Decisions

CAT File No. C-2031-33
MoT File No. RAP5504-040920 (P)

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

George Schmitt, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act., R.S., c. 33 (1st Supp.), s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 202.13(2)

Ultra-light aircraft, Aircraft registration, Responsibility of pilot-in-command


Review Determination
William G. McDonald


Decision: September 7, 2000

I confirm the Minister's finding that Mr. George Schmitt did contravene subsection 202.13(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and confirm the monetary penalty of $500. This amount, made payable to the Receiver General of Canada, must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, August 29, 2000 at 10:00 hours at the Town of Winkler Civic Centre, in Winkler, Manitoba.

BACKGROUND

On February 28, 2000, a monetary penalty of $500 was assessed against Mr. George Schmitt, the Respondent, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act by the Minister of Transport alleging that Mr. Schmitt had contravened the following provision:

Canadian Aviation Regulation, subsection 202.13(2), in that at approximately 1915 hours local on or about the 11th day of June A.D., 1999, at or near Winkler, Manitoba, you operated a Six-Chuter aircraft bearing serial number 981965SR2C1 in Canada when it was not registered in Canada.

On June 11, 1999, a Six-Chuter powered parachute, serial number 981965SR2C1, departed the Winkler Airfield with one person on board on a flight to a private residence near the village of Reinland, Manitoba. The Six-Chuter powered parachute was followed by the Winkler Police who charged the pilot with impaired operation of a vehicle. Transport Canada was notified of the incident by the Winkler Police Department, conducted an examination and assessed Mr. Schmitt the monetary penalty.

THE LAW

Subsection 202.13(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

Division II-Aircraft Registration

Registration of Aircraft-General

202.13 (1) ...

(2) Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to subsection 202.14(1), 202.42(3) or 202.43(1), no person shall operate an aircraft in Canada unless it is registered in Canada, in a contracting state or in a foreign state that has an agreement in force in Canada that allows an aircraft that is registered in that foreign state to be operated in Canada.

The witnesses, excepting the document holder, Mr. Schmitt, were excused from the room prior to the commencement of proceedings.

There was a pre-hearing conference held between the parties but no settlement was reached.

Prior to hearing the evidence the Member accepted a motion by the Case Presenting Officer Mr. J. D. Gaudry that an amendment to the Notice of Assessment be allowed. The change being in the serial number of the Six-Chuter powered parachute. That the serial number be amended to 981965SR2CL, the change being the final digit 1 to the letter L.

THE EVIDENCE

Mr. Gaudry, the Case Presenting Officer, stated that Mr. George Schmitt was the pilot-in-command of the flight that took place on June 11, 1999 and that the Six-Chuter powered parachute was not registered.

He called as his first witness Mr. Richard Gagnon, a Transport Canada Enforcement Officer. Mr. Gagnon stated that in June of 1999 the Winkler Police Department contacted Transport Canada to inform them of the flight conducted by Mr. Schmitt and that the Winkler Police believed that the Six-Chuter was not registered. Mr. Gagnon conducted the investigation by Transport Canada and determined that the Six-Chuter was not registered. Mr. Gaudry tendered four exhibits in the course of his questioning of Mr. Gagnon.

Exhibit M-1 the Notice of Assessment issued to Mr. Schmitt

Exhibit M-2 the Acknowledgement of Receipt signed by Mr. Schmitt from Canada Post

Exhibit M-3 the definition of aircraft under the Aeronautics Act

Exhibit M-4 the Transport Canada Certificate of a record search for the registration of the Six-Chuter powered parachute, serial number 981965SR2C1, which indicates no registration certificate was issued

Mr. Gaudry then called his second witness Constable Raymond Friesen. Constable Friesen testified that he was a member of the Winkler Police Department on June 11, 1999. The department received a phone call from Kevin Greening of Arty's Air Service at the Winkler field. Mr. Greening told Constable Friesen that a powered parachute was flying erratically around the airfield and that he was afraid that it might crash. Constable Friesen and his partner proceeded to the airfield and observed the powered parachute flying in an unsafe manner. They proceeded onto the field in the cruiser car and as they approached the aircraft it took off and flew away in a southeasterly direction. Constable Friesen then followed the aircraft from the Winkler field to a private residence near Reinland where the aircraft landed. Constable Friesen approached the aircraft and identified the pilot as Mr. George Schmitt. He subsequently charged Mr. Schmitt with impaired operation of a vehicle and contacted Transport Canada about the lack of registration.

Mr. Gaudry then called his third witness Mr. Brian Toews. Mr. Toews stated that he is the owner of Red Baron Powerchutes, a flight instructor and a dealer for the Six-Chuter powered parachute aircraft. Mr. Toews testified that Mr. Schmitt was a student of his and that he had purchased the Six-Chuter from Red Baron Powerchutes.

Mr. Gaudry proceeded to submit a number of documents as evidence and questioned Mr. Toews on each of the documents.

Exhibit M-5 Powered Parachute Training Course Syllabus

Mr. Toews testified that this syllabus was used by Red Baron during the ground school training and that question 18 on page 6, regarding registration, was explained to students. Mr. Gaudry asked if Mr. Schmitt had taken the ground school and Mr. Toews testified that he had.

Exhibit M-6 Powerchutes Pre-Solo Exam, copy of Mr. Schmitt's exam

Mr. Gaudry asked if a pre-solo exam was undertaken by all students. Mr. Toews testified that all students take the exam before soloing and that Mr. Schmitt had written the exam submitted as Exhibit M-6. Mr. Gaudry asked if question number 18 regarding the necessary documents on board was answered correctly by Mr. Schmitt. Mr. Toews responded that Mr. Schmitt had answered the question on necessary documents correctly.

Exhibit M-7 The Ultralight Information Manual

Mr. Gaudry asked Mr. Toews if any other information was given to the students and Mr. Toews testified that all students were given a copy of Exhibit M-7, the Ultralight Information Manual. Mr. Toews was asked about the registration section and whether this section was gone over with students. Mr. Toews responded that the registration information was gone over with reference to pages 13 and 18, both of which deal with registration.

Exhibit M-8 Red Baron Powerchutes Bill of Sale

Mr. Gaudry asked Mr. Toews if Red Baron had sold the Six-Chuter to Mr. Schmitt. Mr. Toews confirmed the sale and verified the bill of sale as evidence.

Exhibit M-9 Transport Canada Powered Parachutes General Information Brochure

Mr. Gaudry asked Mr. Toews if any other information was given to new owners of powered parachutes. Mr. Toews testified that Mr. Schmitt received a copy of Exhibit M-9, the Transport Canada information brochure on powered parachutes. Mr. Gaudry pointed out that the third section of the brochure titled "How are powered parachutes registered?" deals with the procedure of registering a powered parachute.

Mr. Schmitt was then provided the opportunity to question Mr. Toews. Mr. Schmitt asked a number of questions regarding his having flown the aircraft prior to writing the pre-solo exam. Mr. Toews responded that students are allowed to fly dual, that is with an instructor, prior to the pre-solo exam. He stated that it is not the policy of Red Baron to allow students to fly solo prior to the pre-solo exam.

Mr. Toews was excused and Mr. Schmitt was sworn in.

Mr. Schmitt testified that he was trained in the air before the permit was issued. He stated that it was his understanding that the aircraft came with registration and that it was his decision to obtain additional insurance if he so chose.

Mr. Gaudry then asked Mr. Schmitt a number of questions regarding training and registration. Mr. Gaudry asked if Mr. Schmitt's instructor Carl had gone over the training syllabus (M-5). Mr. Schmitt testified that he had gone over the syllabus with Carl. Mr. Gaudry asked Mr. Schmitt if he had answered question number 18 of the pre-solo exam correctly. Mr. Schmitt responded that he had the correct answer but was confused between the registration and the insurance. Mr. Gaudry asked if Mr. Schmitt had received any information when he purchased the Six-Chuter. Mr. Schmitt testified that he had received the Ultralight Information Manual (M-7) but had not seen the Transport Canada brochure (M-9) prior to today. Mr. Gaudry asked if Mr. Schmitt was the pilot-in-command of the Six-Chuter during the flight undertaken on June 11, 1999 and if the three documents (certificate of registration, student pilot permit and liability insurance) were on board. Mr. Schmitt testified that he was the pilot-in-command on June 11, 1999 and he had only his student pilot permit on board the aircraft.

There being no further questions the Member closed the evidentiary record and asked for closing statements.

Mr. Gaudry stated that the evidence provided shows that the Six-Chuter is designated an aircraft and that no registration was ever issued by Transport Canada. He further stated that Constable Friesen identified Mr. Schmitt as the pilot-in-command, Mr. Schmitt was confirmed as the owner by Mr. Toews and that he had written and passed the pre-solo exam, correctly answering question 18 dealing with registration. He also stated that Mr. Schmitt admits having received the Ultralight Information Manual which also lays out registration requirements. He closed by stating that Mr. Schmitt was the pilot-in-command, there was no registration and therefore Mr. Schmitt was in violation of the CARs and that the argument of due diligence does not apply in these circumstances.

Mr. Schmitt in his closing statement pointed out that the aircraft was not registered when he was training and that it was his understanding that registration took place when the machine came into the country. He also stated that he was confused between the registration and insurance procedures and that these two documents were never clearly explained to him.

DETERMINATION

In this matter the burden is on the Minister to prove its case. The weight of the evidence presented clearly shows that Mr. George Schmitt was the pilot-in-command of the Six-Chuter powered parachute flown on June 11, 1999. Mr. Schmitt himself testified that he was the pilot-in-command and that no registration was on board the aircraft on that day.

Mr. Schmitt testified that it was his understanding that the registration took place when the aircraft entered Canada and that he was confused about insurance and registration. Both the Ultralight Information Manual and the Red Baron Ground School Training Syllabus make it clear that it is the responsibility of the pilot-in-command and owner to ensure that the necessary documents are carried on board during any flight. While it is regrettable that Mr. Schmitt was confused about these documents he did have the opportunity to question Mr. Toews of Red Baron Powerchutes at any time during his training and after he had purchased the aircraft. It is a pilot's responsibility to avoid confusion in all aspects of flight to ensure the safety of all involved. This includes having the necessary documentation and certificates on board the aircraft. It was Mr. Schmitt's responsibility, as a pilot and owner, to ensure that all necessary documentation was on board during any flight. Mr. Schmitt failed to take responsibility in this matter and I have determined the following:

I confirm the Minister's finding that Mr. George Schmitt did contravene subsection 202.13(2) of the CARs and confirm the monetary penalty of $500.

William G. McDonald
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-2031-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP5504-040920 (P) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

George Schmitt, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, par. 202.13(2)

Responsabilité du commandant de bord, Immatriculation des aéronefs, Avion ultra-léger


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William G. McDonald


Décision : le 7 septembre 2000

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre selon laquelle M. George Schmitt a contrevenu au paragraphe 202.13(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et je maintiens l'amende imposée de 500 $. Le paiement de l'amende, fait à l'ordre du receveur général du Canada, doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 29 août 2000 à 10 h au centre municipal de la ville de Winkler, à Winkler au Manitoba.

HISTORIQUE

Le 28 février 2000, une amende de 500 $ a été imposée par le ministre des Transports à l'intimé George Schmitt, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, M. Schmitt ayant prétendument contrevenu à la disposition suivante :

Règlement de l'aviation canadien, paragraphe 202.13(2), à savoir que vers 19 h 15, heure locale, le ou vers le 11e jour de juin 1999, à ou aux environs de Winkler (Manitoba), vous avez utilisé au Canada un aéronef Six-Chuter portant le numéro de série 981965SR2C1 alors qu'il n'était pas immatriculé au Canada.

Le 11 juin 1999, un parachute entraîné par moteur Six-Chuter portant le numéro de série 981965SR2C1, a quitté le terrain d'aviation de Winkler avec une personne à bord pour effectuer un vol en direction d'un domicile privé près du village de Reinland au Manitoba. La police de Winkler a suivi le parachute entraîné par moteur et a accusé le pilote de conduite avec facultés affaiblies. Ayant été prévenu de l'incident par la police de Winkler, Transports Canada a mené une enquête et imposé une amende à M. Schmitt.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 202.13(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) :

Section II-Immatriculation des aéronefs

Immatriculation des aéronefs-Généralités

202.13 (1) ...

(2) Sauf dans les cas où une autorisation est délivrée en application des paragraphes 202.14(1), 202.42(3) ou 202.43(1), il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef au Canada à moins qu'il ne soit immatriculé au Canada, dans un État contractant ou dans un État étranger qui a conclu avec le Canada un accord permettant l'utilisation au Canada d'un aéronef immatriculé dans cet État.

Les témoins, à l'exception du titulaire du document, M. Schmitt, ont été autorisés à quitter la salle d'audience avant le début des procédures.

Lors d'une conférence préparatoire à l'audience, les parties n'en sont pas venues à une entente.

Avant le début de l'audience, le conseiller a accepté une requête de l'agent chargé de présenter le cas, M. J. D. Gaudry, visant à permettre une modification à l'Avis d'amende pour contravention. Il s'agissait de modifier le numéro de série du parachute entraîné par moteur comme suit : 981965SR2CL, à savoir que l'on remplace le chiffre 1 par la lettre L.

LA PREUVE

L'agent chargé de présenter le cas, M. Gaudry, a déclaré que M. George Schmitt était commandant de bord du vol effectué le 11 juin 1999 et que le parachute entraîné par moteur Six-Chuter n'était pas immatriculé.

Il a appelé son premier témoin, M. Richard Gagnon, un agent d'application de la loi de Transports Canada. M. Gagnon a déclaré qu'en juin 1999, la police de Winkler a communiqué avec Transports Canada pour faire part du vol effectué par M. Schmitt, croyant que le Six-Chuter n'était pas immatriculé. M. Gagnon a mené l'enquête de Transports Canada et a conclu que le Six-Chuter n'était pas immatriculé. M. Gaudry a présenté quatre pièces dans le cadre de son interrogatoire de M. Gagnon.

Pièce M-1 l'Avis d'amende délivré à M. Schmitt
Pièce M-2 l'accusé de réception de Postes Canada signé par M. Schmitt
Pièce M-3 la définition d'aéronef sous le régime de la Loi sur l'aéronautique
Pièce M-4 le certificat de recherche de dossiers de Transports Canada concernant l'immatriculation du parachute entraîné par moteur Six-Chuter portant le numéro de série 981965SR2C1, indiquant qu'aucun certificat d'immatriculation n'a été établi

M. Gaudry a ensuite appelé son deuxième témoin, l'agent Raymond Friesen. Ce dernier a témoigné faire partie de la force policière de Winkler le 11 juin 1999. Les services policiers ont reçu un appel téléphonique de Kevin Greening de Arty's Air Service du terrain d'aviation de Winkler. M. Greening a dit à l'agent Friesen qu'un parachute entraîné par moteur volait en tous sens autour du terrain et qu'il craignait qu'il ne s'écrase. L'agent Friesen et son collègue se sont rendus au terrain pour observer le parachute entraîné par moteur volant de façon peu sûre. Ils se sont engagés sur le terrain dans leur voiture de patrouille et, comme ils s'approchaient de l'aéronef, celui-ci a décollé et s'est rapidement éloigné en direction du sud-est. L'agent Friesen a ensuite suivi l'aéronef à partir du terrain de Winkler jusqu'à un domicile privé près de Reinland où l'aéronef à atterri. L'agent Friesen s'est approché de l'aéronef et a identifié le pilote comme étant M. George Schmitt. Par la suite, il l'a accusé de conduite avec facultés affaiblies et a communiqué avec Transports Canada à propos de l'absence d'immatriculation.

M. Gaudry a ensuite appelé son troisième témoin, M. Brian Toews. M. Toews a déclaré être le propriétaire de Red Baron Powerchutes, instructeur de vol et concessionnaire du parachute entraîné par moteur Six-Chuter. M. Toews a témoigné que M. Schmitt était un de ses élèves et qu'il avait acheté le Six-Chuter de Red Baron Powerchutes.

M. Gaudry a ensuite présenté certains documents en preuve et interrogé M. Toews sur chacun des documents.

Pièce M-5 Programme du cours de formation sur le parachute entraîné par moteur

M. Toews a témoigné que Red Baron utilisait ce programme pour la formation au sol et que le point 18 de la page 6 concernant l'immatriculation, était expliqué aux élèves. M. Gaudry a demandé si M. Schmitt avait suivi la formation au sol et M. Toews a répondu dans l'affirmative.

Pièce M-6 Examen préalable au vol solo de parachute entraîné par moteur, copie d'examen de M. Schmitt

M. Gaudry a demandé si tous les élèves devaient subir l'examen préalable au vol solo. M. Toews a répondu dans l'affirmative et a ajouté que M. Schmitt avait rédigé l'examen présenté en guise de pièce M-6. M. Gaudry a demandé si M. Schmitt avait répondu correctement à la question 18 concernant les documents à garder à bord et M. Toews a répondu dans l'affirmative.

Pièce M-7 Le Ultralight Information Manual

M. Gaudry a demandé à M. Toews si d'autres renseignements avaient été communiqués aux élèves et M. Toews a témoigné que tous les élèves avaient reçu un exemplaire de la pièce M-7, le Ultralight Information Manual. On a interrogé M. Toews sur la section de l'immatriculation et on lui a demandé si elle avait été revue avec les élèves. M. Toews a répondu dans l'affirmative en ce qui concerne les pages 13 et 18, les deux traitant d'immatriculation.

Pièce M-8 Acte de vente de Red Baron Powerchutes

M. Gaudry a demandé à M. Toews si Red Baron avait vendu le Six-Chuter à M. Schmitt. M. Toews a confirmé la vente et présenté l'acte de vente en preuve.

Pièce M-9 Brochure d'information générale de Transports Canada sur les parachutes entraînés par moteur

M. Gaudry a demandé à M. Toews si les nouveaux propriétaires de parachutes entraînés par moteur recevaient d'autres renseignements. M. Toews a témoigné que M. Schmitt avait reçu un exemplaire de la pièce M-9, la brochure d'information de Transports Canada sur les parachutes entraînés par moteur. M. Gaudry a signalé que la troisième section de la brochure intitulée « Comment les parachutes entraînés par moteur sont-ils immatriculés? » porte sur les modalités d'immatriculation d'un parachute entraîné par moteur.

M. Schmitt a pu interroger M. Toews. M. Schmitt a posé plusieurs questions sur son pilotage de l'aéronef avant la rédaction de l'examen préalable au vol solo. M. Toews a répondu que les élèves étaient autorisés à piloter en double, c'est-à-dire avec un instructeur, avant l'examen préalable au vol solo. Il a déclaré que la politique de Red Baron ne permettait pas aux élèves de voler en solo avant cet examen.

M. Toews a pu se retirer et M. Schmitt a été assermenté.

M. Schmitt a témoigné qu'il avait été formé à la navigation aérienne avant la délivrance de son permis. Il a déclaré comprendre que l'aéronef était livré avec une immatriculation et qu'il lui incombait d'obtenir une protection d'assurance supplémentaire s'il le désirait.

M. Gaudry a alors demandé à M. Schmitt un nombre de questions concernant la formation et l'immatriculation. M. Gaudry a demandé si l'instructeur de M. Schmitt, Carl, avait présenté l'ensemble du programme de formation (M-5). M. Schmitt a témoigné qu'il avait vu la totalité du programme avec Carl. M. Gaudry a demandé à M. Schmitt s'il avait répondu correctement à la question 18 de l'examen préalable au vol solo. M. Schmitt a répondu qu'il y avait fourni la bonne réponse mais qu'il confondait l'immatriculation et l'assurance. M. Gaudry a demandé si M. Schmitt avait reçu de l'information au moment de l'achat du Six-Chuter. M. Schmitt a déclaré avoir reçu le Ultralight Information Manual (M-7) mais qu'il n'avait pas vu la brochure de Transports Canada (M-9) avant aujourd'hui. M. Gaudry a demandé si M. Schmitt était commandant de bord du Six-Chuter lors du vol effectué le 11 juin 1999 et si les trois documents (certificat d'immatriculation, permis d'élève-pilote et assurance responsabilité) étaient à bord. M. Schmitt a témoigné qu'il était commandant de bord le 11 juin 1999 et qu'il avait seulement son permis d'élève-pilote à bord de l'aéronef.

Les parties ne désirant poser aucune autre question, le conseiller à clos le dossier de la preuve et a demandé les conclusions des parties.

M. Gaudry a déclaré que la preuve présentée démontre que le Six-Chuter est conçu comme un aéronef et qu'aucune immatriculation n'avait été établie par Transports Canada. Il a de plus déclaré que l'agent Friesen avait identifié M. Schmitt comme commandant de bord, que M. Toews avait confirmé que M. Schmitt était propriétaire et qu'il avait réussi l'examen préalable au vol solo et répondu correctement à la question 18 concernant l'immatriculation. Il a déclaré également que M. Schmitt avait admis avoir reçu le Ultralight Information Manual dans lequel on retrouve les exigences d'immatriculation. Il a terminé en déclarant que M. Schmitt était commandant de bord, qu'il n'y avait pas d'immatriculation et que par conséquent, M. Schmitt avait contrevenu au RAC et que l'argument de diligence raisonnable ne s'appliquait pas dans les circonstances.

Dans ses conclusions, M. Schmitt a signalé que l'aéronef n'était pas immatriculé durant sa formation et qu'il croyait qu'il l'avait été lorsqu'on l'avait amené au pays. Il a aussi déclaré qu'il confondait les modalités d'immatriculation et d'assurance et que les deux documents ne lui avaient jamais été expliqués clairement.

DÉCISION

Dans cette affaire, il incombe au ministre de prouver sa cause. Le poids de la preuve présentée démontre clairement que M. George Schmitt était commandant de bord du parachute entraîné par moteur Six-Chuter piloté le 11 juin 1999. M. Schmitt a lui-même témoigné être le commandant de bord et qu'il n'y avait aucune immatriculation à bord de l'aéronef ce jour-là.

M. Schmitt a témoigné comprendre que l'immatriculation s'était effectuée lorsque l'aéronef était entré au Canada et qu'il confondait l'assurance et l'immatriculation. Le Ultralight Information Manual et le programme de formation au sol de Red Baron stipulent clairement qu'il incombe au commandant de bord et au propriétaire de voir à ce que les documents requis soient à bord durant tout vol. Bien qu'il soit regrettable que M. Schmitt ait confondu ces documents, il aurait pu questionner M. Toews de Red Baron Powerchutes à n'importe quel moment de sa formation et après l'achat de l'aéronef. Il incombe au pilote de clarifier toute confusion à propos de tous les aspects du vol afin de garantir la sécurité de tous. Il doit donc avoir à bord de l'aéronef les documents et les certificats exigés. Il incombait à M. Schmitt, à titre de pilote et de propriétaire, de voir à ce que tous les documents requis soient à bord de l'aéronef durant tout vol. M. Schmitt a fait défaut d'assumer ses responsabilités dans ce cas et j'ai rendu la décision suivante :

Je confirme la décision du ministre, à savoir que M. George Schmitt a contrevenu au paragraphe 202.13(2) du RAC et je confirme l'amende de 500 $.

William G. McDonald
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile