Decisions

TATC File No. C-3263-52
MoT File No. R4200-YWG P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Marcel H. Webster, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Security Regulations, SOR/2000-111, s. 10


Review Determination
E. David Dover


Decision: November 3, 2006

Marcel H. Webster did contravene section 10 of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations and the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $300 is hereby confirmed. The total amount of $300 is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Tribunal within thirty-five days of service of this determination.

[1]     A review hearing on this matter was held Wednesday, October 11, 2006 at 10:00 a.m. at the Four Points By Sheraton Hotel, Winnipeg International Airport, at Winnipeg, Manitoba.

[2]     The witnesses, excepting Marcel H. Webster, were excused from the courtroom prior to the commencement of proceedings. The witnesses were sworn in by the attending court reporter, Tom Bruce. There were no pre-hearing conferences held between the applicant and the respondent.

Background

[3]     On April 5, 2006, a monetary penalty of $300 was assessed against Mr. Webster, the applicant, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act by the Minister of Transport alleging that:

On or about the 17th day of February, AD, 2006, at approximately 14:44 hours (local time), at the Winnipeg International Airport, in the City of Winnipeg, in the Province of Manitoba, Marcel Hugh Webster, a person, refused to submit to an authorized search of their person when requested to do so by a screening officer and entered the restricted area of the aerodrome, thereby contravening subsection 10 of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations.

The Law

[4]     Section 10 of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations (CASRs) reads as follows:

10. A person who refuses to submit to an authorized search of their person or goods or other things in their possession or control, or a vehicle under their care or control when requested to do so by a screening officer must not enter into or remain inside a restricted area.

OPENING STATEMENTS

[5]     The case presenting officer, Joe Buker, stated that on April 5, 2006, Transport Canada issued a notice of assessment of monetary penalty totalling $300 against Mr. Webster for violating section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, specifically section 10 of the CASRs. He further stated that he would be calling five witnesses.

[6]     The respondent, Mr. Webster, made a number of statements, but these were not appropriate for the opening statement format and he was advised that they would be heard when he was sworn in as a witness and be subject to cross-examination.

EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) David Dickie

[7]     Mr. Dickie stated that he had been employed as the regional manager of the Prairie region for the Canadian Air Transport Security Authority (CATSA) for a period of 4.5 years.

[8]     He stated that a Non-Passenger Screening Program (NPS Program) had been implemented at all Canadian class 1 and 2 airports on April 5, 2003. The purpose of this program was to ensure that all persons entering restricted areas within airports be subject to screening by screening officers. Mr. Dickie entered a pamphlet (exhibit M-1) which contains an extensive list, including ramp/station attendants (aircraft groomers, baggage handlers), of individuals who will be subjected to random screening.

[9]     He testified that he conducted numerous information and training sessions at the Winnipeg International Airport. He further indicated that all corporations and organizations requiring access to the restricted areas had copies of the policies and the NPS Program pamphlets.

[10]     Mr. Dickie testified that there were a number of security locations throughout the Winnipeg airport terminal where all affected personnel would pass through check points manned by authorized screening officers prior to their entry through another gate manned by security guards. It would be at this latter check point that the employees would present their security pass and this would be verified and, if passed, the screened individuals would pass through into the restricted area.

Cross-examination

[11]     Mr. Dickie informed Mr. Webster that there had not been a change in the regulations to allow knives and certain tools into the restricted area.

(2) David Rees

[12]     Mr. Rees reported that he was currently employed by Transport Canada as a security inspector and prior to that, he worked for the Winnipeg police service for a period of 28 years.

[13]     He testified that on February 17, 2006, at 2:45 p.m., he was advised that there had been a breach of security at the south restricted baggage area. Mr. Rees, accompanied by members of the Winnipeg police, members of the Winnipeg airport authority and the screening officer, located Mr. Webster adjacent to baggage belts 3 and 4 within the Air Canada restricted area. He stated that he removed Mr. Webster's security pass and escorted him out of the secure area.

[14]     Mr. Rees indicated that on the following day, he obtained a copy of the surveillance video (exhibit M-2) for the time of 14:42:40 which shows an individual Mr. Rees identifies as Mr. Webster at the screening area.

[15]     He further stated that the security guard opened the door to the restricted area allowing Mr. Webster to pass through the gates.

[16]     Mr. Rees was not cross-examined.

(3) Abdullah Ijaz

[17]     Mr. Ijaz stated that he was employed by CATSA as a security officer and that he was on duty at the south Air Canada baggage screening area conducting NPS Program screening on February 17, 2006 at approximately 2:40 p.m.

[18]     Mr. Ijaz testified that Mr. Webster was identified as a random person to be screened and he so informed him of the decision. Mr. Webster's response to this order was that he did not have time for this procedure, and when advised that if he did not comply with the procedure, Mr. Ijaz would call the police. Mr. Webster became belligerent, using unacceptable profane language, and proceeded towards the entry gate followed by Mr. Ijaz.

[19]     Mr. Ijaz told the security guard not to let Mr. Webster into the restricted area, but the security guard opened the door after screening Mr. Webster's security pass and the police were called. Exhibit M-3 confirms that Mr. Webster's security pass was activated at 2:43 p.m. on February 17, 2006 from the south baggage area.

[20]     The following documents were then entered in evidence by the Minister:

  • the restricted area pass application for Mr. Webster (exhibit M-4);
  • a layout of the south Air Canada baggage make-up area (exhibit M-5); and
  • Transport Canada's designation authorizing Abdullah Ijaz to be a security screening officer (exhibit M-6).

Cross-examination

[21]     Upon questioning by Mr. Webster, Mr. Ijaz indicated that he was standing beside the X-ray machine identified by an "X" on exhibit M-5. He further stated that he instructed the security guard not to let Mr. Webster into the restricted area because he had refused to be screened and that the police were on their way.

(4) Anna Porpiglia

[22]     Ms. Porpiglia testified that she was employed by CATSA as a certified screening officer. This was confirmed by exhibit M-7.

[23]     She stated that on February 17, 2006, she was on duty with Mr. Ijaz at the Air Canada south baggage screening gate performing NPS Program screening on individuals entering the restricted baggage area.

[24]     She randomly identified Mr. Webster as a candidate for screening and so informed him. His reaction was to inform both screening officers that he had no time for the screening process. When informed that the police were to be called, Mr. Webster said, "go ahead" and used profane language. Mr. Webster then proceeded to the security gate.

[25]     Mr. Ijaz accompanied Mr. Webster to the gate informing the security guards not to let Mr. Webster through the gate. The security officers let Mr. Webster through the gate and Ms. Porpiglia activated the silent alarm for the police.

Cross-examination

[26]     Ms. Porpiglia stated that she was positioned with Mr. Ijaz beside the X-ray screening machine at all times.

(5) Jerrod Patzer

[27]     Mr. Patzer testified that he had been employed for a period of five years as a security guard by Avion Security Services. On February 17, 2006, Mr. Patzer and an associate by the name of Cory were on duty at the Air Canada south baggage security gate.

[28]     At approximately 2:42 p.m., Messrs. Webster and Ijaz approached the security gate, at which time, Mr. Webster's security pass was verified as valid. He stated that Mr. Ijaz informed both Mr. Patzer and his associate not to admit Mr. Webster into the restricted area. However, both Mr. Patzer and his associate decided to admit Mr. Webster because the atmosphere between Messrs. Webster and Ijaz was so volatile that the security guards feared a physical confrontation between them would erupt. The police arrived at 2:46 p.m.; however, by then, Mr. Webster was inside the restricted area.

Cross-examination

[29]     Mr. Patzer answered that he had not heard the request from the screening officer to Mr. Webster that he was subject to a screening action.

B. Applicant

[30]     Mr. Webster testified that Air Canada had employed him for a period of seven years as a baggage handler at the Winnipeg International Airport.

[31]     He further stated that on February 17, 2006, he was a few minutes late arriving at work.

[32]     Mr. Webster submitted exhibit A-1 which is a pharmacist's note from T. Hean Gooi dated September 25, 2006 indicating that Mr. Webster has a bladder problem and suffers from hearing loss.

[33]     He further stated that he heard Ms. Porpiglia demanding that he submit for screening, but he did not hear Mr. Ijaz requesting he stop moving towards the security guards or that the police had been called. He indicated that he was aware of the screening process, had no disrespect for the Winnipeg airport authority, but questioned why it took eight individuals to apprehend him.

[34]     As there was no further evidence, the evidentiary record was closed.

Final Arguments

[35]     Mr. Buker reviewed the evidence presented by the Minister. He stated that Transport Canada was using a multi-layered approach so that all individuals who entered restricted areas were screened and their passes verified. He also indicated that the sanction of $300 was intended to be a deterrent so future violations could be minimized.

[36]     Mr. Webster reviewed the fact that he did not consider that he had erred and the fact he did not stop when challenged was because of his hearing loss.

Analysis

[37]     The screening officers were trained (exhibits M-6 and M-7) and performing their duties on February 17, 2006 when Mr. Webster was identified by video (exhibit M-2) and computer screening report (exhibit M-3).

[38]     The Tribunal accepts the argument that Mr. Webster heard the order to submit himself for screening and he reverted to profanity and told the screening officers to call the police.

[39]     While the conversation between Messrs. Webster and Ijaz was not professional and looked like it might deteriorate into a physical confrontation, the actions of the security guards in allowing Mr. Webster into the restricted area is, in the Tribunal's opinion, atrocious and a dereliction of duty on the part of the security guards. This is compounded by the fact that eight officers were only four minutes away.

[40]     This does not negate the fact that, through sworn testimony, the Tribunal is satisfied that Mr. Webster contravened section 10 of the CASRs where it states that his actions clearly require that he must not enter a restricted area after refusing to submit to an authorized search.

DETERMINATION

[41]     The Tribunal finds that Marcel H. Webster did contravene section 10 of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations and confirms the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $300.

November 3, 2006

E. David Dover
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no C-3263-52 (TATC)
Dossier no R4200-YWG P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Marcel H. Webster, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne, DORS/2000-111, art. 10


Décision à la suite d'une révision
E. David Dover


Décision : le 3 novembre 2006

TRADUCTION

Marcel H. Webster a effectivement contrevenu à l'article 10 du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne et la décision du ministre de lui imposer une amende de 300 $ est confirmée par la présente. Le montant total de 300 $ est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les trente-cinq jours de la signification de cette décision.

[1]               Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 11 octobre 2006 à 10 h à l'hôtel Four Points By Sheraton Hotel à Winnipeg (Manitoba).

[2]               Les témoins, à l'exception de Marcel H. Webster, ont été autorisés à se retirer de la salle d'audience avant le début de l'instance. Les témoins ont été assermentés par le sténographe de service, Tom Bruce. Aucune conférence préparatoire à l'audience n'a eu lieu entre le requérant et l'intimé.

HISTORIQUE

[3]               Le 5 avril 2006, le ministre des Transports a imposé une amende de 300 $ au requérant, M. Webster, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, alléguant que:

Le ou vers le 17 février 2006, vers 14 h 44  (heure locale), à l'Aéroport international de Winnipeg, à Winnipeg (Manitoba), Marcel Hugh Webster, un individu, a refusé d'obtempérer à la demande de l'agent de contrôle de se soumettre à une fouille autorisée de sa personne et est entré dans une zone réglementée de l'aérodrome, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 10 du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne.

Loi

[4]               L'article 10 du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne (RCSA) se lit comme suit :

  10. Il est interdit à toute personne qui refuse d'obtempérer à la demande faite par l'agent de contrôle de le soumettre à une fouille ou de soumettre à une fouille ses biens ou autres choses en sa possession ou sous son contrôle, ou un véhicule sous sa garde ou sous son contrôle, d'entrer ou de demeurer dans une zone réglementée.

EXPOSÉ INTRODUCTIF

[5]               L'agent de présentation de cas, Joe Buker, a déclaré que le 5 avril 2006, Transports Canada a délivré un avis d'amende pour contravention de 300 $ à M. Webster pour avoir enfreint l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, plus particulièrement l'article 10 du RCSA. Il a par la suite déclaré qu'il appellerait cinq témoins.

[6]               Le requérant, M. Webster, a fait un certain nombre de déclarations qui n'étaient pas appropriées à ce stade et il a été avisé qu'elles seraient entendues à la suite de son assermentation comme témoin et qu'elles pourraient faire l'objet d'un contre-interrogatoire.

PREUVE

A.        Ministre des Transports

(1)        David Dickie

[7]               M. Dickie a déclaré qu'il avait été directeur régional de la région des Prairies pour l'Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport aérien (ACSTA) pour une période de quatre ans et demi.

[8]               Il a déclaré qu'un programme de contrôle des non-passagers (programme CNP) avait été mis en application dans tous les aéroports canadiens de catégorie 1 et 2, le 5 avril 2003. L'objectif de ce programme était de s'assurer que toutes les personnes qui entrent dans des zones réglementées d'aéroports soient soumises au contrôle d'un agent de contrôle. M. Dickie a présenté un dépliant (pièce M‑1) qui contient une liste exhaustive des individus qui sont susceptibles de faire l'objet d'un contrôle aléatoire, notamment les préposés à l'aire de trafic/d'escale (préposés à l'entretien d'aéronefs, manutentionnaires de bagages).

[9]               Il a témoigné qu'il avait donné diverses séances d'information et de formation à l'Aéroport international de Winnipeg. Il a de plus indiqué que toutes les entreprises et les organisations qui ont besoin d'accéder aux zones réglementées avaient des exemplaires des dépliants sur les politiques et le programme CNP.

[10]           M. Dickie a témoigné qu'il y avait un certain nombre de postes de contrôle de sécurité dans l'aérogare de l'Aéroport de Winnipeg où tout le personnel concerné devait franchir des postes de contrôle surveillés par des agents de contrôle avant de franchir une autre barrière surveillée par des gardiens de sécurité. À ce dernier point de contrôle, les employés doivent présenter leur laissez-passer de sécurité à des fins de vérification et, si elles sont acceptées, les personnes qui ont fait l'objet d'un contrôle ont accès à la zone réglementée.

Contre-interrogatoire

[11]           M. Dickie a informé M. Webster qu'aucune modification n'avait été apportée au règlement pour permettre d'apporter des couteaux et certains outils dans la zone réglementée.

(2)        David Rees

[12]           M. Rees a déclaré qu'il était actuellement au service de Transports Canada à titre d'inspecteur de sécurité et, qu'il avait auparavant travaillé pour le service de police de Winnipeg pendant 28 ans.

[13]           Il a témoigné que le 17 février 2006, à 14 h 45, il a été avisé qu'il y avait eu une infraction à la sécurité, dans la zone réglementée sud des bagages. M. Rees, accompagné de membres du service de police de Winnipeg, de membres de l'administration de l'Aéroport de Winnipeg et d'un agent de sécurité, a repéré M. Webster près des convoyeurs à bagages 3 et 4 dans la zone réglementée d'Air Canada. Il a déclaré qu'il avait retiré le laissez-passer de M. Webster et qu'il l'avait escorté à l'extérieur de la zone de sécurité.

[14]           M. Rees a indiqué que le jour suivant il a obtenu une copie du film vidéo de surveillance (pièce M‑2) à 14 h 42 m 40 s où l'on peut voir une personne identifiée par  M. Rees comme étant M. Webster, dans la zone de contrôle.

[15]           Il a de plus déclaré que le gardien de sécurité a ouvert la porte de la zone réglementée pour permettre à M. Webster de franchir les barrières.

[16]           M. Rees n'a pas été contre-interrogé.

 (3)       Abdullah Ijaz

[17]           M. Ijaz a déclaré qu'il était au service de l'ACSTA à titre d'agent de sécurité et qu'il était en fonction à la zone de contrôle sud des bagages pour effectuer une vérification du programme CNP, le 17 février 2006, vers 14 h 40.

[18]           M. Ijaz a témoigné que M. Webster avait été désigné au hasard pour faire l'objet d'un contrôle et qu'il l'avait informé de cette décision. M. Webster a répondu qu'il n'avait pas le temps de se soumettre à cette procédure et lorsque M. Ijaz l'a avisé que s'il ne respectait pas cette procédure, il appellerait la police, M. Webster a pris une humeur belliqueuse, a utilisé un langage blasphématoire inacceptable et s'est dirigé vers la barrière d'entrée, suivi de M. Ijaz.

[19]           M. Ijaz a dit au gardien de sécurité de ne pas laisser M. Webster entrer dans la zone réglementée, mais le gardien de sécurité a ouvert la barrière après avoir examiné son laissez-passer et la police a été appelée. La pièce M‑3 confirme que le laissez-passer de M. Webster a été activé à 14 h 43, le 17 février 2006, dans la zone de bagages sud.

[20]           Le ministre a présenté en preuve les documents suivants :

•     la demande de laissez-passer de zone réglementée de M. Webster (pièce M‑4);

•     un plan d'ensemble de la zone de tri des bagages d'Air Canada située au sud (pièce M‑5);

•     la désignation de Transports Canada autorisant Abdullah Ijaz à devenir agent de contrôle de sécurité (pièce M‑6).

Contre-interrogatoire

[21]           Interrogé par M. Webster, M. Ijaz a indiqué qu'il se tenait près de l'appareil de radiographie marqué d'un « X » sur la pièce M‑5. Il a déclaré par la suite qu'il avait  donné comme consigne au gardien de sécurité de ne pas laisser M. Webster entrer dans la zone réglementée parce qu'il avait refusé de faire l'objet d'un contrôle et que les policiers étaient sur le point d'arriver sur les lieux.

(4)        Anna Porpiglia

[22]           Mme  Porpiglia a témoigné qu'elle est agente de contrôle autorisée au service de l'ACSTA. La pièce M-7 le confirmait.

[23]           Elle a déclaré que le 17 février 2006, elle était en service avec M. Ijaz, à la barrière de contrôle des bagages sud d'Air Canada et elle effectuait un programme CNP sur des personnes qui entraient dans la zone de bagages réglementée.

[24]           Au hasard, elle a désigné M. Webster comme candidat au contrôle et elle l'a informé de cela. Il a réagi en mentionnant aux deux agents de contrôle qu'il n'avait pas le temps de se soumettre au processus de contrôle. Quand ceux-ci l'ont informé que les policiers allaient être appelés, M. Webster a dit : [traduction] « Allez-y » et il a utilisé un langage blasphématoire. M. Webster s'est ensuite dirigé vers la barrière de sécurité.

[25]           M. Ijaz a accompagné M. Webster jusqu'à  la barrière et a informé les gardiens de sécurité de ne pas laisser M. Webster franchir la barrière. Les agents de sécurité ont laissé M. Webster franchir la barrière et  Mme Porpiglia a activé le dispositif d'alarme silencieux pour la police.

Contre-interrogatoire

[26]           Mme Porpiglia a déclaré qu'elle était toujours derrière l'appareil de radiographie, en compagnie de M. Ijaz.

(5)        Jerrod Patzer

[27]           M. Patzer a témoigné qu'il avait travaillé comme agent de sécurité pendant une période de cinq ans au service d'Avion Security Services. Le 17 février 2006, M. Patzer et un collaborateur de nom de Cory étaient en service à la barrière de sécurité des bagages sud d'Air Canada.

[28]           Vers 14 h 42, MM. Webster et Ijaz se sont approchés de la barrière de sécurité, et à ce moment-là, le laissez-passer de sécurité de M. Webster a été vérifié et jugé valide. Il a déclaré que M. Ijaz a informé M. Patzer et son collaborateur de ne pas admettre M. Webster dans la zone réglementée. Toutefois, M. Patzer et son collaborateur ont décidé d'admettre M. Webster parce que l'atmosphère entre MM. Webster et Ijaz était tellement explosive que les gardiens de sécurité craignaient qu'une confrontation physique n'ait lieu entre eux. La police est arrivée à 14 h 46; toutefois, à ce moment-là, M. Webster était à l'intérieur de la zone réglementée.

Contre-interrogatoire

[29]           M. Patzer a répondu qu'il n'avait pas entendu la demande de l'agent de contrôle à M. Webster, selon laquelle il devait faire l'objet d'un contrôle.

B.        Requérant

[30]           M. Webster a témoigné qu'Air Canada l'avait embauché pendant sept ans comme manutentionnaire de bagages à l'Aéroport international de Winnipeg.

[31]           Il a par la suite déclaré que le 17 février 2006, il était arrivé au travail avec quelques minutes de retard.

[32]           M. Webster a présenté la pièce A‑1,  la note d'un pharmacien, T. Hean Gooi, en date du 25 septembre 2006, indiquant que M. Webster souffre d'un problème de vessie et de déficience auditive.

[33]           Il a par la suite déclaré qu'il avait entendu Mme  Porpiglia lui demander de se soumettre à un contrôle, mais il n'a pas entendu M. Ijaz lui demander d'arrêter devant les gardiens de sécurité ni lui dire que les policiers avaient été appelés. Il a indiqué qu'il était au courant du processus de contrôle, qu'il respectait les autorités de l'Aéroport de Winnipeg mais qu'il s'interrogeait sur la raison pour laquelle il fallait huit personnes pour l'arrêter.

[34]           Comme il n'y avait aucune autre preuve, l'enregistrement de la preuve s'est terminé.

ARGUMENTATION FINALE

[35]           M. Buker a passé en revue la preuve présentée par le ministre. Il a déclaré que Transports Canada utilisait une approche multi-étapes afin que toutes les personnes qui entrent dans les zones réglementées soient contrôlées et leur laissez-passer vérifié. Il a de plus indiqué que l'amende de 300 $ devait avoir un effet dissuasif sur les infractions futures.

[36]           M. Webster a rappelé qu'il estimait qu'il n'avait pas erré et que s'il ne s'était pas arrêté, c'était en raison d'une déficience auditive. 

Analyse

[37]           Les agents de contrôle étaient formés (pièces M‑6 et M‑7) et s'acquittaient de leurs fonctions le 17 février 2006 lorsque M. Webster a été identifié grâce à la vidéo (pièce M‑2) et au rapport de contrôle de l'ordinateur (pièce M‑3).

[38]           Le Tribunal accepte l'argument selon lequel M. Webster a entendu l'ordre de se soumettre au contrôle et a répondu en blasphémant et en disant aux agents de contrôle d'appeler la police.

[39]           Alors que la conversation entre MM. Webster et Ijaz n'était pas professionnelle et risquait de dégénérer en confrontation physique, les actions des gardiens de sécurité en permettant à M. Webster d'accéder à la  zone réglementée sont, de l'avis du Tribunal, effroyables et représentent un manquement aux devoirs des gardiens de sécurité. Cela est d'autant plus grave que huit agents étaient seulement à quatre minutes de l'endroit.

[40]           Cela ne remet pas en cause le fait qu'en raison du témoignage assermenté de M. Webster, le Tribunal accepte que celui-ci a contrevenu à l'article 10 du RCSA qui prévoit qu'il ne doit pas entrer dans une zone réglementée après avoir refusé de se soumettre à une fouille autorisée.

DÉCISION

[41]           Le Tribunal considère que Marcel H. Webster a effectivement contrevenu à l'article 10 du Règlement canadien sur la sécurité aérienne et confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 300 $.

Le 3 novembre 2006

E. David Dover
Conseiller