Decisions

CAT File No. C-1888-33
MoT File No. RAP5504-P319947-034263 (P

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Bradley James Lehman, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.14(2)(a)(i)

Take-off, Low flying, Built-up area


Review Determination
David S. Ahmed


Decision: January 28, 2000

I uphold the Minister's decision to assess Mr. Lehman a monetary penalty of $250 on the grounds that he contravened subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations on July 18, 1999. This amount, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above-mentioned matter was held Friday, January 7, 2000 at 10:00 hours at the Provincial Court Office Courtroom, in La Ronge, Saskatchewan.

BACKGROUND

Mr. Lehman is the holder of a commercial pilot licence. He obtained his private pilot licence when he was only 17 years old and subsequently went on to obtain his commercial pilot licence in 1987. He has accumulated almost 8,000 hours of flying time and has a vast experience in flying float-equipped aircraft, including skis. He also holds a multi engine and an instrument rating. His flying career has included employment in Northwest Ontario and British Columbia. In May of 1999, he relocated to La Ronge, Saskatchewan. In August 1999, Mr. Lehman received a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty from a representative of the Minister of Transport which read as follows:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

COUNT #1:

Canadian Aviation Regulation 602.14(2)(a)(i), in that at approximately 1813 hours UTC, on or about July 18, 1999, at or near La Ronge, Saskatchewan, you operated an aircraft, to wit, a DeHavilland Aircraft of Canada Limited, DeHavilland DHC-3, bearing Canadian registration marks C-FQEI, over a built-up area, namely the Town of La Ronge, Saskatchewan, at an altitude less than 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 2,000 feet from the aeroplane.

In view of the fact, for whatever reason, Mr. Lehman declined to pay the penalty of $250 before September 15, 1999, the Minister of Transport requested a Review Hearing by the Civil Aviation Tribunal.

THE EVIDENCE

The Case Presenting Officer, Inspector Greg Holbrook, was invited to present the case on behalf of the Minister of Transport. He stated, essentially, that with the help of his two witnesses, he would prove that the low-flying charge levied against Mr. Lehman would be substantiated. He then called upon Mr. Welwood, who was his first witness, to give evidence following which Mr. Welwood was duly sworn in.

Mr. Welwood's Evidence

Mr. Welwood told us that he was employed by the Minister of Transport as a superintendent in their enforcement program. He stated that he was in La Ronge, Saskatchewan, on July 18, 1999 together with Mr. J. Gaudry who is also a Minister of Transport employee. Both he and Mr. Gaudry had been sent to La Ronge for surveillance duties.

At approximately 1813 hours UTC, Mr. Welwood and his colleague were seated on a park bench overlooking the water base in La Ronge when they happened to observe a float-equipped aircraft, to wit, a DeHavilland DHC-3, bearing Canadian registration marks C-FQEI, take off from the lake. It was stated that the aircraft took off in a southwesterly direction and then, at a low altitude, commenced a 270° turn to the left, passed over a small island, and then headed over the town of La Ronge in a northwesterly direction. Mr. Welwood stated that, in his opinion, when the aircraft was flying over La Ronge its altitude was approximately 300 feet. At Mr. Holbrook's request, Mr. Welwood drew the attention of the hearing to section 602.14 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs). This section of the CARs deals with minimum altitudes and distances and is worded as follows:

602.14 (1) For the purposes of this section and section 602.15, an aircraft shall be deemed to be operated over a built-up area or over an open-air assembly of persons where that built-up area or open-air assembly of persons is within a horizontal distance of

(a) 500 feet from a helicopter or balloon; or

(b) 2,000 feet from an aircraft other than a helicopter or balloon.

(2) Except where conducting a take-off, approach or landing or where permitted under section 602.15, no person shall operate an aircraft

(a) over a built-up area or over an open-air assembly of persons unless the aircraft is operated at an altitude from which, in the event of an emergency necessitating an immediate landing, it would be possible to land the aircraft without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface, and, in any case, at an altitude that is not lower than

(i) for aeroplanes, 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 2,000 feet from the aeroplane,

(ii) for balloons, 500 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 500 feet from the balloon, or

(iii) for an aircraft other than an aeroplane or a balloon, 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 500 feet from the aircraft; and

(b) in circumstances other than those referred to in paragraph (a), at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure.

Mr. Welwood stated that he and his colleague, Mr. J. Gaudry, waited until the aircraft in question returned, introduced themselves to the pilot in question, Mr. Lehman, and then interviewed him inside the aircraft. Mr. Welwood commenced the interview by informing Mr. Lehman that he was flying too low and would be investigated. He was then invited to give a warned statement in the presence of both Mr. Welwood and his colleague Mr. Gaudry. Mr. Welwood further stated that Mr. Lehman was not in any way coerced or intimidated into giving a statement.

(A warned statement means that the person giving the statement has been advised that he or she was not obliged to say anything unless they wished to do so and what they did say may be given in evidence.)

Mr. Lehman's warned statement was in a question and answer format, the questions being asked by Mr. Welwood. In Mr. Lehman's warned statement (Exhibit M-4), Mr. Lehman admitted that he was pilot-in-command of aircraft C-FQEI on July 18, 1999 when it took off from the water base in La Ronge, Saskatchewan. He admitted that after take-off he made a 270° turn to the left, flew over an island, and then proceeded over the town of La Ronge in a northwesterly direction. When asked what altitude he was at when he crossed the town's shoreline, he indicated that he was approximately 1,600 feet above sea level (ASL) which would mean that he was approximately 400 feet above ground level. Mr. Lehman, upon questioning, then stated that, in his opinion, when he crossed the west edge of the town he was at approximately 500 feet above ground level. Mr. Lehman concluded his statement by stating that even though he was below 1,000 feet above ground level when he was flying over La Ronge, he believed that there was an exception for aircraft in a similar position that were taking off or landing.

During the course of Mr. Welwood's evidence, he was asked to refer to the Water Aerodrome Supplement, in particular to the procedures that pilots of aircraft transiting to or from the water base in La Ronge, Saskatchewan. In that particular section, it was emphasized that "Pilots must avoid low flying over the town" (Exhibit M-6). At the conclusion of Mr. Welwood's evidence, Mr. Lehman was invited to cross-examine the witness.

Mr. Lehman's Cross-examination

Mr. Lehman's cross-examination consisted of his requesting clarification of the term "take-off." He was familiar with the fact that according to subsection 101.01(1) of the CARs, take-off means "the act of leaving a supporting surface, and includes the take-off run and the acts immediately preceding and following the leaving of that surface". What he wanted to know was when exactly the act of take-off was terminated. Mr. Welwood responded by stating that irrespective of what the interpretation of the regulation may be, it did still not excuse low flying over the town.

Mr. Gaudry's Evidence

Mr. Gaudry was duly sworn in. Upon request, he stated that he was employed by Transport Canada in the Winnipeg office in the enforcement branch.

Mr. Gaudry, upon questioning, confirmed that he and Mr. Welwood were in La Ronge on the day in question. They had been sent up there on a three-day surveillance trip. Basically, he confirmed that he had observed the aircraft C-FQEI take off from the water base in La Ronge. He stated that, in his opinion, the aircraft was no more than 300–400 feet above ground level when it overflew the town of La Ronge. He also confirmed that he was present when Mr. Welwood was obtaining Mr. Lehman's warned statement.

Mr. Lehman's Evidence

Mr. Lehman was duly sworn in. He took the stand only for a brief period of time. He told us about his impressive flying background and drew the attention of the hearing to the Vancouver Harbour VFR Terminal Procedures Chart. In one section of which it stated that "Downwind flt [flight] alt [altitude] not below 500' ASL over populated area". He continued by saying that he was still confused about the exact definition of "take-off'. He told us that when he took off, on the day in question, from La Ronge, he did have a boat strapped to one of his floats. After take-off, he commenced his 270° turn to the left attempting to gain altitude but was unable to do so when he overflew La Ronge. It was his opinion that he was still in the act of "take-off" when the incident occurred.

MR. HOLBROOK'S CLOSING ARGUMENT

Mr. Holbrook stated that the evidence that had been provided supported the charge. He went into details of the event as they had occurred and also provided documentation of three fairly similar cases that had been heard before members of the Civil Aviation Tribunal in all of which the members had confirmed the Minister of Transport's decision.

Mr. Holbrook concluded his closing argument by addressing sanctions. He stated that in cases such as Mr. Lehman's, the first offence usually involved a suspension of 5-7 days or a $250 penalty. He further stated that in some cases up to 14 days of suspension and up to a $1,000 penalty had been handed out.

MR. LEHMAN'S CLOSING ARGUMENT

Mr. Lehman declined to give a closing argument.

DETERMINATION

The evidence provided by the Minister of Transport's representatives confirmed that Mr. Lehman did indeed fly low over the town of La Ronge on July 18, 1999. I realize that some of the regulations at Vancouver Harbour may be different to those at La Ronge, Saskatchewan and that the exact definition of take-off may be ambiguous, but I do not feel that these are mitigating circumstances.

I uphold the Minister's decision to assess Mr. Lehman a monetary penalty of $250 on the grounds that he contravened subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations on July 18, 1999.

Dr. David Ahmed
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1888-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP5504-P319947-034263 (P (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Bradley James Lehman, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.14(2)a)(i)

Zone bâtie, Vol à basse altitude, Décollage


Décision à la suite d'une révision
David S. Ahmed


Décision : le 28 janvier 2000

TRADUCTION

Je maintiens la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 250 $ à M. Lehman puisque le 18 juillet 1999, il a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Ledit montant est payable à l'ordre du receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 7 janvier 2000 à 10 h, à la salle de cour de la Cour provinciale de La Ronge (Saskatchewan).

HISTORIQUE

M. Lehman est titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel. Il a obtenu sa licence de pilote privé dès l'âge de 17 ans et il a ensuite obtenu sa licence de pilote professionnel en 1987. Il compte presque 8 000 heures de vol et il possède une grande expérience de pilotage d'avions munis de flotteurs, et de skis. Il possède aussi une qualification de vol aux instruments pour multimoteurs. Au cours de sa carrière de pilote, il a travaillé dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique. En mai 1999, il s'est installé à La Ronge en Saskatchewan. En août 1999, M. Lehman a reçu un Avis d'amende pour contravention d'un représentant du ministre des Transports, l'avis se lisant comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Chef d'accusation no 1 :

Le sous-alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien puisqu'aux environs de 18 h 13 UTC, le ou vers le 18 juillet 1999, à ou près de La Ronge ( Saskatchewan), vous avez utilisé un aéronef, soit un DHC-3 de DeHavilland Aircraft of Canada Limited, portant la marque d'immatriculation canadienne C-FQEI, au-dessus d'une zone bâtie, à savoir la ville de La Ronge (Saskatchewan), à une altitude de moins de 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 2 000 pieds ou moins de l'avion, mesurée horizontalement.

Pour quelque motif que ce soit, M. Lehman a refusé de payer l'amende de 250 $ avant le 15 septembre 1999, et le ministre des Transports a demandé une audience en révision devant le Tribunal de l'aviation civile.

LA PREUVE

L'agent chargé de présenter le cas, l'inspecteur Greg Holbrook, a été invité à présenter le cas au nom du ministre des Transports. Essentiellement, il a déclaré qu'avec l'aide de ses deux témoins, il prouverait que l'accusation de vol à basse altitude soulevée contre M. Lehman était fondée. Il a par la suite appelé son premier témoin pour présenter sa preuve, M. Welwood, qui a dûment été assermenté.

La preuve de M. Welwood

M. Welwood nous a dit qu'il travaillait pour le ministre des Transports à titre de surintendant du programme d'application de la loi. Il a déclaré que le 18 juillet 1999, il était à La Ronge en Saskatchewan, avec M. J. Gaudry qui travaille aussi pour le ministre des Transports. Ils avaient tous deux été envoyés à La Ronge pour des fonctions de surveillance.

Aux environs de 18 h 13 UTC, M. Welwood et son collègue étaient assis sur un banc de parc dont la vue s'étendait sur l'hydrobase de La Ronge quand ils ont soudain remarqué un aéronef muni de flotteurs, soit un DeHavilland DHC-3 portant la marque d'immatriculation canadienne C-FQEI, qui décollait du lac. On a établi que l'aéronef a décollé en direction sud-ouest et qu'ensuite, à basse altitude, il a entrepris un virage à gauche à 270 °, a survolé une petite île et s'est ensuite dirigé vers la ville de La Ronge en direction nord-ouest. M. Welwood a déclaré que, selon lui, lorsque l'aéronef volait au-dessus de La Ronge, son altitude était d'environ 300 pieds. À la demande de M. Holbrook, M. Welwood a attiré l'attention de l'audience sur l'article 602.14 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). Cet article du RAC porte sur les altitudes et les distances minimales et il est libellé comme suit :

602.14 (1) Pour l'application du présent article et de l'article 602.15, un aéronef est réputé être utilisé au-dessus d'une zone bâtie ou au-dessus d'un rassemblement de personnes en plein air, lorsque la zone bâtie ou le rassemblement de personnes en plein air est à une distance, mesurée horizontalement :
a) de 500 pieds ou moins d'un hélicoptère ou d'un ballon;
b) de 2 000 pieds ou moins d'un aéronef autre qu'un hélicoptère ou un ballon.

(2) Sauf s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef ou lorsque la personne y est autorisée en application de l'article 602.15, il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef :
a) au-dessus d'une zone bâtie ou au-dessus d'un rassemblement de personnes en plein air, à moins que l'aéronef ne soit utilisé à une altitude qui permettrait, en cas d'urgence exigeant un atterrissage immédiat, d'effectuer un atterrissage sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface, et, dans tous les cas, à une altitude d'au moins :

(i) dans le cas d'un avion, 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 2 000 pieds ou moins de l'avion, mesurée horizontalement,
(ii) dans le cas d'un ballon, 500 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 500 pieds ou moins du ballon, mesurée horizontalement,
(iii) dans le cas d'un aéronef autre qu'un avion ou un ballon, 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 500 pieds ou moins de l'aéronef, mesurée horizontalement;

b) dans les cas autres que ceux visés à l'alinéa a), à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure.

M. Welwood a déclaré que lui et son collègue M. J. Gaudry, ont attendu jusqu'à ce que l'aéronef en question soit revenu et ils se sont présentés au pilote en question, M. Lehman, et ils l'ont ensuite interrogé à l'intérieur de l'aéronef. M. Welwood a débuté l'interrogatoire en informant M. Lehman qu'il volait trop bas et qu'une enquête aurait lieu. On l'a ensuite invité à faire une déclaration après mise en garde en présence de M. Welwood et de son collègue M. Gaudry. M. Welwood a par la suite déclaré que M. Lehman n'avait pas été contraint ou poussé à faire cette déclaration.

(Une déclaration après mise en garde signifie que la personne qui fait la déclaration a été avisée qu'elle n'est pas obligée de dire quoi que ce soit à moins de le vouloir et que ce qui est dit peut être retenu en preuve.)

La déclaration après mise en garde de M. Lehman était dans un format questions réponses et M. Welwood posait les questions. Dans la déclaration après mise en garde de M. Lehman (pièce M-4), M. Lehman a admis être commandant de bord de l'aéronef C-FQEI et qu'il le pilotait lorsque celui-ci a décollé le 18 juillet 1999 de l'hydrobase de La Ronge en Saskatchewan. Il a admis qu'à la suite du décollage, il a effectué un virage à gauche à 270 °, qu'il a survolé une île et qu'ensuite il s'est dirigé au-dessus de la ville de La Ronge en direction nord-ouest. Quand on lui a demandé à quelle altitude il était quand il a franchi le rivage de la ville, il a indiqué qu'il était environ à 1 600 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL), ce qui signifiait qu'il était environ à 400 pieds au-dessus du sol. Au cours de l'interrogatoire, M. Lehman a déclaré qu'à son avis, lorsqu'il a franchi la limite ouest de la ville, il était à environ 500 pieds au-dessus du sol. M. Lehman a conclu sa déclaration en disant que même s'il était à moins de 1 000 pieds au-dessus du sol au moment de survoler La Ronge, il croyait qu'il existait une exception pour les aéronefs en situation de décollage ou d'atterrissage comme la sienne.

Lors de la preuve de M. Welwood, on lui a demandé de se reporter au Supplément hydroaérodromes, en particulier aux procédures utilisées par les pilotes d'aéronefs qui arrivent à l'hydrobase de La Ronge (Saskatchewan) ou en partent. Dans cette partie en particulier, on insiste sur le fait que « les pilotes doivent éviter les vols à basse altitude au-dessus de la ville » (pièce M-6). À la conclusion de la preuve de M. Welwood, M. Lehman a été invité à contre-interroger le témoin.

Contre-interrogatoire de M. Lehman

Le contre-interrogatoire de M. Lehman a porté sur des demandes de clarification du terme « décollage ». Il était familier avec le fait qu'en vertu du paragraphe 101.01(1) du RAC, décollage signifie « l'action de quitter une surface d'appui, y compris le roulement au décollage et les opérations qui précèdent et suivent immédiatement cette action ». Il désirait savoir à quel moment exactement le décollage prenait fin. M. Welwood a répondu qu'indépendamment de l'interprétation qu'on fait du règlement, le vol à basse altitude n'est pas permis au-dessus de la ville.

La preuve de M. Gaudry

M. Gaudry a dûment été assermenté. Interrogé sur la question, il a déclaré qu'il travaillait pour Transports Canada au bureau de Winnipeg à la division de l'application de la loi.

Lors de l'interrogatoire M. Gaudry a confirmé que lui et M. Welwood étaient à La Ronge, ce jour-là. On les y avait envoyés pour effectuer une surveillance de trois jours. Essentiellement, il a confirmé qu'il avait aperçu l'aéronef C-FQEI décoller de l'hydrobase de La Ronge. Il a déclaré que, selon lui, l'aéronef n'était pas à plus de 300-400 pieds au-dessus du sol lorsqu'il a survolé la ville de La Ronge. Il a de plus confirmé qu'il était présent lorsque M. Welwood a obtenu la déclaration après mise en garde de M. Lehman.

La preuve de M. Lehman

M. Lehman a été dûment été assermenté. Il a rendu témoignage pendant une très brève période. Il nous a parlé de ses antécédents de vol imposants et il a attiré l'attention de l'audience sur la carte de procédures terminales VFR du havre de Vancouver. Dans une de ses sections, on y fait mention du « Vol vent arrière à une altitude qui n'est pas inférieure à 500 ' ASL dans les zones bâties ». Il a poursuivi en disant qu'il était encore confus en ce qui a trait à la définition exacte de « décollage ». Il nous a dit que lorsqu'il a décollé de La Ronge le jour en question, une embarcation était fixée à un de ses flotteurs. Après le décollage, il a amorcé un virage à gauche à 270 °, et il a tenté sans succès de gagner de l'altitude et n'y était pas parvenu lorsqu'il a survolé La Ronge. À son avis, il était toujours en « décollage » lors de l'incident.

LA PLAIDOIRIE DE M. HOLBROOK

M. Holbrook a déclaré que la preuve fournie appuyait l'accusation. Il a décrit les détails de l'incident, la façon dont ils se sont produits et il a aussi présenté de la documentation sur trois causes presque semblables entendues par des conseillers du Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans lesquelles les conseillers avaient confirmé la décision du ministre des Transports.

M. Holbrook a conclu sa plaidoirie en se prononçant sur les sanctions. Il a déclaré que dans des causes comme celle de M. Lehman, la première infraction entraînait habituellement une suspension de 5 à 7 jours ou une amende de 250 $. Il a de plus déclaré que dans certains cas, on avait imposé une suspension allant jusqu'à 14 jours et une amende de 1 000 $.

LA PLAIDOIRIE DE M. LEHMAN

M. Lehman n'a pas présenté de plaidoirie.

DÉCISION

La preuve fournie par les représentants du ministre des Transports confirmait que M. Lehman avait effectivement survolé la ville de La Ronge, le 18 juillet 1999. Je conviens que certains règlements du havre de Vancouver peuvent être différents de ceux de La Ronge en Saskatchewan et que la définition exacte de décollage peut être ambiguë mais je ne considère pas qu'il y a des circonstances atténuantes.

Je maintiens la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 250 $ à M. Lehman puisque, le 18 juillet 1999, il a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Dr David Ahmed
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile