Decisions

CAT File No. C-1442-41
MoT File No. RAP6504-C6834-029247

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s.7.7
Air Navigation Orders, VII, No.3, s.19.1(2)

Standard Safety Briefing


Review Determination
Gordon R. Mitchell


Decision: July 15, 1997

I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $100.00 each for both Count #1 and Count #2 being a total of $200.00. This amount of $200.00 is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above entitled matter was held Thursday, June 26, 1997 beginning at 13:27 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, in the city of Winnipeg, Manitoba.

BACKGROUND

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty reads as follows:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

COUNT #1:

Air Navigation Order Series VII, No. 3. para. 19.1(2), in that, at approximately 15:30 hours local on July 18, 1996, at or near Matheson Island, Manitoba, being an air carrier, you did unlawfully fail to ensure that all passengers on board an aeroplane, to wit, a Cessna U206G aircraft, bearing Canadian registration marks C-GXSK, were provided with a standard safety briefing, orally by a crew member or by audio-visual means, prior to take-off.

SCHEDULE A – ANNEX A

COUNT 2:

FURTHER, in that, at approximately 15:15 hours local on July 22, 1996, at or near Berens River, Manitoba, being an air carrier, you did unlawfully fail to ensure that all passengers on board an aeroplane, to wit, a Cessna U206G aircraft, bearing Canadian registration marks C-GXSK, were provided with a standard safety briefing, orally by a crew member or by audio or audio-visual means, prior to take-off.

a violation of Air Navigation Order Series VII, No. 3, para. 19.1(2).

APPLICATION OF PENALTY:

COUNT #1 =   $ 100.00

COUNT #2 =   $ 100.00

TOTAL:         $ 200.00

THE LAW

Air Navigation Order, Series VII, No. 3, subsection 19.1(2) reads:

(2) An air carrier shall ensure that all passengers on board an aeroplane are provided with a standard safety briefing, orally by a crew member or by audio or audio-visual means, prior to take-off, in flight because the level of turbulence exceeds light turbulence, and, when at least one cabin attendant is on board, prior to landing.

OVERVIEW

On July 18, 1996, Frances M. Wokes travelled from Matheson Island, Manitoba, to Berens River, Manitoba with Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc. in Cessna U206G aircraft C-GXSK flown by pilot Tegart. This aircraft was on wheel undercarriage, and part of the flight was over water.

Ms. Wokes made the return flight from Berens River to Matheson Island on July 22, 1996 in the same aircraft flown by the same pilot.

The Minister's first witness, Richard Gagnon, the investigating Inspector for Transport Canada in this case, presented the following exhibits during questioning:

M-1 A copy of Operating Certificate No. 8014 for Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc.

M-2 A copy of the Certificate of Registration of aircraft for Cessna U206G, C-GXSK.

M-3 A copy of two double pages from the journey log for C-GXSK highlighting flights on July 18, 1996 departing Matheson Island at 15:20 hours and on July 22, 1996 departing Berens River at 16:02 hours.

M-4 A copy of two pages of Weight Control and Passenger Manifest for C-GXSK, one for July 18, 1996 and the other for July 22, 1996.

M-5 A copy of a statement made and signed by Frances M. Wokes.

M-6 A copy of a written statement of Frances M. Wokes taken by Inspector William Hanson at Winnipeg.

M-7 A copy of a receipt for flights taken by Ms. Wokes on July 18 and 22, 1996. Date of payment July 22, 1996.

The Minister's second witness was Frances M. Wokes, Transport Canada Inspector, Manager, Cabin Safety Projects.

Ms. Wokes related in testimony that she had booked a charter to Berens River to visit her sister. She had expected to travel in a Cessna 185 on floats, but on arrival at Matheson Island found that she would travel to Berens River on a Cessna 206 on wheels. The flight to Berens River left Matheson Island on July 18, 1996 at approximately 15:20 hours, the pilot's name was Tegart, the aircraft was Cessna 206 C-GXSK, and part of the flight was over water. Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc. is a commercial operator.

Ms. Wokes stated that no safety briefing was given on this flight, that there was cargo on board that was not secured, and that she did not see any life preservers.

On July 22, 1996, the same aircraft and pilot arrived at Berens River for her return flight to Matheson Island. On its arrival, she noted that the load into Berens River consisted of three adults, three children and cargo in the rear. The cargo she stated was not secured.

At approximately 16:00 hours the aircraft departed for Matheson Island with Ms. Wokes and three other passengers on board. There was cargo in the aft cabin, and she stated that it was not secured. No safety briefing was given by the pilot, although Ms. Wokes did see a safety features card in the seat pocket ahead of her.

CONCLUSION

There are several infractions noted in the testimony given, but the failure of a crew member to give a standard safety briefing prior to take-off is the alleged issue that prompted the assessment of a monetary penalty.

Inspector Brown understood from conversation with Mr. Mowat that he (William Mowat, President of Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc.) would be attending the Review Hearing. Mr. Mowat did not attend or send word that he would be absent.

I accept the testimony given as factual and straightforward.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $100.00 each for both Count #1 and Count #2 being a total of $200.00.

Gordon R. Mitchell
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1442-41 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP6504-C6834-029247 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 7.7
Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, no 3, art. 19.1(2)

Exposé standard sur les mesures de sécurité


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Gordon R. Mitchell


Décision : le 15 juillet 1997

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 100,00 $ pour chacun des chefs d'accusation no 1 et no 2, pour une amende totale de 200 $. Cette somme est payable au receveur général du canada et doit parvenir au tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 26 juin 1997 et a commencé à 13 h 27 à la cour fédérale du Canada, dans la ville de Winnipeg (Manitoba).

HISTORIQUE

L'Avis d'amende pour contravention se lit comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé d'imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

CHEF D'ACCUSATION NO 1 :

Le paragraphe 19.1(2) de l'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, no 3, en ce sens que vous avez omis, vers 15 h 30, heure locale, le 18 juillet 1996, à Matheson Island (Manitoba) ou dans les environs, à titre de transporteur aérien, de vous assurer qu'était donné à tous les passagers à bord de l'avion, en l'occurrence, un aéronef Cessna U206G, portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GXSK, un exposé général sur les mesures de sécurité, présenté oralement par un membre d'équipage, ou par des moyens audio-visuels avant le décollage.

APPENDICE A – ANNEXE A

CHEF D'ACCUSATION NO 2 :

ET PAR AILLEURS, que vous avez omis, vers 15 h 15, heure locale, le 22 juillet 1996, à Berens River (Manitoba) ou dans les environs, à titre de transporteur aérien, de vous assurer qu'était donné à tous les passagers à bord de l'avion, en l'occurrence, un aéronef Cessna U206G, portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GXSK, un exposé général sur les mesures de sécurité, présenté oralement par un membre d'équipage, ou par des moyens auditifs ou audio-visuels, avant le décollage.

en contravention avec le paragraphe 19.1(2) de l'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, no 3.

IMPOSITION DE L'AMENDE :

CHEF D'ACCUSATION NO 1 : = 100,00 $

CHEF D'ACCUSATION NO 2 : = 100,00 $

TOTAL :                                    200,00 $

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 19.1(2) de l'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, no 3 s'énonce comme suit :

(2) Le transporteur aérien doit s'assurer qu'est donné à tous les passagers à bord d'un avion un exposé général sur les mesures de sécurité, présenté oralement par un membre d'équipage, ou par des moyens auditifs ou audio-visuels, avant le décollage, après le décollage, pendant le vol en raison d'une turbulence plus forte qu'une turbulence légère et, lorsqu'au moins un membre du personnel commercial de bord se trouve à bord, avant l'atterrissage.

APERÇU

Le 18 juillet 1996, Frances M. Wokes a emprunté les services aériens Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc. pour faire le trajet entre Matheson Island (Manitoba) et Berens River (Manitoba). Elle a voyagé à bord d'un aéronef Cessna U206G immatriculé C-GXSK dont le pilote était un dénommé Tegart. L'aéronef avait un train d'atterrissage sur roues et une partie du vol s'est effectuée au-dessus de l'eau.

Mme Wokes a fait le trajet de retour de Berens River à Matheson Island, le 22 juillet 1996, à bord du même aéronef et le même pilote était aux commandes.

Le premier témoin du ministre, Richard Gagnon, l'inspecteur de Transports Canada chargé de l'enquête dans la présente cause, a présenté les pièces suivantes durant l'interrogatoire :

M-1 Une copie du Certificat d'exploitation No 8014 pour Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc.

M-2 Une copie du Certificat d'immatriculation d'aéronef pour le Cessna U206G, C-GXSK.

M-3 Une copie de deux doubles pages tirées du carnet de route de C-GXSK indiquant des vols effectués le 18 juillet 1996 avec comme point de départ Matheson Island à 15 h 20, et le 22 juillet 1996, avec comme point de départ Berens River à 16 h 02.

M-4 Une copie de deux pages du Contrôle de la masse et du Manifeste des passagers pour le C-GXSK, une pour le 18 juillet 1996 et l'autre pour le 22 juillet 1996.

M-5 Une copie d'une déclaration faite et signée par Frances M. Wokes.

M-6 Une copie d'une déclaration manuscrite de Frances M. Wokes recueillie par l'inspecteur William Hanson, à Winnipeg.

M-7 Une copie d'un reçu de vols pris par Mme Wokes le 18 et le 22 juillet 1996. La date du paiement est le 22 juillet 1996.

Le deuxième témoin du ministre était Frances M. Wokes, Inspecteur de Transports Canada, Gestionnaire de programmes, Normes relatives à la sécurité des cabines.

Mme Wokes a déclaré dans son témoignage qu'elle avait réservé une place en avion pour rendre visite à sa soeur à Berens River. Elle s'attendait à voyager à bord d'un Cessna 185 muni de flotteurs, mais à son arrivée à Matheson Island elle s'est aperçue qu'elle se rendrait à Berens River à bord d'un Cessna 206 sur roues. Le vol à destination de Berens River a quitté Matheson Island le 18 juillet 1996 aux environs de 15 h 20, le pilote était un dénommé Tegart, l'aéronef était un Cessna 206 immatriculé C-GXSK, et une partie du trajet s'est effectuée au-dessus de l'eau. Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc. est un exploitant commercial.

Mme Wokes a déclaré qu'aucun exposé sur les mesures de sécurité n'a été donné pendant ce vol, qu'il y avait à bord de l'aéronef de la cargaison qui n'était pas assujettie et qu'elle n'a vu aucun gilet de sauvetage.

Le 22 juillet 1996, le même aéronef et le même pilote ont atterri à Berens River pour le trajet du retour vers Matheson Island. À l'arrivée de l'aéronef, elle a noté que la charge jusqu'à Berens River consistait en trois adultes et trois enfants et de la cargaison à l'arrière. Elle a déclaré que la cargaison n'était pas assujettie.

Vers 16 h, l'aéronef a décollé à destination Matheson Island avec Mme Wokes et trois autres passagers à son bord. Dans la cabine arrière, il y avait de la cargaison et elle a déclaré que cette dernière n'était pas assujettie. Aucun exposé sur les mesures de sécurité n'a été donné par le pilote, mais Mme Wokes a vu qu'il y avait une carte de mesures de sécurité dans la pochette du siège devant elle.

CONCLUSION

On a noté plusieurs infractions au cours du témoignage, mais le fait qu'aucun membre d'équipage n'ait donné d'exposé sur les mesures de sécurité avant le décollage est l'infraction présumée ayant entraîné l'imposition d'une amende.

L'inspecteur Brown a retenu de sa conversation avec M. Mowat, que ce dernier (William Mowat, président de Wamair Service & Outfitting Inc.) serait présent lors de l'audience en révision. Toutefois, M. Mowat ne s'est pas présenté et il ne s'est pas fait excuser non plus.

J'accepte le témoignage rendu et le déclare conforme aux faits et explicite.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 100,00 $ pour chacun des chefs d'accusation no 1 et no 2, pour une amende totale de 200 $.

Gordon R. Mitchell
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile