Decisions

TATC File No. MA-0017-33
MoT File No. A20090511-100-00032

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Matthew Daley, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:


Review Determination
C. Michael Keefe


Decision: December 9, 2009

Citation: Daley v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2009 TATCE 36 (review)

Heard at St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, on November 9, 2009

Held: Matthew Daley has violated section 107 of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001. I confirm the monetary penalty of $1 250, as imposed by the Minister of Transport. 

The total amount of $1 250 is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within thirty-five (35) days of service of this determination.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On May 11, 2009, the Minister of Transport issued a notice of violation to the Applicant, Matthew Daley, for a violation of section 107 of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001 ("Act"). It is alleged that on April 14, 2009, the Applicant proceeded on a voyage and that, as the master of the vessel, he failed to ensure that the vessel had all the Canadian maritime documents required.

 

[2] Schedule A of the Notice of Violation states the following:

On or about April 14, 2009 at or near St. Joseph's in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador, Matthew Daley, being the master of a Canadian vessel, namely, Atlanticat, failed to ensure that all Canadian maritime documents required under Part 4 of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001 had been obtained before the vessel embarked on a voyage from a port in Canada, thereby contravening section 107 of that Act.

Penalty: $1,250.00

[3] On June 9, 2009, Matthew Daley filed a request for a review with the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada.

II. STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND POLICIES

[4] Section 107 of the Act provides the following:

107. The master of a Canadian vessel shall, before the vessel embarks on a voyage from a port in Canada, ensure that all of the Canadian maritime documents required under this Part have been obtained.

[5] Section 10 of the Vessel Certificates Regulations, SOR/2007-31, states the following:

10. (1) No vessel shall engage on a voyage unless it holds a certificate issued under subsection (2).

(2) On application by the authorized representative of a vessel, the Minister shall issue an inspection certificate to the vessel if the requirements under the Act that apply in respect of the vessel when engaged in its intended service are met.

III. ELEMENTS TO BE PROVEN

[6] Based on the Notice of Violation, I identified the following elements to be proven by the Minister:

Matthew Daley was the master of a Canadian vessel that embarked on a voyage on or about April 14, 2009, without having obtained all Canadian maritime documents required under Part 4 of the Act.

IV. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Carl Bruce

[7] Since 1988, Carl Bruce has been employed as a marine surveyor by Transport Canada, Marine Safety, Marystown District Office in Newfoundland and Labrador. He testified that he was familiar with the Atlanticat and identified it as being a small fishing vessel of less than 150 gross tons.

[8] An excerpt from the Transport Canada's Vessel Registration Query System, showing registration information for the Atlanticat, was identified by Mr. Bruce as the vessel's Certificate of Registry (Exhibit M-1). The inspection certificate and the record of safety equipment that were issued to the Atlanticat on March 3, 2009, show an expiry date of April 4, 2009 (Exhibit M‑2). A marine safety notice (SI-07), consisting of a list of deficiencies, was issued to the Atlanticat on March 3, 2009 (Exhibit M‑3).

[9] Mr. Bruce testified that a ship inspection report database exists within Transport Canada, Marine Safety. It contains information on vessels, including their history, types of machinery and other items. Mr. Bruce stated that there is a section indicating when vessels were inspected and when they received their certificates. When asked if he checked the database to see if the Atlanticat was properly certified for the voyage in question, Mr. Bruce replied that the database was incomplete. He explained that this occasionally occurs due to surveyor workload. He further stated that on April 16, 2009, while he was on board the Atlanticat in Marystown reviewing the SI-07, he asked the captain to produce the Ship's Inspection Certificate and noticed that it was expired. He testified that the Atlanticat had arrived in Marystown with an inspection certificate that was not valid.

[10] Under cross-examination, Mr. Bruce stated that he could extend a certificate for a maximum of two months, depending on the nature of any outstanding deficiencies. He explained that the regional director has the authority to extend a certificate for an additional three months, up to a maximum of five months. To obtain the extension, it would require a written request to either the attending surveyor or the regional director. Andrew Daley asked if Mr. Bruce would accept a written request from him, if, as an operator, he wanted an extension. Mr. Bruce replied that he would accept such a request.

B. Applicant

(1) Andrew Daley

[11] Andrew Daley recounted a series of events that he felt had brought him and the Applicant to the review hearing. He had leased the vessel from the owner, and as part of the lease agreement, he had to have the vessel re-certified. He testified that he had previously been the master of the vessel and was presently the vessel's operations manager.

[12] During Andrew Daley's testimony, two exhibits were filed in evidence. The first is a letter dated March 30, 2009, addressed to Transport Canada, Marine Safety, to the attention of C. Cooper, requesting a three-month extension to the Ship's Inspection Certificate (Exhibit A‑1). Andrew Daley testified that on April 1, 2009, Mr. Cooper informed him that he would not accept his request and that the request had to originate from Mr. Bon Pelley. The second exhibit is a letter dated April 3, 2009, from Mr. Pelley to Jim Kenney of Transport Canada, Marine Safety in St. John's, requesting the three-month extension (Exhibit A‑2).

[13] Andrew Daley testified that several efforts, verbally and in writing, had been made to Transport Canada, Marine Safety, to obtain an extension beyond April 4, 2009, but nothing was forthcoming. As he had not received an extension, Andrew Daley stated that he made a business decision and moved the vessel without a valid certificate. He testified that the vessel was moved to the dry dock in Marystown, to complete an underwater inspection prior to obtaining a valid certificate.

[14] Under cross-examination, Andrew Daley stated that he did not make any follow-up telephone calls to Transport Canada, Marine Safety, inquiring as to the status of Mr. Pelley's request. He was left with the impression from Mr. Cooper that it was not his position to do so. He stated, however, that he spoke several times to Mr. Pelley, trying to resolve the situation. He said that on April 14, 2009, at approximately 12:00 a.m., the ship departed St. Joseph's, Newfoundland and Labrador. When asked whose decision it was to depart with an expired certificate, he replied that it was a joint decision between Mr. Pelley and himself, with Matthew Daley being given the choice to depart "if he so wanted to".

V. ARGUMENTS

A. Minister of Transport

[15] The Minister's representative spoke at length about the mandate of Transport Canada, Marine Safety, and the importance of having valid Canadian maritime documents on board a ship. As regards the penalty, he stated that while this is considered to be a serious offence, it is at the low end of the scale and that the particulars of the case warranted the minimum penalty permitted, being $1 250, by the Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations, SOR/2008-97.

B. Applicant

[16] Andrew Daley pointed out that the vessel made the voyage in order to be dry docked, as part of the Transport Canada, Marine Safety inspection requirements. He indicated that there were no deficiencies noted with the ship's safety equipment. He stated that he used due diligence in trying to obtain an extension to the inspection certificate and thereby avoid the violation. This was in the form of one request, presented verbally and later in writing on his part, and one written request on the part of the owner of the vessel. He said that he understood the owner might have made several verbal requests as well. He stated that the decision to move the vessel without a valid inspection certificate was based on economic survival. He suggested that a written warning would have been a more appropriate way for Transport Canada, Marine Safety, to address the violation.

VI. LEGISLATION AND POLICY ANALYSIS

[17] The statements in the description of the violation at Schedule A of the Notice of Violation were not disputed by the Applicant.

[18] As regards the excerpt from the Transport Canada's Vessel Registration Query System (Exhibit M-1), I do not accept it as being the vessel's Certificate of Registry or a copy thereof. It does not resemble nor is it in the format of an official Canadian vessel certificate of registry. An acceptable alternative to a copy of this document would have been issued by the ship registrar, showing the particulars for this ship, dated and attested as being so by the registrar, in accordance with subsection 265(1) of the Act.

[19] Andrew Daley has recounted what appears to have been a frustrating attempt to obtain a valid inspection certificate. I am left to wonder why someone would be treated in such a manner when the Minister has, in his closing arguments, described the importance that Transport Canada attaches to having a valid inspection certificate.

[20] Andrew Daley identified himself as the person leasing the Atlanticat, as the ship's operations manager, and prior to the voyage in question, the ship's master. Matthew Daley was identified by Andrew Daley as the master of the Atlanticat for the voyage from St. Joseph's to Marystown. Mr. Bruce has identified Matthew Daley as the person from whom he received the expired inspection certificate on April 16, 2009, while he was on board conducting an inspection at Marystown. Mr. Bruce has testified that a research of Transport Canada, Marine Safety's records, shows that, at the time of the voyage in question, the Atlanticat did not hold a valid inspection certificate. Andrew Daley has acknowledged under cross-examination that the Atlanticat departed St. Joseph's on April 14, 2009, with an expired certificate. Based on this, I conclude that the elements of the offence have been proven.

[21] Andrew Daley testified that he, acting as the ship's operations manager, exercised due diligence in attempting to obtain a valid inspection certificate for the voyage from St. Joseph's to Marystown.

[22] Subsection 254(1) of the Act states as follows:

254. (1) No person may be found guilty of an offence under this Act if the person establishes that they exercised due diligence to prevent its commission.

A person who seeks the benefit of the defence provided by subsection 254(1) of the Act must prove, on a balance of probabilities, that all due diligence had been exercised to prevent the violation.

[23] The Notice of Violation was issued to Matthew Daley, and to avoid liability it must be shown that he, or in this case, others acting on his behalf, took all reasonable care to avoid the commission of the offence. Andrew Daley testified that he made a request, verbally and in writing, for an extension to the inspection certificate, and that Mr. Pelley also made such a request. Andrew Daley also indicated that he had no definite knowledge of further verbal requests made by the owner, nor did he call the owner as a witness to testify as to any further efforts that might have been made. Under cross‑examination, he stated that he made no follow‑up telephone calls to Transport Canada, Marine Safety, inquiring as to the status of the request for an extension.

[24] No evidence was introduced that Matthew Daley, the master of the vessel, did anything at all to obtain a valid certificate or to avoid committing the offence. A decision to depart St. Joseph's for Marystown on April 14, 2009, without a valid inspection certificate, was made by Andrew Daley and Mr. Pelley. Andrew Daley has testified that it was an economic decision. Matthew Daley was given the choice to proceed or not, and he chose to proceed. The efforts, described by Andrew Daley, that were made to obtain a valid certificate strike me as somewhat lacking. The evidence does not lead me to accept that the Applicant, or others acting on his behalf, took all reasonable care to avoid committing the offence.

VII. DETERMINATION

[25] The Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations set the minimum penalty for a violation of section 107 of the Act at $1 250. I confirm the decision of the Minister to impose a monetary penalty of $1 250 on the Applicant.

December 9, 2009

C. Michael Keefe

Member

Décisions

Dossier no MA-0017-33 (TATC)
Dossier no A20090511-100-00032 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Matthew Daley, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:


Décision à la suite d'une révision
C. Michael Keefe


Décision : le 9 décembre 2009

Référence : Daley c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2009 TATCF 36 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à St. John's (Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador) le 9 novembre 2009

Arrêt : Matthew Daley a violé l'article 107 de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada. Je confirme l'amende de 1 250 $, infligée par le ministre des Transports. 

Le montant total de 1 250 $ est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada dans les trente‑cinq (35) jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 11 mai 2009, le ministre des Transports a délivré un procès‑verbal au requérant, Matthew Daley, relativement à une violation de l'article 107 de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada (Loi). Il est allégué que le 14 avril 2009, le requérant a entrepris un voyage et, à titre de capitaine du bâtiment, il n'a pas veillé à ce que les documents maritimes canadiens aient été obtenus.

 

[2] L'annexe A du procès‑verbal énonce ce qui suit :

[traduction]

Le ou vers le 14 avril 2009, à St. Joseph's dans la province de Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador, ou dans les environs, Matthew Daley, le capitaine d'un bâtiment canadien, à savoir l'Atlanticat, n'a pas veillé à ce que tous les documents maritimes canadiens exigés sous le régime de la partie 4 de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada aient été obtenus avant que le bâtiment n'entreprenne un voyage à partir d'un port au Canada, contrevenant ainsi à l'article 107 de ladite Loi.

Amende : 1 250.00 $

[3] Le 9 juin 2009, Matthew Daley a déposé une requête en révision auprès du Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada.

II. LOIS, RÈGLEMENTS ET POLITIQUES

[4] L'article 107 de la Loi prévoit ce qui suit :

107 Le capitaine d'un bâtiment canadien veille à ce que les documents maritimes canadiens exigés sous le régime de la présente partie soient obtenus avant que le bâtiment n'entreprenne un voyage à partir d'un port au Canada.

[5] L'article 10 du Règlement sur les certificats de bâtiment, DORS/2007‑31, prévoit ce qui suit :

10(1) Il est interdit à tout bâtiment d'effectuer un voyage à moins d'être titulaire d'un certificat délivré en vertu du paragraphe (2).

(2) Le ministre délivre à un bâtiment, sur demande du représentant autorisé de celui-ci, un certificat d'inspection si sont respectées les exigences prévues sous le régime de la Loi qui s'appliquent au bâtiment lorsqu'il effectue le service auquel il est destiné.

III. ÉLÉMENTS DEVANT ÊTRE ÉTABLIS

[6] Selon le procès‑verbal, le ministre doit établir les éléments suivants :

Matthew Daley était le capitaine d'un bâtiment canadien ayant entrepris un voyage, le ou vers le 14 avril 2009, sans avoir obtenu tous les documents maritimes canadiens exigés sous le régime de la partie 4 de la Loi.

IV. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Carl Bruce

[7] Depuis 1988, Carl Bruce est employé comme expert maritime par Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, bureau du district de Marystown à Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador. Il a déclaré qu'il connaissait bien l'Atlanticat et l'a décrit comme un petit bateau de pêche de moins de 150 tonnes fortes.

[8] M. Bruce a reconnu  un extrait du Système de recherche d'informations sur l'immatriculation des bâtiments de Transports Canada, sur lequel figuraient les renseignements sur l'immatriculation de l'Atlanticat, expliquant qu'il s'agissait du certificat d'immatriculation du bâtiment (pièce M‑1). La date d'expiration indiquée sur le certificat d'inspection et le registre de l'équipement de sécurité délivrés à l'Atlanticat le 3 mars 2009 est le 4 avril 2009 (pièce M‑2). Une note de la sécurité maritime (SI‑07), comprenant une liste des lacunes, a été rédigée à l'intention de l'Atlanticat le 3 mars 2009 (pièce M‑3).

[9] M. Bruce a déclaré que Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, tient une base de données sur l'inspection des navires. Elle contient des renseignements sur les bâtiments, notamment leur histoire, leurs types de machines et autres pièces. M. Bruce a affirmé qu'elle comporte une section indiquant à quelle date les bâtiments ont été inspectés et à quelle date ils ont reçu leurs certificats. Lorsqu'on lui a demandé s'il avait vérifié la base de données pour voir si l'Atlanticat était dûment certifié pour le voyage en question, M. Bruce a répondu que la base de données était incomplète. Il a expliqué que cela arrive occasionnellement en raison de la charge de travail des experts. Il a également affirmé que le 16 avril 2009, alors qu'il était en train d'examiner le SI‑07 à bord de l'Atlanticat à Marystown, il a demandé au capitaine de lui présenter le certificat d'inspection du navire et a remarqué qu'il était échu. Il a déclaré que lorsque l'Atlanticat est arrivé à Marystown, son certificat d'inspection était invalide.

[10] En contre‑interrogatoire, M. Bruce a affirmé qu'il peut prolonger un certificat pour une période maximale de deux mois, selon la nature des lacunes non encore corrigées. Il a expliqué que le directeur régional a le pouvoir de prolonger un certificat pour trois mois supplémentaires, jusqu'à concurrence de cinq mois. Pour obtenir la prolongation, le titulaire du certificat doit présenter une demande écrite à l'expert maritime présent ou au directeur régional. Andrew Daley a demandé à M. Bruce s'il accepterait de prolonger son certificat si, à titre d'exploitant, il lui présentait une demande écrite. M. Bruce a répondu par l'affirmative.

B. Requérant

(1) Andrew Daley

[11] Andrew Daley a raconté une série d'événements qui, selon lui, l'a mené lui et le requérant à l'audience en révision. Le propriétaire lui louait son bâtiment et, dans le cadre du contrat de location, il devait s'occuper de l'obtention du nouveau certificat. Il a déclaré qu'il a déjà été le capitaine du bâtiment et qu'il était maintenant le gestionnaire des opérations du bâtiment.

[12] Durant le témoignage d'Andrew Daley, deux pièces ont été déposées en preuve. La première est une lettre datée du 30 mars 2009 adressée à Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, à l'attention de C. Cooper, dans laquelle on demande de prolonger de trois mois la validité du certificat d'inspection du navire (pièce A‑1). Andrew Daley a déclaré que, le 1er avril 2009, M. Cooper l'a informé qu'il n'accepterait pas sa demande et que celle‑ci devait provenir de M. Bon Pelley. La deuxième pièce est une lettre datée du 3 avril 2009, de M. Pelley à Jim Kenney de Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, à St. John's, dans laquelle il demande une prolongation de trois mois (pièce A‑2).

[13] Andrew Daley a témoigné qu'il a essayé à plusieurs reprises, tant oralement que par écrit, d'obtenir une prolongation au‑delà du 4 avril 2009 auprès de Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, mais que cela n'avait rien donné. Andrew Daley a affirmé que comme il n'avait pas obtenu de prolongation, il avait pris la décision, pour des raisons commerciales, de déplacer le bâtiment sans être titulaire d'un certificat valide. Il a déclaré que le bâtiment avait été déplacé dans une cale sèche à Marystown pour terminer l'inspection de la carène, avant de pouvoir obtenir un certificat valide.

[14] En contre‑interrogatoire, Andrew Daley a affirmé qu'il n'a pas téléphoné à Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, pour se renseigner sur le statut de la demande de M. Pelley. M. Cooper lui avait donné l'impression que ce n'était pas à lui de le faire. Toutefois, il a affirmé avoir parlé plusieurs fois à M. Pelley pour essayer de régler la situation. Il a dit que le 14 avril 2009, vers minuit, le navire a quitté St. Joseph's, à Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador. Lorsqu'on lui a demandé qui avait pris la décision de partir malgré l'expiration du certificat, il a répondu qu'il s'agissait d'une décision commune entre M. Pelley et lui, laissant le choix à Matthew Daley de partir [traduction] « s'il le désirait ».

V. ARGUMENTS

A. Ministre des Transports

[15] Le représentant du ministre a longuement parlé du mandat de Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, et de l'importance d'avoir des documents maritimes canadiens valides à bord d'un navire. En ce qui concerne l'amende, il a affirmé que bien que cette infraction soit considérée grave, elle se situe au bas de l'échelle et les particularités de l'affaire justifient l'amende minimale permise, soit 1 250 $, prévue au Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires, DORS/2008‑97.

B. Requérant

[16] Andrew Daley a indiqué que le bâtiment a entrepris le voyage afin d'entrer en cale sèche, dans le cadre des exigences d'inspection de Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime. Il a indiqué qu'aucune lacune dans l'équipement de sécurité du navire n'avait été relevée. Il a affirmé avoir pris les mesures nécessaires pour tenter de prolonger le certificat d'inspection et qu'il n'a donc pas commis de contravention. Pour ce faire, deux demandes ont été présentées : l'une par lui, oralement et plus tard par écrit, et l'autre par le propriétaire du bâtiment. Il a indiqué que selon lui, il se pourrait que le propriétaire ait aussi formulé plusieurs demandes verbales. Il a affirmé que la décision de déplacer le bâtiment sans être titulaire d'un certificat d'inspection valide était une question de survie économique. Il a laissé entendre que Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, aurait pu simplement lui donner un avertissement écrit pour remédier à la violation.

VI. ANALYSE DE LA LÉGISLATION ET DE LA POLITIQUE

[17] Le requérant n'a pas contesté les déclarations figurant dans la description de la violation à l'annexe A du procès‑verbal.

[18] En ce qui concerne l'extrait du Système de recherche d'informations sur l'immatriculation des bâtiments de Transports Canada (pièce M‑1), je ne le considère pas comme le certificat d'immatriculation du bâtiment ou une copie du certificat. Il ne ressemble pas à un certificat d'immatriculation d'un bâtiment canadien officiel et n'a pas la même présentation matérielle. Un document indiquant les particularités du navire, daté et attesté par le registraire des navires, aurait été acceptable conformément au paragraphe 265(1) de la Loi.

[19] Andrew Daley a raconté ce qui semble avoir été une tentative infructueuse d'obtenir un certificat d'inspection valide. Je me demande pourquoi une personne serait traitée d'une telle façon alors que le ministre, dans ses conclusions finales, a expliqué l'importance que Transports Canada accorde au fait d'avoir un certificat d'inspection valide.

[20] Andrew Daley a affirmé être la personne louant l'Atlanticat, le gestionnaire des opérations du navire et, avant le voyage en question, le capitaine du navire. Andrew Daley a présenté Matthew Daley comme le capitaine de l'Atlanticat lors du voyage de St. Joseph's à Marystown. M. Bruce a présenté Matthew Daley comme la personne de qui il a reçu le certificat d'inspection échu le 16 avril 2009, alors qu'il était en train de faire une inspection du navire à Marystown. M. Bruce a déclaré qu'une recherche dans les dossiers de Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, démontre qu'au moment du voyage en question, l'Atlanticat ne détenait pas un certificat d'inspection valide. En contre-interrogatoire, Andrew Daley a admis que l'Atlanticat avait quitté St. Joseph's, le 14 avril 2009, sans certificat valide. Par conséquent, je conclus que les éléments de l'infraction ont été établis.

[21] Andrew Daley a déclaré qu'en tant que gestionnaire des opérations du navire, il a pris les mesures nécessaires pour tenter d'obtenir un certificat d'inspection valide en vue d'entreprendre le voyage de St. Joseph's à Marystown.

[22] Selon le paragraphe 254(1) de la Loi :

254(1) Nul ne peut être reconnu coupable d'avoir commis une infraction à la présente loi s'il établit avoir pris les mesures nécessaires pour s'y conformer.

Quiconque veut se prévaloir de la défense prévue au paragraphe 254(1) de la Loi doit démontrer, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, qu'il a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour éviter la violation.

[23] Le procès‑verbal a été délivré à l'intention de Matthew Daley et, afin d'éviter toute responsabilité, ce dernier doit démontrer qu'il, ou en l'espèce les personnes agissant en son nom, a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour éviter la perpétration de l'infraction. Andrew Daley a déclaré qu'il avait présenté une demande, oralement et par écrit, en vue d'obtenir une prolongation du certificat d'inspection et que M. Pelley avait aussi présenté une demande semblable. Andrew Daley a également indiqué qu'il ne savait pas précisément si le propriétaire avait présenté d'autres demandes verbales, et il n'a pas appelé le propriétaire à témoigner au sujet de toute autre mesure qui aurait pu être prise. En contre‑interrogatoire, il a affirmé qu'il n'avait pas téléphoné à Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, pour se renseigner sur le statut de la demande de prolongation.

[24] Aucune preuve n'a démontré que Matthew Daley, le capitaine du bâtiment, a tout fait pour obtenir un certificat valide ou pour éviter de commettre l'infraction. Andrew Daley et M. Pelley ont pris la décision de quitter St. Joseph's pour aller à Marystown, le 14 avril 2009, sans certificat d'inspection valide. Andrew Daley a déclaré qu'il s'agissait d'une décision économique. Matthew Daley avait le choix d'accepter ou non, et il a choisi d'accepter. Les efforts déployés pour obtenir un certificat valide, énoncés par Andrew Daley, ne m'apparaissent pas tellement persistants. La preuve ne me permet pas de reconnaître que le requérant, ou d'autres personnes agissant en son nom, a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour éviter de commettre l'infraction.

VII. DÉCISION

[25] Le Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires prévoit une amende minimale de 1 250 $ relativement à une violation de l'article 107 de la Loi. Je confirme la décision du ministre d'infliger une amende de 1 250 $ au requérant.

Le 9 décembre 2009

C. Michael Keefe

Conseiller