Decisions

CAT File No. C-1921-33
MoT File No. RAP5504-P085565-033711 (P

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Alan Robert Zaroski, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S., c. 33 (1st Supp), s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.86(1)(b)

Failure to appear at hearing, Carry-on baggage, Cargo


Review Determination
Faye H. Smith


Decision: March 1, 2000

I conclude that the Minister has proved the above-mentioned contravention on a balance of probabilities and I confirm the assessed penalty in the amount of $250. This amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, February 10, 2000 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, 363 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba.

BACKGROUND

On May 17, 1999, the Respondent was the pilot of a De Havilland DHC-3, bearing Canadian registration marks CF-CBA which landed at Bissett, Manitoba. The aircraft carried passengers and cargo.

By Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty dated September 30, 1999, the Respondent was assessed a monetary penalty of $250 for an alleged infraction of paragraph 602.86(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs). The Notice reads in part:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulation 602.86(1)(b), in that at approximately 1900 hours UTC, on or about May 17, 1999, at or near Bissett, Manitoba, you did operate an aircraft, to wit, a Dehavilland DHC-3, bearing Canadian registration marks CF-CBA with carry-on baggage and cargo on board, when the carry-on baggage and cargo was not restrained so as to prevent them from shifting during movement of the aircraft on the surface and during take-off, landing and in flight turbulence.

As the monetary penalty was not paid in full by the specified date, the Civil Aviation Tribunal issued a Notice of Review Hearing on December 20, 1999.

REVIEW HEARING

Mr. Zaroski did not appear for the hearing at 10:00 hours on February 10, 2000. After confirming with the Tribunal Registry that no communication had been received from Mr. Zaroski, the hearing commenced at 10:20 hours in accordance with subsection 7.9(2) of the Aeronautics Act.

THE LAW

Paragraph 602.86(1)(b) of the CARs reads as follows:

(1) No person shall operate an aircraft with carry-on baggage, equipment or cargo on board, unless the carry-on baggage, equipment and cargo are

[...]

(b) restrained so as to prevent them from shifting during movement of the aircraft on the surface and during take-off, landing and in-flight turbulence.

THE EVIDENCE

The Case Presenting Officer for the Minister of Transport, Mr. Holbrook, called two witnesses, Mr. E. Dittbrenner and Mr. R. Gagnon. At the time of the alleged infraction, Mr. Dittbrenner was employed as an Inspector in the Aviation Enforcement Branch of Transport Canada in Winnipeg, Manitoba. He testified that at about 1900 UTC on May 17, 1999 he and Inspector Gagnon were doing surveillance and stopped in Bissett at a float base. They heard an aircraft land and went to the dock at the float base. The aircraft, an Otter, a DHC-3, with registration marks CF-CBA came to a stop at the dock. He noticed Mr. Zaroski in the left seat.

Mr. Dittbrenner stated that they did a ramp check for the appropriate paper work and he looked inside the cockpit and cabin of the aircraft. He saw four passengers come out of the aircraft. When he looked inside to the rear of the aircraft, he saw a load of garbage bags and plastic containers which was unsecured. To the front there were large plastic coolers and duffle bags held in place by ropes which did not restrain them either vertically or laterally. He testified that the load at the rear was totally unsecured and that it was sitting on top of a net which is specifically designed to secure the load.

Exhibit M-1 is a Ramp Inspection sheet which notes that there was an unsecured load in the rear and that the load in the front was secured. Inspector Dittbrenner stated that he completed this form at 14:00 hours on May 17, 1999 and elaborated that this form is used as a matter of practice as a check list to ensure that all aspects of the inspection are covered.

He asserted that Mr. Zaroski was pilot-in-command of CF-CBA as he saw him get out of the left seat of the aircraft and spoke to him, asking for his pilot licence which he did not have although he provided his pilot licence number which the Inspector noted down and later verified.

Exhibit M-2 is a Detection Notice which Inspector Dittbrenner stated was used in the course of an inspection of an aircraft when a deficiency was detected and that in this case he noted down the unsecured load, the pilot's name and the regulation contravened.

As well the Inspector indicated that photographs were taken of the aircraft depicting the aircraft registration and the loads at the front and rear of the aircraft. It was the evidence of Inspector Dittbrenner that the passengers had exited the aircraft as had the pilot-in-command who was on the dock at the time but that no efforts had been made to unload the aircraft or to tamper with the load prior to the taking of the photos by Inspector Gagnon.

Mr. Richard Gagnon testified that he is employed by the Minister of Transport in the Aviation Enforcement Branch in Winnipeg, Manitoba and confirmed that on the relevant date he was on a road trip with Inspector Dittbrenner at Bissett, Manitoba. He said that on that day at about 14:00 hours they did a ramp check on a single engine Otter with registration letters CF-CBA. It was in the process of landing and taxied up to the dock. Both Inspectors went up to the aircraft and identified themselves to the pilot-in-command Zaroski.

Immediately after the passengers had deplaned, Inspector Gagnon took a series of photographs filed as Exhibits at this review. Exhibit M-4 shows a photograph of a single engine Otter white in colour with registration letters CF-CBA. Exhibit M-5 shows substantial cargo restrained by nylon rope which in Inspector Gagnon's opinion was not secured so as to prevent shifting in the event of an accident. Exhibit M-6 shows garbage bags and plastic containers and evident in this picture is the fact that the net for securing cargo is under the cargo.

Inspector Gagnon stated that Mr. Zaroski is known to him and that after examining the cargo, they notified Mr. Zaroski that the cargo was not secured in accordance with the regulations.

Since the Respondent was absent and was not represented, no evidence was produced in his defence.

ARGUMENT

Mr. Holbrook summarized that the evidence clearly demonstrates that Mr. Zaroski was pilot-in-command of a De Havilland DHC-3 aircraft with registration marks CF-CBA on the date and time above noted. He stated that as a result of an inspection it was determined that in addition to passengers there was cargo and baggage at the back of the aircraft that was not restrained at all so as to prevent their shifting during movement of the aircraft and that the cargo and baggage at the front of the aircraft was not secured sufficiently to meet the requirements of the CARs.

DISCUSSION

Paragraph 602.86(1)(b) of the CARs requires proof of the following elements:

1) that a person operated an aircraft
2) with carry-on baggage, or cargo on board
3) which was not restrained so as to prevent shifting during movement of the aircraft

The first element was proved through the evidence of the Inspectors who asked the pilot-in-command for his licence and the number provided was later verified to be that of Mr. Zaroski. The pilot's name and licence number were noted by Inspector Dittbrenner in Exhibits M-1 and M-2 being the Aircraft Document/Equipment Check and the Detection Notice respectively. The aircraft registration was also noted in both of these documents and in Exhibit M-3 being the Certificate of Registration of Aircraft CF-CBA owned by Kenora Air Service Ltd.

Proof of the second and third elements of the offence as related by the Inspectors is also noted in Exhibits M-1 recorded by Inspector Dittbrenner as follows: "Load in rear was unsecured. (Net was available). Load consisted of sleeping bags, empty cans in garbage bags. Main load up front was secured. 4 pax [passengers] carried." As well, the narrative found mid page of Exhibit M-2 states that, "Aircraft landed with an unsecured load consisting of garbage bags filled with empty cans, sleeping bags and a container which was empty."

The photographs which were introduced and marked as Exhibits M-4, M-5 and M-6 clearly depict the findings of the Inspectors on the day of the alleged infraction. Exhibit M-4 shows the underside of the right wing span, the right side and the tail section of an aircraft which is white in colour. The registration letters can be seen near the tail section of the aircraft as CF-CBA. Exhibit M-5 is a photo of four or five large plastic containers and three or four large bags or knapsacks which appear to be of a nylon or canvass material. This photo also depicts a yellow cord running across the length and along the side of this cargo which is stacked at the left front area of the aircraft just aft of the bulkhead. Exhibit M-6 is a photo of some cargo which is apparently at the rear of the aircraft. This cargo consists of some garbage bags which appear to be at least half full as well as a blue plastic container. These latter objects appear to be sitting on top of the cargo net which is attached to the rear of the aircraft.

Both Inspectors Dittbrenner and Gagnon testified that this cargo when viewed at the time of their inspection was as depicted in the photographs and that neither cargo load was secured as required by the regulations to prevent shifting in flight.

I find as a fact that the location of the cargo on board CF-CBA was such that it had potential for shifting in flight. Without any form of a tie down or other means of securing it in place, the cargo at the rear of the aircraft would be susceptible to turbulence or other forces which could have caused it to shift when the aircraft was in flight. The security of the cargo at the front of the aircraft, although tied with a rope, would appear to be questionable. In the absence of countering evidence or argument I find that the cargo on board CF-CBA was not adequately secured to prevent shifting so as to comply with paragraph 602.86(1)(b) of the CARs.

DETERMINATION

I conclude that the Minister has proved the above-mentioned contravention on a balance of probabilities and I confirm the assessed penalty in the amount of $250.

Faye Smith
Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1921-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP5504-P085565-033711 (P (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Alan Robert Zaroski, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.86(1)b)

Fret, Bagages de cabine, Défaut d'assister à l'audience


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Faye H. Smith


Décision : le 1er mars 2000

TRADUCTION

Je conclus que le ministre a prouvé l'infraction précitée selon la prépondérance des probabilités et je confirme l'amende imposée de 250 $. Ledit montant est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les 15 jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 10 février 2000 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada, 363 Broadway, Winnipeg (Manitoba).

HISTORIQUE

Le 17 mai 1999, l'intimé pilotait un De Havilland DHC-3 portant la marque d'immatriculation canadienne CF-CBA et a atterri à Bissett (Manitoba). L'aéronef transportait des passagers et du fret.

Par Avis d'amende pour contravention du 30 septembre 1999, on a imposé à l'intimé une amende de 250 $ pour la présumée infraction à l'alinéa 602.86(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). L'Avis se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

L'alinéa 602.86(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, puisque vers 19 h (UTC), le ou vers le 17 mai 1999, à ou près de Bissett (Manitoba), vous avez utilisé un aéronef, à savoir, un Dehavilland DHC-3 portant la marque d'immatriculation canadienne CF-CBA avec des bagages de cabine et du fret à bord qui n'étaient pas retenus de façon à prévenir leur déplacement pendant le mouvement de l'aéronef à la surface, le décollage, l'atterrissage et la turbulence en vol.

Comme l'amende n'était pas payée au complet à la date mentionnée, le Tribunal de l'aviation civile a délivré un Avis d'audience le 20 décembre 1999.

AUDIENCE EN RÉVISION

M. Zaroski ne s'est pas présenté à l'audience le 10 février 2000 à 10 h. Après vérification auprès du greffe du Tribunal qu'aucune communication de M. Zaroski ne lui était parvenue, l'audience a débuté à 10 h 20, conformément au paragraphe 7.9(2) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 602.86(1)b)du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) se lit comme suit :

(1) Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef ayant des bagages de cabine, de l'équipement ou du fret à bord, à moins que ces bagages de cabine, cet équipement ou ce fret ne soient :

[...]

b) soit retenus de façon à prévenir leur déplacement pendant le mouvement de l'aéronef à la surface, le décollage, l'atterrissage et la turbulence en vol.

LA PREUVE

L'agent chargé de présenter le cas pour le ministre des Transports, M. Holbrook, a assigné deux témoins, M. E. Dittbrenner et M. R. Gagnon. Au moment de la présumée infraction, M. Dittbrenner travaillait comme inspecteur à la direction de l'Application de la loi de Transports Canada à Winnipeg (Manitoba). Il a témoigné que vers 19 h (UTC) le 17 mai 1999, il faisait de la surveillance avec l'inspecteur Gagnon, lorsqu'ils se sont arrêtés à la base d'hydravions de Bissett. Ils ont entendu un aéronef atterrir et se sont rendus au quai de la base d'hydravions. L'aéronef, un Otter DHC-3 portant la marque d'immatriculation CF-CBA s'est arrêté au quai. Il a vu M. Zaroski sur le siège de gauche.

M. Dittbrenner a déclaré que dans le cadre d'une vérification des documents à l'aire de trafic, ils avaient regardé à l'intérieur du poste de pilotage et de la cabine de l'aéronef. Il a vu quatre passagers sortir de l'aéronef. Lorsqu'il a regardé à l'arrière de l'aéronef, il a vu un tas de sacs de poubelle et de contenants en plastique non retenus. À l'avant, il y avait des grandes glacières en plastique et des sacs de voyage maintenus en place par des cordes qui ne les retenaient ni verticalement, ni latéralement. Il a témoigné que la charge arrière n'était pas retenue et qu'elle reposait sur le dessus d'un filet particulièrement conçu à cet effet.

La pièce M-1 est une feuille d'inspection de l'aire de trafic qui fait état d'une charge arrière non retenue alors que la charge avant l'était. L'inspecteur Dittbrenner a déclaré qu'il avait rempli ce formulaire à 14 h le 17 mai 1999 et il a ajouté que ledit formulaire est utilisé dans la pratique comme liste de vérification pour s'assurer que tous les aspects de l'inspection sont couverts.

Il a affirmé que M. Zaroski était commandant de bord du CF-CBA étant donné qu'il l'a vu se lever du siège gauche de l'aéronef; il lui a parlé pour lui demander sa licence de pilote, ce dernier ne l'avait pas mais il a tout de même fourni son numéro de licence de pilote que l'inspecteur a noté et vérifié plus tard.

La pièce M-2 constitue un Avis de détection utilisé, selon l'inspecteur Dittbrenner, lors de l'inspection d'un aéronef si l'on détecte une anomalie et sur lequel, dans ce cas, il a noté qu'on n'avait pas assuré la sécurité de la charge, le nom du pilote et le règlement enfreint.

L'inspecteur a de plus indiqué que les photographies de l'aéronef montrent son immatriculation et les charges de l'avant et de l'arrière de l'aéronef. La preuve de l'inspecteur Dittbrenner a montré que les passagers étaient sortis de l'aéronef et que le commandant de bord était déjà sur la passerelle, mais qu'on avait fait aucune tentative pour décharger l'aéronef ou déplacer la charge avant que les photos ne soient prises par l'inspecteur Gagnon.

M. Richard Gagnon a témoigné qu'il travaille pour le ministre des Transports à la direction de l'Application de la loi à Winnipeg (Manitoba) et il a confirmé qu'à la date mentionnée, il s'était rendu en véhicule à Bissett (Manitoba) avec l'inspecteur Dittbrenner. Il a dit que ce jour-là, vers 14 h, ils ont fait la vérification d'un monomoteur sur l'aire de trafic, soit un Otter portant la marque d'immatriculation CF-CBA. Il venait d'atterrir et il s'avançait vers le quai. Les deux inspecteurs sont allés vers l'aéronef et ils se sont présentés au commandant de bord Zaroski.

Immédiatement après que les passagers aient débarqué, l'inspecteur Gagnon a pris une série de photographies déposées comme pièces à cette révision. La pièce M-4 constitue une photographie d'un monomoteur Otter blanc portant la marque d'immatriculation CF-CBA. La pièce M-5 montre une importante quantité de fret maintenu par une corde de nylon et qui, selon l'inspecteur Gagnon, n'était pas retenue de façon à prévenir son déplacement dans le cas d'un accident. La pièce M-6 montre des sacs de poubelles et des contenants de plastique et il est évident sur cette photo que le filet servant à retenir le fret est sous le fret.

L'inspecteur Gagnon a déclaré qu'il connaît M. Zaroski et qu'après avoir examiné le fret, ils ont averti M. Zaroski que le fret n'était pas retenu conformément aux règlements.

Étant donné que l'intimé était absent et n'était pas représenté, aucune preuve n'a été présentée pour sa défense.

ARGUMENTS

M. Holbrook a résumé la preuve qui montre clairement que M. Zaroski était commandant de bord de l'aéronef De Havilland DHC-3 portant la marque d'immatriculation CF-CBA à la date et à l'heure indiquées plus haut. Il a déclaré qu'à la suite d'une inspection, on avait déterminé qu'en plus des passagers, il y avait du fret et des bagages à l'arrière de l'aéronef qui n'étaient pas retenus de façon à prévenir leur déplacement pendant le mouvement de l'aéronef et du fret et des bagages à l'avant de l'aéronef qui n'étaient pas suffisamment retenus selon les prescriptions du RAC.

DISCUSSION

L'alinéa 602.86(1)b) du RAC exige la preuve des éléments qui suivent :

1) qu'une personne a utilisé un aéronef
2) avec des bagages, de l'équipement ou du fret à bord
3) qui n'étaient pas retenus de façon à prévenir leur déplacement pendant le mouvement de l'aéronef.

Le premier élément a été prouvé par le biais de la preuve des inspecteurs qui ont demandé la licence du commandant de bord et le numéro fourni et vérifié par la suite était celui de M. Zaroski. L'inspecteur Dittbrenner a noté le nom du commandant de bord et son numéro de licence aux pièces M-1 et M-2, soit les documents de l'aéronef/ la vérification de l'équipement et l'Avis de détection, respectivement. L'immatriculation de l'aéronef a aussi été notée sur ces deux documents et à la pièce M-3, soit le certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef CF-CBA, propriété de Kenora Air Service Ltd.

La preuve des deuxième et troisième éléments de l'infraction relatée par les inspecteurs est aussi notée à la pièce M-1 et inscrite par l'inspecteur Dittbrenner comme suit : « La charge arrière n'était pas retenue. (Le filet était disponible). La charge se composait de sacs de couchage, de boîtes de conserve vides dans des sacs de poubelle. La charge principale à l'avant était retenue. Quatre passagers étaient à bord. » De plus, l'exposé des faits qu'on trouve au milieu de la page de la pièce M-2 déclare que « L'aéronef a atterri avec une charge non retenue composée de sacs de poubelle remplis de boîte de conserve vides, de sacs de couchage et d'un contenant vide. »

Les photographies constituant les pièces M-4, M-5 et M-6 montrent clairement les découvertes des inspecteurs, le jour de la présumée infraction. La pièce M-4 montre le dessous de l'envergure de l'aile droite, le côté droit et la queue d'un aéronef de couleur blanche. On peut voir les lettres d'immatriculation près de la queue de l'aéronef, soit CF-CBA. La pièce M-5 est une photographie de quatre ou cinq grands contenants de plastique et trois ou quatre grands sacs à dos qui semblent être en nylon ou en canevas. La photographie montre aussi une corde jaune sur la longueur et le côté de ce fret qui est empilé dans la partie avant gauche de l'aéronef juste à l'arrière du point de fixation. La pièce M-6 est une photographie de fret qui se serait trouvé à l'arrière de l'aéronef. Le fret se compose de quelques sacs de poubelle qui semblent au moins à moitié pleins, et d'un contenant de plastique bleu. Ces objets semblent reposer sur le filet de fret qui est attaché à l'arrière de l'aéronef.

Les inspecteurs Dittbrenner et Gagnon ont témoigné que le fret qu'ils ont aperçu au moment de leur inspection était comme sur les photographies et qu'il n'était pas retenu afin de prévenir son déplacement en vol, comme le prescrit le règlement.

Je tiens pour avéré que l'emplacement du fret à bord du CF-CBA était tel qu'il y avait des possibilités de déplacement en vol. Sans aucune sorte d'attache ou autre moyen de le maintenir en place, le fret à l'arrière de l'aéronef était soumis aux turbulences ou aux autres forces qui sont susceptibles de le déplacer lorsque l'aéronef est en vol. Bien que le fret à l'avant de l'aéronef ait été retenu par une corde, sa stabilité semble suspecte. En l'absence de preuve ou d'arguments contraires, je considère que le fret à bord du CF-CBA n'était pas retenu de façon à prévenir son déplacement, conformément à l'alinéa 602.86(1)b) du RAC.

DÉCISION

Je conclus que le ministre a prouvé l'infraction précitée selon la prépondérance des probabilités et je confirme l'amende imposée de 250 $.

Faye Smith
Présidente
Tribunal de l'aviation civile