Decisions

CAT File No. C-2361-33
MoT File No. RAP5504-044881 (P)

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Kevin Jerry Stoesz, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S. c. 33 (1st Supp), s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 602.14(2)(b), 602.15(2)(b)

Crop spraying, Low flying elsewhere than over a built-up area, First offence


Review Determination
Elizabeth M. Wieben


Decision: March 4, 2002

I find that Mr. Kevin Stoesz contravened paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations in the fact that he flew lower than necessary for the purpose of the operation and that he also created a hazard to property. I feel that the level of sanction is appropriate being this is the first offence. I confirm the assessed monetary penalty of $250. That amount, made payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, February 6, 2002 at 10:00 hours, at the Federal Court of Canada in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

BACKGROUND

On July 17, 2001, Kevin Stoesz departed from Ile des Chênes in aircraft C-GRNG, a Piper PA-25 spray plane, and after making several passes over a field, on the last pass bumped Manitoba Hydro power lines such that a pole and wires came down and power was disrupted for several users. Kevin Stoesz then returned with the aircraft to his base at Ag Flite and reported the incident to his father, Mr. Dennis Stoesz. Dennis Stoesz then phoned Manitoba Hydro, and they repaired the hydro line and issued a bill to Dennis Stoesz, Ag Flite Services. Transport Canada was made aware of the incident by an anonymous caller, interviewed Kevin Stoesz and subsequently filed the charges under paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

EVIDENCE

During the hearing Transport Canada provided documents identifying the aircraft journey log entries for the flight, and the commercial pilot licence of Kevin Stoesz as issued on August 2, 2001. Transport Canada inspector, Mr. Roger LeBlanc, entered as an exhibit a public accident report from Manitoba Hydro showing that an accident had taken place at NW 8-7-4e on July 17, 2001. It was stated that a crop-dusting plane came into contact with the overhead distribution power system, and a pole and conductor came down into an open field causing a fuse to blow and the line to de-energize ( i.e., power failure). The "public" involved was an "Ag Flite crop duster"; it is also noted that Ag Flite was the first to contact Manitoba Hydro and that another customer called as well. The damage to the line distribution system is specified as $1,152.76, and the bill is issued to Ag Flite. Transport Canada provided documentation to identify the pilot, the aircraft, the day and time of the flight and the amount of damage as specified in Manitoba Hydro's bill.

These facts were not disputed by Kevin Stoesz on the witness stand or by his father, Mr. Dennis Stoesz, who acted as agent for his son. In fact Ag Flite had very quickly taken responsibility for the incident by notifying Manitoba Hydro. Kevin Stoesz declared that his commercial pilot licence had been issued prior to July 17th (the day of the flight) and that at the time of the flight he was a licensed commercial pilot even though Transport Canada records showed his licence had been issued in August. This was because his licence had been signed off by an authorized person for the privileges of the commercial pilot licence and the paperwork had not yet been processed by Transport Canada.

When asked whether he had been crop dusting or flight training during this flight, he replied that he was doing "flight training for crop dusting." He further explained that he needed 50 hours of agricultural time on top of the 200 hours for the commercial pilot licence to satisfy the insurance company requirements and that he was building hours to meet that requirement.

At the time of the accident, he was practising crop spraying using water and wanted to practice with an obstacle. He looked over a field chosen because it had wires as an obstacle and made a number of passes over the field practising his crop spraying. He said he had made about five passes when he hit the power line. It is written in the aircraft log book that there was no damage to the aeroplane. Mr. Kevin Stoesz testified that the aircraft was checked, that Dennis Stoesz phoned Manitoba Hydro to report the strike and that he then went out to practice some more.

Mr. Kroeker, a witness and local resident whose power was out because of the line being down was present and asserted that in his opinion there was no hazard created by the power line coming down. He had spoken to a pig farmer on the same power line whose power had been affected by the power outage and stated that this farmer had backup power (a generator) and that this farmer's animals had not been in danger due to the power outage.

Transport Canada submitted as evidence Manitoba Hydro's bill citing "damage caused when crop-dusting plane came into contact with overhead distribution" system.

Kevin Stoesz testified that he had overflown the field prior to starting the practice run flights and was aware of the wires and of their danger to him. He added that he had chosen the field because he wanted to use the wires as an obstacle. It was stated by Kevin Stoesz that crop sprayers can normally come within 6-8 feet in proximity to power lines. He said that although he felt a bounce or bump as he hit the wires and realized what had happened, he felt that he had taken all necessary precautions and that he had not created a hazard.

Transport Canada pointed out that the same practice could have been done more safely using trees as an obstacle. Although there was some discussion, there was no evidence that there was turbulence on the day of this flight.

DISCUSSION

Paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs, under which Kevin Stoesz was charged, permits a person to operate an aircraft at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure if that operation is permitted under section 602.15 (Permissible Low Altitude Flight).

Paragraph 602.15(2)(b) of the CARs states:

(2) A person may operate an aircraft, to the extent necessary for the purpose of the operation in which the aircraft is engaged, at altitudes and distances less than those set out in
(a) paragraph 602.14(2)(a), where operation of the aircraft is authorized under Subpart 3 or section 702.22; or
(b) paragraph 602.14(2)(b), where the aircraft is operated without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface and the aircraft is operated for the purpose of

(i) aerial application or aerial inspection,
(ii) aerial photography conducted by the holder of an air operator certificate,
(iii) helicopter external load operations, or
(iv) flight training conducted by or under the supervision of a qualified flight instructor.

The issues brought forth by the two parties were:

1) What was the nature of the flight? (flight training, crop dusting or neither)

2) Was a hazard created to persons or property on the surface?

3) Did the pilot exercise due diligence to prevent the accident from happening?

It is not likely that Mr. Kevin Stoesz met the requirements to be considered either crop dusting or flight training. Crop dusting would be the actual application of a required product and not practising with water to build hours for insurance purposes. He was already a licensed commercial pilot by his own testimony and would not normally be flying under the supervision of a qualified flight instructor. There was no evidence that he was under a specific training plan or that he received extra instruction after misjudging his altitude and hitting the wires. He simply went out flying again to build up more hours. It would seem prudent to have some additional instruction prior to attempting more low flying, especially as the hazard working around wires is fairly high.

If this flight were to be considered one of the permitted uses, we must consider the wording "may operate an aircraft, to the extent necessary for the purpose of the operation" and "where the aircraft is operated without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface".

An aircraft that hits wires while crop dusting or flight training is lower than necessary for the purpose of the operation, whether that low altitude is intentional or due to misjudgment. I accept Mr. Kroeker's evidence that a hazard was not created for himself or for that of his neighbour, the farmer; however, there is proof that Manitoba Hydro had property damage due to the hit by the low flying aircraft. This hazard was created in that actual damage was done.

There was no evidence of turbulence, or of engine malfunctions during the flight; the main factor appears to be the inexperience of the pilot.

DETERMINATION

I find that Mr. Kevin Stoesz was in violation of paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs in the fact that he flew lower than necessary for the purpose of the operation and that he also created a hazard to property. It is unlikely Mr. Stoesz could be considered to be crop spraying or that he would qualify to be doing flight training under the supervision of a qualified flight instructor. The fact that this happened due to inexperience does not change the facts.

I feel that the level of sanction is appropriate being this is the first offence and that both the pilot and the company who owned the aircraft did what they could to mitigate any impact on others after the incident.

Elizabeth Wieben
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-2361-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP5504-044881 (P) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Kevin Jerry Stoesz, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R. ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, al. 602.14(2)b) et 602.15(2)b)

Épandage agricole, Première infraction, Vol à basse altitude ailleurs qu'au-dessus d'une zone bâtie


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Elizabeth M. Wieben


Décision : le 4 mars 2002

TRADUCTION

Je considère que M. Kevin Stoesz a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien parce qu'il a volé à une altitude plus basse que nécessaire et qu'il a du même coup constitué un danger pour les biens. Je considère que le niveau de sanction est approprié compte tenu qu'il s'agit d'une première infraction. Je confirme l'amende de 250 $. Ce montant est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision de l'affaire en rubrique a eu lieu le mercredi 6 février 2002 à 10 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Winnipeg (Manitoba).

HISTORIQUE

Kevin Stoesz est parti d'Île des Chênes dans l'aéronef C-GRNG, un aéronef d'épandage Piper PA-25 et après avoir survolé un champ à quelques reprises et alors qu'il le survolait une dernière fois, il a percuté une ligne de transport d'énergie de Manitoba Hydro de sorte que la ligne de transport et les fils sont tombés, ce qui a entraîné une panne d'électricité pour de nombreux utilisateurs, le 17 juillet 2001. Kevin Stoesz a ensuite ramené l'aéronef à la base d'Ag Flite et il a rapporté l'incident à son père, M. Dennis Stoesz. Dennis Stoesz a par la suite téléphoné à Manitoba Hydro; ses préposés ont réparé la ligne de transport d'énergie et ils ont fait parvenir la facture à Dennis Stoesz, d'Ag Flite Services. Transports Canada a été informé de l'incident par un appel téléphonique anonyme; ses représentants ont interrogé Kevin Stoesz et ont ensuite déposé un chef d'accusation en vertu de l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

LA PREUVE

Au cours de l'audience, Transports Canada a présenté des documents pour établir les inscriptions relatives à ce vol dans le carnet de route de l'aéronef et la licence de pilote professionnel de Kevin Stoesz délivrée le 2 août 2001. L'inspecteur de Transports Canada, M. Roger LeBlanc, a présenté en preuve un rapport d'accident public de Manitoba Hydro qui démontre qu'un accident s'est produit à NO 8-7-4e, le 17 juillet 2001. Le rapport déclare qu'un aéronef d'épandage a frappé le système de distribution d'énergie suspendu et qu'un poteau et un conducteur sont tombés en plein champ causant l'éclatement d'un fusible et la mise hors tension de la ligne (c.-à-d. une panne d'électricité). Le « public » en question était un « aéronef d'épandage d'Ag Flit »; le rapport mentionne de plus qu'Ag Flite a d'abord communiqué avec Manitoba Hydro et qu'un autre client a ensuite appelé. Les dommages à la ligne du système de distribution sont évalués à 1152,76 $ et la facture a été établie au nom de Ag Flite. Transports Canada a présenté de la documentation pour identifier le pilote, l'aéronef, le jour et l'heure du vol, de même que le montant des dommages figurant sur la facture de Manitoba Hydro.

Ces faits n'ont été contestés ni par Kevin Stoesz à la barre des témoins, ni par son père, M. Dennis Stoesz, qui agissait à titre d'agent de son fils. En fait, Ag Flite a rapidement reconnu sa responsabilité dans l'incident en avisant Manitoba Hydro. Kevin Stoesz a déclaré que sa licence de pilote professionnel avait été délivrée avant le 17 juillet (le jour du vol) et qu'au moment du vol il avait une licence de pilote professionnel même si les dossiers de Transports Canada montraient que sa licence avait été délivrée en août. En fait une personne autorisée avait approuvé les prérogatives reliées à sa licence de pilote professionnel mais Transports Canada n'avait pas encore effectué le traitement des documents administratifs.

Lorsqu'on lui a demandé s'il effectuait des épandages ou s'il participait à un entraînement au vol pendant ce vol, il a répondu qu'il participait à un « entraînement au vol pour l'épandage ». Il a de plus expliqué qu'il avait besoin de 50 heures en « temps agricole » en plus des 200 heures pour obtenir la licence de pilote professionnel pour ainsi répondre aux exigences de la compagnie d'assurances et il cumulait des heures pour remplir ces conditions.

Au moment de l'accident, il s'exerçait à l'épandage aérien en utilisant de l'eau et il voulait faire une manœuvre avec obstacle. Il a choisi un champ qui avait des fils comme obstacle et il a survolé le champ à diverses reprises pour s'exercer à l'épandage aérien. Il a déclaré qu'il avait effectué environ cinq survols lorsqu'il a frappé la ligne de transport d'énergie. Il est inscrit dans le carnet de route de l'aéronef qu'il n'y a eu aucun dommage à l'aéronef. M. Kevin Stoesz a témoigné que l'aéronef avait été inspecté, que Dennis Stoesz avait téléphoné à Manitoba Hydro afin de rapporter la collision et qu'il est reparti pour continuer à s'exercer.

M. Kroeker, un témoin et résident de la localité dont l'alimentation électrique a été coupée en raison du bris de la ligne, était présent et a affirmé que selon lui, la chute de la ligne de transport d'énergie n'a pas constitué de danger. Il avait parlé à un éleveur porcin qui était branché sur la même ligne de transport d'énergie et dont l'alimentation avait été coupée par la panne d'électricité et il a déclaré que cet éleveur avait un circuit électrique de secours (une génératrice) et que la panne d'électricité n'avait pas mis ses animaux en danger.

Transports Canada a présenté en preuve une facture de Manitoba Hydro qui indique « dommages causés par un aéronef d'épandage qui est entré en collision avec un système de distribution suspendu ».

Kevin Stoesz a témoigné qu'il avait survolé le champ avant de commencer ses exercices d'entraînement et qu'il connaissait l'existence des fils et du danger qu'ils représentaient pour lui. Il a ajouté qu'il avait choisi ce champ parce qu'il voulait utiliser les fils comme obstacle. Kevin Stoesz a déclaré que les aéronefs d'épandage peuvent normalement s'approcher de 6 à 8 pieds des lignes de transport d'énergie. Il a déclaré qu'il avait senti un rebond ou une bosse lorsqu'il a frappé les fils et a réalisé ce qui s'était produit mais qu'il considérait avoir pris toutes les précautions nécessaires et ne pas avoir créé de danger.

Transports Canada a souligné que le même exercice aurait pu être effectué de façon plus sécuritaire en utilisant des arbres comme obstacle. En dépit de discussions à ce propos, aucune preuve n'a révélé qu'il y avait de la turbulence le jour du vol.

DISCUSSION

L'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC, en vertu duquel Kevin Stoesz a été accusé, permet à une personne d'exploiter un aéronef à une distance de moins de 500 pieds d'une personne, d'un navire, d'un véhicule ou d'une structure si cette exploitation est permise en vertu de l'article 602.15 (Vol à basse altitude - Autorisation).

L'alinéa 602.15(2)b) du RAC prévoit ce qui suit :

(2) Il est permis d'utiliser un aéronef, dans la mesure nécessaire pour effectuer le vol aux fins suivantes, à une altitude et à une distance inférieures à celles visées :
a) à l'alinéa 602.14(2)a), si le vol est autorisé en application de la sous-partie 3 ou de l'article 702.22;
b) à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b), si l'aéronef est utilisé sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface :

(i) le traitement aérien ou l'inspection aérienne,
(ii) la photographie aérienne effectuée par le titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne,
(iii) le transport d'une charge externe par hélicoptère,
(iv) l'entraînement en vol dispensé ou supervisé par un instructeur de vol qualifié.

Les questions en litige soulevées par les deux parties étaient :

1) Quelle était la nature du vol? (entraînement au vol, épandage ou ni l'un, ni l'autre)

2) Y a-t-il eu constitution d'un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface?

3) Le pilote a-t-il exercé la diligence raisonnable pour prévenir la perpétration de l'accident?

Selon toute vraisemblance, M. Kevin Stoesz ne répond pas aux conditions lui permettant d'être considéré comme effectuant de l'épandage ou s'entraînant au vol. L'épandage concerne l'application effective d'un produit approprié et non pas en un exercice avec de l'eau afin de cumuler des heures aux fins d'assurance. Selon son propre témoignage, il avait déjà une licence de pilote professionnel et il n'avait donc pas normalement à piloter sous la surveillance d'un instructeur de vol qualifié. Aucune preuve ne démontre qu'il suivait un plan de formation ou qu'il ait reçu de la formation supplémentaire après avoir mal évalué son altitude et avoir frappé les fils. Il a simplement continué à piloter pour cumuler d'autres heures. Il semble qu'il soit plus prudent d'avoir de la formation additionnelle avant de tenter de voler de nouveau à basse altitude, en particulier si le danger de travailler près de fils est passablement important.

Si nous considérons que ce vol correspond aux utilisations permises, nous devons examiner les libellés « permis d'utiliser un aéronef, dans la mesure nécessaire pour effectuer le vol » et « si l'aéronef est utilisé sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface ».

Lorsqu'un aéronef frappe des fils en procédant à un épandage ou lors d'un entraînement au vol à une altitude inférieure à celle prévue pour effectuer le vol, il importe peu que sa basse altitude soit volontaire ou imputable à un mauvais jugement. J'accepte la preuve de M. Kroeker selon laquelle l'incident ne constituait pas un danger pour lui ou son voisin, l'éleveur; toutefois, il existe une preuve selon laquelle les biens de Manitoba Hydro ont subi des dommages reliés au choc de l'aéronef qui volait à basse altitude. Cela a constitué un danger puisqu'un dommage réel a été causé.

Il n'y avait aucune preuve de turbulence, de mauvais fonctionnement du moteur pendant le vol; le principal facteur semble être l'inexpérience du pilote.

DÉCISION

Je considère que M. Kevin Stoesz a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC parce qu'il a volé à une altitude inférieure à celle prévue pour son utilisation et qu'il a du même coup constitué un danger pour les biens. Il n'est pas indiqué ici de considérer que M. Stoesz était occupé à épandre ou à s'entraîner au vol sous la supervision d'un instructeur de vol qualifié. Que cet incident se soit produit en raison de son inexpérience ne change rien aux faits.

Je considère que le niveau de sanction est approprié étant donné qu'il s'agit d'une première infraction et que le pilote et la compagnie qui possédaient l'aéronef ont fait ce qu'ils pouvaient pour minimiser les répercussions de l'incident sur autrui.

Elizabeth Wieben
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile