Decisions

CAT File No. O-1233-37
MoT File No. 6504-P-730770-27223

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Stephane Leblanc, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2, s 7.7, 8.4(1)
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c.2, s. 534(2)(b)

Low Altitude Flight, Civil Liability Of The Owner Of The Aircraft


Review Determination
Suzanne Jobin


Decision: December 10, 1996

TRANSLATION

The Tribunal must confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport to the effect that the Respondent contravened paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations. The $1,000 monetary penalty provided for this contravention, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this Determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, November 27, 1996 at 10:00 hours, in the offices of the International Trade Tribunal, in the city of Ottawa, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On January 22, 1996, Transport Canada sent the Respondent a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty, in which the Minister of Transport alleged that Stephane Leblanc had contravened paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations.

According to the Notice, the contravention occurred on or about September 5, 1995, at about 17:30 UTC, when an aircraft registered as C-GBPR flew over dwellings at an altitude less than 500 feet above the highest obstacle within a radius of 500 feet from the aircraft. This contravention allegedly occurred near Casselman, Ontario.

A monetary penalty of $1,000 was subsequently assessed against the Respondent as the registered owner of the aircraft. On the deadline for the stated payment, Transport Canada reported that payment had not been received. The Minister of Transport therefore brought the matter before the Civil Aviation Tribunal, pursuant to subsection 7.8(2) of the Aeronautics Act.

THE LAW

Section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act provides as follows:

7. 7 (1) Where the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister shall notify the person of the allegations against the person in such form as the Governor in Council may by regulation prescribe, specifying in the notice, in addition to any other information that may be so prescribed,

(a) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with such guidelines as the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister by the person as the penalty for the contravention in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal to make representations in respect of the allegations; and

(b) the time, being not less than thirty days after the date the notice is served or sent, at or before which and the place at which the amount is required to be paid in the event referred to in paragraph (a).

(2) A notice under subsection (1) shall be served personally or by ordinary mail sent to the latest known address of the person to whom the notice relates.

Subsection 8.4(1) of the same Act stipulates:

8. 4 (1) The registered owner of an aircraft may be proceeded against in respect of and found to have committed an offence under this Part in relation to the aircraft for which another person is subject to be proceeded against unless, at the time of the offence, the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than the owner without the owner's consent and, where found to have committed the offence, the owner is liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor.

Paragraph 534(2) of the Air Regulations provides, in part:

(2) Except as provided in subsections (4), (5) and (6), or except in accordance with an authorization issued by the Minister, unless he is taking off, landing or attempting to land, no person shall fly an aircraft

(a) over the built-up area of any city, town or other settlement or over any open air assembly of persons except at an altitude that will permit, in the event of an emergency, the landing of the aircraft without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface of the earth, and such altitude shall not in any case be less than 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle within a radius of 2,000 feet from the aircraft; or

(b) elsewhere than over the built-up area of any city, town or other settlement or over any open air assembly of persons at an altitude less than 500 feet above the highest obstacle within a radius of 500 feet from the aircraft.

THE FACTS

Margaret Wilson lives near Casselman, Ontario. She owns a ranch of some 130 acres in the area. On September 5, 1995 at about 13:30 hours local time, Ms. Wilson saw an aircraft, with registration C-GBPR, flying over her property at an altitude less than 200 feet. She reported the incident to the appropriate authorities.

Ms. Elliott, an inspector responsible for regulatory compliance at Transport Canada, was put in charge of the investigation. She contacted one of the two registered owners of the aircraft to determine who had been the pilot-in-command of the aircraft on September 5, 1995.

Ms. Elliott was unable to determine from her investigation the identity of the pilot-in-command. She therefore recommended that the Minister proceed against one of the two owners of the aircraft, namely Mr. Leblanc, as she had been unable to reach the other owner, Mr. Yves Lefebvre.

These facts are not disputed.

DISCUSSION

Transport Canada maintains that Mr. Leblanc, as owner of the aircraft registered as C-GBPR, is responsible for the alleged offence. In the circumstances, the representative of the Minister of Transport maintains that the Respondent's arguments invoking the defence provided in subsection 8.4(1) of the Act cannot be allowed.

The Applicant claims the Respondent had to prove that he exercised all due diligence to ensure that the aircraft he owns was safe at all times. He also had to prove that the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than the owner or owners without their consent.

On this point, the Minister's representative argues that the Respondent should have notified the police or, at the very least, reported the incident to the competent authorities. As Mr. Leblanc did nothing, he cannot invoke the defence provided in the Aeronautics Act.

In this context, Transport Canada is asking the Tribunal to uphold the Minister's decision and to confirm the assessed monetary penalty.

The Respondent claims that he did not authorize the unidentified pilot to use, on September 5, 1995, the aircraft of which he is a co-owner. He argues that, while he knows the name of the other registered co-owner of the aircraft, he has never met Mr. Lefebvre and does not know where he lives.

He explained that he did not know precisely where the aircraft was on the date of the alleged offence. He is therefore asking the Tribunal to allow him to invoke the defence provided in subsection 8.4(1) of the Act. Should it not so allow, he is asking the Tribunal to reduce the assessed monetary penalty.

DETERMINATION

Messrs. Stephane Leblanc and Yves Lefebvre are both owners of the aircraft registered as C-GBPR. As co-owners, they are jointly and severally responsible for the aircraft. The fact that the two registered owners do not know each other and have never met in no way alters their respective responsibility.

Mr. Leblanc cannot free himself of his responsibility by claiming that the aircraft was not in his possession or under his control on September 5, 1995. His assumption that the aircraft may have been under the control of the other owner is not relevant. The Respondent was responsible for the aircraft at all times.

His claim that he did not give his consent is insufficient and does not satisfy the requirements of subsection 8.4(1) of the Act.

To invoke such a defence, the Respondent had to prove that all due diligence was exercised to prevent the use of the aircraft by unauthorized individuals.

The Respondent also had to prove that the aircraft had been used without the consent of either of its registered owners.

In the case before us here, the Respondent presented no evidence to show that such diligence had been exercised. He did not prove that the aircraft had been spirited away or that Mr. Lefebvre had not consented to its use on September 5, 1995. According to the evidence presented, this unauthorized use was never reported.

Furthermore, the Respondent cannot invoke the defence of due diligence provided in section 8.5 of the Act, as he did not prove he exercised all due diligence to comply with the Act and its provisions.

The Aeronautics Act, specifically subsection 8.4(1), is clear and specifically recognizes the responsibility of the owner or owners for the wrongful acts of a third party.

The evidence presented by Transport Canada, specifically the testimony of the two witnesses, has satisfied the Tribunal that the contravention and the assessment of the monetary penalty are valid. It is the opinion of the Tribunal that the amount sought is reasonable given the seriousness of the offence.

The Minister of Transport could, at his pleasure, proceed against either owner of the aircraft or both jointly and severally. He could also proceed against the pilot-in-command of the aircraft on September 5, 1995. He chose to proceed against only one of the owners, and the Respondent cannot dispute the legality of this decision. This choice is the Minister's prerogative.

The Tribunal, after reviewing the evidence presented, determines that the Applicant has met its burden of proof. The Respondent has not proven that in the circumstances the defences provided in the Act were applicable.

The Tribunal must therefore confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport to the effect that the Respondent contravened paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations.

Suzanne Jobin
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


Appeal decision
Caroline Desbiens, Faye H. Smith, Pierre Rivest


Decision: May 2, 1997

TRANSLATION

the Appeal is dismissed. The determination in first instance and the $1,000.00 monetary penalty are upheld. The said penalty is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of the service of this determination.

The Appeal Hearing on the above matter was held Friday, April 11, 1997, at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, in Montreal, Quebec.

BACKGROUND

The Appellant, Stéphane Leblanc, pursuant to subsection 8.1(1) of the Aeronautics Act, appealed a determination rendered December 10, 1996, by Member Suzanne Jobin, following an application for review made by the Minister of Transport. The Appellant had been assessed a monetary penalty of $1,000.00 pursuant to section 7.7 of the same Act for contravening paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations and, in particular, subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act as the owner of an aircraft.

THE FACTS

On September 5, 1995, at about 13:30 hours (local time), a Cessna 172 aircraft, registered as C-GBPR, was seen flying over a property (silos and stable) at an altitude less than 200 feet, within a radius of 500 feet horizontally, in contravention of paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations. This offence was clearly proven and undisputed.

The investigation conducted by Transport Canada, however, did not establish the identity of the pilot-in-command at the time of the offence. Transport Canada therefore decided to apply subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act and to proceed against the owner of the aircraft.

GROUNDS FOR APPEAL

The Appellant, in his Notice of Appeal of December 23, 1996, argued the following points:

  1. The Tribunal did not consider subsection 8.4(1) which states that no offence has been committed if the aircraft has been used without the owner's consent;
  2. The Minister of Transport, at the Review Hearing, did not prove that the owners, Stéphane Leblanc and Yves Lefèvre, consented to the use of their aircraft as they themselves were not even aware of the flight of September 5, 1995;
  3. The Tribunal Member, Suzanne Jobin, in siding with Transport Canada, by preventing the Appellant or his representative from expressing themselves freely and fully or by wanting to intimidate them with her authority, failed to show impartiality during the hearing.

APPELLANT'S ARGUMENT

At the Appeal Hearing, Mr. Donald Doyle, representing the Appellant, argued primarily the following points:

  • He stressed the fact that Stéphane Leblanc had never authorized anyone to make the September 5 flight; moreover, he did not know who might have flown his aircraft or where his aircraft was on that day, nor did Transport Canada.
  • The Minister therefore had the burden of proving that the owner or owners of the aircraft had given their consent, and without this consent there was no offence. The Minister had therefore failed to discharge the burden of proof.
  • Furthermore, the aircraft was owned jointly, and Transport Canada, during its investigation, could not obtain a statement from Yves Lefèvre, the second owner.
  • Transport Canada had never managed to obtain the aircraft log book, and therefore could not determine who had flown it.

RESPONDENT'S ARGUMENT

The Respondent's representative, Beverlie Caminsky, argued as follows:

  • This is a case of strict liability.
  • In an administrative tribunal, contrary to a criminal court, once the Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that an offence has been committed, the burden of proof shifts to the offender to prove, on the same probabilities, that no offence has occurred, and this is what Mr. Leblanc (or his representative) should have done when he cited subsection 8.4(1) in his defence.
  • The Appellant should therefore have invoked section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act and shown that he took every reasonable precaution to ensure that no third party used his aircraft without his consent.
  • On the day of the offence, Stéphane Leblanc did not know where his aircraft was; nor did he know the other owner, and could say nothing about him. Finally, he was not even able to obtain the aircraft log book, although he suspected it was in Donald Doyle's possession.
  • As for proceeding against only one of the two owners, Transport Canada had a prerogative to do so.
  • At the Review Hearing, the Member therefore did not err in law or make unreasonable or erroneous findings.
  • Finally, even though at the hearing the Appellant's representative did not raise the criticisms made in these grounds for appeal, namely the lack of impartiality on the part of the Member, Ms. Caminsky pointed out that at the Review Hearing, Suzanne Jobin applied the principles of natural justice and equity.

CONCLUSION

Based on the evidence presented at the review, which was not disputed, there is no doubt that paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations was contravened, but the investigation was unable to determine by whom.

In such a situation, subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act may be cited, and Transport Canada did just that.

At the time of the offence, aircraft C-GBPR was the property of two owners, one of whom, Yves Lefèvre, could not be reached by the investigators. Transport Canada, having the option of proceeding against only one of the owners, made the right decision in proceeding against Stéphane Leblanc alone.

In his submission, the Appellant's representative, Mr. Donald Doyle, argued that the Respondent had the burden of proving that Mr. Leblanc had not exercised all due diligence to ensure that his aircraft was not used without his authorization. The law is quite contrary to this allegation.

Pursuant to section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act, it is Mr. Leblanc who has the burden of proving, in his defence, on a balance of probabilities, that he had indeed exercised all due diligence and taken every precaution one might expect a reasonable aircraft owner to take in such circumstances. To say simply that he did not give his consent and that it is not known who flew the aircraft is not an adequate defence, and it was not up to the Respondent to prove this fact. In the case before us, at the time of the offence, Mr. Leblanc did not even know the aircraft's co-owner, did not know where his aircraft was and, subsequently, was not even able to produce the log book for Transport Canada at its request. All this shows a certain carelessness and a lack of due diligence.

In the grounds for appeal, the Appellant's representative alludes to the safety aspect of the aircraft ("safe" and "unsafe" are the words used). This is an interpretation of a bad translation from French to English where, in the French text, the Member said "que l'aéronef ... était en sécurité en tout temps," which was translated as "... that the aircraft he owns was safe at all times" (it should have been "was secure"; the second paragraph of the Discussion section on page 3 of the determination; our underlining). The question of the aircraft's airworthiness therefore is not relevant in this case.

As for the Member's partiality, to which the Appellant refers in his grounds for appeal, the Members of the Tribunal reject that allegation entirely, as no evidence has been brought to that effect.

DETERMINATION

In the circumstances, the Appeal is dismissed. The determination in first instance and the $1,000.00 monetary penalty are upheld.

Reasons for Appeal Determination:

Pierre Rivest, Member

Concurred:

Faye Smith, Chairperson
Caroline Desbiens, Member

Décisions

Dossier no O-1233-37 (TAC)
Dossier no 6504-P-730770-27223 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Stéphane Leblanc, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art 7.7 et 8.4(1)
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, art. 534(2)b)

Vol à basse altitude, Responsabilité civile du propriétaire de l'aéronef


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Suzanne Jobin


Décision : le 10 décembre 1996

Le Tribunal se doit de confirmer la décision du ministre des Transports selon laquelle l'intimé a contrevenu à l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air. L'amende prévue pour cette contravention soit 1 000,00 $ sera payable au Receveur général du Canada et devra être reçue par le Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 27 novembre 1996 à 10 h, dans les bureaux du Tribunal du commerce extérieur dans la ville d'Ottawa (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 22 janvier 1996, Transports Canada transmettait à l'intimé un Avis d'amende pour contravention. Dans cet Avis, le ministre des Transports alléguait que Stephane Leblanc avait contrevenu à l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air.

Selon les termes de l'Avis, la contravention se serait produite le ou vers le 5 septembre 1995, vers 17 h 30 UTC alors qu'un aéronef immatriculé C-GBPR survolait des habitations à une hauteur inférieure à 500 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé dans un rayon de 500 pieds de l'aéronef. Cette contravention se serait produite aux environs de Casselman en Ontario.

L'intimé, en tant que propriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef, s'est alors vu imposer une amende de 1 000,00 $. À la date d'échéance du paiement indiqué, Transports Canada signalait que le paiement n'avait pas été reçu. Le ministre des Transports a donc saisi le Tribunal de l'aviation civile de l'affaire conformément au paragraphe 7.8(2) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

LE DROIT

L'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit ce qui suit :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, l'informe des faits reprochés par un avis établi en la forme et comportant les renseignements que le gouverneur en conseil peut déterminer par règlement et y indique :

a) sous réserve des règlements d'application de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés;

b) la date limite, qui suit d'au moins trente jours celle de signification ou d'expédition de l'avis, et le lieu où le montant visé à l'alinéa a) doit être versé.

(2) L'avis est à signifier à personne ou par courrier ordinaire à la dernière adresse connue de l'intéressé.

Le paragraphe 8.4(1) de la même Loi stipule ce qui suit :

8.4 (1) Lorsqu'une personne peut être poursuivie en raison d'une infraction à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application relative à un aéronef, le propriétaire enregistré peut être poursuivi et encourir la peine prévue, à moins que, lors de l'infraction, l'aéronef n'ait été en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du propriétaire.

L'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air prévoit en partie ce qui suit :

(2) Sauf dans les cas prévus aux paragraphes (4), (5) ou (6) ou sauf en conformité avec une autorisation délivrée par le ministre, à moins de décoller, d'atterrir ou de tenter d'atterrir, il est interdit a quiconque pilote un aéronef a) au-dessus des agglomérations urbaines, villageoises ou autres ou des rassemblements de personnes en plein air, de voler autrement qu'à une altitude qui lui permettrait, en cas d'urgence, d'effectuer un atterrissage sans mettre en danger les personnes ou les biens se trouvant au sol, cette altitude ne pouvant en aucun cas être inférieure à 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé dans un rayon de 2 000 pieds de l'aéronef; ou b) ailleurs qu'au dessus des agglomérations urbaines, villageoises ou autres ou des rassemblements de personnes en plein air, de voler à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé dans un rayon de 500 pieds de l'aéronef.

LES FAITS

Mme Margaret Wilson réside aux alentours de Casselman (Ontario). Elle est propriétaire d'un ranch de quelques 130 acres dans cette localité. Le 5 septembre 1995 vers 13 h 30 heure locale Mme Wilson constata qu'un aéronef immatriculé C-GBPR survolait sa propriété à une altitude inférieure à 200 pieds au-dessus de sa propriété. Elle rapporta l'événement aux autorités compétentes.

Mme Elliott, inspecteur responsable de l'application des règlements à Transports Canada, a été chargée de l'enquête. Cette dernière a communiqué avec un des deux propriétaires enregistrés de l'aéronef afin d'identifier le pilote command de bord responsable de l'aéronef le 5 septembre 1995.

Les démarches entreprises n'ont pas permis à Mme Elliott de déterminer avec certitude l'identité de ce pilote. Elle a recommandé alors au ministre de poursuivre un des deux propriétaires de l'aéronef, soit M. Leblanc puisque qu'elle n'avait pas réussi à rejoindre l'autre copropriétaire M. Yves Lefebvre.

Ces faits ne sont pas contestés.

DISCUSSION

Transports Canada maintient que M. Leblanc, à titre de propriétaire de l'aéronef immatriculé C-GBPR, est responsable de l'infraction reprochée. Dans les circonstances le représentant du ministre des Transports maintient que les arguments mis de l'avant par l'intimé pour invoquer la défense prévue au paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi, ne peuvent être retenus.

Selon les prétentions du requérant, l'intimé devait prouver qu'il avait pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour s'assurer que l'aéronef, dont il est propriétaire, était en sécurité en tout temps. Il devait également prouver que l'aéronef n'était en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du ou des propriétaires.

À ce chapitre, le représentant du ministre argumente que l'intimé aurait dû aviser les policiers ou tout au moins rapporter l'incident aux autorités compétentes. Compte tenu du fait que M. Leblanc n'a rien fait, il ne peut revendiquer l'application de la défense prévue à la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

Dans ce contexte, Transports Canada demande au Tribunal de maintenir la décision du ministre et de confirmer la pénalité arrêtée.

L'intimé prétend qu'il n'avait pas autorisé le pilote non-identifié à utiliser, le 5 septembre 1995, l'aéronef dont il est copropriétaire. Il maintient que, bien qu'il connaisse le nom de l'autre copropriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef, il n'a jamais rencontré M. Lefebvre et il ne sait pas où il habite.

Selon ses explications, il ne savait pas précisément où était l'aéronef à la date de la présumée infraction. Il demande donc au Tribunal de le faire bénéficier de la défense prévue au paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi. À défaut, il demande au Tribunal de réduire l'amende imposée.

DÉCISION

MM. Stephane Leblanc et Yves Lefebvre sont tous deux propriétaires de l'aéronef immatriculé C-GBPR. À titre de copropriétaires ils sont conjointement et solidairement responsables de l'aéronef. Le fait que les deux propriétaires enregistrés ne se connaissent pas ou ne se soient jamais rencontrés ne change rien à leur responsabilité respective.

M. Leblanc ne peut se disculper de sa responsabilité en prétendant que l'aéronef n'était pas en sa possession ou sous son contrôle le 5 septembre 1995. Le fait qu'il présume que l'aéronef était possiblement sous le contrôle de l'autre propriétaire n'est pas pertinent. L'intimé était en tout moment responsable de l'aéronef.

Le fait d'alléguer qu'il n'a pas donné son consentement est insuffisant et ne rencontre pas les exigences du paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi.

Pour qu'une telle défense soit retenue, l'intimé devait prouver que toutes les mesures de sécurité nécessaires avaient été prises pour empêcher l'utilisation de l'aéronef par des individus non autorisés.

L'intimé devait également prouver que l'utilisation de l'aéronef avait été faite sans le consentement du ou des propriétaires enregistrés.

Dans le cas qui nous occupe, l'intimé n'a apporté aucune preuve pouvant laisser croire que ces mesures avaient été prises. Il n'a pas prouvé que l'aéronef avait été subtilisé ou que M. Lefebvre n'avait pas consenti à son utilisation le 5 septembre 1995. Selon la preuve présentée cette utilisation non autorisée n'a jamais été rapportée.

Par ailleurs, l'intimé ne peut invoquer la défense de diligence raisonnable prévue à l'article 8.5 de la Loi. À cet égard, il n'a pas prouvé qu'il avait pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour se conformer à la Loi ou à ses textes d'application.

La Loi sur l'aéronautique, plus particulièrement le paragraphe 8.4(1), est claire et la responsabilité du propriétaire ou des propriétaires pour les actes fautifs d'un tiers est précisément reconnue.

La preuve présentée par Transports Canada, et plus particulièrement les témoignages apportés par les deux témoins, a convaincu le Tribunal du bien-fondé de la contravention et de l'amende imposée. Le Tribunal est d'avis que le montant réclamé est raisonnable compte tenu de la gravité de l'infraction.

Le ministre des Transports pouvait, selon son bon vouloir, poursuivre l'un ou l'autre des propriétaires de l'aéronef ou les deux conjointement et solidairement. Il pouvait également poursuivre le pilote qui agissait à titre de command de bord de l'aéronef le 5 septembre 1995. Il a choisit de poursuivre qu'un seul des propriétaires et l'intimé ne peut contester la légalité de cette décision. Ce choix est la prérogative du ministre.

Le Tribunal, après avoir examiné la preuve présentée, en vient à la conclusion que le requérant a rencontré le fardeau de la preuve qui lui incombait. L'intimé n'a pas prouvé que dans les circonstances les moyens de défense prévus à la loi étaient applicables.

Conséquemment, le Tribunal se doit de confirmer la décision du ministre des Transports selon laquelle l'intimé a contrevenu à l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air.

Suzanne Jobin
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


Décision à la suite d'un appel
Caroline Desbiens, Faye H. Smith, Pierre Rivest


Décision : le 2 mai 1997

L'appel est rejeté et le jugement de première instance est maintenu ainsi que l'amende de 1 000,00 $ qui devra être payée au Receveur général du Canada dans les 15 jours suivant la réception de cette décision.

L'audience en appel relativement au dossier en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 11 avril 1997 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada, à Montréal (Québec).

HISTORIQUE

L'appelant, Stéphane Leblanc, en vertu du paragraphe 8.1(1) de la Loi sur 1'aéronautique, se pourvoit contre un jugement rendu le 10 décembre 1996 par la conseillère Me Suzanne Jobin, suite à la requête en révision du ministre des Transports. L'appelant avait été condamné à une amende de 1 000,00 $ en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la même loi suite à une contravention à l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air et, plus particulièrement, au paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique en tant que propriétaire d'un aéronef.

LES FAITS

Le 5 septembre 1995, vers 13 h 30 (heure locale), un aéronef Cessna 172 immatriculé C-GBPR, a été aperçu survolant une propriété (silos et écurie) à moins de 200 pieds d'altitude, à l'intérieur d'un rayon de 500 pieds horizontalement, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de 1'Air. Cette infraction a été clairement prouvée et non contestée.

Par contre, l'enquête menée par Transports Canada n'a pas permis d'établir qui était le pilote lors de cette infraction. C'est pourquoi Transports Canada a décidé d'appliquer le paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur 1'aéronautique et de poursuivre le propriétaire de l'aéronef.

MOTIFS D'APPEL

L'appelant, dans son avis d'appel du 23 décembre 1996, a fait valoir les principaux points suivants :

  1. Le Tribunal n'a pas considéré la partie du paragraphe 8.4(1) qui stipule qu'il n'y a pas d'offense si l'aéronef a été utilisé sans le consentement du propriétaire;
  2. le ministre des Transports, durant l'audience en révision, n'a pas prouvé que les propriétaires Stéphane Leblanc et Yves Lefèvre avaient donné leur consentement pour l'utilisation de leur aéronef alors que ces derniers n'étaient même pas au courant du vol du 5 septembre 1995;
  3. la conseillère du Tribunal, Me Suzanne Jobin, en penchant du côté de Transports Canada, en empêchant l'appelant ou son représentant de s'exprimer librement et entièrement ou en voulant les intimider de son autorité, n'a pas fait preuve d'impartialité au cours de l'audience.

ARGUMENTATION DE L'APPELANT

Au cours de l'audience en appel, M. Donald Doyle, le représentant de l'appelant, a surtout fait ressortir les points suivants :

  • il a insisté sur le fait que Stéphane Leblanc n'avait jamais autorisé qui que ce soit pour que le vol du 5 septembre ait lieu; ce dernier ne savait d'ailleurs pas qui aurait pu piloter son aéronef, où se trouvait son aéronef cette journée-là et Transports Canada ne le sait pas non plus;
  • le fardeau de la preuve revenait donc au ministre de prouver que le ou les propriétaires de l'aéronef avaient donné leur consentement et que sans ce consentement, il n'y a pas d'infraction; le ministre a donc failli dans sa tâche en ne faisant pas cette preuve;
  • de plus, il s'agissait de co-propriétaires et Transports Canada, durant son enquête, n'a jamais pu obtenir de déclaration de Yves Lefèvre, le deuxième propriétaire;
  • jamais Transports Canada n'a pu obtenir le livre de bord de l'aéronef et, par le fait même, n'a pu déterminer qui le pilotait.

ARGUMENTATION DE L'INTIMÉ

La représentante de 1'intimé, Me Beverlie Caminsky, a soulevé les arguments suivants :

  • il s'agit ici d'un cas de responsabilité stricte;
  • dans un tribunal administratif, contrairement à une cour de justice criminelle, une fois que le ministre a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, qu'une infraction a eu lieu, le fardeau de la preuve revient au contrevenant de prouver, selon les mêmes probabilités, qu'il n'y a pas eu d'offense, ce qu'aurait dû faire M. Leblanc (ou son représentant) lorsqu'il a invoqué le paragraphe 8.4(1) pour se défendre;
  • il aurait donc fallu que l'appelant utilise l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique et prouve qu'il avait pris tous les moyens raisonnables pour s'assurer qu'une tierce personne n'utilise pas son aéronef sans son consentement;
  • or, le jour de l'infraction, M. Stéphane Leblanc ne savait pas où était localisé son aéronef; il ne connaissait pas non plus l'autre propriétaire et ne pouvait rien affirmer à son sujet; finalement, il n'a même pas pu obtenir le livre de bord de l'aéronef même s'il se doutait qu'il était en possession de M. Donald Doyle;
  • quant au fait de poursuivre un seul des deux propriétaires, c'était la prérogative de Transports Canada de procéder ainsi;
  • au cours de l'audience en révision, la conseillère n'a donc pas fait d'erreurs en droit ni de constats déraisonnables ou erronés;
  • finalement, même si au cours de l'audience le représentant de l'appelant n'a pas soulevé ce qu'il avait critiqué dans ces motifs d'appel, soit le manque d'impartialité de la part de la conseillère, Me Caminsky a fait valoir que Me Suzanne Jobin a appliqué, au cours de 1'audience en révision, les principes de justice naturelle et d'équité.

CONCLUSION

D'après la preuve présentée en révision, preuve qui n'a pas été contestée, il ne fait aucun doute que l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de 1'Air a été violé mais l'enquête n'a pu établir par qui.

Dans un tel cas, le paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique peut être invoqué et c'est ce qu'a fait Transports Canada.

L'aéronef C-GBPR appartenait, au moment de 1'infraction, à deux propriétaires dont l'un, Yves Lefèvre, n'a pu être rejoint par les enquêteurs. Or, Transports Canada ayant le choix de poursuivre un seul des propriétaires, a pris la bonne décision en accusant uniquement Stéphane Leblanc en tant que tel.

Dans sa présentation, le représentant de l'appelant, M. Donald Doyle, a insisté pour dire que c'était à l'intimé de prouver que M. Leblanc n'avait pas pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour que son aéronef soit utilisé sans son autorisation. Or, le droit est tout à fait contraire à cette allégation.

Selon l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur 1'aéronautique, il appartenait à M. Leblanc de prouver, en défense, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, qu'il avait effectivement pris toutes les mesures et les précautions auxquelles on serait en droit de s'attendre d'un propriétaire d'aéronef raisonnable dans de pareilles circonstances. S'en tenir uniquement à dire que l'on a pas donné son consentement et que l'on ne connaît pas le pilote de l'aéronef n'est pas une défense suffisante et ce n'était pas à l'intimé de faire cette preuve. Or, dans la cause qui nous occupe, au moment de l'infraction, M. Leblanc ne connaissait même pas le co-propriétaire de l'aéronef, ne savait pas où son aéronef était localisé et, par la suite, il n'a même pas pu obtenir le livre de bord et le produire à Transports Canada tel que ce dernier l'avait requis. Tout cela démontre une certaine insouciance et un manque de diligence raisonnable.

Dans les motifs d'appel le représentant de l'appelant a fait allusion à l'aspect sécuritaire de l'aéronef (« safe » et « unsafe » sont les mots utilisés). Or il s'agit ici d'une interprétation d'une mauvaise traduction du français à l'anglais où, dans le texte français, la conseillère disait « que l'aéronef..., était en sécurité en tout temps », ce qui a été traduit par « ...that the aircraft he owns was safe at all times » (il aurait fallu dire « was secure »; deuxième paragraphe de la section discussion, page 3, de la décision; le soulignage est de nous). La question de la navigabilité de l'aéronef est donc sans objet dans la présente cause.

Quant à la partialité de la conseillère dont l'appelant a fait état dans ses motifs d'appel, les membres du Tribunal rejettent entièrement cette allégation, aucune preuve ayant été apportée à cet effet.

DÉCISION

Dans les circonstances, l'appel est rejeté et le jugement de première instance est maintenu ainsi que l'amende de 1 000,00 $.

Motifs de la décision à la suite d'un appel :

Pierre Rivest, conseiller

Y souscrivent :

Faye Smith, présidente
Caroline Desbiens, conseillère