Decisions

CAT File No. H-2267-80
MoT File No. M4352/S466/00-01 (OTC)

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Canadian Transportation Agency, Applicant

- and -

Sky King Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canada Transportation Act , ss. 57(a), 180


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: February 8, 2002

The Canadian Transportation Agency has proven, on a balance of probability, that Sky King Inc. contravened paragraph 57(a) of the Canada Transportation Act on the occasions and in the manner stipulated in the Notice of Violation dated March 27, 2001. I find that the Agency considered all the pertinent factors in coming to a quantum for the penalty. The minimum penalty suggested in the Agency's Enforcement Manual is appropriate in this case. I uphold the penalty as stated in the Notice of Violation for $5,000 on each count for a total of $20,000. The payment shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and shall be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, January 17, 2002 at 10:00 hours at the Standard Life Building, in Ottawa, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

Sky King is a foreign air operator based in Sacramento, California, USA. It holds a Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) operating certificate authorizing it to operate Federal Aviation Regulation (FAR) Part 125 operations. The company's specialized business is transporting the players and equipment of professional sports franchises from venue to venue. It also transports high profile entertainment groups.

Recently, it has contracted with the Vancouver Hockey Club to fly the Vancouver Canucks to and from Vancouver and various other cities during the course of their playing season.

Although Sky King has flown in and out of Canada on many occasions for over 10 years, only recently did its activities come to the attention of the Canadian Transportation Agency (the Agency).

Transport Canada is the entity tasked with ensuring that carriers operating to, from and within Canada meet prescribed technical and safety standards. It too became aware of Sky King's operations and issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty against it regarding some of the same operations. That matter is the subject of a separate Civil Aviation Tribunal file (No. H-2316-41).

Pursuant to an investigation by the Agency, a Notice of Violation was issued to Sky King alleging that, between October 3, 2000 through November 26, 2000, it had operated an air service without holding a licence in respect of that service. As the monetary penalty was not paid, the Agency applied for a hearing of the matter.

PRELIMINARY ISSUES

Prior to the hearing, the parties consented to certain documents being entered as exhibits (C-1 to C-10) and came to an agreed statement of facts. The Respondent Sky King admitted to the four operations listed in the Notice of Violation dated March 27, 2001 issued by an enforcement officer designated by the Agency. It also admitted that it did not hold a Canadian Transportation Agency licence to operate either a domestic service or a non-scheduled international service on the dates specified in the Notice of Violation. Sky King did not admit that the operation contravened paragraph 57(a) of the Canada Transportation Act (the Act).

THE LAW

The relevant portion of paragraph 57(a) of the Act states:

57. No person shall operate an air service unless, in respect of that service, the person
(a) holds a licence issued under this Part;
[‘this Part' refers to Part II of the Act, Air Transportation.]

EVIDENCE

The requirement for a foreign air carrier to hold a Canadian licence issued under Part II of the Act was established through the testimony of Ms. Catherine MacDonald. She was accepted as an expert witness, her specialty being government relations and bilateral agreements. Ms. MacDonald participated in and was a senior advisor to Canada in the Canadian/American bilateral air transport agreements. Examination and cross-examination probed the esoteric language and meaning of several diplomatic notes and agreements exchanged between Canada and the USA. As an expert, she succinctly distilled the diplomatic exchanges into understandable terms. Simply put, U.S. Part 125 operators, such as Sky King, are considered by Canada to be publicly available charters and are required under the Act and the Air Transportation Regulations to hold a Canadian licence.

The Respondent's admissions stipulate that Sky King did not hold a Canadian Transportation Agency licence on the dates specified in the Notice of Violation of March 27, 2001.

Mr. Gregg Lukenbill is an entrepreneur/businessman and the president and sole shareholder of Sky King Inc. His testimony established that the company's certification from the American authorities was for Part 125 operations, a designation which restricted it from holding out or publicly advertising the company's services. As the carriage was not publicly available it was akin to private carriage. As such he did not believe that he required any additional authority to operate in Canada. The company had operated openly into Canada on numerous occasions over a twelve-year period complying with all customs, immigration and other authorities, paying the required fees to airports and NAV CANADA. Never in that time was the company made aware that it required any additional authority. Once made aware of the licencing requirement, the company complied as soon as possible.

DISCUSSION

The Agency must establish each element of the alleged offence. In this instance, the admitted statement of facts facilitates the proof of some of those elements. A violation of paragraph 57(a) of the Act requires proof of the following:

  • the identity of the "person";
  • that the person operated an air service;
  • when no licence under Part II had been issued.

"Person" includes a corporation in enactments in Canada[1]. Sky King is admittedly the corporate person in this matter.

The admissions establish that it transported passengers or goods or both on the aircraft on the dates and locations indicated in the Notice of Violation. That operation is consistent with the definition of an "air service" found at subsection 55(1) of the Act which states "a service, provided by means of an aircraft, that is publicly available for the transportation of passengers or goods, or both".

That the service was "publicly available" was established by Ms. MacDonald's testimony as was the requirement to hold a licence issued by the Agency.

Sky King acknowledged that it did not hold a licence to operate either a domestic service or a non-scheduled international service on the dates in question.

Therefore, each element of the offence has been made out, proving that Sky King committed a violation by contravening paragraph 57(a) of the Act.

SANCTION

The Notice of Violation lists four violations assessed at $5,000 each for a total of $20,000. Sky King contested both the propriety and quantum of sanction.

Mr. Laliberté is the enforcement officer who had conducted the investigation, issued a report and recommended that a Notice of Violation be issued. He explained that each of the four offences were a group of flight segments that the Agency considered to be one flight and thus one violation. For instance, offence one consisted of flight segments between October 3rd and 9th where air transportation was provided between Vancouver, Philadelphia, Fort Lauderdale, Tampa and return to Vancouver.

The Notice of Violation was signed by Mr. David Western, the Director of Enforcement, who also related the rationale for the number of offences and quantum of the penalty. The offences were for four movements of teams from and back to Canada. The Table of Designated Provisions at section 6.7.1 of the Agency's Enforcement Manual (the Manual) provides that a violation of paragraph 57(a) is regarded as a level 5 offence. In turn, Table of Penalty Amounts at section 6.10 provides that a level 5 offence for a 1st violation by a corporate offender is $5,000. Mr. Western stated that he took into consideration all of the mitigating circumstances such as Sky King's cooperation and that it obtained the licence as quickly as possible. In light of those circumstances and the Manual, he considered the minimum penalty to be appropriate.

Counsel for Sky King advanced argument on several fronts. He contended that as the company had operated into Canada for many years with no interference from authorities, the Agency could not now decide to enforce the regulations. There was a duty on the Agency to communicate their decisions to those that it affected before any action was taken.

He maintained that there should only be one offence in the circumstance, failure to get approval from a Canadian authority. In this instance, there were multiple allegations from two different bureaucratic departments alleging the same offences on the same facts without one having knowledge of the other. This was, as he coined it, a case of "bureaucratic disconnect".

Counsel further argued that if sanctions were to be applied, all factors must be considered. Sky King cooperated and complied as soon as able, after it became aware of the requirement. No deterrent effect was possible as no other Part 125 operator would know about the penalties. The Manual was only a guideline, common sense and equity should prevail.

DISCUSSION

I do not agree with Sky King's assertion that the Agency was required to give some form of notice before the regulations were to be enforced. By virtue of the decision to enter a regulated field, Sky King can be taken to accept the terms and conditions of entry into the field[2], including the regulations that are in force. It is especially important, when entering a foreign jurisdiction, to ascertain the rules of conduct in force there lest they be different than those with which you are familiar.

Counsel was of the view that there should only be a single offence. I must reject that contention. The allegations asserted by the agency covered four distinct movements at four different times. The movements involved for offences one, three and four were the operation from Vancouver, with stops in the USA, returning to Vancouver. At offence two, the operation was from Vancouver to Saint-Hubert, Quebec and from there to Buffalo, New York. In each instance, Sky King was operating an air service into or out of Canada without holding the appropriate authority. Each operation is properly the subject of a separate charge.

The operation by Sky King has offended two different statutes administered by two different enforcement offices. Testimony shows that the Agency was not coordinating its efforts with those of Transport Canada. However, I have not been offered any law or authority that would establish that the pursuit by each separately was in any way improper. That the two enforcement offices may have been afflicted with "bureaucratic disconnect" does not vitiate the offence.

Mr. Western testified that he had taken the mitigating circumstances, such as the company's cooperation and rectification of the problem, into consideration when establishing the penalty. He conceded that the Manual was only a guide but used his judgment in following it to establish the minimum recommended penalty.

DETERMINATION

The Agency has proven, on a balance of probability, that Sky King Inc. contravened paragraph 57(a) of the Canada Transportation Act on the occasions and in the manner stipulated in the Notice of Violation dated March 27, 2001.

I find that the Agency considered all the pertinent factors in coming to a quantum for the penalty. The minimum penalty suggested in the Manual is appropriate in this case. I uphold the penalty as stated in the Notice of Violation for $5,000 on each count for a total of $20,000.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] Interpretation Act, R.S., c. I-23, subsection 35(1).

[2] R. c. Wholesale Travel Group Inc., [1991] 3 S.C.R. 154.

Décisions

Dossier no H-2267-80 (TAC)
Dossier no M4352/S466/00-01 (OTC) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Office des Transports du Canada, requérant(e)

- et -

Sky King Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 8 février 2002

TRADUCTION

L'Office des transports au Canada a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que Sky King Inc. a contrevenu à l'article 57 de la Loi sur les transports au Canada de la façon et à l'endroit mentionnés dans le procès-verbal du 27 mars 2001. Je considère que l'Office a examiné tous les facteurs pertinents afin de décider du montant de l'amende. L'amende minimale proposée au Manuel d'application de l'Office est appropriée à cette cause. Je maintiens l'amende prévue au procès-verbal, soit 5 000 $ pour chaque chef d'accusation, pour un total de 20 000 $. Le montant est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 17 janvier 2002 à 10 h à l'édifice Standard Life à Ottawa (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Sky King est un exploitant aérien étranger situé à Sacramento (Californie), É.-U. Elle est titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation du Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) qui l'autorise à exercer ses opérations en vertu de la partie 125 du Federal Aviation Regulation (FAR). La compagnie se spécialise dans le transport de joueurs de franchises de sport professionnel et de leur équipement d'un point à l'autre. Elle transporte aussi des groupes de spectacles très en vue.

Récemment, elle a conclu un contrat avec le Vancouver Hockey Club pour transporter les Canucks de Vancouver aller-retour de Vancouver vers plusieurs villes dans le cadre de leur saison de jeu.

Même si Sky King a voyagé à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du Canada à plusieurs reprises depuis plus de dix ans, ses opérations n'ont été portées à l'attention de l'Office des transports du Canada (l'Office) que récemment.

Transports Canada est l'organisme chargé de s'assurer que les transporteurs qui exercent des opérations à l'extérieur et à l'intérieur du Canada, respectent les normes prescrites en ce qui a trait à la technique et à la sécurité. Les opérations de Sky King ont donc été portées à la connaissance de Transports Canada qui a délivré un Avis d'amende pour contravention concernant certaines de ses opérations. Cette affaire fait l'objet d'une cause distincte du Tribunal de l'aviation civile (no H-2316-41).

En vertu d'une enquête de l'Office, un procès-verbal a été délivré à Sky King qui allègue qu'entre le 3 octobre 2000 et le 26 novembre 2000, elle a exploité un service aérien sans être titulaire d'une licence relative à ce service. Étant donné que l'amende n'a pas été payée, l'Office a demandé une audience pour cette affaire.

QUESTIONS PRÉLIMINAIRES

Avant l'audience, les parties ont convenu de la présentation de certains documents déposés sous la cote C-1 à C-10 et d'un exposé conjoint de faits. L'intimée, Sky King, a admis les quatre opérations citées au procès-verbal du 27 mars 2001 délivré par un agent verbalisateur désigné par l'Office. Elle a aussi admis qu'elle ne détenait pas de licence de l'Office des transports du Canada pour exploiter, soit un service intérieur, soit un service international à la demande, aux dates mentionnées au procès-verbal. Sky King n'a pas admis que les opérations contrevenaient à l'article 57 de la Loi sur les transports au Canada (la Loi).

LA LOI

L'article 57 de la Loi prévoit ce qui suit :

57. L'exploitation d'un service aérien est subordonnée à la détention, pour celui-ci, de la licence prévue par la présente partie, d'un document d'aviation canadien et de la police d'assurance responsabilité réglementaire.
[« cette section » fait référence à la Partie II de la Loi sur les transports au Canada.]

LA PREUVE

La prescription selon laquelle un transporteur aérien étranger doit être titulaire d'une licence canadienne délivrée en vertu de la Partie II de la Loi a été établie par le témoignage de Mme Catherine MacDonald. Elle a été reconnue comme témoin expert spécialisé dans les relations gouvernementales et les ententes bilatérales.

Mme MacDonald a participé aux négociations canado-américaines sur les accords bilatéraux en matière de transport aérien, à titre de conseillère principale du Canada. Les interrogatoires et les contre-interrogatoires explorent le langage spécialisé et le sens de plusieurs notes et ententes diplomatiques échangées entre le Canada et les É.-U. À titre d'expert, elle a élucidé de façon concise les échanges diplomatiques dans des termes compréhensibles. Plus simplement, les exploitants visés dans la partie 125 du règlement américain, tels que Sky King, sont considérés au Canada comme des exploitants d'aéronefs nolisés offerts au public et sont obligés en vertu de la Loi et du Règlement sur les transports aériens d'être titulaire d'une licence canadienne.

Dans ses admissions, l'intimée précise que Sky King n'était pas titulaire d'une licence de l'Office des transports du Canada aux dates mentionnées au procès-verbal du 27 mars 2001.

M. Gregg Lukenbill est entrepreneur, homme d'affaires, président et seul actionnaire de Sky King Inc. Son témoignage a établi que le certificat de la compagnie délivré par les autorités américaines était relié aux opérations visées à la partie 125, une désignation qui lui interdisait de faire de la publicité des services de la compagnie. Étant donné que le transport n'était pas offert publiquement, il s'apparentait au transport privé. À ce titre, il ne croyait pas avoir besoin d'une autre autorisation pour exercer des opérations au Canada. La compagnie avait opéré ouvertement au Canada à plusieurs reprises pendant une période de plus de douze ans en respectant toutes les douanes, l'immigration et les autres autorités, en payant les frais prescrits aux aéroports et à NAV CANADA. La compagnie n'a jamais été avisée de la nécessité d'avoir une autorisation additionnelle. Dès qu'elle a été informée de la prescription concernant la licence, la compagnie l'a respectée dans les meilleurs délais.

DISCUSSION

L'Office doit établir chaque élément de la présumée infraction. Dans cette cause, l'exposé des faits admis facilite la preuve de certains de ces éléments. Une infraction à l'article 57 de la Loi nécessite la preuve des éléments suivants :

  • l'identité de la « personne »
  • que la personne exploitait un service aérien
  • alors qu'aucune licence en vertu de la Partie II n'avait été délivrée.

« Personne » désigne une personne morale au sens de la loi canadienne[1]. Sky King est sans conteste une personne morale dans cette affaire.

L'admission établit qu'elle transportait des passagers ou des marchandises ou les deux dans l'aéronef, aux dates et aux lieux indiqués au procès-verbal. Cette opération est compatible avec la définition de « services aériens » du paragraphe 55(1) de la Loi qui désigne un « service offert par aéronef au public pour le transport des passagers, des marchandises, ou les deux ».

Le fait que le service était « offert au public » a été établi lors du témoignage de Mme MacDonald, tout comme l'obligation d'être titulaire d'une licence délivrée par l'Office.

Sky King reconnaît qu'elle n'était pas titulaire d'une licence pour exploiter, soit un service intérieur ou un service international à la demande aux dates en question.

En conséquence, chaque élément de l'infraction a été établi, prouvant que Sky King a commis une infraction en contrevenant à l'article 57 de la Loi.

SANCTION

Le procès-verbal énumère quatre infractions évaluées à 5 000 $ chacune pour un total de 20 000 $. Sky King a contesté tant le bien-fondé que le montant de la sanction.

M. Laliberté est l'agent verbalisateur qui a mené l'enquête, établi un rapport et recommandé que le procès-verbal soit délivré. Il a expliqué que chacune des quatre infractions était un groupe de segments de vol que l'Office considérait comme un vol, donc, comme une infraction. En l'occurrence, la première infraction était composée de segments de vol entre le 3 et le 9 octobre alors que le transport aérien était fourni entre Vancouver, Philadelphia, Fort Lauderdale, Tampa et de retour à Vancouver.

Le procès-verbal était signé par M. David Western, directeur de l'Application de la loi, qui a aussi fait référence à la raison d'être du nombre d'infractions et du montant des amendes. Les infractions correspondaient à quatre déplacements d'équipes aller retour du Canada. Le Tableau des textes désignés de l'article 6.7.1 du Manuel d'application de l'Office (le Manuel) prévoit qu'une infraction à l'article 57 est considérée comme une infraction de niveau 5. Par ailleurs, il est prévu dans les montants au Tableau des amendes - Personne morale de l'article 6.10 qu'une infraction de niveau 5 pour une première infraction d'une société commerciale contrevenante est passible de 5 000 $. M. Western a déclaré qu'il a pris en compte tous les facteurs atténuants comme la coopération de Sky King et le fait qu'elle a obtenu sa licence le plus vite possible. À la lumière de ces circonstances et du Manuel, il a considéré que l'amende minimale était appropriée.

Le procureur de Sky King a formulé des arguments à plusieurs égards. Il a affirmé qu'étant donné que la compagnie avait exercé des opérations au Canada pendant plusieurs années sans interférence des autorités, l'Office ne pouvait décider de mettre soudainement ses règlements en application. L'Office devait communiquer ses décisions à ceux qui étaient visés avant de prendre des mesures quelconques.

Il a soutenu qu'il ne devrait y avoir qu'une seule infraction dans les circonstances, soit l'absence d'approbation d'une autorité canadienne. Dans cette cause, il y avait plusieurs allégations provenant de deux services administratifs qui alléguaient les mêmes infractions reliées aux mêmes faits sans connaître celles de l'autre. Il s'agissait, selon sa propre expression, d'un cas « d'éparpillement bureaucratique ».

Le procureur a ensuite plaidé que si les peines devaient être mises en application, tous les facteurs devaient être considérés. Sky King a coopéré et a obtempéré dès que possible avoir été informée de la prescription. Aucun effet dissuasif n'était possible étant donné qu'aucun autre exploitant concerné par la partie 125 ne serait au courant des amendes. Le Manuel était uniquement un guide, le sens commun et l'équité devaient prévaloir.

DISCUSSION

Je ne suis pas d'accord avec les arguments de Sky King selon lesquels l'Office devait donner une forme quelconque de préavis avant l'application de la loi. En décidant d'entrer dans une zone réglementée, Sky King doit être incitée à accepter les modalités d'entrée dans la zone[2], y compris les règlements qui sont en vigueur à cet endroit. Il est particulièrement important, en pénétrant en juridiction étrangère, de s'enquérir des règles de conduite de ce territoire, de crainte qu'elles ne soient différentes de celles qui nous sont familières.

Le procureur était d'avis qu'il aurait dû n'y avoir qu'une seule infraction. Je dois rejeter cette prétention. Les allégations établies par l'Office portaient sur quatre mouvements distincts à quatre moments différents. Les mouvements reliés aux infractions un, trois et quatre, concernent des vols partant de Vancouver, des arrêts aux É.-U. et un retour à Vancouver. À l'infraction deux, les vols partaient de Vancouver à Saint-Hubert (Québec), et de là jusqu'à Buffalo (New York). Dans chaque cas, Sky King avait exploité un service aérien au Canada et à l'extérieur sans être titulaire des autorisations appropriées. Chaque opération fait l'objet d'un chef d'accusation distinct.

Les opérations de Sky King ont enfreint deux lois différentes administrées par deux organismes distincts d'application de la loi. Le témoignage démontre que l'Office ne coordonnait pas ses efforts à ceux de Transports Canada. Toutefois, on ne m'a présenté aucune loi ou autorité établissant que la poursuite de chacun d'entre eux de façon séparée n'était pas appropriée. Les deux organismes d'application de la loi peuvent être atteints « d'éparpillement bureaucratique » mais cela ne vicie pas l'infraction.

M. Western a témoigné qu'il avait pris en considération les facteurs atténuants comme la coopération de la compagnie et la rectification du problème lorsqu'il a établi la peine. Il a admis que le Manuel n'était qu'un guide mais qu'il a fait preuve de bon sens en le suivant pour établir la peine minimale recommandée.

DÉCISION

L'Office a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que Sky King Inc. a contrevenu à l'article 57 de la Loi sur les transports au Canada, de la façon et aux lieux mentionnés au procès-verbal en date du 27 mars 2001.

Je considère que l'Office a pris en compte tous les facteurs pertinents pour déterminer le montant de l'amende. L'amende minimale proposée au Manuel est appropriée dans le cas en l'espèce. Je maintiens l'amende prévue au procès-verbal, soit 5 000 $ par chef d'accusation pour un total de 20 000 $.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Loi d'interprétation, L.R., c. I-23, paragraphe 35(1).

[2] R. c. Wholesale Travel Group Inc., [1991] 3 R.C.S. 154.