Decisions

CAT File No. C-2440-35
MoT File No. RAP5504-045487 (P)

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Douglas Aero Engine Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, s. 571.02(3)

Repair, Qualified technicians, Non-destructive testing (NDT), Mitigating factors, Maintenance, Excessive fine, Aircraft maintenance organization (AMO), Aircraft engines


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: July 11, 2002

While ignorance of the law is no excuse, in view of the reasons given, and circumstances of this case, I have determined that a fine of $100 is more appropriate. Douglas Aero Engine Inc. should keep itself abreast of the regulations which apply to its operations to avoid future potential infractions. The amount of $100 is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, July 3, 2002 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

BACKGROUND

Douglas Aero Engine Inc. ( DAE Inc.) was audited by a Transport Canada audit team on August 9 and 10, 2001. The team comprised Robert Streber, and Garnet Fedorowich, both of whom are Transport Canada civil aviation safety inspectors in maintenance and manufacturing. The audit team found that DAE Inc. had been carrying out non-destructive testing (NDT), including magnafluxing, on aircraft engines, without having suitably qualified technicians, as required by subsection 571.02(3) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), Schedule I, column II. On the morning of August 10, 2001, the audit team debriefed Mr. William Douglas and advised him of its findings. Mr. Douglas undertook to cease performing NDT on engine parts forthwith, and to subcontract such work to an approved aircraft maintenance organization (AMO), until such time as he qualified himself.

A Transport Canada investigation ensued, resulting in the issuing of a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty against DAE Inc. The imposed fine of $2,500 was not paid, and Transport Canada applied to the Tribunal for this review hearing.

THE LAW

Subsection 571.02(3) of the CARs states:

571.02 [...]

(3) Except where the work is performed in respect of an amateur-built aircraft, no person shall supervise, or perform without supervision, an inspection using a method set out in column I of an item of Schedule I to this Subpart, unless the person holds the personnel certification set out in column II of that item.

Schedule I to subsection 571.02(3)), Personnel Certification for Non-destructive Testing (NDT) states:

 

Column I

Column II

Item

 Method

  Personnel Certification

1

NDT using liquid penetrant, magnetic particle, eddy current or ultrasonic methods, not performed pursuant to Appendix K of Chapter 571 of the Airworthiness Manual

CAN/CGSB 48.9712-95, Level 2 or Level 3;
MIL-Std-410; or Specification ATA 105

2

NDT using radiographic methods

Level 2 or Level 3 of the following standards: CAN/CGSB 48.9712-95 or MIL-Std-410; or Level 2 or Level 3 of the following specification: ATA 105

EVIDENCE

Mr. Welwood adduced evidence from his three witnesses to support the charge laid in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty. This included eleven exhibits, including the audit findings, the relevant legislation, records of briefings, etc. It is clear from this evidence and the witnesses, all of whom were credible, that DAE Inc. does not comply with the current CARs, when it comes to NDT and magnafluxing in particular.

However, this company has been carrying on its business of overhauling aircraft engines, including magnafluxing, for some 25 years. Indeed, when the last audit was performed by Transport Canada, on March 28, 1995 (Exhibit D-1), the audit team found no discrepancies related to NDT. Indeed, the company's ability to perform liquid penetrant inspection, and magnetic particle inspection were both examined during this audit. No non-conformance was uncovered in this area of DAE Inc.'s operation. Mr. William Douglas testified that he had been magnafluxing engine parts ever since he passed his aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) Class "D" exams in 1975. He says that nothing has changed since then, and that DAE Inc. has its own NDT testing equipment. Notwithstanding this, its certificate of approval as an AMO, dated December 19, 1997, does NOT include NDT.

Since this audit in 1995, the CARs came into force in October 1996, and the certificate of approval for DAE Inc., under reference above, is dated December 19, 1997. It is significant that this AMO does not include approval for NDT. Mr. Douglas firmly believed that his company had "grandfather" rights to continue as before, and produced an "Airworthiness Notice" issued by Transport Canada, No. C011 Edition 2, dated March 7, 2000 (Exhibit D-3). Inter alia, this notice says: "No AME loses any maintenance release privileges as a result of these changes." The "changes" under reference in the Airworthiness Notice are changes in the application of privileges, by the consolidation of existing ratings to AME licences. Mr. Douglas interprets this as giving him "grandfather rights" to continue NDT without having to take the new exams required under subsection 571.02(3) of the CARs, Schedule I, column II: CAN/CGSB(Canadian General Standards Board) 48.9712-95, Level 2 or Level 3.

Mr. Douglas's witness, Mr. Gordon Urie, is a former Transport Canada inspector who had been with the department for some 24 years. He testified as to Mr. Douglas's expertise with the NDT that he has used over the years. He has written a letter supporting Mr. Douglas's application to the NDT Certifying Agency to take the exams.

It is significant that when he was informed about the results of the August 2001 audit by Transport Canada, Mr. Douglas immediately undertook to cease NDT, until he qualified himself under subsection 571.02(3) of the CARs. He subcontracts this work to an approved organization.

DETERMINATION

Notwithstanding that the regulations have been breached, there are strong mitigating factors here. There is also evidence of some diligence and a sense of responsibility on the part of DAE Inc. The company has been in business for 25 years. Mr. Douglas was duly qualified to do NDT until the advent of the CARs and is demonstrably experienced. The audit of 1995 did not flag its ability to do NDT, and, while Airworthiness Notice No. C011 Edition 2 (D-3) may not give Mr. Douglas the "grandfather rights" he thinks it does, there is some justification for his being under this illusion. Exhibit M-10 adequately explains the company's response to Transport Canada's investigator, Mr. Tom Bennett. In this letter, Mr. Douglas also explains that they were doing work only on their own engines.

There is, of course, a safety issue to be addressed: aircraft engines which are overhauled by unqualified personnel may be dangerous, in that they may fail prematurely. DAE Inc. has been overhauling engines for over two decades. No evidence was adduced by the Minister that any of these engines have failed as a result of improper NDT, or for any other reasons. Although Mr. Douglas is not now legally qualified to do NDT, he was, prior to the CARs, and he is certainly very experienced at it.

Under the circumstances, I believe that a fine of $2,500 is harsh punishment for a small organization such as DAE Inc. This is especially so when the company immediately responded to the audit team's debriefing and immediately ceased conducting NDT.

There is scope in Transport Canada's Aviation Enforcement Procedures Manual for leniency in the event of strong mitigating circumstances, as I find in this case. An honest mistake has been made here, and I believe that a warning would have been more appropriate under these circumstances. Such action would encourage companies, such as DAE Inc. to feel more at ease in seeking advice from Transport Canada, rather than fearing harsh enforcement action, as I feel is the case here.

CONCLUSION

While ignorance of the law is no excuse, in view of the reasons given above, and circumstances of this case, I have determined that a fine of $100 is more appropriate. DAE Inc. should keep itself abreast of the regulations which apply to its operations to avoid future potential infractions.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-2440-35 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP5504-045487 (P) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Douglas Aero Engine Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, art. 571.02(3)

Moteurs d'aéronef, Maintenance, Amende excessive, Facteurs atténuants, Essais non destructifs (END), Organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA), Réparation, Techniciens qualifiés


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 11 juillet 2002

TRADUCTION

Bien que l'ignorance de la loi ne constitue pas une excuse, en raison des motifs et des circonstances de cette cause, j'ai décidé qu'une amende de 100 $ est plus appropriée. Douglas Aero Engine Inc. doit se mettre à jour sur les règlements qui s'appliquent à ses activités afin d'éviter toute infraction éventuelle. Un montant de 100 $ est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours de la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 3 juillet 2002 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Winnipeg (Manitoba).

HISTORIQUE

Une équipe de vérification de Transports Canada a effectué une vérification chez Douglas Aero Engine Inc. (DAE Inc.), les 9 et 10 août 2001. Robert Streber et Garnet Fedorowich faisaient partie de l'équipe; ils sont tous deux inspecteurs de sécurité de la maintenance et de la construction à l'aviation civile de Transports Canada. L'équipe de vérification a découvert que DAE Inc. avait effectué des essais non destructifs (END), y compris une magnétoscopie sur les moteurs d'aéronef, sans la présence de techniciens qualifiés, conformément au paragraphe 571.02(3) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), annexe I, colonne II. Le matin du 10 août 2001, l'équipe de vérification a fait un compte rendu à M. William Douglas et l'a avisé de ses conclusions. M. Douglas s'est engagé à cesser d'effectuer des END sur les pièces de moteur et a aussitôt donné ce travail en sous-traitance à un organisme de maintenance des aéronefs agréé, (OMA), jusqu'à ce qu'il soit lui-même qualifié.

Une enquête de Transports Canada a eu lieu, laquelle a entraîné la délivrance d'un Avis d'amende pour contravention contre DAE Inc. L'amende imposée de 2,500 $ n'a pas été payée, d'où la demande d'audience en révision présentée par Transports Canada au Tribunal.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 571.02(3) du RAC prévoit :

571.02 [...]

(3) Sauf pour des travaux exécutés à l'égard d'un aéronef de construction amateur, il est interdit à toute personne de superviser, ou d'exécuter sans supervision, une inspection utilisant une méthode visée à la colonne I de l'annexe I de la présente sous-partie, sauf si la personne possède la certification du personnel visée à la colonne II.

L'annexe I du paragraphe 571.02(3), Certification du personnel affecté aux essais non destructifs (END), prévoit :

 

Colonne I

Colonne II

Article

Méthode

Certification du personnel

1.

Les END par ressuage, par magné-toscopie, par courants de Foucault ou par ultrasons, qui ne sont pas effectués conformément à l'appendice K du chapitre 571 du Manuel de navigabilité

Soit les niveaux 2 ou 3 de la norme CAN/CGSB 48.9712-95; soit la norme MIL-Std-410; soit la spécification ATA 105

2.

Les END par rayonnements ioni-sants

Niveau 2 ou niveau 3 des normes suivan-tes : CAN/CGSB 48.9712-95 ou MIL-Std-410; ou niveau 2 ou niveau 3 de la spécification suivante : ATA 105

LA PREUVE

M. Welwood a présenté sa preuve par l'intermédiaire de ses trois témoins, afin d'appuyer l'accusation de l'Avis d'amende pour contravention. Cette preuve incluait onze pièces, dont les constatations découlant de la vérification, la loi pertinente et les dossiers de compte rendus, etc. Il ressort manifestement de la preuve et des témoignages, lesquels sont tous crédibles, que DAE Inc. ne respecte pas le RAC actuel, en ce qui concerne les END et plus particulièrement la magnétoscopie.

Par ailleurs, cette compagnie exploite une entreprise de révision de moteurs d'aéronefs, y compris la magnétoscopie, depuis environ 25 ans. En fait, lorsque la dernière vérification a été effectuée par Transports Canada, le 28 mars 1995 (pièce D-1), l'équipe de vérification n'a décelé aucune anomalie reliée aux END. De plus, la capacité de la compagnie d'effectuer des essais par ressuage et par magnétoscopie a été examinée pendant cette vérification. Aucune non-conformité n'a été décelée dans ce champ d'activités de DAE Inc. M. William Douglas a témoigné qu'il avait effectué des essais par magnétoscopie sur les pièces de moteur depuis qu'il a réussi ses examens de technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA), classe « D », en 1975. Il dit que rien n'a changé depuis ce temps-là et que DAE Inc. possède son propre équipement pour les END. Indépendamment de cette question, son certificat d'OMA, en date du 19 décembre 1997, ne comprend PAS les END.

Depuis cette vérification de 1995, le RAC est entré en vigueur en octobre 1996 et le certificat d'approbation susmentionné de DAE Inc. porte la date du 19 décembre 1997. Il est significatif que cet OMA n'inclut pas l'approbation pour les END. M. Douglas croyait fermement que sa compagnie avait des droits acquis pour poursuivre comme auparavant et il a présenté un « Avis de navigabilité » délivré par Transports Canada, No. C011, édition 2, en date du 7 mars 2000 (pièce D-3). L'Avis prévoit notamment : « Aucun TEA ne perd ses droits de certification technique en raison de ces modifications ». Les « modifications » dont il est question dans l'Avis de navigabilité sont des changements dans l'application des privilèges, par la consolidation des qualifications existantes sur les licences de TEA. M. Douglas interprète cela comme un droit acquis pour continuer les END sans avoir à subir de nouveaux examens prescrits en vertu du paragraphe 571.02(3) du RAC, annexe I, colonne II : les niveaux 2 ou 3 de la norme CAN/CGSB (Office des normes générales du Canada) 48.9712-95.

Le témoin de M. Douglas, M. Gordon Urie, est un ancien inspecteur de Transports Canada qui a travaillé pour le ministère pendant environ 24 ans. Il a fait état de l'expertise de M. Douglas sur les END qu'il a exécutés au cours des années. Il a écrit une lettre appuyant la demande de M. Douglas à l'agence de certification des END afin de subir des examens.

Il est important de considérer que dès qu'il a été informé des résultats de la vérification de Transports Canada en août 2001, M. Douglas a immédiatement entrepris de cesser les END, jusqu'à ce qu'il soit lui-même qualifié en vertu du paragraphe 571.02(3) du RAC. Il confie ce travail en sous-traitance à un organisme agréé.

DÉCISION

Bien que les règlements aient été enfreints, les facteurs atténuants dans ce dossier sont importants. Il y a aussi une preuve de diligence et d'un certain sens des responsabilités de la part de DAE Inc. La compagnie exerce ses activités depuis 25 ans. M. Douglas était dûment qualifié pour effectuer des END jusqu'à l'entrée en vigueur du RAC et son expérience est vérifiable. La vérification de 1995 n'a pas mis en doute son habileté à effectuer des END et bien que l'Avis de navigabilité no C011, édition 2 (D-3) ne lui confère pas de droits acquis, M. Douglas pense le contraire et certains éléments justifient cette impression. La pièce M-10 explique bien la réponse de la compagnie à l'enquêteur de Transports Canada, M. Tom Bennett. Dans cette lettre, M. Douglas explique de plus qu'ils travaillaient uniquement à leurs propres moteurs.

Bien sûr, la question de sécurité mérite d'être abordée : il peut être dangereux de faire réviser des moteurs d'aéronef par du personnel non qualifié parce qu'ils peuvent faire défaut prématurément. DAE Inc. a révisé des moteurs depuis plus de deux décennies. Aucune preuve n'a été présentée par le ministre selon laquelle les moteurs ont fait défaut en raison d'un END inapproprié ou pour toute autre raison. Bien que M. Douglas ne soit pas qualifié légalement pour effectuer des END, il l'était avant le RAC et il a certainement beaucoup d'expérience en la matière.

Dans ces circonstances, je crois qu'une amende de 2 500 $ constitue une punition excessive pour une petite organisation comme DAE Inc. Elle l'est d'autant plus, que la compagnie a répondu immédiatement au compte rendu de l'équipe de vérification et qu'elle a immédiatement cessé d'effectuer des END.

Dans le Manuel d'application de la loi de Transports Canada, il y un champ d'application qui concerne l'indulgence dans le cas de circonstances atténuantes importantes, comme c'est le cas dans ce dossier. Une erreur honnête a été faite ici et je crois qu'un avertissement aurait été plus approprié dans les circonstances. C'est une mesure qui encouragerait les compagnies comme DAE Inc. à se sentir plus à l'aise de consulter Transports Canada plutôt que de craindre l'imposition de lourdes peines, comme c'est le cas ici, à mon avis.

CONCLUSION

Bien que l'ignorance de la loi ne soit pas une excuse, en raison des motifs susmentionnés et des circonstances de cette cause, j'ai décidé qu'une amende de 100 $ est plus appropriée. DAE Inc. doit se maintenir à jour sur les règlements qui s'appliquent à ses activités afin d'éviter d'éventuelles infractions.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile