Decisions

CAT File No. C-1354-33
MoT File No. RAP-6504-P-124530-028502

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Leo Larry Hiebert, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, ss. 7.7, 7.9(2)
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c.2, s. 218(c)

Unsecured Cargo


Review Determination
Robert L. Mortimer


Decision: May 9, 1997

The Minister's allegation is confirmed. The monetary penalty of $500.00 shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and forwarded to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days following service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, April 29, 1997 at 13:00 hours at the City Hall in the city of Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.

BACKGROUND

A Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty was forwarded to Mr. Larry Hiebert from Mr. D.J. Peever, Regional Director, Prairie and Northern Region, Transport Canada, on September 6, 1996. The Notice reads in part:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Air Regulation 218(c) in that, at approximately 2130 local hours on July 13, 1996, at or near Selwyn Lake, Saskatchewan, being the pilot-in-command of a DeHavilland DHC-3 aircraft bearing Canadian registration marks C-FSGD, you did unlawfully operate the aircraft when the equipment and cargo carried on board was not secured so as to prevent shifting in flight.

The total assessed penalty of $500.00 must be paid on or before October 11, 1996...

As the monetary penalty was not paid by the specified date, the Civil Aviation Tribunal issued a Notice of Review Hearing on February 6, 1997.

HEARING PROCEEDING

Neither the document holder, Mr. Hiebert, nor his counsel, Mr. Irwin Carson, appeared for the hearing at 13:00 hours. After it was confirmed by Mr. Carson's office that he would not be attending, the hearing commenced at 13:20 hours in accordance with subsection 7.9(2) of the Aeronautics Act to hear the Minister's presentation on the alleged contravention.

THE LAW

Paragraph 218(c) of the Air Regulations states:

218. No person shall fly or attempt to fly any aircraft unless

(...)

(c) the equipment and any cargo carried are secured so as to prevent shifting in flight and are not so placed as to block or restrict the exit of passengers in an emergency;

EVIDENCE

The Case Presenting Officer for the Minister of Transport, Mr. Brown, called as a witness Inspector Richard Gagnon of Aviation Enforcement, Central Region, Transport Canada. Mr. Gagnon testified that on July 13, 1996 he was at Selwyn Lake, Saskatchewan as part of an annual surveillance program. At approximately 21:20 hours he watched a float aircraft land on the lake. The aircraft was C-FSGD and the pilot-in-command was Mr. Leo Hiebert.

Inspector Gagnon stated that when the cargo door of the aircraft was opened he observed several articles in the cargo compartment that were not properly secured to the aircraft. The main item was a large chest freezer sitting inside the door unsecured, in addition to which a number of cartons of beer and other supplies were on the left side of the cabin forward without being secured in any way.

Mr. Gagnon also observed three 205-litre gasoline drums on the right side of the cabin which were secured with a single rope. In addition, several small unsecured items were under the pilot's seat. Mr. Gagnon spoke with Mr. Hiebert about the matter of an unsecured load, subsequent to which C-FSGD departed Selwyn Lake at 22:25 hours.

Exhibit M-1 is the Central Region Conformity Check form and notes related to Inspector Gagnon's observations about C-FSGD on July 13, 1996. Exhibit M-2 is a copy of the Certificate of Registration for C-FSGD. Exhibit M-3 is a copy of the Aircraft Journey Log and Daily Flight Report for C-FSGD on July 13, 1996, showing Mr. Hiebert as the pilot-in-command on that date.

Exhibit M-4 is a series of three photos of the cargo on board C-FSGD taken at the site by Inspector Gagnon. They show the unsecured freezer in the doorway, unsecured cartons of beer and other supplies on the left side of the cabin floor, and three fuel drums on the right side of the cabin floor secured by a single rope to the cabin wall. Two ropes that had not been used for securing the cargo are also seen in the photos of the aircraft's cabin, but no other cargo nets or ropes were observed by Mr. Gagnon. He confirmed the pictures accurately depicted what he had seen in the cabin of C-FSGD on July 13, 1996.

ARGUMENT

Mr. Brown stated he had established that the aircraft observed by Inspector Gagnon at Selwyn Lake on July 13, 1996 was C-FSGD, and the pilot-in-command was Mr. Hiebert. He had also shown that a chest freezer and a number of cartons of supplies were on board the aircraft without being secured to prevent their shifting in flight, and that the three fuel drums were not adequately tied down in the aircraft. He maintained this failure to properly secure the load violated aviation safety and paragraph 218(c) of the Air Regulations.

CONCLUSION

The evidence presented by Mr. Brown is compelling. Without any form of a tie down or other means of securing them in place, the freezer and the cartons would be susceptible to turbulence or other forces which could have caused them to move while the aircraft was in flight. The security of the fuel drums, although tied with a single rope, would appear to be questionable. In the absence of any countering evidence or argument from Mr. Hiebert, I find that paragraph 218(c) of the Air Regulations was contravened by Mr. Hiebert as alleged.

DETERMINATION

The Minister's allegation and the monetary penalty of $500.00 are confirmed.

Robert L. Mortimer
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1354-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP-6504-P-124530-028502 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Leo Larry Hiebert, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 7.7, 7.9(2)
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. de 1978, chap. 2, art. 218c)

Cargaison non arrimée


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Robert L. Mortimer


Décision : le 9 mai 1997

TRADUCTION

Les faits reprochés par le ministre des Transports sont confirmés. Le paiement de l'amende de 500 $, fait à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada, doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 29 avril 1997 à 13 h à l'hôtel de ville de la ville de Prince Albert (Saskatchewan).

HISTORIQUE

Le 6 septembre 1996, M. D.J. Peever, directeur régional, région des Prairies et du Nord, Transports Canada, transmettait à M. Larry Hiebert un avis d'amende pour contravention. Cet avis se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu à la disposition suivante :

L'alinéa 218c) du Règlement de l'Air, en ce sens que le 13 juillet 1996, à environ 21 h 30 heure locale à Selwyn Lake (Saskatchewan) ou près de cet endroit, à titre de commandant de bord d'un aéronef DeHavilland DHC-3 portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-FSGD, vous avez illégalement piloté l'aéronef alors que l'équipement et la cargaison à bord n'étaient pas assujettis de façon qu'ils ne puissent se déplacer pendant le vol.

L'amende imposée de 500,00 $ doit être payée au plus tard le 11 octobre 1996....

Étant donné que l'amende n'a pas été payée à la date précisée, le Tribunal de l'aviation civile a délivré un avis d'audience en révision le 6 février 1997.

AUDITION DE L'INSTANCE

Ni le titulaire du document, M. Hiebert, ni son avocat, M. Irwin Carson, ne se sont présentés à l'audience à 13 h. Après confirmation auprès du bureau de M. Carson que ce dernier ne se présenterait pas, l'audience a débuté à 13 h 20 conformément à l'application du paragraphe 7.9(2) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique afin d'entendre la présentation du ministre relativement à la contravention prétendue.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 218c) du Règlement de l'Air prévoit ce qui suit :

218. Nul ne pourra piloter ni tenter de piloter un aéronef, à moins que ne soient remplies les conditions suivantes :

(...)

c) l'équipement et, le cas échéant, la cargaison seront assujettis de façon qu'ils ne puissent se déplacer pendant le vol, et ils ne seront pas placés de manière à empêcher ou à entraver l'évacuation des passagers en cas d'urgence;

PREUVE

M. Brown, l'agent chargé de présenter le cas pour le ministre des Transports, a appelé à témoigner l'inspecteur Richard Gagnon de l'Application de la Loi de l'aviation, région centrale, Transports Canada. Dans son témoignage, M. Gagnon a indiqué que le 13 juillet 1996, il était à Selwyn Lake (Saskatchewan) dans le cadre d'un programme annuel de surveillance. Vers 21 h 20, il a regardé un hydravion se poser sur le lac. L'aéronef était le C-FSGD et M. Leo Hiebert faisait fonction de commandant de bord.

L'inspecteur Gagnon a indiqué que lorsque la porte de soute s'est ouverte, il a remarqué que plusieurs articles dans la soute n'étaient pas correctement assujettis à l'aéronef. Le principal article était un grand congélateur horizontal à l'intérieur de la porte non assujetti, en plus d'un certain nombre de caisses de bières et autres provisions du côté gauche de la soute avant qui n'étaient aucunement assujettis.

M. Gagnon a également remarqué trois fûts d'essence de 205 litres du côté droit de la soute qui étaient assujettis à l'aide d'une corde simple. En outre, plusieurs petits articles non assujettis étaient sous le siège du pilote. M. Gagnon a parlé à M. Hiebert d'une charge non assujettie, à la suite de quoi le C-FSGD a quitté Selwyn Lake à 22 h 25.

La pièce M-1 est le formulaire de conformité de la région centrale ainsi que des notes relatives aux observations de l'inspecteur Gagnon au sujet du C-FSGD le 13 juillet 1996. La pièce M-2 est une copie du certificat d'immatriculation du C-FSGD. La pièce M-3 est une copie du carnet de route d'aéronef et du registre quotidien des vols du C-FSGD pour le 13 juillet 1996, indiquant que M. Hiebert faisait fonction de commandant de bord de l'aéronef à cette date.

La pièce M-4 est un jeu de trois photos de la cargaison à bord du C-FSGD prises sur place par l'inspecteur Gagnon. Elles montrent le congélateur non assujetti dans l'entrée de porte, les caisses de bière et autres provisions non assujetties sur le plancher du côté gauche de la soute et trois fûts d'essence du côté droit de la soute retenus par une corde simple à la paroi de la soute. On peut voir également sur les photos de la soute de l'aéronef deux cordes qui n'ont pas servi à fixer la cargaison, mais M. Gagnon n'a vu aucune autre corde ou aucun autre filet d'arrimage du fret. Il a confirmé que les photographies représentent avec exactitude ce qu'il a vu dans la soute du C-FSGD le 13 juillet 1996.

OBSERVATIONS

M. Brown a déclaré qu'il avait démontré que l'aéronef observé par l'inspecteur Gagnon à Selwyn Lake le 13 juillet 1996 était le C-FSGD et que M. Hiebert faisait fonction de commandant de bord. Il avait également démontré qu'un congélateur horizontal et un certain nombre de caisses de provisions étaient à bord de l'aéronef, mais n'avaient pas été assujettis de façon à prévenir leur déplacement en vol; et que les trois fûts de carburant n'étaient pas adéquatement arrimés à l'aéronef. Il a soutenu que le fait de ne pas assujettir correctement la charge contrevenait à la sécurité aérienne et à l'alinéa 218c) du Règlement de l'Air.

CONCLUSION

La preuve présentée par M. Brown est probante. S'ils ne sont pas assujettis, le congélateur et les caisses seraient sensibles à la turbulence et aux autres forces qui auraient pu les faire se déplacer pendant que l'aéronef était en vol. La sécurité des fûts de carburant, quoique arrimés à l'aide d'une corde simple, semblerait pouvoir être remise en doute. À défaut d'argument ou de preuve contraire de la part de M. Hiebert, je statue que M. Hiebert a contrevenu à l'alinéa 218c) du Règlement de l'Air tel qu'allégué.

DÉCISION

Je confirme l'allégation du ministre ainsi que l'amende de 500,00 $.

Robert L. Mortimer
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile