vous êtes poursuivi, en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, pour cette infraction et vous êtes passible d'encourir la peine prévue. Sanction pécuniaire imposée : 750 $.

2. Le ou vers le 31 août 2006, entre 16 h 10 et 16 h 30 UTC, à ou aux environs de Dwyer Hill (Ontario), plus particulièrement à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien à statut spécial réglementé désigné CYR536, un aéronef Cessna 177, immatriculé C-FWOC et enregistré à votre nom, a été piloté dans des circonstances autres que celles précisées à l'alinéa 602.14a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure, ce qui constitue une infraction à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

En tant que propriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef, vous êtes poursuivi, en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, pour cette infraction et vous êtes passible d'encourir la peine prévue. Sanction pécuniaire imposée : 3 000 $.

Total des sanctions pécuniaires imposées : 3 750 $

II. LOI

[3] L'article 7.7(1) de la Loi énonce ce qui suit :

7.7(1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, peut décider de déterminer le montant de l'amende à payer, auquel cas il lui expédie, par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à sa dernière adresse connue, un avis l'informant de la décision.

[4] Les articles 601.04(2), 602.14(2)b) et 602.15(2)(ii) du RAC stipulent ce qui suit :

601.04(2) Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef dans l'espace aérien de classe F à statut spécial réglementé, à moins d'en avoir reçu l'autorisation de la personne indiquée dans le Manuel des espaces aériens désignés.

[…]

602.14(2) Sauf s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef ou lorsque la personne y est autorisée en application de l'article 602.15, il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef :

[…]

b) dans les cas autres que ceux visés à l'alinéa a), à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure.

[…]

602.15(2) Il est permis d'utiliser un aéronef, dans la mesure nécessaire pour effectuer le vol aux fins suivantes, à une altitude et à une distance inférieures à celles visées :

[…]

b) à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b), si l'aéronef est utilisé sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface :

[…]

(ii) la photographie aérienne effectuée par le titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne,

[…]

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Oonagh Elliott

[5] Oonagh Elliott est inspectrice de l'application de la loi en aviation à Transports Canada. À la suite d'un appel reçu du major John Smith des Forces canadiennes le 31 août 2006, elle a mené une enquête concernant un aéronef ayant survolé à basse altitude le centre d'entraînement militaire de Dwyer Hill (centre), situé près d'Ottawa, en Ontario. Mme Elliott a mentionné qu'elle avait également reçu, le même jour, un courriel d'un représentant du bureau régional de Toronto, Transports Canada, qui avait aussi été informé par téléphone du même incident.

[6] Mme Elliott a expliqué que le requérant est un spécialiste de la photographie aérienne qui a été reconnu coupable, au cours des cinq dernières années, de cinq infractions relatives à des vols à basse altitude. Pour ce qui est des quatre dernières infractions, trois d'entre elles comportaient des amendes initialement d'un montant de 1 000 $ chacune, et l'autre était au montant de 2 500 $, étant donné qu'il s'agissait de la quatrième infraction relative au même type de circonstances. L'enquête lui avait permis de déterminer que l'aéronef impliqué dans l'incident était un Cessna 177, immatriculé C-FWOC et enregistré au nom de M. Maguire, d'après la base de données du registre des aéronefs civils canadiens (pièce M-2).

[7] Mme Elliott a énoncé les motifs des amendes imposées par le ministère, soit l'amende minimale de 750 $ pour une infraction à l'article 601.04(2), étant donné qu'il s'agit d'une première infraction de ce type et l'amende maximale de 3 000 $ pour l'infraction concernant le vol à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds en raison d'une situation de récidives multiples. Elle a précisé que M. Maguire n'est pas titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne l'autorisant à voler à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds pour des fins de photographie aérienne.

(2) Christopher Larivière

[8] Christopher Larivière est un policier militaire qui, le 31 août 2006, était en devoir au centre. Il a expliqué que ce jour-là, vers 12 h, heure locale, il a vu un aéronef blanc venant du sud qui s'était approché au-dessus de la cime des arbres et avait survolé directement le centre pour ensuite s'éloigner vers l'est. Il a expliqué que l'appareil était revenu trois fois au-dessus du centre et que la troisième fois, il avait pu lire l'immatriculation de l'aéronef, soit C‑FWOC, à l'aide de jumelles. M. Larivière a témoigné qu'il avait évalué l'altitude de l'appareil à environ 200 pieds, en se fiant à la position de celui-ci au moment du survol de la cime des arbres.

[9] En contre-interrogatoire, M. Larivière a confirmé qu'il avait utilisé des jumelles pour lire l'immatriculation de l'aéronef. M. Maguire a fait remarquer que, selon lui, il volait à 800 pieds d'altitude et que sans jumelles il aurait été difficile pour une personne au sol de discerner les lettres sur le fuselage de l'appareil.

(3) Mike Lavary

[10] Mike Lavary est un autre policier militaire qui, le 31 août 2006, au moment de l'incident, était responsable d'un groupe de policiers en devoir au centre. Il a expliqué qu'il avait d'abord entendu, aux environs de 12 h, un bruit d'aéronef depuis l'intérieur de l'édifice de la police militaire du centre. Il était immédiatement sorti à l'extérieur, avec d'autres personnes, pour apercevoir un appareil monomoteur de couleur blanche qui volait à environ 200 à 300 pieds d'altitude. Il a mentionné qu'il s'était fié à son expérience dans les champs de tirs militaires pour évaluer l'altitude de l'appareil.

[11] En contre-interrogatoire, le requérant a remis en question la fiabilité d'une référence à un champ de tirs militaire pour évaluer l'altitude à laquelle il volait au moment où il avait été aperçu par le témoin. Ce dernier a précisé que, dans les champs de tirs militaires qui lui sont familiers, les distances de 100, 200 et 300 pieds sont indiquées. M. Lavary a affirmé qu'il n'avait pas pu lire l'immatriculation de l'avion.

(4) John Evans

[12] John Evans est le policier militaire chargé de la sûreté au centre. Il a mentionné qu'il prenait le déjeuner dans la salle à manger du centre en compagnie de son supérieur immédiat, lorsque celui-ci avait aperçu un aéronef par la fenêtre. Réalisant qu'il s'agissait peut‑être d'une menace à la sûreté du centre, M. Evans était sorti immédiatement à l'extérieur pour évaluer la situation. Ne pouvant pas voir l'aéronef, il avait pris un véhicule et s'était rendu sur le chemin du périmètre du centre. De là, il avait pu observer l'aéronef qui volait au-dessus d'un terrain de golf avoisinant et qui évoluait à une altitude variant de 200 à 500 pieds. Pour mesurer la distance, il s'était fié à la longueur réglementaire d'une patinoire de la Ligue nationale de hockey (LNH), soit 200 pieds. Il était retourné alors vers son point de départ, où il avait vu l'appareil voler directement au-dessus de l'entrée du centre et d'un de ses bâtiments.

[13] En contre-interrogatoire, le témoin a expliqué que l'appareil volait tellement bas que tous les gens présents s'arrêtaient pour le regarder. M. Evans avait tenté sans succès de repérer l'immatriculation de l'avion et de deviner ses intentions. Il a expliqué que l'appareil ne maintenait pas une altitude constante, mais qu'il semblait voler à une altitude variant de 200 à 500 pieds au-dessus du sol lorsqu'il survolait les environs du centre.

(5) Todd O'Malley

[14] Todd O'Malley est pilote d'hélicoptère militaire et ex-instructeur de vol d'appareil à voilure fixe. Il a expliqué qu'il pilote des hélicoptères militaires à des fins tactiques depuis une vingtaine d'années et qu'il était présent au centre le 31 août 2006. Il sortait d'une réunion et se dirigeait vers sa voiture lorsqu'il a entendu un bruit d'aéronef. Il a vu apparaître un Cessna blanc de style 172, venant du nord et volant à une altitude maximale de 300 pieds. Pour évaluer l'altitude de l'aéronef, il s'était fié à la hauteur des fils électriques dont il doit tenir compte lorsqu'il pilote un hélicoptère dans les environs du centre. M. O'Malley avait considéré la situation comme étant une menace possible à la sûreté du centre et en avait immédiatement informé la police militaire.

[15] M. O'Malley a examiné une carte de navigation aérienne et deux documents associés servant à montrer la position géographique exacte du centre et l'espace aérien de classe F à statut spécial réglementé y correspondant (pièce M‑3).

[16] En contre-interrogatoire, M. O'Malley a expliqué qu'au moment de la planification d'un vol, il convient de noter les coordonnées, notamment la latitude et la longitude, de toute zone restreinte définie par un NOTAM. Il a précisé qu'il avait vu l'aéronef voler non pas à la périphérie du centre, mais bien directement au-dessus de celui-ci. Après avoir examiné diverses cartes servant à la navigation aérienne, MM. Maguire et O'Malley se sont entendus pour dire que les cartes à l'échelle de 1/500 000 montrent les espaces aériens réglementés, alors que celles à l'échelle de 1/50 000 ne montrent pas ces zones.

B. Requérant

(1) Robert Maguire

[17] M. Maguire a témoigné qu'il utilise son aéronef immatriculé C-FWOC pour prendre des photographies aériennes qu'il vend ensuite aux propriétaires concernés. Il a admis avoir survolé le centre le 31 août 2006. Il a expliqué qu'il avait survolé le centre par erreur, en raison du fait qu'il avait utilisé des cartes à l'échelle de 1/50 000 pour fins de navigation aérienne, et que ces cartes n'illustraient pas les espaces aériens à statut spécial réglementé. Cependant, il a spécifié ne pas avoir piloté son appareil à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds et a montré une photographie aérienne du centre qu'il a dit avoir prise à 800 pieds d'altitude. M. Maguire a confirmé qu'il avait utilisé un appareil photographique muni d'un zoom de 300 mm, permettant de bonnes prises de vue à 3 000 pieds. Il n'avait donc pas besoin de voler à basse altitude pour prendre des photographies de qualité. De plus, M. Maguire a fait remarquer que le numéro d'immatriculation de son aéronef n'avait été repéré que par un seul témoin qui avait utilisé des jumelles. Il était donc vraisemblable que son aéronef avait volé à une altitude supérieure à 500 pieds.

[18] En contre-interrogatoire, M. Maguire a confirmé que la photographie du centre, à laquelle il faisait référence, avait été prise à 800 pieds d'altitude. L'avocat du ministre a fait remarquer que cet énoncé du requérant ne faisait, tout au plus, que confirmer l'altitude de l'aéronef au moment où la photographie avait été prise. Le requérant a admis ne pas avoir été en situation de décollage ou d'atterrissage dans les environs de Dwyer Hill et ne pas avoir demandé l'autorisation de survoler un espace aérien à statut spécial réglementé. Il a aussi confirmé ne pas être titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation l'autorisant à voler à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds pour fins de photographie aérienne.

IV. ARGUMENTS

A. Ministre des Transports

[19] L'avocat du ministre dépose tout d'abord au dossier les articles pertinents de la Loi qui sont consignés (pièce M-4) et résume ensuite les arguments du ministre. À l'égard de la question du survol de l'espace aérien à statut spécial réglementé, l'avocat du ministre rappelle que M. Maguire ne conteste pas les faits. Pour ce qui est de l'infraction relative au vol à basse altitude, il allègue qu'il a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, les éléments de l'infraction stipulée à l'avis d'amende pour contravention. Il explique que les témoins Larivière, Lavary, Evans et O'Malley ont tous indiqué que l'aéronef volait à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds. Chacun de ces témoins a fourni des éléments de référence plausibles leur permettant de juger correctement l'altitude de l'appareil.

[20] L'avocat du ministre demande au Tribunal de maintenir l'amende maximale recommandée de 3 000 $, à l'égard du vol effectué à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds, ce qui est justifié par la nature répétée des infractions de ce type commises par M. Maguire au cours des récentes années. En ce qui concerne le survol de l'espace aérien réglementé sans autorisation, il soumet que la peine minimale de 750 $ est raisonnable, étant donné qu'il s'agit d'une première infraction de ce type commise par le requérant.

B. Requérant

[21] M. Maguire explique que malgré l'apparence d'une récidive pour vol à basse altitude, il volait, en fait, à une altitude supérieure à 500 pieds. Étant donné qu'il a récemment acheté un zoom très puissant, il n'est plus nécessaire pour lui de voler à basse altitude pour prendre des photographies de qualité. Il fait valoir qu'il a considéré plus économique d'investir dans l'acquisition de cet équipement que de payer les droits requis pour l'obtention d'un certificat d'exploitation.

V. DISCUSSION

[22] Le ministre a le fardeau de prouver, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, les infractions reprochées. Pour ce faire, le Tribunal doit être raisonnablement convaincu de l'existence de chacun des éléments suivants :

  • M. Maguire est propriétaire de l'aéronef immatriculé C-FWOC;
  • il a utilisé l'aéronef le 31 août 2006, vers 16 h UTC;
  • il a utilisé l'aéronef à la date et à l'heure précisées à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien réglementé désigné CYR536, correspondant à l'emplacement du centre, en Ontario;
  • il a utilisé l'aéronef à la date et à l'heure précisées à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout véhicule, ou toute structure, à l'emplacement du centre, en Ontario.

[23] Le certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef (pièce M-2) atteste que M. Maguire est bien propriétaire d'un Cessna 177, immatriculé C‑FWOC. M. Maguire a mentionné dans son témoignage qu'il était bien aux commandes de cet aéronef le 31 août 2006, vers 16 h UTC, pour prendre des photographies aériennes dans les environs de Dwyer Hill, en Ontario.

[24] Quatre témoins, MM. Larivière, Lavary, Evans et O'Malley, ont certifié avoir vu l'appareil appartenant à M. Maguire survoler le centre le 31 août 2006, vers 16 h UTC. De plus, nonobstant le fait que les cartes de navigation aérienne à l'échelle de 1/50 000 n'illustrent pas les espaces aériens de classe F à statut spécial réglementé, il incombe aux pilotes d'aéronef de consulter les NOTAM en vigueur dans les secteurs qu'ils planifient survoler. M. Maguire a admis avoir piloté son aéronef au moment et à l'endroit mentionnés par les témoins entendus.

[25] Sur la question concernant l'altitude de l'aéronef, M. Larivière, qui a vu l'aéronef blanc de type Cessna survoler le centre, a témoigné qu'il avait évalué l'altitude de l'appareil à environ 200 pieds; il s'était fié à la position de celui-ci tout juste au‑dessus de la cime des arbres. De son côté, M. Lavary, qui a aussi assisté au survol de l'aéronef immatriculé C-FWOC, a évalué son altitude à environ 200 à  300 pieds. Il a mentionné qu'il s'était fié à son expérience dans les champs de tirs comportant des indicateurs de distance pour évaluer l'altitude à laquelle volait l'appareil. Un autre témoin, M. Evans a dit avoir vu l'aéronef évoluer à une altitude variant de 200 à 500 pieds. Il a utilisé comme référence la longueur réglementaire d'une patinoire de la LNH, soit 200 pieds. En dernier lieu, M. O'Malley a affirmé avoir observé l'aéronef à une altitude maximale de 300 pieds. Pour évaluer l'altitude de l'aéronef, il a mentionné qu'il s'était fié à la hauteur des fils électriques dont il doit tenir compte lorsqu'il pilote un hélicoptère dans les environs du centre.

[26] Les témoins ont semblé tout à fait crédibles, particulièrement M. O'Malley qui, en tant que pilote d'hélicoptère, est familier avec les questions de navigation aérienne dans les environs du centre. De l'avis du Tribunal, les explications de M. Maguire n'ont rien changé à la preuve.

[27] La réglementation prévoit deux exceptions au seuil minimal de 500 pieds pour un survol au-dessus d'une structure. Il est possible, en effet, de survoler une structure à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds s'il s'agit d'effectuer un décollage, une approche ou un atterrissage (article 602.14(2)b) du RAC), ou si l'aéronef est utilisé par le titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne pour la photographie aérienne et que son utilisation est sans danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface (article 602.15(2)b)(ii) du RAC). Les témoignages ont démontré que ces deux exceptions ne s'appliquaient pas à l'incident survenu au centre le 31 août 2006, impliquant l'aéronef Cessna 177, immatriculé C-FWOC et appartenant au requérant.

VI. DÉCISION

[28] Le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, les infractions reprochées. En conséquence, le Tribunal maintient l'amende recommandée de 750 $, concernant l'infraction à l'article 601.04(2) du RAC, et l'amende recommandée de 3 000 $, concernant l'infraction à l'article 602.14(2)b) du RAC en raison d'une situation de récidive.

Le 12 mars 2008

Dr Pierre Coutu

Conseiller