Decisions

TATC File No. H-3814-80
MoT File No. 10-05159

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Guardian Eagle Co., Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
section 19 of the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada Act, S.C. 2001, c. 29


Interlocutory Decision
Elizabeth MacNab


Decision: January 16, 2014

Citation: Guardian Eagle Co. v. Canadian Transportation Agency, 2014 TATCE 4 (Ruling)

Heard by written submissions

RULING ON APPLICANT'S REQUEST FOR COSTS

Held: I find that the Tribunal has no jurisdiction to consider the award of costs after a Notice of Violation, issued under section 180 of the Canada Transportation Act, has been withdrawn.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On July 5, 2011, the Canadian Transportation Agency (Agency) issued a Notice of Violation (Notice) to the Applicant, Guardian Eagle Co., alleging that it operated an air service without a licence as required by paragraph 57(a) of the Canada Transportation Act, S.C. 1996, c. 10 (CTA). The Notice assessed a monetary penalty of $30 000, which was later reduced to $10 000, as counts B, D, E and F were withdrawn. The Applicant requested a review of the matter by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada (Tribunal), and after numerous delays, a hearing was set for October 2 and 3, 2013. On September 16, 2013, the Agency withdrew the Notice. On September 24, 2013, the Applicant wrote to the Tribunal stating that it did not consent to the withdrawal of the Notice and was seeking costs in the matter, on the basis that the original Notice was frivolous and vexatious.

[2] The Tribunal asked both parties for written submissions on the matter, including representations concerning the Tribunal's jurisdiction to hear an application for costs once the Notice had been withdrawn.

II. STATUTE

[3] Subsection 19(1) of the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada Act, S.C. 2001, c. 29 (TATC Act) provides:

19. (1) The Tribunal may award any costs, and may require the reimbursement of any expenses incurred in connection with a hearing, that it considers reasonable if

(a) it is seized of the matter for reasons that are frivolous or vexatious;

(b) a party that files a request for a review or an appeal and does not appear at the hearing does not establish that there was sufficient reason to justify their absence; or

(c) a party that is granted an adjournment of the hearing requested the adjournment without adequate notice to the Tribunal.

III. ARGUMENTS

A. Applicant

[4] The Applicant set out its position in the letter of September 24, 2013. Its representative argued that a bureaucracy should be held to a higher standard than an applicant, since the relaxed standards of the Tribunal process is intended to allow document holders to participate without the necessity of representation. He pointed out that the Applicant had consistently taken the position that any violations which occurred had been committed by others and that, at a meeting in April 2013, the Applicant indicated it would be asking for costs at the conclusion of the hearing.

[5] The Applicant's representative argued that all the criteria for awarding costs set out in section 19 of the TATC Act had been met. The issue of the Notice was frivolous and vexatious since the evidence showed that the Applicant did not actually operate the aircraft involved. The withdrawal, two weeks before the date of the hearing, was without adequate notice to the Tribunal and the justification for the withdrawal, that being the lack of availability of witnesses, had existed for a considerable time.

[6] On October 25, 2013, the Applicant's representative wrote to the Tribunal stating that he no longer had any authority to make representations on behalf of his client but that he was not withdrawing his earlier representations.

B. Respondent

[7] On October 2, 2013, the Agency wrote to the Tribunal, challenging the allegations of bad faith and abuse of authority set out in the Applicant's request dated September 24, 2013. It took the position that, on the basis of the facts as it set them out, including the contractual arrangements with the air services, it was clear that the Applicant was operating an air service within the meaning of the CTA, even if it did not operate the aircraft. Further, the delays in scheduling a hearing were not caused by the Agency. Finally, one factor in deciding to withdraw the Notice was the inability to subpoena one witness, although diligent attempts to do so were carried out over the summer with the result that, to continue, the Agency would need to ask for an adjournment. Balancing the time and costs associated with such a request against the passage of time since the alleged violation, and the current compliance of the Applicant, it was decided to withdraw the Notice.

[8] Further, the Agency submitted that none of the criteria for awarding costs set out in subsection 19(1) of the TATC Act had been met. The Notice was not frivolous or vexatious within the meaning of paragraph 19(1)(a) since there was documentary evidence supporting the allegation that the Applicant was the operator of an air service. Paragraph 19(1)(b) applies only to the party who requested the review. Paragraph 19(1)(c) refers to a request for an adjournment made without adequate notice to the Tribunal, and no request for an adjournment was made. Further, the Tribunal set out its expectations of adequate notice in relation to a settlement in its Notice to Parties, requesting notice of five days, or at least two days, when possible—time enough to cancel accommodation and avoid service fees. The notice of withdrawal was given two weeks before the date of the hearing.

[9] On October 29, 2013, the Agency provided further material, in response to the Tribunal's request for submissions, concerning its jurisdiction to hear an application for costs after the Notice had been withdrawn. It argued that the powers of the Tribunal are limited to those found in sections 177 to 181 of the CTA that set out the authority to assess an administrative monetary penalty by means of a Notice of Violation, the ability to request a review and the powers of the Tribunal in respect of that review. Consequently, it argues that once the Notice is withdrawn, the Tribunal has no jurisdiction over the matter. The submission refers to two cases where it was held that an adjudicative tribunal's power was that given to it by statute and if the foundation for that power, a complaint, was withdrawn, the tribunal had no further jurisdiction in the matter. This was determined by the Federal Court of Canada in McKeown v. Royal Bank of Canada, [2001] 3 FC 139, with respect to the withdrawal of complaints under Part III of the Canada Labour Code, and by the Federal Court of Appeal in Canada (Attorney General) v. Lebreux, 178 NR 1, with respect to the withdrawal of grievances under the Public Service Staff Relations Act.

[10] The Agency also argued that the request in the Applicant's letter of September 24, 2013 was limited to a request for costs. There was no request for a determination of whether the contravention occurred or the penalty was justified. Even if the Tribunal had jurisdiction to order costs after a notice was withdrawn, it could only do so if, after a review, it could find that one of the criteria set out in subsection 19(1) of the TATC Act had been met.

[11] The Agency also pointed out that the Applicant, by suggesting that the Tribunal should require justification before consenting to the withdrawal of the Notice in a manner analogous to the courts, is in fact suggesting that the Tribunal should read into its governing statutes the authority to require justification and award costs when a notice is withdrawn. It is submitted that this view cannot be maintained in the absence of express statutory authority. While courts and some administrative tribunals may award costs when a matter before them is withdrawn, such costs are awarded on the basis of authority to do so set out in the governing statute or rules made under the authority of that statute.

[12] Finally, the Agency repeated the points made in its letter of October 2, 2013, which argued that even if the Tribunal had the ability to assess costs, none of the criteria set out in subsection 19(1) of the TATC Act had been met.

IV. DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS

[13] The Applicant has invited the Tribunal to hold the Agency to a higher standard than the Applicant and to find that the Agency should not be allowed to unilaterally withdraw its Notice. Its actual request, however, was to institute a process that would allow the Applicant to recover its costs on the basis that all three of the situations described in subsection 19(1) of the TATC Act had been met. The Agency responded that since the Notice has been withdrawn, the Tribunal no longer has any jurisdiction in the matter, but even if it did, its authority is limited to the circumstances set out in subsection 19(1) of the TATC Act, none of which apply in this matter.

[14] Administrative tribunals are creatures of the statutes that govern them. Apart from the authority given by those statutes, they have no ability to adjudicate. The Tribunal's jurisdiction is set out in subsections 2(2) and (3) of the TATC Act. Subsection 2(3) grants jurisdiction “in respect of reviews and appeals in connection with administrative monetary penalties provided for under sections 177 to 181 of the Canada Transportation Act…”. I agree with the Agency's position that this provision limits the Tribunal's jurisdiction to hearings that determine whether or not a violation alleged in a notice issued under section 180 of the CTA did, in fact, occur and whether the monetary penalty assessed was appropriate in the circumstances. The basis for the hearing is the notice and, if the notice is withdrawn, that basis disappears and the Tribunal has no further jurisdiction in the matter.

[15] Subsection 19(1) of the TATC Act establishes a further jurisdiction of the Tribunal; a limited jurisdiction to assess costs in specified circumstances. The Tribunal has consistently held, most recently in Kipke v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2013 TATCE 13 (Appeal), TATC file no. C-3449-33, that the jurisdiction to award costs is limited to those situations set out in the subsection. This jurisdiction, however, does not stand alone and must be read as an adjunct to the authority granted to the Tribunal under the statutes listed in section 2 of the TATC Act. Paragraphs 19(1)(b) and (c) refer to situations where there is a hearing or an adjourned hearing, and paragraph (a) refers to a situation where the Tribunal is “seized of the matter for reasons that are frivolous or vexatious”. On the basis of this wording, section 19 of the TATC Act can only apply where the Tribunal has jurisdiction over the matter. As pointed out above, the Tribunal has no jurisdiction once the notice is withdrawn and consequently cannot make an order as to costs.

[16] While I have found that there is no jurisdiction to order costs in this matter, for the sake of clarity, I would point out that in any event, were the Tribunal to have jurisdiction on this issue, there would be no basis for ordering costs in the circumstances set out in the material before me. While there is no proven evidence available, from the documentation before me there seems to be a genuine issue as to whether the Applicant was the operator of the air service and so it cannot be said that the Agency was acting for frivolous or vexatious reasons in issuing the Notice. The Notice was withdrawn two weeks before the hearing and, to the extent that the withdrawal is analogous to an adjournment, that period has been considered adequate by the Tribunal in other circumstances. I note in this connection that the requirement in paragraph 19(1)(c) is “adequate notice to the Tribunal” and it is for the Tribunal to determine whether that requirement is met. Similarly, even if the withdrawal were analogous to a failure to appear at a scheduled hearing as provided for in paragraph 19(1)(b), that paragraph only applies to the party that requested the review.

V. RULING

[17] I find that the Tribunal has no jurisdiction to consider the award of costs after a Notice of Violation, issued under section 180 of the Canada Transportation Act, has been withdrawn.

January 16, 2014

Elizabeth MacNab

Member

Décisions

Dossier no H-3814-80 (TATC)
Dossier no 10-05159 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Guardian Eagle Co., requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
l’article 19 de la Loi sur le Tribunal d’appel des transports du Canada, L.C. 2001, ch. 29


Décision interlocutoire
Elizabeth MacNab


Décision : le 16 janvier 2014

Référence : Guardian Eagle Co. c. Office des transports du Canada, 2014 TATCF 4 (décision interlocutoire)

[Traduction française officielle]

Entendue par voie d'observations écrites

DÉCISION RELATIVE À LA DEMANDE DE DÉPENS DE LA REQUÉRANTE

Arrêt : J'estime que le Tribunal n'a pas compétence pour examiner l'adjudication des dépens après qu'un procès-verbal, émis en vertu de l'article 180 de la Loi sur les transports au Canada, a été retiré.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 5 juillet 2011, l'Office des transports du Canada (Office) a émis un procès-verbal à la requérante, Guardian Eagle Co., alléguant qu'elle exploitait un service aérien sans la licence requise par l'alinéa 57a) de la Loi sur les transports au Canada, L.C. 1996, ch. 10 (LTC). Le procès-verbal imposait une sanction pécuniaire de 30 000 $, qui a plus tard été réduite à 10 000 $ du fait du retrait des chefs d'accusation B, D, E et F. La requérante a demandé une révision de l'affaire par le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (Tribunal), et après de nombreux retards, une audience a été programmée pour les 2 et 3 octobre 2013. Le 16 septembre 2013, l'Office a retiré le procès-verbal. Le 24 septembre 2013, La requérante a écrit au Tribunal, affirmant qu'il n'acceptait pas le retrait du procès-verbal et qu'il demandait des dépens dans cette affaire, au motif que le procès-verbal initial était frivole et vexatoire.

[2] Le Tribunal a demandé aux deux parties de lui faire part d'observations écrites sur l'affaire, comprenant notamment des représentations relatives à la compétence du Tribunal pour entendre une demande de dépens après le retrait du procès-verbal.

II. loi

[3] Le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada, L.C. 2001, ch. 29 (Loi sur le TATC), est libellé comme suit :

19. (1) Le Tribunal peut condamner l'une des parties aux dépens et exiger d'elle le remboursement de toute dépense engagée relativement à l'audience qu'il estime raisonnable dans les cas où :

a) il est saisi d'une affaire pour des raisons frivoles ou vexatoires;

b) La requérante ou l'appelant a, sans motif valable, omis de comparaître;

c) la partie qui a obtenu un ajournement de l'audience lui en avait fait la demande sans préavis suffisant.

III. ARGUMENTS

A. Requérante

[4] La requérante a exposé sa position dans la lettre du 24 septembre 2013. Son représentant a fait valoir qu'une bureaucratie devrait être traitée selon des normes plus strictes qu'un requérant, étant donné que les normes assouplies du processus du Tribunal sont destinées à permettre aux titulaires de documents de participer sans être nécessairement représenté. Il a souligné que la requérante avait maintenu de façon constante sa position suivant laquelle toute violation ayant eu lieu avait été commise par d'autres personnes et que, lors d'une réunion d'avril 2013, la requérante avait indiqué qu'elle demanderait les dépens à la conclusion de l'audience.

[5] Le représentant de la requérante a fait valoir que tous les critères relatifs à l'allocation de dépens énoncés à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le TATC avaient été remplis. L'émission du procès-verbal était frivole et vexatoire puisque les preuves démontrent que la requérante n'exploitait pas, en réalité, l'aéronef concerné. Le retrait, deux semaines avant la date de l'audience, a été effectué sans préavis suffisant vis-à-vis du Tribunal et la justification de ce retrait, c'est-à-dire le manque de disponibilité des témoins, n'était pas un fait nouveau.

[6] Le 25 octobre 2013, le représentant de la requérante a écrit au Tribunal affirmant qu'il n'avait plus de compétence pour faire des représentations au nom de son client, mais qu'il ne retirait pas ses représentations faites par le passé.

B. Intimé

[7] Le 2 octobre 2013, l'Office a écrit au Tribunal, contestant les allégations de mauvaise foi et d'abus d'autorité énoncées dans la demande de la requérante datée du 24 septembre 2013. La position de l'Office était que, sur la base des faits tels qu'elle les énonçait, y compris les ententes contractuelles avec les services aériens, il était évident que la requérante exploitait un service aérien au sens entendu par la LTC, même si elle n'exploitait pas l'aéronef. De plus, les retards dans la programmation d'une audience n'étaient pas dus à l'Office. Enfin, un facteur de la décision du retrait du procès-verbal était l'incapacité d'assigner un témoin à comparaître, bien que des tentatives diligentes pour ce faire furent entreprises durant l'été avec pour résultat que, pour continuer, l'Office devrait demander un ajournement. Compte tenu du temps et des dépens associés à une telle demande et du temps écoulé depuis la violation alléguée, et la conformité actuelle de la requérante, la décision fut prise de retirer le procès-verbal.

[8] De plus, l'Office a observé qu'aucun des critères relatifs à l'allocation des dépens énoncés au paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur le TATC n'avaient été remplis. Le procès-verbal n'était ni frivole ni vexatoire au sens où l'entend l'alinéa 19(1)a) puisqu'il existait une preuve documentaire appuyant l'allégation que la requérante exploitait un service aérien. L'alinéa 19(1)b) s'applique seulement à la partie qui a demandé la révision. L'alinéa 19(1)c) se fonde sur une demande d'ajournement faite sans préavis suffisant au Tribunal, or aucune demande d'ajournement n'a été faite. De plus, le Tribunal a énoncé ses attentes en matière de préavis suffisant relativement à un règlement dans son Avis aux parties, demandant un préavis de cinq jours, ou d'au moins deux jours, dans la mesure du possible — de sorte qu'il dispose d'un temps suffisant pour annuler son hébergement et éviter des frais de service. Le préavis de retrait a été donné deux semaines avant la date de l'audience.

[9] Le 29 octobre 2013, l'Office a fourni des documents supplémentaires, en réponse à la demande d'observations du Tribunal, concernant sa compétence pour entendre une demande de dépens après le retrait du procès-verbal. L'Office a allégué que les pouvoirs du Tribunal se limitent à ceux cités dans les articles 177 à 181 de la LTC qui énoncent la compétence pour imposer une sanction administrative pécuniaire aux moyens d'un procès-verbal, la capacité de demander une révision et les pouvoirs du Tribunal relativement à cette même révision. Par conséquent, il fait valoir qu'une fois le procès-verbal retiré, le Tribunal n'a pas de compétence sur cette question. L'observation se fonde sur deux cas dans lesquels il a été soutenu que le pouvoir d'un tribunal judiciaire ou quasi judiciaire lui est octroyé par la loi et que si le fondement de ce pouvoir, une plainte, venait à être retiré, ce tribunal n'avait plus compétence dans cette affaire. Ceci a été décidé par la Cour fédérale du Canada dans McKeown c. Banque Royale du Canada, [2001] 3 C.F. 139, relativement au retrait des plaintes conformément à la partie III du Code canadien du travail, et par la Cour d'appel fédérale dans Canada (Procureur général) c. Lebreux, 178 N.R. 1, relativement au retrait des griefs conformément à la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique.

[10] L'Office a aussi fait valoir que la demande contenue dans la lettre de la requérante du 24 septembre 2013 se limitait à une demande de dépens. Aucune demande n'a été faite relativement à une décision établissant si la contravention avait eu lieu ou si la pénalité était justifiée. Même si le Tribunal avait compétence pour ordonner des dépens après le retrait d'un avis, il ne pourrait faire cela que si, après une révision, il estimait que l'un des critères énoncés dans le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur le TATC était rempli.

[11] L'Office a également fait remarquer que la requérante, en suggérant que le Tribunal devrait exiger une justification avant de consentir au retrait du procès-verbal d'une manière analogue aux cours, suggère en fait que le Tribunal devrait trouver dans ses lois dominantes la compétence pour exiger une justification et condamner une partie aux dépens lorsqu'un avis est retiré. Il est observé que ce point de vue ne peut être soutenu en l'absence d'un pouvoir statutaire exprès. Bien que les cours et certains tribunaux administratifs puissent condamner une partie aux dépens quand une affaire qui leur est présentée est retirée, tels dépens sont attribués sur la base de la compétence pour ce faire énoncée dans la loi dominante ou les règles établies en vertu de la compétence conférée par cette loi.

[12] Enfin, l'Office a répété les points énoncés dans sa lettre du 2 octobre 2013, qui faisait valoir que même si le Tribunal avait la capacité d'imposer des dépens, aucun des critères énoncés au paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur le TATC n'avaient été remplis.

IV. DISCUSSION ET ANALYSE

[13] La requérante a invité le Tribunal à traiter l'Office selon des normes plus strictes que la requérante et à estimer que l'Office ne devrait pas être autorisé à retirer unilatéralement son procès-verbal. Sa demande réelle, cependant, consistait à instituer un processus qui autoriserait la requérante à recouvrer ses dépens sur la base que les trois situations décrites dans le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur le TATC avaient été remplies. L'Office a répondu que puisque le procès-verbal avait été retiré, le Tribunal n'avait plus de compétence dans cette affaire, mais même si c'était le cas, cette compétence se limiterait aux circonstances énoncées dans le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur le TATC, qui ne s'appliquent pas à cette affaire.

[14] Les tribunaux administratifs sont créés par les lois qui les gouvernent. En dehors de la compétence conférée par ces lois, ils n'ont pas la capacité de statuer. La compétence du Tribunal est énoncée aux paragraphes 2(2) et (3) de la Loi sur le TATC. Le paragraphe 2(3) octroie la compétence concernant « des requêtes en révision et des appels portant sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires prévues aux articles 177 à 181 de la Loi sur les transports au Canada... » Je suis d'accord avec la position de l'Office consistant à dire que cette disposition limite la compétence du Tribunal aux audiences qui déterminent si une violation alléguée dans un procès-verbal émis en vertu de l'article 180 de la LTC a, ou non, eu lieu et si la sanction pécuniaire imposée est appropriée compte tenu des circonstances. Le fondement de l'audience est le procès-verbal et, si le procès-verbal est retiré, ce fondement disparaît et le Tribunal n'a plus compétence dans l'affaire.

[15] Le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur le TATC établit une autre compétence du Tribunal; une compétence limitée d'imposition de dépens dans certaines circonstances spécifiées. Le Tribunal a constamment soutenu, dernièrement dans Kipke c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2013 TATCF 13 (appel), n° de dossier TATC C-3449-33, que la compétence pour condamner une partie aux dépens se limitait aux situations énoncées dans ce paragraphe. Cette compétence, cependant, n'est pas indépendante et doit être interprétée comme une compétence adjointe de la compétence octroyée au Tribunal en vertu des lois citées dans l'article 2 de la Loi sur le TATC.  Les alinéas 19(1)b) et c) sont fondés sur des situations dans lesquelles il y a une audience ou une audience ajournée, et l'alinéa a) est fondé sur une situation dans laquelle le Tribunal est « saisi d'une affaire pour des raisons frivoles ou vexatoires ». Sur la base de cette formulation, l'article 19 de la Loi sur le TATC ne peut s'appliquer qu'aux cas où le Tribunal a compétence dans l'affaire. Comme observé ci-dessus, le Tribunal n'a pas de compétence une fois que le procès-verbal est retiré et, par conséquent, il ne peut pas statuer sur les dépens.

[16] Bien que je juge que le Tribunal n'a pas compétence pour statuer sur les dépens dans cette affaire, par souci de clarté, je ferais observer qu'en tout état de cause, si le Tribunal était compétent dans cette question, il n'aurait aucune base sur laquelle statuer sur les dépens compte tenu des circonstances énoncées dans les documents qui m'ont été présentés. Malgré l'indisponibilité de preuves avérées, sur la base des documents qui m'ont été présentés, il semble qu'une question réelle soit posée quant au fait que la requérante exploite, ou non, un service aérien et, par conséquent, il ne peut être dit que l'Office agissait pour des raisons frivoles ou vexatoires en émettant le procès-verbal. Le procès-verbal a été retiré deux semaines avant l'audience et, dans la mesure où le retrait est analogue à un ajournement, cette période a été jugée suffisante par le Tribunal dans d'autres circonstances. Sur ce point, je remarque que l'exigence décrite à l'alinéa 19(1)c) est une demande avec « préavis suffisant », et il revient au Tribunal de décider si cette exigence a été remplie.  De même, même si le retrait était analogue à une omission de comparaître à une audience comme le prévoit l'alinéa 19(1)b), cet alinéa ne s'applique qu'à la partie qui a fait la demande de révision.

V. DÉCISION

[17] J'estime que le Tribunal n'a pas compétence pour examiner l'adjudication des dépens après qu'un procès-verbal, émis en vertu de l'article 180 de la Loi sur les transports au Canada, a été retiré.

Le 16 janvier 2014

Me Elizabeth MacNab

Conseillère