Decisions

TATC File No. O-4098-27
MoT File No. 5802-806796 (PAHRL)

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Leszek Grzeszczyk, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2


Review Determination
Patrick T. Dowd


Decision: May 31, 2016

Citation: Grzeszczyk v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2016 TATCE 15 (Review)

Heard in: Toronto, Ontario, on May 10, 2016

REVIEW DETERMINATION AND REASONS

Held: The Minister has proven on a balance of probabilities that the applicant, Leszek Grzeszczyk, failed to meet the qualifications, or the conditions, necessary for the issuance of a Canadian aviation document; namely an Airline Transport Pilot Licence (ATP).

I. BACKGROUND

[1] The Minister of Transport (Minister) issued a Notice of Refusal (Notice) to issue a Canadian aviation document to the applicant, Mr. Leszek Grzeszczyk, by way of registered mail on September 26, 2014, stating he did not meet the qualifications necessary for the issuance of an ATP certificate.

[2] The reasons contained within the Notice read as follows:

Specifically, you do not have the required total number of hours and night cross country pilot in command (PIC). Transport Canada cannot approve a Pilot in Command Under Supervision Program from foreign countries and therefore you cannot use the Pilot in Command Under Supervision time towards the issue of the licence.

II. STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND POLICY

[3] Paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2

Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs 401.06 (1) (b) (c)

Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs 401.11 (1) (2)

Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs 421.11 (2)

Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs 421.34 (4) (a) (b)

[4] The basis for the refusal to issue or amend a Canadian aviation document is established under paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, which states:

6.71 (1) The Minister may refuse to issue or amend a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

(b) the applicant or any aircraft, aerodrome, airport or other facility in respect of which the application is made does not meet the qualifications or fulfil the conditions necessary for the issuance or amendment of the document;

[5] The applicable regulations are the Canadian Aviation Regulations (SOR/96-433) (CARs):

401.06 (1) Subject to section 6.71 of the Act, the Minister shall, on receipt of an application submitted in the form and manner specified in the personnel licensing standards, issue a flight crew permit or licence to the applicant or endorse the applicant's flight crew permit or licence with a rating if the applicant provides documentation to the Minister that establishes

(b) that the applicant meets the applicable requirements set out in the personnel licensing standards in respect of

(i) minimum age,

(ii) medical fitness,

(iii) knowledge,

(iv) experience, and

(v) skill; and

(c) that the applicant has successfully completed, within the applicable period specified in the personnel licensing standards preceding the date of application for the permit, licence or rating, a flight test in accordance with the personnel licensing standards.

[…]

401.11 (1) No person shall record in a personal log the flight time acquired by a co-pilot while acting as pilot-in-command under supervision, unless the flight time

(a) was acquired in accordance with an airline transport pilot licence training program approved by the Minister pursuant to subsection (2) and carried out in accordance with the personnel licensing standards; and

(b) is recorded in the personal log in accordance with the personnel licensing standards.

(2) The Minister shall approve a training program referred to in paragraph (1)(a) if the applicable requirements set out in the personnel licensing standards are met.

Personnel Licensing and Training Standards, Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) 2015-2

[…]

421.11 (2) Air operators using small aeroplanes and Air operators using helicopters may institute a program of supervision referred to in subsection (1) provided that they have received authorization to do so from the Minister based on the operator's ability to institute such a program in a safe and effective manner.

[…]

421.34 (4) Experience

An applicant shall have met the training requirements for the issue of a Commercial Pilot Licence - Aeroplane that is not restricted to daylight flying and completed a minimum of 1500 hours total flight time of which a minimum of 900 hours shall have been completed in aeroplanes. The total flight time shall include a minimum of:

(a) 250 hours pilot-in-command flight time in aeroplanes which shall include where applicable, a maximum of 100 hours pilot-in-command under supervision flight time completed in accordance with Section 421.11. The pilot-in-command and/or pilot-in-command under supervision flight time shall include a minimum of 100 hours cross-country flight time of which a minimum of 25 hours shall have been by night;

(b) 100 hours night flight time as pilot-in-command or as co-pilot of which a minimum of 30 hours shall have been acquired in aeroplanes;

III. PRELIMINARY MATTERS

[6] No preliminary motions, agreed statement of facts, or agreed upon documents were presented.

IV. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

[7] On April 14, 2014, Canada repealed s. 401.10 and s. 421.10 of CARs, and adopted the ICAO Equivalent Standard to harmonize Canadian requirements with ICAO. This standard does allow for the inclusion of time obtained in a Pilot in Command Under Supervision program. However, as before, the Minister must approve the program under CARs 421.11. The program the applicant received was not approved by the Minister.

[8] Ms. Parsons acted as the Case Presenting Officer for the Minister. She provided the Chair and the Applicant with a folder of the relevant Sections of CARs. Ms. Parsons, in her opening statement, advised that Transport Canada had a legal responsibility to review all applications for aviation documents. She advised the chair she only had one witness and would be introducing four exhibits. Ms. Parsons then called her witness, Ms. Deborah Syke to the stand.

Deborah Syke

[9] Ms. Syke was very experienced, having served with Transport Canada for 29 years. Presently she holds the position of Civil Aviation Safety Inspector, Flight Operations. Ms. Syke confirmed she had reviewed Mr. Grzeszczyk's application for an ATP certificate. She recalled the conversation with the Applicant, but because of the passage of time she could not remember the exact words exchanged. However, she was firm in her statement that she did not advise the Applicant he could use the time accumulated on the PIC Under Supervision program. She was equally positive the Applicant did not inform her of the foreign location of the program. Ms. Syke stated this time could be counted if the Minister had approved the program under CARs 401.11(1). No approval was granted. Ms. Syke stated the refusal was not permanent and the Applicant could reapply after obtaining the required time. It would also be necessary, because of the lapse of the 24 month validity period, for the Applicant to repeat the SAMRA and the SARON examinations.

[10] Ms. Parsons introduced four exhibits that were examined and identified by the witness:

(a) M-1 Mr. Grzeszczyk's application for an ATP certificate.

(b) M-2 Relevant copies of pages from the Applicant's log book.

(c) M-3 E mail from the Applicant to Jessie Dimas and her reply.

(d) M-4 Notice of Refusal.

[11] There was no cross examination by the Applicant.

[12] This completed the Minister's evidence.

V. ARGUMENTS

A. Minister

[13] The Minister's representative presented a short closing argument. The applicable, relative legislation in support of the Minister's decision was reviewed. Ms. Parsons stated the necessity of the Minister's approval of a foreign PIC Under Supervision program was vital for the inclusion of the flying time toward the issuance of the ATP certificate.

B. Applicant

[14] The Applicant called no witnesses, presented no exhibits, nor did he take the stand. He did, however, offer a statement to the chair in which he expressed frustration at the fact Canada would not accept PIC Under Supervision time acquired in a country that was both a member of the UE and ICAO.

[15] The Applicant stated he would be receiving a Captain's course from Polish Airlines in September and after which he would fly the line. He estimated that after two months of line flying, he would have sufficient flying time to satisfy Transport's requirements for an ATP certificate. The Chair felt it was the Applicant's intention to reapply.

VI. ANALYSIS

[16] With great sympathy for the Applicant, because his was a valid assumption the Minister would accept time acquired in a PIC Under Supervision program anywhere, I find Transport Canada acted correctly in accordance with CARs and the Aeronautics Act. The individuals present at the hearing were very professional and I sensed a regret they were unable to accept Mr.Grzeszczyk's application.

VII. DETERMINATION

[17] The Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, Mr. Leszek Grzeszczyk, failed to meet the qualifications and conditions for the issuance of an Airline Transport Pilot Licence--Aeroplane under Part 421.11 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

May 31, 2016

P. T. Dowd

Member

Décisions

Dossier no O-4098-27 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-806796 (PAHRL) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Leszek Grzeszczyk, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
l’alinéa 6.71 (1)b) de la Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. (1985), ch. A-2


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Patrick T. Dowd


Décision : le 31 mai 2016

Référence : Grzeszczyk c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2016 TATCF 15 (révision)

Affaire entendue à : Toronto (Ontario), le 10 mai 2016

DÉCISION ET MOTIFS À LA SUITE DE LA RÉVISION

Arrêt : Le ministre a démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, Leszek Grzeszczyk, n'a pas satisfait aux conditions nécessaires à la délivrance d'un document d'aviation canadien; en l'occurrence une licence de pilote de ligne (LPL).

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le ministre des Transports (ministre) a délivré un avis de refus (avis) de délivrer un document d'aviation canadien au requérant, M. Leszek Grzeszczyk, par courrier recommandé le 26 septembre 2014, expliquant qu'il n'avait pas satisfait aux conditions nécessaires à la délivrance d'une LPL.

[2] Les motifs exposés dans l'avis se lisent comme suit :

[TRADUCTION] Précisément, vous n'avez pas accumulé le nombre total d'heures et les vols-voyages de nuit requis en qualité de commandant de bord (CdB). Transports Canada ne peut accorder une approbation à un commandant de bord qui a participé à un programme de surveillance étranger et, par conséquent, vous ne pouvez pas utiliser les heures accumulées dans le cadre de ce programme aux fins de la délivrance d'une licence.

II. LOIS, RÈGLEMENTS ET POLITIQUES

[3] Alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. (1985), ch. A-2

Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC 401.06 (1) b) c)

Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC 401.11 (1) (2)

Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC 421.11 (2)

Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC 421.34 (4) a) b)

[4] Le fondement du refus de délivrer ou de modifier un document d'aviation canadien est établi aux termes de l'alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, qui énonce :

6.71 (1) Le ministre peut refuser de délivrer ou de modifier un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs suivants :

b) le demandeur ou l'aéronef, l'aérodrome, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise la demande ne répond pas aux conditions de délivrance ou de modification du document;

[5] Le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (DORS/96-433) (RAC) est celui qui s'applique :

401.06 (1) Sous réserve de l'article 6.71 de la Loi, le ministre délivre un permis ou une licence de membre d'équipage de conduite ou annote une qualification sur le permis ou la licence de membre d'équipage de conduite si le demandeur lui en fait la demande en la forme et de la manière précisées dans les normes de délivrance des licences du personnel, et lui fournit les documents suivants :

b) les documents qui établissent que le demandeur satisfait aux exigences applicables précisées dans les normes de délivrance des licences du personnel quant aux points suivants :

(i) l'âge minimal,

(ii) l'aptitude physique et mentale,

(iii) les connaissances,

(iv) l'expérience,

(v) les habiletés;

c) les documents qui établissent que, dans la période applicable précisée dans les normes de délivrance des licences du personnel qui précède la date de la demande du permis, de la licence ou de la qualification, le demandeur a réussi un test en vol conformément aux normes de délivrance des licences du personnel.

[…]

401.11 (1) Il est interdit d'inscrire, dans un carnet personnel, du temps de vol accumulé par un copilote qui agit en qualité de commandant de bord sous surveillance, à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient réunies :

a) le temps de vol a été accumulé conformément à un programme de formation de licence de pilote de ligne approuvé par le ministre en application du paragraphe (2) et mis en œuvre conformément aux normes de délivrance des licences du personnel;

b) le temps de vol accumulé est inscrit dans le carnet personnel conformément aux normes de délivrance des licences du personnel.

(2) Le ministre approuve le programme de formation visé à l'alinéa (1)a) si les exigences applicables précisées dans les normes de délivrance des licences du personnel sont respectées.

Normes de délivrance des licences et de formation du personnel, Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) 2015-2

[…]

421.11 (2) Les exploitants aériens de petits avions ou d'hélicoptères peuvent élaborer un programme de supervision comme mentionné au paragraphe (1) ci-dessus, mais ils doivent obtenir l'autorisation du ministre, laquelle sera accordée si l'exploitant a les moyens d'élaborer un tel programme de manière sûre et efficace.

[…]

421.34 (4) Expérience

Le demandeur doit satisfaire aux exigences de formation en vue de la délivrance d'une licence de pilote professionnel d'avion, non limitée au vol de jour seulement, et il doit avoir accumulé au moins 1 500 heures de vol au total, dont au moins 900 sur avion. Le temps de vol total doit comprendre un minimum de :

a) 250 heures de vol comme commandant de bord sur avion, ce qui doit inclure, s'il y a lieu, un maximum de 100 heures de temps de vol comme commandant de bord sous surveillance, à condition que ce temps de vol soit conforme à l'article 421.11. Le temps de vol effectué en qualité de commandant de bord et de commandant de bord sous surveillance, ou les deux, devra comporter 100 heures de vol-voyage, dont au moins 25 effectuées de nuit;

b) 100 heures de vol de nuit en qualité de commandant de bord ou de copilote dont 30 heures au moins doivent avoir été accumulées sur avion;

III. QUESTIONS PRÉLIMINAIRES

[6] Aucune requête préliminaire, aucun exposé conjoint des faits ou document convenu n'a été présenté.

IV. PREUVE

A. Ministre

[7] Le 14 avril 2014, le Canada a abrogé les articles 401.10 et 421.10 du RAC et a adopté la norme équivalente de l'OACI pour harmoniser les exigences canadiennes auprès de l'OACI. Cette norme permet en effet de prendre en compte les heures accumulées en qualité de commandant de bord dans le cadre d'un programme de supervision. Cependant, comme c'était le cas avant, le ministre doit approuver le programme conformément à l'article 421.11 du RAC. Le programme suivi par le requérant n'a pas été approuvé par le ministre.

[8] Mme Parsons a agi comme agent de présentation du cas pour le ministre. Elle a remis au président et au requérant un cartable contenant les articles pertinents du RAC. Dans son exposé initial, Mme Parsons a affirmé que Transports Canada avait une responsabilité légale d'examiner toutes les demandes de documents d'aviation. Elle a informé le président qu'elle n'avait qu'un témoin et ne présenterait que quatre pièces. Mme Parsons a cité son témoin à comparaître, Mme Deborah Syke à la barre.

Deborah Syke

[9] Mme Syke avait beaucoup d'expérience, ayant travaillé pour Transports Canada pendant 29 ans. Actuellement, elle occupe le poste d'inspectrice de la sécurité de l'aviation civile, aux Opérations aériennes. Mme Syke a confirmé avoir examiné la requête de M. Grzeszczyk visant à obtenir une LPL. Elle s'est souvenue de la conversation avec le requérant, mais en raison du temps qui a passé elle n'arrivait pas à se souvenir des échanges verbaux exacts. Cependant, elle se souvenait fermement ne pas avoir dit au requérant qu'il pouvait utiliser le temps de vol accumulé en qualité de CdB dans le cadre du programme de supervision. Elle était également persuadée que le requérant ne l'avait pas informée qu'il s'agissait d'un programme étranger. Mme Syke lui a mentionné que ce temps de vol aurait pu être pris en compte si le ministre avait approuvé le programme en application du paragraphe 401.11(1) du RAC. Aucune approbation n'a été accordée. Mme Syke a précisé que le refus n'était pas définitif et que le requérant pourrait présenter une nouvelle requête après avoir accumulé le temps de vol exigé. Il sera également nécessaire, en raison de l'expiration de la période de validité de 24 mois, que le requérant reprenne les examens SAMRA et SARON.

[10] Mme Parsons a présenté quatre pièces qui ont été examinées et identifiées par le témoin :

(a) M-1 La requête de M. Grzeszczyk visant à obtenir une LPL.

(b) M-2 Les copies pertinentes de certaines pages du carnet de bord du requérant.

(c) M-3 Le courriel du requérant destiné à Jessie Dimas et la réponse de celle-ci.

(d) M-4 L'avis de refus.

[11] Il n'y a pas eu de contre-interrogatoire par le requérant.

[12] Ainsi se terminait la présentation de la preuve du ministre.

V. ARGUMENTS

A. Ministre

[13] La représentante du ministre a présenté de brèves conclusions finales. La législation applicable et pertinente pour appuyer la décision du ministre a été examinée. Mme Parsons a mentionné que l'obtention de l'approbation du ministre était essentielle à l'égard d'un CdB ayant participé à un programme de supervision étranger, pour que les heures de vol soient prises en compte en vue de la délivrance d'une LPL.

B. Requérant

[14] Le requérant n'a cité aucun témoin, n'a présenté aucune pièce, et ne s'est pas présenté à la barre. Cependant, il a fourni une déclaration au président dans laquelle il a exprimé sa frustration du fait que le Canada n'acceptait pas le temps accumulé en qualité de CdB à l'égard d'un programme de supervision dans un pays membre à la fois de l'EU et de l'OACI.

[15] Le requérant a affirmé qu'il suivrait une formation de capitaine de Polish Airlines en septembre après quoi il pourrait effectuer des vols pour la ligne aérienne. Il a estimé qu'après deux mois de vol de ligne, il aurait suffisamment de temps de vol pour répondre aux conditions de Transports Canada en vue de la délivrance d'une LPL. Selon le président, le requérant avait l'intention de présenter une nouvelle requête.

VI. ANALYSE

[16] Avec beaucoup de sympathie pour le requérant, parce que sa prétention était une hypothèse valable selon laquelle le ministre accepterait le temps accumulé en qualité de CdB dans le cadre d'un programme de supervision à n' importe quel endroit, je conclus que Transports Canada a agi correctement conformément au RAC et à la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Les personnes présentes à l'audience ont fait preuve de beaucoup de professionnalisme et j'ai senti qu'elles regrettaient de ne pas être en mesure d'accepter la demande de M. Grzeszczyk.

VII. Décision

[17] Le ministre a établi, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, M. Leszek Grzeszczyk, n'a pas répondu aux conditions de délivrance d'une licence de pilote de ligne – avion, en application de la partie 421.11 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Le 31 mai 2016

P. T. Dowd

Conseiller