Decisions

TATC File No. Q-3495-62
MoT File No. N5802-13942

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Michel Bradette, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1


Review Determination
Franco Pietracupa


Decision: January 7, 2009

Citation: Bradette v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2009 TATCE 1 (review)

Before: Franco Pietracupa, Member

Heard at Québec, Quebec, on November 4, 2008

Held: I confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport to suspend the applicant's approved check pilot delegation of authority.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On May 7, 2008, the Minister of Transport issued a notice of suspension to the applicant, Michel Bradette, who was informed that his approved check pilot delegation of authority dated January 30, 2008 (exhibit M-1) was suspended, pursuant to section 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act (Act). It is alleged that during a Transport Canada civil aviation monitoring check, Mr. Bradette, as an approved check pilot (ACP), while conducting a pilot proficiency check (PPC) did not recognize the failure of the candidate.

[2] To understand the nature of this case, it is necessary to comment briefly on the Minister's presentation. It is alleged that, as per the Approved Check Pilot Manual (TP 6533, 9th edition, ACP Manual), and as noted on the Approved Check Pilot (ACP) Monitor Report (exhibit M‑7), that during a PPC conducted on May 1, 2008, Mr. Bradette, as an ACP, did not recognize a failure by the candidate, as detailed in the Flight Test Guide − Instrument Rating (TP 9939, 7th edition, Flight Test Guide, exhibit M-3). Furthermore, he did not take appropriate action as set out in the ACP Manual. In particular, the Minister alleges that Mr. Bradette did not take appropriate action to recognize a failure of the candidate during the PPC.

[3] As such, the determination that will be rendered by the Tribunal is two fold:

1. Did the crew fail to apply the performance criterion of section 8i) of the Flight Test Guide?

2. If so, did the ACP, Mr. Bradette, recognize the failure and, as such, take the appropriate action?

II. LAW

[4] Section 7.1(1)(b) of the Act provides as follows:

7.1 (1) If the Minister decides to suspend, cancel or refuse to renew a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

. . .

b) the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to meet the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to fulfill the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or

. . .

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder or the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at their latest known address, notify that person of the Minister's decision.

[5] Section 8i) of the the Flight Test Guide provides the following performance criterion:

Assessment will be based on the candidate's ability to

. . .

i. on the intermediate and final segments of the final approach course:

. . .

ii. fly the approach in a stabilized manner without descending below the applicable minimum altitudes depicted on the approach chart (+as required/ –0 feet);

iii. descend to and accurately maintain the Minimum Descent Altitude (MDA) and track to the Missed Approach Point (MAP) or to the recommended minimum visibility that would permit safe completion of the visual portion of the approach with a normal rate of descent and minimal manoeuvring.

[6] The ACP Manual provides the following:

1.7.5 Cancellation, Suspension, Refusal to Renew or Refusal to Issue

. . .

The Issuing Authority - may, pursuant to 7.1(1) of the Act, suspend, refuse to renew or refuse to issue an examiner's authority to conduct flight tests on the basis of any of the following:

. . .

h. failure to conduct flight tests in accordance with the instructions, techniques and procedures set forth in the Approved Check Pilot Manual (TP 6533E), Flight Test Guide or PPC schedule.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Normand Audet

[7] Normand Audet is an experienced Transport Canada civil aviation inspector. He was on board the CL 22 aircraft, monitoring Mr. Bradette who was conducting a PPC. As part of the requirements under the ACP program, Mr. Bradette was being evaluated by Inspector Audet.

[8] Inspector Audet testified that, in general, flight tests are conducted as per the Flight Test Guide until the time of the approach phase. In this case, he noticed that the crew of the aircraft began to conduct a non-precision approach to circle. As per the CAP approach chart (NDB RYW 30) in the Nav Canada's publication entitled Canada Air Pilot (CAP 5 at 303, (French version CAP 6 at 372, exhibit M‑2)), the crew was to descend from the final approach fix (FAF) to a minimum descent altitude (MDA) of 760 feet to begin its circling manoeuvre to land on runway 24.

[9] As per the Flight Test Guide (exhibit M-3) and the Transport Canada Aeronautical Information Manual (TP 1471, AIM, exhibit M-4), this MDA is a "hard altitude" and tolerance of this 760 feet above see level (ASL) is +100 above and 0 below.

[10] Inspector Audet declared that from his position behind Mr. Bradette, he observed that the crew began a descent from the FAF at 1500 feet to the MDA of 760 feet. The rate of descent varied from 1500 to 2000 feet per minute. Without any observed situational awareness calls (as per the company's standard operating procedures (SOPs)) in the cockpit, the pilot flying (PF) was unable to level the aircraft at the MDA. As such, the aircraft was seen levelled at 600 feet.

[11] Inspector Audet's testimony concluded that the ACP examiner, Mr. Bradette, should have been able to observe this deviation from the acceptable criterion provided in section 8i) of the Flight Test Guide and to indicate on the Flight Test Report (exhibit M-5) a score of 1 (below standard), which is a failure.

[12] In cross-examination, Inspector Audet declared that the aircraft had climbed back to an altitude of 630 feet. As the aircraft began its circle approach, Inspector Audet returned to his seat and did not observe the landing phase of the circle approach.

B. Applicant

(1) Michel Bradette

[13] Mr. Bradette testified that during the final phase of the approach, the aircraft levelled at approximately 700 feet. Mr. Bradette's elements of defence rested on the submission of the following excerpt from section 4.6 of the ACP Manual (exhibit R-2):

. . . It is important for an ACP to apply a tolerance for unusual circumstances outside the control of the candidate such as wind, traffic or weather conditions. An ACP may also tolerate an excursion from specified limits in the performance criteria if the candidate recovers in a timely manner. However, an excursion from prescribed limits, with or without a timely recovery, which jeopardizes the safety of the aircraft is unacceptable.

[14] Mr. Bradette also testified that circumstances beyond the control of the PF, in particular traffic advisory calls from the air traffic control (ATC) tower during the descent to the MDA, created an overwork scenario for the pilot not flying (PNF), and as such, he could not assist the PF with situational awareness prompts related to the SOPs.

[15] Mr. Bradette submitted a written declaration (exhibit R-1), in which he explained that his decision not to give the PF a score of 1 but rather a 2 on the alleged circle approach was based on circumstances listed in the ACP Manual.

IV. DISCUSSION

[16] The Minister's case is based on the specific fact that Mr. Bradette had not, as an ACP, identified in the flight test, the failure of the pilot to maintain the MDA altitude, as per the performance criterion listed in the Flight Test Guide (exhibit M-3).

[17] The critical factor during a non-precision approach to circle is the need for the pilot to be able to descend and to demonstrate the skill in maintaining the MDA. The circle approach is a challenging flight procedure in the best of circumstances.

[18] From the documentary and oral evidence submitted, it is clear from the FAF inbound that the PF was behind the aircraft configuration envelope in as the speed and descent profile.

[19] From the FAF inbound, the crew was required to descend from 1500 to 760 feet ASL. As the CL 22 aircraft is a category B, the required visual distance to circle is 1.5 nautical miles (NM). The FAF is co-located 3.8 NM from the runway threshold. If we subtract the required 1.5 NM circle envelope, this leaves the crew approximately 2.3 NM to descend the required 740 feet ASL to the MDA.

[20] Inspector Audet's testimony was not contradicted by Mr. Bradette and highlighted the fact that the crew had started at a descent rate of 1500 to 2000 feet per minute. This would be a challenging rate of descent to initiate to the MDA. Keeping the aircraft at 760 feet would be difficult, as both, Inspector Audet and Mr. Bradette submitted that this aircraft is unstable. Add to this the non-calls coming from the PNF as to altitudes and speed, the possibility of descending below the 760 MDA seems probable. Further evidence from all parties also confirmed that the aircraft was flying between 600 and 700 feet during the final approach phase, and as such, never did capture or maintain the required 760 feet MDA.

[21] As weather conditions were not a factor, the unusual circumstances factored in this approach would be the traffic advisories issued by the ATC tower. Oral evidence indicates that the calls regarding traffic occurred as the aircraft began its base turn in the circle approach.

[22] The performance criterion set out in section 8i) of the Flight Test Guide clearly states that the pilot must be able to demonstrate the capability to descend and maintain MDA.

[23]  Sections 9.24 and 9.19.3 of the AIM stipulate the specific requirements to maintain the MDA until such time as a visual reference to the runway to land is identified and a normal descent to land profile can be accomplished. Mr. Bradette, as an ACP, should have been able to identify this below standard event and clearly evaluate it as a failure.

V. DETERMINATION

[24] I confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport to suspend the applicant's approved check pilot delegation of authority.

January 7, 2009

Franco Pietracupa

Member

Décisions

Dossier no Q-3495-62 (TATC)
Dossier no N5802-13942 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Michel Bradette, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Franco Pietracupa


Décision : le 7 janvier 2009

Référence : Bradette c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2009 TATCF 1 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à Québec (Québec) le 4 novembre 2008

Arrêt : Je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports de suspendre la délégation de pouvoir de pilote vérificateur agréé du requérant.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 7 mai 2008, le ministre des Transports a délivré un avis de suspension au requérant, Michel Bradette, l'informant de la suspension de sa délégation de pouvoir de pilote vérificateur agréé datée du 30 janvier 2008 (pièce M-1), en vertu de l'article 7.1(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (Loi). Il est allégué que pendant un contrôle de vérification d'aviation civile de Transports Canada, M. Bradette, en tant que pilote vérificateur agréé (PVA), n'a pas constaté l'échec du candidat alors qu'il effectuait un contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP).

[2] Afin de comprendre la nature de la présente affaire, il est nécessaire de commenter brièvement la présentation du ministre. Il est allégué que pendant un CCP effectué le 1er mai 2008, contrairement au Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé (TP 6533, 9e édition, Manuel du PVA), tel que l'indique le Rapport de contrôle du pilote vérificateur approuvé (PVA) (pièce M‑7), M. Bradette, en tant que PVA, n'a pas constaté l'échec du candidat, comme le prévoit le Guide de test en vol − Qualification de vol aux instruments (TP 9939, 7e édition, Guide de test en vol, pièce M-3). De plus, il n'a pas pris les mesures nécessaires comme le prévoit le Manuel du PVA. Particulièrement, le ministre soutient que M. Bradette n'a pas pris les mesures nécessaires pour constater l'échec du candidat pendant le CCP.

[3] Par conséquent, la décision rendue par le Tribunal comportera deux volets :

1. L'équipage a-t-il omis d'appliquer le critère d'exécution énoncé à l'article 8i) du Guide de test en vol?

2. Dans l'affirmative, le PVA, M. Bradette, a-t-il constaté l'échec et, en conséquence, a‑t-il pris les mesures nécessaires?

II. DROIT

[4] Voici le texte de l'article 7.1(1)b) de la Loi :

7.1 (1) Le ministre, s'il décide de suspendre, d'annuler ou de ne pas renouveler un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs ci-après, expédie un avis par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire du document ou du propriétaire, de l'exploitant ou de l'utilisateur de l'aéronef, de l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document :

[. . .]

b) le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document.

[5] Voici le texte du critère d'exécution prévu par l'article 8i) du Guide de test en vol :

L'évaluation sera fondée sur la capacité du candidat à :

[. . .]

i. dans le segment intermédiaire et le segment final de la trajectoire d'approche finale :

[. . .]

ii. effectuer une approche stabilisée sans descendre au-dessous des altitudes minimales applicables figurant sur les cartes d'approche (+ au besoin/-0 pieds),

iii. descendre jusqu'à l'altitude minimale de descente (MDA) et la tenir avec précision, se diriger vers le point d'approche interrompue (MAP) ou poursuivre jusqu'à la visibilité minimale recommandée qui permettra de terminer en toute sécurité la partie de l'approche à vue avec une vitesse de descente normale et sans manœuvres excessives.

[6] Le Manuel du PVA prévoit que :

1.7.5 Annulation, suspension, refus de renouvellement ou refus de délivrance

[…]

L'autorité habilitante peut, en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi, annuler les pouvoirs d'un PVA en matière d'administration des tests en vol pour l'une ou l'autre des raisons suivantes :

[…]

h. le défaut d'effectuer des tests en vol conformément aux directives, aux techniques et aux procédures établies dans le Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé (TP 6533F), le guide de test en vol ou l'annexe des CCP.

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Normand Audet

[7] Normand Audet est un inspecteur expérimenté au service de l'Aviation civile à Transports Canada. Il était à bord de l'aéronef CL 22, surveillant M. Bradette qui effectuait un CCP. Dans le cadre des exigences du programme de PVA, l'inspecteur Audet procédait à l'évaluation de M. Bradette.

[8] Dans son témoignage, l'inspecteur Audet a affirmé qu'en général les tests en vol sont administrés selon le Guide de test en vol jusqu'au moment de la phase d'approche. En l'espèce, il a remarqué que l'équipage de l'aéronef a entrepris une approche de non-précision pour l'approche indirecte. Selon la carte d'approche de CAP (NDB PISTE 30), tirée de la publication de Nav Canada intitulée Canada Air Pilot (CAP 6 à la p. 372, pièce M-2, (version anglaise CAP 5 à la p. 303)), l'équipage devait descendre du repère d'approche finale (FAF) à une altitude minimale de descente (MDA) de 760 pieds pour commencer sa manœuvre d'approche en vue d'un atterrissage sur la piste 24.

[9] Selon le Guide de test en vol (pièce M-3) et le Manuel d'information aéronautique de Transport Canada (TP 1471, AIM, pièce M-4), cette MDA s'avère une [traduction] « altitude difficile » et la tolérance pour cette altitude de 760 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL) est +100 au-dessus et 0 en dessous.

[10] L'inspecteur Audet a déclaré que de l'endroit où il se trouvait derrière M. Bradette, il a observé que l'équipage a amorcé une descente du FAF, à 1 500 pieds, jusqu'à la MDA à

760 pieds. Le taux de descente a varié de 1 500 à 2 000 pieds par minute. En l'absence d'avertissement de perception de la situation dans le poste de pilotage (selon les procédures d'utilisation normalisées de la société (les SOP)), le pilote aux commandes (PF) a été incapable de stabiliser l'aéronef à la MDA. En fait, l'aéronef stabilisé a été aperçu à 600 pieds.

[11] L'inspecteur Audet a conclu dans son témoignage que l'examinateur de PVA, M. Bradette, aurait dû être en mesure d'observer cet écart par rapport au critère acceptable établi à l'article 8i) du Guide de test en vol et d'indiquer la note 1 (inférieure au standard), ce qui est un échec, sur le rapport du test en vol (pièce M-5).

[12] En contre-interrogatoire, l'inspecteur Audet a déclaré que l'aéronef était remonté à une altitude de 630 pieds. Alors que l'aéronef commençait son approche indirecte, l'inspecteur Audet est retourné à son siège et n'a pas observé la phase de l'atterrissage de l'approche indirecte.

B. Requérant

(1) Michel Bradette

[13] Dans son témoignage, M. Bradette a déclaré que pendant la phase finale de l'approche, l'aéronef s'est stabilisé à environ 700 pieds. Les arguments en défense de M. Bradette sont fondés sur la présentation de l'extrait suivant de l'article 4.6 du Manuel du PVA (pièce R-2) :

… Il est important que le PVA fasse preuve d'une certaine tolérance en cas de circonstances inhabituelles sur lesquelles le candidat n'a aucun contrôle, comme le vent, la circulation ou les conditions météorologiques. Le PVA peut aussi tolérer un écart hors des limites prévues dans les critères de rendement à condition que le candidat rétablisse rapidement la situation. Toutefois, tout écart hors des limites prescrites, qu'il soit corrigé rapidement ou non, sera jugé inacceptable s'il nuit à la sécurité du vol.

[14] M. Bradette a également témoigné que des circonstances hors du contrôle du PF, en particulier des avis de la tour du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) pendant la descente à la MDA, avaient créé un scénario de surcharge de travail pour le pilote qui n'était pas aux commandes (PNF), et qu'en conséquence, il n'a pu aider le PF par des indications de perception de la situation en relation avec les SOP.

[15] M. Bradette a présenté une déclaration écrite (pièce R-1) dans laquelle il a expliqué que sa décision de ne pas attribuer la note 1 mais plutôt la note 2 pour l'approche indirecte en cause était fondée sur des circonstances prévues au Manuel du PVA.

IV. DISCUSSION

[16] Le dossier du ministre est fondé sur le fait même que M. Bradette n'a pas, en tant que PVA, constaté lors du test en vol que le pilote n'avait pas réussi à maintenir la MDA, conformément au critère d'exécution établi dans le Guide de test en vol (pièce M-3).

[17] Il est essentiel que pendant une approche indirecte de non-précision le pilote soit capable de perdre de l'altitude et de démontrer ses aptitudes à maintenir la MDA. L'approche indirecte constitue une procédure de vol difficile même dans le meilleur des cas.

[18] D'après la preuve documentaire et orale présentée, il apparaît évident du passage au FAF que le PF ne respectait pas la configuration de l'aéronef en ce qui a trait à la vitesse et au profil de descente.

[19] À compter du passage au FAF, l'équipage devait descendre de 1 500 à 760 pieds ASL. Étant donné que l'aéronef CL 22 est de catégorie B, la distance visuelle requise pour l'approche indirecte est de 1,5 mille nautique (NM). Le FAF est situé à 3,8 NM des limites de la piste d'atterrissage. Si nous soustrayons la distance de 1,5 NM nécessaire à l'approche indirecte, l'équipage ne dispose plus que d'environ 2,3 NM pour descendre de 740 pieds ASL et atteindre la MDA.

[20] M. Bradette n'a pas contredit le témoignage de l'inspecteur Audet qui mettait en évidence  le fait que l'équipage avait amorcé sa descente à une vitesse de 1 500 à 2 000 pieds par minute. À cette vitesse, il aurait été difficile d'atteindre la MDA et de maintenir l'aéronef à 760 pieds, étant donné que l'inspecteur Audet et M. Bradette ont fait valoir que cet appareil était instable. La possibilité de descendre sous la MDA de 760 pieds apparaît probable si de plus le PNF n'a fourni aucune indication en ce qui a trait à l'altitude et à la vitesse. D'autres éléments de preuve produits par l'ensemble des parties confirment également que l'aéronef volait à une altitude variant entre 600 et 700 pieds durant la phase finale de l'approche et qu'il n'a jamais atteint et maintenu la MDA prescrite de 760 pieds.

[21] Comme les conditions météorologiques n'étaient pas en cause, les avis de circulation transmis par la tour ATC constitueraient les circonstances inhabituelles qui ont été prises en compte en l'espèce. Selon la preuve orale présentée, les avis de circulation ont été transmis alors que l'aéronef amorçait son virage de base pour l'approche indirecte.

[22] Le critère d'exécution énoncé à l'article 8i) du Guide de test en vol précise que le pilote doit démontrer sa capacité à descendre à la MDA et à maintenir cette altitude.

[23]  Les articles 9.24 et 9.19.3 de l'AIM prévoient expressément le maintien de la MDA jusqu'à ce que des références visuelles soient établies avec la piste pour l'atterrissage et que le profil normal de descente en vue de l'atterrissage puisse être complété. M. Bradette, en tant que PVA, aurait dû être en mesure de constater que la manœuvre ne répondait pas à la norme et  l'évaluer comme un échec.

V. DÉCISION

[24] Je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports de suspendre la délégation de pouvoir  de pilote vérificateur agréé du requérant.

Le 7 janvier 2009

Franco Pietracupa

Conseiller