Decisions

TATC File No. Q-4133-27
MoT File No. 5015-18401

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Jonathan Patterson, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2
Standard 573.02 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433


Review Determination
Patrick T. Dowd


Decision: October 5, 2015

Citation: Patterson v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2015 TATCE 18 (Review)

Heard in: Montreal, Quebec, on July 28, 2015

REVIEW DETERMINATION AND REASONS

Held: The Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the scope of work described in the applicant's proposed Maintenance Policy Manual does not fall into the categories specified in Canadian Aviation Regulations Standard 573.02 for an Approved Maintenance Organization.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] A letter dated March 26, 2015 from the Minister of Transport (Minister) was mailed to the applicant, Mr. Jonathan Patterson, advising that an application for an Aircraft Maintenance Organization (AMO) certificate for his company, Aeroprivy Inc., was denied because the scope of work described in his proposed Maintenance Policy Manual (MPM) did not fall into the categories specified in Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) Standard 573.02.

[2] By way of clarification, the CARs contain two standards, in section 571.02 and in Standard 625. Both contain a list of work that may be performed by an aviation company. Standard 571.02 covers work that must have a maintenance release signed by an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) whose licence is endorsed on that particular aircraft system, for instance avionics. Standard 625, Appendix A, describes elementary work not requiring an AME's signature, for instance, work performed by an aircraft owner or company servicing an aircraft, such as refueling, adding oil, changing sparkplugs or repairing upholstery, etc. Since Aeroprivy only specified elementary work in its MPM, the Minister was unable to issue an AMO certificate to the applicant.

[3] On March 30, 2015, the applicant requested a review of the Minister's decision by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada (Tribunal).

II. LEGISLATION, STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

[4] Paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2, states:

6.71 (1) The Minister may refuse to issue or amend a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

[…]

(b) the applicant or any aircraft, aerodrome, airport or other facility in respect of which the application is made does not meet the qualifications or fulfil the conditions necessary for the issuance or amendment of the document; or

[…]

[5] CARs Standard 573.02, AMO Certificates, states:

(1) An AMO Certificate is issued with ratings in one or more of the following categories:

(a) Aircraft;

(b) Avionics;

(c) Instrument
(amended 2001/06/01)

(d) Engine;

(e) Propeller;

(f) Structure;

(g) Component;

(h) Welding; and

(i) NDT [nondestructive testing].

[6] CARs Standard 625, Appendix A (1) and (14) state:

Elementary Work Task Listings

(1) fabric patches measuring not more than 15 cm (6 in) in any direction and not requiring rib stitching or the removal of control surfaces or structural parts, on small privately operated aircraft

[…]

(14) repair of upholstery, trim and cabin furnishings

[…]

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

(1)       Mr. Francesco Perrone

[7] Mr. Francesco Perrone is employed as an aviation safety inspector with Transport Canada's Montreal office. The witness has a significant background in civil aviation.

[8] The witness introduced, explained, and clarified Exhibit M-1, the applicant's application for an AMO certificate, Transport Canada's form 24-0070E.

[9] In section 5 (Ratings) of this form, the applicant checked “Other”. In section 6 (Details Regarding Ratings Requested), he entered “Re-upholstery”, which is an elementary task. Mr. Perrone explained that “Other” meant tasks in addition to the tasks already checked.

[10] Exhibit M-2, the applicant's MPM, was entered into evidence by Mr. Perrone. Reference was made to Section 2, Scope of Work, on page 6 of the document. This page indicated an offer of elementary tasks only.

[11] Transport Canada's Progress Record of Aeroprivy's application for an AMO certificate was reviewed and entered as Exhibit M-3. This document shows the various meetings between the applicant and Mr. Perrone, who advised the applicant during these sessions that their MPM only indicated elementary work. In a meeting on March 2, 2015, Mr. Patterson stated he wished to do complete interiors, moving into the area of CARs Standard 573.02. Mr. Perrone advised that an AME would be required to sign a maintenance release, and a place of business would also be needed. These meetings accomplished very little, and after attempting to contact the applicant on two separate occasions, Mr. Perrone issued the letter of refusal (Exhibit M-4), resulting in the request for a hearing by the applicant.

[12] During these meetings, the name of an AME was offered by the applicant. Mr. Perrone determined the individual was asked but not hired. To issue an AMO certificate in this situation, the AME would be responsible for maintenance as a PRM (Professional Risk Manager) and would be required to undergo an interview and possibly an examination. When the person named by the applicant was contacted, he stated he was not interested.

[13] Mr. Perrone, during the hearing, stated the refusal was not final and he was willing to help the applicant obtain an AMO certificate.

Cross-examination

[14] Mr. Camilo Oliveros, the accountable executive for Aeroprivy, cross-examined Mr. Perrone on behalf of the applicant.

[15] Mr. Perrone's cross-examination clarified two misconceptions by the applicant. The applicant believed “person” as used in the CARs referred only to an individual. Mr. Perrone explained that a corporation, in law, was also a person. The applicant held the belief that the use of the term “fabric patches” in CARs Standard 625, Appendix A (1), placed him outside the term “elementary work” because Aeroprivy was repairing upholstery with patches larger than 15 cm. The patches referred to was fabric used on aircraft's control surfaces.

[16] The witness was queried as to the use of the term “Other” on application form 24-0070E for an AMO certificate. The applicant felt “Other” was a standalone term that would include the activities of Aeroprivy. The witness stated this term was to be used only in conjunction with other tasks checked on the application.

[17] The applicant challenged Mr. Perrone, stating he, and Transport Canada Inspector Cynthia Harrison, informed him they would issue an AMO certificate to Aeroprivy. The witness responded that the applicant must have misunderstood because it would be impossible, under the CARs, to do this.

B. Applicant

(1)       Mr. Jonathan Patterson

[18] Mr. Jonathan Patterson, sole owner and applicant, was the only witness called to testify. on behalf of his application. He introduced nine exhibits to the Tribunal. Mr. Patterson's evidence consisted almost entirely of reading excerpts from these exhibits into the record.

[19] Exhibit A-1 was an email from Inspector Harrison, clarifying the requirements to be eligible for an AMO certificate. This exhibit was a forerunner intended to lead to the applicant's next exhibit, his Letter of Intent.

[20] Exhibit A-2 was a letter of “Intent to Rent” given to Transport Canada to satisfy section 2 of the aforementioned email from Inspector Harrison. This exhibit showed an intended agreement to rent a property at Red Deer Airport. The letter was not accepted by Transport Canada.

[21] Exhibit A-3, Scope of Work, taken from page 6 of their MPM, was introduced to show that the applicant was very serious concerning safety. Paragraph 1 of the document outlines the intentions of the applicant toward this goal.

[22] Exhibits A-4 to A-7 covered areas under the Bilateral Air Safety Agreement (BASA). These exhibits were not applicable to the issues under consideration at this hearing.

[23] Exhibit A-8 resembles a mission statement by Transport Canada. The areas highlighted by the applicant were read into the record as follows:

Our Role…Our programs help make Canada's economy strong by creating jobs and attracting business, trade and tourism.

[24] The applicant made no comment on this exhibit. I would surmise that he felt Transport Canada did not follow this philosophy in the handling of the application.

[25] Exhibit A-9, Transport Canada's Civil Aviation Guidelines, was only applicable to an air operator's Maintenance Control Manual. Since Aeroprivy is not, and not intending to become, an air operator, this exhibit has no weight in this matter.

C. Minister

[26] In response to the applicant's examination in chief, Minister's counsel, Mr. Gavin Wyllie, recalled his witness, Mr. Perrone, to rebut the applicant's evidence.

[27] The applicant's Letter of Intent (Exhibit A-2) was raised. This letter was rejected by the Minister because it was not signed by either party and was not binding.

IV. ARGUMENTS

A. Minister

[28] Mr. Wyllie reviewed the applicable legislation, the exhibits, and his witness' evidence to support the Minister's refusal to issue an AMO certificate to the applicant. Mr. Wyllie also reviewed a comment issued from the applicant regarding the three-hundred-dollar fee he paid for the certificate. Mr. Wyllie explained the fee was an administration cost for processing the application, not a purchase price. Transport Canada had reviewed the applicant's MPM, which was submitted after the application for the AMO certificate was made and found to be insufficient. This concluded the Minister's presentation.

B. Applicant

[29] Mr. Oliveros presented the closing argument for the applicant. He used this opportunity to outline the company's abilities, competence, and dedication to safety.

V. ANALYSIS

[30] Transport Canada is the trustee of aviation safety in Canada. To satisfy this trust, it must rigidly enforce those aviation regulations that deal with the airworthiness of an aircraft, its components, and those corporations and individuals who are authorized to release these aircraft for operational service. Transport Canada was not being difficult to the applicant to thwart its ambitions by refusing to issue the applicant an AMO certificate, pursuant to the CARs. However, the refusal of the certificate is not final or permanent. Mr. Perrone stated Transport Canada would be more than willing to assist and guide the applicant through the application process. Rather, the Minister's refusal was based on the applicant's MPM failing to reflect the scope of work specified in Standard 573.02. I therefore agree that the Minister exercised authority appropriately in refusing to issue an AMO certificate to the applicant under Standard 573.02 of the CARs.

[31] The principals of Aeroprivy, Mr. Patterson and Mr. Oliveros, are two conscientious businessmen dedicated to the future of their company. They feel strongly that the practices of their company and its dedication to safety warrant the issuance of an AMO certificate. I believe their misunderstanding and misinterpretation of the CARs, coupled with their desire to increase the status of Aeroprivy by obtaining an AMO certificate, contributed to the anxiety that precipitated this hearing.

VI. DETERMINATION

[32] The Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the scope of work described in the applicant's proposed Maintenance Policy Manual does not fall into the categories specified in Canadian Aviation Regulations Standard 573.02 for an Approved Maintenance Organization.

October 5, 2015

Patrick T. Dowd

Member

Décisions

Dossier no Q-4133-27 (TATC)
Dossier no 5015-18401 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Jonathan Patterson, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
La norme 573.02 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433
L’alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C., 1985, ch. A-2


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Patrick T. Dowd


Décision : le 5 octobre 2015

Référence : Patterson c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2015 TATCF 18 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à : Montréal (Québec) le 28 juillet 2015

DÉCISION ET MOTIFS À LA SUITE DE LA RÉVISION

Arrêt : Le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que la portée des travaux décrits dans le manuel de politiques de maintenance proposé par le requérant n'entre pas dans les catégories spécifiées par la norme 573.02 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien relative aux organismes de maintenance agréés.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Une lettre datée du 26 mars 2015 du ministre des Transports (ministre) a été envoyée au requérant, M. Jonathan Patterson, l'informant que la demande de certificat d'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) pour son entreprise, Aeroprivy Inc., avait été refusée parce que la portée des travaux décrits dans son manuel de politiques de maintenance (MPM) n'entrait pas dans les catégories spécifiées par la norme 573.02 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

[2] À des fins de clarification, le RAC comprend deux normes, l'article 571.02 et la norme 625. Elles contiennent toutes deux des listes de travaux pouvant être exécutés par une entreprise aéronautique. La norme 571.02 couvre les travaux qui exigent une certification de maintenance signée par un technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) dont la licence est annotée pour ce système spécifique d'aéronef, comme l'avionique par exemple. L'appendice A de la norme 625 décrit les travaux élémentaires ne nécessitant pas la signature d'un TEA, par exemple, le travail effectué par un propriétaire d'aéronef ou de l'entreprise assurant l'entretien d'un aéronef, notamment le ravitaillement en carburant, l'ajout d'huile, la pose de bougies d'allumage ou la réparation du capitonnage etc. Étant donné qu'Aeroprivy a uniquement mentionné des travaux élémentaires dans son MPM, le ministre n'a pas pu délivrer de certificat d'OMA au requérant.

[3] Le 30 mars 2015, le requérant a déposé auprès du Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (Tribunal) une requête en révision de la décision du ministre.

II. LÉGISLATION, LOIS ET RÈGLEMENTS

[4] L'alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C., 1985, ch. A-2, stipule que :

6.71 (1) Le ministre peut refuser de délivrer ou de modifier un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs suivants :

[…]

b) le demandeur ou l'aéronef, l'aérodrome, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise la demande ne répond pas aux conditions de délivrance ou de modification du document;

[…]

[5] La norme 573.02 du RAC, Certificats OMA stipule :

(1) Un certificat OMA comprend une ou plusieurs spécialités dans l'une ou plusieurs des catégories suivantes :

a) Aéronef;

b) Avionique;

c) Instruments;
(modifié 2001/06/01)

d) Moteur;

e) Hélice;

f) Structure;

g) Composant;

h) Soudage;

i) Essais non destructifs (END).

[6] La norme 625 du RAC, Appendice A (1) et (14) stipule :

Liste des tâches dites travaux élémentaires

(1) le rapiéçage de l'entoilage au moyen de pièces ne mesurant pas plus de 15 cm (6 po) et posées dans n'importe quel sens, ce rapiéçage ne nécessitant pas de lardage ni la dépose des gouvernes ou d'éléments structuraux, sur de petits aéronefs privés;

[…]

(14) la réparation du capitonnage et de l'aménagement de la cabine;

[…]

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre

(1)       M. Francesco Perrone

[7] M. Francesco Perrone est employé comme inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation au bureau montréalais de Transports Canada. Le témoin possède une vaste expérience dans le domaine de l'aviation civile.

[8] Le témoin a présenté, expliqué et clarifié la pièce M-1, la demande du requérant en vue d'un certificat d'OMA, soit le formulaire 24-0070E de Transports Canada.

[9] Dans la section 5 (Spécialités) dudit formulaire, le requérant a coché « Autre ». Dans la section 6 (Détails concernant les spécialités demandées), il a inscrit « réparation du capitonnage » qui correspond à une tâche élémentaire. M. Perrone a expliqué qu'« Autre » signifiait des tâches en plus des tâches déjà inscrites.

[10] La pièce M-2, le MPM du requérant, a été présenté comme preuve par M. Perrone. Il a été fait mention de la section 2, Portée des travaux, à la page 6 du document. Cette page indiquait uniquement l'offre de tâches élémentaires.

[11] Le rapport d'étape de Transports Canada concernant la demande d'Aeroprivy visant à la délivrance d'un certificat d'OMA a été examiné et introduit comme la pièce M-3. Ce document rend compte des différentes réunions entre le requérant et M. Perrone, ce dernier ayant informé le requérant au cours de ces sessions que son MPM indiquait uniquement des tâches élémentaires. Lors d'une réunion qui s'est tenue le 2 mars 2015, M. Patterson a déclaré qu'il souhaitait pouvoir refaire entièrement les intérieurs, ce qui dépend de la norme 573.02 du RAC. M. Perrone l'a informé qu'un TEA devrait signer une certification de maintenance et qu'un lieu de travail devrait également être fourni. Peu de progrès ont été accomplis pendant ces réunions, et après avoir essayé de communiquer par deux fois avec le requérant, M. Perrone lui a délivré une lettre de refus (pièce M-4), qui a conduit à une demande d'audience de la part du requérant.

[12] Au cours de ces réunions, le nom d'un TEA a été indiqué par le requérant. M. Perrone a établi que l'individu avait été abordé mais n'avait pas été embauché. Pour l'obtention d'un certificat d'OMA, le TEA, qui est tenu responsable de la maintenance en tant que gestionnaire professionnel du risque, doit passer une entrevue et éventuellement un examen. Lorsque la personne nommée par le requérant a été contactée, elle a déclaré qu'elle n'était pas intéressée.

[13] Pendant l'audience, M. Perrone a indiqué que le refus n'était pas définitif et qu'il était désireux d'aider le requérant à obtenir un certificat d'OMA.

Contre-interrogatoire

[14] M. Camilo Oliveros, le gestionnaire supérieur responsable d'Aeroprivy, a contre-interrogé M. Perrone au nom du requérant.

[15] Le contre-interrogatoire de M. Perrone a dissipé deux idées fausses que se faisait le requérant. Ce dernier pensait que le terme de « personne » tel que mentionné dans le RAC se référait uniquement à un individu. M. Perrone a expliqué qu'une société, en terme légal, était également une personne. Le requérant croyait que l'usage du terme de « pièces ne mesurant pas plus de 15 cm » dans la norme 625 du RAC, Appendice A (1), le situait en dehors du terme « travaux élémentaires » étant donné qu'Aeroprivy réparait le capitonnage avec des pièces mesurant plus de 15 cm. Les pièces auxquelles il était fait référence se composaient de tissu utilisé pour la surface des gouvernes de l'aéronef.

[16] Le témoin a été interrogé sur l'usage du terme « Autre » dans le formulaire de demande 24-0070E d'agrément d'un certificat d'OMA. Le requérant pensait qu'« Autre » était un terme indépendant comprenant les activités d'Aeroprivy. Le témoin a déclaré que ce terme ne devait être utilisé que conjointement avec d'autres tâches cochées sur la demande.

[17] Le requérant a confronté M. Perrone en déclarant que ce dernier ainsi que l'inspectrice de Transports Canada Cynthia Harrison l'avaient informé qu'ils délivreraient un certificat d'OMA à Aeroprivy. Le témoin a répondu que le requérant avait dû se méprendre étant donné que cette action n'était pas autorisée dans le cadre du RAC.

B. Requérant

(1)       M. Jonathan Patterson

[18] M. Jonathan Patterson, unique propriétaire et requérant, était le seul témoin appelé à témoigner en faveur de sa demande. Il a présenté neuf pièces au Tribunal. Les preuves apportées par M. Patterson étaient constituées essentiellement de la lecture d'extraits de ces pièces consignées dans le procès-verbal.

[19] La pièce A-1 était un courriel de l'inspectrice Harrison précisant les conditions d'éligibilité à un certificat d'OMA. Cette pièce constituait une introduction à la prochaine pièce présentée par le requérant, sa lettre d'intention.

[20] La pièce A-2 était une lettre d'« intention de louer » remise à Transports Canada en vue de satisfaire les conditions de la section 2 du courriel de l'inspectrice Harrisson mentionné ci-dessus. Cette pièce indiquait un projet d'accord prévoyant la location d'une propriété à l'aéroport de Red Deer. Cette lettre n'a pas été acceptée par Transports Canada.

[21] La pièce A-3 portant sur la portée des travaux, extraite de la page 6 de leur MPM, a été introduite pour montrer que le requérant considérait le sujet de la sécurité de façon très sérieuse. Le paragraphe 1 du document souligne les intentions du requérant à cette fin.

[22] Les pièces A-4 à A-7 couvraient des domaines dans le cadre de l'accord bilatéral sur la sécurité aérienne (ABSA). Ces pièces ne s'appliquaient pas aux questions examinées lors de cette audience.

[23] La pièce A-8 ressemblait à un énoncé de mission de Transports Canada. Les éléments suivants mis en évidence par le requérant ont été lus à voix haute :

Notre rôle…Nos programmes contribuent à renforcer l'économie du pays en créant des emplois, en attirant des entreprises, et en stimulant le commerce et le tourisme.

[24] Le requérant n'a fait aucun commentaire sur cette pièce. Je présume qu'il pensait que Transports Canada n'avait pas obéi à cette philosophie lors du traitement de sa demande.

[25] La pièce A-9, Les lignes directrices en matière d'aviation civile de Transports Canada, s'appliquait uniquement au manuel de politiques de maintenance d'un exploitant aérien. Étant donné qu'Aeroprivy n'est pas un exploitant aérien et n'a pas l'intention de le devenir, cette pièce ne présente aucune valeur dans cette affaire.

C. Ministre

[26] En réponse à l'interrogatoire principal du requérant, le conseiller du ministre, M. Gavin Wyllie, a rappelé son témoin, M. Perrone, pour réfuter les éléments de preuve soumis par le requérant.

[27] La lettre d'intention du requérant (pièce A-2) a été évoquée. Cette lettre a été rejetée par le ministre car elle ne portait la signature d'aucune des parties et ne présentait pas un caractère contraignant.

IV. ARGUMENTS

A. Ministre

[28] M. Wyllie a examiné la législation en vigueur, les pièces présentées ainsi que les preuves du témoin à l'appui du refus du ministre de délivrer un certificat d'OMA au requérant. M. Wyllie a également pris en considération un commentaire formulé par le requérant quant aux frais de trois cents dollars qu'il a engagés pour l'obtention du certificat. M. Wyllie a expliqué que cette somme correspondait à un coût administratif pour le traitement de la demande, et non pas un prix d'achat. Transports Canada avait examiné le MPM du requérant, qui avait été soumis après le dépôt de la demande de certificat d'OMA, et l'avait jugé insuffisant. C'est ainsi que le ministre a conclu son intervention.

B. Requérant

[29] M. Oliveros a présenté les conclusions finales au nom du requérant. Il a profité de cette occasion pour souligner les capacités, compétences et l'engagement envers la sécurité de l'entreprise en question.

V. ANALYSE

[30] Transports Canada est le représentant de la sécurité aérienne au Canada. Pour répondre à cette confiance, il doit rigoureusement appliquer les règlements de l'aviation qui traitent de la navigabilité d'un aéronef, de ses composants et des sociétés et particuliers habilités à autoriser la mise en service de ces aéronefs. Transports Canada n'a pas cherché à contrecarrer les ambitions du requérant en refusant de lui délivrer un certificat d'OMA, conformément au RAC. Cependant, le refus du certificat ne revêt pas un caractère définitif ou permanent. M. Perrone a déclaré que Transports Canada serait tout à fait disposé à aider et à guider le candidat à travers le processus de demande. Au contraire, le refus du ministre était fondé sur le fait que le MPM du requérant ne reflétait pas la portée des travaux spécifiés dans la norme 573.02. Je conviens donc que le ministre a exercé ses pouvoirs de façon appropriée en refusant de délivrer un certificat d'OMA au requérant en vertu de la norme 573.02 du RAC.

[31] Les dirigeants d'Aeroprivy, M. Patterson et M. Oliveros, sont deux hommes d'affaires consciencieux, se dévouant pour l'avenir de leur entreprise. Ils sont convaincus que les pratiques de leur entreprise et leur engagement envers la sécurité garantissent la délivrance d'un certificat d'OMA. Je crois que leur incompréhension et mauvaise interprétation du RAC, conjuguées à leur désir d'accroître le statut d'Aeroprivy par l'obtention d'un certificat d'OMA, ont contribué à l'inquiétude qui a précipité cette audience.

VI. DÉCISION

[32] Le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que la portée des travaux décrits dans le manuel de politiques de maintenance proposé par le requérant n'entre pas dans les catégories spécifiées par la norme 573.02 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien relative aux organismes de maintenance agréés.

Le 5 octobre 2015

Patrick T. Dowd

Conseiller