Decisions

CAT File No. O-1255-37
MoT File No. PAP-6504-P-395358-26616

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Joseph André Yvon Lavergne, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2, ss 7.7, 8.4(1)
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c.2, ss 210(1)a), 826(1)

Journey Log Entries, Certificate Of Airworthiness


Review Determination
Suzanne Jobin


Decision: July 19, 1996

The Respondent did contravene the above provisions. I confirm the penalty of $100 imposed by the Minister on the first offence. However, on the second offence, I will reduce the penalty from $1,500 to $1,000. A total penalty of $1,100 against the Respondent is therefore payable to the order of the Receiver General for Canada and shall be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal at the above address within fifteen (15) days of service of this Determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held July 10, 1996 at 10:00 hours in Hearing Room No. 3 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, in the city of Ottawa, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

The Respondent was assessed a monetary penalty by Notice dated March 1, 1996. Mr. Lavergne had allegedly neglected to enter required information in the journey log of the aircraft registered as C-FYPF. In addition, Mr. Lavergne allegedly caused the aircraft to operate in Canada when the Certificate of Airworthiness was not in force.

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty reads in part as follows:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Schedule A – Annexe A

Offence 1:

the Air Regulations s.826(1), in that on or about April 14 and 15, 1995, you, as the owner of a Piper PA28-140 aircraft, registered C-FYPF, did not maintain for that aircraft a journey log pursuant to the Aircraft Journey Log Order, (Air Navigation Order Series VIII, No.2), s.3. Specifically, maintenance was performed on the aircraft that involved installation of radio equipment, this was not entered into the log.

Offence 2:

the Air Regulations, s.210(1)(a), in that a Piper PA28-140 aircraft, registered C-FYPF, was flown during the period of approximately April 17, 1995 through May 6, 1995, on 15 separate flights as detailed in the aircraft journey log and in the following counts, when the certificate of airworthiness was not in force. The certificate of airworthiness was not in force because a maintenance release was not completed following maintenance performed on or about April 14 and 15, 1995.

Pursuant to the Aeronautics Act, s.8.4(1), you, as the registered owner of the aircraft identified in the cited offence, are liable to the penalty assessed for the violations detailed in said offence.

The monetary penalty is assessed as follows:

Offence 1: $ 100

Offence 2:

Count 1: $ 100

Count 2: $ 100

Count 3: $ 100

Count 4: $ 100

Count 5: $ 100

Count 6: $ 100

Count 7: $ 100

Count 8: $ 100

Count 9: $ 100

Count 10: $ 100

Count 11: $ 100

Count 12: $ 100

Count 13: $ 100

Count 14: $ 100

Count 15: $ 100

Total Assessment $1600

THE LAW

Subsection 826(1) of the Air Regulations provides the following:

Every owner of an aircraft, other than an ultra-light aeroplane, registered under these Regulations shall maintain for that aircraft an aircraft journey log and an aircraft technical log.

Paragraph 210(1)(a) of the same Regulations states the following:

No person shall fly or attempt to fly an aircraft, other than a hang glider or an ultra-light aeroplane, unless there is in force in respect of that aircraft

(a) a certificate of airworthiness issued under this Part or under the laws of the country in which the aircraft is registered,

(...)

and unless all conditions upon which the certificate of airworthiness, the flight permit or the validation for flight was issued are complied with.

Paragraph 3(b) and section 5 of the Air Navigation Order, Series II, No. 4, Certificate of Airworthiness Order stipulates the following:

3. Every certificate of airworthiness issued in respect of an aircraft is issued on condition that

(...)

(b) an entry will be made in the Aircraft Journey Log of the aircraft by an authorized person, certifying that the aircraft is

(i) airworthy, or

(ii) released for return to service,

whichever is applicable, at the times and in accordance with the procedures set out therefor in the Airworthiness Manual or in the Engineering and Inspection Manual.

5. Notwithstanding anything in this Order, a certificate of airworthiness issued in respect of an aircraft is not in force at any time when either of the conditions set out in paragraph 3(a) or (b) fails to be satisfied in respect of that aircraft.

The terms "authorized person" and "maintenance" are defined in this same Order as follows:

"authorized person" means

(a) a person who holds a valid aircraft maintenance engineer licence, issued pursuant to section 404 of the Air Regulations, authorizing him to certify that an aircraft is airworthy or released for return to service, or

(b) a representative of a company or any other person who is authorized under the Airworthiness Manual or the Engineering and Inspection Manual to certify that an aircraft is airworthy or released for return to service;

"maintenance" means the act of

(a) maintaining an aircraft including components and appliances thereof in an airworthy condition, or

(b) restoring an aircraft including components and appliances thereof to an airworthy condition,

and includes servicing, repairing, modifying, overhauling, inspecting and determining the airworthy condition of the aircraft including components and appliances thereof.

THE FACTS

Mr. Lavergne is the owner of a Piper PA28-140 aircraft, registered C-FYPF. On or about April 14 and April 15, 1995, the Respondent asked Mr. Larsen, an aircraft maintenance engineer working for Transport Canada in Ottawa, to reinstall his unserviceable aircraft radio. They agreed on a fixed price, and Mr. Larsen carried out the work. Once the work completed, Mr. Lavergne refused to pay the agreed price, and Mr. Larsen declined to fill out the journey log or to certify that the aircraft was airworthy. The aircraft was nevertheless flown 15 times during the months of April and May. On May 21, a maintenance release was completed by an AMO for the work performed previously by Mr. Larsen.

ARGUMENTS

Transport Canada maintains that the evidence submitted has shown that the Respondent, as the owner of the Piper PA28-140 aircraft registered C-FYPF, is liable to the penalty assessed for the violations of subsection 826(1) and paragraph 210(1)(a) of the Air Regulations.

Transport Canada's position is that there is no justification whatsoever for any of the acts resulting in the contraventions cited. Mr. Lavergne knew very well that the maintenance performed on his aircraft on or about April 14 and 15, 1995 was not entered in the journey log as required by the applicable regulations. He also knew that, because of the failure to complete a maintenance release, the certificate of airworthiness for the aircraft was not valid at the time of the infractions. Consequently, the Applicant requests that the Tribunal confirm the Minister's decision.

Mr. Lavergne argues that the problems related to the radio equipment have no impact on the airworthiness of his aircraft. Moreover, he maintains that he did not know, at the time, that the repairs had to be entered in the journey log and that such an omission would render his airworthiness certificate void.

Finally he points out that he had no intention of contravening Transport Canada regulations. For the above reasons, the Respondent requests that the Minister's decision be overturned.

DISCUSSION

Transport Canada had to prove at the Review Hearing that the Respondent was the owner of the aircraft registered C-FYPF. The Applicant also had to prove, on a balance of probabilities, that the alleged contraventions had occurred. Upon doing so, the evidentiary burden was shifted to the Respondent.

Subsection 8.4(1) and section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act provide for vicarious liability in the following terms:

8.4(1) The registered owner of an aircraft may be proceeded against in respect of and found to have committed an offence under this Part in relation to the aircraft for which another person is subject to be proceeded against unless, at the time of the offence, the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than the owner without the owner's consent and, where found to have committed the offence, the owner is liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor.

8.5 No person shall be found to have contravened a provision of this Part or of any regulation or order made under this Part if the person exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention.

To fall under those sections of the law, the Respondent had to prove on a balance of probabilities that, at the time of the offences, the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than him without his consent or that all due diligence was exercised to prevent the contraventions.

CONCLUSION

After reviewing the evidence submitted by the parties, the Tribunal believes that Transport Canada has met its burden of proof. The Respondent did not present any evidence allowing the application of the above legislative dispositions.

It is clear that the installation of radio equipment had to be entered in the aircraft log and that such an omission would invalidate the airworthiness certificate. As stated in the Air Regulations, those requirements are mandatory and leave no latitude for discretion.

Once Mr. Larsen had refused to complete a maintenance release for the work performed, it was the Respondent's duty to see that an authorized person certify that the work performed was in accordance with the applicable standard of airworthiness. Such action should have been taken immediately before resuming flying.

The fact that the Respondent did not know the applicable regulations or that he did not intend to contravene those regulations is not pertinent in assessing the liability in this case. The stated offences are offences of strict liability where there is no need for the prosecution to prove mens rea.

DETERMINATION

The administrative penalty of $100 imposed by the Minister on the first offence is justified. However, on the second offence, given the nature of the aircraft movements, I will reduce the penalty from $1,500 to $1,000 for a total penalty of $1,100.

Suzanne Jobin
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1255-37 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP-6504-P-395358-26616 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Joseph André Yvon Lavergne, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7 et par. 8.4(1)
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C 1978, ch. 2, al. 210(1)a) et par. 826(1)

Inscriptions au carnet de route, Certificat de navigabilité


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Suzanne Jobin


Décision : le 19 juillet 1996

TRADUCTION

L'intimé a contrevenu aux dispositions ci-dessus. Je confirme l'amende de 100 $ imposée par le ministre à l'égard de la première infraction. Cependant, je réduis l'amende de la deuxième infraction de 1 500 $ à 1 000 $. L'amende totale de 1 100 $ est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'Aviation civile à l'adresse ci-dessus dans les quinze (15) jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 10 juillet 1996 à 10 h dans la salle d'audience no 3 du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur dans la ville d'Ottawa (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

L'intimé a reçu un Avis d'amende pour contravention daté du 1er mars 1996. M. Lavergne avait prétendument omis d'inscrire les inscriptions appropriées au carnet de route de l'aéronef immatriculé C-FYPF. De plus, M. Lavergne aurait permis l'utilisation de l'aéronef au Canada alors que le certificat de navigabilité n'était pas en vigueur.

L'Avis d'amende pour contravention se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Annexe A

Infraction 1 :

Paragraphe 826(1) du Règlement de l'Air, à savoir que vers le 14 ou 15 avril 1995, vous n'avez pas, à titre de propriétaire d'un aéronef Piper PA28-140 immatriculé C-FYPF, tenu pour cet aéronef un carnet de route d'aéronef, conformément à l'article 3 de l'Arrêté sur les carnets de route d'aéronef (Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VIII, no 2). Plus particulièrement, des travaux d'installation d'équipement de radio de l'aéronef n'ont pas été inscrits au carnet.

Infraction 2 :

Alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air, à savoir qu'un aéronef Piper PA28-140 immatriculé C-FYPF a effectué 15 vols durant la période allant approximativement du 17 avril 1995 au 6 mai 1995, conformément aux inscriptions figurant au carnet de route et en regard des chefs d'accusation ci-dessous alors que le certificat de navigabilité n'était pas en vigueur. Le certificat de navigabilité n'était pas en vigueur parce qu'aucun certificat après maintenance n'a été rédigé à la suite de travaux d'entretien effectués vers le 14 avril ou le 15 avril 1995.

En vertu du paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, vous êtes, à titre de propriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef mentionné aux infractions citées, responsable de l'amende imposée pour les infractions ci-mentionnées.

L'amende est imposée comme suit :

Infraction 1 : 100 $

Infraction 2 :

Chef d'accusation 1 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 2 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 3 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 4 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 5 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 6 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 7 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 8 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 9 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 10 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 11 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 12 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 13 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 14 : 100 $

Chef d'accusation 15 : 100 $

Amende totale : 1 600 $

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 826(1) du Règlement de l'Air stipule ce qui suit :

Le propriétaire d'un aéronef, autre qu'un avion ultra-léger, immatriculé aux termes du présent règlement doit tenir, pour cet aéronef, un carnet de route d'aéronef et un livret technique d'aéronef.

L'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air stipule ce qui suit :

Il est interdit de piloter ou de tenter de piloter un aéronef, autre qu'une aile libre ou un avion ultra-léger, à moins que l'un des documents suivants n'ait été délivré à l'égard de l'aéronef et que les conditions auxquelles ce document est assujetti ne soient respectées :

a) un certificat de navigabilité délivré en vertu de la présente partie ou des lois du pays d'immatriculation de l'aéronef;

L'alinéa 3b) et l'article 5 de l'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série II, no 4, Arrêté sur les certificats de navigabilité des aéronefs, stipulent ce qui suit :

3. Un certificat de navigabilité n'est délivré à l'égard d'un aéronef que si

(...)

b) une inscription est faite au carnet de route de l'aéronef par une personne autorisée, attestant que l'aéronef est

(i) en état de navigabilité, ou

(ii) disponible pour la remise en service, selon le cas, aux heures et aux dates et selon les procédures prévues dans le Manuel de navigabilité ou le Manuel du mécanicien et de l'inspecteur.

5. Nonobstant les dispositions du présent arrêté, un certificat de navigabilité délivré pour un aéronef devient nul si les conditions à l'alinéa 3a) ou b) ne sont pas respectées.

Les termes « entretien » et « personne autorisée » sont définis comme suit dans l'Arrêté :

« entretien » désigne l'action

a) d'entretenir en état de navigabilité, ou

b) de restaurer en état de navigabilité;

un aéronef, y compris ses parties constituantes et son appareillage, et comprend l'entretien courant, la réparation, la modification, la révision, l'inspection et la détermination de cet état;

« personne autorisée » désigne

a) une personne qui est titulaire d'une licence de mécanicien d'entretien d'aéronef, délivrée en vertu de l'article 404 du Règlement de l'Air et l'autorisant à attester que l'aéronef est en état de navigabilité ou disponible pour la remise en service, ou

b) un représentant d'une société ou toute autre personne qui est autorisée, selon le Manuel de navigabilité ou le Manuel du mécanicien et de l'inspecteur, à attester que l'aéronef est en état de navigabilité ou disponible pour la remise en service.

LES FAITS

M. Lavergne est propriétaire d'un aéronef Piper PA28-140 immatriculé C-FYPF. Vers le 14 ou le 15 avril 1995, l'intimé a demandé à M. Larsen, mécanicien d'entretien d'aéronef de Transports Canada à Ottawa, de remettre en état la radio de son aéronef. Ils se sont entendus sur un prix et M. Larsen a effectué les travaux. Une fois le travail complété, M. Lavergne a refusé de payer le prix convenu et M. Larsen n'a pas voulu remplir le carnet de route ni certifier que l'aéronef était en état de navigabilité. Néanmoins, l'aéronef a été piloté à 15 reprises durant les mois d'avril et de mai. Le 21 mai, un organisme de maintenance agréé a rédigé un certificat après maintenance couvrant les travaux effectués précédemment par M. Larsen.

ARGUMENTS

Transports Canada soutient que la preuve présentée démontre que l'intimé est responsable, à titre de propriétaire de l'aéronef Piper PA-28-140 immatriculé C-FYPF, de l'amende imposée pour infractions au paragraphe 826(1) et à l'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air.

Transports Canada estime qu'on ne peut justifier aucun des actes ayant donné lieu aux contraventions mentionnées. M. Lavergne savait très bien que les travaux d'entretien effectués sur l'aéronef vers le 14 ou le 15 avril 1995 n'avaient pas été inscrits au carnet de route, conformément aux dispositions applicables de la réglementation. Il savait également qu'en l'absence d'un certificat après maintenance, le certificat de navigabilité de l'aéronef n'était pas valide au moment des infractions. Par conséquent, le requérant demande que le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre.

M. Lavergne prétend que les problèmes d'équipement de radio n'ont aucun effet sur la navigabilité de son aéronef. Il affirme de plus qu'il ne savait pas, à ce moment, que les réparations devaient être inscrites au carnet de route faute de quoi son certificat de navigabilité devenait nul.

Il souligne également qu'il n'avait aucunement l'intention de contrevenir aux règlements de Transports Canada. Pour toutes ces raisons, l'intimé demande que la décision du ministre soit annulée.

DISCUSSION

Lors de l'audience en révision, Transports Canada devait démontrer que l'intimé était propriétaire de l'aéronef immatriculé C-FYPF. Le requérant devait également prouver, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que les prétendues contraventions avaient effectivement eu lieu. Après quoi, le fardeau de la preuve incombait à l'intimé.

Le paragraphe 8.4(1) et l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'Aéronautique prévoient la responsabilité du fait d'autrui dans les termes suivants :

8.4 (1) Lorsqu'une personne peut être poursuivie en raison d'une infraction à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application relative à un aéronef, le propriétaire enregistré peut être poursuivi et encourir la peine prévue, à moins que, lors de l'infraction, l'aéronef n'ait été en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du propriétaire.

8.5 Nul ne peut être reconnu coupable d'avoir contrevenu à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application s'il a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour s'y conformer.

Pour relever de cet article, l'intimé devait prouver selon la prépondérance des probabilités qu'au moment des infractions, l'aéronef était en possession d'une autre personne que lui-même sans son consentement et que toutes les mesures nécessaires avaient été prises pour prévenir les infractions.

CONCLUSION

À l'examen des preuves soumises par les parties, le Tribunal estime que Transports Canada s'est acquitté du fardeau de la preuve. L'intimé n'a présenté aucune preuve permettant le recours aux dispositions susmentionnées de la Loi.

Il est évident que l'installation d'un équipement de radio devait figurer au carnet de route à défaut de quoi, le certificat de navigabilité devenait nul. Selon les dispositions du Règlement de l'Air, ces exigences sont obligatoires et ne laissent aucune place à l'interprétation.

Dès que M. Larsen a refusé de remplir le certificat après maintenance à l'égard des travaux effectués, l'intimé devait voir à ce qu'une personne autorisée certifie que le travail était conforme aux normes de navigabilité applicables. Il aurait dû prendre de telles mesures sur-le-champ, avant même de remettre l'aéronef en circulation.

Le fait que l'intimé ne connaisse pas la réglementation applicable ou n'ait pas eu l'intention de contrevenir à celle-ci ne peut pas servir dans l'évaluation de la responsabilité dans ce cas. Les infractions mentionnées sont effectivement des infractions de responsabilité stricte et le poursuivant n'a pas à prouver la mens rea.

DÉCISION

L'amende administrative de 100 $ imposée par le ministre pour la première infraction est justifiée. Cependant, étant donné la nature des déplacements de l'aéronef, je réduis l'amende de la seconde infraction de 1 500 $ à 1 000 $, ce qui porte l'amende totale à 1 100 $.

Suzanne Jobin
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile