Decisions

TATC File No. P-4151-41
MoT File No. 5504-085973

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Island Express Air Inc., Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7(1)
Canadian Aviation Regulations SOR/96-433, sub. 605.86(1)


Review Determination
Laura Safran


Decision: December 13, 2016

Citation: Island Express Air Inc. v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2016 TATCE 35 (Review)

Heard in: Abbotsford, British Columbia, on September 27, 2016

REVIEW DETERMINATION AND REASONS

Held: The Tribunal concurs with the Minister's assessment of the penalty at the amount of $5,000 for a breach of subsection 605.86(1) of the CARs and, accordingly, dismisses this application.

The assessed penalty of $5,000 is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Tribunal within 35 days of service of this determination.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On or about June 26, 2014, the applicant, Island Express Air Inc., being an air operator, permitted a Beech King Air B100 aircraft with Canadian registration C-FASN in its custody and control to conduct a take-off when the deicer line flex couplings were not replaced, as required by the applicant's Maintenance Schedule Approval (PR-ABB 151) as part of the “out of phase” tasks. As a result, it is alleged by the respondent, the Minister of Transport (Minister), that the applicant has contravened subsection 605.86(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96‑433 (CARs). The Minister has assessed a monetary penalty of $5,000 pursuant to subsection 7.7(1) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A‑2 (Act).

II. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

[2] Subsection 7.7(1) of the Act states that:

7.7 (1) If the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister may decide to assess a monetary penalty in respect of the alleged contravention, in which case the Minister shall… notify the person of his or her decision.

[3] In this case, the Minister assessed a monetary penalty of $5,000 against the applicant for the alleged contravention of subsection 605.86(1) of the CARs, which states in part:

605.86 (1) Subject to subjection (3), no person shall conduct a take-off in an aircraft, or permit a take-off to be conducted in an aircraft that is in the person's legal custody and control, unless the aircraft is maintained in accordance with

(a) a maintenance schedule that conforms to the Aircraft Equipment and Maintenance Standards; and

(b) where the aircraft is operated under Subpart 6 of Part IV or under Part VII… a maintenance schedule approved by the Minister in respect of the aircraft operator…

III. PRELIMINARY ISSUES

(1) Disclosure

[4] I note that at the outset of the review hearing conducted earlier on this date concerning TATC file no. P-4241-41 (the “earlier hearing”), the applicant sought to raise a preliminary motion seeking postponement of the review hearing pending receipt by the applicant of files it had requested from the respondent pursuant to the Access to Information Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A‑1, in order to obtain comparative information concerning the Minister's treatment of other operators in allegedly similar circumstances. Such preliminary motion also applied to the matters under consideration in this review hearing.

[5] At the earlier hearing, the Minister replied that such preliminary request had been made on September 20, 2016 and that on September 22, 2016 this Tribunal had denied the preliminary request.

[6] During the earlier hearing, I concurred with the Minister and confirmed that the Tribunal had responded on September 22, 2016 to the applicant's request of September 20, 2016 that it has no jurisdiction over access requests made pursuant to the Access to Information Act.

[7] Accordingly, the Tribunal reiterated its ruling made during the earlier hearing concerning the applicant's preliminary motion seeking a postponement of the earlier hearing and, therefore, the motion for postponement of this hearing was denied.

(2) Laying of a Charge against the Applicant

[8] The Minister's representative stated that the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty in this matter was issued on June 10, 2015 by Mr. Toke Adams, the regional manager of Aviation Enforcement for the Pacific Region of Transport Canada. The charge related to the take-off of the King Air aircraft in question, which was under the legal custody and control of the applicant, when the deicer line flex couplings were not replaced, as required by the applicant's Maintenance Schedule Approval (PR-ABB-151) as part of the “out of phase” tasks. Such failure to replace the couplings was in contravention of subsection 605.86(1) of the CARs, resulting in a monetary penalty of $5,000 being assessed.

[9] On behalf of the applicant, Mr. Gerald Visser expressly admitted the alleged contravention of subsection 605.86(1) of the CARs but asserted that the applicant had “self-reported” the contravention to Transport Canada and taken the necessary corrective action while also retaining a third-party expert to undertake a comprehensive audit of all of the applicant's systems. Mr. Visser explained that a former maintenance employee of the applicant was not able to locate the coupling in question and was under the mistaken belief that the aircraft did not have such coupling. When the applicant became aware of the error, it reported the error to Transport Canada and took the corrective action.

[10] Mr. Visser further reiterated the arguments he had made during the earlier hearing that other operators have missed similar errors and not been penalized and that the applicant historically has had a “poor relationship” with Transport Canada involving excessive monitoring by and penalizations assessed against the applicant by Transport Canada. Mr. Visser noted that the applicant had been working to improve the relationship and that the relationship had recently improved.

[11] Mr. Visser concluded his opening remarks by stating that the sanction in this case was excessive, particularly considering excessive penalization of the applicant by Transport Canada for past infractions.

[12] This Tribunal accepted such admission of the offence by the applicant and, on the basis of the same reasoning that applied at the earlier hearing, this Tribunal rejected the consideration of similar offences by other operators. Considering the agreed facts from the parties regarding the violation, it was determined that the review hearing would proceed with respect to the quantum of the monetary penalty.

IV. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

(1) Saeid Namazi

[13] Mr. Namazi testified that he is an enforcement investigator for Transport Canada and has held that position for approximately 18 months, prior to which he was a Transport Canada airworthiness inspector for approximately six years.

[14] Mr. Namazi referred to the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty of $5,000 issued by Transport Canada to the applicant on June 10, 2015 as a result of the contravention of paragraph 605.86(1)(b) of the CARs. Mr. Namazi confirmed that the sanction in this case was in conformity with Transport Canada's non-binding instructions to its staff concerning a first-level sanction for a company and that there were no mitigating or aggravating factors that impacted the assessment. The applicant chose not to cross-examine Mr. Namazi.

B. Applicant

(1) Gerald Visser

[15] Mr. Visser, in his position as operations manager and accountable executive of the applicant, indicated that the evidence of the past relationship between the applicant and Transport Canada, as he had explained in detail during the earlier hearing, should be considered in respect of this matter and that the sanction imposed by the Minister was excessive in view of the historical relationship of the applicant and Transport Canada and the latter's more lenient treatment of other operators that had made similar errors without being penalized excessively, if at all.

[16] Mr. Visser advised that files he had requested from Transport Canada several months ago concerning similar offences by other operators had not been forthcoming, notwithstanding Mr. Visser's understanding that Transport Canada also wished to review them.

[17] Mr. Visser concluded that this Tribunal should consider the past relationship of the applicant with Transport Canada, the lack of response by Transport Canada to the applicant's request for files concerning similar offences, the fact that the error by the applicant in this case was reported to Transport Canada on a voluntary basis by the applicant and that the applicant had taken corrective actions.

[18] On cross-examination, Mr. Visser confirmed the statement he had made during the earlier hearing that the applicant's air operator certificate had not been suspended and also that the applicant had received oral counselling, in lieu of penalization, from Transport Canada following certain previous infractions.

[19] Mr. Visser, on cross-examination, also acknowledged, as he had during the earlier hearing, that the regulatory sanctions for contraventions applied equally to all carriers but again stated that a $5,000 penalty for a smaller air operator such as the applicant has far greater significance than the same penalty assessed against a major air carrier.

V. ARGUMENTS

A. Minister

[20] The Minister confirmed that since the applicant had admitted the offence, the only issue to be determined is the amount of the sanction. The Minister referred to the testimony of Mr. Namazi to the effect that a monetary penalty of $5,000 is a first-level sanction and a minimum penalty assessed against a corporation for contravention of the CARs and that, as testified to by Mr. Namazi, there were no mitigating or aggravating factors impacting the sanction.

[21] The Minister then referred to the TATC decision on appeal in Canada (Minister of Transport) v. Bickerstaff, 2014 TATCE 25 (Bickerstaff) for the proposition that if this Tribunal should find any mitigating factors that were not identified by the Minister, that such factors be considered in the context of the sentencing principles outlined in Canada (Minister of Transport) v. Wyer, [1988] CAT file no. O-0075-33 (Appeal) and reiterated in Bickerstaff, referring to the Aviation Enforcement Procedures Manual.

[22] The Minister reiterated that no exceptional circumstances were prevalent in this case and concluded that there were no mitigating factors justifying a decrease in the sanction imposed against the applicant.

B. Applicant

[23] Mr. Visser referred to his testimony and the closing statement he had made during the earlier hearing.

VI. ANALYSIS

[24] It is not at issue that on June 26, 2014, the applicant permitted a King Air B100 aircraft under its custody and control to conduct a take-off when the deicer line flex couplings were not replaced as required by the applicant's Maintenance Schedule Approval, in contravention of paragraph 605.86(1)(d) of the CARs.

[25] Mr. Visser, being the accountable executive of the applicant, admitted all elements of the offence and noted that the offence emanated from an error by an employee that, upon later discovery by the applicant, had been reported to Transport Canada and corrected by the applicant. Mr. Visser referred to his testimony in the earlier hearing concerning a history of alleged excessive monitoring of the applicant's operations by Transport Canada, together with alleged “bullying” tactics and excessive penalization of regulatory infractions on the part of Transport Canada and stated that those factors should be taken into consideration by this Tribunal in reviewing the monetary penalty. He also testified that other air carriers had also contravened the CARs but had not been penalized to the same extent as the applicant.

[26] Mr. Visser was unable to obtain evidence of infractions by other carriers that were of a similar nature to the infraction in this case and had resulted in no sanctions or reduced sanctions being assessed. Regardless, this Tribunal is of the view that the possibility of similar infractions by other carriers is not of relevance to the sanction imposed in this case. Additionally, the history, as alleged by the applicant, of Transport Canada having monitored its operations and penalized it excessively in the past does not justify the contravention by the applicant of the CARs in this case nor, in itself, does it justify a modification of the assessed monetary penalty.

[27] I also note that the penalty assessed for this infraction is a “first-level” minimum sanction of $5,000 according to Transport Canada's non-binding instructions to its staff.

[28] While the Minister has cited the Bickerstaff appeal decision with respect to an appropriate reduction of sanction as a result of mitigating factors, there is no evidence of exceptional circumstances in this case that would justify a penalty reduction. The fact the contravention was reported and corrected by the applicant is commended but needs to be weighed against the fact that this was a clear contravention of the CARs. Therefore the voluntary reporting and correction of this breach by the applicant does not, in our view, constitute an exceptional or mitigating factor so as to justify a decrease in the amount of the sanction.

VII. DETERMINATION

[29] The applicant has admitted the offence and therefore the only issue for this Tribunal to determine is whether the monetary penalty of $5,000 assessed against the applicant was excessive.

[30] The Tribunal finds no evidence of aggravating or mitigating circumstances insofar as this particular violation of the CARs is concerned.

[31] The Tribunal concurs with the Minister's assessment of the penalty at $5,000 for a breach of subsection 605.86(1) of the CARs and, accordingly, dismisses this application.

December 13, 2016

(Original Signed)

Laura Safran, Q.C.

Member

Décisions

Dossier no P-4151-41 (TATC)
Dossier no 5504-085973 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Island Express Air Inc., requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. (1985), ch. A-2, art. 7.7(1)
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, par. 605.86(1)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Laura Safran


Décision : le 13 décembre 2016

Référence : Island Express Air Inc. c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2016 TATCF 35 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à :   Abbotsford (Colombie-Britannique), le 27 septembre 2016

DÉCISION ET MOTIFS À LA SUITE DE LA RÉVISION

Arrêt : Le Tribunal est d'accord avec l'établissement de l'amende par le ministre à 5 000 $ pour une contravention au paragraphe 605.86(1) du RAC et, par conséquent, rejette la présente requête.

Le montant de 5 000 $ est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit être reçu par le Tribunal dans les 35 jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le ou vers le 26 juin 2014, la requérante, Island Express Air Inc., un exploitant aérien, a permis à un appareil Beech King Air B100 portant l'immatriculation canadienne C‑FASN, dont elle a la garde et la responsabilité légales, d'effectuer un décollage alors que les accouplements flexibles de la conduite de dégivrage n'avaient pas été remplacés conformément à l'Approbation des calendriers de maintenance (PR-ABB 151) de la requérante dans le cadre de tâches « hors phase ». Par conséquent, l'intimé, le ministre des Transports (ministre), considère que la requérante a contrevenu au paragraphe 605.86(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433 (RAC) et imposé, conformément au paragraphe 7.7(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. (1985), ch. A-2 (Loi), une amende fixée à 5 000 $.

II. LOIS ET RÈGLEMENTS

[2] Le paragraphe 7.7(1) de la Loi établit que :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, peut décider de déterminer le montant de l'amende à payer, auquel cas il lui expédie (...) un avis l'informant de la décision.

[3] En l'espèce, le ministre a imposé une amende de 5 000 $ à la requérante pour la contravention alléguée au paragraphe 605.86(1) du RAC, qui dispose en partie ce qui suit :

605.86 (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (3), il est interdit à toute personne d'effectuer le décollage d'un aéronef dont elle a la garde et la responsabilité légales ou de permettre à toute personne d'effectuer un tel décollage, à moins que la maintenance de l'aéronef ne soit effectuée :

a) conformément à un calendrier de maintenance qui est conforme aux Normes relatives à l'équipement et à la maintenance des aéronefs; et

b) lorsque l'aéronef est utilisé en application de la sous-partie 6 de la partie IV ou de la partie VII […] conformément à un calendrier de maintenance approuvé par le ministre, pour l'utilisateur de l'aéronef […]

III. QUESTIONS PRÉLIMINAIRES

(1) Divulgation

[4] Je note qu'au début de l'audience en révision tenue plus tôt le même jour concernant le dossier TATC n° P-4241-41 (« audience antérieure »), la requérante a cherché à présenter une requête préliminaire visant le report de l'audience en révision jusqu'à la réception par la requérante des dossiers qu'elle avait demandés à l'intimé conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, L.R.C., (1985), ch. A-1, en vue d'obtenir des renseignements comparatifs au sujet du traitement accordé par le ministre à d'autres exploitants dans des circonstances présumées semblables. Ladite requête préliminaire a également concerné les questions examinées dans la présente audience en révision.

[5] Lors de l'audience antérieure, le ministre a répondu qu'une telle requête préliminaire avait été présentée le 20 septembre 2016, et que le 22 septembre 2016, le Tribunal avait rejeté la requête.

[6] Lors de l'audience antérieure, j'ai souscrit à l'opinion du ministre et confirmé que le Tribunal avait répondu le 22 septembre 2016 à la requête du 20 septembre 2016 qu'il n'était pas compétent par rapport aux demandes d'accès effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

[7] Par conséquent, le Tribunal a réitéré la décision prise lors de l'audience antérieure concernant la requête préliminaire de la requérante visant le report de l'audience antérieure et, de ce fait, la requête de report de la présente audience a été rejetée.

(2) Accusation contre la requérante

[8] Le représentant du ministre a indiqué que l'avis d'amende pour contravention dans cette affaire a été émis le 10 juin 2015, par M. Toke Adams, gestionnaire régional d'application de la loi sur l'aviation pour la région Pacifique de Transports Canada. L'accusation portait sur le décollage de l'avion King Air susmentionné, dont la requérante avait la garde et la responsabilité légales, alors que les accouplements flexibles de la conduite de dégivrage n'avaient pas été remplacés conformément à l'Approbation des calendriers de maintenance (PR-ABB-151) de la requérante dans le cadre de tâches « hors phase ». Ce défaut de remplacement des accouplements contrevenait au paragraphe 605.86(1) du RAC, entraînant l'imposition d'une amende de 5 000 $.

[9] Au nom de la requérante, M. Gerald Visser a expressément admis la contravention alléguée au paragraphe 605.86(1) du RAC, mais il a affirmé que la requérante avait elle-même déclaré la contravention à Transports Canada et entamé les actions correctives nécessaires tout en engageant un expert tiers pour effectuer un audit complet de tous les systèmes de la requérante. M. Visser a expliqué qu'un ancien employé de maintenance de la requérante n'avait pas été en mesure de localiser l'accouplement concerné et en avait conclu, de façon erronée, que l'avion n'était pas équipé dudit accouplement. Lorsque la requérante s'est rendue compte de l'erreur, elle l'a signalée à Transports Canada et a entamé les actions correctives nécessaires.

[10] M. Visser a repris les arguments qu'il avait avancés à l'audience antérieure, à savoir que d'autres exploitants avaient commis des erreurs semblables et qu'ils n'avaient pas été pénalisés, et que la requérante entretenait depuis longtemps des rapports « médiocres » avec Transports Canada en raison de la surveillance excessive et des pénalités imposées à son encontre par Transports Canada. M. Visser a indiqué que la requérante avait mis des moyens en œuvre pour améliorer les rapports, et que ces efforts avaient récemment porté leurs fruits.

[11] M. Visser a conclu sa déclaration d'ouverture en affirmant que la sanction dans l'affaire présente était excessive, au regard de la pénalisation excessive dont la requérante a fait l'objet de la part de Transports Canada lors d'infractions précédentes.

[12] Le Tribunal a accepté la reconnaissance de culpabilité pour l'infraction de la part de la requérante et, sur la base du même raisonnement que lors de l'audience antérieure, le Tribunal a rejeté la prise en compte d'infractions semblables par d'autres exploitants. Au regard des faits convenus par les parties concernant l'infraction, il a été déterminé que l'audience en révision porterait sur le montant de l'amende.

IV. PREUVE

A. Ministre

(1) M. Saeid Namazi

[13] Lors de son témoignage, M. Namazi a indiqué qu'il exerçait en tant qu'enquêteur chargé de l'application de la loi pour Transports Canada, depuis environ 18 mois. Auparavant, il avait été inspecteur de la navigabilité aérienne pour Transports Canada pendant six ans.

[14] M. Namazi a indiqué que l'avis d'amende pour contravention de 5 000 $ émis le 10 juin 2015 par Transports Canada à l'encontre de la requérante résultait d'une contravention à l'alinéa 605.86(1)b) du RAC. M. Namazi a confirmé que la sanction en l'espèce était conforme aux instructions non contraignantes de Transports Canada à l'égard de son personnel, et constituait une sanction de premier niveau applicable à une personne morale, mais qu'il n'y avait pas de facteurs atténuants ou aggravants à prendre en compte dans l'évaluation. La requérante a choisi de ne pas contre-interroger M. Namazi.

B. Requérant

(1) M. Gerald Visser

[15] M. Visser, en sa qualité de gestionnaire des opérations et gestionnaire supérieur responsable de la requérante, a indiqué que les éléments de preuve se rapportant aux relations passées entre la requérante et Transports Canada, qu'il avait détaillées au cours de l'audience antérieure, devaient être pris en compte dans l'affaire en cours, et que la sanction imposée par le ministre était excessive au vu de la relation de longue date entre la requérante et Transports Canada et considérant l'indulgence dont Transports Canada avait fait preuve à l'égard d'autres exploitants ayant commis les mêmes erreurs et n'ayant pas été pénalisés de façon excessive, voire pas du tout.

[16] M. Visser a souligné que les dossiers qu'il avait demandés à Transports Canada plusieurs mois auparavant concernant des infractions semblables par d'autres exploitants n'étaient pas disponibles malgré que, de l'avis de M. Visser, Transports Canada souhaitait également consulter ces dossiers.

[17] M. Visser a conclu en indiquant que le Tribunal devait prendre en compte les relations passées de la requérante avec Transports Canada, l'absence de réponse de Transports Canada à la demande émise par la requérante concernant les dossiers concernant des infractions semblables, le fait que l'erreur en l'espèce avait été délibérément signalée à Transports Canada par la requérante et qu'elle avait depuis pris des mesures correctives.

[18] Au cours de son contre-interrogatoire, M. Visser a confirmé la déclaration qu'il avait effectuée lors de l'audience antérieure à savoir que, à la suite de certaines infractions commises antérieurement, le certificat de l'exploitant aérien n'avait pas été suspendu et que la requérante avait reçu des conseils verbaux plutôt qu'une pénalité de la part de Transports Canada.

[19] Au cours de son contre-interrogatoire, M. Visser a également reconnu, comme lors de l'audience antérieure, que les sanctions réglementaires relatives aux contraventions s'appliquaient de manière identique à tous les transporteurs, mais a encore fait remarquer qu'une pénalité de 5 000 $ pour un petit exploitant aérien comme la requérante avait une incidence beaucoup plus lourde que la même pénalité imposée à l'encontre d'un transporteur aérien important.

V. ARGUMENTS

A. Ministre

[20] Le ministre a réitéré que comme la requérante avait reconnu sa culpabilité, la seule question devant être réglée était le montant de la sanction. Le ministre a renvoyé au témoignage de M. Namazi indiquant qu'une amende de 5 000 $ constituait une sanction de premier niveau ainsi qu'une pénalité imposée minimale à l'encontre d'une personne morale pour toute contravention au RAC et que, comme l'a souligné M. Namazi, aucun facteur atténuant ou aggravant ne saurait influencer la sanction.

[21] Concernant l'éventualité où le Tribunal relèverait des facteurs atténuants n'ayant pas été identifiés par le ministre, le ministre a cité la décision en appel du TATC dans l'affaire Canada (Ministre des Transports) c. Bickerstaff, 2014 TATCF 25 (Bickerstaff) pour souligner que ces facteurs devraient être pris en compte dans le cadre des principes de détermination de la peine énumérés dans Canada (Ministre des Transports) c. Wyer, [1988] dossier du TAC n° O‑0075-33 (appel) et réitérés dans Bickerstaff, en référence au Manuel de procédures d'application des règlements de l'aviation.

[22] Le ministre a répété qu'aucune circonstance exceptionnelle ne prévalait en l'espèce et a conclu qu'aucun facteur atténuant ne justifiait une diminution de la sanction imposée à l'encontre de la requérante.

B. Requérant

[23] M. Visser a renvoyé à son témoignage et à la déclaration de clôture effectuée au cours de l'audience antérieure.

VI. ANALYSE

[24] Le litige ne porte pas sur le fait que, le 26 juin 2014, la requérante a permis à un appareil King Air B100, dont il avait la garde et la responsabilité légales, d'effectuer un décollage alors que les accouplements flexibles de la conduite de dégivrage n'avaient pas été remplacés conformément à l'Approbation des calendriers de maintenance de la requérante, entraînant une contravention de l'alinéa 605.86(1)d) du RAC.

[25] M. Visser, en sa qualité de gestionnaire supérieur responsable de la requérante, a reconnu tous les éléments de l'infraction et a noté que celle-ci découlait d'une erreur d'un employé et que cette erreur, une fois découverte par la requérante, avait été signalée à Transports Canada et corrigée par la requérante. M. Visser a renvoyé à son témoignage de l'audience antérieure pour ce qui concerne l'historique d'une surveillance excessive des activités de la requérante par Transports Canada, ainsi que des tactiques d'« intimidation » alléguées et de la pénalisation excessive des infractions réglementaires de la part de Transports Canada, et a indiqué que ces facteurs devaient être pris en compte par le Tribunal dans son examen de l'amende. Il a également déclaré dans son témoignage que d'autres transporteurs aériens avaient également contrevenu au RAC, mais que ces derniers n'avaient pas été pénalisés dans la même mesure que la requérante.

[26] M. Visser n'est pas parvenu à obtenir la preuve d'infractions commises par d'autres transporteurs semblables à l'infraction en l'espèce mais n'ayant abouti qu'à des sanctions réduites, voire à aucune sanction. Quoi qu'il en soit, le Tribunal considère que l'éventualité d'infractions semblables commises par d'autres transporteurs n'est pas pertinente dans la détermination de la sanction imposée en l'espèce. En outre, l'historique qu'allègue la requérante de surveillance et de pénalisation excessives par Transports Canada ne justifie pas la contravention au RAC par la requérante en l'espèce, ni ne justifie en soi une modification de l'amende imposée.

[27] Je constate également que la pénalité imposée pour cette infraction est la sanction minimale de « premier niveau », fixée à 5 000 $ conformément aux instructions non contraignantes de Transports Canada à l'égard de son personnel.

[28] Bien que le ministre ait cité la décision en appel de l'affaire Bickerstaff concernant une réduction appropriée de la sanction en fonction de facteurs atténuants, il n'y a en l'espèce aucune circonstance exceptionnelle qui justifierait une diminution de l'amende. Le fait que la contravention ait été signalée et corrigée par la requérante est louable, mais doit être pondéré par rapport au fait qu'il y a eu clairement une contravention au RAC. Par conséquent, le signalement et la correction intentionnels de cette infraction par la requérante ne constituent pas, à notre sens, un facteur exceptionnel ou atténuant justifiant une diminution du montant de la sanction.

VII. DÉCISION

[29] Comme la requérante a reconnu l'infraction, la seule question sur laquelle notre Tribunal doit se pencher est de savoir si l'amende de 5 000 $ imposée à l'encontre de la requérante était excessive.

[30] Aucun élément de preuve n'indique au Tribunal de circonstances aggravantes ou atténuantes en ce qui concerne la présente infraction au RAC.

[31] Le Tribunal est d'accord avec l'établissement de l'amende par le ministre à 5 000 $ pour la contravention au paragraphe 605.86(1) du RAC et, par conséquent, rejette la présente demande.

Le 13 décembre 2016

(Original signé)

Laura Safran, c.r.

Conseillère