Decisions

CAT File No. C-1840-02
MoT File No. RAP 5504-P341668-033321

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Larry Randal Gould, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 6.9
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 601.07(1), 602.114, 605.30(b)

White-out Conditions, VFR Flight, Icing Conditions, Necessity, Due Diligence, Defences, Burden of Proof


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: November 3, 1999

I uphold the Minister's decision on Counts 1 and 2, find that the Applicant committed the offences as set out, and confirm the suspension of three days for Count 1 and fifteen days for Count 2, for a total suspension of eighteen days. I dismiss Count 3. Said suspension will commence on the fifteenth day following service of the present determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, October 5, 1999 at 10:00 hours at the Prince Albert City Hall in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.

BACKGROUND

The Applicant Larry Randal Gould was accused of contravening the following sections of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

601.07 (1) No person shall operate a VFR aircraft in Class B airspace unless the aircraft is operated in accordance with an air traffic control clearance or an authorization issued by the Minister.

602.114 No person shall operate an aircraft in VFR flight within controlled airspace unless

(a) the aircraft is operated with visual reference to the surface

605.30 No person shall conduct a take-off or continue a flight in an aircraft where icing conditions are reported to exist or are forecast to be encountered along the route of flight unless

(...)

(b) current weather reports or pilot reports indicate that icing conditions no longer exist.

THE FACTS

  • The Applicant is the owner of and at all relevant times was the pilot-in-command of a Mooney M20C Canadian registered CF-RNU.
  • On Friday, March 19, 1999, the Applicant departed La Ronge, Saskatchewan destined for Saskatoon, Saskatchewan with a planned stop at Birch Hills, Saskatchewan.
  • A weather briefing was obtained, a VFR flight plan was filed and the Applicant departed La Ronge at 17:30 Z.
  • Deteriorating weather was encountered en route and the Applicant descended from a cruising altitude of 5,500 feet above sea level (ASL) to a cruising altitude of 3,500 feet ASL to maintain VFR.
  • The Applicant deviated from a direct route to fly over Montreal Lake on the first leg of his flight from La Ronge to Birch Hills.
  • Near the south end of Montreal Lake the Applicant encountered a whiteout condition and lost visual reference to the ground.
  • The Applicant, after losing contact with the ground, proceeded on a direct route to Birch Hills and initiated a climb in cloud until he broke out on top.
  • While on top of cloud and proceeding on course the Applicant responded to an inquiry from air traffic control (ATC) directed to an unidentified aircraft approximately 40 miles north of Prince Albert.
  • The communications between ATC and the Applicant were then established and a controlled VFR clearance was issued.
  • The Applicant later established visual contact with the ground, terminated his controlled VFR flight, and descended for landing at Birch Hills where the flight was terminated.

THE OFFENCES

Subsection 601.07(1) of the CARs: Pursuant to the Designated Airspace Handbook all airspace above 12,500 feet within a 60-mile radius of Prince Albert, SK VOR, is Class B airspace. The evidence clearly showed that the Applicant entered Class B airspace without having first obtained clearance (Count 1).

Paragraph 602.114(a) of the CARs: The Applicant admitted that he lost visual reference and climbed in cloud without a clearance along airways B2 and V303 (Count 2).

Paragraph 605.30(b) of the CARs: The Minister failed to prove that freezing rain was forecast along the intended route. The forecast was for freezing rain within 200 nautical miles of the upper trough. The Minister did not establish the location of the trough at the relevant time. Further, the Applicant demonstrated that actual weather reports were better than forecast, there was no reported freezing rain along the intended route and there were reports that the weather was improving from the west (Count 3).

ARGUMENT

The Applicant argued that notwithstanding his actions stood in violation of the CARs, he should not be found to have contravened the provision because he had exercised all due diligence. Due diligence is defined as the attention and care legally expected or required of a person. To succeed in such a contention, the Applicant would have had to have demonstrated on a balance of probabilities that the decisions he made and that the actions he took in considering the safety of his passengers and others were reasonable in the circumstances.

The evidence before the Tribunal was that the Applicant knew:

  1. That icing was forecast in cloud;
  2. That the tops of cloud were forecast to be as high as 22,000 feet;
  3. That he was flying along airways B2 and V303 which are controlled airspace.

In spite of this knowledge he chose to proceed en route to his original destination and climb in cloud hoping to break out on top. He made no attempt to turn west towards the forecast better weather and out of controlled airspace, he made no attempt to contact ATC to advise them of his predicament and he made no attempt to reverse his course. In making the choices he did, and in failing to take reasonable steps to ensure he would not conflict with other traffic, the Applicant has failed to exercise due diligence.

In addition, the Applicant argued the defence of necessity. In Minister of Transport v. Rice[1], where the member stated that:

circumstances giving rise to the defence of necessity require that the exigencies of the circumstances in which the pilot finds himself are so urgent that steps are required to be taken to avoid the danger that would result from inaction or delay ...

... it appears that compliance with the law was demonstrably impossible and that violation was inevitable or unavoidable, the trier of fact must determine whether or not there was any opportunity for an alternative course of action which did not involve a contravention of the regulations.

I do not accept the Applicant's assertion that he had no alternative but to climb. The first alternative, which he dismissed at the hearing, was a 180-degree turn to his reciprocal heading which would have returned him to the good VFR flight conditions he reported he had been encountering up until that point. The Applicant tendered as evidence the definition of a whiteout which is set out in the A.I.P. Canada[2]. The article defines a whiteout as:

'An atmospheric optical phenomenon of the polar regions in which the observer appears to be engulfed in a uniformly white glow. Neither shadows, horizon, nor clouds are discernible; sense of depth and orientation is lost; only very dark, nearby objects can be seen. Whiteout occurs over an unbroken snow cover and beneath a uniformly overcast sky, when with the aid of the snowblink effect, the light from the sky is about equal to that from the snow surface. Blowing snow may be an additional cause.' (Emphasis added)

The article goes on to say:

Consequently, whenever a pilot encounters the whiteout conditions described above, or even a suspicion of them, the pilot should immediately climb if at low level, or level off and turn towards an area where sharp terrain features exist. The flight should not proceed unless the pilot is prepared and competent to traverse the whiteout area on instruments.

The Applicant testified that he was flying over Montreal Lake near the south end when he encountered the whiteout condition. He further stated that he was not competent to fly with reference to instruments only having just received the minimal instrument training provided with his initial pilot training. The second and perhaps preferred alternative would have been not to fly over Montreal Lake (the unbroken snow-covered surface) thus avoiding the potential for whiteout. A third option would have been to maintain his altitude and proceed out of the phenomenon by turning or proceeding straight ahead which in short order would have brought him over the shoreline of the lake and out of the whiteout condition. In the circumstance the Applicant had alternatives that were not contrary to the regulations, would not have increased the hazard to himself and his passengers and would have provided less of a hazard to other potential users of the controlled airspace.

I note that there was no evidence presented at the hearing indicating that Montreal Lake was frozen and snow covered. However given the latitude of the lake and the time of year I am prepared to take notice of that fact.

For those reasons, I confirm the Minister's decision on Counts 1 and 2.

In the circumstances if the option were available to me I would be inclined to order recurrent training rather than the suspension.

DETERMINATION

I uphold the Minister's decision on Counts 1 and 2, find that the Applicant committed the offences as set out, and confirm the suspension of three days for Count 1 and fifteen days for Count 2, for a total suspension of eighteen days. I dismiss Count 3.

William Thornton Tweed
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] CAT File No. O-0382-33 Review Determination (1993).

[2] (aeronautical information publications) at AIR 2-24, 2.12.7.

Décisions

Dossier no C-1840-02 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP 5504-P341668-033321 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Larry Randal Gould, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 6.9
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, SOR/96-433, par. 601.07(1), art. 602.114, al. 605.30b)

Nécessité, Moyens de défense, Fardeau de la preuve, Diligence raisonnable, Conditions givrantes, Conditions de voile blanc, Vol VFR


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 3 novembre 1999

TRADUCTION

Je maintiens la décision du ministre concernant les chefs d'accusation 1 et 2. je considère que le requérant a commis les infractions libellées et je confirme la suspension de trois jours pour le chef d'accusation 1 et de quinze jours pour le chef d'accusation 2, soit une suspension totale de dix-huit jours. Je rejette le chef d'accusation 3. Ladite suspension débutera le quinzième jour suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 5 octobre 1999 à 10 h, à l'hôtel de ville de Prince Albert (Saskatchewan).

HISTORIQUE

On a accusé le requérant, Larry Randal Gould, d'avoir contrevenu aux articles suivants du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) :

601.07 (1) Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef VFR dans l'espace aérien de classe B, à moins que l'aéronef ne soit utilisé conformément à une autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne ou à une autorisation délivrée par le ministre.

602.114 Il est interdit à quiconque d'utiliser un aéronef en vol VFR dans l'espace aérien contrôlé, à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient réunies :

a) l'aéronef est utilisé avec des repères visuels à la surface;

605.30 Il est interdit d'effectuer le décollage d'un aéronef ou de continuer un vol lorsque des conditions de givrage ont été signalées ou sont prévues se présenter sur le trajet du vol, à moins que, selon le cas :

(...)

b) les derniers bulletins météorologiques ou les rapports de pilote n'indiquent que les conditions de givrage prévues n'existent plus.

LES FAITS

  • Le requérant est propriétaire du Mooney M20C portant l'immatriculation canadienne CF-RNU et, aux moments pertinents, il était commandant de bord dudit aéronef.
  • Le vendredi 19 mars 1999, le requérant a quitté La Ronge (Saskatchewan) à destination de Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) avec escale prévue à Birch Hills (Saskatchewan).
  • Un rapport météorologique a été obtenu, un plan de vol VFR a été déposé et le requérant a quitté La Ronge à 17:30 Z.
  • En cours de route, la météo se détériorait et le requérant est descendu d'une altitude de croisière de 5 500 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL) à une altitude de croisière de 3 500 pieds ASL pour se maintenir en VFR.
  • Le requérant a dévié d'une route directe pour survoler le lac Montreal au cours de la première étape de son vol de La Ronge vers Birch Hills.
  • Près de l'embouchure sud du lac Montreal, le requérant s'est trouvé en présence de conditions de voile blanc et il a perdu toute référence visuelle à la surface.
  • Le requérant, après avoir perdu contact avec le sol, a emprunté une route directe vers Birch Hills et il a commencé une montée dans les nuages jusqu'à ce qu'il les surplombe.
  • Quand il est parvenu au-dessus des nuages et qu'il a continué, le requérant a répondu à une demande du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qui s'adressait à un aéronef non identifié environ à 40 milles au nord de Prince Albert.
  • La communication entre le contrôle de la circulation aérienne et le requérant a alors été établie et on a accordé une autorisation de vol VFR contrôlé.
  • Plus tard, le requérant a établi le contact visuel avec la surface, il a mis fin à son vol VFR contrôlé et il est descendu pour atterrir à Birch Hills où le vol a pris fin.

LES INFRACTIONS

Le paragraphe 601.07(1) du RAC : En vertu du Manuel des espaces aériens désignés, tout l'espace aérien au-dessus de 12 500 pieds à l'intérieur d'un rayon de 60 milles de Prince Albert, SK VOR, est un espace aérien de classe B. La preuve a clairement démontré que le requérant est entré dans l'espace aérien de classe B sans en avoir préalablement obtenu l'autorisation (chef d'accusation 1).

L'alinéa 602.114a) du RAC : Le requérant a admis qu'il a perdu la référence visuelle et qu'il est monté dans les nuages sans autorisation sur les voies aériennes B2 et V303 (chef d'accusation 2).

L'alinéa 605.30b) du RAC : Le ministre a fait défaut de prouver qu'il y avait des prévisions de pluie verglaçante sur la route à suivre. On prévoyait de la pluie verglaçante à l'intérieur des 200 milles marins du creux barométrique en altitude. Le ministre n'a pas établi l'endroit du creux barométrique à l'heure en question. De plus, le requérant a démontré que les rapports météorologiques réels étaient meilleurs que les prévisions; on n'a mentionné aucune pluie verglaçante sur la route prévue et certains rapports indiquaient que la météo s'améliorait vers l'ouest (chef d'accusation 3).

LES ARGUMENTS

Le requérant a fait valoir que même si ses actions allaient à l'encontre du RAC, on ne devrait pas considérer qu'il avait contrevenu aux dispositions puisqu'il avait exercé toute la diligence raisonnable. La diligence raisonnable se définit comme l'attention et le soin auxquels une personne est légalement tenue ou obligée. Afin de répondre à cette prétention, le requérant devait démontrer selon la prépondérance des probabilités que les décisions qu'il a prises et les gestes qu'il a posés en regard de la sécurité des ses passagers et des autres étaient raisonnables dans les circonstances.

La preuve devant le Tribunal montre que le requérant savait :

  1. que du givrage était prévu dans les nuages;
  2. que d'après les prévisions le sommet des nuages devait se trouver à une altitude de 22 000 pieds;
  3. qu'il pilotait sur les voies aériennes B2 et V303 qui sont des espaces aériens contrôlés.

En dépit de ces éléments connus, il a choisi de poursuivre sa route vers sa destination originale et de monter dans les nuages en espérant les franchir. Il n'a fait aucune tentative pour se tourner vers l'ouest en direction des prévisions météorologiques plus favorables et, à l'extérieur de l'espace aérien contrôlé; il n'a fait aucune tentative pour communiquer avec le contrôle de la circulation aérienne afin de mentionner sa situation difficile et il n'a fait aucune tentative pour rebrousser chemin. En agissant comme il l'a fait, et en ne prenant pas les mesures raisonnables pour s'assurer qu'il n'y ait pas de risque d'abordage, le requérant a fait défaut d'exercer une diligence raisonnable.

De plus, le requérant a plaidé la défense de nécessité. Dans la cause du Ministre des Transports c. Rice[1], le conseiller a déclaré que :

les circonstances permettant le recours à ce mécanisme de défense requièrent que les contraintes liées aux circonstances dans lesquelles se trouve le pilote soient si extrêmes qu'elles exigent la prise de mesures pour éviter le danger qu'entraînerait l'inaction ou la lenteur à agir ...

... il apparaît que le respect de la loi soit manifestement impossible et que l'infraction soit inévitable, le juge des faits doit déterminer si oui ou non il existait une solution de rechange qui n'aurait pas entraîné une infraction au règlement.

Je n'accepte pas l'affirmation du requérant selon laquelle il n'avait pas d'autre choix que de monter. La première solution, qu'il a rejetée lors de l'audience, était un virage à 180 degrés en direction inversée qui l'aurait ramené vers les bonnes conditions de vol VFR qu'il avait connues jusqu'à ce point. Le requérant a présenté en preuve la définition d'un voile blanc tirée de A.I.P. Canada[2]. L'article définit le voile blanc comme suit :

« Un phénomène optique atmosphérique des régions polaires qui fait que l'observateur semble enveloppé dans une lueur blanchâtre uniforme. On ne peut discerner l'horizon, ni les ombres, ni les nuages; on perd le sens de la profondeur et de l'orientation et on ne peut voir que les objets très sombres situés tout près. Le voile blanc se produit si la couche de neige au sol est intacte et le ciel au-dessus est uniformément couvert lorsque, grâce à l'effet de clarté de la neige, la lumière venant du ciel est à peu près égale à celle qui vient de la surface de la neige. La présence d'un chasse-neige peur accentuer ce phénomène. »

L'article se poursuit ainsi :

Par conséquent, chaque fois qu'un pilote se trouve en présence des conditions de voile blanc décrites ci-dessus ou qu'il soupçonne simplement qu'il est en présence de ces conditions, il devrait immédiatement monter s'il se trouve à bas niveau ou se mettre en palier et se diriger vers un endroit où le terrain est très accidenté. Le pilote ne doit pas continuer le vol sauf s'il est préparé à traverser la zone de voile blanc aux instruments et s'il a la compétence voulue pour le faire.

Le requérant a témoigné qu'il survolait l'embouchure sud du lac Montreal lorsqu'il s'est retrouvé dans les conditions de voile blanc. Il a de plus déclaré qu'il n'était pas compétent pour piloter aux instruments puisqu'il n'avait reçu qu'un minimum de formation aux instruments dans le cadre de sa formation initiale de pilote. La deuxième solution, et sans doute la meilleure, aurait été de ne pas survoler le lac Montreal (une surface enneigée continue) et d'éviter ainsi un voile blanc possible. Une troisième option aurait été de maintenir son altitude et de sortir du voile blanc en tournant ou en se dirigeant droit devant lui, ce qui l'aurait rapidement mené vers le rivage du lac et à l'extérieur du voile blanc. Dans les circonstances, le requérant avait des solutions de rechange qui n'étaient pas contraires au règlement, et qui n'auraient pas augmenté le risque ni pour lui, ni pour ses passagers et aurait représenté moins de risques pour les autres utilisateurs potentiels de l'espace aérien contrôlé.

Je remarque qu'aucune preuve n'a été présentée lors de l'audience indiquant que le lac Montreal était gelé et couvert de neige. Toutefois, étant donné la latitude du lac et la période de l'année, je suis en mesure d'admettre le fait d'office.

Pour ces raisons, je confirme la décision du ministre sur les chefs d'accusation 1 et 2.

Dans les circonstances, si j'avais le choix, je serais tenté d'imposer une répétition de la formation plutôt qu'une suspension.

DÉCISION

Je maintiens la décision du ministre concernant les chefs d'accusation 1 et 2. Je considère que le requérant a commis les infractions libellées et je confirme la suspension de trois jours pour le chef d'accusation 1 et de quinze jours pour le chef d'accusation 2, soit une suspension totale de dix-huit jours. Je rejette le chef d'accusation 3.

William Thornton Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Dossier n° O-0382-33 (TAC) Décision à la suite d'une révision (1993).

[2] (publication d'information aéronautique) à AIR 2-25, 2.12.7.