Decisions

CAT File No. C-1253-02
MoT File No. RAP 6504-P319842-027717

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Massimo Santarossa, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2, s. 6.9
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, s. 540.2(2)

Ice on critical surfaces of an aircraft


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: June 21, 1996

THAT THE EVIDENCE PRESENTED AT THIS HEARING IS INCONCLUSIVE AND I THEREFORE SET ASIDE AND CANCEL THE SUSPENSION IMPOSED ON CAPT. SANTAROSSA BY THE MINISTER.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, June 19, 1996 at 10:00 hours at the Court House, in Kenora, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On December 14, 1995, Capt. Massimo Santarossa was pilot-in-command of Beechcraft Travelaire C-GQQC. He did a visual contact approach and landed at Kenora at 0107 hours GMT after a flight from Dryden. There was light snow at the field, and the temperature was -10°C, with a surface wind of 280/08 G15, with drifting snow. Capt. Santarossa observed that there was a buildup of rime ice on the critical surfaces of the aircraft, and set about a de-icing and anti-icing procedure. He was offered help by the Shell representative, but declined, opting to do it himself.

Based on the reports from two key witnesses, via the Flight Service Manager at Kenora, Transport Canada carried out an investigation and suspended Capt. Santarossa's Commercial Pilot Licence for 7 days as stated in the following Notice of Suspension:

Pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to suspend the above indicated Canadian aviation document on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Air Regulation 540.2(2) in that, at approximately 0129 hours U.T.C. on December 15, 1995 at or near Kenora, Ontario, you did unlawfully take off in an aircraft, to wit, Beech D95A, registration C-GQQC, when frost, ice or snow was adhering to the critical surfaces of the aircraft.

Capt. Santarossa requested a Review Hearing before the Tribunal, which is the subject of this review determination.

THE LAW

Subsection 540.2(2) of the Air Regulations states:

(2) No person shall take off or attempt to take off in an aircraft that has frost, ice or snow adhering to any of its critical surfaces.

EVIDENCE

Capt. Santarossa testified that he used a two-stage process, first removing the ice with hot water obtained from the Transport Canada garage, followed by spraying the aircraft's critical surfaces with a hot solution of type 1 ethylene glycol from a pressurized spray can which he carried on board the aircraft. He satisfied himself that the aircraft was properly de-iced and proceeded briefly into the airport building. He then returned to the aircraft, stowed his anti-icing sprayer in the aircraft and returned the 5-gallon bucket to the TC garage. He did a pre-flight inspection of the aircraft, satisfied himself that it was safe and departed 21 minutes after landing.

Mr. Brian Kardal, the supervisor of the TC garage, testified that, at some time while the aircraft was on the ramp, he came out to see what had happened to his 5-gallon bucket and found it alongside of C-GQQC, together with a pressurized spray can. He said that while he was there he felt the undersurface of the right wing and felt what he judged to be globules of ice about 18 inches aft of the leading edge. He did not see or notice ice anywhere else on the aircraft. He could not say whether this was before or after Capt. Santarossa had carried out his de-icing/anti-icing procedures, but was concerned enough that he went inside and reported the matter to the Flight Service Manager. He said that he did not actually see ice, but felt what he judged to be ice on the lower surface of the right wing near the wing tip.

In response to questions as to whether he might have felt hemispherically headed rivets instead of ice, Mr. Kardal was adamant that it was ice that he had felt. Mr. Kardal did not speak to Capt. Santarossa.

The Shell representative, Mr. Maurice Nadon, had offered assistance on the arrival of the aircraft, which was declined. He testified that, when he subsequently returned to the aircraft, he saw ice on the leading edges of both wings, on the spinners and on the windscreen. He also does not know whether the second time he saw the aircraft was after Capt. Santarossa had de-iced it. Mr. Nadon said that, the second time he saw the aircraft, there was less ice on it than when he had first seen it. Between his visits to the aircraft, he had been de-icing Bearskin Airlines aircraft which he said had been heavily encrusted with ice, more so than the Travelaire. He was concerned enough that he went into the terminal to offer his services at no charge to the pilot, but on not finding him, he reported the matter to the Flight Service Manager. He said that a short time later the aircraft departed Kenora. Although the bucket of hot water and the glycol spray tank were observed near to the aircraft, neither witness actually saw when the aircraft was being de-iced.

DISCUSSION

Both Messrs. Nadon and Kardal have been trained in aircraft de-icing and anti-icing procedures, and are critically aware of the dangers of ice accretion on aircraft, especially following the Air Ontario Dryden incident. They both alluded to the fact that this tragedy had made them, more than ever, critically aware of this problem.

While I find the evidence of the two key witnesses for the Minister highly credible and responsible, and I share their concern, they did not actually see the aircraft depart Kenora with ice on its critical surfaces.

It is clear to me that Capt. Santarossa did carry out de-icing and anti-icing procedures on his aircraft that night. It is my impression and opinion that he is well trained and has a responsible attitude towards flying. I consider from the evidence presented that his airmanship is of a high order. Therefore, I find that, on a balance of probabilities, Capt. Santarossa diligently removed the ice from the critical surfaces of his aircraft that night, applied anti-icing glycol fluid to the airframe, and departed expeditiously within the "hold-over" period of the glycol application. He testified that on take-off he observed the glycol streaming back from the leading edge of the wings, which is an indication that the fluid was being effective in preventing the accretion of further ice. I also believe that Capt. Santarossa did a thorough job in removing the ice from the aircraft while it was on the ground.

At the request of Mr. Joseph Barnsley, Counsel for Mr. Santarossa, all present at the hearing visited Kenora airport to view a Beechcraft Baron which has a similar planform to the Travelaire. Mr. Barnsley's prime purpose in requesting the view was to show that water poured onto the wing would fall off it within the confines of the de-icing boot, and would not flow back onto the metal surface where it might freeze. He was seeking to counter Mr. Kardal's evidence as to having felt ice globules under the wing. Capt. Santarossa demonstrated his de-icing procedure on this aircraft, and Mr. Fred Pratt had his key witnesses describe their observations on which they had given evidence. Water was poured onto the wing of the Baron, and it surprised Mr. Barnsley that it ran under the wing, well aft of the point at which he said a similar exercise carried out in Winnipeg had done on the actual aircraft, C-GQQC, the Travelaire. I did not find this exercise contributed to Mr. Barnsley's case, except that incidentally, it did give Capt. Santarossa an opportunity to demonstrate how he had de-iced the aircraft that night. I was impressed that he knew what he was about.

DETERMINATION

I find that the Minister's case against Capt. Santarossa has not been proven because:

1. Neither key witness actually saw the aircraft depart with ice on its critical surfaces. They both testified that they did not know whether the ice they had seen and/or felt on the aircraft had actually been removed by Mr. Santarossa before he departed. Further, neither witness actually saw Capt. Santarossa carrying out his de-icing/anti-icing procedure.

2. Capt. Santarossa did carry out de-icing and anti-icing procedures on the aircraft that night and, on a balance of probabilities, I believe that he did so diligently so as to remove all ice from the critical surfaces of the aircraft, and to apply anti-icing fluid to prevent further accretion of ice prior to and during his take-off from Kenora that night.

I therefore set aside and cancel the penalty imposed on Capt. Santarossa by the Minister.

Philip Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1253-02 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP 6504-P319842-027717 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Massimo Santarossa, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 6.9
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, par. 540.2(2)

Glace sur des surfaces critiques d'un aéronef


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 21 juin 1996

TRADUCTION

La preuve présentée à l'audience est inconcluante et par conséquent, je rejette et annule la suspension imposée par le ministre au commandant Santarossa.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 19 juin 1996 à 10 h au palais de justice de la ville de Kenora (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 14 décembre 1995, le commandant de bord Massimo Santarossa pilotait le Beechcraft Travelaire C-GQQC. Après une approche contact à vue, il a atterri à Kenora à 1 h 07, temps universel, en provenance de Dryden. Le sol était couvert d'une neige légère, la température de –10°C et le vent de surface de 280/08 G15 avec une légère poudrerie. Le commandant Santarossa a remarqué que du givre blanc s'était accumulé sur les surfaces critiques de l'aéronef et il a décidé de suivre les étapes de dégivrage et d'antigivrage appropriées. Un représentant de Shell lui a offert de l'aide qu'il a refusée, choisissant plutôt de faire le travail lui-même.

À la suite des rapports de deux principaux témoins, transmis par l'entremise du directeur des services d'exploitation en vol de Kenora, Transports Canada a mené une enquête et suspendu la licence de pilote professionnel du commandant Santarossa pendant 7 jours, conformément à l'avis de suspension ci-dessous :

En vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de suspendre votre document d'aviation canadien mentionné ci-dessus parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Le paragraphe 540.2(2) du Règlement de l'Air, en ce sens que vers 1 h 29, temps universel coordonné, le 15 décembre 1995 à ou près de Kenora (Ontario), vous avez illégalement décollé dans un aéronef, à savoir un Beech D95A immatriculé C-GQQC alors que du givre, de la glace ou de la neige adhéraient aux surfaces critiques de l'aéronef.

Le commandant Santarossa a demandé une révision devant le Tribunal, révision faisant l'objet de la présente audience.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 540.2(2) du Règlement de l'Air se lit comme suit :

(2) Il est interdit d'effectuer un décollage ou de tenter d'effectuer un décollage si du givre, de la glace ou de la neige adhèrent aux surfaces critiques de l'aéronef.

LA PREUVE

Dans son témoignage, le commandant Santarossa a expliqué qu'il avait utilisé une méthode en deux étapes; il a d'abord enlevé la glace au moyen d'eau chaude qu'il s'est procurée au garage de Transports Canada, puis il a vaporisé les surfaces critiques de l'aéronef d'une solution chaude d'éthylène glycol de type 1 au moyen d'une bombe aérosol qu'il avait à bord de l'aéronef. Après d'être assuré que l'aéronef était convenablement dégivré, il est allé quelques instants dans l'édifice de l'aéroport. À son retour vers l'aéronef, il a rangé le vaporisateur antigivrant dans l'aéronef et a rapporté le contenant de 5 gallons au garage de Transports Canada. Il a effectué l'inspection avant le vol de l'aéronef, a constaté qu'il était sécuritaire et a décollé 21 minutes après son atterrissage.

M. Brian Kardal, superviseur du garage de Transports Canada a déclaré dans son témoignage que, pendant que l'aéronef était sur l'aire de stationnement, il est sorti à la recherche de son contenant de 5 gallons et l'a trouvé près du C-GQQC où il y avait également une bombe aérosol. Il a dit qu'il avait alors touché l'envers de la surface de l'aile droite et a senti ce qu'il a perçu comme des cristaux de glace à environ 18 pouces du bord d'attaque. Il n'a vu ni senti de glace ailleurs sur l'aéronef. Il ne sait pas si c'était avant ou après que le commandant Santarossa eut effectué le dégivrage et l'antigivrage mais la situation le préoccupait suffisamment pour qu'il aille à l'intérieur reporter l'incident au directeur des services d'exploitation en vol. Il a dit qu'il n'avait pas effectivement vu de glace mais estimait qu'il avait senti quelque chose comme de la glace sur la surface inférieure du bout de l'aile droite.

En réponse aux questions lui demandant si ce qu'il avait senti pouvait être des rivets à tête plate et non de la glace, M. Kardal a assuré que c'était de la glace. M. Kardal n'avait pas parlé au commandant Santarossa.

Le représentant de Shell, M. Maurice Nadon, avait offert de l'aide à l'arrivée de l'aéronef mais elle a été déclinée. Il a déclaré que, lorsqu'il est retourné à l'aéronef par la suite, il a vu de la glace sur les bords d'attaque des deux ailes, sur les capots d'hélice et sur le pare-brise. Lui non plus ne sait pas si la deuxième fois qu'il a vu l'aéronef, le commandant avait déjà effectué le dégivrage. M. Nadon a déclaré que la deuxième fois qu'il avait vu l'aéronef, il y avait moins de glace que la première fois. Entre ses déplacements vers l'aéronef, il avait dégivré un aéronef de Bearskin Airlines qui, à ses dires, était fortement givré de glace, encore plus que le Travelaire. La question le préoccupait au point qu'il s'est présenté à l'aérogare comptant offrir gratuitement ses services au pilote mais ne l'ayant pas trouvé, il a signalé l'incident au directeur des services d'exploitation en vol. Il a dit que peu de temps après, l'aéronef a quitté Kenora. Bien que le seau d'eau chaude et la bombe de glycol aient été vus près de l'aéronef, aucun des témoins n'a effectivement vu le dégivrage de l'aéronef.

DISCUSSION

MM. Nadon et Kardal ont tous deux été formés en dégivrage et antigivrage d'aéronefs et sont très au fait des dangers inhérents à l'accumulation de glace sur les aéronefs, surtout depuis l'incident d'Air Ontario Dryden. Ils ont tous deux fait allusion au fait que la tragédie les avait rendus encore plus conscients du problème.

Tout en constatant la crédibilité de la preuve présentée par les deux principaux témoins du ministre, jugeant leur attitude responsable partageant leur préoccupation, ils n'ont tout de même pas effectivement vu l'aéronef quitter Kenora, les surfaces critiques recouvertes de glace.

Il est évident que le commandant Santarossa a effectué les travaux de dégivrage et d'antigivrage sur son aéronef cette nuit-là. J'estime et je crois qu'il est bien formé et qu'il démontre une attitude responsable envers le pilotage. La preuve présentée révèle son aptitude au pilotage d'ordre supérieur. Par conséquent, j'estime que, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, le commandant Santarossa a soigneusement enlevé la glace des surfaces critiques de son aéronef cette nuit-là, a appliqué du glycol antigivrant et a décollé promptement dans les limites d'efficacité du glycol. Il a déclaré que, durant le décollage, il a remarqué les coulées de glycol sur les bords d'attaque des ailes, ce qui indique l'efficacité du fluide dans la prévention de l'accumulation d'autre glace. Je crois aussi que le commandant Santarossa a complètement enlevé la glace de l'aéronef pendant qu'il était au sol.

À la demande de Me Joseph Barnsley, avocat de M. Santarossa, toutes les personnes présentes à l'audience se sont rendues à l'aéroport de Kenora pour voir un Beechcraft Baron de forme plane semblable au Travelaire. L'objectif principal de Me Barnsley en présentant cette demande était de démontrer que l'eau versée sur l'aile tombait dans les limites de la gaine de dégivrage et non sur le métal où elle aurait pu geler. Il cherchait à défaire la preuve de M. Kardal prétendant qu'il avait senti des cristaux de glace sous l'aile. Le commandant Santarossa a démontré sa méthode de dégivrage sur l'aéronef et M. Fred Pratt a demandé à ses témoins principaux de commenter les faits qu'il avaient présentés en témoignage. On a versé de l'eau sur l'aile du Baron et Me Barnsley a été surpris de constater qu'elle coulait sous l'aile, beaucoup plus loin que le point réel d'un exercice semblable qu'il avait effectué précédemment à Winnipeg sur le Travelaire C-GQQC. Je n'ai pas jugé que l'exercice aidait la cause de Me Barnsley mais par contre, il a permis au commandant Santarossa de démontrer de quelle façon il avait dégivré l'aéronef cette nuit-là et j'ai pu constater son expertise dans le domaine.

DÉCISION

J'estime que le ministre n'apporte aucune preuve concluante dans le cas de M. Santarossa puisque :

1. Ni l'un ni l'autre des témoins principaux n'a vu effectivement l'aéronef décoller, les surfaces critiques couvertes de glace. Ils ont tous deux dit qu'ils ne savaient pas si la glace qu'ils avaient vue/sentie avait été enlevée par Santarossa avant qu'il reparte. De plus, ni l'un ni l'autre n'a effectivement vu M. Santarossa accomplir les activités de dégivrage/antigivrage.

2. Le commandant Santarossa a effectué un dégivrage/antigivrage cette nuit-là sur l'aéronef et, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, je crois qu'il l'a fait consciencieusement de façon à éliminer toute glace des surfaces critiques de l'aéronef et qu'il a appliqué de liquide antigivrant pour prévenir toute accumulation de glace éventuelle avant et durant son décollage de Kenora cette nuit-là.

Par conséquent, je rejette et annule l'amende imposée au commandant Santarossa par le ministre.

Philip Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile