Decisions

CAT File No. C-1647-33
MoT File No. RAP6504-P379679-030772 (P

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Stanley Garry Johnson, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.114(d)(i), 602.71, 602.72

Low Visibility, Due Diligence, Defences, Controlled Airspace, VFR Flight, Weather Conditions


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: October 21, 1998

I uphold the Minister's decision and confirm the assessed monetary penalty of $1,000.00. The payment shall be made to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, October 14, 1998 at 10:00 hours in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

BACKGROUND

On January 5, 1998, a U206F aircraft being operated as Northway 829 flew a scheduled VFR flight between Pine Dock and Winnipeg, Manitoba with a single pilot and four passengers on board. The aircraft departed in VFR conditions but the weather en route deteriorated. Before Northway 829 reached the Winnipeg control zone, the weather in the zone had become less than special VFR. Northway 829 was cleared to land and proceeded to land in Winnipeg.

The tower subsequently filed an occurrence report. That report resulted in an investigation by Transport Canada which prompted an allegation of contravention. A Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty dated June 1, 1998 was issued to Stanley Garry Johnson. As the Minister did not receive payment of the monetary penalty, an application was made to the Civil Aviation Tribunal for a hearing.

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty states in part:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

COUNT #1:

Canadian Aviation Regulation 602.114(d)(i) in that, at approximately 18:09 z, on or about January 5, 1998, at or near Winnipeg, Manitoba, you did unlawfully operate an aircraft, to wit, a Cessna U206F, bearing Canadian registration marks C-GWAZ and being operated as Northway 829, in VFR flight within controlled airspace when the said aircraft was within a control zone where the reported ground visibility was less than three miles, and more specifically, operated an aircraft within the Winnipeg International Airport control zone when the reported ground visibility was one-half statute mile.

PRELIMINARIES

Mr. Gagnon appeared for the Minister of Transport, and Mr. Tweed appeared on behalf of Mr. Johnson. The parties had discussed having an agreed statement of facts, but a miscommunication prevented that from happening before the hearing. However, in opening discussions, Mr. Tweed stated that his client did not wish to contest the elements of the offence, but did want to explain the circumstances so as to present a defence.

Because there had not been a predetermined agreed statement of the facts, both sides called their evidence. However, as Mr. Tweed acknowledged that the elements of the offence had occurred as alleged, the Minister's burden in that regard had already been met. The testimony given then went to providing the factual background against which one could measure the defence.

EVIDENCE

The weather conditions at the Winnipeg airport at the time of arrival were below that required by special VFR as the visibility was reported at one-half statute mile in snow. The tower controller had spoken to Northway 829 when it was still some distance to the north, stating that fact and advising that St. Andrews airport was not below special VFR. The pilot replied that it was good where he was and indicated that were he not to get into Winnipeg he was considering diverting to Gimli.

Mr. Johnson stated that prior to the flight he had obtained the actual weather and weather advisory from his colleagues. He had not checked the forecast. He was aware that the weather might be below VFR minima of three miles, but considered that he could get special VFR clearance if necessary.

The aircraft that he flew had no radio aids to navigation. En route, he checked with his company and found that stations such as Arnes located behind him were becoming unusable in near zero visibility. He was not aware that Winnipeg had gone below special VFR until his contact with the controller. At that time he still had what he termed to be a couple of miles forward and the ground.

He did not consider it feasible to go to St. Andrews as he had never been there before and that Winnipeg had radar and Air Traffic Control (ATC) assistance if necessary.

On cross-examination it was revealed that he had not called the weather office himself nor had he checked the St. Andrews weather before departure. Mr. Johnson had not flown into the airports at Selkirk, Gimli or St. Andrews, which were all along this planned route. He agreed that they could have been reasonable alternate aerodromes.

Mr. Johnson in his testimony said that he had not considered going to Gimli, as that was just south of Arnes, which the company had said was down to zero visibility. However, on the ATC tape he had indicated to the controller that he was considering Gimli, if he could not get into Winnipeg.

THE LAW

Subparagraph 602.114(d)(i) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

602.114 No person shall operate an aircraft in VFR flight within controlled airspace unless

(...)

(d) where the aircraft is operated within a control zone,

(i) when reported, ground visibility is not less than three miles, and

(...)

Section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act:

8.5 No person shall be found to have contravened a provision of this Part or of any regulation or order made under this Part if the person exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention.

Other pertinent reference in this instance is found at sections 602.71 and 602.72 of the CARs:

Pre-flight Information

602.71 The pilot-in-command of an aircraft shall, before commencing a flight, be familiar with the available information that is appropriate to the intended flight.

Weather Information

602.72 The pilot-in-command of an aircraft shall, before commencing a flight, be familiar with the available weather information that is appropriate to the intended flight.

ARGUMENT—The Minister (Applicant)

Mr. Gagnon contends that when Northway 829 spoke to Winnipeg tower and was advised that Winnipeg was below special VFR limits, but that St. Andrews airport still had special VFR, and the pilot continued, the offence was completed.

He argued that the defence of due diligence was not applicable as the pilot had other options. He could have turned around; he could have rerouted to St. Andrews, an airport at which the weather was still above legal limits. The pilot stated the weather was still good at the point of contact with Winnipeg, so he could have exercised those options.

ARGUMENT—The Document Holder (Respondent)

Mr. Tweed argued that the defence of due diligence did apply in the circumstance. He maintained that the pilot's actions were prudent and proper in that he had checked the weather with his colleagues before departure and with his company while en route. As the pilot had never been to St. Andrews, and that airport lacked facilities such as radar, and he had no navigational aids, he might have difficulty in finding it. He was familiar with Winnipeg, and it had facilities that could aid him. Therefore, he chose to continue on, a decision made on the basis of safety, which proved correct as the flight arrived safely.

DISCUSSION

The issue to be decided is whether Mr. Johnson exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention. The concept of due diligence has been aptly stated in Leslie G. Marsh v. Minister of Transport[1]. The appeal panel, in discussing the issue stated:

The contravention of paragraph 218(a) of the Air Regulations is a strict liability offence, and thus the intent or awareness of the document holder in his actions is not a consideration. Once it is established that the contravention occurred, the burden of proof shifts to the document holder. In strict liability cases a suitable defence is provided for under section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act:

(...)

Diligence is defined as 'the attention and care legally expected or required of a person.' The determination of what diligence would be due in a specific instance depends on the circumstances that prevail. In routine or normal circumstances, certain actions would suffice as due diligence, but in unusual or exceptional circumstances additional or different actions would be required to constitute due diligence.

In the circumstance of this case the pilot did not exercise all due diligence.

To have exercised all due diligence, the pilot must have, at the very least, met the minimum standards. Sections 602.71 and 602.72 of the CARs require that, before commencing the flight, the pilot be familiar with the available information appropriate to the intended flight and be familiar with the available weather information appropriate to the flight.

Although the weather he did obtain indicated marginal VFR weather, he did not check the weather at St. Andrews. A VFR flight plan does not require an alternate aerodrome, but knowledge of conditions at St. Andrews would also be information appropriate to the flight, in that its geographical position makes it an attractive alternative to Winnipeg.

When Northway 829 first contacted Winnipeg tower it was advised that, although Winnipeg's weather did not meet special VFR criteria, St. Andrews' weather did. The pilot replied that the weather was really good where he was and that he had considered diverting to Gimli if unable to get in. It would seem that at this point Mr. Johnson still considered that he had options.

However, he further enquired if the transmission meant that there was no possibility of getting in. The tower controller said he could still approve it and cleared the flight in "to remain VFR at all times." The pilot acknowledged that he was to remain VFR, but proceeded into conditions which he had just been advised were not VFR.

As indicated in the Marsh case, the determination of what diligence would be due in a specific instance depends on the circumstances that prevail. The due diligence here, in circumstances of conducting a VFR flight in marginal VFR conditions, would call for particular attention to the weather and its trends, and particular attention to alternate courses of action that could be taken should the original plan become untenable. Mr. Johnson did not even meet the basic standards, in that he failed to avail himself of the forecast and ignored checking enroute station weather beforehand. While still in VFR conditions and being advised that his destination was one-half mile in snow, he blithely accepted the clearance "to remain VFR at all times" knowing that he could not remain VFR.

At that point in time, while in VFR conditions and being advised that a nearby airport was available in special VFR conditions, Mr. Johnson could have avoided the contravention by diverting to St. Andrews.

CONCLUSION

Mr. Johnson did not avail himself of all the information available to him for his intended flight and made a conscious decision to continue a flight into deteriorating weather when he still had a chance to remain VFR and proceed to a viable albeit unfamiliar airport. In this circumstance he cannot be said to have exercised all due diligence.

DETERMINATION

I uphold the Minister's decision and confirm the assessed monetary penalty of $1,000.00.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] CAT File No. C-1095-02, Appeal Determination.

Décisions

Dossier no C-1647-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP6504-P379679-030772 (P (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Stanley Garry Johnson, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C., ch. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.114d)(i), 602.71, 602.72

Vol VFR, Visibilité réduite, Espace aérien contrôlé, Diligence raisonnable, Défense, Conditions météorologiques


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 21 octobre 1998

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre et maintiens l'amende imposée de 1 000,00 $. L'amende est payable à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue à Winnipeg (Manitoba), le mercredi 14 octobre 1998 à 10 h.

HISTORIQUE

Le 5 janvier 1998, un aéronef U206F a été utilisé pour effectuer le vol régulier Northway 829 entre Pine Dock et Winnipeg (Manitoba) en vol VFR avec un seul pilote et quatre passagers à bord. L'aéronef est parti dans des conditions VFR mais en cours de route, le temps s'est détérioré. Avant que le Northway 829 n'atteigne la zone de contrôle de Winnipeg, le temps de la zone était en deçà des conditions VFR spécial. Le Northway 829 a été autorisé à atterrir et s'est posé à Winnipeg.

Par la suite, la tour a établi un rapport d'incident. Ce rapport a donné lieu à une enquête de Transports Canada à la suite de laquelle on a allégué une contravention. On a délivré un avis d'amende pour contravention en date du 1er juin 1998 à Stanley Garry Johnson. Étant donné que le ministre n'a pas reçu le paiement de l'amende, une demande d'audience a été déposée au Tribunal de l'aviation civile.

L'avis d'amende pour contravention déclare en partie :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

CHEF D'ACCUSATION no 1 :

Sous-alinéa 602.114d)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien à savoir que vers 1809 UT, le ou vers le 5 janvier 1998, à ou aux environs de Winnipeg (Manitoba), vous avez illégalement utilisé un aéronef, à savoir un Cessna U206F, portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GWAZ , soit le vol Northway 829, en vol VFR dans l'espace aérien contrôlé alors que ledit aéronef était à l'intérieur d'une zone de contrôle lorsque la visibilité au sol signalée était de moins de trois milles et, plus particulièrement, vous avez utilisé un aéronef à l'intérieur de la zone de contrôle de l'aéroport international de Winnipeg lorsque la visibilité au sol signalée était d'un demi-mille terrestre.

PRÉLIMINAIRES

M. Gagnon a comparu pour le ministre des Transports et Me Tweed a comparu au nom de M. Johnson. Les parties avaient considéré la possibilité d'avoir un exposé conjoint des faits mais une mésentente a empêché que cela ne se produise avant l'audience. Toutefois, à l'ouverture de l'audience, Me Tweed a déclaré que son client ne désirait pas contester les éléments de l'infraction mais qu'il voulait, en défense, expliquer les circonstances de l'infraction.

Parce qu'on avait pas établi d'exposé conjoint des faits à l'avance, les deux parties ont présenté leur preuve. Toutefois, étant donné que Me Tweed a reconnu que les éléments de l'infraction s'étaient produits tel qu'allégués, le ministre n'avait plus à s'acquitter du fardeau de la preuve à cet égard. Le témoignage livré a alors a permis de fournir l'historique des faits pour les comparer avec la défense.

LA PREUVE

Les conditions météorologiques à l'aéroport de Winnipeg au moment de l'arrivée étaient en deçà des conditions exigées pour un vol VFR spécial étant donné que la visibilité signalée était d'un demi-mille terrestre dans la neige. Le contrôleur de la tour avait communiqué avec le Northway 829 alors qu'il était encore à une certaine distance au nord et l'avait prévenu que les conditions à l'aéroport de St. Andrews n'étaient pas en deçà des conditions VFR spécial. Le pilote a répondu que tout était bien où il était et il a indiqué que s'il n'entrait pas dans Winnipeg, il envisagerait de se dérouter sur Gimli.

M. Johnson a déclaré qu'avant le vol, il avait obtenu les conditions météorologiques réelles de même qu'un avis météo de ses collègues. Il n'avait pas vérifié les prévisions. Il était conscient que les conditions météorologiques pouvaient être sous le minimum VFR de trois milles mais il a pensé qu'il pourrait, au besoin, obtenir une autorisation VFR spécial.

L'aéronef qu'il pilotait n'avait pas d'aides radio pour la navigation. En route, il a vérifié auprès de son entreprise et a découvert que les stations comme Arnes situées derrière lui devenaient inutilisables, la visibilité étant près de zéro. Il n'était pas conscient que les conditions à Winnipeg étaient en deçà de conditions VFR spécial jusqu'à ce qu'il communique avec le contrôleur. À ce moment-là, selon ses propres termes, il avait encore devant lui environ deux milles et le sol.

Il n'a pas jugé possible d'aller à St. Andrews étant donné qu'il n'y était jamais allé auparavant et qu'à Winnipeg il bénéficiait de l'aide d'un radar et du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) en cas de besoin.

Le contre-interrogatoire a révélé qu'il n'avait ni appelé le bureau météorologique lui-même, ni vérifié les conditions météorologiques de St. Andrews avant son départ. M. Johnson ne s'était pas dirigé vers les aéroports de Selkirk, Gimli ou St. Andrews, lesquels se situaient tous le long du trajet prévu. Il a convenu qu'il aurait pu les utiliser comme aérodromes de dégagement.

Dans son témoignage, M. Johnson a dit ne pas avoir envisagé d'aller à Gimli étant donné que c'était immédiatement au sud d'Arnes où, selon l'entreprise, la visibilité était nulle. Toutefois, sur la bande d'enregistrement ATC, il avait indiqué au contrôleur qu'il songeait à Gimli, s'il ne pouvait entrer à Winnipeg.

LA LOI

Le sous-alinéa 602.114d)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) :

602.114 Il est interdit à quiconque d'utiliser un aéronef en vol VFR dans l'espace aérien contrôlé, à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient réunies :

(...)

d) à l'intérieur d'une zone de contrôle :

(i) lorsque la visibilité au sol est signalée, elle est d'au moins trois milles,

(...)

L'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

8.5 Nul ne peut être reconnu coupable d'avoir contrevenu à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application s'il a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour s'y conformer.

On trouve aux articles 602.71 et 602.72 du RAC une autre référence pertinente pour le présent dossier :

Renseignements avant vol

602.71 Le commandant de bord d'un aéronef doit, avant le commencement d'un vol, bien connaître les renseignements pertinents au vol prévu qui sont à sa disposition.

Renseignements météorologiques

602.72 Le commandant de bord d'un aéronef doit, avant le commencement d'un vol, bien connaître les renseignements météorologiques pertinents au vol prévu qui sont à sa disposition.

ARGUMENTS—Le ministre (requérant)

M. Gagnon prétend que lorsque le Northway 829 a communiqué avec la tour de Winnipeg et qu'on l'a avisé que les conditions à Winnipeg étaient sous les limites de VFR spécial mais qu'à l'aéroport de St. Andrews, il y avait encore des conditions VFR spécial, le pilote a commis une infraction en poursuivant sa route.

Il a plaidé que la défense des mesures nécessaires ne s'appliquait pas puisque le pilote avait d'autres options. Il aurait pu rebrousser chemin ou se diriger vers St. Andrews, un aéroport où les conditions étaient encore supérieures aux limites prescrites. Le pilote a déclaré que les conditions étaient encore bonnes lorsqu'il a communiqué avec Winnipeg de sorte qu'il aurait pu utiliser ces options.

ARGUMENTS—Le titulaire d'un document (intimé)

Me Tweed a plaidé que la défense des mesures nécessaires s'appliquait dans les circonstances. Il a soutenu que les actions du pilote étaient prudentes et appropriées puisqu'il avait vérifié les conditions météorologiques avant son départ auprès de ses collègues et auprès de son entreprise, alors qu'il était en route. Étant donné que le pilote n'était jamais allé à St. Andrews et que cet aéroport manquait d'installations, un radar par exemple, et qu'il n'avait aucune aide de navigation, il aurait pu avoir des difficultés à le trouver. Il connaissait bien Winnipeg et il y avait là des installations susceptibles de l'aider. C'est pourquoi, il a choisi de continuer, un choix fondé sur la sécurité et qui s'est révélé juste étant donné que le vol s'est rendu à destination en toute sécurité.

DISCUSSION

La question en litige est de savoir si M. Johnson a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour prévenir la contravention. Le concept des mesures nécessaires a été habilement exposé dans Leslie G. Marsh c. Ministre des Transports[1]. En discutant de la question, le comité d'appel a déclaré :

La contravention à l'alinéa 218a) du Règlement de l'Air est une infraction de responsabilité stricte et dans ce cas, l'intention ou la conscience du titulaire du document à l'égard de ses actions n'entre pas en ligne de compte. Une fois la contravention établie, le fardeau de la preuve incombe au titulaire du document. En cas de responsabilité stricte, il existe un argument de défense acceptable en vertu de l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

(...)

Les « mesures nécessaires » constituent « l'attention et le soin requis d'une personne et auxquels on peut s'attendre ». La détermination des mesures nécessaires dans un cas particulier dépend des circonstances qui prévalent. Dans des circonstances ordinaires de tous les jours, certaines actions suffisent à établir les « mesures nécessaires » mais dans les circonstances inhabituelles ou exceptionnelles, il faut accomplir des actions différentes ou supplémentaires pour répondre aux exigences des « mesures nécessaires ».

Dans les circonstances du présent dossier, le pilote n'a pas pris toutes les mesures nécessaires.

Pour avoir pris toutes les mesures nécessaires, le pilote aurait du à tout le moins avoir satisfait aux normes minimales. Les articles 602.71 et 602.72 du RAC exigent qu'avant le commencement d'un vol, le pilote doit bien connaître les renseignements pertinents au vol prévu qui sont à sa disposition et doit bien connaître les renseignements météorologiques pertinents au vol qui sont à sa disposition.

Bien que les conditions météorologiques qu'il ait obtenues indiquaient des conditions météorologiques aux limites du VFR, il n'a pas vérifié les conditions à St. Andrews. Un plan de vol VFR ne nécessite pas qu'il y ait un aérodrome de dégagement mais connaître les conditions météorologiques à St. Andrews devenait des renseignements pertinents au vol puisque, de par sa situation géographique, cet aéroport constitue une solution de rechange par rapport à Winnipeg.

Lorsque le Northway 829 est d'abord entré en communication avec la tour de Winnipeg, on l'a avisé que même si les conditions météorologiques de Winnipeg ne satisfaisaient pas aux critères de vol VFR spécial, celles de St. Andrews y répondaient. Le pilote a répondu que les conditions météorologiques étaient très bonnes là où il était et qu'il envisageait de se dérouter sur Gimli s'il était incapable de parvenir à destination. Il semble qu'à ce moment, M. Johnson considérait encore qu'il avait le choix.

Toutefois, il s'est par la suite informé à savoir si la communication signifiait qu'il n'y avait aucune possibilité de parvenir à destination. Le contrôleur de la tour lui a dit qu'il pouvait encore donner son approbation et a donné son autorisation à la condition que le vol « demeure en VFR en tout temps ». Le pilote a accusé réception qu'il devait demeurer en VFR mais il a continué sa route dans des conditions qui n'étaient pas des conditions VFR, d'après ce qu'on venait de lui dire.

Comme on l'a indiqué dans la cause Marsh, la détermination de savoir quelles mesures on pourrait considérer comme étant les mesures nécessaires dans un exemple particulier repose sur les circonstances qui prévalent. Ici, les mesures nécessaires, dans des circonstances où il s'agissait d'effectuer un vol VFR dans des conditions météorologiques aux limites du VFR, exigeaient qu'on porte une attention particulière aux conditions météorologiques et à leur évolution, de même qu'à des plans d'action de rechange pour le cas où le plan original n'était plus valide. M. Johnson ne satisfaisait même pas aux normes de base puisqu'il a fait défaut de se prévaloir des conditions météorologiques et n'avait pas vérifié, au préalable, les postes de météo en cours de route. Pendant qu'il était encore dans des conditions VFR et qu'on l'a averti que sa destination était à un demi-mille dans la neige, il a accepté avec insouciance l'autorisation de « demeurer en VFR en tout temps » tout en sachant qu'il ne pourrait demeurer en VFR.

À ce moment, alors qu'il était dans des conditions VFR et qu'on l'a avisé qu'un aéroport était accessible à proximité, dans des conditions VFR spéciales, M. Johnson aurait pu éviter l'infraction en se déroutant sur St. Andrews.

CONCLUSION

M. Johnson ne s'est pas prévalu de tous les renseignements mis à sa disposition pour le vol prévu et a décidé consciemment de continuer un vol dans des conditions météorologiques qui se détérioraient alors qu'il avait encore l'occasion de demeurer en VFR et de se rendre à un aéroport praticable bien qu'inconnu. Dans ces circonstances, on ne peut prétendre qu'il a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du ministre et maintiens l'amende imposée de 1 000,00 $.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


o Dossier n C-1095-02 (TAC), Décision à la suite d'un appel.