Decisions

TATC File No. C-3617-27
MoT File No. 5802-734509

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Anton Jude Benedict, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, ss. 6.71(1)


Review Determination
Howard M. Bruce


Decision: January 15, 2010

Citation: Benedict v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2010 TATCE 1 (review)

Heard at Calgary, Alberta, on December 15, 2009

Held: I confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport to refuse to issue a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane to Anton Jude Benedict.

I. BACKGOUND

[1] On August 19, 2009, the Minister of Transport issued a refusal to issue a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane to the Applicant, Anton Jude Benedict, because he did not meet the knowledge written examination requirement of subsection 421.30(3) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations ("CARs") and the skill requirement of subsection 421.30(5) of the CARs, pursuant to subsection 6.71(1) of the Aeronautics Act ("Act").

[2] On August 27, 2009, the Applicant filed a request for review of the Minister's decision with the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada ("Tribunal").

II. STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND POLICIES

[3] To be granted a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane, an individual must fulfill the requirements set out in subsections 421.30(3) and (5) of the CARs:

421.30 The requirements in respect of an application for a Commercial Pilot Licence — Aeroplane are the following:

(3) Knowledge

Ground School Instruction

(a) An applicant shall have completed a minimum of 80 hours commercial pilot aeroplane ground school instruction including at least the following subjects:

(i) Canadian Aviation Regulations,

(ii) aerodynamics and theory of flight,

(iii) meteorology,

(iv) airframes, engines and systems,

(v) flight instruments,

(vi) radio and electronic theory,

(vii) navigation,

(viii) flight operations,

(ix) licensing requirements, and

(x) human factors including pilot decision‑making.

(b) An applicant who is a graduate from an approved integrated course shall have completed the applicable course requirements in section 426.75 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

Written Examination

(c) All applicants shall have obtained a minimum of 60% in each of the following four mandatory subjects areas as well as in the overall written examination Commercial Pilot Licence — Aeroplane (CPAER):

(i) Air Law ‑ regulations, rules and orders, air traffic services, practices and procedures, and licensing requirements relevant to the licence,

(ii) Navigation ‑ navigation, radio aids and electronic theory,

(iii) Meteorology, and

(iv) Aeronautics ‑ General Knowledge ‑ airframes, engines and systems, theory of flight, flight instruments and flight operations.

(d) An applicant who is a graduate from an approved integrated course shall have completed the applicable course requirements in section 426.75 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

(5) Skill

Within the 12 months preceding the date of application for the licence, an applicant for a commercial pilot licence — aeroplane shall successfully complete a flight test to the standard outlined in the Flight Test Guide Commercial Pilot Licence — Aeroplane (TP13462E).

[4] With respect to the knowledge written examination requirement specified in subsection 421.30(3) of the CARs, subsection 400.03(1) of the CARs specifies the following:

400.03(1) Subject to subsection (3), tests, skill letters and examinations, including all sections of a sectionalized examination, that are required for the issuance of a permit or licence or for the endorsement of a permit or licence with a rating shall be completed during the 24-month period immediately preceding the date of the application for the permit, licence or rating.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Pete Firlotte

[5] Pete Firlotte is an aviation licensing inspector with Transport Canada. Although he had never met the Applicant prior to the review hearing, he had been briefed on the file and had examined the pertinent documentation.

[6] During Inspector Firlotte's testimony, a copy of the refusal to issue a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane dated August 19, 2009, was produced as evidence (Exhibit M-1).

[7] Inspector Firlotte explained that subsection 421.30(3) of the CARs requires that an applicant for a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane pass a written examination to satisfy the necessary knowledge requirement. Inspector Firlotte also indicated that subsection 400.03(1) of the CARs requires that this written examination be completed during the 24‑month period immediately preceding the date of the application for a licence.

[8] The following documents were also produced as evidence:

  • a copy of written examination results dated July 27, 2009, indicating that the Applicant had failed;
  • a copy of written examination results dated June 28, 2007, indicating that the Applicant had failed;
  • a printout from the Transport Canada database, listing the exams taken by the Applicant since November 11, 2001; and
  • a letter dated December 10, 2009, from Henry Schultz, Senior General Counsel and Director, Department of Justice Canada, confirming that secretary's certificates could not be issued to the Minister of Transport (Exhibit M-2).

[9] According to Inspector Firlotte, these documents clearly show that the Applicant has not satisfied the knowledge requirement and the skill requirement in the 24‑month period immediately preceding his application of August 18, 2009. Consequently, a licence could not be issued.

[10] When questioned about an application made by the Applicant in 2004, to obtain a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane, Inspector Firlotte indicated that there was no indication in the Transport Canada database that such an application had been received.

B. Applicant

(1) Anton Jude Benedict

[11] The Applicant testified that he had passed his written examination on May 10, 2002 (Exhibit M-2), and that his application for a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane was submitted on time, May 10, 2004, despite the fact that the reception stamp on this document is dated May 18, 2004 (Exhibit A-1). He stated that he was never notified by letter in 2004 that his application had been denied.

[12] With respect to his August 18, 2009 application, the Applicant agreed that he did not meet the necessary requirements for the issuance of a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane (Exhibit‑A-1).

[13] During cross-examination, the Applicant indicated that he had included a certified cheque with his application in May 2004, but added that it was never cashed. He also stated that on May 20, 2004, he was advised by Transport Canada that his application was incomplete, as his logbook was not certified. He proceeded to have his logbook certified and brought it back to the Transport Canada office on May 27, 2004.

[14] The Applicant reiterated that he was never officially notified in 2004 that his application had been denied. At that time, he had no knowledge of recourses he would have had before the Tribunal.

IV. MINISTER'S CLOSING STATEMENT

[15] The Minister's representative argues that the facts in the present case clearly establish that, further to his application of August 18, 2009, the Applicant did not meet the knowledge written examination requirement of subsection 421.30(3) of the CARs and the skill requirement of subsection 421.30(5) of the CARs. Consequently, the Minister refused to issue to the Applicant a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane (Exhibit M-2).

[16] With respect to the 2004 application, it appears that it was not received within the 24‑month period immediately following the successful completion of the written examination, and this is probably why it was never officially processed.

V. APPLICANT'S CLOSING STATEMENT

[17] The Applicant asks the Tribunal to take into consideration the 2004 application, as it had been properly submitted. At that time, a licence should have been issued, or at the very least, a written refusal that he could have contested.

[18] The Applicant made no representations regarding the August 18, 2009 application and refusal letter of August 19, 2009.

VI. EVIDENCE, LEGISLATION AND POLICY ANALYSIS

[19] The Tribunal must stress that the sole object of this review hearing is the application for a licence presented by the Applicant on August 18, 2009, and the subsequent refusal letter of August 19, 2009, in which the Minister notified the Applicant that it was unable to issue him a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane because he did not meet the knowledge written examination requirement of subsection 421.30(3) of the CARs and the skill requirement of subsection 421.30(5) of the CARs.

[20] The Tribunal must thus examine whether the Applicant, further to his application of August 18, 2009, satisfied the requirements specified by the CARs for the issuance of a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane.

[21] The issue of, what did or did not happen in 2004, is irrelevant in the present matter. In fact, the Applicant was unable to recall exactly what happened at that time, although he stated that the certified cheque which accompanied his application was never cashed. This seems to indicate that his application was simply not processed in May 2004, because it was not submitted within the proper time limit. However, whatever happened in May 2004 is of no consequence in the present matter.

[22] The Tribunal concludes that documents presented as evidence (Exhibit M-2) clearly indicate that, further to his application on August 18, 2009, the Applicant did not meet the knowledge written examination requirement and the skill requirement for the issuance of a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane. The Applicant recognized these facts during his testimony.

[23] The Minister thus correctly notified the Applicant on August 19, 2009, of the refusal to issue him a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane.

VII. DETERMINATION

[24] I confirm the decision of the Minister to refuse to issue a commercial pilot licence − aeroplane to the Applicant.

January 15, 2010

Howard M. Bruce

Member

Décisions

Dossier no C-3617-27 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-734509 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Anton Jude Benedict, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, para. 6.71(1)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Howard M. Bruce


Décision : le 15 janvier 2010

Référence : Benedict c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2010 TATCF 1 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Conseiller du Tribunal : Me Howard M. Bruce

Affaire entendue à Calgary (Alberta) le 15 décembre 2009

Arrêt : Je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports de refuser de délivrer une licence de pilote professionnel – avion à Anton Jude Benedict.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 19 août 2009, le ministre des Transports a refusé de délivrer une licence de pilote professionnel – avion au requérant, Anton Jude Benedict, parce qu'il n'a pas satisfaisait à l'exigence liée à l'examen écrit en matière de connaissances prévue au paragraphe 421.30(3) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (« RAC ») et à l'exigence en matière de compétences prévue au paragraphe 421.30(5) du RAC, conformément au paragraphe 6.71(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (« Loi »).

[2] Le 27 août 2009, le requérant a déposé une requête en révision de la décision du ministre auprès du Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (« Tribunal »).

II. LOIS, RÈGLEMENTS ET POLITIQUES

[3] Pour obtenir une licence de pilote professionnel – avion, une personne doit satisfaire aux exigences prévues aux paragraphes 421.30(3) et (5) du RAC :

421.30 Les exigences relatives à la demande d'une licence de pilote professionnel —avion sont les suivantes :

(3) Connaissances

Instruction théorique au sol

a) Le demandeur doit avoir complété un cours théorique de pilote professionnel d'avion d'au moins 80 heures, comprenant au moins les sujets suivants :

(i) Règlement de l'aviation canadien;

(ii) aérodynamique et mécanique du vol;

(iii) météorologie;

(iv) cellules, moteurs et systèmes;

(v) instruments de vol;

(vi) théorie de la radio et de l'électronique;

(vii) navigation;

(viii) opérations aériennes;

(ix) conditions de délivrance des licences;

(x) facteurs humains incluant la prise de décisions du pilote.

b) Le demandeur qui est diplômé d'un cours intégré approuvé doit satisfaire aux exigences pertinentes du cours dont il est question à l'article 426.75 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Examens écrits

c) Tous les demandeurs doivent avoir obtenu une note d'au moins 60 pour cent à chacun des quatre sujets obligatoires suivants, ainsi qu'à l'examen général écrit en vue de la licence de pilote professionnel d'avion (CPAER) :

(i) le droit aérien ‑ les règlements, les règles et les ordonnances, les services de la circulation aérienne, les pratiques et les procédures et les exigences applicables à la délivrance de la licence;

(ii) la navigation ‑ la navigation, les aides radios et la théorie électronique;

(iii) la météorologie; et

(iv) l'aéronautique ‑ connaissances générales ‑ les cellules, les moteurs, les systèmes, la mécanique du vol, les instruments de vol et les opérations aériennes.

d) Le demandeur qui est diplômé d'un cours intégré approuvé doit satisfaire aux exigences pertinentes aux connaissances dont il est question à l'article 426.75 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

[…]

(5) Compétences

Dans les 12 mois précédant la date de la demande de licence, le demandeur d'une licence de pilote professionnel – avion doit avoir réussi à un test en vol répondant à la norme figurant dans le Guide de test en vol ‑ Licence de pilote professionnel ‑ avion (TP13462F).

[4] En ce qui concerne l'exigence liée à l'examen écrit en matière de connaissances prévue au paragraphe 421.30(3) du RAC, le paragraphe 400.03(1) du RAC précise ce qui suit :

400.03(1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (3), les tests, les lettres de compétence et les examens, y compris toutes les parties d'un examen divisé en parties, exigés en vue de la délivrance d'un permis ou d'une licence ou de l'annotation d'une qualification sur un permis ou une licence doivent avoir été passés dans les 24 mois précédant la date de la demande du permis, de la licence ou de la qualification.

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Pete Firlotte

[5] Pete Firlotte est inspecteur de licences de l'aviation pour Transports Canada. Avant l'audience en révision, il n'avait jamais rencontré le requérant, mais avait été informé au sujet de ce dossier et avait examiné la documentation pertinente.

[6] Pendant le témoignage de l'inspecteur Firlotte, une copie de l'avis de refus de délivrer la licence de pilote professionnel – avion, daté du 19 août 2009, a été présentée en preuve (pièce M‑1).

[7] L'inspecteur Firlotte a expliqué que le paragraphe 421.30(3) du RAC exige que celui qui demande une licence de pilote professionnel – avion passe un examen écrit pour satisfaire à l'exigence en matière de connaissances. L'inspecteur Firlotte a également déclaré que le paragraphe 400.03(1) du RAC exige que cet examen écrit ait été passé dans les 24 mois précédant la date de la demande de licence.

[8] Les documents suivants ont également été présentés en preuve :

  • une copie des résultats d'un examen écrit daté du 27 juillet 2009, indiquant que le requérant a échoué;
  • une copie des résultats d'un examen écrit daté du 28 juin 2007, indiquant que le requérant a échoué;
  • un imprimé de la base de données de Transports Canada, sur laquelle sont énumérés les examens que le requérant a passés depuis le 11 novembre 2001;
  • une lettre datée du 10 décembre 2009, écrite par Henry Schultz, avocat général principal et directeur, ministère de la Justice Canada, confirmant que les certificats du secrétaire ne pouvaient être délivrés au ministre des Transports (pièce M-2).

[9] Selon l'inspecteur Firlotte, ces documents démontrent clairement que le requérant n'a pas satisfait aux exigences en matière de connaissances et de compétences dans les 24 mois précédant la date de sa demande, soit le 18 août 2009. Par conséquent, une licence ne pouvait être délivrée.

[10] Lorsque l'inspecteur Firlotte a été interrogé au sujet de la demande faite par le requérant en 2004 pour obtenir une licence de pilote professionnel – avion, il a affirmé que rien dans la base de données de Transports Canada ne démontrait qu'une telle demande avait été reçue.

B. Requérant

(1) Anton Jude Benedict

[11] Le requérant a déclaré qu'il avait passé un examen écrit le 10 mai 2002 (pièce M-2) et que sa demande de licence de pilote professionnel – avion avait été présentée dans les délais prescrits, soit le 10 mai 2004, malgré le fait que l'estampille accusant la réception sur ce document soit datée du 18 mai 2004 (pièce A-1). Il a dit n'avoir jamais été avisé par écrit en 2004 que cette demande avait été refusée.

[12] En ce qui concerne sa demande datée du 18 août 2009, le requérant a reconnu qu'il n'a pas satisfait aux exigences nécessaires pour la délivrance d'une licence de pilote professionnel – avion (pièce A-1).

[13] Pendant son contre-interrogatoire, le requérant a affirmé qu'il avait joint un chèque certifié à sa demande en mai 2004, ajoutant que ce chèque n'a jamais été encaissé. Il a également déclaré que le 20 mai 2004, Transports Canada l'a informé que sa demande était incomplète étant donné que son carnet de route n'avait pas été certifié. Il a donc fait certifier son carnet de route et l'a rapporté au bureau de Transports Canada le 27 mai 2004.

[14] Le requérant a réitéré qu'il n'a jamais été officiellement avisé en 2004 que sa demande avait été refusée. À ce moment, il n'était pas au courant des recours dont il disposait devant le Tribunal.

IV. CONCLUSIONS FINALES DU MINISTRE

[15] Le représentant du ministre fait valoir que les faits en l'espèce démontrent clairement que, après avoir soumis sa demande du 18 août 2009, le requérant n'a pas satisfait à l'exigence liée à l'examen écrit en matière de connaissances prévue au paragraphe 421.30(3) du RAC et à l'exigence en matière de compétences prévue au paragraphe 421.30(5) du RAC. Par conséquent, le ministre a refusé de délivrer une licence de pilote professionnel – avion au requérant (pièce M‑2).

[16] En ce qui concerne la demande de 2004, il semble qu'elle n'ait pas été reçue dans les 24 mois suivant la réussite de l'examen écrit, et c'est probablement la raison pour laquelle elle n'a jamais été officiellement traitée.

V. CONCLUSIONS FINALES DU REQUÉRANT

[17] Le requérant demande au Tribunal de prendre en compte la demande de 2004, puisqu'elle a été soumise correctement. À ce moment, on aurait dû lui délivrer une licence ou, à tout le moins, un refus écrit, qu'il aurait pu contester.

[18] Le requérant n'a formulé aucune observation au sujet de la demande du 18 août 2009 et de la lettre de refus du 19 août 2009.

VI. ANALYSE DE LA PREUVE, DE LA LÉGISLATION ET DE LA POLITIQUE

[19] Le Tribunal doit souligner que la présente audience en révision vise uniquement la demande de licence présentée par le requérant le 18 août 2009 ainsi que la lettre de refus subséquente du 19 août 2009, dans laquelle le ministre a avisé le requérant qu'il ne pouvait lui délivrer une licence de pilote professionnel – avion parce qu'il n'avait pas satisfait à l'exigence liée à l'examen écrit en matière de connaissances prévue au paragraphe 421.30(3) du RAC et à l'exigence en matière de compétences prévue au paragraphe 421.30(5) du RAC.

[20] Le Tribunal doit donc examiner si le requérant, après avoir soumis sa demande datée du 18 août 2009, a satisfait aux exigences prévues dans le RAC relativement à la délivrance d'une licence de pilote professionnel – avion.

[21] La question de savoir ce qui s'est réellement passé en 2004 n'a aucune pertinence en l'espèce. En fait, le requérant n'était pas en mesure de se rappeler exactement ce qui s'était passé à cette époque, bien qu'il ait affirmé que le chèque joint à sa demande n'a jamais été encaissé. Ceci semble indiquer que sa demande n'a simplement pas été traitée en mai 2004, parce qu'elle n'avait pas été soumise dans le délai prescrit. Or, ce qui s'est passé en mai 2004 est sans conséquence dans la présente affaire.

[22] Le Tribunal conclut que les documents présentés en preuve (pièce M-2) démontrent clairement qu'après avoir soumis sa demande le 18 août 2009, le requérant n'a pas satisfait aux exigences en matière de connaissances et de compétences nécessaires pour la délivrance d'une licence de pilote professionnel – avion. Le requérant a reconnu ces faits durant son témoignage.

[23] Le ministre a donc correctement avisé le requérant le 19 août 2009 du refus de lui délivrer une licence de pilote professionnel – avion.

VII. DÉCISION

[24] Je confirme la décision du ministre de refuser de délivrer une licence de pilote professionnel – avion au requérant.

Le 15 janvier 2010

Me Howard M. Bruce

Conseiller