Decisions

CAT File No. O-1013-33
MoT File No. PAP6504-P-368029-024096

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

William Robert MacKenzie, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, s. 534(2)b)
Airspace Structure, Classification and Use Regulations, DORS/93-458, s.7(1)

Low Altitude Flight, Flight In Class F Airspace, Elsewhere Than Over A Built-Up Area


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: January 23, 1996

The Tribunal upholds the decision of the Minister as described in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty. The Civil Aviation Tribunal must receive payment of the $1100.00 penalty, made out to the order of the Receiver General for Canada, within 15 days following service of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, January 23, 1996 at 10:00 hours at the Barrie Court House, in the city of Barrie, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On March 28, 1994, Mr. William Robert MacKenzie was the Captain of a Piper Cherokee PA28-140 aircraft registered C-GNWO. The Minister of Transport alleges that Mr. MacKenzie indulged in low flying while infringing the boundaries of airspace CYR 502 which he did not have permission to enter.

Paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations states that:

. . . unless he is taking off, landing or attempting to land, no person shall fly an aircraft

(. . .)

(b) elsewhere than over the built-up area of any city, town or other settlement or over any open air assembly of persons at an altitude less than 500 feet above the highest obstacle within a radius of 500 feet from the aircraft.

Subsection 7(1) of the Airspace Structure, Classification and Use Regulations requires that, with respect to CYR 502 at Camp Borden, Ontario, the approval of the Base Operations Officer CFB Borden must be sought and obtained before an aircraft enters its boundaries.

Evidence was adduced by six independent witnesses for the Minister of Transport that aircraft C-GNWO breached both of the above regulations on two occasions, March 28 and 30, 1994.

THE APPLICANT'S EVIDENCE

In a pre-hearing agreement, the Minister of Transport, represented by Mr. K. Trethewey, Regional Director of Regulatory Compliance, Transport Canada, sought and obtained the agreement of Mr. MacKenzie that he was the pilot-in-command of Piper C-GNWO on March 28 and 30, 1994, and that he had not requested nor received authorization to enter CYR 502 as it was not significant to the planned flight route of the aircraft.

At the request of Mr. Trethewey, and in fairness to the Respondent, all witnesses were excluded until they testified. The witnesses were as follows:

  • Mr. Jim Corbett, Inspector, T.C. was assigned to the investigation of the incident. He was not an eyewitness to the events but adduced evidence and presented exhibits which were used in the evidence.
  • Sgt. Lerette, Canadian Forces – Airborne Electronics Sensor Operator. He was present and witnessed the incident on March 28, 1994.
  • Sgt. Shirley Lawless, Canadian Forces – Chief Clerk Admin. She was present and witnessed the incident on March 28, 1994.
  • Cpl. Jeff MacDonald – CFB Kingston. He was present and witnessed the incident on March 28, 1994. He further wrote a report on the incident – Exhibit M-5.
  • Constable Kevin Rounds, OPP. He was present, witnessed the incident and wrote a report – Exhibit M-6.
  • H.A. Larente, Canadian Forces – Support Officer, CFB North Bay. He was present, witnessed the incidents on both days, March 28 and 30, and wrote a report – Exhibit M-7.

While there were a few anomalies of a minor nature in the evidence of the eye witnesses they were all unanimous as to the following salient points:

  1. The aircraft was very low, varying between treetop height and 500 feet above ground level.
  2. The aircraft was being flown in a dangerous manner such as they all felt nervous and/or threatened by it.
  3. The aircraft repeatedly "buzzed" them.
  4. The noise of the aircraft was such as to disrupt the conduct of the course in which they were all involved.
  5. The aircraft flew right overhead of them on repeated occasions during the exercise.

The anomalies in the eyewitnesses' evidence can generally be ascribed as due to the witnesses' unfamiliarity with aircraft and their configuration and to the identification and the length of time which has elapsed since the incident (21 months), for example: whether it was a high wing or a low wing aircraft, its colour – although they all generally agreed that it was white – the length of time the aircraft was overhead of them, and whether there were two people or only one person in the aircraft.

I do not consider these minor anomalies significant to disqualify the evidence of any of the witnesses.

THE RESPONDENT'S EVIDENCE

The Respondent, Mr. W.R. MacKenzie, gave a written statement to Transport Canada which was tendered as Exhibit M-4 by the Minister. He acknowledges being in command of the aircraft with a student on board, but denies that he flew the aircraft in the manner described by the witnesses above, or that he even saw people or buildings on the ground. Mr. MacKenzie was training a commercial pilot candidate, Mr. Larry LeBlanc, who would later testify on his behalf.

Mr. MacKenzie then introduced his first witness, his wife, Cpl. Christine MacKenzie Canadian Forces. Mrs. MacKenzie was on the ground with the above mentioned witnesses on the day of the incident. She was in the same group as Constable Rounds, Cpl. MacDonald and others. She claims that her husband, Mr. W.R. MacKenzie, did not and could not have known that she was there! Mrs. MacKenzie did not agree with her colleagues as to where they were on the ground. She pointed to a spot on the CFB BORDEN Chart outside the CYR 502 Danger Area.

She denied that there was anything unusual or unsafe about the operation of the aircraft on that day, and she said that the aircraft was never below 500 feet. She did however agree that the aircraft was very noisy such as to disrupt conversation. She confirmed that they were all dressed in camouflage green and that it would have been difficult for a pilot to see them on the ground. She could not see the registration marks on the aircraft as it was higher than 400 feet. The aircraft did two circuits in their vicinity before flying off in the direction of the Camp Borden airfield. She said the aircraft was never at treetop height, and it caused her no concern.

Mr. Larry Le Blanc, Trainee/Commercial Pilot Candidate. He testified that they had neither flown below 500 feet nor had they infringed the danger area. He identified a point on the chart as the area in which they circled, outside the danger area. Mr. Le Blanc said that, at the time of the incident, he was doing diversion calculations while flying the aircraft in a circling or holding manoeuvre at 500 feet above the ground.

He stated that there was a strong wind blowing and that it was rough. He denied that any unusual manoeuvres were carried out within the danger area. Indeed he showed that the area in which they were circling was outside that area. Mr. LeBlanc said that he saw no people nor buildings in the area. When asked by Mr. Trethewey how he judged his height above the ground, he said that he used the altimeter – he said it was reading about 800 feet.

I pointed out that the field elevation of Borden is 730 feet, and that for him to have been 500 feet above the ground he would have had to be at least 1230 feet according to his altimeter. Mr. Le Blanc seemed somewhat unsure of himself, especially when questioned about his altitude.

CONCLUSION AND DETERMINATION

In the face of the consistent, independent and corroborative evidence given by witnesses for the Minister of Transport, I find that the case against Mr. MacKenzie has been overwhelmingly proved.

Military personnel have a tendency to protect their own. The fact that they have chosen not to, on this occasion, means that they really felt threatened and endangered to the point that they could not support Mr. MacKenzie by remaining silent.

I cannot accept the statement given by Mr. MacKenzie, nor the supporting evidence given by his wife and his student. His bad example to a young and inexperienced pilot, Mr. Le Blanc, is to be deprecated in the strongest terms.

I have no doubt that Mr. MacKenzie flew C-GNWO in a reckless and wanton manner on March 28 and 30, 1994, and the penalty levied by Transport Canada, although far less than the maximum allowable, should be allowed to stay. I trust that this will deter him from endangering his own and others' lives in the future. While the incursion into CYR 502 may have been unintentional, the fact that it was done in such a reckless manner on two occasions following each other makes it inexcusable.

Mr. Trethewey was very fair to Mr. MacKenzie in only disclosing that he has been fined before for a similar offence after I delivered my decision at the hearing (see Exhibit M-8). He was fined $100 for a similar incident in Saskatchewan February 19, 1993.

The Minister's allegation is upheld, and Mr. MacKenzie must pay the assessed penalty as provided for in the Act.

Philip Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1013-33 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP6504-P-368029-024096 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

William Robert MacKenzie, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, al. 534(2)b)
Règlement sur la structure, la classification et l'utilisation de l'espace aérien, DORS/93-458, par. 7(1)

Ailleurs qu'au-dessus d'une agglomération, Vol à basse altitude, Vol dans un espace aérien de classe F


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 23 janvier 1996

TRADUCTION

Le Tribunal maintient la décision du ministre telle qu'exprimée dans l'avis d'amende pour contravention. Le paiement de l'amende de 1 100 $, fait à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada, doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les 15 jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique s'est tenue le mardi 23 janvier 1996 à 10 h, au palais de justice de Barrie, à Barrie (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 28 mars 1994, M. William Robert MacKenzie était capitaine d'un aéronef Piper Cherokee PA28-140 immatriculé C-GNWO. Le ministre des Transports allègue que M. MacKenzie a pénétré l'espace aérien CYR 502 sans permission et à basse altitude.

L'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air stipule ce qui suit :

. . . à moins de décoller, d'atterrir ou de tenter d'atterrir, il est interdit à quiconque pilote un aéronef

(...)

b) ailleurs qu'au dessus des agglomérations urbaines, villageoises ou autres ou des rassemblements de personnes en plein air, de voler à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé dans un rayon de 500 pieds de l'aéronef.

En ce qui concerne CYR 502, le paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement sur la structure, la classification et l'utilisation de l'espace aérien exige que l'on demande et obtienne l'approbation de l'officier en charge des opérations de la base avant d'en pénétrer l'espace aérien.

Six témoins indépendants pour le ministre des Transports ont attesté que l'aéronef C-GNWO avait enfreint les deux règlements cités plus haut à deux reprises, le 28 et le 30 mars 1994.

LES PREUVES APPORTÉES PAR LE REQUÉRANT

Lors d'une conférence préparatoire à l'audience, le ministre des Transports, représenté par M. K. Trethewey, Directeur régional de l'Application des règlements, Transports Canada, a demandé et obtenu que M. MacKenzie reconnaisse qu'il était aux commandes du Piper C-GNWO les 28 et 30 mars 1994, et qu'il n'avait ni demandé ni reçu l'autorisation de pénétrer l'espace aérien CYR 502 vu que ça n'était pas prévu au plan de vol de l'aéronef.

À la demande de M. Trethewey, et par souci de justice envers l'intimé, tous les témoins ont été exclus de l'audience jusqu'au moment de leur témoignage. Les témoins étaient les suivants :

  • M. Jim Corbett, inspecteur, T.C. a enquêté sur l'incident. Il n'en a pas été témoin, mais il a apporté des preuves et présenté des pièces à conviction qui ont été utilisées comme preuves.
  • Sgt. Lerette, Forces canadiennes – opérateur de détecteurs électroniques aéroportés. Il était présent et a été témoin de l'incident le 28 mars 1994.
  • Sgt. Shirley Lawless, Forces canadiennes – Commis-chef Admin. Elle était présente et a été témoin de l'incident le 28 mars 1994.
  • Cpl. Jeff MacDonald – BFC Kingston. Il était présent et a été témoin de l'incident le 28 mars 1994. Il a ensuite rédigé un rapport sur l'incident – pièce M-5.
  • Agent de police Kevin Rounds, PPO. Il était présent, a été témoin de l'incident et a rédigé un rapport – pièce M-6.
  • H. A. Larente, Forces canadiennes – agent de soutien, BFC North Bay. Il était présent, a été témoin des deux incidents, les 28 et 30 mars, et a rédigé un rapport – pièce M-7.

Il existe quelques anomalies mineures au témoignage apporté par les témoins oculaires, mais ils étaient tous d'accord sur les points suivants :

1. L'aéronef volait à très basse altitude, entre la hauteur de la cime des arbres et 500 pieds au-dessus du sol.

2. L'aéronef évoluait de façon dangereuse de sorte que les témoins se sont sentis nerveux et en danger.

3. L'aéronef les a « rasés » à plusieurs reprises.

4. L'aéronef était si bruyant qu'il a interrompu la bonne marche du cours auquel ils participaient tous.

5. L'aéronef est passé juste au dessus d'eux à plusieurs reprises durant l'exercice.

On peut généralement imputer les anomalies inhérentes à ces témoignages au fait que les témoins ne connaissent pas très bien les aéronefs et leur configuration et que beaucoup de temps a passé depuis l'incident (21 mois). Il s'agissait par exemple de déterminer si c'était un aéronef à ailes basses ou à ailes hautes, de quelle couleur il était (l'avis général est qu'il était blanc), combien de temps l'aéronef est resté au-dessus d'eux, et s'il y avait une ou deux personnes à bord.

Je considère que ces anomalies ne sont pas suffisantes pour mettre en doute les déclarations des témoins.

LES PREUVES APPORTÉES PAR L'INTIMÉ

L'intimé, M. W.R. MacKenzie, a remis sa déposition à Transports Canada que le ministre a soumise comme pièce M-4. Il reconnaît qu'il était aux commandes de l'aéronef et qu'il avait un élève à bord, mais nie avoir piloté l'aéronef de la manière rapportée par les témoins cités plus haut. Il nie également avoir vu des personnes ou des édifices au sol. M. MacKenzie assurait la formation d'un candidat pilote professionnel qui témoignerait ensuite en sa faveur.

M. MacKenzie a ensuite fait entrer son premier témoin, son épouse, le caporal Christine MacKenzie, Forces canadiennes. Mme MacKenzie était au sol avec les témoins cités plus haut le jour de l'incident. Elle faisait partie du groupe comprenant en particulier l'agent de police Rounds et le caporal MacDonald. Elle a déclaré que son époux, M. MacKenzie, ne savait pas et n'avait aucun moyen de savoir qu'elle se trouvait là! Mme MacKenzie n'était pas d'accord avec ses collègues en ce qui concerne leur emplacement exact ce jour-là. Elle a indiqué un point sur la carte de la BFC BORDEN situé à l'extérieur de la zone de danger CYR 502.

Elle a nié que l'aéronef évoluait de façon inhabituelle ou dangereuse ce jour-là et déclaré que l'aéronef n'est jamais descendu au-dessous de 500 pieds. Elle a cependant reconnu que l'aéronef était très bruyant au point d'interrompre la conversation. Elle a confirmé qu'ils étaient tous en tenue de camouflage et qu'il aurait été difficile pour un pilote de les repérer au sol. Elle ne pouvait pas voir les marques d'immatriculation sur l'aéronef car il volait au-dessus de 400 pieds. L'aéronef a effectué deux circuits à proximité d'eux avant de s'envoler vers le terrain d'aviation de Camp Borden. Elle a déclaré que l'aéronef n'était à aucun moment descendu au niveau de la cime des arbres, et qu'elle n'avait pas été inquiétée par sa présence.

M. Larry LeBlanc, candidat pilote professionnel. Il a témoigné qu'ils n'étaient pas descendus au-dessous de 500 pieds et qu'ils n'avaient pas pénétré dans la zone de danger. Il a identifié un point sur la carte à l'extérieur de la zone de danger comme l'endroit où l'aéronef a effectué des cercles. Il a déclaré qu'au moment de l'incident il faisait des calculs de diversion tout en effectuant des cercles et en maintenant l'aéronef à 500 pieds au-dessus du sol.

Il a déclaré qu'un vent fort soufflait et que les conditions étaient difficiles. Il a nié que l'aéronef ait effectué des manœuvres inhabituelles à l'intérieur de la zone de danger. Il a en effet montré que la zone où ils ont effectué les cercles se trouvait en dehors de la zone de danger. Il a affirmé qu'il n'avait vu ni personnes ni édifices à proximité. Lorsque M. Trethewey lui a demandé comment il avait calculé son altitude au-dessus du sol, il a répondu qu'il avait utilisé son altimètre qui indiquait environ 800 pieds.

J'ai remarqué que Borden est à 730 pieds et que si l'aéronef avait été à 500 pieds au-dessus du sol son altimètre aurait indiqué au moins 1 230 pieds. M. Le Blanc a paru incertain, en particulier en ce qui concerne son altitude.

CONCLUSION ET DÉCISION

Étant donné que les témoins du ministre des Transports ont fait des déclarations indépendantes qui se tiennent et qui se corroborent, je statue que les accusations portées contre M. MacKenzie ont été prouvées sans l'ombre d'un doute.

Les membres des forces armées ont tendance à se protéger mutuellement. Le fait qu'ils ont, dans ce cas, choisi de ne pas le faire signifie que le danger que représentait M. MacKenzie était tel qu'ils ne pouvaient pas lui donner leur soutien en se taisant.

Je ne peux pas accepter la déclaration faite par M. MacKenzie, ni celles offertes en sa faveur par son épouse et son élève. Il a donné un mauvais exemple à un jeune pilote inexpérimenté, M. Le Blanc, ce contre quoi il faut s'élever le plus sévèrement possible.

Je n'ai aucun doute que M. MacKenzie a piloté le C-GNWO de façon imprudente et malveillante les 28 et 30 mars 1994, et que l'amende imposée par Transports Canada, bien que très inférieure au maximum prévu, doit être confirmée. J'espère que cela le dissuadera de mettre sa vie et celle d'autres personnes en danger à l'avenir. L'aéronef a peut-être pénétré dans la zone CYR 502 accidentellement mais il l'a fait de façon imprudente et à deux reprises consécutives, ce qui rend l'incident inexcusable.

M. Trethewey s'est comporté de façon très équitable envers M. MacKenzie en révélant seulement après que j'ai rendu ma décision à l'audience que M. MacKenzie avait déjà reçu une amende pour une infraction similaire (pièce M-8). M. MacKenzie a reçu une amende de 100 $ pour un incident similaire en Saskatchewan le 19 février 1993.

Les faits reprochés par le ministre sont confirmés et M. MacKenzie doit acquitter l'amende imposée comme le stipule la Loi.

Philip Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile