Decisions

CAT File No. C-1377-35
MoT File No. RAP 6504-P157563-028166

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Daryl Randolph Johnson, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s. 7.7
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c.2, s. 221

Certification of Aircraft as Airworthy


Review Determination
Gordon R. Mitchell


Decision: April 27, 1997

I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $100.00 to Daryl Randolph Johnson for contravening Air Regulation 221. The payment shall be made to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of receiving this Determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, March 20, 1997 at 15:10 hours at the Prince Albert City Hall, in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.

At the outset, Inspector Brown, on behalf of the Minister, requested that an amendment be made to the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty.

It was requested that the fifth line be changed to read, "the fact that the taxi light was wired incorrectly."

Both parties agreed to the change in wording, and the amendment was accepted.

THE AMENDED NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT OF MONETARY PENALTY FOLLOWS:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s): Air Regulation 221, in that on or about April 19, 1996, at or near Uranium City, Saskatchewan you did unlawfully certify a Piper PA 31-350 aircraft, bearing Canadian registration marks C-GWUM as released for return to service when all the applicable standards of airworthiness had not been met by reason of the fact that the taxi light was wired incorrectly.

OVERVIEW

C-GWUM was given a #3 Inspection at Uranium City on April 19, 1996. This is shown in the aircraft log and referred to by the base engineer, D.R. Johnson, in his letter of explanation to Inspector Hanson, written on May 5, 1996 (Exhibit M-1).

The aircraft, C-GWUM, was sent to Elite Aero Ltd. at Prince Albert on May 1, 1996 for maintenance requirements some of which were listed on a loose sheet inserted between the pages of the Journey Log.

The crew members delivering C-GWUM to Prince Albert were to leave it and return with another aircraft to take its place.

The replacement aircraft was unserviceable; therefore, C-GWUM was put back into service without any of the maintenance listed being carried out. Instead, it was returned to service in the same condition that existed before being sent to Prince Albert.

On May 2, 1996, Inspector Hanson and Inspector Dittbrenner met aircraft C-GWUM at Uranium City when it arrived, flown by Captain Juravinski. The Inspectors did an inspection after the aircraft was unloaded and noted the snag sheet in the log book, checked the deficiencies that were listed.

This inspection resulted in monetary penalties to D.R. Johnson, base engineer, and to Captain Juravinski as well as other action taken.

D.R. Johnson's monetary penalty is outstanding, and Captain Juravinski's monetary penalty has been paid.

Exhibit M-1 , the letter to Inspector Hanson from D.R. Johnson, was presented. No other Exhibits were introduced.

DISCUSSION

I.B. Carson, counsel for D.R. Johnson, and Inspector Brown, Case Presenting Officer for Transport Canada, agreed that the evidence in the previous case, that of Minister of Transport and Northern Dene Airways Ltd. (CAT File No. C-1378-41), was the same in this case and therefore felt it was not necessary to go through it all again. The reasoning was accepted, and the case presenters then gave final argument.

EVIDENCE FROM MINISTER OF TRANSPORT AND NORTHERN DENE AIRWAYS LTD. REVIEW HEARING AS AGREED BY PRESENTERS

The Minister's first witness, Inspector Hanson, related that he and Inspector Dittbrenner did a ramp check on Piper PA-31-350, C-GWUM at Uranium City, Saskatchewan on May 2, 1996.

The aircraft had arrived, and after it was unloaded the inspection took place. When inspecting the log books Inspector Hanson found the snag sheet that had been made up the previous day during a flight to Prince Albert for maintenance. The crew members were to leave C-GWUM at Elite Aero Ltd. and return with another aircraft.

The replacement aircraft was not available, so the maintenance was deferred. C-GWUM was put back into service May 1, 1996, and was therefore inspected in Uranium City on May 2, 1996.

Inspector Hanson went through the list (Exhibit M-2) pointing out the defects that were also listed in Count #3.

The Minister's second witness, Inspector Dittbrenner, was sworn and further explained the defects listed. The term "hot wired" used in the list in reference to the taxi and landing lights received a lot of time and attention. The other defects were referred to, and there was some concern shown as to which if any were airworthiness items.

The third witness for the Minister, Co-pilot Robert Juravinski, relating to the trip to Prince Albert on May 1, 1996, referred to the making of the snag sheet during the trip which was to result in leaving C-GWUM for repairs and returning with a replacement aircraft. He went on to explain that the replacement aircraft was unavailable as it was not serviceable. The decision was that the defect items would be deferred, and aircraft C-GWUM was flown north again and put back in service.

The fourth witness for the Minister, David R. Johnson, Engineer with Northern Dene Airways Ltd., was sworn. He stated that on April 19, 1996 a #3 inspection had been carried out on C-GWUM.

When questioned regarding the landing and taxi light switches, he said that he had checked the wiring and that it was correct, but he had been unable to find the reason why the use of either switch turned on both lights. He replaced a short wire that was frayed, but stated that this was not part of the problem.

The aircraft was allowed to fly like this. He felt that the problem, though not rectified, was not an airworthiness concern.

Mr. I.B. Carson, representing Northern Dene Airways Ltd., called his first witness, Ron Cochrane, Engineer for Elite Aero Ltd., AMO who was to do the repair on C-GWUM.

Engineer Cochrane gave testimony relating to the maintenance and operation of light circuits, landing and taxi lights, and the replacement of the landing light switch. He stated that the lights operated correctly after switch replacement.

He gave further testimony regarding the right propeller spinner and the repairs that were in place when he first saw the spinner. The repair was carried out in his shop, not by him personally.

Discussion regarding the items listed in the snag sheet and their relation to airworthiness were brought forward, and Engineer Cochrane gave his view as to their safety soundness.

Mr. Carson's second witness was Dave Webster, the owner of Northern Dene Airways Ltd. He related his concerns for a good maintenance program and the methods he used to accomplish this.

Mr. Webster sent aircraft C-GWUM to Elite Aero Ltd. at Prince Albert on May 2, 1996. He stated that all defects were to be corrected and that his company kept a close watch on all maintenance requirements.

He said that when C-GWUM was sent to Prince Albert the crew were to return with another aircraft. The replacement aircraft was not available; therefore, the work required on C-GWUM was deferred, and the crew members flew C-GWUM back to be returned to service.

CONCLUSION

D.R. Johnson, base engineer for Northern Dene Airways Ltd., completed a #3 inspection on C-GWUM April 19, 1996. On May 1, 1996, this aircraft was sent to Elite Aero Ltd. at Prince Albert for maintenance requirements. This was 17 hours following the #3 inspection.

Mr. Johnson was aware of some, if not all, defects on this aircraft as this is made known in his letter to Inspector Hanson, dated May 5, 1996 (Exhibit M-1).

There was no definite opinion shown as to the relationship to airworthiness of the items listed as defects on the snag sheet.

I believe that all of these listed defects are airworthiness related, the only difference being the time element. Obviously all had some sign of failure, and only the time factor, short or long, would decide the pending complete failure of each.

The term "hot wired" is probably a misnomer when used to describe a defect listed on the snag sheet. It is generally used to indicate the intentional by-passing of a switch. It would more aptly apply to something such as car theft. In this case, I believe that a wire was attached to the wrong post on the landing light switch.

Mr. Johnson stated in his testimony and in his letter that the taxi light switch had always turned on both lights together in this aircraft, C-GWUM.

This was a malfunction, as the landing light switch should turn on both lights, and the taxi light switch should turn on only the taxi light. This is only with the gear down.

The problem was checked during the #3 Inspection, but according to Mr. Johnson the problem could not be found. He felt that it was not a very serious problem. This was not entered in the aircraft log.

I believe that, at some time prior to or at the inspection, someone working on this system had inadvertently attached the short lead wire, from the positive post on the taxi light switch to the positive post on the landing light switch, when it actually belongs on the auxiliary post of the landing light switch. This would cause both lights to operate together when using either switch.

When the switch was later replaced on the assumption that it was the problem, the wire was likely correctly attached, and then the system worked normally. No tests or disassembly of the switch were mentioned to prove otherwise.

Mr. Johnson indicated that he had "stop-drilled" a patch on the right propeller spinner. Stop-drilling the parent material is not unusual. It would be appropriate to replace the patch.

There were 12 items listed on the snag sheet that required attention. These were deferred, and the aircraft was back in service with none of these listed items being entered in the log books. Mr. Johnson said that he had simply made an error in judgement.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $100.00 to Daryl Randolph Johnson for contravening section 221 of the Air Regulations.

Gordon R. Mitchell
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1377-35 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP 6504-P157563-028166 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Daryl Randolph Johnson, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. de 1978, chap. 2, art. 221

Certificat de navigabilité d'aéronef


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Gordon R. Mitchell


Décision : le 27 avril 1997

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 100,00 $ à Daryl Randolph Johnson pour avoir contrevenu à l'article 221 du Règlement de l'Air. Le paiement de cette amende, fait à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada, doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la réception de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 20 mars 1997 à 15 h 10 à l'hôtel de ville de Prince Albert (Saskatchewan).

En premier lieu, l'inspecteur Brown a demandé, au nom du ministre, qu'une modification soit apportée à l'Avis d'amende pour contravention.

On a demandé que la cinquième ligne soit modifiée et qu'elle se lise comme suit : « du fait que le phare de roulage n'était pas branché correctement ».

Les deux parties ont convenu du changement de la formulation et la modification a été acceptée.

L'AVIS D'AMENDE POUR CONTRAVENTION MODIFIÉ SE LIT COMME SUIT :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu à la (aux) disposition(s) suivante(s) : Règlement de l'Air 221, à savoir que le ou vers le 19 avril 1996, à ou aux environs d'Uranium City en Saskatchewan, vous avez illégalement attesté qu'un aéronef Piper PA 31-350 portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GWUM pouvait être remis en service alors qu'il ne répondait pas à toutes les normes de navigabilité applicables en raison du fait que le phare de roulage n'était pas branché correctement.

APERÇU

On a effectué une inspection de type no 3 sur le C-GWUM à Uranium City le 19 avril 1996. Le livret de bord en fait foi, de même que la lettre d'explication du mécanicien responsable, D.R. Johnson, adressée à l'inspecteur Hanson en date du 5 mai 1996 (pièce M-1).

L'aéronef C-GWUM a été envoyé chez Elite Aero Ltd. de Prince Albert le 1er mai 1996 afin de subir des services d'entretien dont quelques-uns figuraient sur une feuille insérée entre les pages du carnet de route.

Les membres d'équipage livrant le C-GWUM à Prince Albert devaient le laisser et revenir dans un autre aéronef.

L'aéronef de remplacement était hors service; c'est pourquoi, on a remis le C-GWUM en service sans effectuer aucune des tâches d'entretien mentionnées. On l'a remis en service alors qu'il était dans le même état qu'à son arrivée à Prince Albert.

Le 2 mai 1996, l'inspecteur Hanson et l'inspecteur Dittbrenner sont allés à la rencontre de l'aéronef C-GWUM à son arrivée à Uranium City, avec le commandant Juravinski à son bord. Après le déchargement, les inspecteurs ont examiné l'aéronef et, ayant découvert la feuille d'anomalies insérée au livret de bord, ont vérifié les anomalies énumérées.

L'inspection a donné suite à des amendes imposées à D.R. Johnson, mécanicien responsable, et au commandant Juravinski et à d'autres mesures.

L'amende de D.R. Johnson est en souffrance et celle du commandant Juravinski a été payée.

La lettre de D.R. Johnson à l'inspecteur Hanson a été présentée sous la cote M-1. Aucune autre pièce n'a été présentée.

DISCUSSION

I.B. Carson, avocat de D.R. Johnson, et l'inspecteur Brown, agent chargé de présenter le cas au nom de Transports Canada, ont convenu que la preuve d'un cas précédent, à savoir Ministre des Transports et Northern Dene Airways Ltd. (Dossier no C-1378-41 (TAC)), était la même que dans le cas présent et qu'il n'y avait donc pas lieu de refaire l'exercice. Le raisonnement ayant été accepté, les responsables de la présentation du cas ont exposé leurs arguments.

PREUVE PRÉSENTÉE LORS DE L'AUDIENCE EN RÉVISION DANS L'AFFAIRE MINISTRE DES TRANSPORTS ET NORTHERN DENE AIRWAYS LTD. ACCEPTÉE PAR LES RESPONSABLES DU CAS

Le premier témoin du ministre, l'inspecteur Hanson, a raconté que lui et l'inspecteur Dittbrenner ont procédé à une vérification sur l'aire de trafic du Piper PA-31-350, C-GWUM, à Uranium City (Saskatchewan) le 2 mai 1996.

L'aéronef était arrivé et, après son déchargement, l'inspection a eu lieu. Au moment où il inspectait les carnets, l'inspecteur Hanson a découvert la fiche d'anomalies techniques préparée la veille lors du vol à destination de Prince Albert pour maintenance. Les membres d'équipage devaient laisser le C-GWUM chez Elite Aero Ltd. et revenir à bord d'un autre aéronef.

L'aéronef de remplacement n'était pas disponible de sorte que la maintenance a été reportée. On a remis le C-GWUM en service le 1er mai 1996 et il a par conséquent fait l'objet d'une inspection à Uranium City le 2 mai 1996.

L'inspecteur Hanson a passé en revue la liste (pièce M-2) en indiquant les anomalies également énumérées au Chef d'accusation 3.

Le deuxième témoin du ministre, l'inspecteur Dittbrenner, a été assermenté et a expliqué plus en détail les anomalies énumérées. On a consacré beaucoup de temps et d'attention au terme « trafiqué » utilisé dans la liste en rapport avec les phares d'atterrissage et de roulage. Il a été question des autres anomalies et on a manifesté une certaine préoccupation quant à savoir si l'un de ces points affectait la navigabilité.

Le troisième témoin du ministre, le copilote Robert Juravinski, en rapport avec le voyage à Prince Albert le 1er mai 1996, a fait allusion à la rédaction de la fiche d'anomalies techniques lors du voyage au terme duquel on devait laisser le C-GWUM pour qu'il subisse les réparations nécessaires et revenir à bord d'un aéronef de remplacement. Il a poursuivi ses explications et a dit que l'aéronef de remplacement n'était pas disponible étant donné qu'il était hors service. La décision prise fut de reporter les anomalies à corriger; on a alors repris l'aéronef C-GWUM pour revenir vers le nord et on l'a remis en service.

Le quatrième témoin du ministre, David R. Johnson, mécanicien de Northern Dene Airways Ltd., a été assermenté. Il a déclaré que le 19 avril 1996, une inspection no 3 avait été effectuée à l'égard du C-GWUM.

Lorsqu'on lui a posé des questions relativement aux interrupteurs des phares d'atterrissage et de roulage, il a dit qu'il avait vérifié le câblage et que ce dernier était correct, mais il n'a pas été en mesure de trouver la raison pour laquelle l'utilisation de l'un ou l'autre interrupteur faisait allumer les deux phares. Il a remplacé un petit fil qui était effiloché, mais a déclaré qu'il n'était pas relié au problème.

On a autorisé l'aéronef à voler ainsi. Selon lui, le problème, quoique non corrigé, ne constituait pas un problème de navigabilité.

M. I.B. Carson, représentant Northern Dene Airways Ltd., a fait comparaître son premier témoin, Ron Cochrane, mécanicien chez Elite Aero Ltd., l'OMA qui devait effectuer les réparations du C-GWUM.

Le mécanicien Cochrane a témoigné en ce qui a trait à l'entretien et au fonctionnement des circuits d'éclairage, des phares d'atterrissage et de roulage et du remplacement de l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage. Il a déclaré que les phares fonctionnaient correctement après le remplacement de l'interrupteur.

Il a poursuivi son témoignage et a parlé de la casserole d'hélice droite et des réparations qui avaient déjà été faites lorsqu'il a pour la première fois vu la casserole. La réparation a été effectuée dans son atelier, mais pas par lui personnellement.

On a alors abordé la question des anomalies énumérées sur la fiche d'anomalies techniques et de leur rapport avec la navigabilité, et le mécanicien Cochrane a exprimé son avis quant à leur solidité sur le plan de la sécurité.

Le deuxième témoin de M. Carson était Dave Webster, le propriétaire de Northern Dene Airways Ltd. Il a fait part de ses préoccupations à l'égard d'un bon programme de maintenance et des méthodes qu'il utilisait pour ce faire.

M. Webster a envoyé l'aéronef C-GWUM chez Elite Aero Ltd. de Prince Albert le 2 mai 1996. Il a déclaré que toutes les anomalies devaient être corrigées et que son entreprise surveillait de près toutes les exigences en matière de maintenance.

Il a dit que lorsque le C-GWUM a été envoyé à Prince Albert, les membres d'équipage devaient revenir à bord d'un autre aéronef. Ce dernier n'était pas disponible; par conséquent, on a reporté les travaux à effectuer sur le C-GWUM et les membres d'équipage sont revenus à bord du C-GWUM qu'ils ont remis en service.

CONCLUSION

D.R. Johnson, mécanicien responsable de Northern Dene Airways Ltd., a effectué une inspection no 3 sur le C-GWUM le 19 avril 1996. Le 1er mai 1996, l'aéronef a été envoyé chez Elite Aero Ltd. à Prince Albert pour y subir des travaux d'entretien, soit 17 heures après l'inspection no 3.

M. Johnson était au courant de certaines anomalies de l'aéronef, sinon toutes, comme on peut le constater dans sa lettre du 5 mai 1996 à l'inspecteur Hanson (pièce M-1).

Aucune opinion définie n'a été exprimée quant à la relation des anomalies énumérées sur la liste à l'état de navigabilité.

Je crois que toutes les anomalies citées sont reliées à l'état de navigabilité et que les seules différences résident dans le facteur temps. De toute évidence, chacune d'entre elle représentait une faiblesse quelconque et seul le facteur temps, plus ou moins long selon le cas, pouvait décider de la faiblesse complète de l'anomalie.

Le terme « fil sous tension » est probablement mal choisi pour décrire l'anomalie relevée sur la liste. On l'utilise généralement pour désigner une dérivation intentionnelle d'un interrupteur. Il serait plus approprié dans le cas d'un vol de voiture, par exemple. Dans le cas présent, je crois plutôt qu'un fil a été relié au mauvais point de l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage.

Dans son témoignage et dans sa lettre, M. Johnson a déclaré que l'interrupteur du phare de roulage avait toujours allumé les deux phares de l'aéronef C-GWUM.

Il s'agit d'un mauvais fonctionnement puisque l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage devrait allumer les deux phares et que l'interrupteur du phare de roulage ne devrait allumer que ce dernier, seulement lorsque le train est sorti.

On a vérifié le problème lors de l'inspection no 3, mais selon M. Johnson, on n'a pu le résoudre. Il a jugé que ce n'était pas très sérieux et le fait n'a pas été mentionné au livret de bord.

Je crois qu'avant ou au moment de l'inspection, quelqu'un a par inadvertance relié le petit fil de connexion du pôle positif de l'interrupteur du phare de roulage au pôle positif de l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage alors qu'il aurait dû être relié au pôle auxiliaire de l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage. Dans ce cas, les deux phares s'allumeraient à la fois, qu'on utilise un interrupteur ou l'autre.

Lorsque plus tard, on a remplacé l'interrupteur en supposant qu'il était la cause du problème, le fil a vraisemblablement été relié correctement et le système a fonctionné normalement. Il n'est pas fait mention de tests ou de démontage de l'interrupteur qui expliqueraient la situation autrement.

M. Johnson a mentionné qu'il avait arrêté par perçage une pièce rapportée sur une partie de la casserole d'hélice droite. L'arrêt par perçage d'un matériau n'est pas inhabituel. Il serait approprié de le remplacer.

La feuille d'anomalies relevait 12 éléments à corriger. L'entretien a été reporté et l'aéronef a été remis en service sans qu'aucune des anomalies citées ne soit portée aux livrets de bord. M. Johnson a dit qu'il avait simplement commis une erreur de jugement.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 100,00 $ à Daryl Randolph Johnson pour avoir contrevenu à l'article 221 du Règlement de l'Air.

Gordon R. Mitchell
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile