Decisions

TATC File No. H-3539-60
MoT File No. 5802-368589

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Mehrab Zubin Dastoor, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)


Review Determination
Franco Pietracupa


Decision: May 27, 2009

Citation: Dastoor v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2009 TATCE 10 (review)

Held: I confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport to suspend the applicant's privilege for flying a CL-65 aircraft.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On October 27, 2008, the Minister of Transport issued a notice of suspension to the applicant, Mehrab Zubin Dastoor, who was informed that his privilege to fly a CL‑65 aircraft was suspended, pursuant to paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act (Act). It is alleged that during a Transport Canada civil aviation recurrent pilot proficiency check (PPC), conducted on October 25, 2008 by Darryl William Didow, an approved check pilot (ACP), Mr. Dastoor, a licensed qualified pilot, miscalculated the aircraft's landing weight. As a result, the crew flew the approach at a speed too low for the actual weight of the aircraft.

[2] As per the Pilot Proficiency Check and Aircraft Type Rating Flight Test Guide (Airplane) (TP 14727, November 2007) and the existing company policy, the ACP attributed a score of 1 (below standard) to item 18 of the applicant's Flight Test Report (exhibit M-2).

[3] As such, the issues that must be considered and the determination that will be rendered by the Tribunal are based on the following two questions:

1. Did the crew miscalculate the landing weight of the aircraft by using advisory information only?

2. Did the ACP contribute to this failure by suggesting to the crew that all the systems on the aircraft had been reprogrammed and were operating normally prior to the event?

II. LAW

[4] Paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Act provides as follows:

7.1 (1) If the Minister decides to suspend, cancel or refuse to renew a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

. . .

(b) the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to meet the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to fulfil the conditions subject to which the document was issued.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Darryl William Didow

[5] Mr. Didow testified that, as per the scripted training and checking recurrent first officer PPC PAW2 of the aircraft operating manual (AOM, appendix 2, exhibit M‑5), the crew was preparing for take-off from runway 08R in Atlanta (USA). It was the fifth take-off of the day and it was being conducted by the first officer, Mr. Dastoor. The crew had been repositioned on the runway via the simulator REPO annunciator button in an attempt to complete the ride in the allocated four‑hour time block.

[6] Mr. Didow also testified that he had completed all required checks for the crew with specific instructions that the aircraft would be taking off at 47 000 lbs, with approximately 8100 lbs of fuel. The crew was asked to set take-off speeds for this weight and brief the departure. All other items required for the take-off were completed by Mr. Didow to expedite the take-off.

[7] Mr. Didow programmed an engine failure on this specific take-off, and the crew carried out the required emergency checks and preparation for the return to land scenario. It was during this approach preparation, approximately 20 to 30 minutes after take-off, that the error occurred. In the hold during the preparation for the approach, the crew had in the TSAFE brief, alluded to approximately 7600 lbs of fuel on board (exhibit M-8). However, the crew, using the fuel indication on the flight management system (FMS) which had not been updated prior to departure, displayed 1300 lbs and extrapolated a landing weight of 40 000 lbs. Speed was thus set for this weight (exhibit M-9).

[8] During cross-examination, Mr. Didow mentioned that although he had assumed responsibility for repositioning and completing the required checks for the take-off, the fuel page of the FMS was not reset to indicate the proper fuel on board. In fact, this function had not been performed by Mr. Didow during the totality of the check ride.

B. Applicant

(1) Andrew Kyle Galloway

[9] At the time of the occurrence on October 25, 2008, Andrew Kyle Galloway was the pilot flying and was also tested by Mr. Didow. His testimony centered on the fact that the ACP had reset the aircraft in preparation for the fifth take-off, and that it had been assumed that the fuel, that had been reset in the aircraft, was updated in the FMS by Mr. Didow. In cross–examination, Mr. Galloway indicated that he did not recall the amount of fuel on board at the time of the TSAFE brief.

(2) Mehab Zubin Dastoor

[10] Mr. Dastoor testified that when the ACP took the responsibility to reset the aircraft prior to the fifth take-off, including all programming of the FMS, the fuel indication of 1300 lbs was accepted and the landing weight was determined with this indication. Further in his testimony, Mr. Dastoor questioned the actual speed being used. He also argued that, even at 40 000 lbs, the speed flown would have been within 5 knots (kts) of the actual aircraft weight speed.

[11] In cross-examination, Mr. Dastoor admitted that, short of a massive fuel leak, the aircraft could not have burned 5000 lbs in less than 30 minutes of flight. There was also a further discussion as to the actual aircraft speed in relation to the added 5 kts buffer.

IV. DISCUSSION

[12] The review in this case is based on three key issues relating to aircraft system, knowledge and situational awareness. Did the crew use a fuel indicating system, in this case the FMS, for advisory only (exhibit M-7), and assumed it to be accurate based on the ACP's brief prior to take-off? Was the crew able to explain the abnormal fuel consumption in the short time flown, and lastly the actual fuel burn on board?

(a) Fuel Indication – Using the FMS (exhibit M-7)

[13] Evidence presented in appendix 5 of the AOM (volume 2, section 4.1.17 − Navigation − FMS Limitations; exhibit M-7) states that the use of the fuel management page of the FMS Rockwell Collins 4200 is for advisory use only. From oral evidence, the crew had used other methods of calculating fuel burn throughout the check ride, including the use of the engine indication and crew alerting system (EICAS) page and the multi-function display (MFD). Since oral evidence shows that the ACP has clearly indicated to the crew that approximately 8000 lbs of fuel had been reset for the take-off, the crew was able to determine a take-off weight card. During the TSAFE brief in the hold, the crew had as well referred to fuel on board at the time as 7600 lbs. Within 20 minutes of the actual approach, using the fuel page in the FMS and seeing 1300 lbs should have raised, at the very least, some questions and further queries. Using a method other than this FMS page would have confirmed the actual amount of fuel on board and the landing weight.

(b) Speed Card –Take-off and Landing Speed Card (TOL, exhibit M-9)

[14] As per the procedures provided in the AOM, the pilot not flying (Captain Galloway) would set the applicable reference speeds for the approach. With a 40 000 lbs card, the reference landing approach speed, all engines operating (VREF) to be bugged at flaps 45 kts was 130 kts (exhibit M-6). Air Canada Jazz adds a 5 kts buffer which would give a speed bug of 135 kts. At the proper aircraft weight the actual VREF would have been 138 kts, plus the applicable 5 kts for a speed bug of 143 kts. As such, the discrepancy between the speeds is 8 kts, as noted by the ACP.

(c) Situational Awareness

[15] As raised in the evidence presented at the hearing, the crew's lack of situational awareness in regards to this sudden fuel discrepancy is important to address. Although there may be some confusion in the directives given by the ACP during the fifth take‑off, the aircraft's weight on departure was clearly understood. At 47 000 lbs and a subsequent time lapse of approximately 20 to 30 minutes prior to the start of the approach, it would have been very unlikely that over 5000 lbs of fuel could have been burned. Unless indication to the contrary, a master caution message such as fuel imbalance, scavenger or main ejector fail should have raised, at the very least, some discussion in the cockpit. Using the EICAS page, as per the procedures provided in appendix 4 of the AOM (exhibit M-6) and subtracting the fuel burn from the take‑off weight would have accurately determined the landing weight and appropriate TOL card to use.

V. DETERMINATION

[16] I confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport to suspend the applicant's privilege for flying a CL-65 aircraft.

May 27, 2009

Franco Pietracupa

Member

Décisions

Dossier no H-3539-60 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-368589 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Mehrab Zubin Dastoor, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1(1)b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Franco Pietracupa


Décision : le 27 mai 2009

Référence : Dastoor c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2009 TATCF 10 (révision)

Arrêt : Je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports de suspendre le privilège du requérant de piloter un aéronef CL-65.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 27 octobre 2008, le ministre des Transports a délivré un avis de suspension au requérant, Mehrab Zubin Dastoor, l'informant que son privilège de piloter un aéronef CL‑65 était suspendu, conformément à l'alinéa 7.1(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (Loi). Il est allégué que, pendant un contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP) imposé périodiquement par la Direction de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada, mené le 25 octobre 2008 par Darryl William Didow, pilote vérificateur agréé (PVA), M. Dastoor, un pilote breveté et qualifié, aurait mal évalué la masse à l'atterrissage de l'aéronef. Par conséquent, l'équipage a effectué l'approche à une vitesse trop basse pour le poids réel de l'aéronef.

[2] Conformément au manuel Vérification de compétence pilote et qualification de type d'aéronef (Avions) (TP 14727, novembre 2007) et à la politique actuelle de l'entreprise, le PVA a attribué la note 1 (inférieure à la note standard) à l'élément 18 du Rapport du test en vol concernant le requérant (pièce M‑2).

[3] Par conséquent, les points qui doivent être examinés et la décision qui sera rendue par le Tribunal sont fondés sur les deux questions suivantes :

1. L'équipage a‑t‑il mal évalué la masse à l'atterrissage de l'aéronef en utilisant seulement des renseignements consultatifs?

2. Le PVA a‑t‑il contribué à cet échec en laissant entendre à l'équipage que tous les systèmes de l'aéronef avaient été reprogrammés et fonctionnaient normalement avant l'incident?

II. DROIT

[4] L'alinéa 7.1(1)b) de la Loi prévoit ce qui suit :

7.1 (1) Le ministre, s'il décide de suspendre, d.annuler ou de ne pas renouveler un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs ci-après…

[…]

b) le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Darryl William Didow

[5] M. Didow a témoigné qu'en vertu du scénario écrit de formation et de vérification relatif au CCP périodique PAW2 du copilote figurant dans le manuel d'utilisation de l'aéronef (AOM, appendice 2, pièce M‑5), l'équipage se préparait à décoller de la piste 08R d'Atlanta (É.-U.). Il s'agissait du cinquième décollage de la journée et il était dirigé par le copilote, M. Dastoor. On avait repositionné l'équipage sur la piste au moyen du bouton du voyant REPO du simulateur, en tentant d'effectuer le vol à l'intérieur de la tranche de temps allouée de quatre heures.

[6] M. Didow a également témoigné avoir effectué toutes les vérifications requises relativement à l'équipage, avec des instructions précises selon lesquelles l'aéronef décollerait à une masse de 47 000 lb, avec à son bord quelque 8 100 lb de carburant. On a demandé à l'équipage de régler les vitesses de décollage en fonction de cette masse et de donner l'exposé de départ. M. Didow a effectué toutes les autres manœuvres que nécessite le décollage afin d'accélérer ce dernier.

[7] M. Didow a programmé une panne moteur pour ce décollage particulier, et l'équipage a procédé aux vérifications d'urgence requises et à la préparation du scénario de retour en vue d'atterrir. C'est pendant cette préparation à l'approche, quelque 20 à 30 minutes après le décollage, que l'erreur est survenue. En attente pendant la préparation à l'approche, dans le cadre de l'exposé TSAFE, l'équipage avait mentionné qu'il y avait quelque 7 600 lb de carburant à bord (pièce M‑8). Cependant, au moyen de l'indication de carburant figurant sur le système de gestion de vol (FMS), que l'on n'avait pas mis à jour avant le départ, l'équipage avait affiché 1 300 lb et extrapolé une masse à l'atterrissage de 40 000 lb. On avait donc réglé la vitesse en fonction de cette masse (pièce M‑9).

[8] Pendant le contre‑interrogatoire, M. Didow a mentionné que même s'il avait assumé la responsabilité d'avoir procédé au repositionnement et d'avoir effectué toutes les vérifications requises au décollage, on n'avait pas réinitialisé la page relative au carburant du FMS pour indiquer le niveau exact de carburant à bord. En fait, M. Didow ne s'était pas servi de cette fonction pendant toute la durée du vol de vérification.

B. Requérant

(1) Andrew Kyle Galloway

[9] Au moment de l'incident, le 25 octobre 2008, Andrew Kyle Galloway était le pilote aux commandes et il faisait aussi l'objet d'un test administré par M. Didow. Son témoignage a été centré sur le fait que le PVA avait réinitialisé l'aéronef en préparation du cinquième décollage et qu'on avait présumé que le carburant avait été réinitialisé à bord de l'aéronef et mis à jour par M. Didow dans le FMS. Lors du contre‑interrogatoire, M. Galloway a mentionné qu'il ne se rappelait pas de la quantité de carburant qu'il y avait à bord au moment de l'exposé TSAFE.

(2) Mehab Zubin Dastoor

[10] M. Dastoor a témoigné que lorsque le PVA a pris la responsabilité de réinitialiser l'aéronef avant le cinquième décollage, y compris toute la programmation du FMS, l'indication de carburant de 1 300 lb a été acceptée, et on a déterminé la masse à l'atterrissage au moyen de cette indication. Plus tard au cours de son témoignage, M. Dastoor a remis en question la vitesse réelle utilisée. Il a également soutenu que, même à 40 000 lb, la vitesse de vol aurait différé d'au plus 5 nœuds (kt) de la vitesse réelle de l'aéronef.

[11] En contre‑interrogatoire, M. Dastoor a admis que, à moins d'une fuite massive de carburant, l'aéronef n'aurait pas pu consommer 5 000 lb de carburant en moins de 30 minutes de vol. Il y a également eu une discussion additionnelle quant à la vitesse réelle de l'aéronef par rapport au tampon supplémentaire de 5 kt.

IV. DISCUSSION

[12] En l'espèce, la révision repose sur trois questions clés relatives au système de bord, aux connaissances et à la connaissance de la situation de l'équipage. L'équipage a‑t‑il utilisé un circuit d'indication carburant, dans ce cas‑ci le FMS, uniquement à titre indicatif (pièce M‑7) et présumé qu'il était précis en se basant sur l'exposé du PVA qui a précédé le décollage? L'équipage a‑t‑il été en mesure d'expliquer la consommation anormale de carburant au cours de la courte période de vol et, finalement, la consommation réelle du carburant qui se trouvait à bord?

(a) Indication carburant – Utilisation du FMS (pièce M‑7)

[13] D'après la preuve présentée à l'appendice 5 de l'AOM (volume 2, section 4.1.17 − Navigation − Limites du FMS; pièce M‑7), on ne doit utiliser la page de gestion du carburant du FMS Rockwell Collins 4200 qu'à titre indicatif. D'après la preuve orale, l'équipage avait utilisé d'autres techniques de calcul de consommation de carburant tout au long du vol de vérification, notamment la page du système d'affichage des paramètres réacteurs et d'alerte de l'équipage (EICAS) et l'écran d'affichage multifonction (MFD). Comme la preuve orale démontre que le PVA a clairement indiqué à l'équipage que quelque 8 000 lb de carburant avaient été réinitialisées pour le décollage, l'équipage a été en mesure de déterminer un devis de masse au décollage. En attente, dans le cadre de l'exposé TSAFE, l'équipage avait également mentionné que la quantité de carburant à bord était alors de 7 600 lb. À moins de 20 minutes de l'approche réelle, l'utilisation de la page de carburant dans le FMS et le fait de voir 1 300 lb  auraient à tout le moins dû soulever des questions et d'autres demandes. L'utilisation d'une technique autre que cette page dans le FMS aurait permis de vérifier la quantité réelle de carburant à bord et la masse à l'atterrissage.

(b) Devis de vitesse – Devis de vitesse au décollage et à l'atterrissage (TOL, pièce M‑9)

[14] Conformément aux procédures fournies dans l'AOM, le pilote qui n'était pas aux commandes (le commandant Galloway) a réglé les vitesses de référence pertinentes en vue de l'approche. Avec un devis de 40 000 lb, la vitesse de référence d'approche à l'atterrissage (VREF), tous les moteurs opérants et les volets sortis à 45º, était de 130 kt (pièce M‑6). Air Canada Jazz ajoute un tampon de 5 kt, ce qui donnait un curseur de vitesse réglé à 135 kt. À la masse appropriée de l'aéronef, la VREF réelle aurait été de 138 kt, plus les 5 kt s'appliquant pour un curseur de vitesse réglé à 143 kt. En soi, l'écart entre les vitesses est de 8 kt, comme l'a noté le PVA.

(c) Connaissance de la situation

[15] D'après les éléments de preuve présentés lors de l'audience, il est important de traiter du manque de connaissance de la situation de l'équipage relativement à ce soudain déséquilibre de carburant. Même s'il y a eu une certaine confusion quant aux consignes données par le PVA au cours du cinquième décollage, la masse de l'aéronef au décollage a été clairement comprise. À 47 000 lb et, par la suite, dans un délai de quelque 20 à 30 minutes avant le début de l'approche, il aurait été très peu probable que plus de 5 000 lb de carburant soient consommées. À moins d'indication contraire, un message d'avertissement principal, comme celui avisant d'un déséquilibre de carburant, d'une panne de l'évacuateur ou d'une panne de l'éjecteur principal, aurait dû être lancé ou, à tout le moins, une discussion aurait dû avoir lieu dans le poste de pilotage. L'utilisation de la page de l'EICAS conformément aux procédures fournies à l'appendice 4 de l'AOM (pièce M‑6) et la soustraction de la masse de carburant consommée de la masse au décollage auraient permis de déterminer avec précision la masse à l'atterrissage et le devis de TOL qu'il convenait d'utiliser.

V. DÉCISION

[16] Je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports de suspendre le privilège du requérant de piloter un aéronef CL-65.

Le 27 mai 2009

Franco Pietracupa

Conseiller