Decisions

CAT File No. C-1378-41
MoT File No. RAP6504-C5051-028167

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Northern Dene Airways Ltd., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Air Navigation Orders, VII, No. 3, s.12(3)
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c.2, s.826(1)

Journey Log Entries, Aircraft Maintenance


Review Determination
Gordon R. Mitchell


Decision: April 14, 1997

I confirm the Minister's decision of assessment of a monetary penalty. After consideration, I reduce the amount of Count #1 to $1,250.00 and reduce the amount of Count #2 to $1,250.00. Count #3 shall remain at $200.00. The total penalty amounting to $2,700.00 shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal to be received within fifteen days of the receipt of this Determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, March 20, 1997 at 10:00 a.m. at the Prince Albert City Hall, Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.

At the outset Mr. Pratt on behalf of the Minister requested that an amendment be made to the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty. The amendment would apply to similar wording in both Count #1 and in Count #2.

It was requested that the word "five" in the second sentence of both Counts be deleted. It was further requested that in the fourth sentence of both Counts that the words "landing light and" be deleted. The amendments requested were accepted.

The amended Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty follows:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

COUNT #1:

Air Navigation Order, Series VII, No. 3, 12(3), in that on or about May 1, 1996, at or near Stoney Rapids, Saskatchewan you did unlawfully operate a Piper PA-31-350 aeroplane, bearing Canadian registration marks C-GWUM on flights while it was not maintained and released in accordance with the approved maintenance manual, by reason of the fact that the said aircraft had the taxi light wired incorrectly and the right propellor spinner was cracked.

COUNT #2:

FURTHER, in that on or about May 2, 1996, at or near Uranium City, Saskatchewan you did unlawfully operate a Piper PA-31-350 aeroplane, bearing Canadian registration marks C-GWUM on flights while it was not maintained and released in accordance with the approved maintenance manual, by reason of the fact that the taxi light was wired incorrectly and the right propellor spinner was cracked.

A violation of Air Navigation Order, Series VII, No.3, 12(3).

COUNT #3:

FURTHER, in that on or about May 1, 1996 and May 2, 1996, at or near Uranium City, Saskatchewan you did fail to maintain the Aircraft Journey Log for a Piper PA-31-350 aeroplane, bearing Canadian registration marks C-GWUM by reason of the fact that the following defects to the equipment of the said aircraft were not entered:

  1. Right propellor spinner – patch is cracked;
  2. Left brake master cylinder leaking;
  3. Horizontal situation indicator is out at least 20 to 60 degrees;
  4. Co-pilot altimeter sticks at altitude;
  5. Landing and taxi light switches hot wired so both come on with one switch;
  6. Left firewall inboard rivets loose;
  7. Left main gear torque links loose;
  8. Fiber glass on both engine cowls need patching.

A violation of Air Regulation 826(1).

BREAKDOWN OF SANCTIONS:

COUNT #1 = $2,500.00

COUNT #2 = $2,500.00

COUNT #3 = $200.00

TOTAL : $5,200.00

OVERVIEW

A Piper PA-31-350, registered as C-GWUM and owned by Northern Dene Airways Ltd., was given a #3 inspection at YBE on April 19, 1996.

On May 1, 1996, it was sent to Elite Aero Ltd. in Prince Albert for maintenance. The air time since the #3 check on April 19, 1996 was 17.4 hours. During the flight to Prince Albert the Captain, co-pilot and apprentice engineer aboard completed a snag sheet (Exhibit M-4) covering items that required attention.

The crew members were to leave C-GWUM at Elite Aero Ltd. for the maintenance and were to return with another aircraft. The other aircraft was not available because of a serious maintenance requirement.

The maintenance items on C-GWUM were deferred, and the crew members flew the aircraft back north and put it back into service with no maintenance carried out.

On May 2, 1996 at Uranium City, Inspectors Hanson and Dittbrenner were in attendance when C-GWUM landed and was unloaded, and they did an inspection on the aircraft. While perusing the log books, Inspector Hanson found the snag sheet that had been made out the previous day enroute to Prince Albert. The defects were not entered in the log book. The sheet was between the pages. It was established that the aircraft was back in service, with none of the defects of concern having been remedied.

The allegations were made as a result of the inspection made by Inspectors Hanson and Dittbrenner.

The Following Exhibits were presented during the Review Hearing:

M-1 Log Book pages for PA-31-350, C-GWUM showing pertinent dates, particularly April 19, 1996, the date of #3 inspection and May 1, 1996, the date of flight to Prince Albert.

M-2 Snag sheet found between journey log book pages, C-GWUM.

M-3 Copy of pages from Airplane Parts Catalog for PA-31-350, note the patch drawn on the spinner at the approximate position seen.

M-4 Copy of Certificate of Airworthiness and Certificate of Registration of Aircraft C-GWUM, Piper PA-31-350, Serial No. 31-7405404.

M-5 Copy of Operating Certificate for Northern Dene Airways Ltd.

M-6 Copy of Inspection Program Approval, Reference No. C0482, for Northern Dene Airways Ltd. for Piper PA-31-350.

M-7 Copy of Service Manual pages applying to PA-31-350, wiring diagram for Landing, Taxi, and Wing Inspection Lights. The upper portion of the page is applicable to C-GWUM, Serial No. 31-7405404.

D-1 Right propeller spinner. This was identified, marked and left with Elite Aero Ltd., Ron Cochrane, Prince Albert for quarantine.

D-2 Copy of page from Northern Dene Airways Ltd. Maintenance Control Manual, section 3.6.

EVIDENCE

The Minister's first witness, Inspector Hanson, related that he and Inspector Dittbrenner did a ramp check on Piper PA-31-350, C-GWUM at Uranium City, Saskatchewan on May 2, 1996.

The aircraft had arrived, and after it was unloaded the inspection took place. When inspecting the log books Inspector Hanson found the snag sheet that had been made up the previous day during a flight to Prince Albert for maintenance. The crew members were to leave C-GWUM at Elite Aero Ltd. and return with another aircraft.

The replacement aircraft was not available, so the maintenance was deferred. C-GWUM was put back into service May 1, 1996, and was therefore inspected in Uranium City on May 2, 1996.

Inspector Hanson went through the list (Exhibit M-2) pointing out the defects that were also listed in Count #3.

The Minister's second witness, Inspector Dittbrenner, was sworn and further explained the defects listed. The term "hot wired" used in the list in reference to the taxi and landing lights received a lot of time and attention. The other defects were referred to, and there was some concern shown as to which if any were airworthiness items.

The third witness for the Minister, Co-pilot Robert Juravinski, relating to the trip to Prince Albert on May 1, 1996, referred to the making of the snag sheet during the trip which was to result in leaving C-GWUM for repairs and returning with a replacement aircraft. He went on to explain that the replacement aircraft was unavailable as it was not serviceable. The decision was that the defect items would be deferred, and aircraft C-GWUM was flown north again and put back in service.

The fourth witness for the Minister, David R. Johnson, Engineer with Northern Dene Airways Ltd., was sworn. He stated that on April 19, 1996 a #3 inspection had been carried out on C-GWUM.

When questioned regarding the landing and taxi light switches, he said that he had checked the wiring and that it was correct, but he had been unable to find the reason why the use of either switch turned on both lights. He replaced a short wire that was frayed, but stated that this was not part of the problem.

The aircraft was allowed to fly like this. He felt that the problem, though not rectified, was not an airworthiness concern.

Mr. I.B. Carson, representing Northern Dene Airways Ltd., called his first witness, Ron Cochrane, Engineer for Elite Aero Ltd., the AMO who was to do the repair on C-GWUM.

Engineer Cochrane gave testimony relating to the maintenance and operation of light circuits, landing and taxi lights, and the replacement of the landing light switch. He stated that the lights operated correctly after switch replacement.

He gave further testimony regarding the right propeller spinner and the repairs that were in place when he first saw the spinner. The repair was carried out in his shop, not by him personally.

Discussion regarding the items listed in the snag sheet and their relation to airworthiness were brought forward, and Engineer Cochrane gave his view as to their safety soundness.

Mr. Carson's second witness was Dave Webster, the owner of Northern Dene Airways Ltd. He related his concerns for a good maintenance program and the methods he used to accomplish this.

Mr. Webster sent aircraft C-GWUM to Elite Aero Ltd. at Prince Albert on May 2, 1996. He stated that all defects were to be corrected and that his company kept a close watch on all maintenance requirements.

He said that when C-GWUM was sent to Prince Albert the crew members were to return with another aircraft. The replacement aircraft was not available; therefore, the work required on C-GWUM was deferred, and the crew members flew C-GWUM back to be returned to service.

CONCLUSION

Dave Webster, owner of Northern Dene Airways Ltd., sent C-GWUM to Prince Albert on May 1, 1996 for maintenance requirements. He stated that his company policy regarding maintenance was very stringent. Some excerpts from his company manuals are as follows:

Paragraphs 3.6(a) and (b) of the Maintenance Control Manual:

(a) Following a flight all defects shall be entered in the aircraft Journey log.

(b) The aircraft shall not be returned to service until all the airworthiness related defects listed in the Journey log have been rectified.

Paragraph 3.2(c) of the Inspection Program Approval #C0482:

(c) The certificate of airworthiness of a company aircraft is not in force unless the aircraft has been maintained in accordance with its approved program.

During the flight to Prince Albert the crew members, Captain, Co-pilot Juravinski and an apprentice engineer completed a snag sheet for C-GWUM.

The defects on the snag sheet were not entered in the journey log, and the aircraft was returned to service without the listed items being taken care of.

The following day, May 2, 1996, at Uranium City, a ramp check was carried out on C-GWUM, with Robert Juravinski as Captain. After landing and unloading, Inspector Hanson and Inspector Dittbrenner carried out the inspection, and when checking the journey log Inspector Hanson found the snag sheet between the pages.

During the Review Hearing no one denied the existence of the defects listed on the snag sheet, but there was some controversy over which items related to airworthiness.

I found it hard to believe that anyone would not accept that all of the items are airworthiness related, the only difference being the time element. Obviously all had some sign of failure, and only the time factor, short or long, would decide complete failure on each.

I point out here that, although there was not an agreement in testimony given as to who knew of which defects existed, certainly the people named here knew of some, if not all, of the defects. Mr. Webster had to know; he sent the aircraft out for maintenance. Engineer Johnson knew; he had completed a #3 inspection just 17 hours earlier. Mr. Cochrane must have known of some; Engineer Johnson spoke to him every day on the phone. Co-pilot Juravinski on the flight to Prince Albert and the other two crew members knew because they made out the snag sheet on the flight.

The major focus was on two of the defective items listed at the Review Hearing. The first was the light system for taxi and landing lights. The system for these two lights is designed to operate with the landing gear down only. The landing light switch operates both the landing light and the taxi light together. The taxi light switch operates the taxi light alone.

Engineer Johnson who did a #3 inspection on C-GWUM on April 19, 1996 said that either switch turned on both lights together; only the landing light switch should do this, and he stated that this problem had existed as far back as he could remember.

He said that he checked the system, that the wiring was normal and that he was unable to find the problem. He replaced a short wire that was frayed, and it had no effect and was not part of this.

Later, when the aircraft was in Prince Albert, Engineer Cochrane stated that his firm had replaced the landing light switch, and then the lights functioned properly.

Engineer Cochrane said the switch was not opened or checked for condition.

The evidence given did not indicate that the landing light switch was unserviceable; no tests were done. If the switch had arced and welded the contacts as suggested by Engineer Cochrane, I believe this would have been noticed earlier.

When the landing light switch was replaced, the wires were most likely correctly attached and resulted in the system functioning correctly.

I believe that, at some time prior to or during the #3 inspection, someone working on the electrical system had inadvertently attached the short jumper lead from the positive post on the taxi light switch to the positive post on the landing light switch, when it actually belongs on the auxiliary post of the landing light switch.

This was incorrect and would operate both lights with either switch, as was the case, but would not likely be noticeable until viewing the lights while operating the switches on the ground.

The other defect that drew a lot of attention was the propeller spinner. Engineer Johnson stated that they had very few problems with cracks in the spinner and that the spinner was generally sound.

The spinner that is Exhibit D-1 has three patches on it. When Inspector Hanson checked the aircraft at Uranium City, he stated that a crack in the spinner had extended beyond the patch.

Engineer Johnson stated that one of the patches was cracked, and he had stop-drilled the crack in the patch.

I have a problem with stop-drilling a cracked patch. It should have been replaced.

The two engineers involved were questioned regarding the allowed standards for patching spinners, but they were not aware of them.

The patches were not uniform. The rivet spacing varied, and at least one patch was not properly trimmed at the edges.

The engineers said the patches were done to industry standards.

Engineer Johnson, in referring to the omission of entries in the log book, stated that he simply made an error in judgement. He said further that we realize we have a weakness in our system and will be addressing the matter immediately with upper level management.

Captain Juravinski was operating C-GWUM May 2, 1996 when the ramp check was carried out at Uranium City. He was assessed a monetary penalty at this time, and he paid the penalty.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the Minister's decision of assessment of a monetary penalty. After consideration, I do find the amount of the penalty excessive. I thereby reduce the amount on Count #1 from $2,500.00 to $1,250.00, and reduce the amount in Count #2 from $2,500.00 to $1,250.00. Count #3 shall remain at $200.00. The total penalty then amounts to $2,700.00.

Gordon R. Mitchell
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1378-41 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP6504-C5051-028167 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Northern Dene Airways Ltd., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, no 3, art. 12(3)
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. de 1978, chap. 2, art. 826(1)

Maintenance d'aéronef, Carnet de route


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Gordon R. Mitchell


Décision : le 14 avril 1997

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende. Après examen, je réduis le montant du chef d'accusation 1 à 1 250,00 $ et réduis le montant du chef d'accusation 2 à 1 250,00 $. Quant au chef d'accusation 3, l'amende demeure à 200,00 $. Le paiement de l'amende totale, qui s'élève à 2 700,00 $, fait à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada, doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la réception de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 20 mars 1997 à 10 h, à l'hôtel de ville de Prince Albert, dans la ville de Prince Albert (Saskatchewan).

Dès le début, M. Pratt, au nom du ministre, a demandé de modifier l'Avis d'amende pour contravention. La modification s'appliquerait à un libellé semblable pour les chefs d'accusation 1 et 2.

Il a été demandé que dans le cas des deux chefs, le mot anglais « five » (cinq) soit supprimé. Il a également été demandé que dans la quatrième phrase pour les deux chefs, les mots anglais « landing light and » (phare d'atterrissage et) soient supprimés. Les modifications demandées ont été acceptées.

L'Avis d'amende pour contravention se lit comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

CHEF D'ACCUSATION 1 :

Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, no 3, 12(3), du fait que le 1er mai 1996 ou vers cette date, à Stoney Rapids (Saskatchewan) ou près de cet endroit, vous avez illégalement utilisé un avion Piper PA-31-350 portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GWUM pour effectuer des vols alors que l'aéronef n'était pas entretenu et autorisé à voler conformément au manuel d'entretien homologué, du fait que le fil du phare de roulage dudit aéronef était incorrectement raccordé et que la casserole d'hélice droite était fissurée.

CHEF D'ACCUSATION 2 :

EN OUTRE, que le 2 mai 1996 ou vers cette date, à Uranium City (Saskatchewan) ou près de cet endroit, vous avez illégalement utilisé un avion Piper PA-31-350, portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GWUM pour effectuer des vols alors que l'aéronef n'était pas entretenu et autorisé à voler conformément au manuel d'entretien homologué, du fait que le fil du phare de roulage dudit aéronef était incorrectement raccordé et que la casserole d'hélice droite était fissurée.

Une contravention à l'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, no 3, 12(3).

CHEF D'ACCUSATION 3 :

EN OUTRE, que les 1er et 2 mai 1996 ou vers ces dates, à Uranium City (Saskatchewan) ou près de cet endroit, vous avez omis de tenir le carnet de route d'aéronef d'un avion Piper PA-31-350 portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GWUM du fait que les défectuosités suivantes au matériel dudit aéronef n'y étaient pas inscrites :

  1. casserole d'hélice droite – pièce rapportée fissurée;
  2. fuite du maître-cylindre de frein gauche;
  3. indicateur de situation horizontale faussé d'au moins 20 à 60 degrés;
  4. altimètre du copilote colle en altitude;
  5. interrupteurs du phare d'atterrissage et du phare de roulage trafiqués de sorte que les deux s'allument à l'aide d'un seul interrupteur;
  6. rivets intérieurs de la cloison pare-feu gauche desserrés;
  7. compas du train d'atterrissage gauche desserré;
  8. la fibre de verre des capots des deux moteurs doit être réparée.

Une contravention au Règlement de l'Air 826(1).

VENTILATION DES AMENDES :

CHEF 1 = 2 500,00 $

CHEF 2 = 2 500,00 $

CHEF 3 = 200,00 $

TOTAL : 5 200,00 $

APERÇU

Un Piper PA-31-350, immatriculé C-GWUM et propriété de Northern Dene Airways Ltd., a fait l'objet d'une inspection no 3 à YBE le 19 avril 1996.

Le 1er mai 1996, on l'envoyait chez Elite Aero Ltd. de Prince Albert pour maintenance. Le temps de vol depuis la vérification no 3 le 19 avril 1996 était de 17,4 heures. Au cours du vol à destination de Prince Albert, le commandant de bord, le copilote et l'apprenti-mécanicien à bord ont rempli une fiche d'anomalies techniques (pièce M-4) sur les points qui nécessitaient une attention.

Les membres d'équipage devaient laisser le C-GWUM chez Elite Aero Ltd. pour la maintenance et revenir à bord d'un autre aéronef. L'autre aéronef ne pouvait être utilisé en raison d'un grave problème de maintenance.

La maintenance du C-GWUM a été reportée et les membres d'équipage sont revenus vers le nord à bord de l'aéronef qu'ils ont remis en service sans que la maintenance ne soit effectuée.

Le 2 mai 1996, à Uranium City, les inspecteurs Hanson et Dittbrenner étaient présents lorsque le C-GWUM a atterri et a été déchargé; ils ont alors procédé à une inspection de l'aéronef. Pendant qu'il consultait le carnet de route, l'inspecteur Hanson a découvert la fiche d'anomalies techniques qui avait été remplie la veille alors que l'aéronef était en route vers Prince Albert. Les anomalies n'étaient pas inscrites dans le carnet de route. La fiche était insérée entre les pages. On a démontré que l'aéronef avait été remis en service et qu'aucune des anomalies mentionnées n'avait été corrigée.

Les allégations ont été faites à la suite de l'inspection effectuée par les inspecteurs Hanson et Dittbrenner.

Les pièces suivantes ont été présentées lors de l'audience en révision :

M-1 Pages du carnet de route du PA-31-350, C-GWUM, indiquant les dates pertinentes, en particulier celle du 19 avril 1996, soit la date de l'inspection no 3, et celle du 1er mai 1996, la date du vol vers Prince Albert.

M-2 Fiche d'anomalies techniques trouvée entre les pages du carnet de route de l'aéronef C-GWUM.

M-3 Copie de pages du catalogue de pièces d'aéronef pour le PA-31-350, indication de la pièce dessinée sur la casserole à la position approximative vue.

M-4 Copie du Certificat de navigabilité et du Certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef C-GWUM, Piper PA-31-350, no de série 31-7405404.

M-5 Copie du Certificat d'exploitation de Northern Dene Airways Ltd.

M-6 Copie de l'approbation du programme d'inspection, référence no C0482, de Northern Dene Airways Ltd. pour le Piper PA-31-350.

M-7 Copie des pages du manuel d'entretien s'appliquant au PA-31-350, schéma de câblage des phares d'atterrissage, de roulage et de voilure. La partie supérieure de la page s'applique au C-GWUM, no de série 31-7405404.

D-1 Casserole d'hélice droite. Cette pièce a été identifiée, marquée et laissée chez Elite Aero Ltd., aux soins de Ron Cochrane, à Prince Albert pour mise en quarantaine.

D-2 Copie de la page du manuel de contrôle de la maintenance de Northern Dene Airways Ltd., article 3.6.

PREUVE

Le premier témoin du ministre, l'inspecteur Hanson, a raconté que lui et l'inspecteur Dittbrenner ont procédé à une vérification sur l'aire de trafic du Piper PA-31-350, C-GWUM, à Uranium City (Saskatchewan) le 2 mai 1996.

L'aéronef était arrivé et, après son déchargement, l'inspection a eu lieu. Au moment où il inspectait les carnets, l'inspecteur Hanson a découvert la fiche d'anomalies techniques préparée la veille lors du vol à destination de Prince Albert pour maintenance. Les membres d'équipage devaient laisser le C-GWUM chez Elite Aero Ltd. et revenir à bord d'un autre aéronef.

L'aéronef de remplacement n'était pas disponible de sorte que la maintenance a été reportée. On a remis le C-GWUM en service le 1er mai 1996 et il a par conséquent fait l'objet d'une inspection à Uranium City le 2 mai 1996.

L'inspecteur Hanson a passé en revue la liste (pièce M-2) en indiquant les anomalies également énumérées au Chef d'accusation 3.

Le deuxième témoin du ministre, l'inspecteur Dittbrenner, a été assermenté et a expliqué plus en détail les anomalies énumérées. On a consacré beaucoup de temps et d'attention au terme « trafiqué » utilisé dans la liste en rapport avec les phares d'atterrissage et de roulage. Il a été question des autres anomalies et on a manifesté une certaine préoccupation quant à savoir si l'un de ces points affectait la navigabilité.

Le troisième témoin du ministre, le copilote Robert Juravinski, en rapport avec le voyage à Prince Albert le 1er mai 1996, a fait allusion à la rédaction de la fiche d'anomalies techniques lors du voyage au terme duquel on devait laisser le C-GWUM pour qu'il subisse les réparations nécessaires et revenir à bord d'un aéronef de remplacement. Il a poursuivi ses explications et a dit que l'aéronef de remplacement n'était pas disponible étant donné qu'il était hors service. La décision prise fut de reporter les anomalies à corriger; on a alors repris l'aéronef C-GWUM pour revenir vers le nord et on l'a remis en service.

Le quatrième témoin du ministre, David R. Johnson, mécanicien de Northern Dene Airways Ltd., a été assermenté. Il a déclaré que le 19 avril 1996, une inspection no 3 avait été effectuée à l'égard du C-GWUM.

Lorsqu'on lui a posé des questions relativement aux interrupteurs des phares d'atterrissage et de roulage, il a dit qu'il avait vérifié le câblage et que ce dernier était correct, mais il n'a pas été en mesure de trouver la raison pour laquelle l'utilisation de l'un ou l'autre interrupteur faisait allumer les deux phares. Il a remplacé un petit fil qui était effiloché, mais a déclaré qu'il n'était pas relié au problème.

On a autorisé l'aéronef à voler ainsi. Selon lui, le problème, quoique non corrigé, ne constituait pas un problème de navigabilité.

M. I.B. Carson, représentant Northern Dene Airways Ltd., a fait comparaître son premier témoin, Ron Cochrane, mécanicien chez Elite Aero Ltd., l'OMA qui devait effectuer les réparations du C-GWUM.

Le mécanicien Cochrane a témoigné en ce qui a trait à l'entretien et au fonctionnement des circuits d'éclairage, des phares d'atterrissage et de roulage et du remplacement de l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage. Il a déclaré que les phares fonctionnaient correctement après le remplacement de l'interrupteur.

Il a poursuivi son témoignage et a parlé de la casserole d'hélice droite et des réparations qui avaient déjà été faites lorsqu'il a pour la première fois vu la casserole. La réparation a été effectuée dans son atelier, mais pas par lui personnellement.

On a alors abordé la question des anomalies énumérées sur la fiche d'anomalies techniques et de leur rapport avec la navigabilité, et le mécanicien Cochrane a exprimé son avis quant à leur solidité sur le plan de la sécurité.

Le deuxième témoin de M. Carson était Dave Webster, le propriétaire de Northern Dene Airways Ltd. Il a fait part de ses préoccupations à l'égard d'un bon programme de maintenance et des méthodes qu'il utilisait pour ce faire.

M. Webster a envoyé l'aéronef C-GWUM chez Elite Aero Ltd. de Prince Albert le 2 mai 1996. Il a déclaré que toutes les anomalies devaient être corrigées et que son entreprise surveillait de près toutes les exigences en matière de maintenance.

Il a dit que lorsque le C-GWUM a été envoyé à Prince Albert, les membres d'équipage devaient revenir à bord d'un autre aéronef. Ce dernier n'était pas disponible; par conséquent, on a reporté les travaux à effectuer sur le C-GWUM et les membres d'équipage sont revenus à bord du C-GWUM qu'ils ont remis en service.

CONCLUSION

Dave Webster, propriétaire de Northern Dene Airways Ltd., a envoyé le C-GWUM à Prince Albert le 1er mai 1996 pour sa maintenance. Il a déclaré que la politique de sa compagnie en ce qui concerne la maintenance était très stricte. Certains extraits des manuels de son entreprise se lisent comme suit :

Alinéas 3.6a) et b) du Manuel de contrôle de la maintenance :

a) À la suite d'un vol, toutes les anomalies doivent être inscrites dans le carnet de route d'aéronef.

b) L'aéronef ne doit pas être remis en service tant que toutes les anomalies relatives à la navigabilité énumérées dans le carnet de route n'ont pas été corrigées.

L'alinéa 3.2c) de l'approbation no C0482 du programme d'inspection se lit comme suit :

c) Le certificat de navigabilité d'un aéronef de l'entreprise n'est pas en vigueur tant que l'aéronef n'a pas subi la maintenance conforme à son programme approuvé.

Au cours du vol à destination de Prince Albert, le commandant de bord, le copilote Juravinski et un apprenti-mécanicien ont rempli une fiche d'anomalies techniques pour le C-GWUM.

Les anomalies sur la fiche en question n'ont pas été inscrites dans le carnet de route et l'aéronef a été remis en service sans que les points énumérés ne fassent l'objet d'une maintenance.

Le jour suivant, soit le 2 mai 1996, à Uranium City, une vérification sur l'aire de trafic a été effectuée à l'égard du C-GWUM alors que M. Robert Juravinski était commandant de bord. Après l'atterrissage et le déchargement de l'aéronef, l'inspecteur Hanson et l'inspecteur Dittbrenner ont procédé à l'inspection et alors qu'il vérifiait le carnet de route, l'inspecteur Hanson a trouvé la fiche d'anomalies techniques entre les pages du carnet.

Au cours de l'audience en révision, personne n'a nié l'existence des anomalies énumérées sur la fiche d'anomalies techniques, mais il y avait une certaine controverse quant à savoir quels points avaient trait à la navigabilité.

Il m'était difficile de croire que personne n'accepterait que tous les points étaient reliés à la navigabilité, la seule différence étant l'élément du temps. De toute évidence, ils donnaient tous un certain signe de défaillance et seul le facteur temps, à courte ou à longue durée, entraînerait une défaillance complète de chacun.

Je signale ici que bien qu'il n'y ait pas eu accord des témoignages quant à savoir qui connaissait l'existence des anomalies, il est certain que les personnes dont les noms sont mentionnés étaient au courant de certaines sinon de toutes les anomalies. M. Webster devait savoir; il a envoyé l'aéronef pour sa maintenance. Le mécanicien Johnson savait; il avait effectué une inspection no 3 seulement 17 heures auparavant. M. Cochrane devait en connaître quelques-unes; le mécanicien Johnson lui a parlé tous les jours au téléphone. Le copilote Juravinski, qui était à bord de l'aéronef lors du vol vers Prince Albert, et les deux autres membres d'équipage le savaient puisqu'ils ont rempli la fiche d'anomalies techniques lors de ce vol.

Le principal point était sur deux des défectuosités énumérées lors de l'audience en révision. La première portait sur le système d'éclairage des phares de roulage et d'atterrissage. Le système à l'égard de ces deux phares est conçu de façon à fonctionner uniquement lorsque le train d'atterrissage est sorti. L'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage allume à la fois le phare d'atterrissage et le phare de roulage. L'interrupteur du phare de roulage n'allume que le phare de roulage.

Le mécanicien Johnson qui a procédé à l'inspection no 3 sur le C-GWUM le 19 avril 1996 a dit que l'un ou l'autre interrupteur allumait les deux phares en même temps; seul l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage ne devrait donner ce résultat et il a dit que ce problème avait toujours existé en autant qu'il se rappelle.

Il a dit qu'il a vérifié le système, que le câblage était normal et qu'il n'était pas en mesure de trouver le problème. Il a remplacé un petit fil qui était effiloché et cette réparation n'a eu aucune incidence et n'était pas reliée au problème.

Par la suite, lorsque l'aéronef était à Prince Albert, le mécanicien Cochrane a déclaré que son entreprise avait remplacé l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage et que les phares fonctionnaient correctement.

Le mécanicien Cochrane a dit que l'interrupteur n'avait pas été ouvert ou n'avait pas été contrôlé pour son état.

La preuve présentée n'a pas indiqué si l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage était hors service; aucun test n'a été effectué. Si l'interrupteur avait créé un arc et soudé les contacts tel que le suggère le mécanicien Cochrane, je crois qu'on aurait remarqué cette situation plus tôt.

Lorsqu'on a remplacé l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage, les fils étaient fort probablement correctement fixés et ont eu pour résultat que le système a bien fonctionné.

À mon avis, à un moment avant ou pendant l'inspection no 3, quelqu'un qui effectuait des travaux au système électrique a par inadvertance fixé le fil de connexion de la borne positive de l'interrupteur du phare de roulage sur la borne positive de l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage alors qu'il aurait dû être fixé à la borne auxiliaire de l'interrupteur du phare d'atterrissage.

Cette connexion était incorrecte et faisait allumer les deux phares à l'aide de l'un ou l'autre des interrupteurs, comme c'était le cas, mais ne pouvait probablement pas être remarquée à moins de regarder les phares au moment d'actionner les interrupteurs au sol.

L'autre défectuosité qui a attiré beaucoup d'attention était celle de la casserole d'hélice. Le mécanicien Johnson a déclaré que les problèmes de fissure de la casserole étaient très peu fréquents et que cette dernière était de façon générale solide.

La casserole, soit la pièce D-1, comporte trois pièces rapportées. Lorsque l'inspecteur Hanson a vérifié l'aéronef à Uranium City, il a déclaré qu'une fissure de la casserole avait dépassé les limites de la pièce rapportée.

Le mécanicien Johnson a déclaré que l'une des pièces rapportées était fissurée et qu'il avait arrêté par perçage la fissure de la pièce rapportée.

J'ai un problème en ce qui concerne l'arrêt par perçage d'une pièce rapportée fissurée. On aurait dû la remplacer.

On a posé des questions aux deux mécaniciens en cause en ce qui concerne les normes admises pour réparer les casseroles, mais ils ne les connaissaient pas.

Les pièces rapportées n'étaient pas uniformes. L'espacement entre les rivets variait et au moins l'une des pièces n'était pas correctement ébarbée aux rebords.

Les mécaniciens ont indiqué que les pièces répondaient aux normes de l'industrie.

Le mécanicien Johnson, faisant référence à l'omission des inscriptions dans le carnet de route, a déclaré qu'il a tout simplement commis une erreur de jugement. Il a précisé par la suite qu'il se rendait bien compte qu'il y avait un point faible dans le système et que cette question serait examinée immédiatement avec les dirigeants.

Le commandant de bord Juravinski utilisait le C-GWUM le 2 mai 1996 au moment où on a procédé à une vérification sur l'aire de trafic à Uranium City. On lui a alors imposé une amende qu'il a payée.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende. Après examen, j'estime que le montant de l'amende est excessif. Par conséquent, je réduis le montant du Chef d'accusation 1 de 2 500,00 $ à 1 250,00 $ et je réduis le montant du Chef d'accusation 2 de 2 500,00 $ à 1 250,00 $. Quant à l'amende à l'égard du Chef d'accusation 3, elle demeure à 200,00 $. Le montant total de l'amende s'élève à 2 700,00 $.

Gordon R. Mitchell
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile