Decisions

TATC File No. O-3647-33
MoT File No. PAP5504-67698

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Joseph Alexander Donald Doyle, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96 433; paragraph 602.31(1)(a)


Review Determination
Richard F. Willems


Decision: December 21, 2010

Citation: Doyle v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2010 TATCE 27 (review)

Heard at London, Ontario, on May 19 and 20, 2010

Held: The decision of the Minister of Transport, set out in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty dated October 26, 2009, is confirmed. The amount of $750 is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within thirty-five (35) days of service of this Determination.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On October 26, 2009, the Minister of Transport ("Minister") issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty ("Notice") to the Applicant, Joseph Alexander Donald Doyle, for an alleged contravention of paragraph 602.31(1)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations ("CARs"), pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act ("Act"). Mr. Doyle is the Chief Flight Instructor for Aero Academy Inc. ("Aero Academy"), based at the London Airport.

[2] Schedule A of the Notice states the following:

On or about November 5, 2008, at or about 1824 UTC, at or near London Airport (CYXU) you, as the pilot-in-command of a Cessna 172RG aircraft, bearing registration C-GGBR, did not comply with all of the air traffic control instructions directed to you by the appropriate air traffic control unit and received by you. Specifically, when instructed by the appropriate air traffic control unit to continue on the downwind leg for runway 15 and await instructions to turn onto the base leg; you turned onto the base leg without permission, thereby contravening paragraph 602.31(1)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

Monetary Penalty Assessed: $750.00

II. STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND POLICIES

[3] Paragraph 602.31(1)(a) of the CARs provides as follows:

602.31 (1) Subject to subsection (3), the pilot-in-command of an aircraft shall

(a) comply with and acknowledge, to the appropriate air traffic control unit, all of the air traffic control instructions directed to and received by the pilot-in-command; and

. . .

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Audra K. Oakes

[4] Audra K. Oakes is a Civil Aviation Safety Inspector in the Aviation Enforcement Branch, at Transport Canada. She was assigned to investigate an incident that was brought to her attention by the Civil Aviation Daily Occurrence Reporting System ("CADORS", Exhibit M-1). She confirmed that the two aircraft involved are both registered to Aero Academy. Duncan Chalmers, Civil Aviation Safety Inspector, at Transport Canada, and Principal Operations Inspector for Aero Academy, was contacted. He was aware of the incident and was currently working on this file. At that point, he asked Inspector Oakes to obtain the NAV CANADA's data, the reason being that this information is retained for only 30 days.

[5] Inspector Oakes received a compact disk ("CD") from the Toronto Area Control Centre ("ACC"), containing the audio and radar data which she used for her initial investigation (Exhibit M-5). At a later date, Inspector Oakes made a copy of the audio data of this incident (Exhibit M-15) from the master at the London Control Tower and a copy of the radar (Exhibit M-17) from the master at the Toronto ACC.

[6] On December 22, 2008, Inspector Oakes met with Inspector Chalmers to discuss this incident. Inspector Chalmers informed her that, shortly after this CADORS report had been issued, he had contacted the Chief Flight Instructor, Mr. Doyle, and asked him for a report. Inspector Chalmers was not satisfied with the report he received by fax from Mr. Doyle because he felt it did not address what was actually provided in the CADORS report. Because of these inconsistencies, he scheduled an on‑site visit to Aero Academy on December 9, 2008. He obtained a copy of the company's Daily Flight Sheets (Exhibit M-7) which indicate that aircraft C‑GGBR was flying on November 5, 2008, between 13:00 and 14:00 (local time), with Mr. Doyle as the Instructor and Richard Douglas Nancarrow on board. Inspector Chalmers was still not satisfied with Mr. Doyle's explanation of this incident, and he asked that the Aviation Enforcement Branch, Transport Canada, start its investigation.

[7] Inspector Oakes reviewed the audio and radar data and produced a transcript of the audio portion (Exhibit M-8). It served as a working tool for her to correlate the events on the CD containing audio and radar data.

[8] After reviewing the audio and radar data, Inspector Oakes concluded that aircraft C‑GGBR was conducting left‑hand circuits and aircraft C-GBJU was conducting right‑hand circuits. Air Traffic Control ("ATC") instructed aircraft C‑GGBR to continue on the downwind and that they would be advised when to turn base. Aircraft C‑GGBR replied that they would continue on the downwind. ATC then asked if they could see the traffic at their 10 o'clock position, to which they replied that they would locate other aircraft when turning final. ATC asked why they were turning, to which they replied that they were on base now. This indicated to Inspector Oakes that aircraft C‑GGBR had not followed the ATC's instruction.

[9] On January 27, 2009, Inspector Oakes sent a letter of investigation to Mr. Doyle (Exhibit M-10). She also recorded a telephone conversation with Mr. Doyle (Exhibit M-11), where she advised him of the alleged contravention and read the Warning to Alleged Offender Statement to him.

[10] On February 23, 2009, Mr. Doyle telephoned Inspector Oakes, stating that he would like to participate in the investigation, and that he was willing to meet with her at the Pearson Transport Canada Centre. He indicated that he had familiarized himself with the CADORS report, and that he had some concerns with the flight of November 5, 2008 (Exhibit M-12).

[11] Mr. Doyle stated that he was the Pilot-in-Command ("PIC") of aircraft C-GGBR on the flight in question, and that Mr. Nancarrow was his student. He indicated that the PIC of aircraft C-GBJU was Udeme Udoh. He said that neither crew saw the other aircraft involved while aircraft C-GGBR was on the base leg. Ms. Udoh had indicated to him that when she did see aircraft C-GGBR, she thought it was ahead of hers (C-GBJU), and that she would be following it (C-GGBR). Mr. Doyle believed that the 120 degree heading assigned by the ATC had caused the paths of the two aircraft to cross a second time. He stated that he might have missed the ATC's instruction to remain on the downwind. Mr. Doyle acknowledged that the aircraft had come into conflict twice, the second time being the result of the 120 degree heading, assigned by ATC.

[12] On March 17, 2009, a meeting took place at the Pearson Transport Canada Centre with Inspectors Oakes and Ian Shimmin, Instructor Slawomir Cieplicki and Mr. Doyle. Inspector Oakes testified that this meeting was not very productive. The discussion was similar to the telephone conversation they had had. Mr. Doyle did acknowledge that he had been the PIC on the flight of November 5, 2008, but offered no explanation for the unauthorized turn from the downwind.

(2) Christopher Kyle Brew

[13] Christopher Kyle Brew has been a licensed Air Traffic Controller for eight years, and he was working the air position at the London Control Tower at the time of this alleged contravention. Mr. Brew listened to the audio CD submitted in evidence (Exhibit M-5), and followed along with the transcript. He testified that the audio data and the transcript were accurate, and he identified his voice.

[14] Mr. Brew confirmed that he had instructed aircraft C-GGBR to continue on the downwind leg, and that he would instruct them when to turn base. He also agreed that aircraft C‑GGBR acknowledged his instruction by transmitting the following message: ". . . continuing on the downwind." In his next contact with aircraft C‑GGBR, he transmitted a traffic advisory, giving them the distance and position of aircraft C‑GBJU in relation to the position of aircraft C‑GGBR and their sequence in the circuit.

[15] Aircraft C-GGBR acknowledged that transmission. After instructing aircraft C‑GBJU to continue the turn to final, Mr. Brew, once again, provided traffic information to aircraft C‑GGBR and asked them if they had the traffic in sight. When they replied in the negative and said that they would try to locate aircraft C-GBJU turning final, he believed them to be on base leg. This was confirmed on their next transmission when they stated: "I'm on base right now actually." At this point, Mr. Brew realized that a conflict was happening and he started issuing instructions in an attempt to separate the two aircraft.

[16] While working with the radar data, Mr. Brew again confirmed all the segments of the events that he testified to, while working with the audio data. He also testified that the radar data is the actual data that he was working with that day.

B. Applicant

(1) Richard Douglas Nancarrow

[17] Mr. Nancarrow was the student on board aircraft C-GGBR, taking dual training from Mr. Doyle. He was getting checked out on the Cessna 172RG. He identified his voice on the audio CD. He recalled another aircraft being fairly close to his while he was landing, or on final, or on base; he was not sure. A year and a half had passed since this incident and he no longer recalls much of the details.

[18] Under cross-examination, Mr. Nancarrow admitted that he understood the Control Tower's instruction to remain on the downwind. He could not recall why he turned base. After seeing the radar data, he agreed that it appeared he had turned on to base without clearance to do so.

(2) Udeme Udoh

[19] Ms. Udoh was the Instructor on board the Cessna 150, registered as C-GBJU, which was the other aircraft involved in this incident at the London Airport on November 5, 2008. She recalled that her aircraft overshot runway 15 centre line, while turning from right base to final, and the ATC instruction to continue the turn and intercept the final approach course for runway 15. She remembered seeing aircraft C-GGBR on a left‑hand downwind, and that aircraft C-GGBR had been instructed to follow her aircraft in the circuit. She also testified that she had the other aircraft in sight during this incident, at one point seeing aircraft C‑GGBR very close to hers. Aircraft C‑GGBR was now ahead of hers, but the controller kept saying that her aircraft was number one on the approach. She indicated that she was uncomfortable with the ATC instruction to aircraft C-GGBR concerning the 120 degree heading, knowing that the heading would bring the two aircraft in conflict. She also recalled that aircraft C-GGBR told the ATC that they did not have aircraft C‑GBJU in sight.

[20] Ms. Udoh testified that prior to the airspace and the staffing changes in the London Control Tower, the number of CADORS reports issued to the instructors and students at Aero Academy was considerably higher.

IV. DISCUSSION

[21] Mr. Doyle argues that of all the CADORS reports issued, he believes that he received a contravention because of his position of Chief Flying Instructor at Aero Academy. My Review Determination today is based on the evidence placed before me in relation to CADORS report 2008O2585 (Exhibit M-1). I have no evidence with regards to any other CADORS reports, other than the fact that they were issued to the company. They are not at issue here today.

[22] In his telephone conversation with Inspector Oakes, Mr. Doyle stated that on the day of the incident, he was the PIC of aircraft C-GGBR and that his student was Mr. Nancarrow (Exhibit M-12). Mr. Doyle, in the meeting that took place on March 17, 2009, again indicated that he had been the PIC of aircraft C‑GGBR on November 5, 2008.

[23] Flight Sheet 11213, dated November 5, 2008 at invoice 8499, shows D. Doyle as the Instructor and R. Nancarrow as the student. Aircraft C-GGBR was involved: time up was 13:00 and time down was 14:00 (local time, Exhibit M-7). As well, Mr. Nancarrow testified that Mr. Doyle was his instructor for the flight on November 5, 2008. I am satisfied that Mr. Doyle was the PIC of the Cessna 172RG, registered as C‑GGBR, on November 5, 2008.

[24] Mr. Doyle, in his closing arguments, implied that because Mr. Nancarrow had situational awareness, he opted to turn base to avoid the conflict with aircraft C-GBJU, which was contrary to the ATC instruction that he was given.

[25] Based on Mr. Nancarrow's testimony, I find that this was not the case. He could not recall why he had turned base. After seeing the radar data, he agreed that it appeared he had turned on to base without clearance to do so.

[26] Mr. Nancarrow agreed that Mr. Doyle was his Instructor on the flight in question. He identified his own voice on the audio recording. Under cross-examination, he agreed that he had understood the Control Tower's instruction to remain on the downwind.

[27] While following the progress of this incident on November 5, 2008, using the audio transcript data (Exhibit M-8), along with the still frames of the radar data (Exhibit M-19), we can see that at 18:22:57, ATC instructed aircraft C‑GGBR to fly left‑hand circuits. At 18:23:00, aircraft C-GGBR replied that they had received the instruction. At 18:24:46, ATC instructed as follows: "GBR continue on the downwind, I'll call the base." At 18:24:48, aircraft C-GGBR replied: "GBR continuing on the downwind". The crew confirmed again that they had received that instruction. We can also see the position and progress of aircraft C-GGBR on radar (Exhibit M-19, still 3). At 18:26:14, ATC issued the following traffic advisory: "GBR, the traffic you're looking for is about your 10 o'clock and about two miles, they've overshot the approach course, they'll be turning back to the south, do you have them?"

[28] At 18:26:22, aircraft C-GGBR replied "Ah, negative, I'll try to pick them up, when I turn final". At 18:26:27, ATC replied: "OK, why are you turning then?" At 18:26:30, aircraft C‑GGBR replied: "I'm on base right now actually." If one follows on the radar stills, the progress of this portion of the flight is obvious with the turn starting at 18:26:20 (Exhibit M‑19, still 9) and established on base leg at 18:26:30 (Exhibit M-19, still 11).

[29] Ms. Udoh testified that, while making decisions regarding the issue of her aircraft having flown through the extended centre line of runway 15, she was not initially concerned with conflict because she had last seen aircraft C-GGBR on the downwind and that aircraft had been told to follow her in the circuit. She was surprised and concerned to see aircraft C‑GGBR inside the turn that was assigned to her by ATC.

[30] In view of the above evidence, I find that Mr. Doyle did not comply with the ATC instruction to continue on the downwind and await instructions to turn onto the base leg.

V. DETERMINATION

[31] The Applicant contravened paragraph 602.31(1)(a) of the CARs. The decision of the Minister, set out in the Notice of October 26, 2009, is confirmed.

December 21, 2010

Richard F. Willems

Member

Décisions

Dossier no O-3647-33 (TATC)
Dossier no PAP5504-67698 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Joseph Alexander Donald Doyle, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96 433; alinéa 602.31(1)a)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Richard F. Willems


Décision : le 21 décembre 2010

Référence : Doyle c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2010 TATCF 27 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Arrêt : La décision du ministre des Transports, énoncée dans l'avis d'amende pour contravention daté du 26 octobre 2009, est confirmée. Le montant de 750 $ est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada dans les trente-cinq (35) jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 26 octobre 2009, le ministre des Transports (« ministre ») a émis un avis d'amende pour contravention (« avis ») au requérant, Joseph Alexander Donald Doyle, en liaison avec une contravention présumée à l'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (« RAC »), en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (« Loi »). M. Doyle est chef‑instructeur de vol chez Aero Academy Inc. (« Aero Academy »), établie à l'aéroport de London.

[2] L'annexe A de l'avis dit ceci :

[Traduction]

À approximativement 18 h 24 UTC, le ou vers le 5 novembre 2008, à ou près de l'aéroport de London (CYXU), vous avez omis, à titre de commandant de bord de l'aéronef Cessna 172RG immatriculé C‑GGBR, de vous conformer à toutes les instructions du contrôle de la circulation aérienne que vous destinait l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente et que vous aviez reçues. Plus précisément, lorsque vous avez reçu de l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente l'instruction de poursuivre en vent arrière de la piste 15 et d'attendre l'instruction de virer en étape de base, vous avez viré en étape de base sans permission, contrevenant ainsi aux dispositions de l'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Amende infligée : 750 $

II. LOIS, RÈGLEMENTS ET POLITIQUES

[3] L'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du RAC précise ce qui suit :

602.31 (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (3), le commandant de bord d'un aéronef doit :

a) se conformer à toutes les instructions du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qui lui sont destinées et qu'il reçoit et en accuser réception auprès de l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente;

. . .

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Audra K. Oakes

[4] Audra K. Oakes est un inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile à la Direction de l'application de la loi en aviation, à Transports Canada. Elle a été chargée d'enquêter sur un incident qui a été porté à son attention par le Système de comptes rendus quotidiens des événements de l'aviation civile (« SCREAQ », pièce M‑1). Elle a confirmé que les deux aéronefs impliqués sont tous les deux enregistrés au nom d'Aero Academy. Duncan Chalmers, inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile, à Transports Canada, et inspecteur principal de l'exploitation chez Aero Academy, a été contacté. Il était au courant de l'incident et était en train de travailler sur ce dossier. Il a alors demandé à l'inspecteur Oakes d'obtenir les données de NAV CANADA, étant donné que ces renseignements n'étaient conservés que pendant 30 jours.

[5] L'inspecteur Oakes a reçu du Centre de contrôle régional (« CCR ») de Toronto un disque compact (« CD ») contenant les données audio et radar qu'elle a utilisées pour son enquête initiale (pièce M‑5). À une date ultérieure, l'inspecteur Oakes a tiré une copie des données audio de cet incident (pièce M‑15) de la bande maîtresse de la tour de contrôle de London et une copie des données radar (pièce M‑17) de la bande maîtresse du CCR de Toronto.

[6] Le 22 décembre 2008, l'inspecteur Oakes a rencontré l'inspecteur Chalmers pour discuter de cet incident. L'inspecteur Chalmers l'a informée que, peu après que le rapport du SCREAQ eut été émis, il avait contacté le chef‑instructeur de vol, M. Doyle, et lui avait demandé de lui fournir un rapport. L'inspecteur Chalmers n'avait pas été satisfait du rapport que M. Doyle lui avait transmis par télécopieur parce qu'il estimait qu'il ne traitait pas de ce que révélait réellement le rapport du SCREAQ. En raison de ces contradictions, il avait organisé une visite à l'Aero Academy le 9 décembre 2008. Il avait obtenu une copie des fiches de vol quotidiennes de la société (pièce M‑7), qui indiquent que l'aéronef C‑GGBR était en vol le 5 novembre 2008, entre 13 h et 14 h (heure locale), avec à son bord M. Doyle, en tant qu'instructeur, et Richard Douglas Nancarrow. L'inspecteur Chalmers n'avait pas encore été satisfait des explications de M. Doyle concernant cet incident, et avait demandé à la Direction de l'application de la loi en aviation de Transports Canada d'ouvrir une enquête.

[7] L'inspecteur Oakes a examiné les données audio et radar et produit une transcription de la partie audio (pièce M‑8). Cela lui a servi d'outil de travail pour établir une corrélation entre les événements sur le CD contenant les données audio et radar.

[8] Après avoir examiné les données audio et radar, l'inspecteur Oakes a conclu que l'aéronef C‑GGBR effectuait des circuits à gauche, et l'aéronef C‑GBJU, des circuits à droite. Le contrôle de la circulation aérienne (« ATC ») avait donné à l'aéronef C‑GGBR l'instruction de poursuivre en vent arrière jusqu'à ce qu'on lui dise quand il pourrait virer en étape de base. L'équipage de l'aéronef C‑GGBR a répondu qu'il allait poursuivre en vent arrière. L'ATC lui a alors demandé s'il pouvait voir l'autre appareil dans ses 10 heures, ce à quoi il a répondu qu'il localiserait l'autre aéronef au moment du virage en finale. L'ATC lui a demandé pourquoi il virait, ce à quoi il a répondu qu'il était maintenant en étape de base. Pour l'inspecteur Oakes, cela indique que l'aéronef C‑GGBR n'a pas suivi l'instruction de l'ATC.

[9] Le 27 janvier 2009, l'inspecteur Oakes a envoyé une lettre d'enquête à M. Doyle (pièce M‑10). Elle a également enregistré une conversation téléphonique qu'elle a eue avec M. Doyle (pièce M‑11), où elle l'a informé de la contravention présumée et lui a lu la mise en garde à l'intention d'un contrevenant présumé.

[10] Le 23 février 2009, M. Doyle a téléphoné à l'inspecteur Oakes, affirmant qu'il aimerait participer à l'enquête, et qu'il était disposé à la rencontrer au Centre de Transports Canada de Pearson. Il a indiqué qu'il avait pris connaissance du rapport du SCREAQ, et qu'il avait certaines inquiétudes au sujet du vol du 5 novembre 2008 (pièce M‑12).

[11] M. Doyle a affirmé qu'il était le commandant de bord de l'aéronef C‑GGBR lors du vol en question, et que M. Nancarrow était son élève. Il a indiqué que le commandant de bord de l'aéronef C‑GBJU était Udeme Udoh. Il a dit qu'aucun des deux équipages n'avait vu l'autre appareil impliqué pendant que l'aéronef C‑GGBR était en étape de base. Mme Udoh lui avait indiqué qu'au moment où elle avait vu l'aéronef C‑GGBR, elle pensait qu'il était au-dessus du sien (C‑GBJU) et qu'elle allait le suivre (C‑GGBR). M. Doyle était d'avis que le cap de 120 degrés assigné par l'ATC avait amené les trajectoires des deux aéronefs à se croiser une seconde fois. Il a déclaré qu'il était possible qu'il ait manqué l'instruction de l'ATC de demeurer en vent arrière. M. Doyle a reconnu que les aéronefs étaient entrés en conflit deux fois, la seconde fois étant le résultat du cap de 120 degrés assigné par l'ATC.

[12] Le 17 mars 2009, une rencontre a eu lieu au Centre de Transports Canada de Pearson entre les inspecteurs Oakes et Ian Shimmin, l'instructeur Slawomir Cieplicki et M. Doyle. L'inspecteur Oakes a témoigné que cette rencontre n'avait pas été très productive. La discussion avait ressemblé à la conversation téléphonique qu'ils avaient eue. M. Doyle a toutefois reconnu qu'il avait été le commandant de bord lors du vol du 5 novembre 2008, mais n'a fourni aucune explication au sujet du virage en étape de base non autorisé.

(2) Christopher Kyle Brew

[13] Christopher Kyle Brew est un contrôleur de la circulation aérienne titulaire d'une licence depuis huit ans, et il travaillait en position air à la tour de contrôle de London au moment de la contravention présumée. M. Brew a écouté le CD audio présenté en preuve (pièce M‑5), puis la transcription. Il a témoigné que les données audio et la transcription étaient exactes, et il a reconnu sa voix.

[14] M. Brew a confirmé avoir donné à l'aéronef C‑GGBR l'instruction de poursuivre en vent arrière en attendant qu'il lui dise de virer en étape de base. Il a également convenu que l'aéronef C‑GGBR avait accusé réception de son instruction en envoyant le message suivant : [Traduction] « . . . on poursuit en vent arrière. » Dans son message suivant à l'aéronef C‑GGBR, il lui a transmis un avis de trafic précisant la distance et la position de l'aéronef C‑GBJU par rapport à la position de l'aéronef C‑GGBR ainsi que leur séquence dans le circuit.

[15] L'équipage de l'aéronef C‑GGBR a accusé réception de ce message. Après avoir donné à l'aéronef C‑GBJU l'instruction de poursuivre son virage en finale, M. Brew a une nouvelle fois transmis une information de trafic à l'aéronef C‑GGBR et a demandé à l'équipage s'il avait le trafic en vue. Celui-ci ayant répondu par la négative et ayant dit qu'il allait essayer de localiser C-GBJU en train de virer en finale, M. Brew a cru que l'équipage était en étape de base. Ce point a été confirmé au cours du message suivant de l'équipage, lequel a dit [Traduction] « En fin de compte, on est en étape de base maintenant. » À cet instant, M. Brew s'est rendu compte qu'il y avait un conflit et il a commencé à donner des instructions afin d'essayer d'espacer les deux aéronefs.

[16] Pendant qu'il travaillait avec les données radar, M. Brew a encore une fois confirmé tous les segments des événements dont il a témoigné, pendant qu'il travaillait avec les données audio. Il a également confirmé que les données radar sont celles avec lesquelles il a travaillé ce jour‑là.

B. Requérant

(1) Richard Douglas Nancarrow

[17] M. Nancarrow était l'élève à bord de l'aéronef C‑GGBR, et recevait une instruction en double commande de M. Doyle. Il faisait l'objet d'une vérification sur le Cessna 172RG. Il a reconnu sa voix sur le CD audio. Il s'est souvenu qu'un autre appareil était relativement proche du sien à l'atterrissage, ou en finale, ou en étape de base, n'étant plus très sûr. Une année et demie s'était écoulée depuis cet incident et il ne se rappelle plus beaucoup de détails.

[18] En contre‑interrogatoire, M. Nancarrow a reconnu avoir compris l'instruction de la tour de contrôle l'enjoignant de demeurer en vent arrière. Il n'a pas pu se rappeler pourquoi il avait viré en étape de base. Après avoir vu les données radar, il a convenu qu'apparemment, il avait viré en étape de base sans y avoir été autorisé.

(2) Udeme Udoh

[19] Mme Udoh était l'instructrice à bord du Cessna 150 immatriculé C-GBJU, l'autre aéronef impliqué dans l'incident survenu à l'aéroport de London le 5 novembre 2008. Elle se souvenait d'avoir dépassé l'axe de la piste 15 pendant le virage de l'étape de base à droite jusqu'en finale et de l'instruction de l'ATC de poursuivre le virage pour intercepter la trajectoire d'approche finale de la piste 15. Elle se souvenait d'avoir vu l'aéronef C‑GGBR en vent arrière gauche et que l'aéronef C‑GGBR avait reçu l'instruction de suivre son aéronef dans le circuit. Dans son témoignage, elle a également indiqué avoir eu l'autre aéronef en vue pendant cet incident et que, à un moment, l'aéronef C‑GGBR avait été très près du sien. L'aéronef C‑GGBR était alors devant le sien, mais le contrôleur continuait à dire que son aéronef était numéro un en approche. Elle a précisé ne pas avoir été à l'aise avec l'instruction de l'ATC demandant à l'aéronef C‑GGBR de prendre le cap de 120 degrés, sachant que ce cap allait placer les deux aéronefs en conflit. Elle se rappelait également que l'équipage de l'aéronef C‑GGBR avait dit à l'ATC ne pas avoir l'aéronef C‑GBJU en vue.

[20] Mme Udoh a témoigné qu'avant les changements apportés à l'espace aérien et au personnel de la tour de contrôle de London, le nombre de rapports du SCREAQ émis aux instructeurs et élèves de l'Aero Academy était beaucoup plus élevé.

IV. ANALYSE

[21] M. Doyle fait valoir que, de tous les rapports du SCREAQ émis, il croit qu'il a reçu une contravention en raison de son poste de chef-instructeur de vol chez Aero Academy. Ma décision à la suite d'une révision d'aujourd'hui est fondée sur la preuve qui m'a été soumise en liaison avec le rapport du SCREAQ 2008O2585 (pièce M‑1). Je ne dispose d'aucun élément de preuve ayant trait à d'autres rapports du SCREAQ, mis à part le fait qu'ils ont été émis à la société. Ils ne sont pas en cause en l'espèce aujourd'hui.

[22] Dans sa conversation téléphonique avec l'inspecteur Oakes, M. Doyle a affirmé que le jour de l'incident, il était le commandant de bord de l'aéronef C‑GGBR et que son élève était M. Nancarrow (pièce M‑12). Lors de la rencontre qui a eu lieu le 17 mars 2009, M. Doyle a encore une fois indiqué qu'il avait été le commandant de bord de l'aéronef C‑GGBR le 5 novembre 2008.

[23] La fiche de vol 11213 datée du 5 novembre 2008 montre, sous le numéro 8499, que D. Doyle était l'instructeur, et R. Nancarrow, l'élève. L'aéronef impliqué était le C‑GGBR : décollage 13 h 00 et atterrissage 14 h 00 (heure locale, pièce M-7). De plus, M. Nancarrow a déclaré dans son témoignage que M. Doyle était son instructeur lors du vol du 5 novembre 2008. Je suis convaincu que, le 5 novembre 2008, M. Doyle était le commandant de bord du Cessna 172RG immatriculé C‑GGBR.

[24] M. Doyle a laissé entendre dans son plaidoyer final que, M. Nancarrow ayant conscience de la situation, il avait choisi de virer en étape de base afin d'éviter le conflit avec l'aéronef C‑GBJU, ce qui était contraire à l'instruction que lui avait donnée l'ATC.

[25] Compte tenu du témoignage de M. Nancarrow, j'estime que tel n'a pas été le cas. Il n'a pas pu se souvenir de la raison pour laquelle il avait viré en étape de base. Après avoir vu les données radar, il a convenu qu'apparemment, il avait viré en étape de base sans y avoir été autorisé.

[26] M. Nancarrow a convenu que M. Doyle était son instructeur lors du vol en question. Il a reconnu sa propre voix sur l'enregistrement audio. En contre-interrogatoire, il a convenu qu'il avait compris l'instruction de la tour de contrôle de demeurer en étape de base.

[27] En suivant le déroulement de l'incident survenu le 5 novembre 2008 à l'aide de la transcription des données audio (pièce M‑8) et des photos des données radar (pièce M‑19), nous pouvons voir qu'à 18 h 22 min 57, l'ATC a donné à l'aéronef C‑GGBR l'instruction d'effectuer des circuits à gauche. À 18 h 23 min 00, l'aéronef C‑GGBR a répondu avoir reçu l'instruction. À 18 h 24 min 46, l'ATC a donné l'instruction suivante : [Traduction] « GBR, continuez en vent arrière, je vous rappelle pour virer en étape de base. » À 18 h 24 min 48, l'aéronef C‑GGBR a répondu : [Traduction] « GBR, on continue en vent arrière ». L'équipage a confirmé une nouvelle fois avoir reçu l'instruction. Nous pouvons également voir la position et suivre la progression de l'aéronef C‑GGBR au radar (pièce M‑19, photo 3). À 18 h 26 min 14, l'ATC a transmis l'avis de trafic suivant : [Traduction] « GBR, le trafic que vous cherchez se trouve dans vos 10 heures à deux milles environ, il a dépassé sa trajectoire d'approche et il va revenir vers le sud, vous le voyez? »

[28] À 18 h 26 min 22, l'aéronef C‑GGBR a répondu : [Traduction] « Ah, négatif, je vais essayer d'établir le contact visuel au moment de virer en finale ». À 18 h 26 min 27, l'ATC a répondu : [Traduction] « D'accord, pourquoi virez-vous alors? » À 18 h 26 min 30, l'aéronef C‑GGBR a répondu  : [Traduction] « En fin de compte, je suis en étape de base maintenant. » Si l'on suit les photos radar, la progression de cette partie du vol est évidente, le virage débutant à 18 h 26 min 20 (pièce M‑19, photo 9) et l'aéronef étant établi en étape de base à 18 h 26 min 30 (pièce M‑19, photo 11).

[29] Dans son témoignage, Mme Udoh a indiqué que, tout en décidant de la conduite à tenir après que son aéronef eut dépassé le prolongement de l'axe de la piste 15, elle ne s'était d'abord pas inquiétée du conflit parce qu'elle avait vu pour la dernière fois l'aéronef C‑GGBR en étape de base et qu'on avait dit à cet aéronef de suivre le sien dans le circuit. Elle a manifesté de la surprise et de l'inquiétude quand elle a vu l'aéronef C‑GGBR à l'intérieur du virage que l'ATC lui avait demandé d'effectuer.

[30] Compte tenu de la preuve susmentionnée, j'estime que M. Doyle ne s'est pas conformé à l'instruction de l'ATC de poursuivre en vent arrière et d'attendre l'instruction de virer en étape de base.

V. DÉCISION

[31] Le requérant a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du RAC. La décision du ministre, énoncée dans l'avis du 26 octobre 2009, est confirmée.

Le 21 décembre 2010

Richard F. Willems

Conseiller