Decisions

CAT File No. C-1169-33
MoT File No. RAP-6504-P352412-027043

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Glen William Lockey, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s.8.3
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c.2, ss. 101(1), 534(2)(b)

Low Flying


Review Determination
Ken Clarke


Decision: February 28, 1996

I find Mr. Glen William Lockey contravened paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations. I therefore confirm the Minister's Assessment of a Monetary Penalty of $500.00. Payment must be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of the receipt of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, February 20, 1996, at 10:00 hours at the Red Lake Inn in the city of Red Lake, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

Inspector Hanson was on the dock of a fishing lodge conducting a surveillance operation at a remote lake on the morning of July 23, 1995. A Noorduyn Norseman was observed to land near another lodge located just under an estimated one mile to the west. A few minutes later, the same aircraft departed westward and made a climbing right turn of approximately two hundred and thirty-five degrees. After levelling at an estimated three hundred feet, the aircraft descended and flew low near a fishing boat. The boat was estimated at 1,800 feet from the inspector. Investigation of the event led to the minimum allowed Assessment of Monetary Penalty.

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty reads in part:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Air Regulation 534(2)(b), in that, at approximately 07:32 hours on July 23, 1995 at or near Trout Lake, Ontario, you did unlawfully fly a Noorduyn UC64AS aircraft bearing Registration Marks C-FJEC at an altitude of less than 500 feet above the highest obstacle within a radius of 500 feet from the aircraft.

(. . .)

The total assessed penalty of $500.00 must be paid on or before November 22, 1995 . . .

It was determined that no pre-hearing conferences, agreements or other matters took place or needed to be brought to my attention.

APPLICANT'S EVIDENCE

Inspector Hanson was identified as the observer of the alleged violation. He described his flying experience, and most vividly detailed the events of the morning of July 23, 1995. A resourceful place mat map was introduced as Exhibit M-1 and was followed by a two-part scale and map labelled Exhibit M-2.

Referring to the maps, it was shown that the inspector was on at the most southwesterly bay of an island. The southwestern tip of the island formed a narrows of an estimated 1,500 feet with a mainland peninsula. From this tip the island and mainland shores diverged northward. The flight path, boat and lodge dock were marked.

At approximately 0710 (7:10 a.m.) a Norseman float plane landed at a lodge midway west between the mainland and the inspector. At the same time a fishing boat was making its way toward the narrows. About fifteen minutes after landing, the aircraft departed toward the west, becoming airborne quickly. A climbing right turn of approximately 235° and a levelling altitude of an estimated 300 feet followed. A descent then commenced, and a gentle turn was made toward the boat. Inspector Hanson remarked that he looked back and forth at the boat and aircraft and thought "oh no."

Being experienced in low flight violations, he started looking at various references. Knowing what was about to happen, considerable mental note was made.

It appeared that the aircraft flew directly over the boat at about 30 feet. Wingspan and boat length were referred to in the estimated height of the Norseman. Two persons were seen to be aboard the boat. After passage of the boat on a southeasterly heading, the Noorduyn made a shallow climb as it went out of sight behind trees. The aircraft was painted in Sabourin Airways colour scheme and thought to be the only one of that colour.

Later in the day Inspector Hanson landed at the Sabourin float base and noticed the same Norseman aircraft there. Inquiries were made about the pilot and the flights of the plane that day. A copy of the appropriate page of the Journey Log was made and today entered as Exhibit M-3. Times, date, destinations and load were coincident with the earlier observations.

On August 20, 1995, Inspector Hanson had an opportunity to meet and speak with Mr. Lockey. Mr. Hanson stated that it was not necessary to converse. Mr. Lockey then advised that he had been "off to the side" and passed "150 to 200 feet" from the boat. During the conversation, Mr. Lockey had been very cooperative.

On January 30, 1996, a photograph entered as Exhibit M-4 was taken of the area of concern at Trout Lake. Measurements showed the narrows to be approximately 1,500 feet, 1,800 feet from the dock to where overflight had occurred, and just less than one mile from dock to point of departure.

CROSS-EXAMINATION

Under cross-examination, Inspector Hanson confirmed that he had a few hours in type; he did not consider himself a Norseman pilot.

RESPONDENT'S EVIDENCE

Mr. Lockey testified that he had difficulties with the conversation of August 20, 1995. He said that he had misunderstood the question about low flight. It was thought to mean low by the lodge and not low over the boat. A boat from a lodge other than the one he worked for would be of no interest to himself. Passage of the lodge was said to be by more than 500 feet. Flight through the narrows had been to avoid the lodge.

Temperatures had been in the 90 to 100 degree range "those days." Wind was noted as 12 to 15 knots. Unlike many Norsemen, this aircraft was metal skinned on the fuselage. Although still legal, the prop was high time (understood to mean the propeller was approaching overhaul time). The aircraft was reported to fly similarly when loaded or unloaded and to be a "bit of a dog." Reference to flying characteristics in comparison to Beavers and Otters was made.

Two maps were received as Exhibit D-1. The flight path and boat location were marked on the exhibit.

Mr. Lockey said that, once airborne, getting the nose down for cooling was necessary. Engine temperatures were close to the red line. Retracting the flaps caused the aircraft to descend. This aircraft of 1947 design was then flown through the narrows at midpoint, with the boat passing off the left side. Although the destination of Joyce Lake is almost due east, flight over the trees, hill and lodge of the island was avoided.

Entered as Exhibit D-2 was a letter from Mr. Booi. An objection was raised by Inspector Hiscock to the acceptance of the letter dated August 13, 1995. A discussion by all parties took place. It was noted that the letter would be received but given due weight, as it was not sworn evidence. Mr. Booi is the owner of the lodges at departure point and destination. He claimed to have been a witness to the boat passage.

Mr. Lockey attempted to enter paragraphs 534(6)(a) and (b) of the Air Regulations; however, only after a current issue had been supplied and reviewed was this regulation received as Exhibit D-3.

534(6) A person may, over non populous areas or over open water, fly an aircraft at a lower altitude than that specified in paragraph (2)(b) where

(a) the flight is conducted without creating a hazard to persons or property; and

(b) except for an aircraft operated in accordance with subsection (4) or (5), the aircraft is not flown at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure.

Mr. Lockey said that he had complied with the above regulation. Measurements by the Respondent indicate 800 to 900 feet between the boat and himself. Further he believed the boat was about 1,500 feet from Inspector Hanson. The boat was closer to Cat Island than indicated by the Minister. A reading of subsection 101(1) of the Air Regulations by Mr. Lockey was presented:

"taking off", in respect of an aircraft, means the act of abandoning a supporting surface and includes the immediately preceding and following acts and . . .

He was taking off according to Mr. Lockey.

CROSS-EXAMINATION

Under cross-examination, Mr. Lockey agreed that the metal-covered Norseman was actually lighter than the all-fabric models. However, he said that he was not sure whether it was the rigging wings or what, but the performance had been changed. It was revealed also that the engine was the same as used in an Otter, and that the Norseman should be compared with the Otter rather than the Beaver. Questions regarding cooling techniques followed. Completion of the take-off phase of flight was next explored, and agreed that it was complete.

Mr. Lockey stated that he considered the conversation with Inspector Hanson to be a bad one. He said he was nervous and had not "investigated" the matter.

The temperature at that time of day was next explored. Mr. Lockey then admitted that he could have been 800 to 1,000 feet as he went by the boat. As destination was very close, it did not meet his needs to seek such performance. The turn was downwind. Pushing the nose down was natural. It was also appropriate to stay over water and away from the lodge on Cat Island.

APPLICANT'S SUMMATION

Inspector Hiscock summarized by providing interpretation of section 534 of the Air Regulations, the Minister's responsibilities, and those of the pilot. He went on to describe offence categories. It was suggested that due diligence had not been exercised as the pilot had numerous options according to the Case Presenter. Furthermore, a voluntary statement by Mr. Lockey regarding distance from the boat corroborated the observation of Inspector Hanson. On a balance of probabilities, it was felt, the case had been proven. The amount of the penalty is the minimum allowed in this situation.

A final word cited several fatal accidents over the past few years where low flight diverted the pilot's attention when it should have been otherwise.

RESPONDENT'S SUMMATION

Mr. Lockey described the departure of the flight in question. He said that, while avoiding Cat Island and remaining over the water at all times at a relatively low altitude, he maintained airspeed, temperature and visibility. Procedure was to remain over water as much as possible as well as keeping the temperatures down and the visibility up. The boat was noticed and was passed with the vessel off to the left. After speaking with Inspector Hanson and discovering the narrows to be about 1,800 feet, the conclusion was that the boat was passed by about 900 feet. The straight on sighting by the observer would tend to "bunch things up." Again Mr. Lockey stated he was very nervous when speaking to the investigator. Until he himself investigated further, he did not realize what was being said. "In that situation (the conversation with Inspector Hanson) my judgement of distances was fairly poor." The distances were considered safe however. A final comment was that the boat was assumed to be from Cat Island Lodge, and that having a competitor upset with his customer would not be desirable. Mr. Lockey believed he was at least 500 feet.

ANALYSIS

Of significance is Inspector Hanson's proximity to the overflight. His experience too is a consideration. Certainly the very nature of that experience well qualifies him to assess distances. The "oh no" comment is indicative of impending consequence of concern. The ability to anticipate the event and commence early reference to landmarks is noteworthy.

The flight paths and boat location marked on maps submitted by the Applicant and the Respondent are similar, with only enough variances to be legal or illegal. Careful study of all maps leads me to believe that Inspector Hanson was best able to determine positions with greatest accuracy. With the relatively short distances involved, I do not consider the illusion of "bunching up" to be a factor. Even using the route depicted by Mr. Lockey, and considering the proximity of the boat depicted by Inspector Hanson, there would only exist approximately 100 feet between an infraction and not. It has been testified however, that flight was directly over the boat. Had the Norseman been off to the side, then the distance would have been proportionate to the height given.

I find it remarkable there was a requirement for descent when it occurred. It may have been more prudent to land if engine temperature was that critical under the given conditions. As discussed, other techniques were available to keep temperatures within the normal range. Except for a change to groundspeed and illusions created by drift, I do not accept the wind as significant.

Regardless of certification timeframe or date of manufacturing, an airworthy aircraft can be expected to perform as specified in the limitations.

Regarding the letter from Mr. Booi, it is exactly that. Unfortunately it is not a sworn affidavit or testimony. There existed no opportunity to cross-examine his information. He was also almost one mile away. Although he mentions binoculars being used in the past, he does not say that they were used in this instance. I accept his information as presented, but do not consider it to have the same strength as Inspector Hanson's evidence.

With regard to paragraphs 534(6)(a) and (b) of the Air Regulations, I do not see a defence, only conditional requirements. If it were found that Mr. Lockey was more than 500 feet from the boat, the allegation would be dismissed.

Subsection 101(1) of the Air Regulations is dismissed, as the flight was no longer in the take-off phase of flight. In fact once the flaps were retracted and the power reduced, the enroute climb had been entered. After levelling, the cruise phase came about. When a descent commenced, yet the next legal phase had begun.

I can understand any nervousness of Mr. Lockey, but he was advised, which he acknowledged, that he was not required to make a statement. The statement of passing the boat by 150 to 200 feet is by itself an admission of infraction.

There is no contest regarding pilot or aircraft identification.

DETERMINATION

Considering all evidence presented, and on a balance of probabilities, I find Mr. Glen William Lockey contravened paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations and therefore confirm the Minister's Assessment of Monetary Penalty of $500.00.

I draw Mr. Lockey's attention to section 8.3 of the Aeronautics Act which he may find to be of benefit in due course.

I thank all participants for their meaningful presentations.

Ken Clarke
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1169-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP-6504-P352412-027043 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Glen William Lockey, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., chap. A-2, art. 8.3
Règlements de l'air, C.R.C. de 1978, chap. 2, par. 101(1), al. 534(2)b)

Vol à basse altitude


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Ken Clarke


Décision : le 28 février 1996

TRADUCTION

Je conclus que M. Glen William Lockey a contrevenu à l'alinéa 543(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air. Je confirme par conséquent la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 500,00 $. Le paiement de l'amende devra être versé au Receveur général du Canada et parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la réception de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 20 février 1996 à 10 h au Red Lake Inn de la ville de Red Lake (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Au matin du 23 juillet 1995, l'inspecteur Hanson se trouvait sur le quai d'un camp de pêche d'un lac éloigné pour faire de la surveillance quand il a aperçu un Noorduyn Norseman atterrir près d'un autre camp situé à environ un mile vers l'ouest. Quelques minutes plus tard, le même aéronef a décollé vers l'ouest pour ensuite monter puis tourner vers la droite à environ 235 degrés. Après s'être redressé à environ 300 pieds, l'aéronef a descendu et a survolé de près un bateau de pêche. Le bateau était à environ 1 800 pieds de l'inspecteur. Une enquête sur l'événement a donné lieu à l'amende minimale de 500,00 $.

L'Avis d'amende pour contravention se lit comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu :

à l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air alors que le 23 juillet 1995, vers 7 h 32, sur ou près de Trout Lake (Ontario) vous avez illégalement piloté un aéronef Noorduyn UC64AS portant les marques d'immatriculation C-FJEC à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé dans un rayon de 500 pieds de l'aéronef.

(...)

La somme de 500,00 $ doit être versée au complet, d'ici le 22 novembre 1995 ...

Il a été établi qu'aucune rencontre ni entente ni autre affaire n'avaient eu lieu ou n'avaient été portées à mon attention.

LA PREUVE DU REQUÉRANT

L'inspecteur Hanson a été témoin de la violation alléguée. Il a fait état de son expérience en pilotage et rapporté de façon très claire les faits du matin du 23 juillet 1995. On a présenté une petite carte géographique très utile (pièce M-1) et une autre carte à deux échelles (pièce M-2).

L'examen des cartes nous indique que l'inspecteur se trouvait dans la baie sud-ouest d'une île. La pointe sud-ouest de l'île et une péninsule de la terre ferme forment un détroit d'environ 1 500 pieds. À la hauteur de la pointe, l'île et la terre ferme divergent vers le nord. Le tracé du vol ainsi que l'emplacement du quai et du bateau figurent sur la carte.

Vers 0710 (7 h 10), un avion à flotteurs Norseman s'est posé près d'un camp à mi-chemin en direction ouest entre la terre ferme et l'inspecteur. Au même moment, un bateau de pêche se dirigeait vers le détroit. Environ quinze minute après s'être posé, l'aéronef s'est dirigé vers l'ouest et s'est élevé rapidement. Il a effectué un virage à droite d'environ 235 degrés en montant et s'est redressé vers 300 pieds. Puis il a amorcé une descente et s'est tourné délicatement vers le bateau. L'inspecteur Hanson a fait remarquer que son regard alternait entre le bateau et l'aéronef et qu'il se disait : « Oh! Non! »

Son expérience des violations lors de vols à basse altitude l'a fait chercher des points de repère et voyant ce qui allait se produire, il a relevé plusieurs détails.

Il semble que l'aéronef ait survolé directement le bateau à environ 30 pieds. L'envergure de l'aéronef et la longueur du bateau correspondaient à peu près à la hauteur du Norseman. Le bateau comptait deux passagers. Après le passage du bateau en direction sud-est, le Noorduyn a monté quelque peu et a disparu derrière les arbres. L'aéronef portait les couleurs de Sabourin Airways et on estime qu'il est le seul de cette couleur.

Plus tard ce jour-là, l'inspecteur Hanson a atterri à la base Sabourin et a remarqué que le même aéronef Norseman s'y trouvait. Il s'est renseigné sur le pilote et les vols de l'aéronef ce jour-là. Il a tiré une copie de la page appropriée du carnet de route qui constitue la pièce M-3 présentée aujourd'hui. Les heures, la date, les destinations et la charge correspondaient aux observations qu'il avait faites précédemment.

Le 20 août 1995, M. Hanson a rencontré M. Lockey et lui a adressé la parole en le prévenant qu'il n'avait pas à lui répondre. M. Lockey a souligné qu'il n'avait pas passé directement au-dessus du bateau mais qu'il était plutôt à 150 ou 200 pieds. Au moment de l'entretien, M. Lockey s'est montré très coopératif.

Le 30 janvier 1996, on a pris une photographie du secteur de l'incident à Trout Lake (pièce M-4). Les mesures indiquent que le détroit mesure environ 1 500 pieds, qu'il y a 1 800 pieds entre le quai et l'endroit du survol et un peu moins d'un mile entre le quai et le point de départ.

CONTRE-INTERROGATOIRE

En contre-interrogatoire, l'inspecteur Hanson a déclaré qu'il comptait quelques heures de vol sur ce type d'aéronef et qu'il ne se considérait pas comme un pilote de Norseman.

LA PREUVE DE L'INTIMÉ

M. Lockey a déclaré que la conversation du 20 août 1995 lui posait des difficultés et qu'il avait mal compris la question sur le vol à basse altitude. Il croyait qu'on parlait de basse altitude au-dessus du camp et non pas au-dessus du bateau. Tout bateau d'un camp autre que celui pour lequel il travaillait ne présentait aucun intérêt pour lui. Il est passé à plus de 500 pieds du camp et a survolé le détroit pour éviter le camp.

Ces jours-là, la température se situait entre 90 et 100 degrés et les vents étaient de 12 à 15 noeuds. Le revêtement du fuselage est en métal, ce qui est inhabituel pour un Norseman. Quoique l'hélice soit toujours en bon état, le temps de sa révision était presque arrivé. On a signalé que l'aéronef, qu'il soit chargé ou non, était plutôt « bête ». On a même comparé son vol à celui des Beavers ou des Otters. Deux cartes ont été présentées constituant la pièce D-1. Le tracé du vol et l'endroit du bateau figurent sur la pièce.

M. Lockey a déclaré qu'une fois dans les airs, il devait pointer le nez de l'avion vers le bas pour le refroidir. La température du moteur atteignait sa limite supérieure. La rentrée des volets a produit une baisse de l'aéronef dont la conception remonte à 1947. Ensuite, l'aéronef a survolé le milieu du détroit, le bateau à sa gauche. Bien que le lac Joyce se trouve directement à l'est, le pilote a voulu éviter de survoler les arbres, la colline et le camp de l'île.

On a présenté la pièce D-2, une lettre de M. Booi. L'inspecteur Hiscock s'est objecté à l'acceptation de la lettre datée du 13 août 1995. Il y a eu échange entre toutes les parties et on a décidé d'accepter la lettre mais sous toutes réserves puisqu'elle ne constituait pas une preuve assermentée. M. Booi est propriétaire des camps des points de départ et d'arrivée. Il prétend avoir été témoin du passage du bateau.

M. Lockey a tenté de présenter les alinéas 534(6)a) et b) du Règlement de l'Air, mais seule une version courante et révisée a été acceptée comme pièce D-3.

534(6) Une personne peut, au-dessus d'une région à faible densité de population ou au-dessus d'une étendue d'eau, piloter un aéronef à une altitude inférieure à celle prévue à l'alinéa (2)b), si
a) elle le fait sans mettre en danger les personnes ou les biens se trouvant au sol; et
b) l'aéronef vole à une distance d'au moins 500 pieds de toute personne ou de tout bateau, véhicule ou structure, sauf dans le cas d'un aéronef exploité selon les paragraphes (4) ou (5).

M. Lockey déclare s'être conformé au règlement ci-dessus. Les mesures prises par l'intimé indiquent 800 à 900 pieds entre lui et le bateau. De plus, il croit que le bateau était à environ 1 500 pieds de l'inspecteur Hanson. Le bateau était plus près de Cat Island que ne l'indique le ministre. M. Lockey a cité le paragraphe 101(1) du Règlement de l'Air :

« décollage », relativement à un aéronef, désigne l'action de quitter une surface d'appui et comprend les opérations qui précèdent et suivent immédiatement cette action;

M. Lockey estime qu'il décollait.

CONTRE-INTERROGATOIRE

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Lockey a admis que le Norseman recouvert de métal était en fait plus léger que les modèles tout-tissus. Il a cependant ajouté que sans trop savoir si on pouvait imputer le fait au haubanage des ailes, le rendement avait changé. Il a expliqué que le moteur était le même que celui d'un Otter et que le Norseman pouvait se comparer au Otter plutôt qu'au Beaver. On a ensuite discuté des techniques de refroidissement puis on a revu les phases de décollage avant de conclure.

M. Lockey a signalé qu'il estimait que sa conversation avec l'inspecteur Hanson n'était pas appropriée parce qu'il était nerveux et n'avait pas réfléchi à la situation.

On a ensuite discuté de la température à ce moment de la journée. M. Lockey a admis qu'il avait pu passer à 800 ou 1 000 pieds du bateau. Sa destination étant très rapprochée, il n'avait pas à accomplir une telle performance. Son virage était vent arrière. Le fait que le nez de l'aéronef pointe vers le bas était normal. Il était également approprié de demeurer au-dessus de l'eau et à l'écart du camp de Cat Island.

RÉSUMÉ DU REQUÉRANT

L'inspecteur Hiscock a résumé l'affaire en donnant une interprétation de l'article 534 du Règlement de l'Air, des responsabilités du ministre et de celles du pilote. Il a poursuivi en décrivant les catégories d'infractions. Il a signalé que le pilote n'avait pas pris les mesures nécessaires puisque selon lui, il avait plusieurs autres options. De plus, une déclaration volontaire de la part de M. Lockey concernant la distance du bateau a corroboré les faits observés par l'inspecteur Hanson. Selon la prépondérance des probabilités, on estimait la preuve faite. Le montant de l'amende correspond au minimum exigé dans un tel cas.

On a fait mention de plusieurs accidents mortels survenus dans les dernières années où le vol à basse altitude avait détourné l'attention du pilote alors qu'il aurait dû en être autrement.

RÉSUMÉ DE L'INTIMÉ

M. Lockey a décrit le départ du vol en question. Il a dit qu'en évitant Cat Island et en demeurant au-dessus de l'eau à une altitude relativement basse, il conservait une vitesse et une température appropriées et conservait sa visibilité. Il tentait de demeurer au-dessus de l'eau dans la mesure du possible tout en maintenant sa température basse et une bonne visibilité. Il a aperçu le bateau qu'il a dépassé en le maintenant sur sa gauche. Après sa conversation avec l'inspecteur Hanson, il a conclu que le détroit mesurait environ 1 800 pieds et qu'il était passé à environ 900 pieds du bateau. L'observation du détroit en ligne tend à déformer les perspectives. M. Lockey a répété qu'il était très nerveux au moment de sa conversation avec l'enquêteur. Jusqu'à ce qu'il revoie lui-même la question plus à fond, il ne s'est pas rendu compte de ce qui s'était dit. « À ce moment (la conversation), mon évaluation de la distance était relativement faible. » Il a jugé les distances sécuritaires cependant. En guise de commentaire final, il a signalé qu'il avait supposé que le bateau était de Cat Island et qu'il ne souhaitait pas offusquer le client d'un concurrent. M. Lockey a estimé qu'il était au moins à 500 pieds.

ANALYSE

La proximité de l'inspecteur Hanson au moment du survol est un élément très significatif de même que son expérience. La nature même de son expérience lui donne la compétence voulue pour évaluer les distances. Son commentaire « Oh! Non! » indique pleinement son inquiétude. Il faut tenir compte de sa capacité d'anticiper une situation et de remarquer aussitôt les points de repère appropriés.

Les tracés du vol et les marques d'emplacement du bateau soumis par le requérant et l'intimé sont semblables, sauf que dans un cas, la distance est légale et dans l'autre, elle ne l'est pas. L'examen attentif de toutes les cartes me porte à croire que l'inspecteur Hanson est le plus en mesure de déterminer les positions avec précision. À cause des petites distances en cause, j'estime que « la déformation des perspectives » n'est pas un facteur à retenir. L'acceptation du tracé de la route présenté par M. Lockey et la proximité du bateau selon les données de l'inspecteur Hanson résultent en 100 pieds de différence entre la présence d'une infraction ou non. Le témoignage a démontré cependant que le vol s'était effectué directement au-dessus du bateau. Si le Norseman avait été sur le côté, la distance aurait été proportionnelle à la hauteur citée.

J'estime étonnant qu'il ait fallu effectuer une descente. Il aurait peut-être été plus prudent d'atterrir si la température du moteur était critique dans les circonstances. On a mentionné qu'il était possible d'utiliser d'autres techniques pour garder la température normale. Sauf en ce qui concerne un changement de la vitesse au sol et les illusions créées par la dérive, je n'accepte pas le vent comme facteur significatif.

Sans égard au temps écoulé depuis la certification ou la date de fabrication, un aéronef en état de navigabilité doit fournir un rendement conforme aux spécifications.

Quant à la lettre de M. Booi, il faut la considérer comme telle; elle n'est malheureusement pas une déclaration sous serment ni un témoignage et il n'y a pas eu d'occasion de contre-interroger sa déclaration. De plus, il se trouvait à environ un mile de distance. Bien qu'il mentionne l'utilisation de jumelles dans le passé, il ne déclare pas en avoir utilisé dans le cas qui nous occupe. J'accepte l'information qu'il présente mais je ne lui accorde pas la même force qu'à la preuve de l'inspecteur Hanson.

En ce qui concerne les alinéas 534(6)a) et b) du Règlement de l'Air, je n'y vois pas une défense mais seulement des conditions. S'il avait été prouvé que M. Lockey était à plus de 500 pieds du bateau, le fait reproché aurait été rejeté.

Le paragraphe 101(1) du Règlement de l'Air est rejeté puisque le vol n'était plus dans sa phase de décollage. En fait, une fois les volets rétractés et la puissance réduite, la vitesse de monté en route était établie. Après la mise à niveau, la phase de croisière s'était amorcée. Quand la descente a commencé, on était entré dans une autre phase.

Je peux comprendre la nervosité de M. Lockey mais il avait été prévenu, et il l'a reconnu, qu'il n'avait pas à faire de déclaration. Il a déclaré être passé à 150 ou 200 pieds du bateau, admettant par le fait même son infraction.

Il n'y a aucune contestation sur l'identification du pilote ou de l'aéronef.

DÉCISION

Compte tenu des preuves présentées et selon la prépondérance des probabilités, je conclus que M. Glen William Lockey a contrevenu à l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air et je confirme par conséquent l'amende pour contravention de 500,00 $ imposée par le ministre.

J'attire l'attention de M. Lockey sur l'article 8.3 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique qu'il jugera peut-être utile en temps opportun.

Je remercie tous les intervenants de leur exposé judicieux.

Ken Clarke
Conseiller 
Tribunal de l'aviation civile