Decisions

TATC File No. H-3644-60
MoT File No. 5802-730412

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Ioan Codrin Olaru, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)


Review Determination
Franco Pietracupa


Decision: August 13, 2010

Citation: Olaru v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2010 TATCE 19 (review)

Heard at Montréal, Quebec, on May 11, 2010

Held: The Minister of Transport has not proven, on the balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, Ioan Codrin Olaru, did not meet the standards required to maintain his pilot proficiency privileges on the CL-65 aircraft. Consequently, the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada refers the matter back to the Minister of Transport for reconsideration.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On November 23, 2009, the Minister of Transport issued a Notice of Suspension ("Notice"), informing the Applicant, Ioan Codrin Olaru, that his pilot proficiency check ("PPC") was suspended pursuant to paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act ("Act"). It is alleged that during a Transport Canada Civil Aviation Recurrent PPC conducted by Rodney Dahl, an approved Company Check Pilot ("CCP"), Mr. Olaru, a qualified Licensed Pilot, had not requested crash fire rescue ("CFR") services during a rejected take-off test scenario, in which he was acting as the Pilot Not Flying ("PNF"). As a result, it is alleged that Mr. Olaru did not complete some of the required items to the standard required by the Company's CRJ aircraft operating manual (AOM, volume 2). Consequently, he no longer meets the requirements to hold a PPC on the CL‑65 aircraft (Exhibit M-2).

[2] Based on this omission by Mr. Olaru, and as indicated on the Applicant's PPC Flight Test Report, Mr. Dahl assessed a score of 1 (below standard) to the Applicant on the following items (Exhibit M-1):

Item 7 Rejected take-off

Item 21 PNF Duties, and

Item 26 Evacuation

[3] The issues that must be considered and the determination that will be rendered by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada ("Tribunal") are as follows:

1. Did Mr. Olaru fail to request CFR services during the rejected take-off scenario?

2. Did Mr. Olaru omit to use the proper push-to-talk transmission mode? As such, the request for CFR services was not heard by air traffic control ("ATC"), and subsequently no rescue services were sent to the aircraft.

3. Did the rejected take-off scenario consist of a single task or three separate items that would require separate assessments from the CCP?

4. Was the marking scale properly applied to items 7, 21 and 26 of the Applicant's PPC Flight Test Report, which resulted in the suspension of Mr. Olaru's PPC?

II. STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND POLICIES

 

[4] Paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Act provides as follows:

7.1 (1) If the Minister decides to suspend, cancel or refuse to renew a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

. . .

b) the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to meet the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to fulfill the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or

. . .

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder or the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at their latest known address, notify that person of the Minister's decision.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Rodney Dahl

[5] Mr. Dahl is the CCP who was responsible for the conduct of the check ride that took place on November 19, 2009. He testified that he had been following an approved pilot proficiency check script on the day of the check ride (Exhibit M-3).

[6] The check ride was being conducted in two parts. The alleged failure occurred during the last simulated event to be performed during the first part of the ride. Mr. Dahl programmed a cargo smoke malfunction during the take-off role. The first part of the script consisted of a flight in the simulator by Captain Eric Sallo as Pilot Flying ("PF"), with Mr. Olaru as the First Officer ("PNF").  

[7] Mr. Dahl's testimony revealed that until then, the crew had performed to standard or above on all required test items. On this particular event, the Captain rejected his take-off and brought the aircraft to a complete stop. The Captain and First Officer identified the malfunction and carried out the required memory items in accordance with the Company's procedures. Mr. Olaru's first task after the reject was to transmit the rejected take-off to the ATC. Mr. Dahl indicated that, according to section 3.1.7 of the Company's AOM (Exhibit M-4), Mr. Olaru properly reported the rejected take-off over air traffic frequency but failed to request CFR services.

[8] Mr. Dahl testified that, in accordance with the procedures, the crew properly identified the cargo smoke/fire master warning. Then, the Captain began to carry out his applicable memory items, while the First Officer, Mr. Olaru, began to evacuate the aircraft. As stipulated in section 3.1.9 of the Company's AOM, an evacuation must only be carried out on the command of the Captain (Exhibit M-5). Mr. Dahl testified that he did not hear the Captain order an evacuation.

[9] During the evacuation drill conducted by Mr. Olaru, a second call was made to ATC with information in regard to the evacuation. To initiate this second call, Mr. Olaru did not use the proper push‑to‑talk transmission switch, and as such, ATC did not hear the radio transmission over the required frequency. Mr. Dahl noted that during a normal ATC radio communication a return response acknowledging the radio transmission would have been made. No response was sent to the aircraft by ATC. The role of ATC was being played by Mr. Dahl.

[10] Mr. Dahl finally did radio the aircraft prior to the crew evacuating the aircraft and asked if any assistance would be required. Once again, Mr. Olaru radioed that the crew was evacuating the aircraft but again, Mr. Dahl observed that the push-to-talk transmission switch had not been depressed, and as such no radio communication was received over ATC frequency.

[11] Mr. Dahl testified that, based on the series of events, no choice was offered to him but to assess Mr. Olaru a score of 1 (below standard) on the rejected take‑off, PNF duties and evacuation items.

B. Applicant

(1) Ioan Codrin Olaru  

[12] Mr. Olaru testified that the Captain had, in fact, voiced the command to evacuate once the rejected take‑off had been completed.

[13] Mr. Olaru further testified that a radio transmission had been made through the radio unit, using the push-to-talk transmission switch to request CFR services. However, contrary to what is stipulated in the Company's AOM, Mr. Olaru admitted to having carried out the passenger evacuation memory items out of sequence with the Captain's memory items.

[14] Mr. Olaru's testimony centered on the issue of having been assessed a score of 1 (below standard) on three separate items during a single event (rejected take-off).

[15] In cross-examination, Mr. Olaru was asked if the events related to the rejected take-off were considered as three separate items in the Quick Reference Handbook for the CL-65 aircraft. He replied in the affirmative.

[16] Mr. Olaru was also asked if he had heard the Captain command an evacuation at any time during the events. Mr. Olaru replied that he heard the Captain command an evacuation but he does not recall exactly when.

IV.       EVIDENCE, LEGISLATION AND POLICY ANALYSIS

[17] The case heard by the Tribunal centers on two key elements.

[18] The first element revolves on contradictory evidence ("he said, she said" evidence) from both witnesses. This plays an important factor in the second element, the score of 1 (below standard) on three items based on the testimony of Mr. Dahl, in which he determined that the Applicant omitted to request CFR services. Both witnesses were credible, and the Review Member believes their respective version of the events. Based on oral and written evidence and the balance of probabilities, the following four issues must be addressed:

A. Omission to Request Crash Fire Rescue (CFR) Services

[19] Both Messrs. Dahl and Olaru are in agreement that the first radio transmission after the rejected take-off was conducted properly and through the standard push‑to‑talk methodology. As such, ATC was aware that Air Canada Jazz flight 741 had rejected its take-off. However, the contradiction in testimony centers on whether or not the request for CFR services was communicated to ATC.

[20] Based on both testimonies from the witnesses, the Review Member believes that a critical call from an aircraft requesting CFR services would not be missed by an experienced CCP such as Mr. Dahl. The balance of probabilities would lead the Review Member to agree that the call for CFR services was not made at that time.

B. Subsequent Second and Third Radio Transmissions during the Rejected Take-Off

[21] The issue of two subsequent radio transmissions, made by Mr. Olaru, must be addressed. The second radio call was conducted on the command of the Captain to evacuate the aircraft, while the third call was in response to ATC requesting if Air Canada Jazz flight 741 required any further assistance.

[22] Both witnesses seem to provide accurate and reasonable observations about these events and, although the testimonies are contradicting, the Review Member has no reason to question the accuracy of the testimonies under oath. By reason of this dilemma, additional documentary evidence was used to determine this particular issue.

[23] During his testimony, Mr. Dahl stated that, in accordance with section 3.1.7 of the Company's AOM (Exhibit M-4), Mr. Olaru was the PNF during the first part of the check ride. Based on Mr. Dahl's testimony, Mr. Olaru had been performing to standard or above on all required items, up to this last required exercise. The approved script used during the first part of the check ride would require the crew to transmit, at the very minimum, 10 radio calls to ATC prior to this event. As PNF, Mr. Olaru would be involved in radio transmissions during most of the first scenario. Since no mention of improper push-to-talk methodology is mentioned on the Applicant's PPC Flight Test Report, it is on the balance of probabilities that radio airmanship was within acceptable standards during most of the first part of the flight test, including the first radio transmission after the rejected take‑off. It would thus seem highly improbable that the push-to-talk transmission switch would not be used for the last two transmissions.

[24] It is the Review Member's opinion that, on the balance of probabilities, the last two radio transmissions were properly conducted.

C. Single or Multiple Events

 

[25] According to the Applicant's PPC Flight Test Report, Mr. Olaru's privileges were ultimately suspended, as a result of being assessed a score of 1 (below standard) by Mr. Dahl on three separate items, based on the fact that CFR services were not requested.

[26] Although it was raised by the Applicant that the last element on the script (rejected take‑off) should be assessed as a single event, the fact remains that within this task, several related actions require separate assessments. It is important that the Review Member examine the marking scale applied to each tested item.

D. Items Assessed Below Standard ─ 7, 21, and 26

(a) Item 7 ─ Rejected Take-Off

[27] The Applicant's PPC Flight Test Report indicates that a score of 1 (below standard) was attributed to item 7 (Rejected take-off), based on the omission of the First Officer to request CFR services during the ATC radio transmission (Exhibit M‑1).

[28] Assessing item 7 (Rejected take-off), can be divided in several segments. The first, as the task implies, would be to evaluate the ability of the crew to properly and safely identify the malfunction during the take‑off roll, to carry out the rejected take-off prior to V1 and to accomplish this safely and expeditiously. In accordance with section 3.1.7, "Rejected Takeoff Procedure", of the Company's AOM (Exhibit M-4), once the aircraft has come to a complete stop, the First Officer must advise ATC on the rejected take-off. There is no dispute that this was completed, and it is important.

[29] Based on the weather set during this event, ATC would have no visual contact with Air Canada Jazz flight 741 and may continue operations on the active runway. Although contradictory testimony was heard as to the request for CFR services, the main objective of this exercise was met. It can be argued as well that paragraph 1) of section 3.1.7, "Rejected Takeoff General", of the Company's AOM (Exhibit M‑4) does allow for some latitude for the crew to decide as to when this service can be requested. Paragraph 1) of section 3.1.7 states as follows: "The First Officer will advise ATC as soon as practical of the reject and request CFR if applicable". If operating under paragraph 3) of section 3.1.7 "Completing the Rejected Takeoff", of the Company's AOM (Exhibit M-4), "[t]he First Officer will advise ATC of the reject in progress and request assistance if necessary."

[30] A score of 1 (below standard), attributed on the ground that a request for CFR service was omitted, would be unwarranted based on oral and documentary evidence.

(b) Item 21 ─ PNF Duties

[31] The need for effective crew management in the cockpit is critical in all phases of flight, but even more so in an abnormal and/or emergency situation. The company's operating procedures require close coordination by both crew members in order to safely complete required action items. The assessment and monitoring of a PNF duties are done throughout the duration of the check ride. Based on the scenario script used during the first part of the check ride, Mr. Olaru's performance as PNF during multiple phases of flight, including malfunctions, emergencies, approaches and cockpit management, had been assessed as standard. The initial tasks of the First Officer ("PNF") during the rejected take-off were conducted within standard. ATC was aware of the aircraft having rejected its take-off roll.

[32] The second call transmitted to ATC, informing them of the number of passengers and fuel on board, would indicate that an evacuation was being conducted or that, at least, a request from ATC had been received for additional information. According to Mr. Dahl's testimony, no return response was sent to Air Canada Jazz flight 741 based on the transmission methodology uncertainty. A score of 1 (below standard) to assess the PNF duties would be inconsistent and unwarranted based on the observation of Mr. Dahl for most of the first part of the check ride. It would also be questionable, if the assessment was based on the last event of the first part.

(c) Item 26 ─ Evacuation

[33] Section 3.1.9, "Passenger Evacuation Procedure" from the AOM discusses the passenger evacuation procedure to be carried out, following the command of the Captain (Exhibit M-5). In the present case, there is contradicting evidence as to when the command to evacuate was given or acknowledged. What is not disputable, however, is that the actual evacuation carried out by the First Officer was completed out of sequence and prior to the Captain's command prompt, as outlined in section 3.1.9 of the Company's AOM (Exhibit M‑5). These memory items are designed to be carried out simultaneously by each crew member, including the synchronization of the First Officer turning on the emergency lights to the Captain's call "evacuate evacuate evacuate" over the PA system. Based on testimony, this was not completed according to standard. A score of 1 (below standard) on this item is warranted. 

 

[34] Based on these observations, it is of the opinion of the Review Member that only one task warranted a score of 1 (below standard).

[35] After reviewing the specific issues and determining that only item 26 (Evacuation) should have been assessed a score of 1 (below standard), Mr. Olaru should have been given the opportunity to continue the line check and repeat the item that he had failed.

 

V. DETERMINATION

[36] The Minister of Transport has not proven, on the balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, Ioan Codrin Olaru, did not meet the standards required to maintain his pilot proficiency privileges on the CL-65 aircraft. Consequently, the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada refers the matter back to the Minister of Transport for reconsideration.

August 13, 2010

Franco Pietracupa

Member

Décisions

Dossier no H-3644-60 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-730412 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Ioan Codrin Olaru, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, alinéa 7.1(1)b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Franco Pietracupa


Décision : le 13 août 2010

Référence : Olaru c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2010 TATCF 19 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à Montréal (Québec) le 11 mai 2010

Arrêt : Le ministre des Transports n'a pas prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, Ioan Codrin Olaru, n'a pas respecté les normes requises pour conserver à l'égard de l'aéronef CL‑65 les privilèges rattachés à sa compétence de pilote. Par conséquent, le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada renvoie l'affaire au ministre des Transports pour réexamen.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 23 novembre 2009, le ministre des Transports a délivré un avis de suspension (« avis ») informant le requérant, Ioan Codrin Olaru, que son contrôle de la compétence du pilote (« CCP ») était suspendu, en application de l'alinéa 7.1(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (« Loi »). Il est allégué que pendant un CCP imposé périodiquement par Transports Canada, Aviation civile, et mené par Rodney Dahl, un pilote vérificateur de transporteurs aériens (« PVTA ») agréé, M. Olaru, un pilote breveté qualifié, n'a pas fait appel aux services de sauvetage et d'extinction des incendies d'aéronefs (« CFR ») pendant un scénario de test de décollage interrompu, dans lequel il agissait à titre de pilote qui n'est pas aux commandes (« PNF »). En conséquence, il est allégué que M. Olaru n'a pas réussi certains des points obligatoires de la norme requise par le manuel d'utilisation de l'aéronef CRJ de la compagnie (AOM, volume 2). Par conséquent, il ne satisfait plus aux exigences de détention d'un CCP pour l'aéronef CL‑65 (pièce M‑2).

[2] Compte tenu de cette omission de M. Olaru, et tel qu'indiqué dans le Rapport du test en vol du CCP du requérant, M. Dahl a attribué au requérant une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard) à l'égard des points suivants (pièce M‑1) :

Point 7 Décollage interrompu

Point 21 Tâches du PNF

Point 26 Évacuation

[3] Les questions qui doivent être examinées et la décision qui sera rendue par le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (« Tribunal ») sont fondées sur les questions suivantes :

1. M. Olaru a‑t‑il omis de faire appel aux services CFR pendant le scénario de décollage interrompu?

2. M. Olaru a‑t‑il omis d'utiliser le bon mode de transmission suivant lequel il faut presser un bouton pour parler? En effet, la demande de services CFR n'a pas été entendue par le contrôle de la circulation aérienne (« ATC »), et les services de sauvetage n'ont donc pas été dépêchés à l'aéronef.

3. Le scénario de décollage interrompu consistait‑il d'une seule tâche ou de trois points distincts qui nécessiteraient des évaluations distinctes du PVTA?

4. L'échelle de notation a‑t‑elle été correctement appliquée aux points 7, 21 et 26 du Rapport du test en vol du CCP du requérant, ce qui a entraîné la suspension du CCP de M. Olaru?

II. LOIS, RÈGLEMENTS ET POLITIQUES

 

[4] L'alinéa 7.1(1)b) de la Loi est libellé comme suit :

7.1 (1) Le ministre, s'il décide de suspendre, d'annuler ou de ne pas renouveler un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs ci‑après, expédie un avis par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire du document ou du propriétaire, de l'exploitant ou de l'utilisateur de l'aéronef, de l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document :

[...]

b) le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document;

[...]

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Rodney Dahl

[5] M. Dahl est le PVTA qui était responsable de la conduite du vol de contrôle de la compétence qui a eu lieu le 19 novembre 2009. Dans son témoignage, il a déclaré avoir suivi un scénario approuvé du contrôle de la compétence du pilote le jour où a eu lieu le vol de contrôle de la compétence (pièce M‑3).

[6] Le vol de contrôle de la compétence a été effectué en deux parties. Le défaut serait survenu au cours du dernier événement simulé à réaliser pendant la première partie du vol. M. Dahl a programmé un problème de fumée dans la soute pendant le décollage simulé. La première partie du scénario consistait en un vol dans le simulateur effectué par le commandant de bord Eric Sallo en tant que pilote aux commandes (« PF »), avec M. Olaru comme premier officier (« PNF »).

[7] Il ressort du témoignage de M. Dahl que, jusqu'alors, l'équipage avait obtenu la note standard ou une note supérieure à celle‑ci pour tous les points obligatoires du test. Lors de l'incident en question, le commandant de bord a interrompu le décollage et a amené l'appareil à un arrêt complet. Le commandant de bord et le premier officier ont identifié la défaillance et ont exécuté toutes les actions obligatoires à mémoriser conformément aux procédures de la compagnie. À la suite de l'interruption, la première tâche de M. Olaru a été d'avertir l'ATC de l'interruption du décollage. M. Dahl a indiqué que, selon la section 3.1.7 de l'AOM de la compagnie (pièce M‑4), M. Olaru a correctement signalé le décollage interrompu sur la fréquence de trafic de l'aérodrome mais a omis de faire appel aux services CFR.

[8] M. Dahl a témoigné que, conformément aux procédures, l'équipage a correctement identifié l'avertisseur principal de fumée/feu dans la soute. Puis, le commandant de bord a commencé à exécuter les actions applicables à mémoriser, tandis que le premier officier, M. Olaru, a commencé à évacuer l'aéronef. Tel que stipulé dans la section 3.1.9 de l'AOM de la compagnie, une évacuation ne doit être effectuée que sur l'ordre du command de bord (pièce M‑5). M. Dahl a déclaré ne pas avoir entendu le commandant de bord ordonner l'évacuation.

[9] Pendant l'exercice d'évacuation mené par M. Olaru, un second appel a été fait à l'ATC pour l'informer au sujet de l'évacuation. Pour établir la communication, M. Olaru n'a pas pressé le bon bouton de transmission et, de ce fait, l'ATC n'a pas entendu la communication radio sur la fréquence exigée. M. Dahl a indiqué que, lors d'une communication radio normale à l'ATC, une réponse aurait été retournée pour accuser réception de la communication radio. L'ATC n'a envoyé aucune réponse à l'aéronef. Le rôle de l'ATC était joué par M. Dahl.

[10] M. Dahl a finalement communiqué par radio avec l'aéronef avant que l'équipage évacue celui‑ci et il a demandé à l'équipage s'il avait besoin d'aide. De nouveau, M. Olaru a signalé par radio que l'équipage évacuait l'aéronef mais, encore une fois, M. Dahl a constaté que M. Olaru n'avait pas appuyé sur le bouton‑poussoir de transmission et que, de ce fait, aucune communication radio n'avait été reçue sur la fréquence de l'ATC.

[11] M. Dahl a déclaré que, compte tenu de l'ensemble des événements, il n'avait d'autre choix que d'attribuer à M. Olaru une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard) relativement au décollage interrompu, aux tâches du PNF et à l'évacuation.

B. Requérant

(1) Ioan Codrin Olaru 

[12] M. Olaru a déclaré que le commandant de bord avait, en réalité, ordonné l'évacuation après que le décollage a été interrompu.

[13] De plus, M. Olaru a déclaré qu'une communication avait été transmise par radio, à l'aide du bouton‑poussoir de transmission, pour faire appel aux services CFR. Cependant, contrairement à ce qui est indiqué dans l'AOM de la compagnie, M. Olaru a reconnu qu'il n'a pas réalisé les actions à mémoriser pour l'évacuation des passagers dans le même ordre que les actions à mémoriser du commandant de bord.

[14] Le témoignage de M. Olaru était axé sur le fait qu'il s'était vu attribuer une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard) à l'égard de trois points distincts lors d'un seul et même événement (décollage interrompu).

[15] En contre‑interrogatoire, on a demandé à M. Olaru si les événements reliés au décollage interrompu étaient considérés comme trois points distincts dans l'index des procédures concernant l'aéronef CL‑65. Il a répondu par l'affirmative.

[16] On a également demandé à M. Olaru s'il avait entendu le commandant de bord ordonner l'évacuation à un moment ou à un autre pendant les événements. M. Olaru a répondu qu'il avait entendu le commandant de bord ordonner l'évacuation, mais qu'il ne se souvenait pas exactement à quel moment.

IV. ANALYSE DE LA PREUVE, DE LA LÉGISLATION ET DE LA POLITIQUE

[17] L'affaire entendue par le Tribunal porte sur deux éléments clés.

[18] Le premier élément repose sur les témoignages contradictoires (les dires de l'un et les dires de l'autre) des deux témoins. Cela joue un rôle important à l'égard du second élément, la note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard) relative aux trois points, compte tenu du témoignage de M. Dahl, selon lequel il a jugé que le requérant avait omis de faire appel aux services CFR. Les deux témoins étaient crédibles, et le conseiller en révision croit leurs versions respectives des faits. Compte tenu de la preuve orale et écrite, et selon la prépondérance des probabilités, il y a lieu d'examiner les quatre questions suivantes.

A. Omission de faire appel aux services de sauvetage et d'extinction des incendies d'aéronefs (CFR)

[19] MM. Dahl et Olaru conviennent tous deux que la première communication radio après le décollage interrompu avait été correctement transmise, selon la méthode normale du bouton‑poussoir de transmission. Ainsi, l'ATC était au courant que le vol 741 d'Air Canada Jazz avait interrompu son décollage. Toutefois, la contradiction entre les témoignages porte sur la question de savoir si la demande concernant les services CFR a été transmise à l'ATC.

[20] Se fondant sur les témoignages des deux témoins, le conseiller en révision estime qu'un PVTA expérimenté comme M. Dahl ne passerait pas à côté d'un appel critique d'un aéronef faisant appel aux services CFR. La prépondérance des probabilités amènerait le conseiller en révision à reconnaître que l'appel concernant les services CFR n'avait pas été fait à ce moment‑là.

B. Deuxième et troisième communications radio pendant le décollage interrompu

[21] La question des deux communications radio subséquentes, transmises par M. Olaru, doit être examinée. Le deuxième appel radio faisait suite à l'ordre donné par le commandant de bord d'évacuer l'aéronef, alors que le troisième appel visait à répondre à l'ATC qui avait demandé si le vol 741 d'Air Canada Jazz avait besoin d'aide.

[22] Les deux témoins semblent avoir formulé des observations justes et raisonnables au sujet de ces événements et, bien que les témoignages se contredisent, le conseiller en révision n'a aucune raison de mettre en doute l'exactitude des témoignages sous serment. En raison de ce dilemme, il a recouru à d'autres éléments de preuve documentaire pour trancher cette question.

[23] Lors de son témoignage, M. Dahl a déclaré que, conformément à la section 3.1.7 de l'AOM de la compagnie (pièce M‑4), M. Olaru était le PNF pendant la première partie du vol de contrôle de la compétence. D'après le témoignage de M. Dahl, M. Olaru avait obtenu la note standard ou une note supérieure à la note standard à l'égard de tous les points obligatoires, jusqu'à ce dernier exercice obligatoire. Selon le scénario approuvé utilisé pendant la première partie du vol de contrôle de la compétence, l'équipage doit transmettre, au minimum, 10 appels radio à l'ATC avant cet événement. En tant que PNF, M. Olaru prendrait part aux communications radio pendant la majeure partie du premier scénario. Comme le Rapport du test en vol du CCP du requérant ne fait nullement mention de l'utilisation inappropriée du bouton‑poussoir de transmission, la compétence aéronautique en matière de communication radio était, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, conforme aux normes jugées acceptables pendant presque toute la première partie du test en vol, notamment la première communication radio après le décollage interrompu. Il serait donc fort peu probable que le bouton-pressoir de transmission n'ait pas été enfoncé lors des deux dernières transmissions.

[24] Le conseiller en révision est d'avis que, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, les deux dernières communications radio ont été effectuées correctement.

C. Un seul et même événement ou plusieurs événements

 

[25] Selon le Rapport du test en vol du CCP du requérant, les privilèges de M. Olaru ont finalement été suspendus, étant donné que M. Dahl lui a attribué une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard) à l'égard de trois points distincts, du fait que les services CFR n'ont pas été sollicités.

[26] Bien que le requérant ait fait valoir que le dernier élément du scénario (décollage interrompu) devrait être évalué comme un seul et même événement, il n'en demeure pas moins que, dans le cadre de cette tâche, plusieurs actions connexes nécessitent une évaluation distincte. Il est important que le conseiller en révision examine l'échelle de notation appliquée à chacun des points qu'il évalue.

D. Points ayant reçu une note inférieure à la note standard ─ 7, 21 et 26

(a) Point 7 ─ Décollage interrompu

[27] Le Rapport du test en vol du CCP du requérant indique qu'une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard) a été attribuée au point 7 (décollage interrompu), étant donné l'omission du premier officier de solliciter les services CFR pendant la transmission radio à l'ATC (pièce M‑1).

[28] L'évaluation du point 7 (décollage interrompu) peut être divisée en plusieurs segments. Le premier, comme le suggère la tâche, consisterait à évaluer la capacité de l'équipage à identifier correctement et de façon sécuritaire la défaillance pendant la course au décollage, à interrompre le décollage avant d'atteindre la vitesse V1 et à faire cela de façon rapide et sécuritaire. Conformément à la section 3.1.7, [traduction] « Procédure relative au décollage interrompu », de l'AOM de la compagnie (pièce M-4), lorsque l'aéronef effectue un arrêt complet, le premier officier doit informer l'ATC que le décollage a été interrompu. Nul ne conteste que cela a été fait, ce qui est important.

[29] Étant donné les conditions météorologiques simulées pendant cet événement, l'ATC n'aurait aucun contact visuel avec le vol 741 d'Air Canada Jazz et pourrait poursuivre les opérations sur la piste en service. Bien que des témoignages contradictoires aient été entendus au sujet de la demande concernant les services CFR, l'objectif principal de cet exercice a été atteint. On pourrait également soutenir que le paragraphe 1) de la section 3.1.7, [traduction] « Décollage interrompu – général », de l'AOM de la compagnie (pièce M‑4), confère une certaine latitude à l'équipage pour décider à quel moment demander ces services. Le paragraphe 1) de la section 3.1.7 prévoit ce qui suit : [traduction] « Le premier officier informera l'ATC dès que possible de l'interruption et demandera des services CFR, le cas échéant. » S'il agit conformément au paragraphe 3) de la section 3.1.7, [traduction] « Interruption du décollage », de l'AOM de la compagnie (pièce M-4), [traduction] « [l]e premier officier informera l'ATC de l'interruption en cours et demandera de l'aide s'il y a lieu. »

[30] Une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard), attribuée au motif que les services CFR n'ont pas été sollicités, serait injustifiée compte tenu de la preuve orale et documentaire.

(b) Point 21 ─ Tâches du PNF

[31] Une gestion efficace de l'équipage dans le poste de pilotage est d'une importance cruciale pendant toutes les phases de vol, mais plus encore lors de situations anormales ou d'urgence. Les procédures d'utilisation de la compagnie nécessitent une coordination étroite entre les deux membres d'équipage afin d'effectuer en toute sécurité les actions obligatoires. L'évaluation et la surveillance des tâches du PNF sont effectuées pendant toute la durée du vol de contrôle de la compétence. Conformément au scénario utilisé pendant la première partie du vol de contrôle de la compétence, M. Olaru s'est vu attribuer la note standard pour la façon dont il s'est acquitté de ses tâches de PNF pendant les différentes phases de vol, notamment les défaillances, les urgences, les approches et la gestion du poste de pilotage. Les tâches initiales du premier officier (« PNF ») pendant le décollage interrompu ont été effectuées selon la norme. L'ATC était au courant que l'aéronef avait interrompu sa course au décollage.

[32] Le deuxième appel transmis à l'ATC, l'informant du nombre de passagers et de la quantité de carburant à bord, indiquerait qu'une évacuation était en cours ou que, du moins, une demande de renseignements supplémentaires avait été reçue de l'ATC. Selon le témoignage de M. Dahl, aucune réponse n'a été retournée au vol 741 d'Air Canada Jazz, étant donné l'incertitude rattachée à la méthode de transmission. Compte tenu de ce que M. Dahl a observé pendant presque toute la première partie du vol de contrôle de la compétence, il serait illogique et injustifié d'attribuer une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard) pour évaluer les tâches du PNF. Cela serait également discutable, si l'évaluation reposait sur le dernier événement de la première partie.

(c) Point 26 ─ Évacuation

[33] La section 3.1.9, [traduction] « Procédure relative à l'évacuation des passagers », de l'AOM porte sur la procédure à suivre pour l'évacuation des passagers, à la suite de l'ordre du commandant de bord (pièce M-5). En l'espèce, la preuve est contradictoire à propos du moment où l'ordre d'évacuation a été donné ou qu'on en a accusé réception. Toutefois, ce qu'on ne peut contester, c'est que l'évacuation effectuée par le premier officier a eu lieu hors séquence et avant que le commandant de bord n'en donne l'ordre, tel qu'indiqué à la section 3.1.9 de l'AOM de la compagnie (pièce M‑5). Ces actions à mémoriser doivent être effectuées simultanément par les membres d'équipage, notamment la synchronisation de l'allumage des voyants d'urgence par le premier officier avec l'appel du commandant de bord « évacuez, évacuez, évacuez » par l'entremise du système de sonorisation passagers. D'après les témoignages, cela n'a pas été fait selon la norme. Une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard) est justifiée pour ce point. 

 

[34] D'après ces observations, le conseiller en révision est d'avis qu'une seule tâche méritait une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard).

[35] Après avoir examiné les questions spécifiques et avoir déterminé que seul le point 26 méritait qu'on lui attribue une note de 1 (évaluation inférieure à la note standard), M. Olaru aurait dû avoir la possibilité de continuer la vérification de compétence en ligne et de reprendre le point qu'il avait échoué.

 

V. DÉCISION

[36] Le ministre des Transports n'a pas prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, Ioan Codrin Olaru, n'a pas respecté les normes requises pour conserver à l'égard de l'aéronef CL‑65 les privilèges rattachés à sa compétence de pilote. Par conséquent, le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada renvoie l'affaire au ministre des Transports pour réexamen.

Le 13 août 2010

Franco Pietracupa

Conseiller