Decisions

TATC File No. W-3588-33
MoT File No. SAP-5504-67054 P/

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Paul Michael Stevens, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i)


Review Determination
Stephen Rogers


Decision: April 29, 2010

Citation: Stevens v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2010 TATCE 9 (review)

Heard at Vancouver, British Columbia, on March 5, 2010

Held: The Minister of Transport did not prove, on a balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, Paul Michael Stevens, contravened subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Consequently, the penalty of $750 imposed by the Minister is cancelled.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] The Applicant, Paul Michael Stevens, is a private pilot and part owner of a 1947 Aeronca 7AC aircraft based at Delta Air Park, an aerodrome owned by Metro Vancouver (the regional authority for the Greater Vancouver). On April 22, 2009, the Minister of Transport issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty ("Notice") to Mr. Stevens for an alleged contravention of subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations ("CARs").

[2] Schedule A of the Notice provides the following:

#1 - CARs 602.14(2)(a)(i)

On or about the 10th day of August 2008, at or near Surrey, British Columbia, when you were not conducting a take-off, approach or landing or when you were not permitted under section 602.15 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), you operated an aircraft over a build-up area when the aircraft was not operated at an altitude from which, in the event of an emergency necessitating an immediate landing, it would not have been possible to land the aircraft without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface, and, in any case, at an altitude that was lower than for aeroplanes, 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 2,000 feet from the aeroplane, thereby contravening subsection 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the CARs.

MONETARY PENALTY - $750.00

II. PRELIMINARY MATTERS

[3] As set out in the Notice, the Minister alleged that the offence took place on August 10, 2008. At the outset of the Hearing, the Minister submitted a Motion to Amend the Notice, requesting that the date of the incident be amended to read August 30, 2008. The Motion was granted.

III. STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND POLICIES

[4] Subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the CARs provides as follows:

602.14(2) Except where conducting a take-off, approach or landing or where permitted under section 602.15, no person shall operate an aircraft

(a) over a built-up area or over an open-air assembly of persons unless the aircraft is operated at an altitude from which, in the event of an emergency necessitating an immediate landing, it would be possible to land the aircraft without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface, and, in any case, at an altitude that is not lower than

(i) for aeroplanes, 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 2,000 feet from the aeroplane,

. . .

IV. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Rick Pollock

[5] Rick Pollock is the Inspector who was assigned to investigate a complaint of low flying made against the Applicant in 2008. Inspector Pollock testified that he contacted Mr. Stevens by telephone. Mr. Stevens was cooperative and admitted that he was flying on August 30, 2008, with his daughter in the area in question but he denied flying lower than 1 000 feet above ground level (AGL).

[6] Mr. Stevens sent an email to Inspector Pollock, in which he provides a summary of the event that occurred on August 30, 2008 (Exhibit M-4). He also attached to his email a photocopy of the first and last pages of the aircraft journey logbook (Exhibit M-2).

[7] Inspector Pollock said that he interviewed three witnesses, Greg Wilson, Robert Fair and Diane Wood, who had observed Mr. Stevens' aircraft at the time of the event. He found that the information they had provided was consistent and believable.

[8] Inspector Pollock stated that the witnesses had recorded the registration mark of the aircraft in question and that a search of the Canadian Civil Aircraft Register revealed that aircraft C-FGVP is an Aeronca 7AC registered to the Orville Group Flying Association (Exhibit M‑1). Inspector Pollock stated that Mr. Stevens was the Pilot‑in‑Command of the said aircraft on August 30, 2008, as indicated in the aircraft journey logbook (Exhibit M-2). An excerpt from the Distributed Air Personnel Licensing System of Transport Canada was produced as evidence. It provides pilot licence information concerning Mr. Stevens (Exhibit M-3).

[9] Inspector Pollock testified concerning two Google maps (Exhibit M-5), with pinpoint locations of Mr. Stevens' home and another pin in the approximate location of the witnesses. He noted that the homes of Mr. Wilson and Mr. Stevens are 0.56 km or 1 800 feet apart. In addition, using a scale or sliding ruler from the Google material, he was able to estimate a field of 858 feet in length directly behind the witnesses' location. This field would be more than sufficient to land any light aircraft. A photograph of aircraft C-FGVP was produced as evidence (Exhibit M-6).

[10] Inspector Pollock testified that he had contacted Nav Canada to obtain radar data available. As the aircraft did not have a transponder that was active and operating, there was no radar evidence of the alleged infraction.

(2) Greg Wilson

[11] Greg Wilson testified that he was in the front driveway of his house, talking with the other witnesses, Mr. Fair and Ms. Wood, when their conversation was disrupted by a low-flying aircraft, barely above the tree level. He indicated that the aircraft was red and white, single engine with the registration mark on the wing. He stated that the aircraft circled three times and returned half an hour later for one more circle. On this last circle, the aircraft did a low-flying loop.

[12] Mr. Wilson was asked how he felt about what the aircraft was doing. He replied that he was not sure what the pilot was doing. He felt that the aircraft was very low and loud. He said that he could easily read the aircraft's registration mark and that Mr. Fair wrote it in his notebook. Mr. Wilson thought that it was unusual that an aircraft would make circles. He also testified that the altitude was constant.

[13] During cross-examination, Mr. Wilson said that he had determined the altitude of the aircraft by having seen previous aircraft. He testified that he had not seen any previous aircraft over flying that afternoon or none was noticed. He could not recall the aircraft's registration mark or which wing it was on. Mr. Wilson was asked at what altitude the aircraft was flying. He replied that he golfs a lot and that the aircraft was the height of his chip shot. This was later clarified to be less than 300 feet AGL with a maximum of 400 feet AGL.

(3) Robert Fair

[14] Robert Fair testified that he was talking in Mr. Wilson's driveway with Mr. Wilson and Ms. Wood, when at 6:55 p.m., they were startled by a low-flying aircraft at 200 feet AGL, that circled three times and departed to the west. Then at 7:30 p.m., the aircraft circled again and left to the north. Mr. Fair indicated that the aircraft was slow and did no aerobatics. He testified that the trees in the area are 80 to 110 feet tall, that the aircraft was no higher that 250 feet AGL and that he could read all the letters of the aircraft's registration mark. Mr. Fair indicated that he always carries a notebook and a pen with him. He testified that he has been reporting aircraft for years to Claudio Bulfone, a Civil Aviation Investigator with Transport Canada at the Vancouver Regional Office. He also testified that the aircraft was very low and at a dangerous height.

[15] During cross-examination, Mr. Fair testified that he had observed all types of aircraft and that most fly in a straight line. He also testified that the number of overflying aircraft has decreased from a previous high of 100 per day to the present 12. Mr. Fair stated that the maximum altitude of the aircraft was 350 feet AGL.

(4) Diane Wood

[16] Ms. Wood testified that her home is close to the pin, as located on the Google map and that she was in Mr. Wilson's driveway when she saw the aircraft doing what she determined was sightseeing. This aircraft was noisier and lower than other aircraft that she usually sees. She testified that the aircraft was not high above the trees and was flying at 200 or 250 feet AGL. She called out the registration mark to Mr. Fair, who wrote it down in a notebook. She also testified that she was concerned about the height of the aircraft and that it sounded like a lawn mower.

[17] During cross-examination, Ms. Woods testified that she was poor with directions but that the total flying time of the three circles was five minutes. She also testified that lots of aircraft fly over, though higher. She was concerned about the height of this aircraft and that it was a bit noisy and annoying at that moment.

B. Applicant

(1) Desiree Carmen Stevens

[18] Desiree Carmen Stevens, who is Mr. Stevens' wife, testified that this aircraft is slow and noisy and that sometimes cars are going faster on the highway than aircraft. She stated that, for her husband and her, the purpose of the flight was to take their 10 year old daughter for a flight. Two photographs were taken by their daughter (Exhibit A-6 and A‑7). The other photograph is a picture of their daughter (Exhibit A-5).

(2) Paul Michael Stevens

[19] Mr. Stevens testified that, at the time of the incident, he was always 1 000 feet above the highest obstacle and that he could always glide to an area free of people. He stated that he approached Surrey, British Columbia, from the south over the water and climbed to 1 400 feet AGL. He testified that he circled in an area slightly south and east of the witnesses and that, as a result, his aircraft might have appeared to be lower than it actually was.

[20] Various exhibits were filed in evidence:

  • a close-up photograph of the witnesses' location showing numerous trees (Exhibit A-1);
  • a map from Energy, Mines and Resources Canada 92 G/2, which shows the contour lines of Surrey (Exhibit A‑2);
  • a real estate map on which Mr. Stevens had marked the route for the flight in question (Exhibit A-3);
  • an article written by Gerry Bellet and entitled "Low-flying aircraft unnerves skier", from the Vancouver Sun of February 4, 2010. In this article, Lieut. David Lavallee from the Canadian Forces says the following: " . . . aircraft can appear to be closer to objects than they actually are." (Exhibit A-4)
  • three photographs (Exhibits A-5, A-6, and A-7). Exhibit A-5 shows the size of the aircraft registration mark. Exhibit A-6 shows the southwest corner of White Rock, British Columbia, with a sun position consistent with time of day for a flight on August 30, 2008. Exhibit A-7 shows the pier at White Rock.

[21] Mr. Stevens testified that, as a glider launch control officer with the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) cadets, he felt that he was well qualified to judge altitude. He indicated that prior to his flight, he listened to ZBB ATIS frequency for the correct QNH. He cross-checked his altimeter with the local field elevation at nine feet. He was on a sightseeing flight with his daughter. He believed that the only way his aircraft registration mark could be seen from the witnesses' location is if he was flying at 1 000 feet AGL.

[22] Mr. Stevens testified that he learned to fly on a scholarship offered to RCAF cadets. His licence indicates that he received a glider licence in 1975, a single engine aeroplane licence in 1976 and a glider instructor licence in 1990. He also has a valid medical certificate.

V. EVIDENCE, DISCUSSION AND POLICY ANALYSIS

[23] There is no question that the Applicant, Mr. Stevens, operated aircraft C-FGVP on August 30, 2008, when the alleged infraction took place.

[24] There is no definitive evidence of the altitude of the aircraft when it flew over Surrey. However, I find the testimony of Mr. Stevens to be very believable and consistent. While I determine the witnesses, Messrs. Wilson and Fair and Ms. Wood, to be credible, I find their judgement of the altitude of the aircraft to be less believable. Had the aircraft flown at 300 feet AGL, there would have been a multitude of complaints from the surrounding community. The Minister has failed to make a compelling case. I cannot accept that Mr. Stevens would operate the aircraft in an unsafe manner or altitude with his 10 year old daughter on board.

[25] While there is no altitude recording on the digital photographs taken by Mr. Stevens' daughter, it must be noted that these photographs are consistent with what would be seen by an aircraft operating at the approved altitude.

VI. DETERMINATION

[26] The Minister of Transport did not prove, on a balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, Paul Michael Stevens, contravened subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

April 29, 2010

Stephen Rogers

Member

Décisions

Dossier no W-3588-33 (TATC)
Dossier no SAP-5504-67054 P/ (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Paul Michael Stevens, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, sous alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Stephen Rogers


Décision : le 29 avril 2010

Référence : Stevens c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2010 TATCF 9 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à Vancouver (Colombie‑Britannique) le 5 mars 2010

Arrêt : Le ministre des Transports n'a pas prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, Paul Michael Stevens, a contrevenu au sous‑alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Par conséquent, l'amende de 750 $ infligée par le ministre est annulée.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le requérant, Paul Michael Stevens, est pilote privé et copropriétaire d'un aéronef Aeronca 7AC 1947 basé à Delta Air Park, un aérodrome appartenant à Metro Vancouver (l'administration régionale du Grand Vancouver). Le 22 avril 2009, le ministre des Transports a délivré un avis d'amende pour contravention (« avis ») à M. Stevens pour une contravention au sous‑alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (« RAC ») qu'il aurait commise.

[2] L'annexe A de l'avis précise ce qui suit :

[Traduction]

No 1 – 602.14(2)a)(i) du RAC 

Le 10 août 2008, ou vers cette date, à Surrey, ou près de cette ville, en Colombie‑Britannique, alors que vous n'étiez pas en train d'effectuer un décollage, une approche ou un atterrissage ou que vous n'y étiez pas autorisé en application de l'article 602.15 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), vous avez utilisé un aéronef au‑dessus d'une zone bâtie à une altitude qui ne permettait pas, en cas d'urgence exigeant un atterrissage immédiat, d'effectuer un atterrissage sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface, et dans tous les cas, à une altitude de moins, dans le cas d'un avion, de 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 2 000 pieds ou moins de l'avion, mesurée horizontalement, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 602.14(2)a)(i) du RAC.

AMENDE – 750 $

II. QUESTIONS PRÉLIMINAIRES

[3] Comme l'indique l'avis, le ministre a allégué que l'infraction a eu lieu le 10 août 2008. Au début de l'audience, le ministre a présenté une requête en modification de l'avis demandant que la date de l'incident soit remplacée par le 30 août 2008. La requête a été accueillie.

III. LOIS, RÈGLEMENTS ET POLITIQUES

[4] Le sous‑alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du RAC dispose :

602.14(2) Sauf s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef ou lorsque la personne y est autorisée en application de l'article 602.15section 602.15, il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef :

a) au-dessus d'une zone bâtie ou au‑dessus d'un rassemblement de personnes en plein air, à moins que l'aéronef ne soit utilisé à une altitude qui permettrait, en cas d'urgence exigeant un atterrissage immédiat, d'effectuer un atterrissage sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface, et, dans tous les cas, à une altitude d'au moins :

(i) dans le cas d'un avion, 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 2 000 pieds ou moins de l'avion, mesurée horizontalement,

[…]

IV. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Rick Pollock

[5] Rick Pollock est l'inspecteur chargé d'enquêter sur la plainte de vol à basse altitude déposée contre le requérant en 2008. L'inspecteur Pollock a déclaré dans son témoignage avoir communiqué avec M. Stevens par téléphone. M. Stevens s'est montré coopératif et a admis qu'il avait volé le 30 août 2008 en compagnie de sa fille dans la zone en question, mais il a nié avoir volé à moins de 1 000 pieds au‑dessus du sol (AGL).

[6] M. Stevens a envoyé à l'inspecteur  Pollock un courriel dans lequel il résumait les faits qui se sont produits le 30 août 2008 (pièce M-4). Il a également joint à son courriel une photocopie de la première et de la dernière page du carnet de route de l'aéronef (pièce M-2).

[7] L'inspecteur Pollock a affirmé avoir interrogé trois témoins, Greg Wilson, Robert Fair et Diane Wood, qui ont observé l'aéronef de M. Stevens au moment de l'incident. Il a conclu que les renseignements qu'ils avaient fournis étaient cohérents et crédibles.

[8] L'inspecteur Pollock a affirmé que les témoins avaient noté la marque d'immatriculation de l'aéronef en question et qu'une recherche dans le Registre d'immatriculation des aéronefs civils canadiens a révélé que l'aéronef C-FGVP est un Aeronca 7AC immatriculé au nom d'Orville Group Flying Association (pièce M‑1). L'inspecteur Pollock a déclaré que M. Stevens était le commandant de bord dudit aéronef le 30 août 2008, comme l'indiquait le carnet de route (pièce M-2). Un extrait tiré du Système décentralisé des licences du personnel de l'air de Transports Canada a été produit en preuve. Il nous renseigne sur la licence de pilote de M. Stevens (pièce M-3).

[9] L'inspecteur Pollock a témoigné au sujet de deux cartes Google (pièce M-5), comportant un point identifiant la maison de M. Stevens et un autre point indiquant la position approximative des témoins. Il a constaté qu'une distance de 0,56 km ou de 1 800 pieds séparait les maisons de M. Wilson et de M. Stevens. De plus, à l'aide d'une échelle ou d'une règle à coulisse dans Google, il a pu évaluer à 858 pieds la longueur du champ situé directement derrière la position des témoins. La longueur de ce champ serait plus que suffisante pour y faire atterrir un aéronef léger. Une photographie de l'aéronef C-FGVP a été produite en preuve (pièce M-6).

[10] L'inspecteur Pollock a témoigné qu'il avait communiqué avec Nav Canada pour obtenir les données radar disponibles. Mais comme l'aéronef n'avait pas de transpondeur actif et fonctionnel, il n'a aucune preuve radar de l'infraction reprochée.

(2) Greg Wilson

[11] Greg Wilson a témoigné qu'il était dans l'entrée de sa résidence et parlait avec les autres témoins, M. Fair et Mme Wood, au moment où leur conversation a été interrompue par un aéronef qui volait à basse altitude, tout juste au‑dessus des arbres. Il a indiqué que l'aéronef était rouge et blanc et avait un seul moteur, avec la marque d'immatriculation sur l'aile. Il a affirmé que l'aéronef a fait trois cercles avant de revenir une demi-heure plus tard pour en faire un autre. Après ce dernier cercle, l'aéronef a fait une boucle à basse altitude.

[12] Invité à dire ce qu'il pensait des manœuvres qu'il avait observées de l'aéronef, M. Wilson a répondu qu'il ne savait pas exactement ce que faisait le pilote. Il avait l'impression que l'aéronef était très bas et faisait beaucoup de bruit. Il a dit qu'il pouvait facilement lire la marque d'immatriculation de l'aéronef et que M. Fair l'avait notée dans son carnet. Selon M. Wilson, il n'était pas habituel qu'un aéronef fasse des cercles. Il a également témoigné que l'altitude était constante.

[13] Au cours du contre-interrogatoire, M. Wilson a dit qu'il avait établi l'altitude de l'aéronef d'après celle des autres aéronefs qu'il avait vus antérieurement. Il a témoigné qu'il n'avait pas vu ces autres aéronefs cet après-midi-là ou qu'il n'en avait remarqué aucun. Il n'arrivait pas à se rappeler la marque d'immatriculation de l'aéronef ni sur quelle aile elle était inscrite. On lui a demandé à quelle altitude l'aéronef volait. Il a répondu qu'il jouait beaucoup au golf et que l'aéronef était à la hauteur de ses coups d'approche. Il a été plus tard expliqué que cette hauteur était inférieure à 300 pieds AGL ou d'au plus 400 pieds AGL.

(3) Robert Fair

[14] Robert Fair a déclaré dans son témoignage qu'il était en train de parler avec Mme Wood et M. Wilson dans la voie d'accès du domicile de ce dernier lorsque, à 18 h 55, ils ont été surpris par un aéronef à basse altitude, à 200 pieds AGL, qui a fait trois cercles avant de s'éloigner vers l'ouest. Puis, à 19 h 30, l'aéronef est revenu et a tourné en rond une autre fois avant de s'éloigner vers le nord. M. Fair a indiqué que l'aéronef volait lentement et qu'il n'a fait aucune acrobatie. Il a témoigné que les arbres dans le secteur sont de 80 à 110 pieds de haut, que l'aéronef ne volait pas à plus de 250 pieds AGL, et qu'il pouvait lire toutes les lettres de la marque d'immatriculation de l'aéronef. M. Fair a précisé qu'il avait toujours sur lui un carnet et un stylo. Il a témoigné qu'il signale des aéronefs depuis des années à Claudio Bulfone, un enquêteur de l'aviation civile à Transports Canada, au bureau régional de Vancouver. Il a également témoigné que l'aéronef volait très bas et à une hauteur dangereuse.

[15] Au cours du contre-interrogatoire, M. Fair a témoigné qu'il avait observé tous les types d'aéronef et que la plupart d'entre eux volaient en ligne droite. Il a également témoigné que le nombre d'aéronefs qui survolent le secteur a diminué, passant d'un maximum de 100 par jour à un maximum de 12. M. Fair a affirmé que l'altitude maximale de l'aéronef était de 350 pieds AGL.

(4) Diane Wood

[16] Mme Wood a témoigné que sa résidence est située près du point identifié sur la carte Google et qu'elle était dans la voie d'accès du domicile de M. Wilson lorsqu'elle a vu l'aéronef faire ce qu'elle a appelé une visite touristique. L'aéronef était plus bruyant et volait plus bas que les aéronefs qu'elle voyait habituellement. Elle a témoigné que l'aéronef n'était pas beaucoup plus haut que les arbres et qu'il volait à 200 ou 250 pieds AGL. Elle a épelé la marque d'immatriculation et M. Fair l'a inscrite dans son carnet. Elle a également déclaré que la hauteur de l'aéronef l'inquiétait et qu'il faisait un bruit qui ressemblait à celui d'une tondeuse à gazon.

[17] Au cours du contre-interrogatoire, Mme Woods a témoigné qu'elle n'était pas certaine de la direction mais que l'aéronef avait pris cinq minutes au total pour faire les trois cercles. Elle a également affirmé que beaucoup d'aéronefs survolaient le secteur, mais plus haut. Elle était également préoccupée par la hauteur de l'aéronef et par le fait qu'il était un peu bruyant et incommodant à ce moment-là.

B. Requérant

(1) Desiree Carmen Stevens

[18] Desiree Carmen Stevens, qui est l'épouse de M. Stevens, a témoigné que l'aéronef en cause est lent et bruyant et que, parfois, les automobiles circulent plus rapidement que lui sur l'autoroute. Elle a affirmé que, pour son mari et elle, le vol avait pour but d'amener leur fille âgée de 10 ans faire un tour d'aéronef. Leur fille a pris deux photographies (pièces  A‑6 et A‑7). Quant à l'autre, il s'agit d'une photographie de leur fille (pièce A-5).

(2) Paul Michael Stevens

[19] M. Stevens a témoigné que, au moment de l'incident, il se tenait toujours à 1 000 pieds au‑dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé et qu'il pouvait toujours planer vers une zone où il n'y avait personne. Il a déclaré qu'il a effectué l'approche vers Surrey, en Colombie‑Britannique, depuis le sud au-dessus de l'eau et monté à 1 400 pieds AGL. Il a témoigné qu'il avait tourné en rond dans un secteur légèrement au sud et à l'est de la position des témoins et que, par conséquent, il se peut que l'aéronef ait semblé plus bas que ce qu'ils étaient en réalité.

[20] Les diverses pièces suivantes ont été présentées en preuve :

  • une photographie rapprochée de la position des témoins où l'on voit de nombreux arbres (pièce A-1);
  • une carte du ministère de l'Énergie, des Mines et des Ressources du Canada (92 G/2), qui montre les lignes de contour de Surrey (pièce A‑2);
  • une carte immobilière sur laquelle M. Stevens avait indiqué la route du vol en question (pièce A-3);
  • un article intitulé « Low-flying aircraft unnerves skier », écrit par Gerry Bellet, et publié dans le Vancouver Sun du 4 février 2010. Dans cet article, le lieutenant David Lavallée des Forces canadiennes dit ce qui suit : [Traduction] […] les aéronefs peuvent sembler plus près des objets que ce qu'ils sont en réalité » (pièce A-4);
  • trois photographies (pièces A-5, A-6 et A-7). La pièce A-5 montre la taille de la marque d'immatriculation de l'aéronef. La pièce A-6 montre la pointe sud-ouest de White Rock, en Colombie‑Britannique, avec la position du soleil correspondant à l'heure du jour pour un vol effectué le 30 août 2008. La pièce A-7 montre le quai à White Rock.

[21] M. Stevens a témoigné que, en tant qu'officier de contrôle de lancement des cadets de l'Aviation royale du Canada (ARC), il était d'avis qu'il était bien qualifié pour évaluer l'altitude. Il a indiqué que, avant le vol, il a écouté la fréquence ZBB ATIS pour obtenir le QNH. Il a contre‑vérifié son altimètre avec l'altitude à neuf pieds. Il était en excursion aérienne avec sa fille. Il croyait que la seule façon que la marque d'immatriculation de l'aéronef pouvait être vue de la position des témoins était de voler à 1 000 pieds AGL.

[22] M. Stevens a témoigné qu'il avait appris à voler grâce à une bourse d'études offerte aux cadets de l'ARC. Sa licence indique qu'il a reçu une licence de planeur en 1975, une licence de monomoteur en 1976 et une licence d'instructeur de vol sur planeur en 1990. Il a également un certificat médical valide.

V. ANALYSE DE LA PREUVE, DES ARGUMENTS ET DE LA POLITIQUE

[23] Il ne fait aucun doute que le requérant, M. Stevens, pilotait l'aéronef C-FGVP le 30 août 2008, lorsque l'infraction reprochée a eu lieu.

[24] Il n'y a aucune preuve précise de l'altitude de l'aéronef lorsqu'il a survolé Surrey. Toutefois, j'estime que le témoignage de M. Stevens était très crédible et cohérent. J'estime également que les témoins, MM. Wilson et Fair et Mme Wood, étaient dignes de foi mais je suis d'avis que leur appréciation de l'altitude de l'aéronef était moins fiable. Si l'aéronef avait volé à une altitude de 300 pi AGL, il y aurait eu une multitude de plaintes de la collectivité environnante. Le ministre n'a pas présenté d'arguments convaincants. Je ne peux accepter que M. Stevens aurait piloté l'aéronef de manière ou à une altitude dangereuse avec sa fille âgée de 10 ans à bord.

[25] S'il est vrai qu'il n'y a pas d'enregistrement de l'altitude sur les photographies numériques prises par la fille de M. Stevens, il faut cependant souligner que ces photographies sont compatibles avec ce qui serait visible d'un aéronef volant à l'altitude autorisée.

VI. DÉCISION

[26] Le ministre des Transports n'a pas prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que Paul Michael Stevens, a contrevenu au sous-alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Le 29 avril 2010

Stephen Rogers

Conseiller