Decisions

CAT File No. H-2316-41
MoT File No. 5504-Z-1-043213

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Sky King Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S., c. 33 (1st Supp), s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 700.02(1)

Mitigating factors, Duplicity


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: February 8, 2002

The Minister has proven, on a balance of probability, that Sky King Inc. contravened subsection 700.02(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations on 12 occasions. I find that the mitigating factors discussed should have been considered in coming to the appropriate penalty. In the result, I lower the amount of penalty by $1,000 per count. Therefore, the total penalty becomes $4,000 per count for a total of $48,000. The payment shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and shall be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, January 16, 2002 at 10:00 hours at the Standard Life Building, in Ottawa, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

Sky King is a foreign air operator based in Sacramento, California, USA. It holds a Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) operating certificate authorizing it to operate Federal Aviation Regulation (FAR) Part 125 operations. The company's specialized business is transporting the players and equipment of professional sports franchises from venue to venue. It also transports high profile entertainment groups.

Recently, it has contracted with the Vancouver Hockey Club to fly the Vancouver Canucks to and from Vancouver and various other cities during the course of their playing season.

Although Sky King has flown in and out of Canada on many occasions for over 10 years, only recently did its activities come to the attention of Transport Canada.

The Canadian Transportation Agency (CTA) is the entity tasked with ensuring that carriers operating to, from and within Canada meet certain economic requirements. It too became aware of Sky King's operations and filed a Notice of Violation against it regarding some of the same operations. That matter is the subject of a separate Civil Aviation Tribunal file (No. H-2267-80).

Pursuant to an investigation by Transport Canada, a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty was issued to Sky King alleging that, on various dates in the year 2000, it had operated an air transport service in Canada when it did not hold an air operator certificate that would have authorized such a service. As the monetary penalty was not paid, Transport Canada applied for a hearing of the matter.

PRELIMINARY ISSUES

Prior to the hearing, the parties consented to certain documents being entered as exhibits (M-1 to M-10) and came to an agreed statement of facts. The Respondent admitted that it operated the specific aircraft itemized in the 12 operations listed in Schedule "A" of the Notice on the dates and to the locations indicated in the information. It also admitted that it did not hold an air operator certificate issued by any Canadian authority.

That Sky King required a Canadian certificate to perform those operations was not conceded.

THE LAW

The relevant portion of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) subsection 700.02(1) states:

No person shall operate an air transport service unless the person holds and complies with the provisions of an air operator certificate that authorizes the person to operate that service.

EVIDENCE

The requirement for a foreign air carrier to hold a Canadian document was established through the testimony of Captain D. Guindon, the chief of foreign inspection for Transport Canada. All commercial carriers operating in Canada are required to have a document. Although Part 125 operators are regarded as private carriers in the United States, it was his testimony that Canada views them as commercial operations regardless of the certification in the country of origin.

Sky King's admission stipulates that it did not hold a Canadian licence at the pertinent time. The certificate signed by the Secretary of the Department of Transport (M-10) establishes that in the year 2000 no air operator certificate was issued by the Minister of Transport to Sky King authorizing it to operate an air transport service in Canada.

Mr. Gregg Lukenbill is an entrepreneur/businessman and the president and sole shareholder of Sky King Inc. He testified that the company's certification from the US authorities was for private carriage as compared to a common carriage. As such he did not believe that he required any additional authority to operate in Canada and in fact had operated into the country on numerous occasions for about 12 years. Never had anyone made him aware that any additional authority was required. He had no intention of breaking the regulations and rectified the licensing problem as soon as he became aware of it.

DISCUSSION

The Minister must establish each element of the alleged offence. In this instance, the admitted statement of facts facilitates the proof of some of the elements. A violation of subsection 700.02(1) of the CARs requires proof of the following elements:

  • the identity of the "person";
  • that the person operated an air transport service;
  • that the person did not hold an air operator certificate.

"Person" includes a corporation in enactments in Canada.[1] Sky King Inc. is admittedly the corporate person in this matter, so the first element is established.

As to the second element, Sky King admitted that it operated the aircraft itemized in Schedule "A"of the Notice on the dates, times and at the locations indicated in the Schedule. The purpose of the flights was to transport persons, personal belongings, baggage, goods or cargo between two points.

Subsection 101.01(1) of the CARs defines an "air transport service" as "a commercial air service that is operated for the purpose of transporting persons, personal belongings, baggage, goods or cargo in an aircraft between two points".

Section 3 of the Aeronautics Act defines a "commercial air service" as "any use of aircraft for hire or reward".

The Act defines "hire or reward" as "any payment, consideration, gratuity or benefit, directly or indirectly charged, demanded, received or collected by any person for the use of an aircraft".

Sky King was by definition an air transport service as its aircraft were operated for the purpose of transporting persons, personal belongings, baggage etc. for hire or reward as Sky King had received payment for those operations. It did not hold an air operator certificate that authorized it to operate such a service. Therefore, Sky King was in contravention of subsection 700.02(1) of the CARs.

SANCTION

The Notice listed 12 offences to be assessed at $5,000 each for a total of $60,000. Sky King contested both the propriety and quantum of sanction.

Mr. J.-F. Mathieu, the chief of aviation enforcement for Transport Canada, had signed the Notice. He was guided in the amount of the penalty by reference to Chapter 11 of the Aviation Enforcement Procedures Manual (the Manual) which addresses sanctions. Regarding this offence, the recommended sanction for a first offence, corporate offender, was $5,000. He felt that there were no mitigating nor aggravating factors which would have caused him to vary the amount.

Twelve counts were charged as the logs indicated 12 flights were flown between the dates of October 3rd and November 27th. Although section 9.7.3 of the Manual allows that flights involving intermediate stops may be treated as one flight, he was of the opinion that these flights did not meet that characteristic.

Counsel for Sky King advanced argument on several fronts. On a general note, he contends that as Sky King had operated in Canada for many years with no interference from authorities, Transport Canada could not now decide to enforce the regulations without giving notice of its intention to do so. As two government entities had charged his client for basically the same offence on the same facts there was a duplicity of charges which could not be said to be an equitable administration of justice.

He asserted that there should only be one offence, the lack of the operating certificate, not an offence for each flight without one. If there were to be more than one offence, then the operations should be regarded as having intermediate stops within the meaning of section 9.7.3 of the Manual so multiple legs with stops should be regarded as a single flight which would result in three operations rather than 12 separate flights. Some of the flights that were the subject of allegations were ferry or positioning flights for which a customer is not charged so should not be the subject of an offence. Regarding the level of sanction, Mr. Clark maintained that Transport Canada must look at all of the factors in its assessment of penalty and had not done so as there were many mitigating factors that should have been considered but were not.

DISCUSSION

I do not agree with Sky King's argument that Transport Canada was required to give it some form of notice before the regulations were to be enforced. By virtue of the decision to enter a regulated field, Sky King can be taken to accept the terms and conditions of entry into the field[2], including the regulations that are in force there. It is especially important, when entering a foreign jurisdiction, to ascertain the rules of conduct in that jurisdiction lest they be different from those with which it is familiar. Further, there is no evidence that Transport Canada was not enforcing the regulations, only evidence that this particular company had escaped Transport Canada's attention for some time.

Counsel had maintained that there was a duplicity of charges. I take that to mean there are duplicate charges arising out of the same facts, not that the charges are duplicitous. Basically, the rule against duplicity is that the information in one count must not charge more than one offence[3].

In this instance, each count stipulates but a single offence, operating without an air operator certificate. They cannot be said to be duplicitous. In this circumstance, that operation without a certificate has offended two different statutes administered by two different departments. I have not been offered any law or authority that would establish the pursuit of charges by each one as being in any way improper.

Also at issue, is whether a trip that compromises one or more segments is a single flight or is made up of as many flights as there are segments. Counsel had argued that the company's activity should only be the subject of a single offence. Alternatively, the flights should be viewed as having intermediate stops which would have the effect of treating multiple segments as one flight. There was no evidence adduced of what should be considered an intermediate stop, as per section 9.7.3. of the Manual, other than Mr. Mathieu's statement that he considered them to be separate and distinct with no intermediate stops. I have only argument from the Respondent to the contrary. I do note that the Act addresses continuing offences at section 7.31 where it states:

7.31 Where an offence under this Part is committed or continued on more than one flight or segment of a flight, it shall be deemed to be a separate offence for each flight or segment of a flight on which the offence is committed or continued.

The section gives authority for the proposition that each flight segment can subject of an offence.

I do not accept that ferry or positioning flights are exempt from being the subject of an offence because the customer is not charged for that leg. I do not believe that an entity slips in and out of its designation as an air transport service depending on whether or not the leg being flown is revenue producing. No authority was produced for that proposition.

As to mitigating factors, I find that counsel for Sky King does have a point. The Manual, at section 9.7.3, addresses Transport Canada's choice of factors affecting sanction. In reviewing sanction, the Tribunal has often referred to the Wyer determination[4] which addresses sanction more fully. It details some of the principles of determining an appropriate monetary penalty such as denunciation, deterrence, rehabilitation and enforcement recommendations. It suggests aggravating and mitigating factors that may be considered in arriving at a penalty.

I find that some of the mitigating factors enunciated in that determination could have been taken into consideration. There were no previous offences of the same nature. Sky King's President expressed remorse at having contravened the regulation and cooperated with Transport Canada when he became aware of the infraction. Although during the hearing, counsel did not concede that a certificate was required, Mr. Lukenbill basically admitted the offence when stating that he had made an honest mistake.

Regarding the general principles, some degree of denunciation is required as public repudiation of the wrongful act. As Sky King complied with the regulation as quicky as possible and expressed its desire to cooperate, no specific deterrence or rehabilitation is called for, but general deterrence for others in that type of the aviation community is still required.

Counsel for Transport Canada argued that the penalty was already the minimum recommended. Sky King asserted that there were mitigating factors but did not suggest by what amount the penalty should be lowered to reflect those circumstances. I am left to consider the implications without their further guidance.

DETERMINATION

The Minister has proven, on a balance of probability, that Sky King contravened subsection 700.02(1) of the CARs on those 12 occasions and in the manner stipulated in Schedule A to the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty dated 2001/06/29.

I find that the mitigating factors discussed above should have been considered in coming to the appropriate penalty. In the result, I lower the amount of penalty by $1,000 per count. Therefore, the total penalty becomes $4,000 per count for a total of $48,000.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1]Interpretation Act, R.S., c. I-23, subsection 35(1).

[2]R. v. Wholesale Travel Group Inc., [1991] 3 S.C.R. 154.

[3]R. v. Sault Ste. Marie, [1978] 2 S.C.R. 1299.

[4]Minister of Transport v. Wyer, CAT File No. O-0075-33, Appeal.

Décisions

Dossier no H-2316-41 (TAC)
Dossier no 5504-Z-1-043213 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Sky King Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, par. 700.02(1)

Répétition des accusations, Facteurs d'atténuation


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 8 février 2002

TRADUCTION

Le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que Sky King Inc. a contrevenu au paragraphe 700.02(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien à douze reprises. Je considère que les facteurs atténuants dont il a été question devaient être pris en compte pour en venir à la peine appropriée. En conséquence, je réduis le montant de l'amende de 1 000 $ par chef d'accusation. Pour ces motifs, l'amende totale est de 4 000 $ par chef pour un total de 48 000 $. Le montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 16 janvier 2002 à 10 h à l'édifice Standard Life à Ottawa (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Sky King est un exploitant aérien étranger situé à Sacramento, Californie, É.-U. Elle est titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation du Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) qui l'autorise à exercer ses opérations en vertu de la partie 125 du Federal Aviation Regulation (FAR). La compagnie se spécialise dans le transport de joueurs de franchises de sport professionnel et de leur équipement d'un point à l'autre. Elle transporte aussi des groupes de spectacles très en vue.

Récemment, elle a conclu un contrat avec le Vancouver Hockey Club pour transporter les Canucks de Vancouver aller-retour de Vancouver vers plusieurs villes dans le cadre de leur saison de jeu.

Même si Sky King a voyagé à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du Canada à plusieurs reprises depuis plus de dix ans, ses opérations n'ont été portées à l'attention de Transports Canada que récemment.

L'Office des transports du Canada (OTC) est l'organisme chargé de s'assurer que les transporteurs qui exercent leurs opérations à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du Canada respectent certaines prescriptions économiques. Les opérations de Sky King ont aussi été portées à sa connaissance et elle a déposé un procès-verbal contre elle en vertu de certaines opérations qui sont les mêmes. Cette affaire fait l'objet d'un dossier distinct au Tribunal de l'aviation civile (no H-2267-80).

En vertu d'une enquête de Transports Canada, un Avis d'amende pour contravention a été délivré à Sky King, lequel allègue qu'à plusieurs dates en 2000, elle a exploité un service de transport aérien au Canada alors qu'elle n'était pas titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne autorisant ledit service. Étant donné que l'amende n'a pas été payée, Transports Canada a demandé une audience de cette affaire.

QUESTIONS PRÉLIMINAIRES

Avant l'audience, les parties ont convenu de la présentation de certains documents déposés sous la cote M-1 à M-10 et d'un exposé conjoint de faits. L'intimée a admis qu'elle pilotait l'aéronef particulier dont la liste des 12 manœuvres figure à l'Annexe « A » de l'Avis, aux dates et aux endroits indiqués. Elle a de plus admis qu'elle n'était pas titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne délivré par une autorité canadienne.

Que Sky King ait besoin d'un certificat canadien pour exécuter ses opérations n'a pas été admis.

LA LOI

La partie pertinente du paragraphe 700.02(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) prévoit :

Il est interdit d'exploiter un service de transport aérien à moins d'être titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne qui autorise l'exploitation d'un tel service et de se conformer à ses dispositions.

LA PREUVE

La prescription selon laquelle un transporteur aérien étranger doit être titulaire d'un document canadien a été établie par le témoignage du commandant D. Guindon, chef, Inspection à l'étranger, Transports Canada. Tous les transporteurs commerciaux en exercice au Canada doivent détenir un document. Même si les exploitants visés à la partie 125 sont considérés comme des transporteurs privés aux États-Unis, selon son témoignage, au Canada, ils sont considérés comme des exploitants commerciaux sans égard au certificat de leur pays d'origine.

Dans ses admissions, Sky King mentionne qu'elle n'était pas titulaire d'une licence canadienne au moment en question. Le certificat signé par le secrétaire du ministère des Transports (M-10) établit qu'en 2000, aucun certificat d'exploitant aérien n'a été délivré par le ministre des Transports à Sky King pour l'autoriser à exploiter un service de transport aérien au Canada.

M. Gregg Lukenbill est entrepreneur, homme d'affaires, président et seul actionnaire de Sky King Inc. Il a témoigné que le certificat de la compagnie qui provient des autorités américaines était pour le transport privé au lieu du transport public. À ce titre, il ne croyait pas avoir besoin d'aucune autre autorisation pour exercer des opérations au Canada et, en fait, il en avait exercé au pays à plusieurs occasions pendant environ douze ans. Personne ne l'a jamais informé qu'une autorisation additionnelle était requise. Il n'avait pas l'intention d'enfreindre les règlements et il a rectifié le problème relié à la licence dès qu'il en a pris connaissance.

DISCUSSION

Le ministre doit établir chaque élément de la présumée infraction. Dans cette cause, l'exposé de faits admis facilite la preuve de certains des éléments. Une infraction au paragraphe 700.02(1) du RAC nécessite la preuve des éléments suivants :

  • l'identité de la « personne »
  • que la personne exploitait un service aérien
  • que la personne n'était titulaire d'aucun certificat d'exploitation aérienne.

« Personne » désigne une personne morale au sens de la loi canadienne[1]. Sky King est sans conteste une personne morale dans cette affaire et le premier élément est donc établi.

En ce qui a trait au deuxième élément, Sky King a admis avoir exploité l'aéronef cité à l'Annexe « A » de l'Avis aux dates, aux heures et aux endroits indiqués dans l'Annexe. Les vols visaient à transporter des personnes, des effets personnels, des bagages, des biens ou du fret entre deux points.

Le paragraphe 101.01(1) du RAC définit un « service de transport aérien » comme « un service aérien commercial qui est exploité pour transporter des personnes ou des biens - effets personnels, bagages, fret - à bord d'un aéronef entre deux points ».

L'article 3 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique définit un « service commercial aérien » comme l'« utilisation d'un aéronef contre rémunération ».

La Loi définit « rémunération » comme « toute rétribution - paiement, contrepartie, gratification, avantage - demandée ou perçue, directement ou indirectement, pour l'utilisation d'un aéronef ».

Sky King était par définition un service de transport aérien étant donné que ses aéronefs étaient exploités pour transporter des personnes, des effets personnels, des bagages, etc. contre rémunération puisque Sky King avait été payée pour ces opérations. Elle n'était pas titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérien qui l'autorisait à exploiter un tel service. En conséquence, Sky King a contrevenu au paragraphe 700.02(1) du RAC.

SANCTION

L'Avis cite 12 infractions évaluées à 5 000 $ chacune, soit 60 000 $ au total. Sky King a contesté tant le bien-fondé que le montant de la sanction.

M. J.-F. Mathieu, chef, Application de la loi en aviation, Transports Canada, avait signé l'Avis. Pour le montant de la peine, il s'est servi des barèmes mentionnés au chapitre 11 du Manuel de politique de l'Application de la loi (le Manuel) qui porte sur les sanctions. En ce qui a trait à cette infraction, la sanction recommandée pour la première infraction d'une société commerciale contrevenante était de 5 000 $. Il a jugé qu'aucun facteur atténuant ou aggravant ne pouvait entraîner une variation du montant.

Il y a eu douze chefs d'accusation étant donné que les carnets de route indiquaient douze vols qui ont été effectués entre le 3 octobre et le 27 novembre. Même si l'article 9.7.3 du Manuel permet que les vols susceptibles de donner lieu à des escales soient traités comme un vol, il était d'avis que ces vols ne répondaient pas à la définition.

Le procureur de Sky King a formulé des arguments à plusieurs égards. Dans l'ensemble, il prétend qu'étant donné que Sky King a exercé ses opérations au Canada depuis plusieurs années sans que les autorités n'interviennent, Transports Canada ne peut décider maintenant de mettre en application les règlements sans donner un avis de ses intentions à cet effet. Étant donné que deux entités gouvernementales ont accusé son client essentiellement pour la même infraction concernant les mêmes faits, il y avait une multiplicité de chefs d'accusation qu'on ne pouvait qualifier d'administration de la justice équitable.

Il a affirmé qu'il ne devait y avoir qu'une seule infraction, soit l'absence de certificat d'exploitation et non pas une infraction pour chaque vol sans certificat. S'il devait y avoir plus d'une infraction, on devrait considérer les opérations comme des vols avec escales au sens de l'article 9.7.3 du Manuel, de sorte que plusieurs étapes et arrêts soient considérés comme un seul vol en trois opérations au lieu de douze vols séparés. Certains vols qui font l'objet d'allégations étaient des vols de convoyage ou de mise en place pour lesquels aucun client n'était facturé et qui ne devraient pas faire l'objet d'une infraction. En ce qui a trait au degré de sanction, M. Clark a soutenu que Transports Canada doit regarder tous les facteurs dans l'évaluation de la peine et qu'il ne l'avait pas fait puisque plusieurs facteurs atténuants auraient dû être examinés et ne l'ont pas été.

DISCUSSION

Je ne suis pas d'accord avec les arguments de Sky King selon lesquels Transports Canada devait donner une forme quelconque de préavis avant l'application de la loi. En décidant d'entrer dans une zone réglementée, Sky King doit être incitée à accepter les modalités d'entrée dans la zone[2], y compris les règlements qui sont en vigueur à cet endroit. Il est particulièrement important, en pénétrant en juridiction étrangère, de s'enquérir des règles de conduite de ce territoire, de crainte qu'elles ne soient différentes de celles qui nous sont familières. De plus, il n'y a aucune preuve que Transports Canada n'appliquait pas les règlements, uniquement une preuve que cette compagnie en particulier avait échappé à la vigilance de Transports Canada pendant un certain temps.

Le procureur avait soutenu qu'il y avait multiplicité d'accusations. Je comprends de cela que de multiples accusations découlent des mêmes faits et non que les accusations sont multiples. Essentiellement, selon la règle qui s'oppose à la multiplicité, l'information relative à un chef d'accusation ne peut donner lieu qu'à une seule infraction[3].

Dans la cause en l'espèce, chaque chef vise une seule infraction, soit exercer des opérations sans certificat d'exploitation aérienne. On ne peut dire qu'ils soient multiples. Dans ces circonstances, l'exploitation sans certificat enfreignait deux lois différentes administrées par deux ministères distincts. On ne m'a présenté aucune loi ou autorité pour établir qu'une poursuite en vertu de chacune des accusations soit d'une quelconque façon inappropriée.

L'autre question en litige est de savoir si un voyage se compose d'un ou de deux segments de vol ou d'autant de vols qu'il y a de segments. Le procureur avait plaidé que les opérations de la compagnie devaient uniquement faire l'objet d'une seule infraction. Comme solution de rechange, on peut aussi considérer que les vols ont des escales, ce qui aurait pour effet d'assimiler leurs multiples segments à un seul vol. On n'a présenté aucune preuve de ce qui peut être considéré comme une escale, au sens de l'article 9.7.3 du Manuel, si ce n'est que la déclaration de M. Mathieu selon laquelle il les considérait comme séparées, distinctes et sans escales. J'ai uniquement des arguments de l'intimée à l'effet contraire. Je remarque effectivement que la Loi se prononce sur les infractions continues à l'article 7.31 où il est prévu :

7.31 Il est compté une infraction distincte à la présente partie pour chaque vol ou partie de vol au cours duquel se commet ou se continue l'infraction.

L'article confère le pouvoir de proposer que chaque segment de vol soit l'objet d'une infraction.

Je ne suis pas d'accord avec le fait que les vols de convoyage ou de mise en place ne peuvent faire l'objet d'une infraction parce que le client n'est pas facturé pour ce segment. Je ne crois pas qu'une entité entre et sorte de sa désignation comme service de transport aérien en fonction du caractère rémunérateur ou non d'un segment de vol. Aucune autorité n'a été présenté concernant cette proposition.

En ce qui a trait aux facteurs atténuants, je considère que le procureur de Sky King marque un point. Le Manuel, à l'article 9.7.3, se prononce sur le choix des facteurs qui influent sur la sanction, selon Transports Canada. En examinant la sanction, le Tribunal a souvent fait référence à la décision de Wyer[4] qui se prononce sur les sanctions de façon plus globale. Elle détaille certains des principes pour décider d'une amende appropriée comme la dénonciation, la dissuasion, la réhabilitation et les recommandations de l'application de la loi. Elle propose des facteurs aggravants et atténuants qui peuvent être considérés pour déterminer une amende.

Je considère que certains des facteurs atténuants énoncés dans cette décision auraient pu avoir été pris en considération. Il n'y avait aucune infraction antérieure de la même nature. Le président de Sky King a exprimé du remords d'avoir enfreint le règlement et il a coopéré avec Transports Canada lorsqu'il a été avisé de l'infraction. Même si lors de l'audience, le conseiller n'a pas reconnu qu'un certificat était nécessaire, M. Lukenbill a essentiellement admis l'infraction lorsqu'il a déclaré qu'il avait fait une erreur involontaire.

En ce qui a trait aux principes généraux, il faut un certain degré de dénonciation ou de réhabilitation pour dissuader le public d'actes illicites. Étant donné que Sky King a respecté le règlement le plus vite possible et qu'elle a exprimé son désir de collaborer, aucune dissuasion particulière ou réhabilitation n'est nécessaire mais une dissuasion générale est par ailleurs nécessaire pour les gens qui exercent le même type d'aviation.

Le procureur de Transports Canada a prétendu que la peine représentait déjà le minimum recommandé. Sky King a affirmé qu'il y avait des facteurs atténuants mais il n'a pas proposé dans quelle mesure la peine devait être diminuée pour refléter ces circonstances. Je dois en mesurer seul les implications, à défaut de plus d'orientation.

DÉCISION

Le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que Sky King a contrevenu au paragraphe 700.02(1) du RAC, à douze occasions, et de la façon stipulée à l'Annexe A de l'Avis d'amende pour contravention en date du 2001/06/29.

Je considère que les facteurs atténuants commentés plus haut devaient être examinés pour en venir à une amende appropriée. En conséquence, je diminue le montant de l'amende de 1 000 $ par chef d'accusation. Pour ces motifs, l'amende totale devient 4 000 $ par chef d'accusation, soit 48 000 $ au total.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1]Loi d'interprétation, L.R., c. I-23, paragraphe 35(1).

[2]R. c. Wholesale Travel Group Inc., [1991] 3 R.C.S. 154.

[3]R. c. Sault Ste. Marie, [1978] 2 R.C.S. 1299.

[4]Ministre des Transports c. Wyer, TAC no O-0075-33, appel.